Starburst Strapless Dress

$50 rental
$350 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This floral print Mark & James by Badgley Mischka is sure to brighten up any event. Shown here with Rachel Leigh Zelda Waltz Cluster Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with band
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Multicolor ikat printed silk. Sweetheart neckline with pleating detail. Tie back. Gathered skirt. 35" from bodice to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
63 reviews
Fit
Large
(12)
True to Size
(44)
Small
(6)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 28, 2012
Super fun colorful dress!
This dress is very easy to fit because of the tie in the back. The dress was perfect length on me, but I can see how it could be too short for taller women. (I'm 5'3") Overall this dress was really fun, easy to wear and I would probably rent it again.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 28, 2013
Dancing the night away and all the compliments on my dress
It was beautiful in person but busty gals (like me) should order a size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 26, 2013
Perfect colors for a beach wedding!
Fit well around my upper torso, the style is loose around the hips but shows off your legs the right amount for a wedding! Wore bright wedges but would go well with gold or tan shoes too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
May 6, 2013
beautiful colors!
The dress was so pretty though I didn't end up wearing it as I had rented two. Wish I could have kept it longer so I could have worn it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 27, 2013
I ordered this as a back up for the wedding I was attending.
I didn't love how it looked on me. I ended up not wearing it, but it is fun for a summer event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111lbs
September 30, 2013
Cute dress
This is a cute summer dress. I didn't have the best feeling in this dress only because it was a little too big on me (small bust, petite person) - but it was probably true to a size 0. But, it was colorful and fun.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 30, 2014
Everyone complimented the dress
Loved the pattern and vibrant colors, still was flattering with a bigger bust. A little on the shorter side if your taller but shows perfect amount of leg
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
November 22, 2014
Beautiful dress.
Excellent fit and perfect for the occasion.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
July 28, 2011
Loved this dress! I was pleasantly surprised with the color as they were much brighter in person. Overall a great fit with just enough give in the hips to be comfortable.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
August 31, 2011
Great for a summer wedding. I actually wrapped the sash around the front and then tied it in the back and it looked great!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 27, 2010
I wore this dress to a wedding--it was a huge hit, I got TONS of compliments. This dress fit true to size, a little big up top. Hollywood Tape did the trick though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
June 22, 2012
The dress fit well and stayed put, even with all of the dancing we did at the reception!
I wore this dress to a wedding in San Francisco and it was great! It fit really well and didn't stretch out or get uncomfortable throughout the night. The colors are so pretty and the length and fit are perfect. I wore a size 4. It definitely isn't designed for someone with a big bust though. Overall, I was really happy with it.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
September 19, 2012
Bright and bold dress - wish it was still in my closet!
This is a really fun dress! I loved the colors and the pattern. I also really liked that the band around the waist ties in the back in a way that is adjustable, allowing it to fit just right. The skirt is very forgiving/not fitted on the lower body. The reason I thought it ran a bit large is the top. My regular size is a 4 but the top didn't stay up. The 2 fit perfectly. The only con I can think of is that the fabric wrinkles very easily. It is one of those fabrics that as soon as you sit down once you will have lines/creases. It didn't detract from how much I loved wearing this dress, but it might bother someone more than me. Fantastic delivery/customer service as always.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 21, 2012
Great day to night
Not the greatest photo- dress was for graduation from business school. gold shoes. perfect transitioning from day to dinner.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 15, 2010
I wore this dress to a summer wedding, and I got tons of compliments. It was also very comfortable! It was a little short, but I wore a shrug on the top, so I didn't mind showing a little leg. This dress is a summer hit!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
October 4, 2010
This dress was perfect for the Hawaii beach wedding I attended. The dress is really beautiful in person - great colors! I wore black accessories and sandals, which helped bring out the little bursts of black throughout the dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 10, 2010
I was really hesitant getting this dress because I wanted to wear it to a semi formal event, but it turned out to be absolutely perfect! The colors are a lot brighter and way prettier in person. I only say the dress runs large because the bust in the size 2 is made for someone with a cup size larger than B, but with a little dress tape it held up just fine.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 17, 2011
I was disappointed with this dress. Most of the reviews had great things to say and the majority said it was true to size. I'm usually a 6 but just to be safe, I ordered my second size to be an 8. Not only was the 6 wayyyy off, the 8 didn't even fit. I could barely get the zipper up (although half the problem was that the quality of the hidden zipper was poor), but even then the dress was so short that there was no way I could sit down without showing the world my business. And I'm only 5'0"! On top of the size issues, I felt the coolors on the dress weren't nearly what they appear to be online. I've rented other dresses from RTR and this was by far, my worst experience.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
March 5, 2012
Great cocktail dress
This is a great dress. I am 5'4" and somewhere between 120-125 lbs, with a 36C bust and this fit great. I'd recommend it to anyone looking for an easy, figure-flattering cocktail dress. My only problem, RTR, was there was a stain on the bust that wasn't too noticeable given the multicolored print, but it was a stain all the same. Looked like white wine had been dropped there and cleaners didn't get it out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
April 9, 2012
Too tight!
I rented this for Easter and was unable to wear it (You'll see in my other review I posted about the Nanette dress I wore instead). I really loved the colors in this dress and it was a fabulous fabric. As a 36D it was just not going to happen with my bust. It was too bad because this is so cute!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 13, 2012
Cute but not worth the hassle
This dress is a little shorter than i expected and slightly tight in the hip section if your a little more on the bottom heavy. Overall the dress was pretty, but the size 4 seems to be a popular size because it looked a bit worn and old. I unfortunately did not get to wear the dress because I attended a wedding out of town and the dress did not arrive before I left. Overall I'm happier I ended up wearing my back-up dress it looked nicer than this would have.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
September 9, 2012
Loved it!
Fit perfect! Colors are much more vibrant in person!I loved the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 3, 2012
Really pretty dress, was a little large though in the bust
I rented the 0 to wear to a friend's birthday dinner, but it was a little large in the bust area for it to be totally comfortable. It did fit though overall, and I got lots of compliments. Would recommend it.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×