Mark & James by Badgley Mischka

Playing In Paris Shift

$45 rental
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Walk underneath the Eiffel Tower with your man wearing this chic Mark and James by Badgley Mischka shift.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - very loose fitting throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - very loose fitting throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black baroque jacquard (97% polyester, 3% spandex). Long sleeves. Crew neckline. Pleated drop waist skirt. Hidden side zipper. Lined (100% polyester). 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

101 reviews

Fit
Small 6
True to Size 62
Large 28
Photos 40
kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 3, 2012

Perfect for a Birthday Dinner

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is a great dress! I ordered the small ( which I wore) and the medium ( way too big) if anything I would suggest ordering a smaller size as your back up size. The Kate Spade bag made it really fun. I have a pretty straight waistline so the dress worked well for me. If you are more pear shaped you might not like this style as it is snug down to the hips. I would definitely recommend this dress and would rent it again.
Lori
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 10, 2012

Gorgeous dress ... was a bit overkill for my date but he was impressed! :)

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I was afraid that the band that went around my hips was going to be too tight with the extra small so I ordered the small as back up. The small was waaay to big in the stomach and was hanging around the hips (my hips are what cause me to order larger sizes depending on fit). The extra small was perfect! Loved it ... LOTS of compliments!
Vanessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 21, 2012

This is the cutest dress! Very girlie and feminine, I received tons of compliments.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This is a great dress for almost any occasion. I loved it. The fit was great and it is very easy to wear and dance in. I would rent this again in a minute.
Miss Fern
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 9, 2012

cute and retro

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
i wore this dress for a 1920s themed halloween party. it's very flattering and the detail on both the weave top and the pleated skirt is exceptional. i got complimented all night. one caveat, i'm 5'9" and it was still a little long on me. i would have liked it to end a half an inch higher.
karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121 lbs
Nov 13, 2012

A perfect party dress.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this with black tights and high black boots.
Lauren
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Nov 20, 2012

Loved the dress and how comfortable it was. Would consider purchasing it.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress has plenty of stretch in it, so you can be flexible with the size. It's very comfortable. Love the pleated skirt, which had a nice weight to it. It seemed longer than the picture implies.
Lauren
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 8, 2012

Great fit, super comfortable!!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my husband's Christmas party (cocktail party), and received so many compliments! The dress was so comfortable and was easy to wear. I have larger hips, so the dress did tend to ride up a little bit, but overall I felt the dress was true to size and great for my body type. Would definitely recommend it, and I might rent it again too!
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Dec 28, 2012

Worst Christmas Ever, But At Least I Was Well Dressed

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for a Christmas sloshfest gone wrong. But, everyone loved my dress and I got tons of compliments. Yay for Rent the Runway! It was the only good thing about the day.
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Jan 6, 2013

Great for a 1920s themed party!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a 1920s themed birthday party, and it was perfect! I think the drop-waist is better suited for a straighter body type. (I'm more of an hour glass.) I'm 5'3" and typically wear a dress size 4 (sometimes a 2 sometimes a 6, depending n the fit) and an XS was perfect for me in every aspect.
britt
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 9, 2013

Great dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore it with flats for a party I was hosting before Christmas. It fit loosely, which I liked. I got so many compliments on it. It is a very well-made dress. The lace is so pretty.
Brooke
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 16, 2013

Such a simple process!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my husbands company awards banquet. It was a great fit and great material, snug in all the right places. The length was perfect, not too short or too long. I loved the flirty feel of the pleated skirt!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Feb 13, 2013

Felt Like a Fashionista

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I'm not used to a drop waist, I usually try to emphasize my waist instead. That said, this dress was high quality and I felt very fashionable. The skirt does ride up a bit on hips, so be aware. You may need spanx as well for the lower tummy area if that is one of your concerns. Plenty of room for a large bust and very comfortable. The lining matched my skin tone almost perfectly so that was a plus. The dress was warm enough for a chilly day, but I wouldn't recommend it for a summer affair.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117 lbs
Apr 26, 2013

Wish I owned it!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress exceeded all of my expectations! The fit was lovely and it was beyond comfortable. Super sexy and comfy? Couldn't ask for a better dress. Def had a tear in my eye sending this one back. I would absolutely rent this again and highly recommend it for any occasion!
stacy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
May 8, 2013

This dress was perfect for a 20s party I attended.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress is definitely longer than pictured. I have long legs and wore the medium because I wanted the dress to come to just above my knees. I had some room to move in the medium.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Jun 9, 2013

Very comfortable and fun!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this to a Gatsby inspired party and it was great! Was super comfortable and so cute!
Lynsey
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 15, 2013

SO cute and comfy!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for a 1920's themed gala in Atlantic City and it was perfect! The fit was slightly big but still doable. Super comfy, formal enough for the event but would be perfect for any type of party. Overall i really loved this dress and felt gorgeous in it!
debbie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 4, 2013

Perfect, sexy yet conservative

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very comfortable and perfect for the ceremony at the temple. Highly recommend!
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 10, 2013

Flattering, comfortable, and chic!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a speakeasy/roaring 20's party. The drop waist was really fun and unlike anything I'd ever worn before. I'm usually a size 2/4 and rented the XS based on previous reviews - it was definitely the right decision. The dress looks sheer but is fully lined so you can wear any type of bra etc. The 3/4 sleeves made it perfect for fall (it was really warm). It broke my heart to send this dress back!!!!!
Carla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103 lbs
Nov 23, 2013

Cute dress. Looks best in person.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
Fun dress. Seemed to run big as it was roomy for a 0 and a bit longer than I thought it would be. Still a fun dress and super comfortable. Wore in Paris so seemed fitting.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 26, 2013

The perfect dress for the ADAM Fall Gala with my perfect date!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The band was a little tight on my hips but it was still wearable!
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 10, 2013

Cute dress, but awkward length

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Pros: A bit of stretch made it really comfortable. The lace was interesting and I received a lot of compliments. Cons: The length was much longer than I was expecting, which made the pleated portion at the bottom awkward in the back.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 15, 2013

Very cute and playful - perfect for holiday cocktail party!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was super cute and comfortable. I wore the XS, and sometimes I am in between XS & S, but the XS fit really well. This dress should be worn on the tighter side or else it could look too juvenile. I was worried that the pleated drop-waist would look too cutesy, but I paired it with high-heeled black suede boots and that gave it enough edge. Lots of compliments. Great quality material as well.
Polly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

Great for a Christmas Party!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress on Christmas Eve. It was very comfortable and didn't snag at all with the necklace I wore. The band around the hips (top of the pleated skirt) was a little tight in the XS so I went with the small. Otherwise I couldn't tell a difference between the two sizes and it was very comfortable and easy to move around in. Another great rental!
Stacey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Mar 17, 2014

The dress was fun and sophisticated.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a black tie optional event. The dress was very comfortable and cute. I wasn't going for a roaring 20's look so I made sure to wear a short necklace that worked well with it. Don't be fooled by the 6 foot plus model; the dress is not that short! I'm 5'4" and it was 1 to 2 inches above my knee. It had a strange odor when I opened the package, like it hadn't been dry cleaned but it wasn't too noticeable by the time I put it on for the event.
amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 13, 2014

Such a cute dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was beautiful. It is very well made and comfortable. You can wear anything undergarments under it that you want because material is thicker, but also not too hot at the same time. I always wear a medium but the torso area seemed too frumpy on me in the medium. So I went with a small which fit perfect. I will warn you though that if you are hippy...the part wear the pleats start on your hips is a little tight. Very fun dress!
Adrienne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142 lbs
Apr 19, 2014

I felt pretty without feeling overdone! Dress it up or dress it down!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The only reason I said the dress run small because it was fairly tight in the hips. That being said I do have bigger hips so the large was a must. I also like this dress because it wasn't revealing in any way.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 12, 2014

Great for 20's theme party

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented the small and medium - the small fit but was a little more snug around the hips so I went with the medium. The looser look of the medium had more of a 20's feel so it was the better choice. A great choice for a 20's party without being costume-ish.
Molly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 20, 2014

Stylish, comfortable, appropriate

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for my husband's Christmas party at a conservative college. I didn't receive lots of compliments like I have with other RTR dresses, maybe because it's pretty straightforward. However it was extremely comfortable, warm for winter (but not hot for dancing), and it was cute without being revealing. I thought the length was perfect but I'm pretty tall, it might be longish on someone shorter than 5'9".
Anita
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143 lbs
Dec 22, 2014

Perfect look for a 1920's themed office holiday party!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Incredibly comfortable and classy dress; It has stretch in the fabric which is great because normally dresses are too small in the chest area on me which is why I chose size M instead of S but this one would have been fine regardless. I pulled on the dress without having to undo the zipper. I danced all night in it and was thrilled that I looked dressed up without feeling constrained in any way. Would have loved to keep this in my closet forever- It's a classic-timeless, ageless, adorable dress and yes it's much longer than it is on the model. Absolutely recommend it!.
Linda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 1, 2015

Perfect dress for 1920s theme!

Size worn: XS
Rented for: Party
This dress runs true to size. The quality of the material is great for winter events. I don't think this style is particularly flattering on my body type (short & pear shaped) but because I wore it to a prohibition party I thought it was fitting. Would definitely recommend for a 1920s themed event. I think the look would be hard to pull off for anything else.
Suzanne
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

Loved this dress. It fit perfectly and I got tons of compliments.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is the perfect dress for a cocktail party, charity event or even a fun night out on the town. It fits in all the right places. I have what I consider to be large hips and it was so slimming. I would definitely recommend this dress. I can't get a picture to upload...sorry ladies!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 11, 2015

Great dress, modest but still interesting and fun. I wore it for an evening work event - perfect!

Size worn: XS
Rented for: Other
Nice, slightly loose fit. Great length on me, inch or two above knee
Bobbi
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 14, 2015

Perfect for a Semi-dressy event!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my husbands work party. I wanted something classy but still stylish! My great RTR Stylist Whitney W helped me pick out this dress! It was super comfortable. I ordered a size M & L but wish I would have gotten the M & S. I wore the M but I think the small could have fit a little better. Overall great dress and would highly recommend!
CD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 18, 2015

Did not wear. It was way too big

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Party
The arms were snug but the rest of the dress was huge and just hung baggy. Also the zipper was on the side and made the baggy hip look even bigger.
kris
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 111 lbs
Jan 20, 2015

Great NYE dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I LOVED this dress! Wore it to dinner and theatre on NYE, where some of my friends were more casually dressed. The dress is form fitting through the torso with a cute flair at the hem. The lace top was warm; perfect for the very cold night. The dress is short but not too short, Would rent again.
Jo
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 21, 2015

N/a

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! Unfortunately it was too big. I am short and petite (5'1" and 105 lbs). After reading some reviews I was hoping that it would fit because what I lack in height I make up in bust. It was awkwardly long and large around the hips as well. If it had fit I would have given it 5 stars. I think this dress would look amazing on someone a few inches taller.
Charlyn
Top Contributor
Age: 39
Feb 5, 2015

Comfortable and fun

Size worn: M
Rented for: Party
The dress has a liner that is pretty thick so the outer mesh- type material doesn't cling. It was a little warm as the night went on, but still comfortable. It is MUCH longer on a 5'3" person than shown on the model.
Kathy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 148 lbs
Feb 16, 2015

Perfect winter date night dress.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I LOVED this dress, this is my first rental where I actually tried to find a way to purchase the dress after. Fit very well (I'm on the large end of a size 8 and the M was just about perfect; being short at 5'4" I might have wanted it a tad shorter and tried the S but it was fine everywhere but the hips where it was too tight). VERY comfortable and forgiving, and warm enough for the 4 degree night we had on Valentine's day. Wore with tights and booties due to the cold.
D3001
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116 lbs
Feb 19, 2015

Can I really pull off pleats?

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this for my anniversary dinner. I wanted to wear boots, because I am over heels. With boots, the pleats looked a bit anime, but I had fun in it.
Teddy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 27, 2015

Great dress, super comfy and very flattering!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
there were a few pulls/holes in the arms.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×