Mark & James by Badgley Mischka

Shimmy It Mini

$76 rental
$360 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Slip into some sparkle in this Mark & James sequin tank mini dress. Pair with some sky high pumps and you'll make the night shine.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0;,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - dress has straight cut that is not fitted at waist
HIPS: Not fitted - straight shift cut may be fitted on full hips - Hourglass body types should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a racerback or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0;,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - dress has straight cut that is not fitted at waist
HIPS: Not fitted - straight shift cut may be fitted on full hips - Hourglass body types should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a racerback or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy sequins. Tank body style. Scoop neckline. Mini length. 33.5" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

186 reviews

Fit
Small 11
True to Size 127
Large 43
Photos 71
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 28, 2013

Lovely dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Did not wear it. Too short on me. I chose it as a back up. Love my first choice.
D
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Feb 18, 2013

Felt super glamorous all night!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is very pretty and the color is a rich blue. The cut is fairly simple--not much structure. I'm 5'9" and it felt pretty short, but I went with it anyways. The dress was a lot tighter on me than on the model in the photo--just keep that in mind if you are curvy. I wore it to a cocktail party with heels and felt fine. I'd recommend it for a Vegas trip or a similar fun/young outing. I might have felt a little too racy wearing it to a formal/black tie event.
Raakkel
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 18, 2013

I ended up returning this dress unworn.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
It is like wearing a giant potato sack. I was really unhappy with the fit of this dress.
Samantha
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 18, 2013

I have not been hit on my so many guys in my life. If you're looking to stand out, this is the dress

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress ran very big. I had to add a black belt so it was not loose, and pinned the straps up so it did not show my bra. I also used dress tape to shorten the hem so that it was a bit "sexier." However, even with the alternations this dress definitely made an impression.
Jesse
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 12, 2013

Great dress for the right body

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this as a back-up dress and did not end up using. It is a cute dress but I felt a little homecoming-ish for the party I was attending. Also, this dress would be very flattering if you wanted to conceal some midsection flaws and accentuate great legs but I usually rely on having my waist show so my hourglass comes thru (hips are too wide/bust too big to lose waist usually) and the cut of this dress coupled with the sequins did not allow for that. Also, this dress is s true MINI!! I love the look of a true mini and actually think it is the way to complement shorter legs but be prepared! At 5' 4 3/4" in an XS this dress was booty cheek grazing!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Mar 18, 2013

shimmery

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
lovely, flashy dress. perfect for the vegas party i went to, but not as flattering as i'd hoped. too sheath like for my taste, but a nice dress none the less.
Jessie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 28, 2013

Cute but too young for me

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this adorable number for an Elton John concert. I absolutely loved the dress but felt very flashy. I didn’t end up wearing the dress but I did think it was fabulous for someone 18-26ish. Although, I must admit I can be somewhat reserved in my style choices. The color was fantastic.
Lauren
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Apr 18, 2013

the perfect fitting dress and friends!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
love it!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 27, 2013

fun, but large

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Wore this for a concert- it was a fun dress, but much longer than anticipated and too small on top to wear the smaller size. But a pretty color!
Ruth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
May 31, 2013

Great bachelorette night out dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to one of my closest friend's Sparkly night out for her bachelorette weekend and it was perfect. I was definitely one the most sparkly people there! The blue is very pretty too, a true, bright blue. One con, the dress can feel a little rough on the inside of your arms as they rub against the dress! Guess that is the price you pay to really sparkle!
Amanda
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 6, 2013

Love it!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for my 21st Birthday celebration and New Year's Eve, and it was a hit! Everyone loved it, the fit was perfect and I felt very comfortable.
B
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 11, 2013

Love this dress bc it can flatter many shapes!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was perfect and I paired it with a blazer and it looked great for a a private event!
EMC
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 3, 2013

The PERFECT bachelorette party dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I heard it ran big so I ordered the small and extra small. I ended up wearing the small. I loved the racer back style and the sequins were beautiful. It looked awesome and photographed really well. It made the night extra special!
Patti
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Jul 5, 2013

The dress is gorgeous and fun!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very comfortable, easy to wear. Very flattering back.
Mariel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Jul 15, 2013

Fun dress...couldn't wear :(

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
While this dress looked so much fun on the hanger, unfortunately I didn't wear it because I didn't like the fit. I thought that it being a mini dress would offset the loose fit, but the dress was just too boxy looking on me. I would have preferred a dress a little more form fitting. I had tried on the small. I tried it with a belt as one reviewer recommended, but the sequin fabric was still too thick to create the type of curves I was going for.
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 23, 2013

No go if you have curves

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress made me look a lot wider than I am.
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Jul 31, 2013

Super short

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I'm only 5'6", but have a long torso and it was just too short for me to pull off without tights, which were not an option for a summer night rooftop cocktail party. That said, if you're a little shorter it's a great dress. One of my friends who is 5"2' tried it on and looked amazing.
vanessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109 lbs
Aug 6, 2013

Great dress

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
Rented this dress for a girls trip to Vegas. Length and fit was great. I wore it with a thin black belt.
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 6, 2013

Miami bachelorette = sequin city.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress runs SHORT. The medium actually fit better but it didn't even cover my butt, so I'm glad I'd ordered the large as a back up. Fun color to wear out. Liked the racer back - showed skin but not crazy cleavage. The sequins did start to rub my arms toward the end of the night. Liked that it wasn't skin tight, especially because it was so short. Really fun option for GNO.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Aug 13, 2013

kind of fits like a bag.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Shapeless, and it didn't hug any curves well, or show much skin, ended up not wearing it at all.
Rachael
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Sep 3, 2013

The dress was a big hit!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my engagement party. Just like most of the reviews stated the dress ran a little big. I usually wear a small, but the XS actually fit better. I dont have much of a bust, so the top was cut pretty low on me. I had to use fashion tape to make sure my bra didnt show. The XS was also a bit short, so I made sure to wear non see through spanks just in case. It worked well and everyone kept saying how they loved the dress.
AC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 7, 2013

Not bad

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It was a little crumpled in person but looked great!
CSugaSuga
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 15, 2013

Really cute!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Itchy under the armpits
Just Me
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 23, 2013

This was my backup dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is super cute and sparkly. I got it as a back up dress, and did not end up wearing it as I preferred my other choice for this occasion. Main reason was this dress is SUPER SHORT. It was fine on me -- short but fine, but I am 5'2" on a good day. As a result, I would say this is best on shorter people and/or for fun/flirty type events -- bachelorettes, night out in Vegas, New Years Eve, etc.
workoutgirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 23, 2013

Perfect dress to celebrate a birthday in Vegas!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I am very petite, very close to 5ft and typically a 0 in loft and a 0 - 2 in american eagle jeans (to give you something to compare it too) The dress fit at a perfect length on me - not to short that I couldn't move and not so long that I covered everything up. I wore the xs and did feel that it was baggy around the waist - a belt made it fit better but took too much away from the effect. I got a million compliments all night long! I loved the dress - the great bonus about the bagginess was that I could eat a delicious dinner and not worry about tummy bulge. :-) You know what I'm talking about! If you are celebrating and want jaws to drop - rent this dress.
Maddie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 17
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 3, 2013

It was very shimmery, but not over the top for the wedding.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was loose fitting, but still very flattering. VERY short if you are tall. Could not bend over at all.
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Jan 7, 2014

Very short but fun!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The only size available was an XS, and it was too short for me. I was unable to wear it. I should have ordered it earlier to have a larger size.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 14, 2014

First rental and it fit perfecctly

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Had a blast and it was supper easy. The dress is definitely true to size!
Allie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127 lbs
Feb 4, 2014

Perfect for a night out in Vegas!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
I really liked the dress. It had a ton of sparkle and was perfect for a Saturday in Vegas. The only con was that it was a little more low-cut than I would've liked and I felt like I needed to pull it up periodically throughout the night.
Sarah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 20, 2014

Great dress for a night on the town!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Dress was great although definitely short. I wore it for a night out in Vegas and got lots of compliments in it. Very comfortable as it is a looser fitting dress so I definitely felt like I could move around.
Brittany
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 25, 2014

Comfortable, awesome

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I prefer dresses like this on the tight side, so I chose the wear the small.
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 10, 2014

It was sparkly and fun. A great dress for Vegas!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I ordered 2 sizes. Small and Extra Small. I went with the Extra Small. It looked better a little more fitted.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
Apr 17, 2014

Fun Party Dress

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this dress for a Vegas vacation with my husband. It was comfortable, not too form fitting, almost like a flapper-style fit. The top was a little loose and required fabric tape at the edges to keep it from showing the top of my bra. The color was beautiful and the sequins were not too scratchy. The back also has pretty detailing. Another RTR success!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 23, 2014

Comfortable and fun!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
A lot of sparkly dresses that I've tried on are itchy but this one wasn't. With a dress like this it's hard not to have fun.
KC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

Exactly as pictured and reviewed by others. Super sparkly, but comfortable.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very sparkly and very comfortable. The sequins were a little scratchy if you rubbed your arms against the dress, but overall it was exactly what I wanted and expected. Like others have mentioned though, the dress is very short!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
May 16, 2014

Gorgeous dress, but too short!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
The color of the dress was stunning and I was so excited to wear it, but it was way too short. I'm not sure if the size small would have been longer, but I worry that the fit would have been too big overall. I was terrified of bending over even slightly so I didn't end up wearing the dress. Unfortunately, my backup size wasn't available to even give me an option. I did have another RTR dress I planned to wear a different night so I just used that.
Jolene
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
May 23, 2014

Pretty dress but ....

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was a very pretty dress but wow it was so short I couldn't even walk in it without my butt hanging out!!!! And I'm only 5'2!!! Called RTR and they immediately sent me another dress!
Isntdre
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 23, 2014

Wore it for Gaga

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
THis dress was VERY short. I was pretty uncomfortable with the length, but that might just be a personal thing. Also I am hourglass shaped and I didn't, find it very flattering.
Alaina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
May 23, 2014

Vegas baby!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was really easy and fun and perfect for vegas! The back is cool too (racerback). Perfect to hide a belly problem area.
alysse
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 17, 2014

It was simple yet sparkly—perfect!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It was a little short, but I was ok with that. :) It was easy to wear, comfortable, great with most bras (though be careful—mine stuck out a bit in a couple photos, oops!), and FUN.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×