Mark & James by Badgley Mischka

Shimmy It Mini

$76 to buy
$360 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Slip into some sparkle in this Mark & James sequin tank mini dress. Pair with some sky high pumps and you'll make the night shine.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0;,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - dress has straight cut that is not fitted at waist
HIPS: Not fitted - straight shift cut may be fitted on full hips - Hourglass body types should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a racerback or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0;,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - dress has straight cut that is not fitted at waist
HIPS: Not fitted - straight shift cut may be fitted on full hips - Hourglass body types should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a racerback or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy sequins. Tank body style. Scoop neckline. Mini length. 33.5" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

187 reviews

Fit
Small 11
True to Size 128
Large 43
Photos 72
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 28, 2013

Lovely dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Did not wear it. Too short on me. I chose it as a back up. Love my first choice.
Joelle Van Dyne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 25, 2013

Shiny fun!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress was lots of fun for my bachelorette party - it made me feel special and it definitely made me stand out. It runs a little large so order a size up.
Mallory
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Jan 20, 2013

Great for Vegas!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Rented this beauty for a quick weekend in Vegas. It is outrageously comfortable - I felt like I was wearing comfy PJs v. a party dress. I'm usually so wary of dresses that don't have a defined fit, especially on my height, but I never felt like it made me look like I was wearing a sack. That said, the sequins can irritate the inner arms after a while, but it was barely noticeable.
Michele
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 25, 2012

Really pretty, but it looks better a little big

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress and wore it, but it was a little form fitting on me. It would have looked a lot nicer if it was a little loose (like model pic).
Amy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 24, 2012

VEGAS!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfect dress for Vegas! The color was great. Such a fun dress and the sequins didn't scratch my arms at all!
kat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Oct 13, 2012

Amazinggg

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was super cute, fit perfectly, and everyone loved it, especially me!
FIT
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 13, 2012

Too big for my frame!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I rented this for my bachelorette party in Vegas. The fit was too generous, and hung poorly on my boyish frame. Thankfully, it looked great on one of my friends, so the rental didn't go to waste!
Kelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 8, 2012

Love this dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The color and cut were both flattering. The sequins were a bit itchy, but nothing I couldn't handle. I loved this dress and would definitely wear it again! I got compliments on it all night:)
Carolyn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

The dress was beautiful and perfect for a night out in Vegas!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I wore a Medium. I am usually a dress size 6. The dress was a lot shorter and tighter than I thought it would be. I wore shape-wear and a strapless bra underneath to make me feel more confident. I am pear shaped, so the dress was looser up top and tight around the bottom. That being said, I still thought it was flattering and I felt very pretty wearing it. My biggest complaint is the scratchy sequins! They really irritated my under arms. The color was a cross between navy and midnight blue. When the light hits the sequins, it is gorgeous!
Kendall
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 28, 2012

I got so many compliments on this dress and was able to spread the word about RTR as well!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit great! My only complaint is the sequins did run the under part of my arm, but it wasn't too uncomfortable. Awesome dress!
Vanessa
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

I went with the other dress...

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am petite (5'2") and 117 lbs. I found the dress a little long for me. It is designed to be straight and I found it to be baggier than I wanted. I went with the other dress I rented.
VKB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Beautiful color but too big to wear!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I was really excited to wear this dress for my birthday party, but unfortunately it was too big to wear without significant pinning. The neck was low (taller girls likely will not have this problem) and the the loose fit exacerbated the overall bagginess. Disappointed!
Lauren
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

This dress was great for my Sorority's Semi Formal.The theme was to wear blue and this was perfect!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The dress was a little big around the bust. It is not a tight fitting dress, but still looked great! I received so many compliments from this dress!
Maureen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 12, 2012

Perfect Party Dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress as my second dress for my 30th Birthday (we changed after dinner) and it was perfect for going out dancing and drinking. The XS fit great and other than a few small scratches from the sequins, it was pretty comfortable. I can't usually go without a bra, but I was able to with this dress. The color is great and I loved wearing it!
Jennie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Aug 31, 2012

Perfect NYE dress

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress was fantastic. I rented a size down it fit like a glove. The perfect NYE dress. Sexy without overdoing it - which is a lot to say about a dress made entirely of sequins.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 19, 2012

Awesome fress for NYE

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a NYE party in San Francisco. I got SO many compliments and it was a great fit. It was true to size and a nice cut as well. The back makes the dress comfy as well. I was worried that it was going to rub under my arms but I didn't have that problem at all. I really enjoyed wearing it and I will rent this one again for Las Vegas!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

Wore out in Vegas!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
Great dress, although was not as snug as I would have liked. Wish it was more slim fitting
Karen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 8, 2012

Cute Dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Super cute and fun dress - I wore it for my bachelorette party. I ordered a S and XS and the S ran a bit too big (XS was still a bit lose). Could be because I have a small chest but just something to look out for. Felt a bit like it was hanging on a hanger.
ET
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 24, 2012

Amazingly sparkly dress

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wanted to wear something that stood out for my bachelorette party, and this dress was amazing. It was super sparkly and so comfortable. I usually wear a size 0 and it was a little big on me. The length was perfect, but the front was pretty low.
JT
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Jul 18, 2012

Fun night out in Vegas.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
It was a little baggy on me, which is fine- but it would kind of fall down in front and show my bra from time to time (but it probably would not do this on someone with bigger boobs). It is short, I don't think a smaller size would have covered enough. I absolutely do not regret getting this dress- it was a fun dress to wear around Vegas and I got plenty of complements on it!
Janet
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 11, 2012

Amazing Dress

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I received so many compliments on this dress...It was a huge hit. Order it. I promos you will feel glamorous in it...
KP
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 1, 2012

sparkly and fun

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for a bachelorette party. The dress is forgiving enough that you can have dinner but it is still short enough to go out in. I liked the racer back and the sparkles were not scratchy at all. There were a few sequins missing here and there, but someone would have to get quite close to notice.
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 2, 2012

Fun Sequence Dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore a size small, was torn between the XS and S, but decided I would rather have it less fitted. Loved the dress, wore it for New Year's eve and it was perfect for the occasion! Only complaint was slightly scratchy under the arms.
elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 14, 2011

fun little dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This was my back up dress... and I didn't end up wearing it. But it is a cute party dress.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 13, 2011

Fantastic party dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is another beautiful RTR dress...the name of the dress suits it perfectly, as the sequins used are not the typical round sequins, and they affect how the dress moves. This dress is definitely made for dancing! I got the XS and S, and while both fit, the XS was a bit too short. The S was also less fitted, but since the dress is on the shorter side, I think this was more flattering. The interior material of the dress is silky and very comfortable; I did not have any problems with the sequins scratching my skin. I got more compliments on this dress than anything I've ever worn; this is a dress I would definitely add to my own closet!
K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 24, 2011

Birthday Party

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my Viva Las Vegas themed bday party and it was perfect! Only available in the XS at the time- was a bit nervous b/c I'm usually between a 2 and 4. Fit of the XS was just right! It was a cooler night in Oct, so I wore black tights and heels- super cute! Had a great celebration and would def recommend this to anyone in need of a little sequin in their life ;)
meghan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 22, 2011

LOVED IT!!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore it to a wedding. Fit perfectly, not a lot of difference between the XS and S. Was flattering and so comfortable. Will get it again! Would love to have this in my closet all the time, would wear it over and over. How can I get it when/if you retire it???
Ally
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 13, 2011

Fun, flirty dress

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my sorority's semi formal and it was so much fun! It was a last minute decision and there weren't a lot of dresses left to choose from, but I am so glad this dress was there. I'm usually a small but the XS fit perfeclty! I'm 5'2" so this short dress showed off my legs and the sequins were just so much fun! The sequins were a little itchy under my arms, but everyone loved it and I looked great. Perfect for a fun night out.
Savannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 8, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Dress looked great. Got a lot of compliments. Was a little short for me, though. Shines and sparkles!
C
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
Oct 17, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This is a GREAT dress! Like most other people, I rented it for a weekend in Vegas and got so many compliments on it! It was a tad long for my liking (but then again, I go for micro minis) but it looked fabulous and not too long at all with heels. The one thing to look out for is that the sequins scratched the underside of my arm a bit when I put my arms by my side, but even that wasn't too big of an issue. Overall, a fabulous dress!
MS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Sep 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Ordered this as a backup dress. Although very nice and extremely comfortable, I ended up wearing my first choice - because the it seemed to fit the occassion better.
Ashley
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 20, 2011

Overall fit: Small
This dress was eye-catching, but INCREDIBLY short. I'm 5'8", have no butt and a large bust. I ordered a Large and this dress fell just below my butt cheeks-and I usually love a mini. I had to wear it because I didn't have any other options- and it was cute and fun to dance in, but I would not rent again.
kzta
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Aug 31, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Front is super low, I wore a small but probably could have worn a x-small because of how low cut the front was. Otherwise this dress was fabulous!
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 31, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This dress is so much fun! I normally wear a medium, but the small fit well. It is not fitted, but is short enough that it doesn't look like a sack. Sequins are a bit scratchy on the side seams, but honestly I didn't notice because I was having so much fun! The lining is a bit slippery, so I recommend a bit of fashion tape to keep the neckline and sides in place. It's stretchy, so will accommodate a variety of figures. The rectangular sequins look very cool, you will definitely stand out! The name of this dress says it all--when you have it on, you can't help but shimmy it all night!
Hawaiigirl808
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Aug 27, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I thought this ran a little big, I rented the 6 and am a 36 D and it was a bit too large... the color was more royal blue than it looks here in the picture, not as dark and the rectangle sequins poked my arms so much between that and the fact that I thought it was a bit baggy, I ended up not wearing the dress at all :-(
christy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Aug 6, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Wore this to a party in LA and it drew all sorts of attention to me! It is looser and longer than I expected, but I wore it with nude platform shoes so that added the length I needed to my legs. Throughout the night, I was actually glad that it was looser bc it was much easier to move in. Great party dress, fun to dance in and it looks FABULOUS in photos!
EmyT
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 29, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
FAB dress! I was going to a NY Yankee themed wedding and the dress was the perfect shade of navy. I received many compliments and it fit very well. I got both the XS and the S, I found that the XS was a bit short on me. I definitely recommend this dress for any fun occasion, I want to rent it again!
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Jul 19, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Phenomenal dress! I'm pretty tall and curvy and needed to size up for length, but the dress was a show-stopper for sure!
Brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 12, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved this dress! I wore it out for a bachelorette party and it was perfect. I cinched in the waist a little with a black ribbon and it gave the perfect definition. Loved it so much I was sad to send it back!
Rachael
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 8, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
LOVED this dress! I'm 5'6 and 120 lbs and the XS fit perfectly.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×