Black Lace Combo Dress

$56 to buy
$380 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This girly Milly frock features geometric lace for a feminine update to a mod-inspired style. Simple add the Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch to complete this look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup due to high neckline
WAIST: Very fitted - Fitted at natural waist with bow belt
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup due to high neckline
WAIST: Very fitted - Fitted at natural waist with bow belt
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold metallic brocade with black scallop lace overlay. Boat neckline. Back open slit with button closure. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 30'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
359 reviews
Fit
Large6
True to Size222
Small128
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
December 10, 2012
Pictures don't do the dress justice!
Beautiful dress! Could not believe how amazing it looked in person... pictures don't do it justice. Only complaint was that the dress ran pretty small and was short. Had to wear tights underneath because it was worn to a work event.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 10, 2012
Loved the dress!
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner. The dress was true to my size but was a little tight around the hips. I got a ton of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 9, 2012
SO many compliments. I felt so confident and beautiful.
It fit like a glove, in the size I expected. Renting the size down was a hopeful thought, but it really does fit true to size. I know we all want our men to think we look great, but the compliments from other women are what really make a dress feel amazing! This dress will get you compliments, guaranteed!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 9, 2012
The dress was beautiful and well made. I felt great and it was perfect for the occasion.
I normally wear a size 8 but one stylist said order 8 and 10. So I did. I received a call the day before I got the dress that the 10 hadn't been returned so it wouldn't be sent to me. The 8 fit perfect up top, a little big at the chest but not a big deal at all. The issue was around my butt and thighs. I'm wide so it was tight, not uncomfortable tight but if I sat it rode up a lot and because it was tight and would ride up, that made it short so tights were a must. If it fit better on the bottom, it still would have been short but probably wouldn't of had to wear tights. Originally I had heels on but switched to flats. It had a nice lining so it wasn't itchy and no itchiness under the arms. Overall I felt great in the dress and everyone loved it. It didn't come with the belt so I bought a skinny patent leather bow one from Express and it looked great. Also wore black/gold earrings and gold bracelet. Minimal but perfect.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 7, 2012
As always the compliments that you get in a RTR dress are always amazing
When researching this dress and reading the reviews people on the site advised to size up if you have a larger chest. I took their advice and I'm glad I did. Where the dress comes up high on the neckline for busty girls I think it is best to go a size up. I also read that that this designer commonly runs on the small side to be safe I sized up for my bust to a size 8 and then sized up again for my second size to a size 10. I tried on both and ultimately ended up wearing the size 8.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 7, 2012
Fun party dress. Size up if you don't like mini mini...
I ended up wearing the 6 even thought the 4 fit perfect. When I try to sit down in the 4 it appeared REALLY short. The 6 was more managble while sitting down. Plus it did not appeal big or baggy by wearing the larger size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 6, 2012
Sad because I didn't get to wear either of the dresses I ordered. :(
I usually wear a 2 in dresses, sometimes a 4 if the style is more fitted. Unfortunately, neither the 2 nor the 4 fit in this style. It's very narrow through the hips.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 5, 2012
The impeccable fit, the hint of gold in the fabric, and the eye-catching dots make it a WINNER!
Such a beautiful dress! Wore it to my husband's work holiday party and received rave reviews. Styled it with opaque black tights, black suede high-heeled booties and an armful of mixed gold bracelets. A+
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
December 3, 2012
Wore this dress to a sorority formal, so many compliments!
Would be slightly short for a more formal event, i usually wear a 8 or 10 and this dress fit perfectly on my torso but was slightly big around my neckline. Overall, great dress, really comfortable and super cute!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 30, 2012
Customer Service was great!
This dress runs true to size and my regular size 2 would have fit, but the lining had been torn badly in it and it had safety pins all through it. The lining fell about 2 or 3 inches below the hemline of the dress and was unwearable. The 0 however, was slightly tight. Typically, I would have sucked it up and wore the smaller dress to my event, but the 0 smelled strongly of cigarettes (to the point where I had to shower after trying it on). I spoke with Megan in customer service about these issues and she was very accommodating agreeing either to overnight me another dress or refund my order. My event is this evening so I ended up going with the refund. Overall, I was disappointed in this particular order, but Megan was very helpful and I plan on renting again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
November 26, 2012
Runs Small
The dress itself was very cute and I would have loved to have worn it, but unfortunately it was too tight and I couldn't get it over my hips. I would recommend sizing up especially if you are an hour glass shape. Others below recommended also, but I didn't get a chance to notice those reviews. Some people sized up 2 dress sizes. Good luck!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 26, 2012
Beautiful dress, but didn't get to wear it :(
The dress is lovely! Unfortunately I didn't get to wear it because the sizing did not fit me at all! I ordered a 4 and 6 and neither one fit. I normall wear a 6 and have other Milly dresses in a 6, but this one just didn't fit. It really is pretty though. Order a size or two up, especially if you have curves!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
November 25, 2012
I didn't end up wearing it. I choose a different RTR dress!
I ordered 2 dresses and ended up wearing the other one. I liked this dress but felt like the size ran small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
November 23, 2012
the compliments i received were outstanding....the fit was soooo comfortable
fits perfect! wore it to a new orleans saints party (who's team colors are black and gold). the dress is so classic that it never came off too "literal" or "cheesy" for matching the team colors.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 58
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
November 19, 2012
Cute dress but very short
I ended up returning this dress without wearing it (a RTR first for me) because it was so short. I am thin and have good legs but I was attending a company holiday party and the length was inappropriate.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 19, 2012
Beautiful!!!!
The dress runs a bit small. I usually wear a size 2, but I went for the size 4. But nonetheless, the dress was beautiful! I wore it to my cousin's wedding and the bride loved it too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 19, 2012
Great for rehearsal dinner
I wore this for my rehearsal dinner and received a ton of complements. The gold part of the dress was a bit more sparkly than I thought it would be, but I still loved it. I would absolutely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 19, 2012
I got tons of compliments! Overall, I was happy with it.
Overall, I was happy with this dress. It was a little tight around the legs/booty, but that's just because I am kind of in between sizes and I've got some curve on the bottom. Also, the dress would ride up a little bit and get a bump just below the hip, so I had to pull it down a few times. The fit of the dress, of course, will really depend on your body shape. I got tons of compliments, and I felt great in the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
November 14, 2012
Rented the dress for a 200th Anniversary Gala and loved it. Felt great and got tons of compliments!
This dress was awesome, and I would recommend it to anyone considering it as an option! It fit wonderfully, not too short or too tight, and photographed fantastically.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
November 8, 2012
Perfect girls night out dress! Got so many compliments, had to rent it twice!
Fits true to size, a little bit short but I wore it with tights and it was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 5, 2012
Really cute dress!
I loved this dress, although it does run a little small.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 4, 2012
I wore this dress to a Cincinnati fundraiser I co-chaired--got so many compliments the whole night!!
Very comfortable material, doesn't itch, well lined-
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
November 4, 2012
Did not like the fit
Could have just been me and being in between sizes, but I felt dowdy and heavy in this dress.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 1, 2012
Everyone at the party complimented my dress :)
The dress is a little short, so I wouldn't recommend it for a formal affair.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
October 26, 2012
If you are pear shaped, this dress is not for you.
I LOVE this dress and really wanted it to work but it was too tight on the bottom and too lose on the top. I vary in dress sizes from and 8-10 and the 12 was even too tight on my backside.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
October 21, 2012
Cute simple dress
I usually wear a 0 or 2. Ordered the 0 with a 2 backup. Chose the 2 and it fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
October 19, 2012
Gorgeous formal cocktail dress!!
So I desperately needed a dress for a charity function I was attending in 3 days and couldn't find anything in the stores. I ended up choosing this dress after all the ones I had favorited were not available. My roommate pointed it out as although I wasn't crazy about the look, I got it in a size 6 (usually I fluctuate between a 6 and an 8) because that was the only size available. I ended up loving the dress. It was gorgeous in person and I got so many compliments! It fit me so well and hid all my curves!! I wish I owned this dress as I stood out at the event!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 57
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
October 17, 2012
Great dress and very comfortable
Excellent customer service- called the night before the wedding and this dress was delivered by noon the next day.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 13, 2012
RTR was a fun, stress-free experience! Loved this dress!
Overall, I really liked this dress. It is unique and very pretty. I found that the hip area was a little tighter than the bust area of the dress, which made the overall fit not completely perfect, but it was not a big deal. I recommend to anyone looking for something a little different and fun, yet classy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 11, 2012
flattering, classy, shows off your figure
wore this to a winter graduation. very chic with black tights. throw on a black blazer if its cold too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 4, 2012
I loved the look of this dress
Apparently I can't wear size 12's in Milly's dresses. :(
KathrynJune 10, 2014
Try another -- this one runs exceptionally small, in my opinion
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
October 3, 2012
Beautifully made dress
This dress was gorgeous. I won't rent a cut like this again -- the square neck -- due to larger shoulders/biceps. It accentuated them in photos. Would be good if you have tiny arms! All in all, the dress was gorgeous.
LainaOctober 6, 2014
Do you have broad shoulders or just large arms? I have narrow shoulders but I usually don't get this kind of cut because my arms are bulky. This is my main concern about this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 28, 2012
fit was great and recieved compliments on it all night!
I usually wear a 6 but the 4 fit was better for me mostly because Im petite. But I loved the black overlay on the gold and the dress was very comfortable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 27, 2012
This was a great dress for a fall wedding.
This dress was really comfortable and flattering! I wish I owned it!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
September 26, 2012
The customer service
Faiirly short and very fiitted
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
September 24, 2012
Obsessed with this dress!!
This was the first time I used RTR and it was amazing. Great service. This dress was gorgeous on and really comfortable. I wore it for a horse race in 2010 and received so many compliments. loved it so much I wanted to keep it and would definitely rent it again in the future.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 23, 2012
A backup dress that I almost wore instead of my first choice!
I picked this dress as my second dress, since the backup size of my first dress was unavailable. The dress is even more beautiful in person - I almost wore it over my first choice! It was a bit short on me (almost a mini), and I was planning on wearing tights with it if I ended up wearing it. I usually wear an 8, and decided to rent the 10 because other reviews had said that it runs small, and it fit perfectly. I would have paired it with a black belt if I ended up wearing it. The only reason I didn't wear it was because I thought it would be more appropriate for a fall or winter wedding/event... but still, a very lovely dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
September 19, 2012
Great Dress!!!
This dress is awesome! The fabric is of great quality and the fit is very flattering. I usually wear a 6 or 8 in dresses, but I had to go up to a 10 for this one as Milly usually runs pretty small. Overall though, I got so many compliments all night and people LOVED my dress.
brittanyDecember 3, 2012
gorgeous! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
September 19, 2012
Not for me
In real life the dress is much prettier - the gold is more vivid and the lace detail is beauiful. However, the fit wasn't flattering for my body type. It was tight in the midsection and didn't really define my waist so it just didn't work for me. If you are straight and narrow I think this dress would be really flattering because it is so pretty!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 19, 2012
It runs a bit large in the bust and a bit small in the waist. The colors are fantastic! Great dress!
Absolutely gorgeous dress. Beautiful colors and wonderful fabric. I wore it with sheer black hose and a mid-heel as I am 5'7". I also read that someone had bought a ribbon and tied it at the waist. I did this and loved the look. I had a tremendous amount of compliments and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The lady I worked with by telephone, Caroline, could not have been more wonderful!
See more reviews:
6 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×