Shimmy It Mini

$76 to buy
$360 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Slip into some sparkle in this Mark & James sequin tank mini dress. Pair with some sky high pumps and you'll make the night shine.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0;,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - dress has straight cut that is not fitted at waist
HIPS: Not fitted - straight shift cut may be fitted on full hips - Hourglass body types should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a racerback or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Product Details

Navy sequins. Tank body style. Scoop neckline. Mini length. 33.5" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9".

Share
191 reviews
Fit
Large
(43)
True to Size
(130)
Small
(12)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
June 8, 2011

LOVED this dress! I'm 5'6 and 120 lbs and the XS fit perfectly.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
August 31, 2011

Front is super low, I wore a small but probably could have worn a x-small because of how low cut the front was. Otherwise this dress was fabulous!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 17, 2011

This is a GREAT dress! Like most other people, I rented it for a weekend in Vegas and got so many compliments on it! It was a tad long for my liking (but then again, I go for micro minis) but it looked fabulous and not too long at all with heels. The one thing to look out for is that the sequins scratched the underside of my arm a bit when I put my arms by my side, but even that wasn't too big of an issue. Overall, a fabulous dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 20, 2011
It was a original dress. I felt good knowing that I would stand out.

I loved this dress. The minute I slipped it on I felt gorgeous. I wore this to homecoming and I loved being the only girl wearing that dress. Rent The Runway is a great place to get a unique dress. It was also really comfortable. I didn't worry about it riding up or sliding down. I didn't even notice the sequins scratching my arms. Definetly rent this dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 22, 2011
LOVED IT!!!

Wore it to a wedding. Fit perfectly, not a lot of difference between the XS and S. Was flattering and so comfortable. Will get it again! Would love to have this in my closet all the time, would wear it over and over. How can I get it when/if you retire it???

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 24, 2011
Birthday Party

I wore this dress for my Viva Las Vegas themed bday party and it was perfect! Only available in the XS at the time- was a bit nervous b/c I'm usually between a 2 and 4. Fit of the XS was just right! It was a cooler night in Oct, so I wore black tights and heels- super cute! Had a great celebration and would def recommend this to anyone in need of a little sequin in their life ;)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 13, 2011
Fantastic party dress

This is another beautiful RTR dress...the name of the dress suits it perfectly, as the sequins used are not the typical round sequins, and they affect how the dress moves. This dress is definitely made for dancing! I got the XS and S, and while both fit, the XS was a bit too short. The S was also less fitted, but since the dress is on the shorter side, I think this was more flattering. The interior material of the dress is silky and very comfortable; I did not have any problems with the sequins scratching my skin. I got more compliments on this dress than anything I've ever worn; this is a dress I would definitely add to my own closet!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 28, 2012
This dress was great and random people all over Vegas complimented me on it! =)

I rented this dress for my birthday in Vegas and it was perfect!! I got both the small and medium sizes because I didn't know which would work out better; I'm usually a 4 or a 6. The medium was a little loose at the top but it was longer than the small. The small fit better on the top, it was still a tad loose but I used fashion tape, but it was definitely short. I didn't have a problem with it, but some might. You can sit in the dress, but again it is short so just be ready for it! Haha. Also, if your arms are by your side a lot, the sequins may rub a little on the underside of your arm. Overall it was so perfect for Vegas!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
March 1, 2012
sparkly and fun

I rented this for a bachelorette party. The dress is forgiving enough that you can have dinner but it is still short enough to go out in. I liked the racer back and the sparkles were not scratchy at all. There were a few sequins missing here and there, but someone would have to get quite close to notice.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 11, 2012
Amazing Dress

I received so many compliments on this dress...It was a huge hit. Order it. I promos you will feel glamorous in it...

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 6, 2012
It was great getting two sizes because of the shorter length! I ordered it last minute and it came right on time

I wore this dress to my sorority spring formal and absolutely loved it! It was so comfortable and sexy. Definitely got a ton of complements and it photographed well. Runs a little on the shorter side but looked great with black pumps!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 22, 2012
Feeling like a million bucks on a budget I can afford!

I wore this dress for my engagement photos and absolutely loved it! The length and overall fit were perfect (I'm 5'3" and about 120). It's sassy but smart. The photographer fell in love with the dress and the color!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
July 31, 2012
Everything about this dress, just so much fun!

I rented this as a backup dress for my friends bachelorette party in Vegas and I loved this one so much I had to wear it instead. I ordered the extra small- it was just a tiny bit big in tummy area and length so I put a thin navy belt with it and it worked like a charm. the thing I loved about this dress the most were the sequins. They weren't your typical round ones, they were rectangular in shape, giving the dress really great movement and texture. if you need a dress that will really make you shine, don't hesitate on getting this one!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 245lbs
August 17, 2012
Loved the sparkles.

This dress look adorable on the model, but I had problems for my body type. I'm fairly pear shaped, which was the first problem. The large was way too big in the chest, but the medium was so short it showed my butt cheeks. I ended up wearing the medium and pinning it to be a shirt length with skinny jeans. It looked adorable, but would have hoped for a better fit to begin with.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 14, 2011
fun little dress!

This was my back up dress... and I didn't end up wearing it. But it is a cute party dress.

Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 6, 2012
Everyone loved my dress.It was perfect!

I loved this dress! I am a thicker girl with a more athletic buildand this dress made me look gorg! it hung beautifully.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
September 24, 2012
I went with the other dress...

I am petite (5'2") and 117 lbs. I found the dress a little long for me. It is designed to be straight and I found it to be baggier than I wanted. I went with the other dress I rented.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 28, 2012
I got so many compliments on this dress and was able to spread the word about RTR as well!

It fit great! My only complaint is the sequins did run the under part of my arm, but it wasn't too uncomfortable. Awesome dress!

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 1, 2012
The dress was beautiful and perfect for a night out in Vegas!

I wore a Medium. I am usually a dress size 6. The dress was a lot shorter and tighter than I thought it would be. I wore shape-wear and a strapless bra underneath to make me feel more confident. I am pear shaped, so the dress was looser up top and tight around the bottom. That being said, I still thought it was flattering and I felt very pretty wearing it. My biggest complaint is the scratchy sequins! They really irritated my under arms. The color was a cross between navy and midnight blue. When the light hits the sequins, it is gorgeous!

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 5, 2012
I've never gotten so many compliments on a dress in my life = ) It was perfect for my 30th birthday

True to size and flattering for any woman

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 8, 2012
Love this dress!

The color and cut were both flattering. The sequins were a bit itchy, but nothing I couldn't handle. I loved this dress and would definitely wear it again! I got compliments on it all night:)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
November 2, 2012
Perfect 21st birthday dress for the Bahamas!

It had a comfortable lining and some stretch that allowed for free movement all night long. I felt fabulous with all the sequins. It wasn't too long on my 5' petite frame, either.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 20, 2013
Great for Vegas!

Rented this beauty for a quick weekend in Vegas. It is outrageously comfortable - I felt like I was wearing comfy PJs v. a party dress. I'm usually so wary of dresses that don't have a defined fit, especially on my height, but I never felt like it made me look like I was wearing a sack. That said, the sequins can irritate the inner arms after a while, but it was barely noticeable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
January 21, 2013
The dress was gorgeous and service was fantastic!

The dress is even more gorgeous in person. It would look great on any body type! The service was really great also, I loved that I got two sizes. I definitely recommend this dress for a party or a formal occasion!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
February 18, 2013
Felt super glamorous all night!

This dress is very pretty and the color is a rich blue. The cut is fairly simple--not much structure. I'm 5'9" and it felt pretty short, but I went with it anyways. The dress was a lot tighter on me than on the model in the photo--just keep that in mind if you are curvy. I wore it to a cocktail party with heels and felt fine. I'd recommend it for a Vegas trip or a similar fun/young outing. I might have felt a little too racy wearing it to a formal/black tie event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 5, 2013
Having a unique glitter dress that sparkled all night!

Very fun party dress. A little clingy and short. I paired it with a black blazer and pave diamond dangle earrings. True to size .

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
October 13, 2012
Amazinggg

It was super cute, fit perfectly, and everyone loved it, especially me!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 12, 2013
Great dress for the right body

I ordered this as a back-up dress and did not end up using. It is a cute dress but I felt a little homecoming-ish for the party I was attending. Also, this dress would be very flattering if you wanted to conceal some midsection flaws and accentuate great legs but I usually rely on having my waist show so my hourglass comes thru (hips are too wide/bust too big to lose waist usually) and the cut of this dress coupled with the sequins did not allow for that. Also, this dress is s true MINI!! I love the look of a true mini and actually think it is the way to complement shorter legs but be prepared! At 5' 4 3/4" in an XS this dress was booty cheek grazing!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
March 18, 2013
shimmery

lovely, flashy dress. perfect for the vegas party i went to, but not as flattering as i'd hoped. too sheath like for my taste, but a nice dress none the less.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
April 8, 2013
RTR packaging was very nice. The dresses came in a garment bag- very professional service!

I wore this dress for a bachelorette party. The Bride requested sequin/blingy attire. This dress was perfect! Glad RTR sent me 2 sizes! I have a longer torso so I am glad I had the medium to fall back on. The small fit in the waist and bust area, but was way too short. I wore the medium. I lost a little bit of my waist line in the dress, but still felt like the dress was flattering. I did notice by the end of the night that the sequins were rubbing against my arm quite a bit. But I just expected that to happen with a sequin dress. It is the perfect party dress. I wore an electric blue blazer to dinner, then lost the jacket for a night of dancing! Thank you RTR for a great dress and a great night!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
April 18, 2013
the perfect fitting dress and friends!

love it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
May 31, 2013
Great bachelorette night out dress!

I wore this dress to one of my closest friend's Sparkly night out for her bachelorette weekend and it was perfect. I was definitely one the most sparkly people there! The blue is very pretty too, a true, bright blue. One con, the dress can feel a little rough on the inside of your arms as they rub against the dress! Guess that is the price you pay to really sparkle!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 3, 2013
Sexy and Sparkly

I had rented this as my backup dress in case the BCBG dress didn't fit, but since the BCBG dress was a winner I lent this dress to a friend. She loved it and it looked great on her! It is sparkly and sexy at the same time! I would recommend wearing a racerback bra to eliminate the bra lines, but I would rent this again as my first choice!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 6, 2013
Love it!

I rented this for my 21st Birthday celebration and New Year's Eve, and it was a hit! Everyone loved it, the fit was perfect and I felt very comfortable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
June 11, 2013
Love this dress bc it can flatter many shapes!

The fit was perfect and I paired it with a blazer and it looked great for a a private event!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
June 13, 2013
"I feel like a sexy blue disco ball!"

I chose this dress for my friend Meganto wear during my bachelorette/birthday weekend in Vegas. She is 5'2", 34B, size 6, and has an Apple body type. She wore the Medium. Her comments: "the sequins didn't bother me at all, the dress was SO flattering, I felt gorgeous and comfortable all night- please tell me where I can find this dress to keep for myself!"

View photos (3)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 3, 2013
The PERFECT bachelorette party dress!

I heard it ran big so I ordered the small and extra small. I ended up wearing the small. I loved the racer back style and the sequins were beautiful. It looked awesome and photographed really well. It made the night extra special!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 5, 2013
The dress is gorgeous and fun!

Very comfortable, easy to wear. Very flattering back.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 15, 2013
Fun dress...couldn't wear :(

While this dress looked so much fun on the hanger, unfortunately I didn't wear it because I didn't like the fit. I thought that it being a mini dress would offset the loose fit, but the dress was just too boxy looking on me. I would have preferred a dress a little more form fitting. I had tried on the small. I tried it with a belt as one reviewer recommended, but the sequin fabric was still too thick to create the type of curves I was going for.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 17, 2013
Perfect Party Dress!

I wore this for my birthday party/girls night out & it stole the show! Dress is form fitting and short so be ready to see some leg :) I received compliments on it all night and didn't want to take it off. I wore it with black patent heels, black diamond hoops and had black & diamond bangles. It's a great dress to do anything with!

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×