Sapphire Star Dress

$118 to buy
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

With an elegantly draped back, this Mark & James by Badgley Mischka dress offers a chic long sleeve option. The striking cobalt hue and leather shoulder detail give this style a modern update. For a great way top stay supported without wearing a full bra, try Braza's Reusable Strapless Backless Adhesive Underwire Bra.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size but exposed back does not allow for strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted
HIPS: Very Fitted - dress is very form fitting so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; seamless underwear and SPANX recommended
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8".)

Product Details

Cobalt velvet. Crew neckline. Long sleeves. Draped back. Black leather detail on shoulders. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
128 reviews
Fit
Large
(59)
True to Size
(64)
Small
(4)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 17, 2012
Fantastic, flirty dress, perfect for a winter wedding!
I apologize for not having a photo, but I was having so much fun at the wedding, I barely stopped dancing enough to take any at all, let alone full body. This dress was fantastic and I got so many compliments. I have a small bust, so i could go braless. It was so comfortable and the back was the right about of sexy. The color was also amazing! It was a bit large around the waist, but RTR was out of the small so I didn't have my second size option. I would def rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158lbs
December 26, 2012
Looks better on the website
This was a first selection, but I was disappointed. It was kind of blah, the black leather on the shoulders just doesn't go and takes away from the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 3, 2013
Fabulous Material!
This dress runs small, as other renters have suggested. I rented a small and XS, and wore the XS. The material is amazing. It was so soft and hugged all the right places. This dress is elegant without being too short or too revealing. I did notice that the back does not hang as low as it does in the model’s photograph; however the draping was still very pleasing to the eye. I was able to wear this dress with a low backed strapless bra, I think without it would be a bit awkward. There is also nice black leather detail on the shoulders. I wore with black accessories and sparkly purple/blue shoes. I got tons of compliments and the color of the dress photographed amazing... definitely a great choice for an event with a lot of picture taking! I did not want to send it back! Another great NYE thanks to RTR!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
January 14, 2013
My friend told me I looked very sexy in this dress.
I wore XS and paired it with black tights and black pumps. Love the material and it fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 14, 2013
I felt so classy and retro in the right way!
Beautiful color, warm fabric for a winter's night out, and super glamorous while still being elegant and understated. I do think it runs a bit big, and you should be be warned that the fabric can be a little grabby on the love handles if you aren't wearing shapewear. Otherwise, I loved this dress. My boyfriend and I were told by the MC of the event that we were the most attractive couple there!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
February 3, 2013
This is the perfect dress for a wintertime date night!
This dress was amazing! It is perfect for a winter date night (my boyfriend couldn't take his eyes off of me)! The material that the dress is made of is so warm and soft and the back definitely adds a little hint of sexiness without being too revealing. I usually wear a small but when I tried it on, the dress hung off of me. Luckily, I chose the extra small as my back up size. The extra small accentuated my curves much better, although it did ride up a bit when a walked.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
February 8, 2013
Seeing the look on people's faces as i walked to my table for dinner. PRICELESS
Run's large I wore a Medium and I using double-sided tape to keep the dress from falling off of my shoulders.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 13, 2013
Great feel and fit!
Great fit! Easy to accessorize, with a unique neckline !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 5, 2012
The color is gorgeous!
Runs a little small but overall a beautiful dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
August 18, 2012
Great holiday dress!
This dress was really cute, I seriously considered buying it!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 3, 2012
Everyone loved it!
It was beautiful
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
March 1, 2013
Sassy and classy!
I had been checking reviews on this dress and looking a pics for about a month before the event. I'm very picky but i absolutely loved the color and the material. I have an hour glass figure so the medium was perfect on my curves, it wasnt too short or too long, just the perfect length, i'm 5'2, it was about 2 inches above my knee! I got a ton of compliments and it was great being the only one in the blue! will def rent again! ps. it's actually not that low in the back, i wore a strapless bra with this dress, couldnt manage to get on those pasty ones
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 3, 2013
First Rent the Runway experience! I will be a returning customer!
I rented for my boyfriend's Firefighters Banquet. My dress arrived on time, fit wonderfully and return shipping was easy. My boyfriend loved the dress and so did I! This is way better than having a closet-full of dresses that I can only wear once!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
March 6, 2013
New Year's Eve
The dress arrived in perfect condition and is beautiful, unfortunately it was too long and too big. I did not order the back-up size (mistake on my part). I have a winter wedding this December that I think I'm going to order this for, this time with some back-up sizes!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 6, 2013
Perfect for black tie wedding.
I have never gotten so many compliments about any other dress I have ever worn. At the wedding I had people I have never met coming up to me telling me how they noticed my dress and even petting me! And after posting pictures, I have told numerous friends about renttherunway.com because they asked where I got such an awesome dress. The only criticism I would have is that the leather shoulders are a little worn on the edges and the dress wasn't as snug as I think it should have been. Very little wear and tear, as to be expected though. Honestly, only the person renting it would notice. This dress was super comfortable, super sexy & super affordable. Don't even think about it, just get it!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
March 8, 2013
This dress ran HUGE. Even the extra small was too large!
Wish I could give it zero stars. Very disappointing rental - it didn't fit (and it smelled a little moldy)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 11, 2013
Cheap, cheap, cheap
This dress looked so beautiful online, and I took a chance on it. Unfortunately, the material felt and looked cheap in person and the color was more lackluster.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 22, 2013
Very unique dress. Hugged my figure, many compliments, wore black tights with black heels. Loved it.
Great fit; could have worn Medium or Large but went with Medium for snugger fit. Love the leather details on the shoulders. Did ride up a little especially if wearing tights/stockings (I do have big thighs so may not happen if your are slim) but trick is to not make it obvious when you do need to adjust! Didn't wear any type of bra and worked out fine, but if you must, then take the time to find the right one. You can't wear just any bra with the way the dress lays on your shoulders. Great Rent!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 1, 2013
stand out dress
rich material and color..compliments all night long..fit is comfortable & worry free..looks great in photos too!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 25, 2013
Beautiful dress for winter!
Wore this dress for a winter cocktail party and it was perfect for the occasion. I ordered an XS and it ran a little big. The length is conservative and would work for taller girls. Also, the color is a little darker in person. The back is beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Athletic
April 30, 2013
Loved the fit!
The back of this dress was so sexy without being skanky - I got so many compliments!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 8, 2013
The dress felt great and looked great. Perfect for an inauguration event. Classy and sexy.
Cons - Big in the mid section and on the shoulders. If I had a smaller size (I usually wear a medium and I wore the medium) It would have been great! I still received a lot of compliments and felt great in the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
May 19, 2013
This dress fit perfectly! Made my body look amazing
I didn't end up wearing this dress out, but it was so beautiful! It fit me perfectly and the blue color was amazing with the velvet material. I loved it!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
July 16, 2013
Loved it!
I really loved the color, the low back and the length. It is so sexy! Due to the sheen of the velvet and the hug around the hips, it would not be so flattering on a curvy figure. I think athletic or straight figures do well in this style!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 25, 2013
You'll stand out in a room I promise!
So I wore this for my senior homecoming dance. I was on court and up for queen so I wanted to make sure I stood out. This dress was so different from anyone else'! The velvet look was so complimenting and really slimmed me out, granted I wore spanks. The leather detail on the shoulders really gave it an edgy look which I totally love. I paired it with two totally blinged out bangles that actually ended up looking like cuffs on the dress itself. I wish I would've kept this dress seriously. I'm 5' flat so it was a little longer than I'm used to but it still worked out. The only thing I wish I would change is how I wore my hair. I definitely recommend wearing it up to show off the leather. also, the swoop in the back won't be as low as you expect even if you size up. Still GORGEOUS though!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
August 8, 2013
Runs a little large but still a great dress
I am so glad I ordered a size down, usually its the other way around. This dress drapes nicely and hugs in all the right places. The color is exactly as shown and the quality of the fabric is great.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 15, 2013
Not for short people!!!
I loved the idea of this dress. But when it showed up i panicked! Way, way longer than on the model . A "to the knee length" is the worst for petite women. Was absolutely frumpy. I tried a few different ways to tape the hem - none looked right so i ended up wearing as is... It was fine and i even gotsome complements - but beware this is for tall women!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 22, 2013
Really interesting dress that no one had but me. Loved that.
I'm 5' 10" so short dresses are such a struggle for me. But! My prom date was tall enough for me to wear heels, which I highly recommend for this dress! The back, as it is so open, is both gorgeous but also the reason I needed to go down a size; it was too big around the shoulders to be cute, so with the smaller size the arms may have been a little tighter, but that made them look thinner (problem areaaaaa) and that was fantastic, actually! This dress is perfect for the winter, but even in the spring it looked great and I had a lovely time.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
October 14, 2013
ABSOLUTELY STUNNING !!
I recieved so many compliments that night. Besides the bride all eyes were on me. Loved this dress !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 16, 2013
Beautifully elegant and sexy but still practical for colder weather.
The material is extremely soft and I had many friends petting me on the arm without realizing they were doing it. As for how I felt in it--I felt very graceful. I had equal amounts of compliments about how elegant I looked as I did on how sexy I was in it. It does run a little large-- usually wear a S but tried the XS on first and new the S would be too big for me. The XS fit just about everywhere nicely, though it could have just been a little tighter around the shoulders as I had to hike them up occasionally throughout the night. Highly recommend you wear an adhesive backless bra or use fashion tape to help hide bra straps. This dress dipped as low for me as it did on the model.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
October 19, 2013
LOVED THIS DRESS
This is the best dress I have ever rented/worn. Ever. The fit was very flattering and I received tons of complements all day long. The fabric was super comfortable and I felt very confident. The dress hit mid-thigh, so it wasn't too short or too long. The slouching back was flattering, and the warmth of the velvet made you forget you were backless. Will definitely be renting this dress again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
November 8, 2013
I met the Mayor with my Miss California sisters. They all loved this classy royal number!
I'm a size 0 but a little taller then average at 5'6" so my arms are long. I felt that this fit a little snug around the arm pits but had a tenancy to slip off my shoulder...go figure. It's still gorgeous and worth the minimal fuss if you want to stand out! The velvet is the best choice for this royal blue. I wore it in the summer for a formal daytime meet and greet...its probably best suited for the evening or cooler weather. To see more of my Rent the Runway Fashions and events I've strutted them to follow my instagram @echoe_malone
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 26, 2013
Luxurious, Vibrant and Rich.
The dress was very comfortable and warm and cozy. It was great to be warm for a chance in a nice dress. The back draping is romantic and sexy. The color is so rich and you stand out without be flashy. I thought the dress would be shorter, but it was not. Hit at a good level to be sexy but still modest. It was a little more formal than I thought, so keep that in mind with the party you are renting it for. It seems like a simple dress but it is much more.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 27, 2013
I got engaged in this dress!
The fit was absolutely perfect and very flattering, complimenting curves in all the right places. Very warm as well, as I wore this out in NYC. I would recommend wearing a backless bra, as I did find it hard to work with a strapless and was not able to pin it like another user recommended. The feel and the fit of this dress is fabulous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 3, 2013
In a sea of black and silver holiday dresses, this definitely popped!!
The fit was perfect, the back was a head turner. I felt luxurious all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 13, 2012
LOVED
not too low in back! received many compliments. :)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 10, 2013
na
na
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
December 29, 2013
If I could buy this dress, I would have. <3 Prim+proper in front, and sensuously draped in back.
This dress is my favorite in life ever. The fit across the shoulders was spot on for me. I tried on both the M and S sizes (I am between a 6 and 8) and the flexible material meant that both sizes fit me, leaving me to decide how conservative I wanted the dress's bottom hem (and how scrunched I wanted the sleeves) to be. It is very warm and soft, and perfect with nude heels. The only minor meh moment was that the shoulders had black leather square patches, which I thought was underwhelming, but that's probably something most observers wouldn't even think to notice. It's absolutely gorgeous.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2014
This dress is perfect! You'll never want to take it off. Even better in person than the picture.
I'd been wanting this dress for over a year and didn't have an event to wear it to, but when I finally got the chance it exceeded my highest expectations. Everything about it is stunning - the fit, color, quality, leather patches for just a bit of edge, and of course, the amazing cowl back. RTR couldn't send me a small for comparison, but my size is somewhere between a 2 and a 4 and the XS fit comfortably. The fabric is soft, plush, and stretchy, so it hugs curves, but with the help of some Spanx it's still thick enough to hide flaws. The back was high enough on me I could wear a regular bra and the dress was perfectly warm and comfortable for a New Year's eve party by the ocean. I got compliments all night - was sad to have to return it. Highly recommend this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 12, 2014
Most unique dress at the dance
I wore this to my boyfriends winter ball. The silky velvet material kept me warm in the midst of January. The fit was not bad. I ordered an XS and S and went with the XS because it fit better around my shoulders. The only disappointment I had was I was expecting the back to be lower. I wore a strapless bra and nobody could see it. I must say be cautious if you are dancing in this dress because it can keep you almost too warm. I had to pull my skirt down a few times because of the dancing but other than that this dress was a stunner. Third rental and still going strong :)
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×