You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Black Lace Combo Dress
Rental $30 Retail $380
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
This girly Milly frock features geometric lace for a feminine update to a mod-inspired style. Simple add the Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch to complete this look.
Chat with a Stylist
Gold metallic brocade with black scallop lace overlay. Boat neckline. Back open slit with button closure. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 30'' from shoulder to hem.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup due to high neckline
WAIST: Very fitted - Fitted at natural waist with bow belt
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos123

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Em
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3532
Oct 19, 2011
Unique, comfortable, stylish dress. Received a ton of compliments!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was the first dress I rented from RTR. I absolutely loved the service & the dress! I normally wear a 2 but got the 0 for a back-up. Thank goodness! The 2 was too wide under the arms. The 0 fit perfect! I rented this dress for a wedding. It is very short & tight but still easy to dance in. It's a gorgeous dress! Comfortable, feminine, pretty & sexy.
Erin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3331
Sep 24, 2012
Obsessed with this dress!!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This was the first time I used RTR and it was amazing. Great service. This dress was gorgeous on and really comfortable. I wore it for a horse race in 2010 and received so many compliments. loved it so much I wanted to keep it and would definitely rent it again in the future.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Sep 14, 2012
Beautiful dress, great quality. Perfect for holiday parties!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Added black bow belt for definition at the waist but not shown in the picture!
Janie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5334
Sep 19, 2012
Great Dress!!!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is awesome! The fabric is of great quality and the fit is very flattering. I usually wear a 6 or 8 in dresses, but I had to go up to a 10 for this one as Milly usually runs pretty small. Overall though, I got so many compliments all night and people LOVED my dress.
Marissa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4442
Sep 17, 2012
I wore this dress for my 21st Birthday Celebrations! I felt extremely special the entire night!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit was great - it ran pretty true to size, but was roomy enough to move around and not feel constricted. I paired the dress with simple black flats (I'm already 5'8") and minimal accessories. The dress was sparkly without being over the top, and was still casual enough to wear out in a college town. I loved this dress and would recommend it to anyone!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3321
Sep 3, 2012
Everyone loved the dress!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to my sorority formal and it was perfect! I could have worn the 2 or 4 but went with the 4 since it had a bit more room - but it runs pretty true to size.
Whitney
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Aug 20, 2012
The fit was perfect! Hugged my curves in just the right places. Most of the people were new to the concept of RTR so hopefully I was able to turn them on to it!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a New Year's Eve wedding and it was such a perfect fit! Lots of compliments and I felt like I had a unique dress on!
KC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7544
Oct 4, 2011
My future father in law told me I needed to own this dress, he loved it so much!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress.I wore it to a fall wedding. A little short on my tall frame but I wore opaque black tights underneath and that made it a bit more conservative. Got a ton of compliments, wore it all day, and was very comfortable. I would highly recommend renting this one.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3444
Aug 12, 2012
A Black Dress with a Metallic Twist!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The circle pattern, metallic thread and dainty bow make this dress unique yet classic! It fit me perfectly!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Aug 10, 2012
Great first rental that got me hooked on RTR!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was the first dress I ever rented from RTR and it was a great first rental. It's a beautiful dress and was perfect for a fall wedding. I ordered a 6 and an 8 and went with the 8, since it was a little snug in the hips.
D Lee's Buzz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4633
Jul 29, 2012
I received the American Courage Award in this dress in Washington D.C. It was professional enough and sexy and elegant all in one. My husband, after I was finished giving my speech, said "you look absolutely amazing! "
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was receiving an award at a prestigious ceremony in Washington D.C. I loved this dress but I must say it felt tight around my chest and underarms. I wore a size 4, but with hindsight,I would suggest to anyone, if you have a full bust I would recommend one size up. That would have helped me feel more comfortable. The fabric does not give and is not flexible. But it's certainly stylish and elegant--and you can get away with it for professional occasions!
Cynthia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4432
Sep 11, 2011
All the compliments and wearing a beautiful, unique dress that didn't break the bank!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is gorgeous and I highly recommend it. I rented it for a charity poker tournament that was black-tie optional and I was perfectly dressed. (I rented a size 4, and I am an A cup) A few things to note: 1. This dress used to come with a black bow belt, as you can see in the picture now, the bow is gone. This is because RTR kept losing the belt. The dress looks like a matronly shift without the belt so I recommend going to Michael's and buying some black ribbon to tie around your waist. (This is what I did and it made the dress.) 2. The dress is not short at all. I'm 5'5'' and it hit mid-thigh and was perfectly appropriate. Although, if it was winter you could wear tights or hose and look great. 3. I have a small bust, so the neckline was a little loose, but nothing noticeable. 4. I recommend a red clutch with the dress as a pop and subtle accessories.
Bree
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2424
Feb 13, 2012
My date said the dress was the perfect mix of glitz and class.
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 0 and 2, and didn't even try on the 2. The 0 fit perfectly in the waist and hips, but the shoulders were too large for me. I don't usually have the problem of the bust being too big, so I was surprised. However, it was do-able and I used the included fashion-tape to keep the shoulders from gaping. It could just be a problem for someone as short/petite as me, with the high cut neckline of this dress. Overall, I felt both elegant and sexy at my event. The gold fabric was slightly worn on some edges, but not so much as to feel that anyone but me would notice.
Juli
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3434
Feb 7, 2012
Perfect dress for a formal event for my boyfriend's law school!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress in a size 2 and size 4. I'm usually a size 2 and when I tried on the 2 it fit true to size. This dress was perfect for a formal event at my boyfriend's law school. I received lots of compliments.
Chelsie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Jan 18, 2012
i loved it!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
i really loved wearing this dress! it was so nice to come home from vacation and have this waiting for me when i came back :) i wore it to a winter wedding in Maine and got so many compliments! i felt confident wearing this dress and it has a vintage/retro feel to it which is unique. it was a perfect combination of sexy and classy. both the size two and four fit well, but i went with the four because it wasnt as tight in the bust area. it was very comfortable and easy to dance in as well. i wore it with the kate spade "putting on the ritz" bangle.
mb
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4623
Nov 1, 2011
Wore this to my son's Bar Mitzvah and got compliments all night.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Love this dress. Ordered the 4 and 6. The 4 fit, but was a bit tighter through the hips, so went with the 6. It had a little room on top, but was fine. As short as I am, it still hit well above my knees. I wore black net hose like the model and got tons of compliments! (Not bad for an old lady!)
Katie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Jan 8, 2012
The best complement of the night was a woman my husband works with saying she didn't like a lot of the dresses at the event but she really liked mine! ;-) I felt like I was on the runway the whole night. Totally fabulous.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Rented this for my husbands work holiday party which also turned out to be our date night. Ordered the 2 and the 4 (I'm usually a 2) and after trying on the 2 I didn't even have to take the 4 out of the bag. SO pleased with how the 2 fit and how it looked. I'm pretty short (5'2) and it hit just above my knee and tended to crawl up when I sat down which wasn't surprising. Great quality item, beautiful overlay and comfy silky lining. My only complaint is that the gold material was slightly frayed - a bit on the shoulder and some on the hem. If it weren't for that I wouldn't have believed it was a rental dress! Will be renting again soon! Thanks RTR!
Trisha
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Dec 7, 2011
All of the compliments!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress really does fit pretty true to size, it ran a little bit large on me though. It wasn't too short, got TONS of compliments all night long on it! The gold material underneath has a subtle shine to it, it's absolutely perfect with the black lace on top, especially for holiday parties! Loved this dress, didn't want to return it...I would definitely recommend it!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4423
Nov 23, 2011
Got so many compliments! I felt like a celeb :-)
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am pretty petite with a somewhat athletic body. I ordered the 4 and the 6 because the description said to go a size up in the extra size. The 4 fit like a glove. I wore this to a charity gala for work and I got lots of compliments. Oh, I also used a black ribbon from another dress and tied that around the waist line.
Bbfish
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6434
Jan 2, 2011
New Years in this dress can't be beat! Until next year...
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a New Years party and it was perfect! I have D boobs and a bit of a belly, but the dress fit beautifully. Milly runs small in general, so I usually wear a size 8 but actually had to get a 12. The 12 was a little lose for me up top, but fit the rest of my body well. You can also take the belt off, which I did, and it still looks great. I would definitely recommend this dress!
Erin
Age: 22
Canonical User Type: 1311
Apr 10, 2014
Absolutely beautiful dress that fit perfectly!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for my last sorority formal and kept getting complimented on it all night. It fit perfectly and looked amazing in pictures. I only wish that I could have kept it to wear again in the future!
erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Apr 7, 2014
EVERYONE asked where I got the dress from and I proudly said RTR! I think you got new customers!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for a fundraising event that I was hosting for the Boston Marathon. I felt beautiful! Everyone asked where I had gotten the dress from and I proudly told them RTR. I wore the dress with opaque black tights because it was a bit short
Hilda Nathalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Canonical User Type: 7533
Apr 6, 2014
Oh you Fancy
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was great! The gold with the black overlay was perfect my company holiday party. I got a ton of compliments on the dress and it was super comfortable. It is short tho, I'm 5'5" so if you're taller, keep that in mind.
KB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Apr 3, 2014
Birthday Dress
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I felt great wearing this dress to ring in my 25th year!!
Stephanie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4534
Mar 16, 2014
I felt fabulous in this dress!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to an Alzheimer's Gala & loved it. I got so many compliments. It had the perfect amount of sparkle for an evening event. I tried the size 2 & 4. The 2 fit pretty similar to the 4 but was tighter around the hips & was a little uncomfortable when sitting, so I wore the 4. My only complaint about this dress was the black slip part underneath showed in some places at the bottom but I pinned it up before leaving the house & it was fine. Overall, this is a win!
ansley
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7543
Mar 12, 2014
n/a
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Very pretty details, love the shimmery tweed fabric, but this dress super short. I am 5'9" and even with tights this dress was way too short for me to wear. Definitely runs small (even smaller than typical Milly), so size up at least one size from your regular size.
Reese
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4523
Mar 10, 2014
Very flattering. Could dress it up or down.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Looser in the waist. On the short side.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 8543
Mar 10, 2014
This dress is quite short and runs small.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was not able to wear the dress. It was too small.
Nicole
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Canonical User Type: 5433
Mar 6, 2014
So many compliments!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved this dress! I got so many compliments on it from complete strangers and would definitely wear it again. I think it was the perfect length but when I sat down it was a bit short.
ALLISON
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7344
Mar 3, 2014
Unwearable
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The dress was intended for an awards banquet, I was not able to wear it because of fit. There is no give in this dress.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7443
Feb 25, 2014
Runs small but looks cute!
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Fit: Runs small Pros: The gold accent adds a classy twist on the classic LBD. Cute and stylish. Paired it with tights and a black cardigan and it looked good and was easy to wear on a winter date night! Cons: Runs a little small, and I had to wear with tights because it was too short.
CB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 4521
Feb 17, 2014
Lots of compliments
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I went up a size, because the hip area was a little small, but then the bust area was too big. It still looked good (and I am small chested) so I still wore it, but if I had bought the dress I'd probably tailor the bust area. Very beautiful, slightly metallic without being obvious, gorgeous dress!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5423
Feb 14, 2014
Great for winter wedding!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got many compliments on the dress. I loved it because it was fun (with the glittery background and shorter hem) but still conservative enough to be ladylike. The fit was true to size, but definitely snug, especially in the hips-- the material does not have stretch, but it was still comfortable and flattering. The dress was the perfect length for me (definitely short but not so short that you can't sit down), but I'm just 5'3" and I have a short torso.
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5523
Feb 1, 2014
Great Dress, Too small
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is adorable. Even nicer than the pictures, but it was much smaller than I thought. I didn't wear it as it was too small (and then hem was out in the 6). Luckily, RTR is awesome and sent me two other dresses overnight for my event. I probably needed an 8 (or even a 10), but unfortunately it wasn't available. Might try this again!
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7433
Jan 28, 2014
Awesome, and so festive!
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I really liked this dress! I wore it to my husband's work Christmas party in December. I ended up wearing the 12, which was the larger size because this dress runs short and also a little tight in the chest and arms. The 12 fit great, but the 10 was a little short and tight to really be cute and comfortable. Overall I thought that the dress was great, and I loved the black lace overlay to the gold material.
Su
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3523
Jan 27, 2014
Wore this dress to a wedding, it looks fabulous on!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Pros: Great fit, I wear a size 0 and it fit perfectly. Very stylish dress! Cons: a little on the shorter side, great if you have slender legs.
Kat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8443
Jan 14, 2014
Pretty dress but didn't work out for me
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Loved the dress but it runs way too small, and I'm very true to my size. Too short and too tight. Bummer!
Megan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4424
Jan 2, 2014
Even better in person
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved wearing this dress - the picture really doesn't do it justice. I got a ton of compliments and really stood out from the crowd, in a good way. It definitely runs small and it is very short - I would have been more comfortable in a size 8.
Stacy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6423
Dec 30, 2013
Great for any occasion!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore this to church and then to a bridal shower and I got so many compliments. I felt a little bad because more people complimented me than the soon-to-be bride! The fabric did not have any give to it, so it was a little difficult to sit down on the little stool I sat on for the shower, but I felt like a million bucks!
Colleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Dec 24, 2013
A tiny bit loose in the bust and tight in the hips, but still worked
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Excellent quality, very appropriate for a winter holiday party
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress