Take a Twirl Dress

$35 to buy
$320 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Don’t let this hot hot dress by Mark & James by Badgley Mischka out of your site! Sequins and chiffon…how much better can it get? Go with an accessory piece like the CC Skye's Gold Pave Pyramid Stud Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - dress has built-in support in bust that could be worn with or without a bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist - chiffon overlay conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - sequin skirt is fitted but has some stretch
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or with no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Black chiffon over gold sequins. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Asymmetric hemline. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 29'' from top of bodice to hem to shortest part of hemline.

Share
153 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(103)
Small
(41)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 13, 2013
This was a gorgeous dress and fit beautifully, but the chiffon overlay one the bottom was too opaque

This was a gorgeous dress and fit beautifully, and I am a semi narrow torso with a bigger chests. I loved how I felt in this dress, but honestly you could NOT see the sequins on the lower half. This was for NYE so I REALLY wanted some sparkle. You can only see them in the picture b/c of the photography lights. I couldn't figure out a good way to raise the chiffon so you could see the sequins without looking tacky, so I sent it back unworn. :(

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
October 11, 2013
dress came when it was supposed to, with easy return bag, dress looked just like picture, fit well!!

fit how it was supposed to, but did tend to slide down on top, nothing too bad though, very pretty looks like picture, sequins did snag a little and zipper got caught many times

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 30, 2013
Great dress, flattering

I got this as a backup dress and though I didn't end up wearing it, it was a great dress. The cut is very flattering,

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 11, 2013
Beautiful and comfortable dress!

I ordered this dress as a back up, and didn't end up wearing it, but I had a hard time deciding because I loved this dress! It fit beautifully and is a great mix of elegant yet fun. The sequins shine through the mesh but are still kind of understated. I ended up lending it to my friend to wear because I couldn't let it go to waste. It was for our sorority's semi formal.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 7, 2014
Perfect amount of sparkle for a LBD!

Wore this for a NYE party I helped put on for my town. Was a little concerned about sizing, as the size up and size down were both sold out for my date, but I didn't end up needing a backup size. I could probably have worn the 6 and been a little more comfortable, but the 8 worked fine (it was a little looser in the chest, and I am a busty girl), and I got lots of compliments! The undershirt is the perfect length, and the black chiffon is definitely longer than I imagined (hits the back of the knees). Overall, perfect dress for this event - classy, and great quality at a great price!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
February 5, 2014
Fancy dress that's comfortable!

Super flattering, even though I worried that at my height (5"2) the hi low hem might make me look stump - it didn't! Loved it, lots of compliments. Comfortable, too.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 18, 2014
Absolutely stunning dress.

This dress fit me like a glove. It wasn't too tight or too loose, but of course as with any strapless dress I had to pull it up a few times. I have a very short torso and am not very curvy, but this dress hugged the small curves I do have AND I think it made it look like I went up a cup size. Everyone I saw that night complimented me on it and at the end of the night I really didn't want to take it off. I'm going on a trip in a couple of weeks and well definitely be renting through RTR again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
April 9, 2014
It was the perfect amount of "hey look at me" without being over the top!

The fit was a little tight in the bust but otherwise fit great!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
July 2, 2014
Thank you RTR! The whole experience was beyond my expectations in every way.

The perfect dress. There were a number of black short dresses at my junior prom, but this dress stood out because of its classic yet fun uniqueness. Despite having a sheer covering over the champagne-colored sequins, the sequins sparkled underneath and when I had pictures taken I did pull the sheer part of the dress back a bit to get a better view of them on camera. I went back and forth between this black dress and a long gown (also a RTR choice), but I am so glad I chose this one. It was comfortable to dance in, the top stayed up perfectly and although I read a review that said perhaps it was a bit itchy, I did not find it so at all. The stylists on the phone were friendly, patient, knowledgeable and eager to help. The dress arrived exactly when they said it would and the little extras that RTR add like the goodie bag with products and being able to keep the garment bag -- great touches. We live on the coast of Maine and don't have malls at our fingertips and did not have time to drive to Boston to get a dress. I could never have expected this RTR experience to be everything it was. I will always rent here from now on -- as will all my friends and their families and everyone else who asked, "Where did you get that Dress!?!"

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 29, 2012
Received compliments ALL night!

I'm usually a size 6, but RTR didn't have that size available for my date. So i went with the 8, knowing it'd be a little big, but i made it work. I absolutely loved everything about the dress, no complaints at all. It was my first time renting a dress from RTR and now all my friends signed up and i'm totally renting one for EVERY occasion. It's such an awesome idea.

View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 100lbs
September 18, 2012
Loved it

The style of the dress was nice on me, but not a knockout -- I'm petite and so the pleating on the front bodice was a little droopy. Despite that, this dress is structured and stayed in place all night, even through hours of dancing! There was no tugging on it to keep it up, which was great. I did get poked a little by the boning on one side, but I stuck a blister patch under that spot and didn't feel a thing the rest of the night. I loved the sequins on the underskirt. They are gold, silver, and royal blue, which would have been helpful to know ahead of time, but it wasn't a big deal. Overall I was happy with this dress and I may even rent it again.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 23, 2014
beautiful dress - very structured and not too much bling. Great for night time wedding

The bust area was a little tight but still flattering. If I was bigger busted this would be hard to wear.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 21
Body type: Hourglass
July 5, 2011

The dress is absolutely stunning! It is a little different in person as it is in the picture, but it's still a gorgeous dress nonetheless.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
September 14, 2011

Enhances the bust. Beautifully flowy. The sequin layer has a blueish sheen and is a little scratchy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 26, 2012
Best compliment I recieved was that I was the most beautiful woman in the room by a middle aged woman. Awesome, Thanks RTR!

This dress was gorgeous! I wore it to a Sangeet portion of a Hindu wedding and it looked amazing. I got so many compliments and would definitely rent this dress again. I usually would not buy a halter type of dress but took a risk and it was well worth it. Perfect for my formal occasion!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
September 24, 2012
Great dress for a special occasion

This dress was as beautiful in person as I expected. I rented this dress for my birthday party and received a lot of compliments. I wanted the sparkly bodice of the dress to show more, so I taped the sheer black overlay back a little. The fit of the dress was so flattering. It even made me normally small chest look like I had some cleavage. I highly recommend this dress for a special event. I've even looked online to try to buy this dress, but have had no luck in finding it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 14, 2012
Stunning dress!

The boning is very painful, but worth it because of how pretty the dress is! I do wish my normal size would have been available. I have very large hips, and the inner dress kept riding up. Otherwise, great rental

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 15, 2012
Absolutely LOVED this dress!!! I received so many compliments and really felt stunning.

The fit of the dress was perfect all around except for the chest area. If you have a larger chest (C and up) there really isn't any room for them. Other than that it was perfect!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 16, 2012
One of a kind was what I was what I was aiming for, and its what I got!

The dress was perfectly proportioned for my height with the short underlay, sequin part, and the long chiffon overlay was beautiful. The overlay covered the sequin part (which was my favorite) when I wasn't moving, so when posing for pictures, I just pulled it back. Overall...gorgeous dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 10, 2012
Didn't want to take it off.

I wore this dress to a masquerade and it was perfect! It looks much better in person than it does online. I ordered a 4 and a 6, but the 4 was a bit tight around the top and the 6 was much more comfortable for dancing. It has the fun of a sequin dress without the scratchy texture or fear of snagging thanks to the chiffon overlay.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 9, 2013
LOVED IT!! So many compliments

This was such a fun, light weight dress! I wore it to a summer wedding on the Cape. I got so many compliments and felt sooo good!!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
March 27, 2013
I loved this dress , I felt beautiful and got tons of compliments!

The size ran perfect and it really accentuated my curves, I recommend this for all sizes!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 12, 2013
It fits like a glove, and makes you feel beautiful.

this was the perfect dress. it fit beautifully and it was just right in the chest area and length wise for my tall-ness. It did not fall down at all and if i need a dress like this one, i would definitely get this one again. it looked beautiful and was amazing.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
May 29, 2014
Great dress for a girls night out!

I rented this dress for a bachelorette party and it was perfect. I liked that there was the black overlay, it made the dress longer and a bit easier to walk in. Use caution if you are busty, I'm small up top and didn't wear a bra ( I don't think it would have zipped if I wore one) but the boning of the dress gave me plenty of support. Overall I was very happy with the dress and would rent it again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
November 15, 2011
Fun and Cute

This dress was very fun and cute. I wore a 4 and it was a tiny bit snug in the top but was well worth it. Cute for shorter heights! fun to dance the night away in!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
December 7, 2011
Fun and beautiful!

I rented this dress for a holiday party and it was beautiful! I got compliments on it all night. I usually wear a 4 to 6 but the 8 fit perfectly. I would suggest that women with a larger chest go up a size otherwise the back might not zip up. The dress came down to just above my knees. The bodice is well made and I didn't have to pull the dress up all night like with some strapless dresses, even after dancing for hours. Overall a very fun dress to wear. I wish I owned it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 1, 2012
versatile and flattering

A great dress, with a very forgiving cut, especially through the lower half. One drawback would be that the chiffon layer that makes it so forgiving also adds a little more bulk to the area - but the overall effect worked. I wore it with thick black tights and boots to make it a little funkier for the not-so-formal event I went to, but would wear it again with slim heels for something a little classier.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
September 23, 2012
wore my another RTR dress instead

The bust is odd. Everything fit perfectly except the bust. Maybe if I was a 34C instead of a small B it wouldnt have been a problem. I couldnt wear a strapless bra with it because of the boning of the corset. It is beautiful though. I found myself playing with the skirt as I was trying to decide if I would wear this one or the Tulip Dress. All you want to do is twirl around, which is fitting. Unless you're holding the flaps of the skirt open you cant really see all the sparkle.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
February 19, 2013
Fabulous Dress for a Fabulous Occasion

I absolutely loved the dress from the moment I put it on. It felt like such a dream and all of my sorority sisters loved it. My semi-formal theme was the Roaring 20s and my dress gave an updated look to such a classy theme. The only con I have about the dress is that there were parts of the dress that stabbed me in my torso throughout the night, but I adverted it by putting on high-waisted Spanx shorts that blocked it. It was really painful tho but as long as the dress fell flat on your chest, it would be fine. If you have the option to get it, I highly suggest it because it's perfect <3

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 15, 2013
Must have large chest

This dress looked great. The length and the waist fit true to my size. However, I'm a B cup and could not fill out the chest. I had to buy a padded bra just so that the dress wouldn't fall down. The sparkly fitted skirt with the black chiffon overlay is just perfect though.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 29, 2013
Pretty and fun!!

This was a great dress for NYE. I didn't love the way it fit me, but I think it's because I ordered before I found out that I was pregnant and just felt a little uncomfortable. I wish that I owned it so that I could give it another chance! :)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 11, 2013
Love the sparkle!

I ordered an 8 and a 10. I the 8 fit great but there was an issue with the zipper so I couldn't wear it. The 10 was a little loose but otherwise fine, you couldn't tell. So much fin to dance in! I wore blue shoes to match the blue sequins.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 17, 2014
Sparkle!

Loved this dress. Great support in the boobs, and I have big ones. Enjoy.

See more reviews:
4 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×