Passion Twist Dress

$56 to buy
$470 retail
Stylist Notes

Feel the beachy winds with a tropical drink in hand by renting this summer fun Mark & James by Badgley Mischka one shoulder dress.

Also available in teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with strapless bra and seamless underwear; dress has built-in slip
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Coral matte jersey. One shoulder neckline. Draping detail on body. Split cap sleeve. Hidden side zip. 35" from top of shoulder to hem.

Share
141 reviews
Fit
Large
(21)
True to Size
(102)
Small
(13)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
April 21, 2011
Fabulous dress! Wore to an evening wedding and it was perfect for the occasion. It looks kind of burnt orange in the pic, but in person it is more coral.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 26, 2011
Great for taller girls -- is not super short like some of the other dresses can be. Really comfy for a long event and looks fantastic on; wore it with the necklace as pictured and got tons of compliments, even randomly from people at a restaurant. Only thing to consider is that it is a bit heavy, so might not be the best for an outdoor event that is going to be hot.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 9, 2011
This dress is more coral in person. I usually wear a size 8 or 10 so I rented the Medium and Large but I wish I had rented a Small. I had a lot more room in the bust area than I had expected. I paired this dress with turquoise jewelry and nude shoes and received a lot of compliments. If you are debating between the blue and the coral, go with the coral! The blue is much darker in person.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
May 23, 2011
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding with gold shoes and received a lot of compliments. I got the large because medium was not available and it fit well. I probaly could have gone with the medium because the top was a little large, but it is a good dress for people who are larger on the bottom because it hangs loosely and does not cling.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 25, 2011
I loved wearing this dress! It was a very comfortable fit, yet still quite flattering ... and the perfect weight and color (I agree with the other reviews - definitely more coral) for evening beach wedding. I also ordered the gold necklace pictured, but it was a little overpowering for me so I opted for a long thinish gold chain necklace instead that seemed to fit well with the draping.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Apple
June 13, 2011
The picture does not do this dress justice. It's a beautiful coral color in person, and the draping is elegant and flattering. I wore it to a daytime wedding with a bracelet and a pair of nude pumps and received so many compliments. Highly recommend it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
June 15, 2011
This dress was perfect for a beach wedding - it's comfortable and the cut is forgiving. The fabric is kind of a stretchy, bright coral color. I rented it w/ the necklace shown and it was gorgeous!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
June 28, 2011
Loved this dress! It has a baggier fit so if youre looking for something fitted, this is not your dress. Was the perfect length and color is beautiful
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
July 21, 2011
Amazing color!!
The best dress I ever rented on this site! I wore this for a classy hotel wedding and a lot of people gave me compliments on this dress and the necklace (which i also rented in this picture). Especially if you have caramel skin, the color looks great! The dress flowed perfectly as I danced, and my date couldn't keep his eyes off me :) You might need the size down, as the dress could make you look larger if you don't.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
August 8, 2011
Perfect color and fit for a summer wedding
I'm short and petite, with an athletic figure and large bust (34D). I usually wear a 4-6 in dresses (sometimes even an 8, because of my chest), but I rented both a S and XS. I ended up going with the XS because the S was a little too big and sack-like. Also, the length of the XS was much better; the S was just a little too long for my short legs. The dress definitely runs large, like others have said. The XS fit well, although it was a little tight around the bust, but then again I have a larger chest than most. Other than that, the dress was incredibly comfortable and the color is beautiful. I got lots of compliments throughout the night. I wore it with nude pumps and the Ciner Antique Cascading Crystal Necklace (also from RTR). Although the material was a little heavier than I was expecting, it wasn't too hot for a summer wedding.
View photos (3)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
August 15, 2011
This dress is amazing.....I have never in my life had so many compliments! The fit was perfect and the color was beautiful.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
August 29, 2011
I'm 5-4 (128ibs) a 32B, and size 6 jean and this dress was great in a Small. I received so many compliments on my dress for an August wedding and I felt so glamorous and comfortable, this dress is a boost to any gal's self esteem. The drapping is beautiful and prevents the "sack" like feeling you might expect.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 2, 2011
Wore this for a formal family wedding in Cape Cod and got tons of compliments! I am 4 months pregnant with a tiny belly starting and asked RTR to recommend some dresses. This was one of them and it was perfect! I will say that since I am tall and thin it was a tad bit on the short side but I got over it quickly! Since the top drapes so much all of the attention seems to go there. Highly recommend this. I think it would flatter any body type.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 57
Body type: Full Bust
September 12, 2011
I absolutely loved this dress. It was amazing in every way, from the color to the way it fit. I had so many compliments and I have to say, it was the most comfortable dress I've worn in years. Very fun and flirty.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
September 18, 2011
This was my first rental, and I am so pleased. This dress is absolutely gorgeous! I got so many compliments. My boyfriend told me that the "dress rented me." I would love to rent this dress again!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 25, 2011
I LOVED this dress! I'm not sure if straight & narrow is the best way to describe my body, but I'm skinny with long legs & a nice shape (just so you can get an idea of how it fit me). I wore this dress to my engagement party in the Hamptons last weekend & I felt glamorous & received tons of compliments! It definitely is the dress to wear when it is your event. I was a little concerned about the dress being too short, especially since this was a family event. But the dress fit perfectly & definitely ran true to size. It fell a little above my knees, so I felt completely comfortable in it. I ordered a small with the extra small as a back-up but the extra small was way too short on me. I paired it with gold heels very similar to the ones the model is wearing, & my own gold/cream statement necklace with matching drop earrings. It was truly the perfect dress for the venue & the event. LOVED it!!!
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Apple
October 19, 2011
Great dress! I'm 5'5" and generally petite but I ordered this dress to wear while 5 mos. pregnant. The XS fit well since it is fitted on top, but quite loose around the body. The weight and draping of the fabric was flattering for my baby bump and it still looked sexy with the shorter hem and exposed shoulder. I would say the color is a little less vibrant than the picture (more reddish than the bright coral/orange shown). Overall, very cute and comfortable to wear all night.
KimMay 20, 2012
Hi, How roomy was the body of the dress...I'm 5'3-normally a 2 or 4, but will be 40 weeks pregnant if I make it to this wedding. I have a small chest even when pregnant...34A....Think I would go for the small if there is enough room in the body itself....
RTRMay 22, 2012
Hi Kim, the body of this dress is very spacious! We recommend a small also as the dress does run large.
ShannonJune 5, 2012
Ditto. I am 5'1", normally a 0/2, will be 7 months pregnant when I want to wear this. Still have small chest but my rib cage has expanded so I think I am up a size.
RTRJune 6, 2012
Hi Shannon, we recommend sticking to size XS and S as this dress is very roomy in the midsection and if you order up it will be too large in the top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159lbs
November 9, 2011
Fabulously Passionate
I wore this dress to a wedding over the summer and it was the perfect compliment to my skin tone and blonde hair. I felt like glamorous and like a total rock star-- this fit in well since the wedding was for a local 80s band lead. We rocked all night long and it RAD!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 10, 2011
Gorgeous Dress
I'm 5'6 and usually wear a size 2-4 but i ordered this dress as a back up for another dress (which i ended up wearing). this dress is gorgeous though, i wish i had ordered a small (the extra small was a little tight under the arm for me) because i would've worn this dress instead of my original choice! the color is absolutely stunning, almost peachy-coral, and the fit of the dress is classic and lovely. I plan on renting it again!!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 14, 2011
Too Short!
I am curvy and 5'3" and ordered the Medium and the Large. I figured I would be a Large, but since all of the reviews said the dress ran big, I got the Medium as well. I tried on the Large first and it was much too short. It barely covered my butt! I am not tall at all, so I really did not expect this. It was also shapeless and not very flattering. I thought it may have shrunk or was hemmed, so I tried on the Medium. It fit fine throughout the body (still not very flattering though) but it was also too short for me to wear without tights or something (not the look I was going for- I got this to wear to a wedding!). The material is quite heavy and the color is as it looks in the picture. Due to the length, there is no way I could comfortably wear this dress and I had to return it.
aneeshaJanuary 9, 2012
What season did you rent the dress?
melissaMarch 31, 2012
I rented in in early November
CWJune 23, 2012
I too am worried about the shapeless-ness. Do you think adding a belt would have added the extra flare or would it still be a potato sack?
RTRJune 27, 2012
Hi Cherie, this dress is more shift like and may not work with a belt. Size down for your back up for a more fitted look.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 21, 2011
Awesome Dress!
This wasn't the dress I had first order, it was a replacement for the unavailable one. But I absolutely loved this dress. It runs big so I suggest getting a smaller size. It is very comfortable, easy to get in and absolutely beautiful. Its a simple one color dress but you will get a lot of compliments, I did.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 5, 2012
Great New Year's Dress!
I rented this dress for New Year's Eve and it looked beautiful! I got tons of compliments. I'm 5'6 and 150 lbs and ordered a medium and large, but wore the large. I could have probably worn the medium but the neckline was too tight. My smaller friend tried it on and said the neckline was also tight on her.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 27, 2012
Perfect night in Vegas!
I got the dress to wear in Vegas for one of my best friends 30th birthday. I've recently gained 5-10 pounds and was looking for something that was still dressy but wasnt going to make me self concious. This dress was perfect for that, very flattering, loose fitting but still made me feel cute. The fabric was sturdier than I imagined which was nice because I ordered this in the winter-it would work well for any season I think. I paired it with turquoise/light green jewelery which was an awesome contrast. Overall, great dress. Would wear again.
ElizabethApril 8, 2012
you look great! this convinced me to rent this for a wedding i'm going to soon :) thanks!
juliaJune 7, 2012
Awesome!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
March 14, 2012
obsessed
I loved this dress!! I wore to my boyfriends formal and I was literally the best dressed there, I had so many compliments. I loved this dress. I was nervous about the size but it fit perfectly, it does run large. It's a great dress for dances because it's not tight so you can move around in it and look fabulous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 30, 2012
LOVE THIS!
I got tons of compliments on this at prom! although it was shorter than I had imagined, (I'm 5'8) I still loved it! I ordered S and M, but ended up wearing the M for the extra length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 13, 2012
Great color, heavy fabric
I rented this for a wedding, when I was three months pregnant and conscious of my baby bump. The color is great, especially if you accessorize well. The fabric was very heavy though, which was surprising.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
August 22, 2012
Feeling confident and put together!
This dress was perfect for the July wedding I was in. The bride requested we wear coral and this fit the bill. It was fun - a little short without being overtly sexy due to the draping of the dress. Also comfy for eating and drinking. I would recommend, in fact I am renting the teal version for a wedding this weekend! My order required last minute customer service, and the stylist went above and beyond to ensure I had what I needed.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
August 27, 2012
Loved The Dress!
This dress was amazing! It was a little loose on the top but overall amazing! The color is stunning.I will rent this dress again.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
August 30, 2012
Such a fun dress!!
This is a great dress!! It was a bit short for the more "formal" wedding I was attending, but would definitely rent this dress again for a date night. My husband LOVED it. :)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 5, 2012
Sorry this picture doesn't show the entire dress, but I am using it mostly to show the color and fabric of the dress up close. VERY comfortable and VERY complimentary style!
I rented this dress for a wedding in San Diego this past weekend. It was perfect! At first I was worried that it would be a bit too short and that I wouldn't feel comfortable moving around, but that wasn't the case at all. I decided on the L that I ordered as a back-up instead of the M just for a little breathing room. I did wear Spanx and would recommend a body smoothing underwear as the dress did show the lines in the back. As the mother of three children, I love the draped look, but I think this dress would compliment all body styles.I think the picture I am attaching shows the true color of the dress...it is a beautiful pink-coral. You could literally accessorize this dress ANY way you want to, but I chose nude patent shoes, a beaded chocolate clutch, and chocolate quartz chandelier earrings. I purchased the adhesive support bra pads from RTR, which worked perfectly without having to wear a bra. I received so many compliments at the wedding, and told everyone about RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 7, 2012
so easy and i got to wear designer items without the buyer's guilt!
I rented this for a CT July Wedding on the water. It was perfect and so comfortable. I was worried I would get lost in the fabric but it was just the right amount of flowy-ness to cover up any of the bloat you may develop from the fabulous cocktails and finger foods! I ended up wearing the XS just because of the length and there was a small pen mark on the S. I rented the Lilly Pulitzer clutch and Lee Angel necklace. I cant wait to rent for the next wedding coming up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 30C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
September 21, 2012
Had the best time in this dress!
SUCH a flattering dress! Would look great on any body type. Only issue I had was that the dress was a little short for my black tie optional wedding... but I have to admit I had the hardest time returning it because it was just that amazing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 21, 2012
Elegant and flattering! Received compliments all evening long!
The fit was true to size and the draping was very flattering. Fabric draped well and didn't wrinkle easily. Effortless elegance.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
September 24, 2012
Perfect dress for a spring evening wedding.
It ran slightly smaller in the hips than I expected.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 29, 2012
Love this dress!
I want this dress for myself. Loved it! It fit well and was so comfortable,
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 1, 2012
The compliments I got and the look on my date's face when he saw me.
The colour is a bit darker than it looks in the picture. However, it fit perfectly (especially for my shape - I'm straight and narrow) and it flattered my figure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
November 11, 2012
I wanted a party dress but that was appropriate to wear in a church (with a shawl).
It ran short, if you don't like showing off your legs you might not like it. Also hit a little high on the wearer's right underarm. I still comfortably wore it all night for a wedding, received several compliments, and danced in it for a few hours.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 133lbs
November 12, 2012
Extremely flattering dress, love the color!
I wore this dress for a friend's wedding this past summer, about three months after I gave birth to my first child (the baby in the pic). Beyonce I am not, and I was still not down to my pre-pregnancy weight so I was super self conscious about being in front of people I haven't seen in a long time looking fat. Enter this amazing dress. I had no idea what size I would be since I was somewhere in between what I wore for maternity clothes and what I used to wear, so I went with a large thinking it would give me some leeway. It totally did. The dress hugged perfectly on top (my bust has been larger than normal due to nursing my baby and I normally find dresses to be too tight on top and too loose on the bottom in general, but this fit nicely and did not squeeze or cut off circulation) and was very forgiving in the middle section where I needed it to be. The dress falls mid-thigh so it drew attention to my legs instead of my middle. I could see it feeling a little short to taller girls, but on me I loved where it fell. I received lots of compliments and I would totally rent this again and highly recommend it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195lbs
November 23, 2012
Beautiful color, easy to wear.
I ordered this dress for a fundraiser. I had a broken arm and torn shoulder at the time and I was able to negotiate my cast and sling in the dress and still look elegant. I wish I could have kept it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
December 12, 2012
felt like a celebrity in this dress!
absolutely obsessed with this dress! I felt so fashionable, and it was so comfortable to dance in! I honestly would buy this dress. don't even think about it, RENT IT!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×