Mark & James by Badgley Mischka

Tie-Back Rose Garden Shift

$42 to buy
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look flirty and feminine in this gorgeous Mark & James by Badgley Mischka floral dress. Great for any bride to be or romantic date night out. Go with eye catching accessories like the Dannijo's Vala Necklace and kate spade accessories' Crystal Kate Chandelier Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

White crepe with floral applique. Crew neckline. Cap sleeves. Open back with navy grosgrain ribbon tie. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

70 reviews

Fit
Small 10
True to Size 18
Large 42
Photos 18
Amber
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

Pre-Wedding, Wedding Dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
We are getting married in Mexico, so elected to do a city hall wedding here in Chicago beforehand. We weren't going to tell anyone about it, but I loved the dress so much that we posted a picture on Instagram and now everyone knows! haha It was comfy and "bridal" without looking ridiculous for a city hall "ceremony." I would not recommend it for other pear shapes, but I couldn't resist the blue ribbon and open back!
Julieta
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Sep 24, 2013

Je T'aime!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I lololoooved this dress! Wore it for prom and it totally went with our rendezvous/Parisian theme got a lot of compliments too!:)
Jillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 25, 2013

As beautiful as this dress is, I would not recommend it if you are pear shaped.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was so excited for this dress but my excitement immediately turned to disappointment once I tried it on. I should have listened to my fellow RTRers when they said this dress is NOT meant for a pear shape! The dress is SUPER fitted through the hips but fortunately, it is not too noticeable because the dress is lined and also the outside material is very thick and structured. It was, however, kind of difficult for me to actively move around in. The dress is not at all fitted in the waist or bust area, which gave the appearance that I was wearing a white rosette sack! If you are looking for a form fitting dress, this is not it. I really wouldn't recommend this dress if you are short or have short legs. The material is gorgeous but it consumes you! You want to wear the dress, but this dress definitely has the ability to wear you- not a positive thing! Between the tight fit through the hips, no fit through the waist and the rosette detailing making me look larger than I am, I just couldn't take myself seriously in this dress. It was not for me. I would definitely recommend this dress if you are: tall, athletic, thin, busty, hourglass.
Lexie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115 lbs
May 21, 2013

Beautiful dress but not very flattering

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress, but even the extra small was too big. I wore it anyway, but I did look a little boxy/shapeless.
DanielleJoyce
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 3, 2013

The navy blue ribbon made the dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved the idea of this dress. The open back with navy blue ribbon was beautiful. I felt like the front was not as flattering for my body type. It was like I was wearing an oversized Tshirt. The roses were pretty but a little worn. definitly need high heels to make this dress look right,
Jordan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Aug 10, 2012

Cute Cute Cute

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
The fabric flowers all over the dress were so cute! I loved the navy blue bow in the back!! It wasn't too short either! The only complaint I have is that it is a little too wide, but I added a larger belt and no one was the wiser.
Jessica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 1, 2013

A beautiful, original and intricate dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for one of my bridal showers and absolutely loved it. I rented a S and an XS after reading the reviews, and ended up wearing the S because the XS was way too short for me. The S was still a little on the short side (I'm 5'7") but because it's not a skin-tight fit, I felt like it was still very appropriate. It does have a lose fit around the middle, but in no way comes off as looking baggy or strange. It's just such a unique and delicate fabric, people literally stopped me on the street to compliment me on it.
Kat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 21, 2013

Beautiful dress but not meant for curves!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was stunning and no one noticed I was constantly pulling it down. I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner. The material inside is a silky lining and was hugging very tight to my hips and thighs. I tried the small on and it looked like I was wearing a sleeping bag. It was huge. The dress is gorgeous and I was complimented on it all night. No one could tell that it was tight on my hips or legs because the material on the outside was loose. I would only recommend this dress to a girl that doesn't have curves or doesn't mind being uncomfortable!
barbara
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 4, 2013

Great crafstmanship, quality of dress was impeccable, romantic and classy.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is beautiful, a great mix of romantic and edgy. The color is more of a blush than an off white, which actually made my skin tone look better. The rosettes looked gorgeous and you can tell that it was well taken care of which was something I was concerned about. The bow in the back was a nice touch and made it more fun. Regarding fit, I do have to say that if you are more bottom heavy (hispanic ancestry) the inner lining will most likely be tight. I ended up wearing the Small because the Medium outter lining was too wide on me. However, you couldn't tell it was tight in the inside because the outside material just sat on top of the inside lining and wasn't attached. I added a bolero on top since it was cold that day and it made the look very vintage and classic and perfect for my occassion. I would definitely recommend this dress for anyone looking for something glassy and fun.
wiseg1rly
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 2, 2012

Perfect dress for a bridal shower!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my bridal shower this past weekend. I received a ton of compliments on it! It was also a sigh of relief not to have another white dress filling up my closet I wouldn't wear again. The whole process of RTR was seamless - I told everyone about the quality and great deal I got! The dress runs BIG. I am a pretty solid 6/8 in dresses, and I easily fit into the small. The style is certainly "baggy" so if you are looking for something hip hugging/to show off curves this isn't the dress for you. The flowers on it are unique, elegant, and pretty making it perfect for a shower, or daytime event. The bow on the back is Navy, but I was able to get away with wearing black shoes :)
Amanda
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 13, 2012

Looked amazing

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress ran a little big, but it looked great on. Some of the petals were a little wonky, but overall it was great!
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 16, 2012

Great customer service, and so easy to use!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I got married on 8/10/2012, and I wore this dress (size small) for my very-very small civil service. We had pictures taken before by a photographer and as we walked down the streets of downtown Chicago I could hear people commenting on how beautiful the dress was! One little girl turned to her mom and was said, “wow that girls dress is beautiful!” Talk about a good confidence boost!The fit is odd to be honest-I used a blue belt the color of the bow to give it some shape-which helped, and fabric tape to tape the neckline into a sweetheart shape so it didn’t just flop around. The fabric and colors are gorgeous-really unique dress overall.
Lela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 7, 2012

Got many compliments on how great I looked and where did I get such a cute dress. Thanks RTR!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to my bridal shower and it was a success. I was worried because the dress wasn't my first choice and I heard it ran big from other reviews and I wasn't sure about the bow. I ordered late so the medium was out of stock, I took the large and it turned out fine. The dress runs big on the top and add a little bulk because of the flowers. I had to wear a bra with a low strap so it couldn't be seen with the open back. That all being said the dress turned out great and I got many compliments, the bow turned out to be super cute and a nice touch. A very bridal dress i would encourage but recommend going a bit smaller because i think i would have had more shape if i had the medium on.
Kallie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Feb 16, 2012

Everyone commenting how beautiful I looked!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for my bridal shower because I wanted to wear white, but the blue bow went with the Peacock them; I and received compliments from everyone wanting to know where I got it. I normally wear a 6-8 and ended up wearing the small because I was swimming in the medium. The skirt area fit perfectly around hips, but I have no chest which made this dress still a little big. However, I loved this dress and felt really beautiful for my shower. I would recommend this for any bride for their day because the detailing was amazing.
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 6, 2012

Date night in NYC

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
To the white roses and the navy blue ribbon in the back this dress had great detail. I wore an XS and usually wear a 2-4 in dresses. The only thing I would change is I wish it was a little tighter in the stomach area!
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 23, 2014

Cute but a weird fit!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I really loved the way this dress looked, but I didn't love the way it fit. I tried it on the night before my wedding rehearsal and it was too tight in the hips and really huge everywhere else. It made me look SO big. I ended up not wearing it. This dress is really great if you have no hips at all :)
Alexandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Jun 26, 2014

After wedding dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for my getaway dress!! It was so comfortable and girly! I got tons of compliments! Love this dress
Lau
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
May 8, 2014

Huge on top

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wanted to like this dress. The bottom half fit, but the top was way too big and looked terrible. Fortunately it was my back up dress
Sage
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 19, 2014

Made me feel so beautiful.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I loved the dress!! it was a great beautiful, luxurious dress!
JD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 28, 2014

Great for a Bridal Event! Wore this to my rehearsal dinner!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
THe dress does run big and if you are pear shaped it runs a little large in the bust area. I wouldn't say this is necessarily a "sexy" dress, but it is very cute, very chic, and very comfy! Loved this dress.
Becky
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Jan 6, 2014

I got a lot of complements on this dress when I wore it to my rehearsal dinner.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This was an awkward fit, but it still looked great in pictures. Overall, I was satisfied, but even though I got the extra small, it was still to large in the upper torso part, and I am not a petite girl.
Sarah Lynn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 15, 2013

When you talk about "hits and misses", this dress was definitely a "miss".

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The Fit: Dress runs large. I usually wear an 8 and even the small was a little big even still. This dress is not for full busted or hourglass figured women. The dress had no shape and made me look very boxy. Because of my large bust size, the dress draped straight down and away from my stomach--- making me look a lot larger than I am. In addition, the back pooched out on the sides, even after tying the blue ribbon detail as tight as possible. Sadly, I spent money on this dress and didn't even wear it to my husband's holiday banquet (which was the plan). I didn't even take a picture because I was so dissatisfied with the way the dress looked on me. Pros and Cons: The only 2 pros I have is the detailing on this dress and the feel. Amazingly beautiful floral detail. And for a dress with so much detail, it was not itchy or uncomfortable. For cons, please refer to THE FIT above.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 10, 2013

Flowers and Legs and Bows - Oh My!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for my bridal shower. The flowers and softness made me feel like a bride. However, the major bagginess at the top of the dress made me feel and look bigger than I wanted to. In fact, when my sister saw me get dressed the day of the shower she seriously questioned me wearing the dress but I'd rented it and didn't have time to scramble for another dress. I still looked good and got compliments on the dress, though that could just be friends and family saying nice things to the bride. I liked the length, as I am tall and it made me look quite leggy.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Nov 21, 2013

Too big for me!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Very cool dress, however, runs very large. I would recommend getting the XS if you are a size 4/6. The size XS was too big on me both length and width wise. Easy fit for a taller girl. Not great for petites!
Heather
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Nov 21, 2013

Pretty but not exactly it

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for my wedding at town hall. It wasn't a flattering fit for me.
Shalan
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 20, 2013

I didn't end up wearing it.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This dress is pretty. It just didn't fit my body right. You have to be careful or it can end up looking a little boxy.
allison
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152 lbs
Oct 15, 2013

i would recommend it. very different dress no one else will be wearing anything like it

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for my rehearsal dinner. I loved it but the material is puffy it made me look a little heavy.
Jillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 22, 2013

Beautiful dress, but for very specific body type

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I was so excited to try this dress, but it didn't work for me. Some reviewers said that it was too big, so I got a small and a medium as a back-up. I felt that the small was pretty true to size, but because of the shape, I could see where maybe people felt it was too big. The picture on the model makes it look like there's a little shape to it, but in reality, the dress is a straight up & down shift, and the rosettes makes it look bulkier. Additionally, the color is really more of a darker ivory, which blended into my skin tone exactly. And not in a good way. Beautiful dress, but I should have listened to reviewers that warned girls with hips and boobs to stay away. This would be adorable on girls with a more boyish figure or are petite.
Sonia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 12, 2013

Beautiful dress that is meant for women with no curves

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I really wanted this dress to work. I read all the reviews about the fit and decided that I wanted it anyway, and ordered an XS and a S. The top of the XS looked fine on me, but I guess I have a bigger booty than I thought because it was so tight around the hips. The S fit around my hips, but the top was so loose, even after tying the bow in the back. It is a well made, beautiful dress that would be perfect for women with no curves (it does not taper around the waist at all), or booty.
Kristin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
May 27, 2013

Beautiful dress, poor fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The fabric is absolutely beautiful. . .but unfortunately the fit was way off. The medium was too big and the small hung loosely in the shoulders/bust/midsection but was tight around my thighs. It definitely didn't contour my body the way it does on the model. Unfortunately I had to send it back.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Apr 26, 2013

Wish it would have fit!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress, but was unable to wear it. I ordered the size small. The dress extremely large on top.
Alessandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Apr 9, 2013

No shape :(

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress was huge and made my shoulders look so broad. It also had no shape at all. I was so excited to receive it because it looked cute in the reviewers pictures. Had to send it back.
Rachael Linn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 9, 2013

The dress was beautiful and soft.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It is very square shaped, and it challenging to wear if you have bigger hips than your waist.
Brielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 24, 2013

did not wear

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I could not wear the dress, I usually wear an 8 or a 10 and both sizes were HUGE. A belt didn't even help because there was just so much fabric. The fabric it self was beautiful. But the dress has a very strange fit- tight on the bottom and very loose everywhere else.
eileen
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 17, 2013

I rented this dress for my Bridal shower, and loved it in pictures.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
In person it was beautiful, however the fit was a bit strange, I ordered the M and L the L was way to big and the medium's slip was tight but the fabric was bunchy. I think it would look great on a less curvy girl.
Jordan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 5, 2013

Not quite right

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I fell in love with this dress when looking for something to wear to my bridal shower, but I was very disappointed when I received the dress. It looked beautiful in the dress bag - all of the flowers looked great and it has been well taken care of. Unfortunately the fit just did not work for me. The size small was quite tight around my hips - there seemed to be NO stretch to the fabric at all. And the top gaped a lot at the back because I couldn't pull the dress down any further. It seems to be made for someone who is quite a bit taller than my 5'3 build and for someone who does not have hips. Needless the say the backup size (XS) was impossible to even put on. I would not recommend this dress for a pear shape gal. The one plus side was that the return process was VERY easy and I was able to get merchandise credit to use towards my next rental!
Devin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 107 lbs
Jan 29, 2013

Love the detailing and the bow, wish it wasn't as wide!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
At 5'4, I consider myself petite, but with very large shoulders for my height, waist, and hip size, and I really wish this dress fit more snug around my waist! If it was just a little tighter, it would have looked so cute, but it just looked a little too baggy, especially with the rosettes adding a little volume. However, I loved the open back and the navy ribbon and wished I could have pinned the waist of the dress without it looking too obvious.
abby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Jan 9, 2013

Loved the texture of the roses and bow back!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
IT does run small, and needs something to define the waist. I wore it with a big black satin ribbon belt and it looked very cute!
Mackenzie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 12, 2012

It was a great experience.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Honestly the dress was not my favorite. It was beautiful on the site but the dress in person is very large and sits awkwardly on my body.
Alice
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 11, 2012

not for curvy ladies

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
it's a real beautiful dress. no doubt. the color is more of a cream rather than an ivory or white. the ribbon also is a ribbed fabric and not silk. however, i am one of those ladies who sometimes is in between sizes and this is one of those times. the small fit in the chest area but the hips were too tight. the medium was way too baggy all around. finally, there's not much structure in dress. this was my first attempt at rent the runway but it's not deterring me from trying again.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×