Milly

Black Lace Combo Dress

$56 rental
$380 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This girly Milly frock features geometric lace for a feminine update to a mod-inspired style. Simple add the Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch to complete this look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup due to high neckline
WAIST: Very fitted - Fitted at natural waist with bow belt
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup due to high neckline
WAIST: Very fitted - Fitted at natural waist with bow belt
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold metallic brocade with black scallop lace overlay. Boat neckline. Back open slit with button closure. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 30'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

356 reviews

Fit
Small 127
True to Size 221
Large 6
Photos 146
Aurora
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 6, 2011

Overall fit: Small
This was my first RTR dress. I usually wear a size 4 but I had to go with one size up because it was a little snug on the hip. Since the top is covered, you couldn't tell it was a little loose on top. I wore it at at a birthday party and I have never gotten so many compliments in my life. I felt so classy and sexy at the same time. It was the perfect dress and I would rent it again.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 8, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
LOVED this dress. Wore it to a company Christmas party with opaque black tights. Usually I wear a 6 and that would have been fine, but we were dancing too so I wore the 8 so that I'd have a little more room to move around. Got lots of compliments!
Cait
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 15, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I recently wore this dress to a wedding. It was a great choice because it is still a winter dress, however because it's sleeveless it kept me cool. (I think late winter dresses are hard to dress for!) The dress fit really well. This was my first rent the runway experience and I was nervous because I have a big bust (34D) and I am small in the waist. I rented the 4 and the 6, but the 4 fit perfectly! Great dress for busty girls who want to minimize their chest. The dress is very elegant and I received a lot of compliments on the dress. I chose not to wear the belt because it was a little big. The dress is a bit short so be careful getting out of vehicles and sitting. I will definitely rent again!
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 19, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Adorable dress. Definitely short so I wore it with opaque tights and flats. I got a ton of compliments!
Anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 7, 2011

Festive winter dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a charity event and got tons of compliments. It ran a little large on top and the belt was so big around the waist I had to opt not to wear it.
acmes
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 56
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 11, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Cute dress and would have been perfect for my event but it was too small and tight through the hips. I'm very short and I found the dress was too! Had I been 4-5 inches taller it would have been very attention-getting, but not in a good way.
Kristina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Apr 30, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Very classy dress. I wore it at my brother's wedding and everyone complimented how lovely the dress was. very elegant.
Belinda
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
Apr 30, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I had a formal company party to attend and found this website through my vigorous searching on the web. This was my first time renting through Rent the Runway and I was extremely happy with the experience! The dress is beautiful and was a great combo of formal and fun! I felt beautiful!
Shanny
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
May 4, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress fit perfectly but the belt wasn't tight enough. Had to get a little crafty to fix it.
MissG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
May 23, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This is a great dress, just a bit tricky getting in and out of cars! The belt was a bit loose and needed a safety pin.
Cy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
May 29, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Nice fit; somewhat snug for curvier hips. Otherwise, the dress was a dream! Too many compliments to count. Two words: classic elegance!
K
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 31, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I rented the dress for a friends wedding and got so many compliments on it. It is a wonderful dress to wear and looks great in person. I have a full chest and went up a size to accommodate that, but all in all I would highly recommend this rental.
Beverly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 18, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Cute dress, but it was way shorter than I expected it to be. It looked great in photos, but it was tough to wear (tight/itchy fabric). It was fun to wear once, but I wouldn't order it again.
Lani
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 5, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress! I wore it to a wedding and got lots of compliments on it. The bow sash is way too big to stay on the waist, so I wore the dress without it, which worked fine. Highly recommend!
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Jul 25, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved this dress! I got so many compliments. I liked it a million times better in person. The gold is not flashy -- it is just enough and very elegant. Definitely flattering, but a bit short for me (many dresses are because I'm tall). I wore it in the winter with black opaque stockings, which helped me to be less self conscious.
cari
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 5, 2011

gorgeous dress -- wish i owned it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
LOVED this dress, and I got so many compliments on it. It was a little short, which made for a nice contrast with the conservative neckline.
Gerelee
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 24, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I was pretty happy with my first RTR experience renting this Milly dress. I appreciated getting two dress sizes, because the bigger size fit me better. I had to use the smaller size's bow belt, though, because the belt that came with my size was too loose. The dress had all the marks of a higher end garment (underlining, nicer materials, didn't wrinkle, good quality zippers/fasteners, etc.) I got compliments on the dress and it was very appropriate for the occasion. The only bummer is that the smaller size version of this dress arrived smelling faintly of cigarette smoke. I wish RTR will take all smokey smelling dresses out of rotation. If I rent again and continue to smell smoke on the garments, I probably won't rent anymore.
JB-ATL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Aug 30, 2011

Overall fit: Small
This is a pretty dress for the right person, but not for me - probably because it was a little young for me and didn't suit my figure. The smaller size looked a little too small and short for me and the larger size was too roomy and a bit dumpy on me. I think it was more that it didn't suit my body because it is a very pretty, well made dress.
veronicalinh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 4, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Classy, beautiful on. I wore it to a charity event and it was the perfect dress. Ran TTS. Is on the short side.
CC
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 58
Body type: Apple
Sep 9, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Great dress, but run tight through the chest. I wasn't able to zip it up the last 3 inches, even though the smaller size fit through the hips and waist. It is short.
McKenzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Sep 12, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Dress was definitely short, even on me and I am 4'11". I also have a small bust it was a little big on top but nothing a padded bra couldn't solve. Overall, fun and pretty dress!
MarcieB
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 13, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was a knockout. Very comfy but also hugged the curves. Some reivews mentioned the fabric was scrathy, but I think the dress has been cleaned a numer of times and the fabric is now pretty soft. I was a little worried about the length but at 5'4" it was just a few inches aove the knee. I got tons of compliments at the wedding I attended. Only thing, it was a little snug in the ribcage (I wore size 4) - It's a very stylisj, contemporary dress.
W
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 19, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Beautiful dress but it was too tight around my bust so I was not able to wear it.
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 22, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Absolutely loved this dress! I ordered a size 4. It is short but not too short.
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 5, 2011

Overall fit: Small
This dress had the strangest fit, very narrow and tight through the hips, but the bust area was HUGE! I don't consider myself to have big hips, but i could barely squeeze the dress over my hips. Then, I have a fairly small bust so the fabric bunched in the front and the back and because the hips were so tight I couldn't pull it down so that the top wasn't so baggy. The fabric has ZERO stretch whatsoever. So unless you are extremely thin with large boobs, don't rent this dress. The fabric/dress itself was gorgeous though!
LaurenJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 13, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress. It doesn't look as great in photos as it does in person so I ended up wearing a different rental dress to the wedding I got this for. I did get to wear it out to dinner the next night. It's a short dress, but not too short. It also made my hips look wide, but again I loved it and got many compliments.
alli
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 20, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I didn't end up wearing htis dress mostly because of the hemline. I was going to a wedding and when I sat down, it seemed a bit short. Standing, it was fine and actually longer in the back than front which is good for girls with a behind. The material and quality was great. It would be find for an event or party for sure.
Nirvana
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Apple
Oct 21, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Kay
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 21, 2011

Wedding Bliss

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this fantastic dress to a wedding and absolutely loved it, I received many compliments! The sizing ran a little small, making me go up a couple sizes bigger than my true size. But it was totally worth it! Definitely going to being using this website again!
Ana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144 lbs
Nov 28, 2011

Great Dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
First time renter and totally impressed with the service and items. Arrived in great condition. I am generally an 8 and it ran true to size. As others mentioned it is short (especially at 5'10). I was going to wear black nylons but ended up just putting on heels and I felt great the whole evening. For a business event I would wear hose. Dress is classy/conservative but has a fun flair with the design, shimmer and length.
Nic
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 156 lbs
Dec 5, 2011

Adorable Dress!!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress and got so many compliments while wearing it. i ordered a 10 and a 12, since i normally wear a 10( big hips) i had a hard time getting the 10 on over my shoulders since it's fitted in the waist. and the 12 was a smidge too big in the chest but i made it work and it was a knockout!
Amanda
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Dec 8, 2011

Perfect Cocktail Party Dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I LOVED this dress. I thought it was going to be a bit too informal for my black-tie event since the length was pretty short on me (I'm 5'3"), but it turned out great. I paired it with some gold shimmery tights and it looked awesome. The fit was perfect. Plush it was comfortable to wear...not a high-maintenance dress like the back up I ordered which had tons of sequins.
Alley
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 12, 2011

Great Dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress was fabulous and I got a ton of compliments on it. Is definitely on the shorter side, but was definitely appropriate.... even in heels! Dress is absolutely worth the price, great wear.
pam
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 20, 2011

Great Dress! Super Cute!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to my company's Xmas Party with the theme being, Gold and Silver, I wanted to find a dress that fit the theme, but being cute and age appropriate. I got a lot of compliments with this dress and RTR shipped it to me on time in great condition. The simplicity of the rental really made my life a lot easier, compared to my coworkers who had to go to the mall and search for the dress. It was a stress-free way to shop and get the cutest dress! I wished I couldve kept the dress longer, I will totally get another dress from RTR thank you guys!!!!
Alicia
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 30, 2011

Beautiful sparkly dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Rented for NYE. Perfect cocktail dress with a sparkle. The black lace overlay tones down the shine. Suggest sizing up if you have a large bust as the 10 was tight in the bust and the 12 was a bit loose. Went with the 12 to allow room for breathing. It is not too short (I'm also petite) and does not cling.
bluemoon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 5, 2012

Perfect

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is a gorgeous dress. I got a lot of compliments on it. The gold does snag a little bit, but I could trim it with scissors and you couldn't tell at all.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 152 lbs
Jan 6, 2012

New Year's Eve Party

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was super cute and formal enough for a black tie optional event. For hourglass or pear-shapes, the dress hugged the hips a little but the size up was perfect!
Emily
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Jan 7, 2012

Absolutely Renting Again!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Size 0 fit my petite shoulders and bust (32A) perfectly! Was snug throughout the hips and fell at an appropriate height above my knee. The dress itself is beautiful with intricate and delicate detailing; the gold fabric is a type of tweed that is not inexpensive looking nor does it look worn at all. The black is a thick eyelet-like fabric that makes this dress so perfectly appropriate for both winter or summer events. I will absolutely be renting this dress again-- if not buying it!
Brittany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 8, 2012

Should have gone a size up

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for my brother's rehearsal dinner. It was gorgeous!! Unfortunately, the larger size wasn't available for the date that I requested. I took a chance with the 6, and it was too snug. I have wide hips and more of an athletic build. I would definitely suggest going a size up when renting this dress.
Meghan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 13, 2012

A Bit Tight In the Hips

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a size 4 and 6. I am curvy, so the 4 didn't fit at all and the 6 was still a bit snug in the hip and breast area. The dress was a nice fabric and was in good condition when it arrived. There were a few snags, but nothing noticeable. My only complaint is that when I sat down the dress rode up on my legs quite noticeably and made me just a bit self-conscious.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×