Rent the Runway

Milly

Black Lace Combo Dress

$56 to buy
$380 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This girly Milly frock features geometric lace for a feminine update to a mod-inspired style. Simple add the Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch to complete this look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup due to high neckline
WAIST: Very fitted - Fitted at natural waist with bow belt
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup due to high neckline
WAIST: Very fitted - Fitted at natural waist with bow belt
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold metallic brocade with black scallop lace overlay. Boat neckline. Back open slit with button closure. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 30'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

358 reviews

Fit
Small 127
True to Size 222
Large 6
Photos 147
Helen
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 19, 2013

Gorgeous Dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was absolutely gorgeous in person. I was planning on wearing this dress to prom but the dress ran small and I could not get either the size 10 or 12 dress over my breasts. I was very disappointed, but I contacted rent the runway and they shipped me a new dress overnight, for free. The service was amazing, despite the dresses not fitting. I would definitely recommend rent the runway to anyone.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 23, 2013

Heavier than expected, but very flattering fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress looked a bit worn but overall very pretty. I ordered it to wear to a wedding in April and the material was a bit heavier than I would have liked. Would definitely rent again for New Year's or winter wedding
MB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Apr 30, 2013

Short

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was way too tight and verrrryy short. Quite disappointed I couldn't wear it, because it's cute!
rhgmm12
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Body type: Apple
Weight: 162 lbs
May 2, 2013

Gold!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress is far more "gold" than it appears in the pictures. It does run small - I'm a size 12 and I couldn't get the zipper up past my hips. Girls who are curvy are going to want to size up for sure! Luckily I had picked another dress that I liked far better and it did fit!
Catheryn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 9, 2013

Great for wedding

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding. It was much shorter than I anticipated, but wore spanx underneath and felt comfortable. I felt the dress ran a little small. Overall a nice dress.
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
May 9, 2013

True to size all over except on the hips.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
True to size all over except on the hips.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 15, 2013

Great party dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
On the shorter side for the taller ladies like myself, but overall a great dress. Was a little more hip-hugging than the normal Milly dresses I own, so had to size up. The dress had a loose hem in the back that kept showing which was slightly annoying (RTR might want to fix that for the next renter). But paired it with black tights for a chilly wedding and wasn't too bad. Super cute!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127 lbs
May 24, 2013

This dress fit beautifully!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Not too small on my bigger bust and still gave me a slim looking waist! There was a lot of fraying on the gold panel at the top. I tried to fix what I could, but there was still some showing. Overall, great dress, but starting to show it's wear.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 21, 2013

Fabulous party dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
True to size. It was a great length for me...hitting about mid thigh. The shorter hem perfectly contrasted the conservative boatneck style neckline. This dress may start to get a little too short for taller girls. This dress has just the right amount of shine and interesting detail. It's cute but also classy! This is probably one of my favorite dresses! Love and would highly recommend!
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Jul 26, 2013

Pretty dress, if only the liner wasn't so much smaller than the dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I'm usually a 6 but rented the 8 since the recommendation was to order a size up....well, they weren't kidding! The liner was so tight around my hips!! I guess I should have ordered a 10...I ended up not wearing the dress....if the liner wasn't so snug, it would have been a great dress!
Ally
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117 lbs
Jul 31, 2013

Cute and easy to dance around in

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved everything about the dress. It was about 3 inches above my knee and was perfect attire for a semi formal wedding in front of family.
Genna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Aug 9, 2013

The perfect shift dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit to a T!
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 1, 2013

Not ideal if you have hips and a butt!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress against my better judgement. All of the reviews and stylist notes mentioned that it was not an ideal dress for pear shapes. It was made clear that the dress runs tight in the hip area but I figured I would give it a try anyway and just order a size up. It fit everywhere except around my hips and I could not zip it up. I typically wear a size 4 and neither the 4 nor the 6 fit. An 8 would've fit around my hips, but most likely would've been too loose in the chest and arms. It was a lovely dress and the material seemed high quality, it was just not meant for my body type. I liked the gold and the retro feel of the polka dots, but I was unable to wear it.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 4, 2013

Adorable dress, lots of compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I really liked this dress but the fit wasn't the best. The bottom ran a little small and the top ran a little big. It worked out just fine when I added a skinny belt. Note: dress does not come with belt even though it is shown in some of the pictures!
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 16, 2013

The dress didn't work for my body but Lauren, my stylist, made the return process very simple!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented the sizes 4 and 6. The 4 was very narrow and I couldn't get it over my hips. While the 6 fit my hips, the bust area was too big. The slip showed out of the bottom of the 6. I returned the dress and through the help of my stylist was able to quickly find a dress that would fit and be ready in time for my friend's wedding.
Diane
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Oct 17, 2013

Pretty Dress but not the best fit.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was really pretty but I had a little trouble with the fit. It was a little large in the shoulder area but pretty tight around my "curves" - sizing up just made it larger in the shoulder area. Probably not the best dress for my body (petite and curvy) but I did get a lot of compliments regardless :)
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 18, 2013

Cute & Flattering

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is really cute in person and perfect for a wedding. I can normally wear a 2 or 4, but I am a little bigger on the bottom so I could not fit myself into the 2. I received a ton of compliments and would definitely rent this dress again! I accessorized with earrings, bracelet and black patent pumps. Great dress!
OMGitsRACHEL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 20, 2013

<3!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Aboslutely loved the fit, perfect, came in great condition!! A bit short, but I made it work and wore black hose with heels
Holly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144 lbs
Oct 21, 2013

Gorgeous dress with classy pizazz

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore the 10, although the 8 would have fit better. Unfortunately RTR called the day before and said the 8 was not available. They sent another style dress as a backup, but I ended up just wearing this one a little bit big. Lovely dress, lots of fun. I should mention that while it was a perfectly tasteful length when I was standing, it was super short when I sat down...so maybe the larger size is not such a bad idea. Got lots of compliments and it was comfortable all night.
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 22, 2013

I would love to own this dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I received so may compliments on this dress! The top does run a bit small so if you have a large bust definitely size up. The length was perfect. The gold makes much more of a statement in person and in other renters pictures than on the model...beautiful dress!
Kristen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 22, 2013

Beautiful, classy dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I really loved the look of this dress & was not disappointed when I received it. The 6 was a little baggy on the top & the 4 fit perfectly but the material was a little itchy & made my skin a bit red/blotchy near the arms where it rubbed the most. It was also a little short when sitting. Neither of these were too major though & for the most part I was very happy with my rental!
Sevilla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 30, 2013

A bit tight for me

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I have a somewhat rotund booty and some hips and this dress didn't really have much give to it. Not very flexible and a bit too short for a wedding.
Shannon
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 4, 2013

Beautiful dress, but fit not the greatest if you have curves

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a wedding and got tons of compliments. As others have said, the hips run a little small and the chest area is a little big so it wasn't the greatest fit ever, but it was pretty good. I got a 2 and 4, but I ended up wearing the 2 because it was a little more fitted, and spanx helped the bottoms fit better. The gold is even better in person and it stood out so much I didn't really need much jewelry. Overall a good experience.
Jill
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 6, 2013

LOVED it!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is gorgeous! I want to rent it again! I got tons of compliments, it fit great, wish I owned it! :-)
G
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Nov 7, 2013

Way, way, way too short to wear out of the house.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I'm 5'10" and have a fairly large bust. The skirt barely covered my bum. I could have worn it with leggings, but that wouldn't have really matched the look.
Erin
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 7, 2013

Perfect for a night out to the theatre

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress!
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 12, 2013

Loved it, but wish I got a bigger size!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Super beautiful dress, was perfect to wear from a religious ceremony to the reception. Got a ton of compliments! Was a bit tight in the bottom half of the dress, so at times became a bit short.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 13, 2013

Love the gold and lace details

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is very pretty and I did get complimented on it. The black polka dots are lace and the gold underneath and on top really shines and is very pretty. However like other reviewers mentioned, it's very fitted through the hips and waist. I'm normally a size 4 and I needed the 6 in this dress. And since I have a smaller chest, I thought it was a little large and droopy on top. It still worked and was very pretty, but I definitely recommend sizing up for the back-up size.
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 20, 2013

This dress was really comfortable

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the gold glitter underlay beneath the black lace. It was really elegant. The only negatives were that the dress ran small and made dancing a little difficult.
Kayjo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 20, 2013

Perfect for a party!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great fit, wore to a cocktail party and it was very appropriate- hit just above the knees on me, and I am 5'4". looks shorter on the model. Very figure flattering.
Hilary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 27, 2013

Cute, but not if you have hips.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I was really excited to rent this dress and sort of knew that I would be wearing a 6 because of the other reviews I read. However, I didn't realize just how tight the dress would be around my hips and thighs. It was so tight that it was uncomfortable and every step I took, the dress hiked up more and more. I spent most of the night pulling my dress down instead of dancing and having fun. Not something I would rent again.
TRJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 27, 2013

Everyone loved it!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a small family winter wedding for an older aunt. I received so many compliments. This was a great alternative to strapless for the occasion. The overall fit was a bit smaller, so I"d recommend renting up than down in terms of size.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 190 lbs
Dec 4, 2013

Did not wear it.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I, sadly, had to return the dress because it runs small and is really short. I'm a pretty tall lady and found the dress to be inappropriate for my work function. Would have been a nice date night item though and probably just fine for someone a little more petite.
Molly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 13, 2013

Beautiful dress, but a bit small

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dress but runs small! Side zipper which I always find fits tighter than a back zipper dress. Gorgeous colors and perfect for my husbands work party, however very short! Suggest wearing leggings if your tall.
Char
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 15, 2013

Perfect rehearsal dinner dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! I wore it for my best friend's rehearsal dinner, and got so many compliments. It IS pretty short, but I wore it with low heels to keep it from being too scandalous. It also had a little wear and tear under the arms (probably from multiple previous rentals), but all in all was a fantastic dress for the occasion. Definitely recommend. :)
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 22, 2013

Perfect for a holiday party.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my boyfriend's company holiday party. I ordered a Size 6 (my normal size), plus the Size 8 as a back up given review feedback. Unfortunately, I found out the day before the order was due to ship that the Size 8 was unavailable due to the prior renter damaging it. I received a different dress as my back up. I so wish that the prior renter hadn't ruined my chance to wear the Size 8! I was able to fit in the Size 6 pretty comfortably, but the arm holes were a tad tight, & the dress was definitely short even when paired with tights. I was pulling on it quite a bit because I was self conscious given the setting (corporate party). I loved the lace overlay & the fun gold sparkles. Hopefully I'll be able to get this dress in the right size next time!
Colleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 24, 2013

A tiny bit loose in the bust and tight in the hips, but still worked

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Excellent quality, very appropriate for a winter holiday party
Stacy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 30, 2013

Great for any occasion!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore this to church and then to a bridal shower and I got so many compliments. I felt a little bad because more people complimented me than the soon-to-be bride! The fabric did not have any give to it, so it was a little difficult to sit down on the little stool I sat on for the shower, but I felt like a million bucks!
Megan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

Even better in person

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved wearing this dress - the picture really doesn't do it justice. I got a ton of compliments and really stood out from the crowd, in a good way. It definitely runs small and it is very short - I would have been more comfortable in a size 8.
Kat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 14, 2014

Pretty dress but didn't work out for me

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Loved the dress but it runs way too small, and I'm very true to my size. Too short and too tight. Bummer!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×