Sapphire Star Dress

$118 to buy
$470 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

With an elegantly draped back, this Mark & James by Badgley Mischka dress offers a chic long sleeve option. The striking cobalt hue and leather shoulder detail give this style a modern update. For a great way top stay supported without wearing a full bra, try Braza's Reusable Strapless Backless Adhesive Underwire Bra.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size but exposed back does not allow for strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted
HIPS: Very Fitted - dress is very form fitting so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; seamless underwear and SPANX recommended
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size but exposed back does not allow for strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted
HIPS: Very Fitted - dress is very form fitting so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; seamless underwear and SPANX recommended
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Cobalt velvet. Crew neckline. Long sleeves. Draped back. Black leather detail on shoulders. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
127 reviews
Fit
Large59
True to Size63
Small4
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
April 6, 2016
Beautiful!!
The fit was perfect. The fabric and the color were absolutely gorgeous. The only con is that the fabric is quite thick, so I felt too warm throughout the night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
June 22, 2014
Wore this for my birthday dinner with my boyfriend- he couldn't take his eyes off me!
The color is beautiful! Great wintertime dress. The back is extremely low and open so make sure you have a stick on bra if you need one!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 10, 2014
Perfect for a holiday party!
I wore this dress to my holiday engagement party. It was gorgeous. It was a little large. I am usually a 10 and really should have ordered a medium, but made it work because I really wanted to wear it.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 6, 2014
I was comfortable!
The blue velvet is amazing. I love the way it shines. It is somewhat conservative, but the back out adds a bit of edge. I definitely recommend wearing this dress with black tights--I don't think bare legs is the greatest with this. I wore this to an inauguration party last year and it was perfect.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
March 26, 2014
Received so many compliments!
Definitely a fitted dress, but the velvet was very comfortable and flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 22, 2014
blue's never been sexier!
I ordered small and x-small, ended up wearing the x-small since it snugged at hips better. The color is so amazing. Love the black leather detail on the neckline, I didnt even notice that in the picture when I rented it. It was a perfect length, not too short, not too long - perfect. The drop in the back has this weight that i tucked into my bar so you couldn't see my bar strap. Great dress, especially for the price. Very happy customer!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 2, 2014
Gorgeous dress. I'd buy it in a heartbeat. Photos don't do it justice!
Definitely runs a bit large and was a little longer than I expected, while the back didn't dip as low as I thought it would... None of it mattered, this was a stunning dress! Got compliments all night long and I felt beautiful. The back is the best part.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
February 21, 2014
The dress was perfect for a winter wedding in Maine. The fabric was gorgeous!
I ordered a small and an extra small but ended up wearing the small for a more classier fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
February 3, 2014
True Blue Statement Dress!
I wore this to my sorority's semi-formal in November. This was dress was perfect. I paired it with simple black pumps and some statement earrings. Needless to say I got compliments all night and the rest of the month on my social media. I would definitely recommend this as a winter date, wedding, or semi-formal dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
January 29, 2014
Great dress for a winter event
Polar vortex in Chicago, folks! Needed a long-sleeved, stupid-cold-winter-friendly dress for a nice date (boyfriend's 30th birthday -- he requested a steak dinner, tickets the symphony, and fancy clothes). This dress is GORGEOUS and incredibly easy to wear. I expected wear the size S based on measurements, but wound up in the XS. Both fit, but the drape was a little overwhelming in the larger size. The open back makes the sizing pretty flexible, but it's important for the arms to fit snugly to keep it from slipping off your shoulders. In short, consider sizing down. It's stretchy! I wore this with a Nubra and it worked well. I was comfortable all night and felt classy... and the open back is pretty sexy (withing being too much, because the front and arms are so covered). Wore with big earrings, black tights, and black pumps. Easy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 20, 2014
Not used
The fabric is lovely, the color is gorgeous but the way it lays on the shoulders was kind of awkward. I think it's because of the black material :/
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
January 14, 2014
Perfect dress for any winter occasion!
I rented this dress for the Swedish House Mafia's Black Tie Rave and it was perfect! After reading through other reviews I ordered the XS & S and ended up wearing the XS because it was an overall better fit. The small was just a big large in the arms and mid section that didn't make it as flattering as the XS. There's a slight weight that keeps the back in place so you can wear a normal bra. The dress was comfortable enough to dance the night away in and still kept me warm without sweating, probably because of the open back. I also liked how the shoulders had the mock leather giving it some edge. I would definitely rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 12, 2014
Most unique dress at the dance
I wore this to my boyfriends winter ball. The silky velvet material kept me warm in the midst of January. The fit was not bad. I ordered an XS and S and went with the XS because it fit better around my shoulders. The only disappointment I had was I was expecting the back to be lower. I wore a strapless bra and nobody could see it. I must say be cautious if you are dancing in this dress because it can keep you almost too warm. I had to pull my skirt down a few times because of the dancing but other than that this dress was a stunner. Third rental and still going strong :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 2, 2014
This dress is perfect! You'll never want to take it off. Even better in person than the picture.
I'd been wanting this dress for over a year and didn't have an event to wear it to, but when I finally got the chance it exceeded my highest expectations. Everything about it is stunning - the fit, color, quality, leather patches for just a bit of edge, and of course, the amazing cowl back. RTR couldn't send me a small for comparison, but my size is somewhere between a 2 and a 4 and the XS fit comfortably. The fabric is soft, plush, and stretchy, so it hugs curves, but with the help of some Spanx it's still thick enough to hide flaws. The back was high enough on me I could wear a regular bra and the dress was perfectly warm and comfortable for a New Year's eve party by the ocean. I got compliments all night - was sad to have to return it. Highly recommend this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
December 31, 2013
Gorgeous color, very comfortable.
Very flattering dress, pretty color, perfect for a winter party! Extremely comfortable.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
December 29, 2013
If I could buy this dress, I would have. <3 Prim+proper in front, and sensuously draped in back.
This dress is my favorite in life ever. The fit across the shoulders was spot on for me. I tried on both the M and S sizes (I am between a 6 and 8) and the flexible material meant that both sizes fit me, leaving me to decide how conservative I wanted the dress's bottom hem (and how scrunched I wanted the sleeves) to be. It is very warm and soft, and perfect with nude heels. The only minor meh moment was that the shoulders had black leather square patches, which I thought was underwhelming, but that's probably something most observers wouldn't even think to notice. It's absolutely gorgeous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 168lbs
December 26, 2013
Head Turner!
This was my first time using RTR and I was nervous, as I was not sure what to expect. However, everything turned out great! The dress was great for the winter wedding. The low back added to its appeal and I was fortunate to have the perfect bra for it. It is a little warm for dancing the night away but do not let that deter you! I will definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 10, 2013
Beautiful color, super unique, tons of compliments
Fit was perfect and had so many compliments on the fabric and color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 7, 2013
Perfect fit and the perfect Bronco blue (and warm enough for Colorado winter)
I wore this for the Denver Broncos holiday party which was a cocktail attire. It ran true to size, maybe even slightly big. This dress was perfect for the weather seeing as it was 3 degrees the night I had to wear it, so I was glad to have the long sleeves and a heavier-weight fabric. The color is absolutely gorgeous and people complimented it all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 3, 2013
In a sea of black and silver holiday dresses, this definitely popped!!
The fit was perfect, the back was a head turner. I felt luxurious all night.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 27, 2013
I got engaged in this dress!
The fit was absolutely perfect and very flattering, complimenting curves in all the right places. Very warm as well, as I wore this out in NYC. I would recommend wearing a backless bra, as I did find it hard to work with a strapless and was not able to pin it like another user recommended. The feel and the fit of this dress is fabulous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 26, 2013
Luxurious, Vibrant and Rich.
The dress was very comfortable and warm and cozy. It was great to be warm for a chance in a nice dress. The back draping is romantic and sexy. The color is so rich and you stand out without be flashy. I thought the dress would be shorter, but it was not. Hit at a good level to be sexy but still modest. It was a little more formal than I thought, so keep that in mind with the party you are renting it for. It seems like a simple dress but it is much more.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
November 20, 2013
Great material, looks elegant, different and fun to wear!
Dress fit really well, was warm which was nice for an outdoor fall wedding- only issue (unrelated to the dress really) was that my tights were sticking together strangely and were kind of static-y.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
November 8, 2013
I met the Mayor with my Miss California sisters. They all loved this classy royal number!
I'm a size 0 but a little taller then average at 5'6" so my arms are long. I felt that this fit a little snug around the arm pits but had a tenancy to slip off my shoulder...go figure. It's still gorgeous and worth the minimal fuss if you want to stand out! The velvet is the best choice for this royal blue. I wore it in the summer for a formal daytime meet and greet...its probably best suited for the evening or cooler weather. To see more of my Rent the Runway Fashions and events I've strutted them to follow my instagram @echoe_malone
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
October 19, 2013
LOVED THIS DRESS
This is the best dress I have ever rented/worn. Ever. The fit was very flattering and I received tons of complements all day long. The fabric was super comfortable and I felt very confident. The dress hit mid-thigh, so it wasn't too short or too long. The slouching back was flattering, and the warmth of the velvet made you forget you were backless. Will definitely be renting this dress again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
October 16, 2013
Beautifully elegant and sexy but still practical for colder weather.
The material is extremely soft and I had many friends petting me on the arm without realizing they were doing it. As for how I felt in it--I felt very graceful. I had equal amounts of compliments about how elegant I looked as I did on how sexy I was in it. It does run a little large-- usually wear a S but tried the XS on first and new the S would be too big for me. The XS fit just about everywhere nicely, though it could have just been a little tighter around the shoulders as I had to hike them up occasionally throughout the night. Highly recommend you wear an adhesive backless bra or use fashion tape to help hide bra straps. This dress dipped as low for me as it did on the model.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
October 14, 2013
ABSOLUTELY STUNNING !!
I recieved so many compliments that night. Besides the bride all eyes were on me. Loved this dress !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
October 1, 2013
Compliments all night long
I actually wore regular bra and pinned to back of dress. It's not that deep as on model. I also wore size xs but probably should have worn the small because as night went on the dress rode up just a bit (not bad at all though). Tons of compliments from the upper echelon of Denver high society.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 22, 2013
Really interesting dress that no one had but me. Loved that.
I'm 5' 10" so short dresses are such a struggle for me. But! My prom date was tall enough for me to wear heels, which I highly recommend for this dress! The back, as it is so open, is both gorgeous but also the reason I needed to go down a size; it was too big around the shoulders to be cute, so with the smaller size the arms may have been a little tighter, but that made them look thinner (problem areaaaaa) and that was fantastic, actually! This dress is perfect for the winter, but even in the spring it looked great and I had a lovely time.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 15, 2013
Not for short people!!!
I loved the idea of this dress. But when it showed up i panicked! Way, way longer than on the model . A "to the knee length" is the worst for petite women. Was absolutely frumpy. I tried a few different ways to tape the hem - none looked right so i ended up wearing as is... It was fine and i even gotsome complements - but beware this is for tall women!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
August 8, 2013
Runs a little large but still a great dress
I am so glad I ordered a size down, usually its the other way around. This dress drapes nicely and hugs in all the right places. The color is exactly as shown and the quality of the fabric is great.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 25, 2013
You'll stand out in a room I promise!
So I wore this for my senior homecoming dance. I was on court and up for queen so I wanted to make sure I stood out. This dress was so different from anyone else'! The velvet look was so complimenting and really slimmed me out, granted I wore spanks. The leather detail on the shoulders really gave it an edgy look which I totally love. I paired it with two totally blinged out bangles that actually ended up looking like cuffs on the dress itself. I wish I would've kept this dress seriously. I'm 5' flat so it was a little longer than I'm used to but it still worked out. The only thing I wish I would change is how I wore my hair. I definitely recommend wearing it up to show off the leather. also, the swoop in the back won't be as low as you expect even if you size up. Still GORGEOUS though!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
July 24, 2013
Elegant Las Vegas dress
If you're Las Vegas experience is more about fine dining than clubbing, this dress is perfect for you. It was flashy, yet restrained. The dip in the back was sexy without being over-the-top, and the color was perfect for a winter evening (though a bit shiny in pictures--not in real life).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
July 16, 2013
Loved it!
I really loved the color, the low back and the length. It is so sexy! Due to the sheen of the velvet and the hug around the hips, it would not be so flattering on a curvy figure. I think athletic or straight figures do well in this style!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
May 19, 2013
This dress fit perfectly! Made my body look amazing
I didn't end up wearing this dress out, but it was so beautiful! It fit me perfectly and the blue color was amazing with the velvet material. I loved it!!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 8, 2013
The dress felt great and looked great. Perfect for an inauguration event. Classy and sexy.
Cons - Big in the mid section and on the shoulders. If I had a smaller size (I usually wear a medium and I wore the medium) It would have been great! I still received a lot of compliments and felt great in the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Athletic
April 30, 2013
Loved the fit!
The back of this dress was so sexy without being skanky - I got so many compliments!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 25, 2013
Beautiful dress for winter!
Wore this dress for a winter cocktail party and it was perfect for the occasion. I ordered an XS and it ran a little big. The length is conservative and would work for taller girls. Also, the color is a little darker in person. The back is beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 1, 2013
stand out dress
rich material and color..compliments all night long..fit is comfortable & worry free..looks great in photos too!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 22, 2013
Very unique dress. Hugged my figure, many compliments, wore black tights with black heels. Loved it.
Great fit; could have worn Medium or Large but went with Medium for snugger fit. Love the leather details on the shoulders. Did ride up a little especially if wearing tights/stockings (I do have big thighs so may not happen if your are slim) but trick is to not make it obvious when you do need to adjust! Didn't wear any type of bra and worked out fine, but if you must, then take the time to find the right one. You can't wear just any bra with the way the dress lays on your shoulders. Great Rent!!
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×