You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Sapphire Star Dress
Rental $50 Retail $350
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
With an elegantly draped back, this Mark & James by Badgley Mischka dress offers a chic long sleeve option. The striking cobalt hue and leather shoulder detail give this style a modern update. Complete the look with Erickson Beamon's Heart of Glass Earrings. For a great way top stay supported without wearing a full bra, try Braza's Reusable Strapless Backless Adhesive Underwire Bra.
Chat with a Stylist
Cobalt velvet. Crew neckline. Long sleeves. Draped back. Black leather detail on shoulders. 33'' from shoulder to hem.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size but exposed back does not allow for strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted
HIPS: Very Fitted - dress is very form fitting so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; seamless underwear and SPANX recommended
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos73

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Mariam
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3233
Jun 22, 2012
"now you're just making the rest of us look bad!"
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a little big but overall, very beautiful! I was voted best dresse so I was glad I could pick up the award in a great dress.
Nadia
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6333
May 9, 2012
I got a lot of compliments!
Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress is beautiful!! I recommend it for curvy women tho to fill it in and really show its style! I wore it for a new year eve party just stunning!
tamra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 4424
Feb 28, 2012
The look on my boyfriends face when he saw me all done up.
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a wedding reception and I got a ton of complements. It is not as low in the back as you think. I was able to wear a regular bra and I bought one of those straps you can dip the back part lower. In any event, this dress was VERY flattering on me. If you order this, you are sure to blush all night from complements. The dress was also very comfy! I read the reviews and since they said it ran big so the Xsmall fit like a glove. A+++!! This was my first RTR experience and I am bragging to the WORLD about it! Can't wait for my next event so I can RTR again!
AG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 3533
Feb 15, 2012
very sexy and comfortable
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I wore this dress on Valentines day for a dinner date and I got so many compliments. This dress is stunning and it fits so beautifully. Will add pictures later. I also wear a small but this dress runs a bit bigger so I ended up wearing the the XS. I loved wearing this dress, it's so comfortable too, I really didn't want to return it :-)
LaineyB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7543
Feb 3, 2012
Feeling like the belle of the ball in this beautiful blue dress!
Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was so comfortable, sexy and perfect for an NYC holiday party. The only trouble I had was figuring out what type of brassiere to wear, but I ended up going with a strapless corset-type. The color popped and the velvet texture was so unique in a crowd full of LBD's. I loved the metallic accents at the shoulders too!
Shana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2533
Jan 16, 2011
Perfect find for a winter wedding!
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress runs pretty true to size. I'm 5'4'', 107lbs and and XS fit perfectly. The back does not drape as low as it does in the photos but the dress is gorgeous and super comfortable. I wore it to a winter wedding and got so many compliments on it! Styled just like the photo, the dress was actually pretty warm too! Fabulous dress!
Ariana
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3331
Jan 4, 2012
I felt like a million bucks in this dress!
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was not my first choice for date night. In the end I was happy with the fit, cut, and color. I had compliments all night. I would recommend this dress for any occasion!
Natasha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6433
Jan 3, 2012
Fireworks on NYE!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress is very pretty, and was great for NYE, especially the bright color and draping back. It runs a bit big -- a medium was a little large for me.
Nancy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Nov 30, 2011
When we arrived in LA for this wedding the earrings I had packed looked pathetic with such a fierce dress. My boyfriend immediately made it a priority to go shopping for the perfect earrings so I could feel just as sexy as the dress made me look! I never forget him buying those earrings, and I love wearing them to this day.
Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
sexy dress for a cold weather, winter wedding! the cut in the front ius exactly right, making your silloutte look sexy while covered up. the back doesn't go that low. the leather detail on the shoulders adds some rock n roll. i got lots of compliments, and its a very unexpected, original dress which I loved.
Amber
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4423
Nov 27, 2011
soft soft velvet!!
Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
ordered small and medium, small fit well but probably would have fit into extra small, so order down! i decided not to wear a bra with this but i am modestly chested and found that the material was thick enough that i didn't need any additional support. dress is long especially on petites(hit at top of knee) but i wore really high pumps so it worked out just fine. Dress made me feel expensive which i loved wearing to a NYC black tie event!
M.E.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7443
Apr 10, 2014
Perfect for a holiday party!
Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my holiday engagement party. It was gorgeous. It was a little large. I am usually a 10 and really should have ordered a medium, but made it work because I really wanted to wear it.
Brandi
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6434
Apr 6, 2014
I was comfortable!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The blue velvet is amazing. I love the way it shines. It is somewhat conservative, but the back out adds a bit of edge. I definitely recommend wearing this dress with black tights--I don't think bare legs is the greatest with this. I wore this to an inauguration party last year and it was perfect.
Linsi
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6534
Mar 26, 2014
Received so many compliments!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Definitely a fitted dress, but the velvet was very comfortable and flattering.
Alison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4532
Jan 29, 2014
Great dress for a winter event
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
Polar vortex in Chicago, folks! Needed a long-sleeved, stupid-cold-winter-friendly dress for a nice date (boyfriend's 30th birthday -- he requested a steak dinner, tickets the symphony, and fancy clothes). This dress is GORGEOUS and incredibly easy to wear. I expected wear the size S based on measurements, but wound up in the XS. Both fit, but the drape was a little overwhelming in the larger size. The open back makes the sizing pretty flexible, but it's important for the arms to fit snugly to keep it from slipping off your shoulders. In short, consider sizing down. It's stretchy! I wore this with a Nubra and it worked well. I was comfortable all night and felt classy... and the open back is pretty sexy (withing being too much, because the front and arms are so covered). Wore with big earrings, black tights, and black pumps. Easy.
CRYSTAL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7444
Jan 20, 2014
Not used
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fabric is lovely, the color is gorgeous but the way it lays on the shoulders was kind of awkward. I think it's because of the black material :/
MM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 3423
Dec 31, 2013
Gorgeous color, very comfortable.
Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very flattering dress, pretty color, perfect for a winter party! Extremely comfortable.
natali
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 5533
Dec 29, 2013
If I could buy this dress, I would have. <3 Prim+proper in front, and sensuously draped in back.
Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is my favorite in life ever. The fit across the shoulders was spot on for me. I tried on both the M and S sizes (I am between a 6 and 8) and the flexible material meant that both sizes fit me, leaving me to decide how conservative I wanted the dress's bottom hem (and how scrunched I wanted the sleeves) to be. It is very warm and soft, and perfect with nude heels. The only minor meh moment was that the shoulders had black leather square patches, which I thought was underwhelming, but that's probably something most observers wouldn't even think to notice. It's absolutely gorgeous.
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Dec 10, 2013
Beautiful color, super unique, tons of compliments
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit was perfect and had so many compliments on the fabric and color.
Jillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4543
Dec 3, 2013
In a sea of black and silver holiday dresses, this definitely popped!!
Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was perfect, the back was a head turner. I felt luxurious all night.
Aubrey
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7423
Nov 27, 2013
I got engaged in this dress!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
The fit was absolutely perfect and very flattering, complimenting curves in all the right places. Very warm as well, as I wore this out in NYC. I would recommend wearing a backless bra, as I did find it hard to work with a strapless and was not able to pin it like another user recommended. The feel and the fit of this dress is fabulous!
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6534
Nov 26, 2013
Luxurious, Vibrant and Rich.
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was very comfortable and warm and cozy. It was great to be warm for a chance in a nice dress. The back draping is romantic and sexy. The color is so rich and you stand out without be flashy. I thought the dress would be shorter, but it was not. Hit at a good level to be sexy but still modest. It was a little more formal than I thought, so keep that in mind with the party you are renting it for. It seems like a simple dress but it is much more.
Sarah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3424
Nov 20, 2013
Great material, looks elegant, different and fun to wear!
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Dress fit really well, was warm which was nice for an outdoor fall wedding- only issue (unrelated to the dress really) was that my tights were sticking together strangely and were kind of static-y.
Kelly
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3522
Sep 15, 2013
Not for short people!!!
Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the idea of this dress. But when it showed up i panicked! Way, way longer than on the model . A "to the knee length" is the worst for petite women. Was absolutely frumpy. I tried a few different ways to tape the hem - none looked right so i ended up wearing as is... It was fine and i even gotsome complements - but beware this is for tall women!
Susi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Aug 8, 2013
Runs a little large but still a great dress
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I am so glad I ordered a size down, usually its the other way around. This dress drapes nicely and hugs in all the right places. The color is exactly as shown and the quality of the fabric is great.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5543
Jul 24, 2013
Elegant Las Vegas dress
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
If you're Las Vegas experience is more about fine dining than clubbing, this dress is perfect for you. It was flashy, yet restrained. The dip in the back was sexy without being over-the-top, and the color was perfect for a winter evening (though a bit shiny in pictures--not in real life).
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4633
Jul 16, 2013
Loved it!
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I really loved the color, the low back and the length. It is so sexy! Due to the sheen of the velvet and the hug around the hips, it would not be so flattering on a curvy figure. I think athletic or straight figures do well in this style!
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
May 19, 2013
This dress fit perfectly! Made my body look amazing
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I didn't end up wearing this dress out, but it was so beautiful! It fit me perfectly and the blue color was amazing with the velvet material. I loved it!!
Mayola
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
May 8, 2013
The dress felt great and looked great. Perfect for an inauguration event. Classy and sexy.
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Cons - Big in the mid section and on the shoulders. If I had a smaller size (I usually wear a medium and I wore the medium) It would have been great! I still received a lot of compliments and felt great in the dress.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 5442
Apr 30, 2013
Loved the fit!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The back of this dress was so sexy without being skanky - I got so many compliments!
Joanna
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2432
Apr 25, 2013
Beautiful dress for winter!
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Wore this dress for a winter cocktail party and it was perfect for the occasion. I ordered an XS and it ran a little big. The length is conservative and would work for taller girls. Also, the color is a little darker in person. The back is beautiful!
Amy
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6533
Mar 22, 2013
Very unique dress. Hugged my figure, many compliments, wore black tights with black heels. Loved it.
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fit; could have worn Medium or Large but went with Medium for snugger fit. Love the leather details on the shoulders. Did ride up a little especially if wearing tights/stockings (I do have big thighs so may not happen if your are slim) but trick is to not make it obvious when you do need to adjust! Didn't wear any type of bra and worked out fine, but if you must, then take the time to find the right one. You can't wear just any bra with the way the dress lays on your shoulders. Great Rent!!
Randi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7533
Mar 15, 2013
I received many compliments in this dress because of the sexy back.
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Because the back is out, you can't wear a bra. Make sure you wear the proper underpinnings for a polished look. The thickness of the material is very flattering and forgiving.
Claire
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5343
Mar 11, 2013
Cheap, cheap, cheap
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress looked so beautiful online, and I took a chance on it. Unfortunately, the material felt and looked cheap in person and the color was more lackluster.
sesw
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8534
Mar 10, 2013
na
Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
na
Brittany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3432
Mar 8, 2013
This dress ran HUGE. Even the extra small was too large!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Wish I could give it zero stars. Very disappointing rental - it didn't fit (and it smelled a little moldy)
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Mar 6, 2013
New Year's Eve
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress arrived in perfect condition and is beautiful, unfortunately it was too long and too big. I did not order the back-up size (mistake on my part). I have a winter wedding this December that I think I'm going to order this for, this time with some back-up sizes!!
michelle
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6424
Mar 1, 2013
Sassy and classy!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I had been checking reviews on this dress and looking a pics for about a month before the event. I'm very picky but i absolutely loved the color and the material. I have an hour glass figure so the medium was perfect on my curves, it wasnt too short or too long, just the perfect length, i'm 5'2, it was about 2 inches above my knee! I got a ton of compliments and it was great being the only one in the blue! will def rent again! ps. it's actually not that low in the back, i wore a strapless bra with this dress, couldnt manage to get on those pasty ones
HB
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5634
Feb 20, 2013
Pretty Dress, but awkward fit for me
Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Nice dress, beautiful fabric and color. I found it a little shorter than I expected and the waist was much to large for me, however an XS would have been too small. for me. The back is really stunning but the front a little plain.
Salima
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7423
Feb 8, 2013
Seeing the look on people's faces as i walked to my table for dinner. PRICELESS
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Run's large I wore a Medium and I using double-sided tape to keep the dress from falling off of my shoulders.
Colleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4333
Jan 14, 2013
I felt so classy and retro in the right way!
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Beautiful color, warm fabric for a winter's night out, and super glamorous while still being elegant and understated. I do think it runs a bit big, and you should be be warned that the fabric can be a little grabby on the love handles if you aren't wearing shapewear. Otherwise, I loved this dress. My boyfriend and I were told by the MC of the event that we were the most attractive couple there!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress