Playing In Paris Shift

$83 to buy
$470 retail
Stylist Notes

Walk underneath the Eiffel Tower with your man wearing this chic Mark and James by Badgley Mischka shift.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - very loose fitting throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - very loose fitting throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black baroque jacquard (97% polyester, 3% spandex). Long sleeves. Crew neckline. Pleated drop waist skirt. Hidden side zipper. Lined (100% polyester). 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
115 reviews
Fit
Large
(30)
True to Size
(69)
Small
(7)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
November 19, 2013
Beautiful lace detail, very comfortable
I loved this dress! Wore it for a 20's themed event. Based on the other reviews, I knew it would be perfect for this event. I am 5'1 and very petite, so it was a bit long on me. I would say that it came about one inch above my knees, so know that the model in the pic is very tall. It was incredibly comfortable and I wouldn't hesitate to rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 105lbs
November 19, 2013
I wanted to like this dress but
breaks my heart to say it, but it is matronly. I was hopeful based on the photo, but it was lacking the flirty and fun quality I was looking for.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 24, 2013
flattering
Definitely runs large…make sure to order a size down in addition to your normal size. I have fuller hips and it did tend to ride up a little but that was okay since it's not as short as it appears on the model. Perfect for chillier weather. This seems it would be flattering on any body type. Felt confident and comfortable in this beautiful dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
December 10, 2013
Cute dress, but awkward length
Pros: A bit of stretch made it really comfortable. The lace was interesting and I received a lot of compliments. Cons: The length was much longer than I was expecting, which made the pleated portion at the bottom awkward in the back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 14, 2013
What a great dress and experience!
This dress was perfect for a country club Christmas brunch. Toned down the sexy with black opaque tights and black wedges. Very comfortable and flattering on me. My hips usually are the deal breaker between a 4 and a 6 and in this dress my hips fit fine in the small and the knit nicely, but not too tight, skimmed my waistline. Can't wait to use rtr again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 15, 2013
Very cute and playful - perfect for holiday cocktail party!
This dress was super cute and comfortable. I wore the XS, and sometimes I am in between XS & S, but the XS fit really well. This dress should be worn on the tighter side or else it could look too juvenile. I was worried that the pleated drop-waist would look too cutesy, but I paired it with high-heeled black suede boots and that gave it enough edge. Lots of compliments. Great quality material as well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 16, 2013
Too Small
From all the reviews a small should have fit me - it was way too form fitting for my curvy backside. This was a second dress I rented just for fun. It came too late in the day for me to wear to my event, but it wouldn't have worked any way. I think you really have to be a slim straight body type for this dress it is not made for curves.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 26, 2013
The perfect dress for the ADAM Fall Gala with my perfect date!
The band was a little tight on my hips but it was still wearable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
January 2, 2014
Great for a Christmas Party!
I wore this dress on Christmas Eve. It was very comfortable and didn't snag at all with the necklace I wore. The band around the hips (top of the pleated skirt) was a little tight in the XS so I went with the small. Otherwise I couldn't tell a difference between the two sizes and it was very comfortable and easy to move around in. Another great rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 139lbs
January 6, 2014
Pretty dress, but not what I was looking for.
It was nice, but I ended up not wearing it. It was a little tight in the arms and it made it a little uncomfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
February 18, 2014
Head-turning and comfortable!
I wore this dress for a charity event and it was exactly what I hoped it would be. It was so easy to wear - a slip was not even needed, as nothing showed through. The drop waist made it fun and the nude/black overlay bodice made it glamorous and a little edgy. I could have worn either the Small or the X-Small, but the the XS fit the best through the chest/waist.. The dress hit just above my knee, so it was substantially longer than the model in the stock photo. I wore it with black tights and booties. I also rented the Kendra Scott Black Della earrings and Gerard Yosca Chained to You bracelet, which both complimented the dress perfectly. I wish I owned the whole ensemble!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 11, 2014
Modest but stylish dress for a work function.
Very comfortable - no worries about anything riding up or showing more skin than was appropriate. (I wore it to a dinner held to honor a prominent person in my field).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 13, 2014
Such a cute dress!
The dress was beautiful. It is very well made and comfortable. You can wear anything undergarments under it that you want because material is thicker, but also not too hot at the same time. I always wear a medium but the torso area seemed too frumpy on me in the medium. So I went with a small which fit perfect. I will warn you though that if you are hippy...the part wear the pleats start on your hips is a little tight. Very fun dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
April 14, 2014
Conservative but gorgeous dress!
The medium fit better but the arms were tight so I wore the large. The large dress had a tear near the elbow but I was able to cover it up by pushing the sleeves up. Overall, it's a beautiful dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
April 19, 2014
I felt pretty without feeling overdone! Dress it up or dress it down!
The only reason I said the dress run small because it was fairly tight in the hips. That being said I do have bigger hips so the large was a must. I also like this dress because it wasn't revealing in any way.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
April 28, 2014
Great choice for Gatsby theme
I wasn't expecting the beautiful lace detail in this dress. I also wasn't expecting all the compliments I got. It was perfect for a twenties theme event. Its lovely, not "costume-ey" at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 21, 2014
Very cute dress, but a little uncomfortable to wear.
It's a very cute dress. Got the S and XS. XS fit me perfectly. I loved how different it was. BUT I could barely stand the material. The sleeves were unlined and were VERY itchy!! I will confess that I am somewhat sensitive to itchy material, but this dress was particularly bad. Do not recommend if you are also sensitive to scratchy clothing.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 21, 2014
Great dress. Thicker material on top. Slimming overall.
It was a bit large on me, but still worked!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
May 23, 2014
Great alternate to LBD!
The dress was comfortable and looked great! The only issue I had that the M was short due to my booty... SO I opted for the L and everything fell better. It was comfortable to wear and chase the kids :) Just be careful if its windy... you will give everyone a show :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 146lbs
June 23, 2014
Loved it, husband did not like it.
Loved this dress. I got it to wear on New Years. However, my husband was not a fan of it. He said it looked like an old ladys dress. I thought it was so comfy and looked great. Anyhow, I wound up not wearing it and picked something he preferred.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
July 29, 2014
Very high quality dresses
Dress is a little heavy. Nice fabric for fall or winter. Loved the dropped waist
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 3, 2012
Perfect for a Birthday Dinner
This is a great dress! I ordered the small ( which I wore) and the medium ( way too big) if anything I would suggest ordering a smaller size as your back up size. The Kate Spade bag made it really fun. I have a pretty straight waistline so the dress worked well for me. If you are more pear shaped you might not like this style as it is snug down to the hips. I would definitely recommend this dress and would rent it again.
KateOctober 5, 2012
I am interested in renting this dress, but as I was reading your review, I noticed that it said you were 49 years old...is this a mistake? You seriously do not look a day over 29, and the dress looks great - so cute!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
September 21, 2014
It fit perfectly and was just the right length. It was stunning! I received countless compliments!
Because I am short, many dresses tend to be too long on me; however, this dress was the perfect length. The fit was great and very slenderizing. It is a classy, very tasteful, yet fun and flirty!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 12, 2014
Great for 20's theme party
Rented the small and medium - the small fit but was a little more snug around the hips so I went with the medium. The looser look of the medium had more of a 20's feel so it was the better choice. A great choice for a 20's party without being costume-ish.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 19, 2014
Classy and pretty dress, wish I owned it!
I rented this dress on a whim, and ended up wearing it to a networking/cocktail party for alumni of my undergrad. I loved this dress. It was perfect for an occasion of people coming from work, I felt dressed up but not overdressed. The pleated skirt is a lot of fun. I wore this dress with black flats and felt very sassy. It also made my figure look more hourglass-y and thin. Love that. If I owned this dress I would wear it to work or maybe like a confirmation, not a night out. It is very modest but very pretty. My boyfriend really liked it though, and encouraged me to wear it 2 nights in a row (um, no) because he liked it so much. If you are on the fence, definitely rent it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 11, 2014
Very Flattering
I have hips and I was worried this would highlight unwanted hip region... it actually was very flattering even with the drop waist. It looked great and I got tons of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 20, 2014
Stylish, comfortable, appropriate
I rented this dress for my husband's Christmas party at a conservative college. I didn't receive lots of compliments like I have with other RTR dresses, maybe because it's pretty straightforward. However it was extremely comfortable, warm for winter (but not hot for dancing), and it was cute without being revealing. I thought the length was perfect but I'm pretty tall, it might be longish on someone shorter than 5'9".
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
December 22, 2014
Perfect look for a 1920's themed office holiday party!
Incredibly comfortable and classy dress; It has stretch in the fabric which is great because normally dresses are too small in the chest area on me which is why I chose size M instead of S but this one would have been fine regardless. I pulled on the dress without having to undo the zipper. I danced all night in it and was thrilled that I looked dressed up without feeling constrained in any way. Would have loved to keep this in my closet forever- It's a classic-timeless, ageless, adorable dress and yes it's much longer than it is on the model. Absolutely recommend it!.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
December 29, 2014
Perfect for cocktail party!
I am 4 months postpartum. This cute dress covers my tummy well & is very comfortable. Perfect for winter cocktail party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
June 18, 2014
Great for a 1920's themed party!
This dress was perfect for a 1920's themed party that I recently went to. It's longer and the fit is looser in person than on the model. It had the perfect drop waist and little flounce skirt that was popular in the 20's. It's much prettier in person, because it has some really nice detailing on the bodice and sleeves. It's a little heavy, so it might be too hot for warm weather. Thankfully, the party was in an area of California that is nice and cool at night. My husband liked it a lot and thought it was the nicest dress at the party. Also, It was soooo comfortable since it's a looser fit.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
January 3, 2015
Wouldn't recommend for under 5'3"
This looked very short on the model, so at 5'2" I figured it would be just slightly above the knee on me but it was well below it. That in addition to the drop waist just did not work - it was too big overall. Wouldn't recommend for petite girls!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 7, 2015
Loved this dress. It fit perfectly and I got tons of compliments.
This is the perfect dress for a cocktail party, charity event or even a fun night out on the town. It fits in all the right places. I have what I consider to be large hips and it was so slimming. I would definitely recommend this dress. I can't get a picture to upload...sorry ladies!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 11, 2015
Great dress, modest but still interesting and fun. I wore it for an evening work event - perfect!
Nice, slightly loose fit. Great length on me, inch or two above knee
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 18, 2015
Did not wear. It was way too big
The arms were snug but the rest of the dress was huge and just hung baggy. Also the zipper was on the side and made the baggy hip look even bigger.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 111lbs
January 20, 2015
Great NYE dress!
I LOVED this dress! Wore it to dinner and theatre on NYE, where some of my friends were more casually dressed. The dress is form fitting through the torso with a cute flair at the hem. The lace top was warm; perfect for the very cold night. The dress is short but not too short, Would rent again.
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 21, 2015
N/a
I loved this dress! Unfortunately it was too big. I am short and petite (5'1" and 105 lbs). After reading some reviews I was hoping that it would fit because what I lack in height I make up in bust. It was awkwardly long and large around the hips as well. If it had fit I would have given it 5 stars. I think this dress would look amazing on someone a few inches taller.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 148lbs
February 16, 2015
Perfect winter date night dress.
I LOVED this dress, this is my first rental where I actually tried to find a way to purchase the dress after. Fit very well (I'm on the large end of a size 8 and the M was just about perfect; being short at 5'4" I might have wanted it a tad shorter and tried the S but it was fine everywhere but the hips where it was too tight). VERY comfortable and forgiving, and warm enough for the 4 degree night we had on Valentine's day. Wore with tights and booties due to the cold.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 19, 2015
Can I really pull off pleats?
I wore this for my anniversary dinner. I wanted to wear boots, because I am over heels. With boots, the pleats looked a bit anime, but I had fun in it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 16, 2015
Super adorable, can be dressed down or up!
The dress was so adorable, I dressed it down for a work event but with the right accessories it could easily be very dressy too. I wore the 6 but wish I had ordered the 4 or worn a belt to add more figure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 11, 2015
Fabulous
Rented this dress for a roaring 20's party on the Spirit of Philadelphia..... during an ice storm. The dress was perfect. The weight was a help in the freezing weather. Couldn't have been happier.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×