Milly

Black Lace Combo Dress

$56 to buy
$380 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This girly Milly frock features geometric lace for a feminine update to a mod-inspired style. Simple add the Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch to complete this look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup due to high neckline
WAIST: Very fitted - Fitted at natural waist with bow belt
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup due to high neckline
WAIST: Very fitted - Fitted at natural waist with bow belt
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold metallic brocade with black scallop lace overlay. Boat neckline. Back open slit with button closure. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 30'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

358 reviews

Fit
Small 127
True to Size 222
Large 6
Photos 147
Bbfish
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 2, 2011

New Years in this dress can't be beat! Until next year...

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a New Years party and it was perfect! I have D boobs and a bit of a belly, but the dress fit beautifully. Milly runs small in general, so I usually wear a size 8 but actually had to get a 12. The 12 was a little lose for me up top, but fit the rest of my body well. You can also take the belt off, which I did, and it still looks great. I would definitely recommend this dress!
kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
May 29, 2015

It was the perfect amount of sparkle for a December wedding.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great in pictures, great for dancing. A very pretty silhouette and it was really comfortable.
Ada
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 195 lbs
Mar 5, 2015

Not a great fit for larger sizes.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This is a cute dress but I am a size 12 with also a large bust. So it ended up looking awkward on my frame. I'm sure it'll look cute on a smaller female.
Sam
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Jan 21, 2015

Loved the whole experience. The dress was beautiful!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the dress. Many reviews said it fits small but the 0 fit me perfectly. It is a great dress if you are short (I am 5'2") and the dress was a perfect length on me. It was a couple inches above my knee. Got lots of compliments on the dress!! I will def rent from Rent the Runway again. Great experience overall.
Alli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Dec 15, 2014

Sparkly and fun for a fall/winter wedding.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a four, but the four was pretty short for a church wedding. The six fit well, but the lining was showing so I did have to use sewing tape to keep parts of it hidden.
kelsey
Age: 29
Dec 9, 2014

Awesome dress!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
Dress was a bit small in chest are so I sized up. It was long enough to be comfortable, since I'm tall this is important!! Loved the dress was perfect for my husbands holiday party! Would rent again the whole RTR experience was fantastic!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

Great fit, love that it had some sparkle but wasn't too much

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 105 pounds 5'2 and this dress fit very well. Wasn't too long or baggy. I wore this to my husbands office party in Florida. It was very cute and appropriate for a holiday event.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 100 lbs
Dec 6, 2014

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a Thanksgiving party. It was perfect and festive for the event! It fit true to size, and the gold with black is really beautiful and perfect for the holiday time. I would definitely recommend this dress!
Celena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 5, 2014

Odd shape

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I didn't end up wearing this because the arm holes were too small and uncomfortably scratchy next to that glitter; the hips were extremely tight but was baggy everywhere else, even in the bust.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Sep 26, 2014

Runs very small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
i usually wear between a 10 and a 12. but i couldn't even get the 12 zippered on this dress. Much smaller than i expected unfortunately. It was beautiful, wish it fit!
Alice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 136 lbs
Aug 24, 2014

comfortable fit + work appropriate

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Wore for a work event. Chic, comfortable for dancing, but also appropriate for work occasion! The fabric is beautiful but has no give/stretch in it.
Becca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 16, 2014

By far my favorite rental!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Absolutely loved this dress. I wore it for a rehearsal dinner and got tons of compliments! Fit very snug in the waist and hips, even in a 2 (and I usually wear 0), so maybe size up as your backup. It was more sparkly than I was expecting from the pictures, but I still thought it was appropriate. I would most definitely rent this again!!
Amanda
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 13, 2014

Didn't fit!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It was really short and tight. The fit was really off for me!
christie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 2, 2014

actually didn't end up wearing

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
dress was a tad small in the 4 but did fit. it was pretty! irented it as a backup and actually went with the other dress i rented.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 21, 2014

Tons of compliments.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
True to size fit. Perfect for a winter wedding or holiday affair. Just enough sparkle without being too much. Good for shorter women.
Monica
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 15, 2014

Great print, perfect for a winter cocktail party...fit ideal for tall, slim shapes!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
for a cocktail party, the fit was not meant for my 5'2'' frame - it ran very long (a few inches below my knee) and was a big snug around my hips. so cute, but in the end i couldn't make it work.
Denise
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 12, 2014

short!!!!!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
way too short!!! I am 5'7 and there is no way I could wear this in public, I returned it!
Doreen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 7, 2014

Overall, I had a great time at the wedding, but the dress was somewhat of an unpleasant distraction.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress, but the fit wasn't good. The dress was very snug around the hips, and I had to hike it up a bit to sit down...which was a problem because it is already very short! The black slip was showing an inch at the bottom, which was a little annoying. It also kept riding up, which made it impossible to dance. I do have wide hips and a smaller bust which makes dress shopping difficult, but I typically wear a size 4 or 6, so it seems this dress runs a little small. Additionally, you could tell the dress had been worn a few times, since some of the gold threads were frayed.
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 17, 2014

Too small

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Tried to wear this for a evening cocktail wedding. However it was too small to even get on definitely go a size or two up
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170 lbs
Jun 10, 2014

Too small!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I tried this on in the 12 and couldn't even get it on. I'm not exactly a slim 12 but I've never had that issue before (and, in fact, wore another Milly dress in a 12 instead). It's very small and VERY short. That said, the dress itself is beautiful so if you're lean and mean go for it!
Hilary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 10, 2014

Wanted this dress to fit but it ran incredibly small so I didn't end up wearing it

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Too small
RTR Customer
Jun 8, 2014

Great dress, but runs very small

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
You definitely want to size UP with this dress. I'm normally a 4 or 6, but both sizes were too small. The next size wasn't available when I called, so I had to pick a different dress. The dress was gorgeous, and I would love to rent it again in a bigger size.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 20, 2014

Wore this to a "gatsby" wedding, the fun sparkle with black dot overlay way perfect.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit amazing. It was very flattering, not too tight, not too loose. The sparkle was off set by the black lace dots, so it was perfect for a late fall/gatsby theme wedding. Since there is sparkle in the dress minimal jewelry is required, so it's very easy to wear! I would rent this one again for another formal event!
Mika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 23, 2014

Runs SUPER small!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this in an 8 and 10 for a wedding. I'm almost always a size 8 or medium. NEITHER of the sizes fit... I couldn't even close to zip it through the back/chest. I am busty (a 36C or 34D) and there is absolutely NO give in this fabric, so I would avoid it if you have any bust at all. Was super bummed, because it is a really gorgeous dress.
KC
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 22, 2014

Dress not worn

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The dress is beautiful in person, the picture of the model does not do it justice. But for my shape (hourglass) it was too snug in the hips and too loose in the waist to look quite right, but that is the dress style and my body type, not really anything wrong with the dress.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 10, 2014

Absolutely beautiful dress that fit perfectly!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for my last sorority formal and kept getting complimented on it all night. It fit perfectly and looked amazing in pictures. I only wish that I could have kept it to wear again in the future!
erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 7, 2014

EVERYONE asked where I got the dress from and I proudly said RTR! I think you got new customers!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for a fundraising event that I was hosting for the Boston Marathon. I felt beautiful! Everyone asked where I had gotten the dress from and I proudly told them RTR. I wore the dress with opaque black tights because it was a bit short
Hilda Nathalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Apr 6, 2014

Oh you Fancy

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was great! The gold with the black overlay was perfect my company holiday party. I got a ton of compliments on the dress and it was super comfortable. It is short tho, I'm 5'5" so if you're taller, keep that in mind.
KB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 3, 2014

Birthday Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I felt great wearing this dress to ring in my 25th year!!
ansley
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 12, 2014

n/a

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Very pretty details, love the shimmery tweed fabric, but this dress super short. I am 5'9" and even with tights this dress was way too short for me to wear. Definitely runs small (even smaller than typical Milly), so size up at least one size from your regular size.
Theresa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 10, 2014

Very flattering. Could dress it up or down.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Looser in the waist. On the short side.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Mar 10, 2014

This dress is quite short and runs small.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was not able to wear the dress. It was too small.
Nicole
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Mar 6, 2014

So many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved this dress! I got so many compliments on it from complete strangers and would definitely wear it again. I think it was the perfect length but when I sat down it was a bit short.
ALLISON
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 3, 2014

Unwearable

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The dress was intended for an awards banquet, I was not able to wear it because of fit. There is no give in this dress.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 25, 2014

Runs small but looks cute!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Fit: Runs small Pros: The gold accent adds a classy twist on the classic LBD. Cute and stylish. Paired it with tights and a black cardigan and it looked good and was easy to wear on a winter date night! Cons: Runs a little small, and I had to wear with tights because it was too short.
CB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Feb 17, 2014

Lots of compliments

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I went up a size, because the hip area was a little small, but then the bust area was too big. It still looked good (and I am small chested) so I still wore it, but if I had bought the dress I'd probably tailor the bust area. Very beautiful, slightly metallic without being obvious, gorgeous dress!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 14, 2014

Great for winter wedding!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got many compliments on the dress. I loved it because it was fun (with the glittery background and shorter hem) but still conservative enough to be ladylike. The fit was true to size, but definitely snug, especially in the hips-- the material does not have stretch, but it was still comfortable and flattering. The dress was the perfect length for me (definitely short but not so short that you can't sit down), but I'm just 5'3" and I have a short torso.
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 1, 2014

Great Dress, Too small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is adorable. Even nicer than the pictures, but it was much smaller than I thought. I didn't wear it as it was too small (and then hem was out in the 6). Luckily, RTR is awesome and sent me two other dresses overnight for my event. I probably needed an 8 (or even a 10), but unfortunately it wasn't available. Might try this again!
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 28, 2014

Awesome, and so festive!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I really liked this dress! I wore it to my husband's work Christmas party in December. I ended up wearing the 12, which was the larger size because this dress runs short and also a little tight in the chest and arms. The 12 fit great, but the 10 was a little short and tight to really be cute and comfortable. Overall I thought that the dress was great, and I loved the black lace overlay to the gold material.
Su
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Jan 27, 2014

Wore this dress to a wedding, it looks fabulous on!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Pros: Great fit, I wear a size 0 and it fit perfectly. Very stylish dress! Cons: a little on the shorter side, great if you have slender legs.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×