Milly

Black Lace Combo Dress

$56 to buy
$380 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This girly Milly frock features geometric lace for a feminine update to a mod-inspired style. Simple add the Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch to complete this look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup due to high neckline
WAIST: Very fitted - Fitted at natural waist with bow belt
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Product Details

Gold metallic brocade with black scallop lace overlay. Boat neckline. Back open slit with button closure. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 30'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
360 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(223)
Small
(128)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 7, 2012
As always the compliments that you get in a RTR dress are always amazing

When researching this dress and reading the reviews people on the site advised to size up if you have a larger chest. I took their advice and I'm glad I did. Where the dress comes up high on the neckline for busty girls I think it is best to go a size up. I also read that that this designer commonly runs on the small side to be safe I sized up for my bust to a size 8 and then sized up again for my second size to a size 10. I tried on both and ultimately ended up wearing the size 8.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 9, 2012
The dress was beautiful and well made. I felt great and it was perfect for the occasion.

I normally wear a size 8 but one stylist said order 8 and 10. So I did. I received a call the day before I got the dress that the 10 hadn't been returned so it wouldn't be sent to me. The 8 fit perfect up top, a little big at the chest but not a big deal at all. The issue was around my butt and thighs. I'm wide so it was tight, not uncomfortable tight but if I sat it rode up a lot and because it was tight and would ride up, that made it short so tights were a must. If it fit better on the bottom, it still would have been short but probably wouldn't of had to wear tights. Originally I had heels on but switched to flats. It had a nice lining so it wasn't itchy and no itchiness under the arms. Overall I felt great in the dress and everyone loved it. It didn't come with the belt so I bought a skinny patent leather bow one from Express and it looked great. Also wore black/gold earrings and gold bracelet. Minimal but perfect.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
December 10, 2012
Pictures don't do the dress justice!

Beautiful dress! Could not believe how amazing it looked in person... pictures don't do it justice. Only complaint was that the dress ran pretty small and was short. Had to wear tights underneath because it was worn to a work event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
December 10, 2012
Even better in person!

This dress was gorgeous. The gold details stands out much more in person. The fit however was not what I expected and was too small. Unfortunately they did not have a second size back up, so I was unable to wear this dress. This would have been perfect for the wedding rehearsal dinner, so I was disappointed I did not get to show it off!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
December 11, 2012
Sparkly, glamorous fabric + a tailored look was perfect for a formal work event.

The dress is short but so am I. I'm not pear-shaped, but the top was a little loose in the shoulders and the bottom was a little snug at the hips. This is an ideal dress for classy winter cocktails - I wore this dress in South Beach and it got a little toasty.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
December 11, 2012
I received so many compliments on this dress all night long!

It is gorgeous! The black and gold details are really pretty. Perfect for a fall or winter wedding! The fit is a bit small. I am an 8, and while I could've worn the 8, I decided to do the 10 for comfort. I would definitely order your typical size and then one size up, just in case. I'm so glad I ordered this dress!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 12, 2012
Beautiful detail

This dress has a gold sheath and then beautiful black dot design, in something like crotchet, for lack of the correct term over the sheath. It is shorter than I normally rent,about 5 inches above knee. I wore this to 2 Christmas parties and received many compliments. I paired with black tights for the more conservative one. As stated the dress has no stretch so that might be why I needed the larger size. Convienient side zip and pretty back neck slit.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 153lbs
December 12, 2012
Dress is stunning! Runs small.

Dress is very pretty once you take it out and look at it. It's stunning when you put it on. Definitely a great party or date dress. I loved it! Unfortunately, it ran small around my hips so I was unable to wear it or my back up. The back up was a size up but was very large around the neck/shoulder area. I would definitely rent again from RTR although this was my first experience and the dress didn't fit. It is stunning though!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
December 17, 2012
It was very flattering. I would wear it again to another holiday party.

Fitted Dress, Very Fitted at Hips.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
December 19, 2012
The oriole proposed to me in this dress because he loved it! :)

I got so many compliments on my dress for this fall wedding :)! Everyone was begging to know where I got it from (and of course I told them all about RTR) I usually wear a size 10 but it was a bit snug and short so I went with the 12. Definite flirty classy dress and would recommend to anyone!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158lbs
December 24, 2012
I really liked this dress! I am tall, so this dress was pretty short on me, but it worked!

I recommend it for a cocktail party or anything where you need a fun look! It could be dressed up too with the right pair of heels.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2013
Beautiful dress!

I loved this dress! I originally rented it for my husband's Christmas party but I ended up wearing a different dress that was a little more formal. I am normally a size 2 but it was unavailable. The size 6 fit great, though I think the 4 would have been ideal. The dress is much more sparkly than it looks on the website, but it's not over the top. I will definitely rent it again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2013
Pretty Pattern, OK Fit

This dress has beautiful fabric, but the shape is not especially flattering. If you are curvy on the bottom definitely size up. I am normally a 4/6 but because the dress has no stretch I ended up renting the 8/10. to accommodate my hips. I wore the 8 and it was still a little big on top. Very classy print though.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
January 3, 2013
Loved this dress! Perfect for a wedding!

Received so many complements! Dress does run tight though--I wore the 6 and it was still a little tight! Perfect length for short girls.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 3, 2013
Great material and beautiful dress! Received compliments!

Dress runs waaaaaay shorter than I originally thought.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Pear
January 18, 2013
This dress is not for pear or curvy figured ladies.

I wore this for an event, it was pretty tight and short through the hips and really baggy around the neckline. It was still a cool dress, better than the ones in my closet, but it was not my favorite RTR experience.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 18, 2013
I got lots of compliments on this dress. I loved it and would wear it again.

It ran small. I didn't get an extra size for some reason. There is NO stretch in that dress but I still loved it.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 25, 2013
I felt so confident and glamorous in this dress! It was perfect for a Casino Night party.

I got both the 6 and the 8 because I figured designer dresses would run smaller and based on other reviews. I was surprised by how short this dress was (especially since I consider myself short anyway). I ended up wearing it with some sheer black hose and black heels, which was fine because it was in February and snowing. It was still a bit scandalous getting in and out of a limo/cab. I didn't end up sitting at all the rest of the night! I usually wear petite sizes because I'm tiny on top and this dress was a bit wider in the neck/arm holes than one I would have purchased. It worked fine for a rental though and it was fun to wear. I ended up wearing the larger size because the 6 looked a little worse for wear on the gold shoulders (this is a popular rental) but nothing so noticeable that I considered not wearing it. The 8 also allowed for a bit more wiggle room (for eating and dancing and drinking) and because the 6 was a little tight in my curvy hips. Overall, the RTR experience was fun and easy. It was so exciting to track my shipment and the anticipation was half the fun. The packaging and goodies in the box were a nice touch. The only con? Now I spend so much time on this website fantasizing about other dresses I want to rent soon! :) Also, next time I need to take more/better photos!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
February 28, 2013
Very cute but small.

I ordered a size 4 and 2 in this dress and there was no way the girls were getting zipped in! I wore my back up dress instead. I usually wear a 0-2 pants and 4 in fitted dress or shirt. I think it would have fit nicely everywhere else but too tight in the bust.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 4, 2013
No stretch at all

I rented a 10 & a 12, and usually those sizes will cover any piece of clothing I need. Unfortunately neither size fit quite right, so I had to return them both. The 10 was tight in the bottom half, and the 12 was too big in the top. Definitely plan on chatting with a size specialist if you are particularly curvy and are considering this dress, as there is ZERO stretch. I should have!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Weight: 144lbs
March 6, 2013
Received tons of compliments! Loved this dress so much. Plus, the customer service was amazing!!

Fits small through the bust area but otherwise I loved everything about this dress. More sparkly (especially the top) than in the pictures but I liked it that way!! May rent this dress again I liked it so much. Thanks RTR!!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
April 5, 2013
Creates a great classic look. Perfect alternative to the plain little black dress.

I would have worn the 6 but there were some pulls in the fabric and the zipper wasnt functioning correctly. The 8 worked but the 6 would have been much better. I normally wear a 4-6 depending on dress because of my chest. Even with the high neck it created a sexy look and accentuated my smaller waist and large chest even in the bigger size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
April 15, 2013
Looked great - perfect for a Casino Night event

-Looks great with a black belt around the waist -Runs small -Quite short, looks great with tights -Some wear and tear to the overlay from being worn -The black lining stuck out of the bottom somewhat unevenly. I pinned it up so that the gold fabric became the bottom

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
April 19, 2013
Gorgeous Dress

This dress was absolutely gorgeous in person. I was planning on wearing this dress to prom but the dress ran small and I could not get either the size 10 or 12 dress over my breasts. I was very disappointed, but I contacted rent the runway and they shipped me a new dress overnight, for free. The service was amazing, despite the dresses not fitting. I would definitely recommend rent the runway to anyone.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 30, 2013
Short

This dress was way too tight and verrrryy short. Quite disappointed I couldn't wear it, because it's cute!

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Body type: Apple
Weight: 162lbs
May 2, 2013
Gold!

The dress is far more "gold" than it appears in the pictures. It does run small - I'm a size 12 and I couldn't get the zipper up past my hips. Girls who are curvy are going to want to size up for sure! Luckily I had picked another dress that I liked far better and it did fit!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
May 9, 2013
True to size all over except on the hips.

True to size all over except on the hips.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 15, 2013
Great party dress!

On the shorter side for the taller ladies like myself, but overall a great dress. Was a little more hip-hugging than the normal Milly dresses I own, so had to size up. The dress had a loose hem in the back that kept showing which was slightly annoying (RTR might want to fix that for the next renter). But paired it with black tights for a chilly wedding and wasn't too bad. Super cute!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
July 18, 2013
So fun & girly!

Very fitted, runs a tad bit small. So cute with the dots! Black and gold was great for a holiday party! http://bowsandsequins.com/2011/12/19/dots-bows/

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
July 21, 2013
Another great experience from RTR!

I wore this dress to a wedding, and felt amazing. Received so many compliments too! I usually wear a 2, but this dress seems to run small. So I ended up wearing the size 4. It fit perfectly! Looking forward to my next RTR dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
July 29, 2013
Love the dress- sparkles & very flattering! I got so many compliments! Top was loose, bottom tight.

This was my first time doing Rent the Runway and I LOVED IT! I am usually a 6 so I rented the 6 and 8. I wore the 6 because the top was loose and I didn't want it to be any looser. The bottom was tight, but everyone I was with said it looked perfect, so I guess it was fine! I felt wonderful in it and I love how it looks with the Dramatic Drop Earrings from Badgley Mischka Jewelry. The dress is classy yet has great personality! Definitely recommend it for a wedding.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 18, 2013
Many compliments!

I think the fit was a little too small. I didn't think it was too short, however, I did get the size 4 and it wouldn't even go up over my hips (where normally I can do that with dresses!). The size 6 ended up fitting perfect. I really liked it and received many compliments throughout the night. I give it 5 stars because the size 6 was great!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 1, 2013
Not ideal if you have hips and a butt!

I ordered this dress against my better judgement. All of the reviews and stylist notes mentioned that it was not an ideal dress for pear shapes. It was made clear that the dress runs tight in the hip area but I figured I would give it a try anyway and just order a size up. It fit everywhere except around my hips and I could not zip it up. I typically wear a size 4 and neither the 4 nor the 6 fit. An 8 would've fit around my hips, but most likely would've been too loose in the chest and arms. It was a lovely dress and the material seemed high quality, it was just not meant for my body type. I liked the gold and the retro feel of the polka dots, but I was unable to wear it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 16, 2013
The dress didn't work for my body but Lauren, my stylist, made the return process very simple!

I rented the sizes 4 and 6. The 4 was very narrow and I couldn't get it over my hips. While the 6 fit my hips, the bust area was too big. The slip showed out of the bottom of the 6. I returned the dress and through the help of my stylist was able to quickly find a dress that would fit and be ready in time for my friend's wedding.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
October 17, 2013
Pretty Dress but not the best fit.

The dress was really pretty but I had a little trouble with the fit. It was a little large in the shoulder area but pretty tight around my "curves" - sizing up just made it larger in the shoulder area. Probably not the best dress for my body (petite and curvy) but I did get a lot of compliments regardless :)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
October 18, 2013
Cute & Flattering

This dress is really cute in person and perfect for a wedding. I can normally wear a 2 or 4, but I am a little bigger on the bottom so I could not fit myself into the 2. I received a ton of compliments and would definitely rent this dress again! I accessorized with earrings, bracelet and black patent pumps. Great dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
October 22, 2013
I would love to own this dress

I received so may compliments on this dress! The top does run a bit small so if you have a large bust definitely size up. The length was perfect. The gold makes much more of a statement in person and in other renters pictures than on the model...beautiful dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 30, 2013
A bit tight for me

I have a somewhat rotund booty and some hips and this dress didn't really have much give to it. Not very flexible and a bit too short for a wedding.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 4, 2013
Beautiful dress, but fit not the greatest if you have curves

I wore this to a wedding and got tons of compliments. As others have said, the hips run a little small and the chest area is a little big so it wasn't the greatest fit ever, but it was pretty good. I got a 2 and 4, but I ended up wearing the 2 because it was a little more fitted, and spanx helped the bottoms fit better. The gold is even better in person and it stood out so much I didn't really need much jewelry. Overall a good experience.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
November 7, 2013
Way, way, way too short to wear out of the house.

I'm 5'10" and have a fairly large bust. The skirt barely covered my bum. I could have worn it with leggings, but that wouldn't have really matched the look.

See more reviews:
2 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×