Milly

Black Lace Combo Dress

$56 to buy

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This girly Milly frock features geometric lace for a feminine update to a mod-inspired style. Simple add the Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch to complete this look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup due to high neckline
WAIST: Very fitted - Fitted at natural waist with bow belt
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Product Details

Gold metallic brocade with black scallop lace overlay. Boat neckline. Back open slit with button closure. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 30'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
359 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(222)
Small
(128)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
May 24, 2013
This dress fit beautifully!!
Not too small on my bigger bust and still gave me a slim looking waist! There was a lot of fraying on the gold panel at the top. I tried to fix what I could, but there was still some showing. Overall, great dress, but starting to show it's wear.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
May 24, 2013
This is my favorite dress I've ever worn!
It was a little short on me, but I still loved it and received many compliments on it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
May 23, 2013
I received lots of compliments for this one!
Every one loved this dress and it was very comfortable. Also ran very true to size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Body type: Pear
May 18, 2013
Everything came exactly as expected and right on time for my event.
Fit perfectly, definitely true to size and I got compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 15, 2013
Great party dress!
On the shorter side for the taller ladies like myself, but overall a great dress. Was a little more hip-hugging than the normal Milly dresses I own, so had to size up. The dress had a loose hem in the back that kept showing which was slightly annoying (RTR might want to fix that for the next renter). But paired it with black tights for a chilly wedding and wasn't too bad. Super cute!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
May 9, 2013
True to size all over except on the hips.
True to size all over except on the hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 9, 2013
Gorgeous details and easy to wear
I loved this dress for my best friend's wedding rehearsal dinner. It's easy to wear since it's just a simple shift, but so elegant. The details are gorgeous and I got lots of compliments. It's not a long dress, so if you're tall be aware of that. It did work well for my big bust though. Loved it overall!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 9, 2013
Great for wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding. It was much shorter than I anticipated, but wore spanx underneath and felt comfortable. I felt the dress ran a little small. Overall a nice dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 121lbs
May 8, 2013
The gold was much stronger in person, and the pattern was great!
This was the perfect dress for an evening wedding in February. It fit well and I absolutely loved the pattern. I received several compliments on the dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Body type: Apple
Weight: 162lbs
May 2, 2013
Gold!
The dress is far more "gold" than it appears in the pictures. It does run small - I'm a size 12 and I couldn't get the zipper up past my hips. Girls who are curvy are going to want to size up for sure! Luckily I had picked another dress that I liked far better and it did fit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
April 30, 2013
Short
This dress was way too tight and verrrryy short. Quite disappointed I couldn't wear it, because it's cute!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
April 23, 2013
Heavier than expected, but very flattering fit
The dress looked a bit worn but overall very pretty. I ordered it to wear to a wedding in April and the material was a bit heavier than I would have liked. Would definitely rent again for New Year's or winter wedding
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 22, 2013
The dress had the perfect amount of shine and I received plenty of compliments throughout the night!
The size 2 fit a little snug under my armpits (I am a 32B), but the 4 was a little large everywhere else so I ended up wearing the 2. Also I would be careful not to accessorize with anything that can catch the material.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
April 19, 2013
Gorgeous Dress
This dress was absolutely gorgeous in person. I was planning on wearing this dress to prom but the dress ran small and I could not get either the size 10 or 12 dress over my breasts. I was very disappointed, but I contacted rent the runway and they shipped me a new dress overnight, for free. The service was amazing, despite the dresses not fitting. I would definitely recommend rent the runway to anyone.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
April 15, 2013
Looked great - perfect for a Casino Night event
-Looks great with a black belt around the waist -Runs small -Quite short, looks great with tights -Some wear and tear to the overlay from being worn -The black lining stuck out of the bottom somewhat unevenly. I pinned it up so that the gold fabric became the bottom
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 11, 2013
Lots of compliments!
A bit short (I am 5'7") but wearable. The bodice and the top are really beautiful.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 5, 2013
Beautiful dress for the event. :)
Perfect for the occasion, only problem was the lace snagging on buttons.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
April 5, 2013
Creates a great classic look. Perfect alternative to the plain little black dress.
I would have worn the 6 but there were some pulls in the fabric and the zipper wasnt functioning correctly. The 8 worked but the 6 would have been much better. I normally wear a 4-6 depending on dress because of my chest. Even with the high neck it created a sexy look and accentuated my smaller waist and large chest even in the bigger size.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 1, 2013
Great Dress!
Glad I ordered both the 2 and 4, as the 4 fit best, and it was a little shorter then I prefer. I am 5'8" and overall I thought it was a great, classic style dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 29, 2013
Perfect dress for the Holidays!
This was a great dress for the holidays-conservative yet fun and festive :) I wore it with a cardigan & tights for Christmas Eve church and celebrations. Would definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 27, 2013
A Hit!
I wore this dress to a bachelorette party. It was perfect. Very comfortable and shows off your figure without being too tight. I received a ton of complements and would definitely recommend it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
March 25, 2013
Classy and Fun!
I loved wearing this Milly dress! I was slightly hesitant to rent my first dress from RTR but also so excited! I could not wait for the delivery to come. When I tried on the 0 dress I loved it, but my mother in law noticed that the top, where the gold shimmer is, looked a little bunchy on me. I wasn't sure if it was just because I am so petite or not but the size 2 also bunched. I put on a push up bra and added my "chicken cutlets" to my chest and it filled out quite nicely! This dress went well from the church to elegant beach club wedding. I also paired with a thin black belt and nude heals. I have never felt more confident at an event than I did while wearing this dress. I also have to rave about the costumer service. The nice woman easily added my 2nd size 2 weeks before.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116lbs
March 25, 2013
Perfect Classy Lady Dress.
I love black and gold. I received tons of compliments, it was great for a late fall wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 21, 2013
This dress is perfect for a cocktail part or NYE party! I wore it and felt amazing all night!
The dress fits true to size and my only complaint is that it was a little tight under the arms because it was small in the bust. I wore it to an NYE party and it was the perfect dress for the evening. You can't tell in the picture but the dress sparkles in real life. I wore it with sheer black tights and black pumps and it was a great look for an amazing evening!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
March 18, 2013
Beautiful Dress!
Great dress for a formal, 7pm wedding. I am tall and did not feel it was too short.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
March 15, 2013
I wore this to my sorority's winter formal, the gold sparkle+the lace was perfect!
I got a size larger than what I usually wear because a lot of reviews said it was tight across the hips. It was big on me and I needed to wear a belt with it. Still looked great and loved it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 14, 2013
Perfect amount of sparkle for an outdoor December wedding
I wore it with black tights since the length was a bit shorter than I was expecting, but it looked great. I got a lot of complements and was super comfortable all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
March 9, 2013
Classy and fun dress to wear at my husband's office holiday party!
This dress fit perfectly and I felt comfortable all night long. I wore the size 4 because it fit my shoulders better. Great dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
March 6, 2013
I wore this dress to my engagement party in November and received lots of compliments!
Being a pear shape, I found that the size 4 was a bit loose up top, but fit just right over my hips. When I sat down or moved around alot, the snug fit over my hips caused the dress to ride up a bit. This was minimally and did not detract from the dress. Just something that fellow pear shapes may want to keep in mind. The fit information is dead on and I was overall really pleased with the fit and look of the dress.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Weight: 144lbs
March 6, 2013
Received tons of compliments! Loved this dress so much. Plus, the customer service was amazing!!
Fits small through the bust area but otherwise I loved everything about this dress. More sparkly (especially the top) than in the pictures but I liked it that way!! May rent this dress again I liked it so much. Thanks RTR!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 4, 2013
No stretch at all
I rented a 10 & a 12, and usually those sizes will cover any piece of clothing I need. Unfortunately neither size fit quite right, so I had to return them both. The 10 was tight in the bottom half, and the 12 was too big in the top. Definitely plan on chatting with a size specialist if you are particularly curvy and are considering this dress, as there is ZERO stretch. I should have!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 3, 2013
Fun frock
I thought that this dress fit true to size. I ended up wearing the 10 because it was a little longer. The 8 fit perfectly, but was a little too short. The dress was comfortable, but I do agree with other reviewers, the bust area was a little big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 1, 2013
Obsessed with this dress!
This dress was amazing for New Years! It was so different from what anyone else was wearing. Paired it with a black satin belt and was good to go! It is pretty short, so I wore tights with it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
February 28, 2013
Very cute but small.
I ordered a size 4 and 2 in this dress and there was no way the girls were getting zipped in! I wore my back up dress instead. I usually wear a 0-2 pants and 4 in fitted dress or shirt. I think it would have fit nicely everywhere else but too tight in the bust.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 25, 2013
I felt so confident and glamorous in this dress! It was perfect for a Casino Night party.
I got both the 6 and the 8 because I figured designer dresses would run smaller and based on other reviews. I was surprised by how short this dress was (especially since I consider myself short anyway). I ended up wearing it with some sheer black hose and black heels, which was fine because it was in February and snowing. It was still a bit scandalous getting in and out of a limo/cab. I didn't end up sitting at all the rest of the night! I usually wear petite sizes because I'm tiny on top and this dress was a bit wider in the neck/arm holes than one I would have purchased. It worked fine for a rental though and it was fun to wear. I ended up wearing the larger size because the 6 looked a little worse for wear on the gold shoulders (this is a popular rental) but nothing so noticeable that I considered not wearing it. The 8 also allowed for a bit more wiggle room (for eating and dancing and drinking) and because the 6 was a little tight in my curvy hips. Overall, the RTR experience was fun and easy. It was so exciting to track my shipment and the anticipation was half the fun. The packaging and goodies in the box were a nice touch. The only con? Now I spend so much time on this website fantasizing about other dresses I want to rent soon! :) Also, next time I need to take more/better photos!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 54
Body type: Athletic
February 25, 2013
Loved it!
Great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
February 25, 2013
LOVE this dress.. First time trying RTR will definitely do it again!
I rented this for my boyfriends 25th Birthday dinner and surprise party. I usually wear between 2-4 I am 5ft 4in and 118 pounds. I opted to rent a size 2 and have a size 4 come as well just in case. I ended up going with size 2 and fit perfectly. Loved this dress so much wish I could own it and wear it all the time!! I got soo many compliments all night long!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
February 24, 2013
Looked amazing for my birthday!
Rented this dress for my birthday. It is definitely more sparkly in person. I rented both the 4 and the 6. While both fit great, I have largerhips so I couldn't bend down in the 4 but didn't have enough bust to fill out the 6. Overall, would recommend this to someone with tiny hips and a bigger bust. Dress worked out amazing though! Paired with black leggings and boots to stay warm
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
February 22, 2013
My Favorite Rent The Runway dress so far!
This dress was A-Mazing. My favorite dress I've rented so far (it was my 3rd). It fit perfectly - I am very slender - but it has a great kind of fit anyone would love. My boyfriend absolutely loved it, I wore it for our Valentines Day Dinner (and actually out the next night as well!) I think it's a great, classy way to show off your figure. I would absolutely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 19, 2013
This is an amazing dress!
The dress was great. It was snug through the hips, but I tend to run a little large in that area myself. I went with the 8 because the 6 just wouldn't have given me the room I needed. The dress was beautiful and I absolutely hated sending it back!
See more reviews:
4 / 9
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×