Black Lace Combo Dress

$56 to buy
$380 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This girly Milly frock features geometric lace for a feminine update to a mod-inspired style. Simple add the Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch to complete this look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup due to high neckline
WAIST: Very fitted - Fitted at natural waist with bow belt
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup due to high neckline
WAIST: Very fitted - Fitted at natural waist with bow belt
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold metallic brocade with black scallop lace overlay. Boat neckline. Back open slit with button closure. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 30'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
359 reviews
Fit
Large6
True to Size222
Small128
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
February 18, 2013
Everyone adored this dress!!
The dress fit perfectly except for the bust area, if you are bigger than a D I would recommend getting a size up. Unfortunately the 8 was not available, it was a tight squeeze but I managed! VERY flattering dress overall, would definitely recommend it.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
February 16, 2013
Unfortunately event was cancelled so I didn't get to wear it out.
Fit was perfect. Dress was gorgeous. Arrival was on time. Loved that it arrived in garment bag. With surprise gifts. Return was easiest. Very pleased with dress and process.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 13, 2013
Gorgeous, fun, flirty cocktail dress!
This dress was a huge hit at my friend's wedding. I, of course, waited until the last minute to figure out what I would wear to the event. So when I went to order, the only size available was a zero. I decided to roll the dice and go with that, since I am usually a 0-2. The dress fit perfectly! The hem fell to a couple inches above my knee which was perfect. The fabric looks almost glittery in person, with the color being a not too bright gold. I got tons of compliments all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 11, 2013
I received tons of compliments on this dress!! It was comfortable, and I felt great in it!
Loved this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 11, 2013
I wore this to Palm Beach to celebrate my boyfriends birthday and our 1 year.
The fit was odd. The 6 fit true to size, but it was short and that made it hard to sit in. The top was almost too big, and the dress as a whole was stiff. I have muscular legs and while I am not fat, I def have curves... perhaps this dress is made for a more petite frame. It was cute and different, so I enjoyed wearing it overall.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 10, 2013
I was getting compliments all night on this dress. It was really great for Homecoming at my school.
All around great dress, especially for someone taller! The bottom was a little tight and it rode up when I sat down, but It wasn't too short when I was standing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 5, 2013
cute and comfortable but ended up being a little conservative for my taste
fit was true to size
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 30, 2013
Cocktails and Christmas Parties!
I wore this dress to my fiance's work Christmas party. I paired it with black tights and brought a black cardigan in case I got cold. For shoes, I wore my black ankle booties for more of a playful, dressed down look. The dress has more of a lose fit. It's not meant to hug your body. Which, for me, meant I could actually enjoy the food and drinks without having to worry about my stomach expanding : )
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 23, 2013
Husband loved it!
I rented this dress for a wedding - a Saturday evening - and it went over very well. Fits true to size, good length, not too tight - very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 18, 2013
I got lots of compliments on this dress. I loved it and would wear it again.
It ran small. I didn't get an extra size for some reason. There is NO stretch in that dress but I still loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Pear
January 18, 2013
This dress is not for pear or curvy figured ladies.
I wore this for an event, it was pretty tight and short through the hips and really baggy around the neckline. It was still a cool dress, better than the ones in my closet, but it was not my favorite RTR experience.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
January 14, 2013
Gorgeous unique dress
I am 5'1" and 110 lbs. and this dress fit perfectly in a size 2. I added a black patent bow belt to define my waist and it was exactly what it needed. The length was nice and short (well above the knee) without being slutty short.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 14, 2013
Fit beautifully, and got so many compliments!
I wore this for the last round of sorority recruitment and got so many compliments! RTR made sure that even though it wasn't the dress I originally ordered, I got a great replacement!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 10, 2013
Practical and understated but a show stopper!
I loved everything about this dress (aside from the self-portrait I had to take since my husband had a little too much fun at the party...). The fit was super forgiving (just had a baby!), roomy but snug in the right areas. Not too short but definitely shows off your legs if you're on the tall side. It was perfectly fabulous but not skanky for an office holiday party when you're aiming to impress. I paired a cheap Target belt with it for some extra definition since it didn't have a ton of definition in the waist. So versatile - lots of shoe and jewelry options. Love!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
January 9, 2013
Wore for a RTR event and then Sigma Chi Parents weekend. Even my date's mom loved my dress!
Runs extremely true to size, comfortable fit. Give you room to breathe but at the same time you look like a stick!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
January 4, 2013
The perfect New Year's Eve dress!
The dress was even more beautiful in person. The top portion is slightly more gold than it appears online, which I actually liked better. I got compliments all night and love the way it looks in my pictures. However, the dress was quite large on me. I really could have used a 00, but luckily I had a belt that matched perfectly so I could cinch the waist in.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 4, 2013
I wore this dress for New Year's Eve, it was super fun and easy to dance in!
The dress fit great, very true to size. I am on the shorter side so it was the perfect length for me as well. Lots of the pictures have it with a bow belt around the waist (that doesn't come with the dress), so I added my own!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 3, 2013
Great material and beautiful dress! Received compliments!
Dress runs waaaaaay shorter than I originally thought.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
January 3, 2013
Loved this dress! Perfect for a wedding!
Received so many complements! Dress does run tight though--I wore the 6 and it was still a little tight! Perfect length for short girls.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 3, 2013
Head turner!
This dress is beautiful on! It showed a lot of leg, but was conservative on top. It was perfect for a formal evening wedding. The gold thread really stands out more in person and the detail is exquisite.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2013
Pretty Pattern, OK Fit
This dress has beautiful fabric, but the shape is not especially flattering. If you are curvy on the bottom definitely size up. I am normally a 4/6 but because the dress has no stretch I ended up renting the 8/10. to accommodate my hips. I wore the 8 and it was still a little big on top. Very classy print though.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2013
Beautiful dress!
I loved this dress! I originally rented it for my husband's Christmas party but I ended up wearing a different dress that was a little more formal. I am normally a size 2 but it was unavailable. The size 6 fit great, though I think the 4 would have been ideal. The dress is much more sparkly than it looks on the website, but it's not over the top. I will definitely rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
December 31, 2012
Great for the holidays! Wore it to my 10 year reunion!
This dress is sparkly (but not too sparkly) gold and I wore it to my high school reunion during the holidays. I usually wear between a 6 and an 8 and the 8 was a bit snug in my lower half and was a bit loose on the top. I added a belt to define the waist a bit and wore a sweater over it to dress it down and cover the poor fit on top. I don't think this dress is the best for hourglass or pear shape. There were some signs of wear on the dress which was the first time I have noticed when renting but I think it was because of the fabric. I got a lot of compliments on the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
December 28, 2012
I rented this for my annual Christmas Eve party. It was perfect and I received so many compliments!
I typically wear a size 6 but I ordered both a 6 and an 8 to be safe. I ended up going with the 6 and it fit perfectly. The only issue I had was the length. My legs are pretty long and it was a little too short when I sat down so I opted to pair it with tights. This was my first experience with RTR and I was so happy I ended up ordering another dress for NYE; though I would have loved to keep this one!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
December 27, 2012
LOVED this dress-- great quality!
Dress fit true to size, loved the lace detail!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 26, 2012
Tons of compliments! Great fit and stunning design.
This dress was the perfect selection for a fancy family Thanksgiving dinner. It was an appropriate length, comfortable, and very cute. The design is unique enough to receive tons of compliments, but not so overwhelming that you feel overdressed. I've recommended this dress to many of my friends. I don't think I wore the bow... but it was so cute that it didn't really matter!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158lbs
December 24, 2012
I really liked this dress! I am tall, so this dress was pretty short on me, but it worked!
I recommend it for a cocktail party or anything where you need a fun look! It could be dressed up too with the right pair of heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
December 21, 2012
I got so many compliments on this dress and felt very appropriate and cute for the holidays!
I fit into the 8 but decided to go with the 10 so I would be more comfortable all night, and I'm glad I did. My only complaint was that, like other reviewers, I experienced some discomfort on the front of my arms/armpits from the scratchy fabric, but it wasn't too bad and didn't leave a mark. The size 10 was unfortunately pretty worn out and had some damage (I notified RTR and they were super nice), but I wore it anyway and I don't think anyone noticed. I got compliments all night, felt totally confident - the fabric is thick enough that no shapewear is needed and it smooths out any bumps, plus you can wear a regular bra and not be tugging at the dress all night because cleavage is not an issue. My only other advice is to be careful if you wear supportive tights, because the dress is pretty short and the darker top part of the tights showed while I was dancing. Oh well! Black tights looked really cute with this dress and helped with the short length, and I think a black belt would have been nice too. Great party dress, especially for the holidays.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
December 19, 2012
The oriole proposed to me in this dress because he loved it! :)
I got so many compliments on my dress for this fall wedding :)! Everyone was begging to know where I got it from (and of course I told them all about RTR) I usually wear a size 10 but it was a bit snug and short so I went with the 12. Definite flirty classy dress and would recommend to anyone!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 19, 2012
I wore this to my nursing school graduation pinning ceremony, tons of compliments!
The fit is very true to size, if you do not have much in the way of a chest (like me) it may buckle a little bit, so wear a push up bra to help fill it out and you are golden :) haha Such an easy process with rent the runway! SO IMPRESSED :) this was my first experience with RTR and I will definitely be renting again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 19, 2012
beautiful dress fit very well
I received many compliments when I wore this dress. Very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
December 17, 2012
It was very flattering. I would wear it again to another holiday party.
Fitted Dress, Very Fitted at Hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 16, 2012
So cute, would rent again!
I loved this dress. Rented it for a bachelorette weekend in Vegas & received lots of compliments. The metallic gold fabric added just the right amount of sparkle. Very flattering too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 14, 2012
Festive! Shimmers beautifully and looks great in photos! I was one of the best dressed at the party.
The size 4 didn't fit over my hips, so I was thankful to have ordered a backup size 6, which fit wonderfully. I'm often between these two sizes, so not too surprising. The reason I gave the dress a 4 instead of 5 star rating, is that if you have cleavage, the neckline of the dress seems to bulge a bit - but I doubt it was noticeable to anyone but me. Everyone loved the dress. The gold shimmer is just perfect. I wore with black footless tights and some wedge booties. Ended up wearing no jewelry and some red lipstick. The dress is really the only accessory you need. I wore the dress to an office party and loved how stylish and classy I looked and felt all night. The dress gave me a serious dose of self confidence when speaking in front of my entire staff. Wonderful first experience with RTR! They make it so simple, plus you get a free garment bag & sample of Hollywood Secrets fashion tape!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 153lbs
December 12, 2012
Dress is stunning! Runs small.
Dress is very pretty once you take it out and look at it. It's stunning when you put it on. Definitely a great party or date dress. I loved it! Unfortunately, it ran small around my hips so I was unable to wear it or my back up. The back up was a size up but was very large around the neck/shoulder area. I would definitely rent again from RTR although this was my first experience and the dress didn't fit. It is stunning though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 12, 2012
Beautiful detail
This dress has a gold sheath and then beautiful black dot design, in something like crotchet, for lack of the correct term over the sheath. It is shorter than I normally rent,about 5 inches above knee. I wore this to 2 Christmas parties and received many compliments. I paired with black tights for the more conservative one. As stated the dress has no stretch so that might be why I needed the larger size. Convienient side zip and pretty back neck slit.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
December 11, 2012
I received so many compliments on this dress all night long!
It is gorgeous! The black and gold details are really pretty. Perfect for a fall or winter wedding! The fit is a bit small. I am an 8, and while I could've worn the 8, I decided to do the 10 for comfort. I would definitely order your typical size and then one size up, just in case. I'm so glad I ordered this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
December 11, 2012
Sparkly, glamorous fabric + a tailored look was perfect for a formal work event.
The dress is short but so am I. I'm not pear-shaped, but the top was a little loose in the shoulders and the bottom was a little snug at the hips. This is an ideal dress for classy winter cocktails - I wore this dress in South Beach and it got a little toasty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
December 10, 2012
I received TONS of compliments on this dress!
I really loved this dress and it was perfect for a December wedding. For my body, the 0 would definitely have been too small on the bottom and a 4 would have been way too large on top. The 2 worked well although it was a little bit snug around my hips and since the dress has no give/stretch, it did ride up a bit when I would walk. Again, the 4 would have been way too big on me on top so I was happy with the 2. The gold sparkle of the dress was perfect for a holiday event and I was so happy with this dress. I rented the Lilliana earrings by Lee Angel to wear with it and I loved those as well!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 10, 2012
Even better in person!
This dress was gorgeous. The gold details stands out much more in person. The fit however was not what I expected and was too small. Unfortunately they did not have a second size back up, so I was unable to wear this dress. This would have been perfect for the wedding rehearsal dinner, so I was disappointed I did not get to show it off!
See more reviews:
5 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×