Milly

Black Lace Combo Dress

$56 to buy
$380 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This girly Milly frock features geometric lace for a feminine update to a mod-inspired style. Simple add the Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch to complete this look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup due to high neckline
WAIST: Very fitted - Fitted at natural waist with bow belt
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Product Details

Gold metallic brocade with black scallop lace overlay. Boat neckline. Back open slit with button closure. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 30'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
359 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(222)
Small
(128)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
March 15, 2013
I wore this to my sorority's winter formal, the gold sparkle+the lace was perfect!
I got a size larger than what I usually wear because a lot of reviews said it was tight across the hips. It was big on me and I needed to wear a belt with it. Still looked great and loved it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 23, 2013
Husband loved it!
I rented this dress for a wedding - a Saturday evening - and it went over very well. Fits true to size, good length, not too tight - very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 21, 2013
This dress is perfect for a cocktail part or NYE party! I wore it and felt amazing all night!
The dress fits true to size and my only complaint is that it was a little tight under the arms because it was small in the bust. I wore it to an NYE party and it was the perfect dress for the evening. You can't tell in the picture but the dress sparkles in real life. I wore it with sheer black tights and black pumps and it was a great look for an amazing evening!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
March 25, 2013
Classy and Fun!
I loved wearing this Milly dress! I was slightly hesitant to rent my first dress from RTR but also so excited! I could not wait for the delivery to come. When I tried on the 0 dress I loved it, but my mother in law noticed that the top, where the gold shimmer is, looked a little bunchy on me. I wasn't sure if it was just because I am so petite or not but the size 2 also bunched. I put on a push up bra and added my "chicken cutlets" to my chest and it filled out quite nicely! This dress went well from the church to elegant beach club wedding. I also paired with a thin black belt and nude heals. I have never felt more confident at an event than I did while wearing this dress. I also have to rave about the costumer service. The nice woman easily added my 2nd size 2 weeks before.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 27, 2013
A Hit!
I wore this dress to a bachelorette party. It was perfect. Very comfortable and shows off your figure without being too tight. I received a ton of complements and would definitely recommend it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 29, 2013
Perfect dress for the Holidays!
This was a great dress for the holidays-conservative yet fun and festive :) I wore it with a cardigan & tights for Christmas Eve church and celebrations. Would definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 1, 2013
Great Dress!
Glad I ordered both the 2 and 4, as the 4 fit best, and it was a little shorter then I prefer. I am 5'8" and overall I thought it was a great, classic style dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
April 5, 2013
Creates a great classic look. Perfect alternative to the plain little black dress.
I would have worn the 6 but there were some pulls in the fabric and the zipper wasnt functioning correctly. The 8 worked but the 6 would have been much better. I normally wear a 4-6 depending on dress because of my chest. Even with the high neck it created a sexy look and accentuated my smaller waist and large chest even in the bigger size.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 5, 2013
Beautiful dress for the event. :)
Perfect for the occasion, only problem was the lace snagging on buttons.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 11, 2013
Lots of compliments!
A bit short (I am 5'7") but wearable. The bodice and the top are really beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
April 15, 2013
Looked great - perfect for a Casino Night event
-Looks great with a black belt around the waist -Runs small -Quite short, looks great with tights -Some wear and tear to the overlay from being worn -The black lining stuck out of the bottom somewhat unevenly. I pinned it up so that the gold fabric became the bottom
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
April 19, 2013
Gorgeous Dress
This dress was absolutely gorgeous in person. I was planning on wearing this dress to prom but the dress ran small and I could not get either the size 10 or 12 dress over my breasts. I was very disappointed, but I contacted rent the runway and they shipped me a new dress overnight, for free. The service was amazing, despite the dresses not fitting. I would definitely recommend rent the runway to anyone.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 22, 2013
The dress had the perfect amount of shine and I received plenty of compliments throughout the night!
The size 2 fit a little snug under my armpits (I am a 32B), but the 4 was a little large everywhere else so I ended up wearing the 2. Also I would be careful not to accessorize with anything that can catch the material.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
April 23, 2013
Heavier than expected, but very flattering fit
The dress looked a bit worn but overall very pretty. I ordered it to wear to a wedding in April and the material was a bit heavier than I would have liked. Would definitely rent again for New Year's or winter wedding
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 30, 2013
Short
This dress was way too tight and verrrryy short. Quite disappointed I couldn't wear it, because it's cute!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Body type: Apple
Weight: 162lbs
May 2, 2013
Gold!
The dress is far more "gold" than it appears in the pictures. It does run small - I'm a size 12 and I couldn't get the zipper up past my hips. Girls who are curvy are going to want to size up for sure! Luckily I had picked another dress that I liked far better and it did fit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 121lbs
May 8, 2013
The gold was much stronger in person, and the pattern was great!
This was the perfect dress for an evening wedding in February. It fit well and I absolutely loved the pattern. I received several compliments on the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 9, 2013
Gorgeous details and easy to wear
I loved this dress for my best friend's wedding rehearsal dinner. It's easy to wear since it's just a simple shift, but so elegant. The details are gorgeous and I got lots of compliments. It's not a long dress, so if you're tall be aware of that. It did work well for my big bust though. Loved it overall!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
May 9, 2013
True to size all over except on the hips.
True to size all over except on the hips.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 15, 2013
Great party dress!
On the shorter side for the taller ladies like myself, but overall a great dress. Was a little more hip-hugging than the normal Milly dresses I own, so had to size up. The dress had a loose hem in the back that kept showing which was slightly annoying (RTR might want to fix that for the next renter). But paired it with black tights for a chilly wedding and wasn't too bad. Super cute!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Body type: Pear
May 18, 2013
Everything came exactly as expected and right on time for my event.
Fit perfectly, definitely true to size and I got compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
May 23, 2013
I received lots of compliments for this one!
Every one loved this dress and it was very comfortable. Also ran very true to size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
May 24, 2013
This dress fit beautifully!!
Not too small on my bigger bust and still gave me a slim looking waist! There was a lot of fraying on the gold panel at the top. I tried to fix what I could, but there was still some showing. Overall, great dress, but starting to show it's wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 29, 2013
Simple and glamorous
This dress was the perfect formal short dress. The gold and black for perfect for a saturday night affair. I order a 2 and a 4. The 2 fit very well. I would say maybe just a tad short but it was the perfect fit without being uncomfortable but still giving my body a great shape!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
June 10, 2013
A "wow" dress
Good fit and I received several compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
June 20, 2013
Very pretty!
Such a pretty dress! I usually wear a size zero, but the zero was a tad snug, so I wore size 2. The dress was a little short. I received compliments all night. Thank you again RTR for another opportunity to wear a fabulous dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
July 18, 2013
So fun & girly!
Very fitted, runs a tad bit small. So cute with the dots! Black and gold was great for a holiday party! http://bowsandsequins.com/2011/12/19/dots-bows/
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
July 21, 2013
Another great experience from RTR!
I wore this dress to a wedding, and felt amazing. Received so many compliments too! I usually wear a 2, but this dress seems to run small. So I ended up wearing the size 4. It fit perfectly! Looking forward to my next RTR dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 21, 2013
Fabulous party dress!
True to size. It was a great length for me...hitting about mid thigh. The shorter hem perfectly contrasted the conservative boatneck style neckline. This dress may start to get a little too short for taller girls. This dress has just the right amount of shine and interesting detail. It's cute but also classy! This is probably one of my favorite dresses! Love and would highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
July 29, 2013
Love the dress- sparkles & very flattering! I got so many compliments! Top was loose, bottom tight.
This was my first time doing Rent the Runway and I LOVED IT! I am usually a 6 so I rented the 6 and 8. I wore the 6 because the top was loose and I didn't want it to be any looser. The bottom was tight, but everyone I was with said it looked perfect, so I guess it was fine! I felt wonderful in it and I love how it looks with the Dramatic Drop Earrings from Badgley Mischka Jewelry. The dress is classy yet has great personality! Definitely recommend it for a wedding.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
July 31, 2013
Cute and easy to dance around in
Loved everything about the dress. It was about 3 inches above my knee and was perfect attire for a semi formal wedding in front of family.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
August 9, 2013
The perfect shift dress!
Fit to a T!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 9, 2013
Perfect for a friend's wedding in Colorado!
The fit was great. I am 5'10'' and it was a little short to go without tights. Otherwise, I highly recommend this style!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 132lbs
September 10, 2013
RTR makes everything incredibly easy. It was so much fun to be able to wear a designer dress!
I rented this dress for a wedding and it was perfect. I have no hips or rear-end to speak of, but a full bust -- which makes it pretty hard to find a dress that fits well. This dress fit beautifully through the hip area and, although the bust area was a little snug, it didn't look like I had to "squish" to make it work. And it was wonderfully comfortable the whole night -- from the sit-down dinner to the dance floor!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 18, 2013
Many compliments!
I think the fit was a little too small. I didn't think it was too short, however, I did get the size 4 and it wouldn't even go up over my hips (where normally I can do that with dresses!). The size 6 ended up fitting perfect. I really liked it and received many compliments throughout the night. I give it 5 stars because the size 6 was great!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 1, 2013
Not ideal if you have hips and a butt!
I ordered this dress against my better judgement. All of the reviews and stylist notes mentioned that it was not an ideal dress for pear shapes. It was made clear that the dress runs tight in the hip area but I figured I would give it a try anyway and just order a size up. It fit everywhere except around my hips and I could not zip it up. I typically wear a size 4 and neither the 4 nor the 6 fit. An 8 would've fit around my hips, but most likely would've been too loose in the chest and arms. It was a lovely dress and the material seemed high quality, it was just not meant for my body type. I liked the gold and the retro feel of the polka dots, but I was unable to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
October 4, 2013
Adorable dress, lots of compliments!
I really liked this dress but the fit wasn't the best. The bottom ran a little small and the top ran a little big. It worked out just fine when I added a skinny belt. Note: dress does not come with belt even though it is shown in some of the pictures!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 6, 2013
Beautiful dress!
The dress was GORGEOUS! I loved it and got so many compliments, I did think it was a tad small around my waist but overall it was good. It was such a pretty dress and I had a great time in it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 16, 2013
The dress didn't work for my body but Lauren, my stylist, made the return process very simple!
I rented the sizes 4 and 6. The 4 was very narrow and I couldn't get it over my hips. While the 6 fit my hips, the bust area was too big. The slip showed out of the bottom of the 6. I returned the dress and through the help of my stylist was able to quickly find a dress that would fit and be ready in time for my friend's wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
October 17, 2013
Pretty Dress but not the best fit.
The dress was really pretty but I had a little trouble with the fit. It was a little large in the shoulder area but pretty tight around my "curves" - sizing up just made it larger in the shoulder area. Probably not the best dress for my body (petite and curvy) but I did get a lot of compliments regardless :)
See more reviews:
5 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×