Black Lace Combo Dress

$56 to buy
$380 retail
Stylist Notes

This girly Milly frock features geometric lace for a feminine update to a mod-inspired style. Simple add the Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch to complete this look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup due to high neckline
WAIST: Very fitted - Fitted at natural waist with bow belt
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup due to high neckline
WAIST: Very fitted - Fitted at natural waist with bow belt
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold metallic brocade with black scallop lace overlay. Boat neckline. Back open slit with button closure. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 30'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
359 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(222)
Small
(128)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
October 18, 2013
Cute & Flattering
This dress is really cute in person and perfect for a wedding. I can normally wear a 2 or 4, but I am a little bigger on the bottom so I could not fit myself into the 2. I received a ton of compliments and would definitely rent this dress again! I accessorized with earrings, bracelet and black patent pumps. Great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
October 22, 2013
I would love to own this dress
I received so may compliments on this dress! The top does run a bit small so if you have a large bust definitely size up. The length was perfect. The gold makes much more of a statement in person and in other renters pictures than on the model...beautiful dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 22, 2013
Beautiful, classy dress!
I really loved the look of this dress & was not disappointed when I received it. The 6 was a little baggy on the top & the 4 fit perfectly but the material was a little itchy & made my skin a bit red/blotchy near the arms where it rubbed the most. It was also a little short when sitting. Neither of these were too major though & for the most part I was very happy with my rental!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 30, 2013
A bit tight for me
I have a somewhat rotund booty and some hips and this dress didn't really have much give to it. Not very flexible and a bit too short for a wedding.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 4, 2013
Beautiful dress, but fit not the greatest if you have curves
I wore this to a wedding and got tons of compliments. As others have said, the hips run a little small and the chest area is a little big so it wasn't the greatest fit ever, but it was pretty good. I got a 2 and 4, but I ended up wearing the 2 because it was a little more fitted, and spanx helped the bottoms fit better. The gold is even better in person and it stood out so much I didn't really need much jewelry. Overall a good experience.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
November 7, 2013
Way, way, way too short to wear out of the house.
I'm 5'10" and have a fairly large bust. The skirt barely covered my bum. I could have worn it with leggings, but that wouldn't have really matched the look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 105
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
November 12, 2013
Tons of compliments
It was a very cute dress. Got a lot of compliments on it and people asking me where I got it. I have a big butt, so the size 2 was way too small around that area.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 12, 2013
Loved it, but wish I got a bigger size!
Super beautiful dress, was perfect to wear from a religious ceremony to the reception. Got a ton of compliments! Was a bit tight in the bottom half of the dress, so at times became a bit short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 20, 2013
This dress was really comfortable
I loved the gold glitter underlay beneath the black lace. It was really elegant. The only negatives were that the dress ran small and made dancing a little difficult.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
November 20, 2013
Perfect for a party!
Great fit, wore to a cocktail party and it was very appropriate- hit just above the knees on me, and I am 5'4". looks shorter on the model. Very figure flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 27, 2013
Cute, but not if you have hips.
I was really excited to rent this dress and sort of knew that I would be wearing a 6 because of the other reviews I read. However, I didn't realize just how tight the dress would be around my hips and thighs. It was so tight that it was uncomfortable and every step I took, the dress hiked up more and more. I spent most of the night pulling my dress down instead of dancing and having fun. Not something I would rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 190lbs
December 4, 2013
Did not wear it.
I, sadly, had to return the dress because it runs small and is really short. I'm a pretty tall lady and found the dress to be inappropriate for my work function. Would have been a nice date night item though and probably just fine for someone a little more petite.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 13, 2013
Beautiful dress, but a bit small
Beautiful dress but runs small! Side zipper which I always find fits tighter than a back zipper dress. Gorgeous colors and perfect for my husbands work party, however very short! Suggest wearing leggings if your tall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 15, 2013
Perfect rehearsal dinner dress
I loved this dress! I wore it for my best friend's rehearsal dinner, and got so many compliments. It IS pretty short, but I wore it with low heels to keep it from being too scandalous. It also had a little wear and tear under the arms (probably from multiple previous rentals), but all in all was a fantastic dress for the occasion. Definitely recommend. :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 22, 2013
Perfect for a holiday party.
I rented this dress for my boyfriend's company holiday party. I ordered a Size 6 (my normal size), plus the Size 8 as a back up given review feedback. Unfortunately, I found out the day before the order was due to ship that the Size 8 was unavailable due to the prior renter damaging it. I received a different dress as my back up. I so wish that the prior renter hadn't ruined my chance to wear the Size 8! I was able to fit in the Size 6 pretty comfortably, but the arm holes were a tad tight, & the dress was definitely short even when paired with tights. I was pulling on it quite a bit because I was self conscious given the setting (corporate party). I loved the lace overlay & the fun gold sparkles. Hopefully I'll be able to get this dress in the right size next time!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 30, 2013
Great for any occasion!
I wore this to church and then to a bridal shower and I got so many compliments. I felt a little bad because more people complimented me than the soon-to-be bride! The fabric did not have any give to it, so it was a little difficult to sit down on the little stool I sat on for the shower, but I felt like a million bucks!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2014
Even better in person
I loved wearing this dress - the picture really doesn't do it justice. I got a ton of compliments and really stood out from the crowd, in a good way. It definitely runs small and it is very short - I would have been more comfortable in a size 8.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
January 12, 2014
Very flattering and comfortable
This dress was an emergency backup dress for NYE. I was so relieved when it came because it looked great on. I had read the other reviews and knew to order a size up and was glad that I did. I am tall and the length wasn't too much of an issue.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119lbs
January 13, 2014
Really stands out!!!!
This dress is so different and so stunning that it's really hard not to stand out. I got more compliments than I have ever gotten in my life. I wore a 6, which is what I usually wear, but I said it runs small because I have NO hips at all and it fit me perfectly around the hips while dresses are usually big on me in that area. So, if you have hips, size up. i found the top to fit my bigger chest quite nicely. It was a little snug, but not a big deal at all, easy to zip. I am only 5'2'' so the dress was perfect length on me, but I can see it being short on taller people. Pictures really don't do the dress justice. It is really nice material and very thick. You can tell it's expensive. The ONLY reason that I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because it is falling apart a little. I felt a little like a seamstress before wearing it. I had to trim the tweed on the top a lot because there were so many pulls and snags. Also, obviously the lining on my specific dress was torn and redone because it hangs about an inch lower than the dress so i had to pin it up. Also, when I got it, it reeked of perfume so I am questioning if it was actually dry cleaned. But really I love love love the dress...would buy it if I could.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 14, 2014
Pretty dress but didn't work out for me
Loved the dress but it runs way too small, and I'm very true to my size. Too short and too tight. Bummer!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 26, 2014
Great dress, but is a little short
This was a great dress for a wedding right before Christmas. The fit was great, except the dress was shorter than I anticipated. I wore black tights under because of the short length. Otherwise it was great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 28, 2014
Awesome, and so festive!
I really liked this dress! I wore it to my husband's work Christmas party in December. I ended up wearing the 12, which was the larger size because this dress runs short and also a little tight in the chest and arms. The 12 fit great, but the 10 was a little short and tight to really be cute and comfortable. Overall I thought that the dress was great, and I loved the black lace overlay to the gold material.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 30, 2014
I loved it! Would definitely rent again.
Dress fit true to size, allowed room to move!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 1, 2014
Great Dress, Too small
This dress is adorable. Even nicer than the pictures, but it was much smaller than I thought. I didn't wear it as it was too small (and then hem was out in the 6). Luckily, RTR is awesome and sent me two other dresses overnight for my event. I probably needed an 8 (or even a 10), but unfortunately it wasn't available. Might try this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
February 4, 2014
I LOVED this dress; perfect for a fancy birthday dinner with friends
This dress was great! The gold with the black overlay was perfect for a January birthday dinner with friends. I was able to wear it with tights and tall boots. I wore the size I normally wear, however, the only reason I say it runs small is that it was a bit fitted around the hips and slightly bigger on top. I tried the 10 too, but it was too boxy so I wore the 8. I'd say get your back up size a size up just in case. I got a ton of compliments on the dress and it was super comfortable. It is short, so beware. I'm 5'5" so if you're taller, keep this in mind. My only feedback is that the lining underneath did peak out a bit at the bottom, and along the neck, but it didn't ruin my night.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
February 14, 2014
Great for winter wedding!
I got many compliments on the dress. I loved it because it was fun (with the glittery background and shorter hem) but still conservative enough to be ladylike. The fit was true to size, but definitely snug, especially in the hips-- the material does not have stretch, but it was still comfortable and flattering. The dress was the perfect length for me (definitely short but not so short that you can't sit down), but I'm just 5'3" and I have a short torso.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 137lbs
February 23, 2014
loved this alternative to a LBD
This is definitely a dress you can relax in as long as you're not too tall, since it is a mini. I wore the 10 since the 8 wasn't available that day, but the 10 fit alright except (as you can see) a little bunching in the top area. The dress still looked fabulous and if you look at the third picture, you can see all its intricate details.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
February 25, 2014
Runs small but looks cute!
Fit: Runs small Pros: The gold accent adds a classy twist on the classic LBD. Cute and stylish. Paired it with tights and a black cardigan and it looked good and was easy to wear on a winter date night! Cons: Runs a little small, and I had to wear with tights because it was too short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
March 2, 2014
Very classy and sophisticated piece! Fun to wear :)
Great fit and feels/looks like a great quality dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
March 6, 2014
So many compliments!
I absolutely loved this dress! I got so many compliments on it from complete strangers and would definitely wear it again. I think it was the perfect length but when I sat down it was a bit short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 10, 2014
Very flattering. Could dress it up or down.
Looser in the waist. On the short side.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
March 12, 2014
n/a
Very pretty details, love the shimmery tweed fabric, but this dress super short. I am 5'9" and even with tights this dress was way too short for me to wear. Definitely runs small (even smaller than typical Milly), so size up at least one size from your regular size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
April 3, 2014
Birthday Dress
I felt great wearing this dress to ring in my 25th year!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
April 6, 2014
Oh you Fancy
This dress was great! The gold with the black overlay was perfect my company holiday party. I got a ton of compliments on the dress and it was super comfortable. It is short tho, I'm 5'5" so if you're taller, keep that in mind.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 7, 2014
EVERYONE asked where I got the dress from and I proudly said RTR! I think you got new customers!
I wore this for a fundraising event that I was hosting for the Boston Marathon. I felt beautiful! Everyone asked where I had gotten the dress from and I proudly told them RTR. I wore the dress with opaque black tights because it was a bit short
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
April 9, 2014
Classy and felt beautiful
I wore this to a winter wedding. The dress fit much better than I thought it would. I was nervous when I first saw it, but it turned out to be such a hit. I got so many compliments on my dress. It was a little loose around my chest. I am very self conscience since I had post baby weight still, but I felt like this dress made me look thinner than I was. I actually felt beautiful. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
April 10, 2014
Absolutely beautiful dress that fit perfectly!
I wore this dress for my last sorority formal and kept getting complimented on it all night. It fit perfectly and looked amazing in pictures. I only wish that I could have kept it to wear again in the future!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 22, 2014
Statement dress perfect for an early fall wedding.
This dress fit true to size. The details of gold and black were stunning and photographed well. I got lots of compliments throughout the night. My only complaint was that it was a bit short. I ordered a 4 and 6 and wore the 4 because the 6 was not flattering, but the 4 was very short! Overall I loved it and would rent it again.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 22, 2014
Dress not worn
The dress is beautiful in person, the picture of the model does not do it justice. But for my shape (hourglass) it was too snug in the hips and too loose in the waist to look quite right, but that is the dress style and my body type, not really anything wrong with the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 23, 2014
Runs SUPER small!
I rented this in an 8 and 10 for a wedding. I'm almost always a size 8 or medium. NEITHER of the sizes fit... I couldn't even close to zip it through the back/chest. I am busty (a 36C or 34D) and there is absolutely NO give in this fabric, so I would avoid it if you have any bust at all. Was super bummed, because it is a really gorgeous dress.
See more reviews:
6 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×