Passion Twist Dress

$56 to buy
$470 retail
Stylist Notes

Feel the beachy winds with a tropical drink in hand by renting this summer fun Mark & James by Badgley Mischka one shoulder dress.

Also available in teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with strapless bra and seamless underwear; dress has built-in slip
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with strapless bra and seamless underwear; dress has built-in slip
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Coral matte jersey. One shoulder neckline. Draping detail on body. Split cap sleeve. Hidden side zip. 35" from top of shoulder to hem.

Share
141 reviews
Fit
Large
(21)
True to Size
(102)
Small
(13)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
July 15, 2014
Great dress, just wish it was longer!
I loved this dress online and liked it even more when it arrived. Unfortunately when I tried it on, it was way too short. I'm 5'9", 5'10" on a good day, and there was no way I could sit down without giving a show to the other guests! I was so sad but was grateful that RTR was really good about returning and crediting my account.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 22, 2014
Comfy and perfect for a beach wedding
This was my backup dress. i never intended on wearing it, but thank goodness I ordered it! At 6.5 months pregnant THIS dress was amazingly comfortable and bump friendly. Not the most form flattering, but it still made me feel pretty. Lots of compliments and the color is beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 163lbs
July 23, 2014
Loved it!
Comfy and chic
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
July 29, 2014
Too short! But I had a bump.
I chose this dress because it was listed as "bump friendly" (which it is) and rented for a wedding I attended when I was 16 weeks pregnant (only a tiny bump at that point but I was still feeling self-conscious about it). The dress fit me and my bump but was way too short! I wish I had the Medium as a backup but that size was unavailable at the time. It's possible that the Small would have fit lenght-wise if I wasn't preggers but unfortunately, I wasn't able to wear the dress. Very cute but just a warning that it might be shorter than you think!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
August 17, 2014
Very comfortable, nice fitting dress
Pros, i m currently pregnant (2nd trimester) the dress was very comfortable! And fit perfectly!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
August 19, 2014
I got this dress for a charity event I put on called Mamas Night Out
This dress could not have been more perfect. I got more compliments on that dress than I have ever gotten on anything. The color was perfect, the fit was perfect, everything was perfect! I may just rent it again for next years event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
September 24, 2014
So comfortable!
Everyone loved it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 8, 2015
Fit was great
The dress was heavier than expected but the fit was so amazing. I loved wearing this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
September 24, 2014
So easy to wear, comfortable, and flattering!
Wore this dress to a wedding 24 weeks pregnant. The small covered my bump perfectly. It fell a few inches above the knee. It's perfect for an expectant mom who wants to look chic.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
October 5, 2014
"Hello. Gorgeous. goddess."
Those were the words of my date when I walked into the room, and it blew me away. I definitely felt the part! Details - I ordered the M and the S; I would have ordered the L with the M but it wasn't available. Other reviewers reported the dress being a little larger than typical, so I wasn't too worried but knew I could do an emergency swap if needed. The M was perfect and fit like it was cut for me. The dress is heavier in weight but felt great on. I loved the dramatic draping and way it moved when I walked and danced. The cut is short and shows a lot of leg, but not too much at all. The color was perfect for a late summer cocktail formal gala, and wow, did I get compliments all night. After some back and forth, I went with gold accessories to go with the "Greek goddess" feel and pulled my hair into a loosely curled side updo over the bare shoulder. This was my second RTR experience, and it was as excellent as the first!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
November 7, 2014
Truly great dress - I loved it.
Great color and comfortable fit. Only (very slight) issue was that the neckline fits a little tight but not to the point of making it noticeably uncomfortable all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 22, 2011
graduation party dress
This dress was adorable, a little to bulky for summertime. I loved the draping. Got a lot of compliments; because it is made so well it drapes and fits beautifully. However, after renting OTHER drapey like dresses (from Yigal Aruzel [sp?] and Halston), I found I preferred them to this plain style. It is still very cute though!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
January 8, 2015
PERFECT dress as a bridesmaid in my best friend's wedding!
I ordered the XS and the S, but found the S fit better in the underarms. The dress was so flattering and I got a ton of compliments. The material is thick, but I still found it suitable in 90 degree Florida-summer weather (granted, I wasn't standing in the sun for hours on end - it was a quick outdoor ceremony). Great quality dress. Fits true to size. Length was conservative, but still flirty (I like to call this "clexy" = classy/sexy). I absolutely loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 19, 2015
Color is beautiful
A stylist recommended this dress for me because the original dress I rented for New Year's Eve didn't work out. Of course on 12/30, there weren't a lot of options left. I was pretty worried, but Rent the Runway went above and beyond once again. The length of this dress is short, but I'm only 5'4 so it was perfectly short and sexy for me. It does run big, I could have worn the xs easily and still been comfortable. I did find the one strap a but tight on my neck but it wasn't so uncomfortable that I was bored by it. I would definitely rent this again. Looks great with gold shoes and accessories.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 24, 2015
Loved this dress got so many compliments!
Fit is comfortable and it hangs beautifully.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
February 18, 2015
Way too short
This was unwearable. It didn't even cover my butt when I bent over. My husband asked if it was a shirt. Otherwise, I liked the fit! I don't even think a S or M would have been long enough for my frame.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 23, 2015
The dress was absolutely beautiful and so much fun! I received so many compliments on the color.
I wish it wouold have been just a bit longer. I am not tall 5'5'', but I felt it was still a bit shorter than I would have liked. It was a little too big up top, but I wouldn't have gone smaller because of the length. The fabric was heavier than I expected, but it was perfect for the event. It is definitely not a "form fitting" dress, but it is still so flattering. The color was more orangier than I expected, but it was still a fun color
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 15, 2015
Beautiful and comfortable.
I wore this to a wedding and it was perfect. I received many compliments.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
April 21, 2011
Fabulous dress! Wore to an evening wedding and it was perfect for the occasion. It looks kind of burnt orange in the pic, but in person it is more coral.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 26, 2011
Great for taller girls -- is not super short like some of the other dresses can be. Really comfy for a long event and looks fantastic on; wore it with the necklace as pictured and got tons of compliments, even randomly from people at a restaurant. Only thing to consider is that it is a bit heavy, so might not be the best for an outdoor event that is going to be hot.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
May 9, 2011
This dress is more coral in person. I usually wear a size 8 or 10 so I rented the Medium and Large but I wish I had rented a Small. I had a lot more room in the bust area than I had expected. I paired this dress with turquoise jewelry and nude shoes and received a lot of compliments. If you are debating between the blue and the coral, go with the coral! The blue is much darker in person.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
May 23, 2011
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding with gold shoes and received a lot of compliments. I got the large because medium was not available and it fit well. I probaly could have gone with the medium because the top was a little large, but it is a good dress for people who are larger on the bottom because it hangs loosely and does not cling.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 25, 2011
I loved wearing this dress! It was a very comfortable fit, yet still quite flattering ... and the perfect weight and color (I agree with the other reviews - definitely more coral) for evening beach wedding. I also ordered the gold necklace pictured, but it was a little overpowering for me so I opted for a long thinish gold chain necklace instead that seemed to fit well with the draping.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Apple
June 13, 2011
The picture does not do this dress justice. It's a beautiful coral color in person, and the draping is elegant and flattering. I wore it to a daytime wedding with a bracelet and a pair of nude pumps and received so many compliments. Highly recommend it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
June 15, 2011
This dress was perfect for a beach wedding - it's comfortable and the cut is forgiving. The fabric is kind of a stretchy, bright coral color. I rented it w/ the necklace shown and it was gorgeous!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
June 28, 2011
Loved this dress! It has a baggier fit so if youre looking for something fitted, this is not your dress. Was the perfect length and color is beautiful
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
July 21, 2011
Amazing color!!
The best dress I ever rented on this site! I wore this for a classy hotel wedding and a lot of people gave me compliments on this dress and the necklace (which i also rented in this picture). Especially if you have caramel skin, the color looks great! The dress flowed perfectly as I danced, and my date couldn't keep his eyes off me :) You might need the size down, as the dress could make you look larger if you don't.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
August 8, 2011
Perfect color and fit for a summer wedding
I'm short and petite, with an athletic figure and large bust (34D). I usually wear a 4-6 in dresses (sometimes even an 8, because of my chest), but I rented both a S and XS. I ended up going with the XS because the S was a little too big and sack-like. Also, the length of the XS was much better; the S was just a little too long for my short legs. The dress definitely runs large, like others have said. The XS fit well, although it was a little tight around the bust, but then again I have a larger chest than most. Other than that, the dress was incredibly comfortable and the color is beautiful. I got lots of compliments throughout the night. I wore it with nude pumps and the Ciner Antique Cascading Crystal Necklace (also from RTR). Although the material was a little heavier than I was expecting, it wasn't too hot for a summer wedding.
View photos (3)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
August 15, 2011
This dress is amazing.....I have never in my life had so many compliments! The fit was perfect and the color was beautiful.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
August 29, 2011
I'm 5-4 (128ibs) a 32B, and size 6 jean and this dress was great in a Small. I received so many compliments on my dress for an August wedding and I felt so glamorous and comfortable, this dress is a boost to any gal's self esteem. The drapping is beautiful and prevents the "sack" like feeling you might expect.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 2, 2011
Wore this for a formal family wedding in Cape Cod and got tons of compliments! I am 4 months pregnant with a tiny belly starting and asked RTR to recommend some dresses. This was one of them and it was perfect! I will say that since I am tall and thin it was a tad bit on the short side but I got over it quickly! Since the top drapes so much all of the attention seems to go there. Highly recommend this. I think it would flatter any body type.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 57
Body type: Full Bust
September 12, 2011
I absolutely loved this dress. It was amazing in every way, from the color to the way it fit. I had so many compliments and I have to say, it was the most comfortable dress I've worn in years. Very fun and flirty.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
September 18, 2011
This was my first rental, and I am so pleased. This dress is absolutely gorgeous! I got so many compliments. My boyfriend told me that the "dress rented me." I would love to rent this dress again!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 25, 2011
I LOVED this dress! I'm not sure if straight & narrow is the best way to describe my body, but I'm skinny with long legs & a nice shape (just so you can get an idea of how it fit me). I wore this dress to my engagement party in the Hamptons last weekend & I felt glamorous & received tons of compliments! It definitely is the dress to wear when it is your event. I was a little concerned about the dress being too short, especially since this was a family event. But the dress fit perfectly & definitely ran true to size. It fell a little above my knees, so I felt completely comfortable in it. I ordered a small with the extra small as a back-up but the extra small was way too short on me. I paired it with gold heels very similar to the ones the model is wearing, & my own gold/cream statement necklace with matching drop earrings. It was truly the perfect dress for the venue & the event. LOVED it!!!
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Apple
October 19, 2011
Great dress! I'm 5'5" and generally petite but I ordered this dress to wear while 5 mos. pregnant. The XS fit well since it is fitted on top, but quite loose around the body. The weight and draping of the fabric was flattering for my baby bump and it still looked sexy with the shorter hem and exposed shoulder. I would say the color is a little less vibrant than the picture (more reddish than the bright coral/orange shown). Overall, very cute and comfortable to wear all night.
KimMay 20, 2012
Hi, How roomy was the body of the dress...I'm 5'3-normally a 2 or 4, but will be 40 weeks pregnant if I make it to this wedding. I have a small chest even when pregnant...34A....Think I would go for the small if there is enough room in the body itself....
RTRMay 22, 2012
Hi Kim, the body of this dress is very spacious! We recommend a small also as the dress does run large.
ShannonJune 5, 2012
Ditto. I am 5'1", normally a 0/2, will be 7 months pregnant when I want to wear this. Still have small chest but my rib cage has expanded so I think I am up a size.
RTRJune 6, 2012
Hi Shannon, we recommend sticking to size XS and S as this dress is very roomy in the midsection and if you order up it will be too large in the top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159lbs
November 9, 2011
Fabulously Passionate
I wore this dress to a wedding over the summer and it was the perfect compliment to my skin tone and blonde hair. I felt like glamorous and like a total rock star-- this fit in well since the wedding was for a local 80s band lead. We rocked all night long and it RAD!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 10, 2011
Gorgeous Dress
I'm 5'6 and usually wear a size 2-4 but i ordered this dress as a back up for another dress (which i ended up wearing). this dress is gorgeous though, i wish i had ordered a small (the extra small was a little tight under the arm for me) because i would've worn this dress instead of my original choice! the color is absolutely stunning, almost peachy-coral, and the fit of the dress is classic and lovely. I plan on renting it again!!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 14, 2011
Too Short!
I am curvy and 5'3" and ordered the Medium and the Large. I figured I would be a Large, but since all of the reviews said the dress ran big, I got the Medium as well. I tried on the Large first and it was much too short. It barely covered my butt! I am not tall at all, so I really did not expect this. It was also shapeless and not very flattering. I thought it may have shrunk or was hemmed, so I tried on the Medium. It fit fine throughout the body (still not very flattering though) but it was also too short for me to wear without tights or something (not the look I was going for- I got this to wear to a wedding!). The material is quite heavy and the color is as it looks in the picture. Due to the length, there is no way I could comfortably wear this dress and I had to return it.
aneeshaJanuary 9, 2012
What season did you rent the dress?
melissaMarch 31, 2012
I rented in in early November
CWJune 23, 2012
I too am worried about the shapeless-ness. Do you think adding a belt would have added the extra flare or would it still be a potato sack?
RTRJune 27, 2012
Hi Cherie, this dress is more shift like and may not work with a belt. Size down for your back up for a more fitted look.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 21, 2011
Awesome Dress!
This wasn't the dress I had first order, it was a replacement for the unavailable one. But I absolutely loved this dress. It runs big so I suggest getting a smaller size. It is very comfortable, easy to get in and absolutely beautiful. Its a simple one color dress but you will get a lot of compliments, I did.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 5, 2012
Great New Year's Dress!
I rented this dress for New Year's Eve and it looked beautiful! I got tons of compliments. I'm 5'6 and 150 lbs and ordered a medium and large, but wore the large. I could have probably worn the medium but the neckline was too tight. My smaller friend tried it on and said the neckline was also tight on her.
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×