Shimmy It Mini

$76 to buy
$360 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Slip into some sparkle in this Mark & James sequin tank mini dress. Pair with some sky high pumps and you'll make the night shine.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0;,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - dress has straight cut that is not fitted at waist
HIPS: Not fitted - straight shift cut may be fitted on full hips - Hourglass body types should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a racerback or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0;,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - dress has straight cut that is not fitted at waist
HIPS: Not fitted - straight shift cut may be fitted on full hips - Hourglass body types should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a racerback or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy sequins. Tank body style. Scoop neckline. Mini length. 33.5" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9".

Share
191 reviews
Fit
Large43
True to Size130
Small12
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
September 24, 2012
I went with the other dress...
I am petite (5'2") and 117 lbs. I found the dress a little long for me. It is designed to be straight and I found it to be baggier than I wanted. I went with the other dress I rented.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 21, 2012
So fun and comfortable!
Loved the dress, not scratchy at all. I wore a small, typically I am a medium. Great for new years eve!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105lbs
September 19, 2012
Beautiful color but too big to wear!
I was really excited to wear this dress for my birthday party, but unfortunately it was too big to wear without significant pinning. The neck was low (taller girls likely will not have this problem) and the the loose fit exacerbated the overall bagginess. Disappointed!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 19, 2012
This dress was great for my Sorority's Semi Formal.The theme was to wear blue and this was perfect!
The dress was a little big around the bust. It is not a tight fitting dress, but still looked great! I received so many compliments from this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 12, 2012
Perfect Party Dress!
I wore this dress as my second dress for my 30th Birthday (we changed after dinner) and it was perfect for going out dancing and drinking. The XS fit great and other than a few small scratches from the sequins, it was pretty comfortable. I can't usually go without a bra, but I was able to with this dress. The color is great and I loved wearing it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 8, 2012
This dress made my birthday that much more unforgettable!
I rented this dress for my 21st birthday and it was such a hit! I loved everything about this dress and got compliments all night. I'm not tall at all and was surprised how short it was on me. (yay!) I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 6, 2012
Everyone loved my dress.It was perfect!
I loved this dress! I am a thicker girl with a more athletic buildand this dress made me look gorg! it hung beautifully.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
August 31, 2012
Perfect NYE dress
This dress was fantastic. I rented a size down it fit like a glove. The perfect NYE dress. Sexy without overdoing it - which is a lot to say about a dress made entirely of sequins.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 25, 2012
Having the complimentary extra size is what made me love the dress. My first pick would have been way to big for me. Without the extra size I wouldn't have felt comfortable in that dress.
The moment I found this dress on RTR I knew that I'd wear it to my high school homecoming. I ordered a small (which i normally would wear) and a extra small (complimentary). The dress arrived and I ended up wearing the XS because it fit my body better whereas the S was shapeless on. I'd recommend renting your normal size and a size down just incase. Also the length is great, and the dress looks super glam & luxurious because the sequins are rectangular instead of circular. Also the sequins didn't ich or irritate my skin which is really sensitive. All in all amazing dress and I'd recommend renting it for an event that you want to sparkle at.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
August 19, 2012
Awesome fress for NYE
I wore this dress for a NYE party in San Francisco. I got SO many compliments and it was a great fit. It was true to size and a nice cut as well. The back makes the dress comfy as well. I was worried that it was going to rub under my arms but I didn't have that problem at all. I really enjoyed wearing it and I will rent this one again for Las Vegas!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 18, 2012
?
Although it doesn't show off your figure, this dress has a fabulous sparkle with unusually shaped sequins and a neckline that allows you to wear almost any bra. I wore it to a NYE formal with sheer black nylons. I loved the color (somewhere between royal and navy) and the chance to indulge in drinks and appetizers without having to suck in! Go a size smaller than you think you'd need.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
August 17, 2012
Loved the sparkles.
This dress look adorable on the model, but I had problems for my body type. I'm fairly pear shaped, which was the first problem. The large was way too big in the chest, but the medium was so short it showed my butt cheeks. I ended up wearing the medium and pinning it to be a shirt length with skinny jeans. It looked adorable, but would have hoped for a better fit to begin with.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 13, 2012
Wore out in Vegas!
Great dress, although was not as snug as I would have liked. Wish it was more slim fitting
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 8, 2012
Cute Dress!
Super cute and fun dress - I wore it for my bachelorette party. I ordered a S and XS and the S ran a bit too big (XS was still a bit lose). Could be because I have a small chest but just something to look out for. Felt a bit like it was hanging on a hanger.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
July 31, 2012
Everything about this dress, just so much fun!
I rented this as a backup dress for my friends bachelorette party in Vegas and I loved this one so much I had to wear it instead. I ordered the extra small- it was just a tiny bit big in tummy area and length so I put a thin navy belt with it and it worked like a charm. the thing I loved about this dress the most were the sequins. They weren't your typical round ones, they were rectangular in shape, giving the dress really great movement and texture. if you need a dress that will really make you shine, don't hesitate on getting this one!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
July 24, 2012
Amazingly sparkly dress
I wanted to wear something that stood out for my bachelorette party, and this dress was amazing. It was super sparkly and so comfortable. I usually wear a size 0 and it was a little big on me. The length was perfect, but the front was pretty low.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
July 18, 2012
Fun night out in Vegas.
It was a little baggy on me, which is fine- but it would kind of fall down in front and show my bra from time to time (but it probably would not do this on someone with bigger boobs). It is short, I don't think a smaller size would have covered enough. I absolutely do not regret getting this dress- it was a fun dress to wear around Vegas and I got plenty of complements on it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 22, 2012
Feeling like a million bucks on a budget I can afford!
I wore this dress for my engagement photos and absolutely loved it! The length and overall fit were perfect (I'm 5'3" and about 120). It's sassy but smart. The photographer fell in love with the dress and the color!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 6, 2012
It was great getting two sizes because of the shorter length! I ordered it last minute and it came right on time
I wore this dress to my sorority spring formal and absolutely loved it! It was so comfortable and sexy. Definitely got a ton of complements and it photographed well. Runs a little on the shorter side but looked great with black pumps!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 11, 2012
Amazing Dress
I received so many compliments on this dress...It was a huge hit. Order it. I promos you will feel glamorous in it...
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
March 1, 2012
sparkly and fun
I rented this for a bachelorette party. The dress is forgiving enough that you can have dinner but it is still short enough to go out in. I liked the racer back and the sparkles were not scratchy at all. There were a few sequins missing here and there, but someone would have to get quite close to notice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 28, 2012
This dress was great and random people all over Vegas complimented me on it! =)
I rented this dress for my birthday in Vegas and it was perfect!! I got both the small and medium sizes because I didn't know which would work out better; I'm usually a 4 or a 6. The medium was a little loose at the top but it was longer than the small. The small fit better on the top, it was still a tad loose but I used fashion tape, but it was definitely short. I didn't have a problem with it, but some might. You can sit in the dress, but again it is short so just be ready for it! Haha. Also, if your arms are by your side a lot, the sequins may rub a little on the underside of your arm. Overall it was so perfect for Vegas!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
February 2, 2012
Great dress!
I wore this for New Years Eve. Looks great in photos.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2012
Fun Sequence Dress!
Wore a size small, was torn between the XS and S, but decided I would rather have it less fitted. Loved the dress, wore it for New Year's eve and it was perfect for the occasion! Only complaint was slightly scratchy under the arms.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 14, 2011
fun little dress!
This was my back up dress... and I didn't end up wearing it. But it is a cute party dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 13, 2011
Fantastic party dress
This is another beautiful RTR dress...the name of the dress suits it perfectly, as the sequins used are not the typical round sequins, and they affect how the dress moves. This dress is definitely made for dancing! I got the XS and S, and while both fit, the XS was a bit too short. The S was also less fitted, but since the dress is on the shorter side, I think this was more flattering. The interior material of the dress is silky and very comfortable; I did not have any problems with the sequins scratching my skin. I got more compliments on this dress than anything I've ever worn; this is a dress I would definitely add to my own closet!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 24, 2011
Birthday Party
I wore this dress for my Viva Las Vegas themed bday party and it was perfect! Only available in the XS at the time- was a bit nervous b/c I'm usually between a 2 and 4. Fit of the XS was just right! It was a cooler night in Oct, so I wore black tights and heels- super cute! Had a great celebration and would def recommend this to anyone in need of a little sequin in their life ;)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 22, 2011
LOVED IT!!!
Wore it to a wedding. Fit perfectly, not a lot of difference between the XS and S. Was flattering and so comfortable. Will get it again! Would love to have this in my closet all the time, would wear it over and over. How can I get it when/if you retire it???
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 13, 2011
Fun, flirty dress
I wore this dress to my sorority's semi formal and it was so much fun! It was a last minute decision and there weren't a lot of dresses left to choose from, but I am so glad this dress was there. I'm usually a small but the XS fit perfeclty! I'm 5'2" so this short dress showed off my legs and the sequins were just so much fun! The sequins were a little itchy under my arms, but everyone loved it and I looked great. Perfect for a fun night out.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
November 8, 2011
Dress looked great. Got a lot of compliments. Was a little short for me, though. Shines and sparkles!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 20, 2011
It was a original dress. I felt good knowing that I would stand out.
I loved this dress. The minute I slipped it on I felt gorgeous. I wore this to homecoming and I loved being the only girl wearing that dress. Rent The Runway is a great place to get a unique dress. It was also really comfortable. I didn't worry about it riding up or sliding down. I didn't even notice the sequins scratching my arms. Definetly rent this dress.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
October 17, 2011
This is a GREAT dress! Like most other people, I rented it for a weekend in Vegas and got so many compliments on it! It was a tad long for my liking (but then again, I go for micro minis) but it looked fabulous and not too long at all with heels. The one thing to look out for is that the sequins scratched the underside of my arm a bit when I put my arms by my side, but even that wasn't too big of an issue. Overall, a fabulous dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
September 28, 2011
Ordered this as a backup dress. Although very nice and extremely comfortable, I ended up wearing my first choice - because the it seemed to fit the occassion better.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
September 28, 2011
So fun! I felt like a star(:
I loved this Dress! i got so many complements and it was so much fun to wear:) I got the XS and S. The Small was huge and thats what i normally fit into because i have a full bust but the XS fit almost perfect :)the sides were just a little big but over all it was great. I highly recommend this dress but if your REALLY tinny then don't get it because it runs pretty big.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
September 20, 2011
This dress was eye-catching, but INCREDIBLY short. I'm 5'8", have no butt and a large bust. I ordered a Large and this dress fell just below my butt cheeks-and I usually love a mini. I had to wear it because I didn't have any other options- and it was cute and fun to dance in, but I would not rent again.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
August 31, 2011
Front is super low, I wore a small but probably could have worn a x-small because of how low cut the front was. Otherwise this dress was fabulous!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 31, 2011
This dress is so much fun! I normally wear a medium, but the small fit well. It is not fitted, but is short enough that it doesn't look like a sack. Sequins are a bit scratchy on the side seams, but honestly I didn't notice because I was having so much fun! The lining is a bit slippery, so I recommend a bit of fashion tape to keep the neckline and sides in place. It's stretchy, so will accommodate a variety of figures. The rectangular sequins look very cool, you will definitely stand out! The name of this dress says it all--when you have it on, you can't help but shimmy it all night!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
August 27, 2011
I thought this ran a little big, I rented the 6 and am a 36 D and it was a bit too large... the color was more royal blue than it looks here in the picture, not as dark and the rectangle sequins poked my arms so much between that and the fact that I thought it was a bit baggy, I ended up not wearing the dress at all :-(
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 6, 2011
Wore this to a party in LA and it drew all sorts of attention to me! It is looser and longer than I expected, but I wore it with nude platform shoes so that added the length I needed to my legs. Throughout the night, I was actually glad that it was looser bc it was much easier to move in. Great party dress, fun to dance in and it looks FABULOUS in photos!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 29, 2011
FAB dress! I was going to a NY Yankee themed wedding and the dress was the perfect shade of navy. I received many compliments and it fit very well. I got both the XS and the S, I found that the XS was a bit short on me. I definitely recommend this dress for any fun occasion, I want to rent it again!
See more reviews:
4 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×