Playing In Paris Shift

$83 to buy
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Walk underneath the Eiffel Tower with your man wearing this chic Mark and James by Badgley Mischka shift.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - very loose fitting throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black baroque jacquard (97% polyester, 3% spandex). Long sleeves. Crew neckline. Pleated drop waist skirt. Hidden side zipper. Lined (100% polyester). 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
115 reviews
Fit
Large
(30)
True to Size
(69)
Small
(7)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 14, 2013
Ran a little tight.
Can be dressed up or down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 16, 2013
Too Small
From all the reviews a small should have fit me - it was way too form fitting for my curvy backside. This was a second dress I rented just for fun. It came too late in the day for me to wear to my event, but it wouldn't have worked any way. I think you really have to be a slim straight body type for this dress it is not made for curves.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 139lbs
January 6, 2014
Pretty dress, but not what I was looking for.
It was nice, but I ended up not wearing it. It was a little tight in the arms and it made it a little uncomfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
April 19, 2014
I felt pretty without feeling overdone! Dress it up or dress it down!
The only reason I said the dress run small because it was fairly tight in the hips. That being said I do have bigger hips so the large was a must. I also like this dress because it wasn't revealing in any way.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
May 23, 2014
Great alternate to LBD!
The dress was comfortable and looked great! The only issue I had that the M was short due to my booty... SO I opted for the L and everything fell better. It was comfortable to wear and chase the kids :) Just be careful if its windy... you will give everyone a show :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Age: 33
August 5, 2015
Great dress for winter
I had a free rental for my birthday and completely forgot about it until the last minute. I figured I might as well use it so I jumped online and quickly picked this dress to wear to a nice dinner with my boyfriend. When the dress arrived, I loved it! It was January and freezing in NJ so I paired it with below the knee black boots (can't be seen in this picture). It was comfortable and stylish. There were a few holes in the fabric but it wasn't noticeable unless you looked closely.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 21, 2012
This is the cutest dress! Very girlie and feminine, I received tons of compliments.
This is a great dress for almost any occasion. I loved it. The fit was great and it is very easy to wear and dance in. I would rent this again in a minute.
JenniferOctober 25, 2012
We're almost exactly the same size and build and I've order this dress to wear to a party. Can you tell me did you need to wear a tank under it or is it lined up top?
VanessaOctober 28, 2012
Hi Jennifer! Nope, you will not need a tank top. It is completely lined and super comfortable. You will be the talk to the town...Enjoy!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
October 31, 2012
Awkard
S was awkward fit-- as it hit my ass weird, and the M was to big..... just didn't work for my type of body but was very pretty on the hanger. Ended up not wearing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 9, 2012
cute and retro
i wore this dress for a 1920s themed halloween party. it's very flattering and the detail on both the weave top and the pleated skirt is exceptional. i got complimented all night. one caveat, i'm 5'9" and it was still a little long on me. i would have liked it to end a half an inch higher.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2012
Classy and Sassy
Loved it and fun to dance in with the pleated skirt.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
November 20, 2012
Loved the dress and how comfortable it was. Would consider purchasing it.
The dress has plenty of stretch in it, so you can be flexible with the size. It's very comfortable. Love the pleated skirt, which had a nice weight to it. It seemed longer than the picture implies.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 8, 2012
Great fit, super comfortable!!
I wore this dress to my husband's Christmas party (cocktail party), and received so many compliments! The dress was so comfortable and was easy to wear. I have larger hips, so the dress did tend to ride up a little bit, but overall I felt the dress was true to size and great for my body type. Would definitely recommend it, and I might rent it again too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
December 10, 2012
This dress is even more gorgeous in person! Got a ton of compliments on it!
The top is stretchy enough to allow comfortable room for movement. Warning: the skirt is pretty short and has a tendency to ride up if you have hips because of the dropwaist. All in all though, the dress is gorgeous and comfy, and I wish I could have kept it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
December 26, 2012
Perfect for dancing, but wear boy shorts!
Rented this for my December birthday, it was really comfortable and great for dancing! I just recommend wearing boy shorts underneath because the skirt swishes up high if you spin around.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
December 28, 2012
Worst Christmas Ever, But At Least I Was Well Dressed
I rented this for a Christmas sloshfest gone wrong. But, everyone loved my dress and I got tons of compliments. Yay for Rent the Runway! It was the only good thing about the day.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 31, 2012
In love with this beautiful dress and had tons of compliments all night!
I am tall and slender and always worried about how short, loose or tight dresses will be on me. This was a PERFECT fit! Very flattering! Highly recommended!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 9, 2013
Great dress!
I wore it with flats for a party I was hosting before Christmas. It fit loosely, which I liked. I got so many compliments on it. It is a very well-made dress. The lace is so pretty.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 16, 2013
Such a simple process!
I rented this dress for my husbands company awards banquet. It was a great fit and great material, snug in all the right places. The length was perfect, not too short or too long. I loved the flirty feel of the pleated skirt!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
February 8, 2013
Perfect for a Gatsby themed party!
I'm 6'0 and the dress was a little on the shorter side. To help with length I paired it with black nylons which was perfect since I wore in the winter. Lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32G
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 13, 2013
Felt Like a Fashionista
I'm not used to a drop waist, I usually try to emphasize my waist instead. That said, this dress was high quality and I felt very fashionable. The skirt does ride up a bit on hips, so be aware. You may need spanx as well for the lower tummy area if that is one of your concerns. Plenty of room for a large bust and very comfortable. The lining matched my skin tone almost perfectly so that was a plus. The dress was warm enough for a chilly day, but I wouldn't recommend it for a summer affair.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
March 8, 2013
Great day to night outfit.
Unfortunately I didn't get a picture of me in the dress, but it's a great dress for day to night. I'm only 5'2 so the skirt was much longer on me than it appears on the model. Therefore it was totally appropriate in my office and then fun enough for the concert and cocktail party I had after work. It was not tight at all, but very comfortable and easy to wear. Definitely recommend it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
March 22, 2013
Cute, whimsical look!
This dress was very comfortable, but I only gave it 4 stars because I felt it made my torso look super long - probably would be much more flattering on taller ladies. Overall a very cute dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 23, 2013
Wore this dress to "Sleep No More" and it was Perfect!!!
I thoroughly enjoyed the dress for the Jazz Themed Valentines Dance at "Sleep No More." I only gave the dress 4 Stars though because a couple other girls at the party were wearing the same dress. Although, I did not mind on this particular night because it was kind of sexy that my date could potentially confuse me with 3 other girls wearing the same dress and mask in the dark, I would have been devastated any other night. So long as you are not wearing this dress to a 20's theme party Im sure you will not have the same problem. so Enjoy! :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
April 14, 2013
Perfect Contemporary Vintage!
Great mix of a vintage look with a contemporary feel so you don't feel like you are wearing a consume. Wore it to a family party but would have been great for going on a date or a nicer party with friends.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
April 26, 2013
Wish I owned it!
This dress exceeded all of my expectations! The fit was lovely and it was beyond comfortable. Super sexy and comfy? Couldn't ask for a better dress. Def had a tear in my eye sending this one back. I would absolutely rent this again and highly recommend it for any occasion!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
April 28, 2013
Perfect for 20's parties when you don't want to look too "costumey"
Super cute dress! I loved it for the event and got tons of compliments. I wore an XS but the S would have been acceptable as well. I could have used Spanx because it isn't particularly forgiving in the tummy area-- but it wasn't too bad. Would definitely rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 10, 2013
So much fun!
I actually rented this as my second choice so I did not end up wearing it out but it was super cute on. It is pretty delicate (I would imagine you could tear the sleeves easily). So, I would not recommend wearing this to anything where you might wreck it (bachelorette party etc). It was a little tight in the chest for me but I am pretty busty. Also, it is not at all as short as it appears on the model. She must be 6 feet+. It hit me at the knee.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 3, 2013
Formal yet flirty and fun!
I wore this dress twice during an 8-day rental. The first event was a wedding and it was perfect for the evening ceremony. The second event was a charity gala. The dress was formal without being overdone like some of the ballgowns that showed up that night! The dress is a heavier fabric than I expected, a great weight for a springtime or fall event. The length looks really short in the RTR picture, but it came down to about 2" above the knee on me at 5'6". The fabric has a wonderful stretch to it that hugs your curves and smoothed out some of my "less favorite" physical attributes. All around a great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
June 9, 2013
Very comfortable and fun!
Wore this to a Gatsby inspired party and it was great! Was super comfortable and so cute!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
October 15, 2013
SO cute and comfy!
I wore this for a 1920's themed gala in Atlantic City and it was perfect! The fit was slightly big but still doable. Super comfy, formal enough for the event but would be perfect for any type of party. Overall i really loved this dress and felt gorgeous in it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 4, 2013
Perfect, sexy yet conservative
Very comfortable and perfect for the ceremony at the temple. Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
November 9, 2013
Loved it!
Very form fitting but classic look perfect for son's christening. Normally wear a 6 and small was good. Length was perfect and pleats are so cute. Wore with multi strand pearl necklace.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
November 19, 2013
Beautiful lace detail, very comfortable
I loved this dress! Wore it for a 20's themed event. Based on the other reviews, I knew it would be perfect for this event. I am 5'1 and very petite, so it was a bit long on me. I would say that it came about one inch above my knees, so know that the model in the pic is very tall. It was incredibly comfortable and I wouldn't hesitate to rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 105lbs
November 19, 2013
I wanted to like this dress but
breaks my heart to say it, but it is matronly. I was hopeful based on the photo, but it was lacking the flirty and fun quality I was looking for.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 14, 2013
What a great dress and experience!
This dress was perfect for a country club Christmas brunch. Toned down the sexy with black opaque tights and black wedges. Very comfortable and flattering on me. My hips usually are the deal breaker between a 4 and a 6 and in this dress my hips fit fine in the small and the knit nicely, but not too tight, skimmed my waistline. Can't wait to use rtr again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 15, 2013
Very cute and playful - perfect for holiday cocktail party!
This dress was super cute and comfortable. I wore the XS, and sometimes I am in between XS & S, but the XS fit really well. This dress should be worn on the tighter side or else it could look too juvenile. I was worried that the pleated drop-waist would look too cutesy, but I paired it with high-heeled black suede boots and that gave it enough edge. Lots of compliments. Great quality material as well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 26, 2013
The perfect dress for the ADAM Fall Gala with my perfect date!
The band was a little tight on my hips but it was still wearable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
January 2, 2014
Great for a Christmas Party!
I wore this dress on Christmas Eve. It was very comfortable and didn't snag at all with the necklace I wore. The band around the hips (top of the pleated skirt) was a little tight in the XS so I went with the small. Otherwise I couldn't tell a difference between the two sizes and it was very comfortable and easy to move around in. Another great rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
February 18, 2014
Head-turning and comfortable!
I wore this dress for a charity event and it was exactly what I hoped it would be. It was so easy to wear - a slip was not even needed, as nothing showed through. The drop waist made it fun and the nude/black overlay bodice made it glamorous and a little edgy. I could have worn either the Small or the X-Small, but the the XS fit the best through the chest/waist.. The dress hit just above my knee, so it was substantially longer than the model in the stock photo. I wore it with black tights and booties. I also rented the Kendra Scott Black Della earrings and Gerard Yosca Chained to You bracelet, which both complimented the dress perfectly. I wish I owned the whole ensemble!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 11, 2014
Modest but stylish dress for a work function.
Very comfortable - no worries about anything riding up or showing more skin than was appropriate. (I wore it to a dinner held to honor a prominent person in my field).
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×