Sapphire Star Dress

$118 to buy
$470 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

With an elegantly draped back, this Mark & James by Badgley Mischka dress offers a chic long sleeve option. The striking cobalt hue and leather shoulder detail give this style a modern update. For a great way top stay supported without wearing a full bra, try Braza's Reusable Strapless Backless Adhesive Underwire Bra.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size but exposed back does not allow for strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted
HIPS: Very Fitted - dress is very form fitting so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; seamless underwear and SPANX recommended
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size but exposed back does not allow for strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted
HIPS: Very Fitted - dress is very form fitting so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; seamless underwear and SPANX recommended
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Cobalt velvet. Crew neckline. Long sleeves. Draped back. Black leather detail on shoulders. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
127 reviews
Fit
Large59
True to Size63
Small4
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 15, 2013
I received many compliments in this dress because of the sexy back.
Because the back is out, you can't wear a bra. Make sure you wear the proper underpinnings for a polished look. The thickness of the material is very flattering and forgiving.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
March 14, 2013
The color and material is breathtaking.
Extremely comfortable. The back isn't extremely exposed. It was such an elegant look for such a comfortable feel!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 11, 2013
Cheap, cheap, cheap
This dress looked so beautiful online, and I took a chance on it. Unfortunately, the material felt and looked cheap in person and the color was more lackluster.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 10, 2013
na
na
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
March 8, 2013
This dress ran HUGE. Even the extra small was too large!
Wish I could give it zero stars. Very disappointing rental - it didn't fit (and it smelled a little moldy)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 6, 2013
Perfect for black tie wedding.
I have never gotten so many compliments about any other dress I have ever worn. At the wedding I had people I have never met coming up to me telling me how they noticed my dress and even petting me! And after posting pictures, I have told numerous friends about renttherunway.com because they asked where I got such an awesome dress. The only criticism I would have is that the leather shoulders are a little worn on the edges and the dress wasn't as snug as I think it should have been. Very little wear and tear, as to be expected though. Honestly, only the person renting it would notice. This dress was super comfortable, super sexy & super affordable. Don't even think about it, just get it!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 6, 2013
New Year's Eve
The dress arrived in perfect condition and is beautiful, unfortunately it was too long and too big. I did not order the back-up size (mistake on my part). I have a winter wedding this December that I think I'm going to order this for, this time with some back-up sizes!!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 3, 2013
First Rent the Runway experience! I will be a returning customer!
I rented for my boyfriend's Firefighters Banquet. My dress arrived on time, fit wonderfully and return shipping was easy. My boyfriend loved the dress and so did I! This is way better than having a closet-full of dresses that I can only wear once!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
March 1, 2013
Sassy and classy!
I had been checking reviews on this dress and looking a pics for about a month before the event. I'm very picky but i absolutely loved the color and the material. I have an hour glass figure so the medium was perfect on my curves, it wasnt too short or too long, just the perfect length, i'm 5'2, it was about 2 inches above my knee! I got a ton of compliments and it was great being the only one in the blue! will def rent again! ps. it's actually not that low in the back, i wore a strapless bra with this dress, couldnt manage to get on those pasty ones
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 59
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
February 24, 2013
Fun for a Party
This dress is classy, form fitting and, with the high neckline and long sleeves, almost demure from the front. So the back is a "wow" surprise. It was less royal blue and more purple, in my opinion, than the photo. I do disagree w/ the reviewer who said you could wear a regular bra; even my "backless" bra strap showed. I used a very low-back corset. Between the velvet & the lining, the dress is thick enough you could not wear a bra at all, but I wouldn't dance in it. Because I was at a semi-costume party, I wore sparkley stockings but sheer black would work fine. Got lots of compliments. (And lost the slip peaking out in the photo before leaving home!)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
February 20, 2013
Pretty Dress, but awkward fit for me
Nice dress, beautiful fabric and color. I found it a little shorter than I expected and the waist was much to large for me, however an XS would have been too small. for me. The back is really stunning but the front a little plain.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 13, 2013
Great feel and fit!
Great fit! Easy to accessorize, with a unique neckline !
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
February 8, 2013
Seeing the look on people's faces as i walked to my table for dinner. PRICELESS
Run's large I wore a Medium and I using double-sided tape to keep the dress from falling off of my shoulders.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
February 3, 2013
This is the perfect dress for a wintertime date night!
This dress was amazing! It is perfect for a winter date night (my boyfriend couldn't take his eyes off of me)! The material that the dress is made of is so warm and soft and the back definitely adds a little hint of sexiness without being too revealing. I usually wear a small but when I tried it on, the dress hung off of me. Luckily, I chose the extra small as my back up size. The extra small accentuated my curves much better, although it did ride up a bit when a walked.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 30, 2013
Great winter party dress!
Great fabric, great color - it does run slightly big. Overall, fabulous dress for winter parties!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 14, 2013
I felt so classy and retro in the right way!
Beautiful color, warm fabric for a winter's night out, and super glamorous while still being elegant and understated. I do think it runs a bit big, and you should be be warned that the fabric can be a little grabby on the love handles if you aren't wearing shapewear. Otherwise, I loved this dress. My boyfriend and I were told by the MC of the event that we were the most attractive couple there!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
January 14, 2013
My friend told me I looked very sexy in this dress.
I wore XS and paired it with black tights and black pumps. Love the material and it fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
January 14, 2013
This dress was an absolute dream for my 30th birthday! Jaws dropped and heads turned all night.
I was going for a regal look for my birthday. This dress nailed it! I originally wanted a small. But, it was out stock. I ordered the extra small and hoped from the best.. Luckily, it was a perfect fit! So, I would suggest to someone with my physique to get one size smaller. I would also suggest pairing with shiny black tights and black suede shoes. They were a nice compliment to the fabric of the dress. I went with simple jewelry, diamond ring, studs, and tennis bracelet. I did not want to detract from the elegance of the dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 3, 2013
Fabulous Material!
This dress runs small, as other renters have suggested. I rented a small and XS, and wore the XS. The material is amazing. It was so soft and hugged all the right places. This dress is elegant without being too short or too revealing. I did notice that the back does not hang as low as it does in the model’s photograph; however the draping was still very pleasing to the eye. I was able to wear this dress with a low backed strapless bra, I think without it would be a bit awkward. There is also nice black leather detail on the shoulders. I wore with black accessories and sparkly purple/blue shoes. I got tons of compliments and the color of the dress photographed amazing... definitely a great choice for an event with a lot of picture taking! I did not want to send it back! Another great NYE thanks to RTR!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 94lbs
December 30, 2012
The fabric is luxurious, the color is marvelous. However, the fit is off for a petite like me.
I'm usually a 00XS/P so I'm just probably out of luck when it comes to straight-from-the-rack designer clothes. I'm short but not curvy enough. The shoulders and arms swallowed me, but the back was a sight to behold. I was the host for a party so it's a shame that I can't walk around with my back on people -- that's the only great part that worked for me in this dress. =P My first review was not approved so hopefully RTR is unbiased enough to let this one through this time.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
December 28, 2012
Great night, great friends, great dress.
Fits true to size, but is a little loose at the shoulder. I received a ton of compliments on this dress. Back is a little less draped than shown.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 28, 2012
Tempted to touch !!
This my third rental and I must say it's my absolute favorite! The velvet is so soft and the blue color is stunning. I had strangers come up to me asking to touch my dress. I wore it to a holiday party but it would be suitable for multiple occasions. I wore it with tights but took them off early in the evening. It looked much better! The only problem I had was the shoulders seemed to tight but I think it's because of the leather patches that are there.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158lbs
December 26, 2012
Looks better on the website
This was a first selection, but I was disappointed. It was kind of blah, the black leather on the shoulders just doesn't go and takes away from the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 17, 2012
Fantastic, flirty dress, perfect for a winter wedding!
I apologize for not having a photo, but I was having so much fun at the wedding, I barely stopped dancing enough to take any at all, let alone full body. This dress was fantastic and I got so many compliments. I have a small bust, so i could go braless. It was so comfortable and the back was the right about of sexy. The color was also amazing! It was a bit large around the waist, but RTR was out of the small so I didn't have my second size option. I would def rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
December 17, 2012
Comfortable and Sexy
I wore this to my husband's Christmas party, I loved it. He did too! the color is gorgeous..I will definitely rent from RTR again. Thank you for making me feel beautiful.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 12, 2012
I felt so incredible in this dress, I never wanted to take it off!
I ordered this dress as a back-up for a formal work event. I needed something that was beautiful but still professional and non-revealing. The original dress I picked was just just a little too sexy for the occasion and I'm so glad it was because this dress was so special. The color was gorgeous, the fit was true to size and flattering, the back was to die for and the leather patches gave it a nice edge. I got so many compliments on this dress. I paired it with the GORGEOUS Badgley Mischka Showstopper earrings and never looked back.
AmandaAugust 13, 2013
Could you wear a bra with it? I'm considering renting this as it is just beautiful, however I am not comfortable going bra-less and don't want to purchase a special bra just for this. Thanks!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 5, 2012
do you want to be mistaken for a celebrity or someone super important? rent this dress.
I wore this dress to a black tie event, and I've never had so many people approach me just to say they love my dress, my hair, my make-up, everything! {but it was really the dress that got so much attention} my head got SO big from all the compliments; it was awesome. I ordered the xs and small; wore the xs, and it fit like a glove. I'm very short, so it hit above the knee. 5 inch heels helped to make it a bit shorter. the velvet made this the perfect holiday dress and kept me warm. the leather shoulder patches gave it some edge, so I was on-trend, but still classy. {also, just fyi- this dress looks verryyy expensive.} I wore the dannijo cecile earrings; you have to rent these if you rent this dress. gorg! SO happy with my rtr experience. I'll be renting again for my next event. xo
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 5, 2012
Pretty dress.. but not for me
I didn't end up wearing this dress because it didn't fit me very well.. I think this dress would work better on taller women. You definitely can't wear a regular bra with this dress because of how low cut it is in the back, so it's probably better for someone who is comfortable going braless or with a stick on bra. I will say that this is a gorgeous dress, its a beautiful color, I wish it looked better on me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
December 4, 2012
You will stand out in a room full of black suits and dresses!
Rented this for a Festival of Trees event. I'll admit I was a bit nervous because I'm so tall and it looked short on the model but after reading several other tall girl reviews I decided to go with this dress. I ordered medium and the large as my backup size. The dress arrived packaged very professionally and in a garment bag. I ended up wearing the medium as the large was just a bit too big on my shoulders and was slipping off. The material was thick enough and lined that I was able to just wear pasties so I had no issue with the back. The back was sexy without being too sexy. The material is a beautiful rich, thick, velvety royal blue color. I wore black spanx tights that had the built in support that laid right under my breasts. Highly recommend this dress for not only the material but the beautiful blue color.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 3, 2012
Everyone loved it!
It was beautiful
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 3, 2012
I had a great experience with RTR! I loved my dress and earrings. I can't wait for my next event!
The back of the dress really made a statement. The pictures and sizing were accurate.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
December 2, 2012
The dress was a surprise for my husband and he was speechless!
I normally wear a size 6 dress and the small was perfect, not too snug but still curve hugging. It was definitely comfortable to wear on a November evening out to the performing arts center. If there was one thing I would offer to others is - use the sticky tabs included by Rent the Runway as a gift. I did not and I spent the evening adjusting the shoulders back in place. This dress is a compliment magnet!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 26, 2012
Loved this dress! Got a lot of compliments! :)
I didn't think I was going to be able to wear this dress. I had ordered it to come on the 23rd of November, but FedEx messed up so it didn't get to my house until the 24th. However, it all worked out so I got to wear it to the dance at a local club (not like a dance club but a country club). I got a medium and a small, but ended up wearing the small because it seemed to fit better. I wore a normal bra with it but pinned the back so that it wouldn't show. It worked well. The best thing about the dress was that no one else had it! I also loved the material (it was very soft). This was my first time renting from Rent the Runway, and definitely won't be my last!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Age: 23
November 22, 2012
i did nt have any moment
i could nt wear it cause my date was rescheduled. but the dress is beautiful
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 15, 2012
I felt expensive.
The dress was amazingly comfortable and kept me warm in the cold weather.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2012
Fun and Classy
I ordered this dress in both a M and L thinking that because of my big bust I might need to size up. Definitely not. I would say it is true to size and possibly even runs a bit large. The medium was falling off the shoulders a bit but I think the small would have been too tight everywhere else. The color is just as vibrant in person. Definitely got a lot of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 11, 2012
Was looking forward to wearing this dress but just fit strangely : /
When I opened up the package I was soooo excited about this dress because the color and the velvety fabric were sooo luscious I really thought it was going to be a favorite. But when I tried it on I was sadly disappointed as my boyfriend aptly nicknamed it the 'Star Trek dress'. Unfortunately, it was way tighter through the bust than expected, looser through the middle/torso, and the spacing at the shoulders seemed like it was meant for someone who's shoulders and collarbone started about a foot higher than mine. Also, I could've done without the strange detail at the top of each shoulder. Such a cool looking dress laying down but fits and looks like a curtain on. : /
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
November 4, 2012
This was my fist time using RTR and was scared...I had nothing to be scared of. It was on time!!!
The dress fits perfect. The color was gorgeous with my skin complexion. And the material keeps you warm during these cold months. And the back is soooo sexy. It will have your man drooling over you all night!!!!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
November 3, 2012
.
Fit was nice, however, it was longer than it actually appears on the model.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
October 17, 2012
Wore this to a Christmas event for a non-profit. Stunning
Fits true to size. Ultra-flattering cut.
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×