Milly

Black Lace Combo Dress

$56 rental
$380 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This girly Milly frock features geometric lace for a feminine update to a mod-inspired style. Simple add the Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch to complete this look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup due to high neckline
WAIST: Very fitted - Fitted at natural waist with bow belt
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup due to high neckline
WAIST: Very fitted - Fitted at natural waist with bow belt
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold metallic brocade with black scallop lace overlay. Boat neckline. Back open slit with button closure. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 30'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

356 reviews

Fit
Small 127
True to Size 221
Large 6
Photos 146
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 7, 2012

Fun party dress. Size up if you don't like mini mini...

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ended up wearing the 6 even thought the 4 fit perfect. When I try to sit down in the 4 it appeared REALLY short. The 6 was more managble while sitting down. Plus it did not appeal big or baggy by wearing the larger size.
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 9, 2012

SO many compliments. I felt so confident and beautiful.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit like a glove, in the size I expected. Renting the size down was a hopeful thought, but it really does fit true to size. I know we all want our men to think we look great, but the compliments from other women are what really make a dress feel amazing! This dress will get you compliments, guaranteed!
Katie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 10, 2012

Loved the dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner. The dress was true to my size but was a little tight around the hips. I got a ton of compliments!
Merill
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 10, 2012

Pictures don't do the dress justice!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Beautiful dress! Could not believe how amazing it looked in person... pictures don't do it justice. Only complaint was that the dress ran pretty small and was short. Had to wear tights underneath because it was worn to a work event.
Kaity
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 10, 2012

Even better in person!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was gorgeous. The gold details stands out much more in person. The fit however was not what I expected and was too small. Unfortunately they did not have a second size back up, so I was unable to wear this dress. This would have been perfect for the wedding rehearsal dinner, so I was disappointed I did not get to show it off!
June
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129 lbs
Dec 11, 2012

Sparkly, glamorous fabric + a tailored look was perfect for a formal work event.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is short but so am I. I'm not pear-shaped, but the top was a little loose in the shoulders and the bottom was a little snug at the hips. This is an ideal dress for classy winter cocktails - I wore this dress in South Beach and it got a little toasty.
vicki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 12, 2012

Beautiful detail

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress has a gold sheath and then beautiful black dot design, in something like crotchet, for lack of the correct term over the sheath. It is shorter than I normally rent,about 5 inches above knee. I wore this to 2 Christmas parties and received many compliments. I paired with black tights for the more conservative one. As stated the dress has no stretch so that might be why I needed the larger size. Convienient side zip and pretty back neck slit.
Dre
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 153 lbs
Dec 12, 2012

Dress is stunning! Runs small.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Dress is very pretty once you take it out and look at it. It's stunning when you put it on. Definitely a great party or date dress. I loved it! Unfortunately, it ran small around my hips so I was unable to wear it or my back up. The back up was a size up but was very large around the neck/shoulder area. I would definitely rent again from RTR although this was my first experience and the dress didn't fit. It is stunning though!
Fashionistaesq
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 17, 2012

It was very flattering. I would wear it again to another holiday party.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Fitted Dress, Very Fitted at Hips.
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 19, 2012

beautiful dress fit very well

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I received many compliments when I wore this dress. Very comfortable.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153 lbs
Dec 21, 2012

I got so many compliments on this dress and felt very appropriate and cute for the holidays!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I fit into the 8 but decided to go with the 10 so I would be more comfortable all night, and I'm glad I did. My only complaint was that, like other reviewers, I experienced some discomfort on the front of my arms/armpits from the scratchy fabric, but it wasn't too bad and didn't leave a mark. The size 10 was unfortunately pretty worn out and had some damage (I notified RTR and they were super nice), but I wore it anyway and I don't think anyone noticed. I got compliments all night, felt totally confident - the fabric is thick enough that no shapewear is needed and it smooths out any bumps, plus you can wear a regular bra and not be tugging at the dress all night because cleavage is not an issue. My only other advice is to be careful if you wear supportive tights, because the dress is pretty short and the darker top part of the tights showed while I was dancing. Oh well! Black tights looked really cute with this dress and helped with the short length, and I think a black belt would have been nice too. Great party dress, especially for the holidays.
Kristina
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 26, 2012

Tons of compliments! Great fit and stunning design.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was the perfect selection for a fancy family Thanksgiving dinner. It was an appropriate length, comfortable, and very cute. The design is unique enough to receive tons of compliments, but not so overwhelming that you feel overdressed. I've recommended this dress to many of my friends. I don't think I wore the bow... but it was so cute that it didn't really matter!
Marissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 31, 2012

Great for the holidays! Wore it to my 10 year reunion!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is sparkly (but not too sparkly) gold and I wore it to my high school reunion during the holidays. I usually wear between a 6 and an 8 and the 8 was a bit snug in my lower half and was a bit loose on the top. I added a belt to define the waist a bit and wore a sweater over it to dress it down and cover the poor fit on top. I don't think this dress is the best for hourglass or pear shape. There were some signs of wear on the dress which was the first time I have noticed when renting but I think it was because of the fabric. I got a lot of compliments on the dress!
brittany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Pretty Pattern, OK Fit

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress has beautiful fabric, but the shape is not especially flattering. If you are curvy on the bottom definitely size up. I am normally a 4/6 but because the dress has no stretch I ended up renting the 8/10. to accommodate my hips. I wore the 8 and it was still a little big on top. Very classy print though.
amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Jan 3, 2013

Head turner!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is beautiful on! It showed a lot of leg, but was conservative on top. It was perfect for a formal evening wedding. The gold thread really stands out more in person and the detail is exquisite.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Jan 3, 2013

Loved this dress! Perfect for a wedding!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Received so many complements! Dress does run tight though--I wore the 6 and it was still a little tight! Perfect length for short girls.
Emma
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 14, 2013

Fit beautifully, and got so many compliments!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for the last round of sorority recruitment and got so many compliments! RTR made sure that even though it wasn't the dress I originally ordered, I got a great replacement!
shirtgirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 14, 2013

Gorgeous unique dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am 5'1" and 110 lbs. and this dress fit perfectly in a size 2. I added a black patent bow belt to define my waist and it was exactly what it needed. The length was nice and short (well above the knee) without being slutty short.
beth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Pear
Jan 18, 2013

This dress is not for pear or curvy figured ladies.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for an event, it was pretty tight and short through the hips and really baggy around the neckline. It was still a cool dress, better than the ones in my closet, but it was not my favorite RTR experience.
Kelsey
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 30, 2013

Cocktails and Christmas Parties!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to my fiance's work Christmas party. I paired it with black tights and brought a black cardigan in case I got cold. For shoes, I wore my black ankle booties for more of a playful, dressed down look. The dress has more of a lose fit. It's not meant to hug your body. Which, for me, meant I could actually enjoy the food and drinks without having to worry about my stomach expanding : )
Olivia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 5, 2013

cute and comfortable but ended up being a little conservative for my taste

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
fit was true to size
McKenzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 11, 2013

I received tons of compliments on this dress!! It was comfortable, and I felt great in it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress!
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 13, 2013

Gorgeous, fun, flirty cocktail dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a huge hit at my friend's wedding. I, of course, waited until the last minute to figure out what I would wear to the event. So when I went to order, the only size available was a zero. I decided to roll the dice and go with that, since I am usually a 0-2. The dress fit perfectly! The hem fell to a couple inches above my knee which was perfect. The fabric looks almost glittery in person, with the color being a not too bright gold. I got tons of compliments all night!
Suzanne
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
Feb 16, 2013

Unfortunately event was cancelled so I didn't get to wear it out.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Fit was perfect. Dress was gorgeous. Arrival was on time. Loved that it arrived in garment bag. With surprise gifts. Return was easiest. Very pleased with dress and process.
Mackenzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 19, 2013

This is an amazing dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was great. It was snug through the hips, but I tend to run a little large in that area myself. I went with the 8 because the 6 just wouldn't have given me the room I needed. The dress was beautiful and I absolutely hated sending it back!
Jennifer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 53
Body type: Athletic
Feb 25, 2013

Loved it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress!
Mimi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117 lbs
Feb 28, 2013

Very cute but small.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a size 4 and 2 in this dress and there was no way the girls were getting zipped in! I wore my back up dress instead. I usually wear a 0-2 pants and 4 in fitted dress or shirt. I think it would have fit nicely everywhere else but too tight in the bust.
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 1, 2013

Obsessed with this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was amazing for New Years! It was so different from what anyone else was wearing. Paired it with a black satin belt and was good to go! It is pretty short, so I wore tights with it.
WaityKaty
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 3, 2013

Fun frock

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I thought that this dress fit true to size. I ended up wearing the 10 because it was a little longer. The 8 fit perfectly, but was a little too short. The dress was comfortable, but I do agree with other reviewers, the bust area was a little big.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 4, 2013

No stretch at all

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented a 10 & a 12, and usually those sizes will cover any piece of clothing I need. Unfortunately neither size fit quite right, so I had to return them both. The 10 was tight in the bottom half, and the 12 was too big in the top. Definitely plan on chatting with a size specialist if you are particularly curvy and are considering this dress, as there is ZERO stretch. I should have!
Jillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 6, 2013

I wore this dress to my engagement party in November and received lots of compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Being a pear shape, I found that the size 4 was a bit loose up top, but fit just right over my hips. When I sat down or moved around alot, the snug fit over my hips caused the dress to ride up a bit. This was minimally and did not detract from the dress. Just something that fellow pear shapes may want to keep in mind. The fit information is dead on and I was overall really pleased with the fit and look of the dress.
Kara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 14, 2013

Perfect amount of sparkle for an outdoor December wedding

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore it with black tights since the length was a bit shorter than I was expecting, but it looked great. I got a lot of complements and was super comfortable all night.
Sarah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 15, 2013

I wore this to my sorority's winter formal, the gold sparkle+the lace was perfect!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got a size larger than what I usually wear because a lot of reviews said it was tight across the hips. It was big on me and I needed to wear a belt with it. Still looked great and loved it
Belle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 18, 2013

Beautiful Dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress for a formal, 7pm wedding. I am tall and did not feel it was too short.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 21, 2013

This dress is perfect for a cocktail part or NYE party! I wore it and felt amazing all night!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fits true to size and my only complaint is that it was a little tight under the arms because it was small in the bust. I wore it to an NYE party and it was the perfect dress for the evening. You can't tell in the picture but the dress sparkles in real life. I wore it with sheer black tights and black pumps and it was a great look for an amazing evening!
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116 lbs
Mar 25, 2013

Perfect Classy Lady Dress.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I love black and gold. I received tons of compliments, it was great for a late fall wedding.
Jordyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 27, 2013

A Hit!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a bachelorette party. It was perfect. Very comfortable and shows off your figure without being too tight. I received a ton of complements and would definitely recommend it.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 1, 2013

Great Dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Glad I ordered both the 2 and 4, as the 4 fit best, and it was a little shorter then I prefer. I am 5'8" and overall I thought it was a great, classic style dress!
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138 lbs
Apr 5, 2013

Creates a great classic look. Perfect alternative to the plain little black dress.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I would have worn the 6 but there were some pulls in the fabric and the zipper wasnt functioning correctly. The 8 worked but the 6 would have been much better. I normally wear a 4-6 depending on dress because of my chest. Even with the high neck it created a sexy look and accentuated my smaller waist and large chest even in the bigger size.
Nova
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Apr 5, 2013

Beautiful dress for the event. :)

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfect for the occasion, only problem was the lace snagging on buttons.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×