Passion Twist Dress

$56 to buy
$470 retail
Stylist Notes

Feel the beachy winds with a tropical drink in hand by renting this summer fun Mark & James by Badgley Mischka one shoulder dress.

Also available in teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with strapless bra and seamless underwear; dress has built-in slip
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Coral matte jersey. One shoulder neckline. Draping detail on body. Split cap sleeve. Hidden side zip. 35" from top of shoulder to hem.

Share
141 reviews
Fit
Large
(21)
True to Size
(102)
Small
(13)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 15, 2015
Beautiful and comfortable.
I wore this to a wedding and it was perfect. I received many compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 5, 2015
Great color!
I rented the xs... I believe the small was not available. It was a little tight around my arm where the zipper was so i just unzipped it a little and tucked in the corner and you couldn't tell at all. I would go up in a size for backup. The fabric was a little heavy but i still loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
August 30, 2015
So comfortable
I'm usually an xs or zero. But I needed the small. I even went bra less and it fit better than the xs.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
March 25, 2016
So many compliments! Felt amazing!
I really loved how this dress draped my body and my arms. It was gorgeous. I would buy it if I could. The large was shorter than I would normally wear a dress but it still worked and looked good!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
July 9, 2015
Great Color. Runs small.
I rented this for a wedding. It was a comfortable fit but I had to go with the larger size because at my height the dress was a little short. The underlining was extremely short. Which didn't matter much for the appearance except that I felt like I needed to keep pulling the underlining down. The outer lining was much longer than the inside. Was just a tad uncomfortable because of that. Otherwise the dress was great. It is though a little heavy because of the side draping. But I would still highly recommend this dress. It's the perfect color too :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 9, 2011
This dress is more coral in person. I usually wear a size 8 or 10 so I rented the Medium and Large but I wish I had rented a Small. I had a lot more room in the bust area than I had expected. I paired this dress with turquoise jewelry and nude shoes and received a lot of compliments. If you are debating between the blue and the coral, go with the coral! The blue is much darker in person.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 8, 2011
Perfect color and fit for a summer wedding
I'm short and petite, with an athletic figure and large bust (34D). I usually wear a 4-6 in dresses (sometimes even an 8, because of my chest), but I rented both a S and XS. I ended up going with the XS because the S was a little too big and sack-like. Also, the length of the XS was much better; the S was just a little too long for my short legs. The dress definitely runs large, like others have said. The XS fit well, although it was a little tight around the bust, but then again I have a larger chest than most. Other than that, the dress was incredibly comfortable and the color is beautiful. I got lots of compliments throughout the night. I wore it with nude pumps and the Ciner Antique Cascading Crystal Necklace (also from RTR). Although the material was a little heavier than I was expecting, it wasn't too hot for a summer wedding.
View photos (3)
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Apple
October 19, 2011
Great dress! I'm 5'5" and generally petite but I ordered this dress to wear while 5 mos. pregnant. The XS fit well since it is fitted on top, but quite loose around the body. The weight and draping of the fabric was flattering for my baby bump and it still looked sexy with the shorter hem and exposed shoulder. I would say the color is a little less vibrant than the picture (more reddish than the bright coral/orange shown). Overall, very cute and comfortable to wear all night.
KimMay 20, 2012
Hi, How roomy was the body of the dress...I'm 5'3-normally a 2 or 4, but will be 40 weeks pregnant if I make it to this wedding. I have a small chest even when pregnant...34A....Think I would go for the small if there is enough room in the body itself....
RTRMay 22, 2012
Hi Kim, the body of this dress is very spacious! We recommend a small also as the dress does run large.
ShannonJune 5, 2012
Ditto. I am 5'1", normally a 0/2, will be 7 months pregnant when I want to wear this. Still have small chest but my rib cage has expanded so I think I am up a size.
RTRJune 6, 2012
Hi Shannon, we recommend sticking to size XS and S as this dress is very roomy in the midsection and if you order up it will be too large in the top.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 21, 2011
Awesome Dress!
This wasn't the dress I had first order, it was a replacement for the unavailable one. But I absolutely loved this dress. It runs big so I suggest getting a smaller size. It is very comfortable, easy to get in and absolutely beautiful. Its a simple one color dress but you will get a lot of compliments, I did.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
March 14, 2012
obsessed
I loved this dress!! I wore to my boyfriends formal and I was literally the best dressed there, I had so many compliments. I loved this dress. I was nervous about the size but it fit perfectly, it does run large. It's a great dress for dances because it's not tight so you can move around in it and look fabulous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
August 22, 2012
Feeling confident and put together!
This dress was perfect for the July wedding I was in. The bride requested we wear coral and this fit the bill. It was fun - a little short without being overtly sexy due to the draping of the dress. Also comfy for eating and drinking. I would recommend, in fact I am renting the teal version for a wedding this weekend! My order required last minute customer service, and the stylist went above and beyond to ensure I had what I needed.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
August 27, 2012
Loved The Dress!
This dress was amazing! It was a little loose on the top but overall amazing! The color is stunning.I will rent this dress again.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
February 28, 2013
I felt so fabulous in this dress. Simple elegance.
I could have worn the small, but the look and feel of the medium was so much better. It was a bit large, but the larger fit just looked better on my body. You don't necessarily need a NuBra with this dress, but I would recommend it. Definitely invest in some accessories. I have never received so many compliments on an outfit! I was so sad to return it, and I hope the chance comes for me to purchase this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 26, 2013
Great for a bump
Rented this for a wedding when I was 6 1/2 months [regnant. Fit great, super comfortable. I was a little worried about the zipper closure, but the cut of the dress is very loose and flow-y so i didn't have any problems with my tummy. Highly recommended especially if you are expecting.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 3, 2013
Runs Large
I was unable to wear the dress because it was too big. The medium was unavailable as a back up so I wore something else. Cute dress though!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
August 15, 2013
Couldn't feel more comfortable after just having a baby!
Great for a new "mommy". Just had our second baby right before the wedding and ordered the medium and small. Dress ran large so went with wearing the small. The dress was able to hide everything I had felt uncomfortable with and yet was still very flattering. Got compliments all night! Would def recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
October 5, 2014
"Hello. Gorgeous. goddess."
Those were the words of my date when I walked into the room, and it blew me away. I definitely felt the part! Details - I ordered the M and the S; I would have ordered the L with the M but it wasn't available. Other reviewers reported the dress being a little larger than typical, so I wasn't too worried but knew I could do an emergency swap if needed. The M was perfect and fit like it was cut for me. The dress is heavier in weight but felt great on. I loved the dramatic draping and way it moved when I walked and danced. The cut is short and shows a lot of leg, but not too much at all. The color was perfect for a late summer cocktail formal gala, and wow, did I get compliments all night. After some back and forth, I went with gold accessories to go with the "Greek goddess" feel and pulled my hair into a loosely curled side updo over the bare shoulder. This was my second RTR experience, and it was as excellent as the first!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 19, 2015
Color is beautiful
A stylist recommended this dress for me because the original dress I rented for New Year's Eve didn't work out. Of course on 12/30, there weren't a lot of options left. I was pretty worried, but Rent the Runway went above and beyond once again. The length of this dress is short, but I'm only 5'4 so it was perfectly short and sexy for me. It does run big, I could have worn the xs easily and still been comfortable. I did find the one strap a but tight on my neck but it wasn't so uncomfortable that I was bored by it. I would definitely rent this again. Looks great with gold shoes and accessories.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 23, 2015
The dress was absolutely beautiful and so much fun! I received so many compliments on the color.
I wish it wouold have been just a bit longer. I am not tall 5'5'', but I felt it was still a bit shorter than I would have liked. It was a little too big up top, but I wouldn't have gone smaller because of the length. The fabric was heavier than I expected, but it was perfect for the event. It is definitely not a "form fitting" dress, but it is still so flattering. The color was more orangier than I expected, but it was still a fun color
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
June 29, 2015
It was my boyfriend's cousin's wedding. Wanted to impress his family!
This dress was so comfortable! I got the large because I was afraid that the girls wouldn't fit in the medium and I'm so glad I did. It had just enough extra room. I was able to dance all night at the wedding and my boyfriend couldn't stop complementing how good I looked.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
April 25, 2016
This dress was very unique
The dress was bulky. A word of warning to the petite folks out there interested, you may get lost in the fabric.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
April 12, 2012
Just an awesome dress!
I wore this dress to a wedding last summer and loved it! It was incredibly comfortable and I got tons of compliments. The material is heavy (in a good quality way), and forgiving and flattering. The color is vibrant - brighter than it appears in the picture.
AnneAugust 8, 2012
hi! Would you say it is more of a bright coral?
RTRAugust 8, 2012
It's more of an orange coral than a red/pink!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 133lbs
August 10, 2012
This dress got so many rave reviews! Everyone remarked that I didn't even look pregnant (I think because they thought that was the nice thing to say, lol!) I definitely did not have to sacrifice style or comfort or affordability! Love this!!
I am 5 months pregnant and so wanted to get a dress that would be roomy for my bump but still rock the event! This dress was wonderful, great color (although darker than the online pic RTR shows), nice flowy material, and just the right amount of stretch! I would normally wear an XS, but the Small was perfect and gave me a bit more length, since my tummy casued it to be appear shorter than normal I think. The ONLY complaint I have, and this could be because I'm pregnant and carrrying a little more weight than normal, is the top of the dress (from the left shoulder, across the chest, to under the right arm) seemed VERY tight--both the XS and S seemed this way...I didn't wear a bra, so it wasn't that...but the rest fit fine so I'm not too sure if it was just me. Other than that, GREAT dress for this pregnant lady!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
December 28, 2014
Looked like a star!
Truly made me feel like VIP when I wore this dress in Vegas. Had tons of compliments. Runs rather big but it was perfect for my postpartum belly. Only complaint is that it smelled a little musty; like it had been stored in a cold, damp basement.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
January 20, 2013
Wore while pregnant!
I wore this to a wedding while 6 months pregnant. It fit beautifully!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
June 20, 2014
The color!
This was my replacement dress. I had ordered a different dress that didn't fit and honestly it just didn't do it for me. The coral color was PERFECT for a summer wedding with a tan! I received endless compliments and will definitely rent again!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 10, 2011
Gorgeous Dress
I'm 5'6 and usually wear a size 2-4 but i ordered this dress as a back up for another dress (which i ended up wearing). this dress is gorgeous though, i wish i had ordered a small (the extra small was a little tight under the arm for me) because i would've worn this dress instead of my original choice! the color is absolutely stunning, almost peachy-coral, and the fit of the dress is classic and lovely. I plan on renting it again!!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 5, 2012
Great New Year's Dress!
I rented this dress for New Year's Eve and it looked beautiful! I got tons of compliments. I'm 5'6 and 150 lbs and ordered a medium and large, but wore the large. I could have probably worn the medium but the neckline was too tight. My smaller friend tried it on and said the neckline was also tight on her.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
September 24, 2012
Perfect dress for a spring evening wedding.
It ran slightly smaller in the hips than I expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
November 11, 2012
I wanted a party dress but that was appropriate to wear in a church (with a shawl).
It ran short, if you don't like showing off your legs you might not like it. Also hit a little high on the wearer's right underarm. I still comfortably wore it all night for a wedding, received several compliments, and danced in it for a few hours.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 9, 2014
Great dress, but not for me...
This dress worked for the occasion, however I don’t think I would rent it again. The draping made me look like I had no shape. In retrospect, I think I should have gotten something that cinched at the waist. The color was good, but it is not as vibrant as it looks in the pictures…it looked like it had been worn several times. The lining underneath also wanted to ride up, and I kept having to pull it down. The size XS fit me better through the chest and hips, but the skirt was VERY short. The XS was also uncomfortably tight under my armpit, so I went with the Small instead. It is a great dress, I just don't think it was the right one for me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
July 15, 2014
Great dress, just wish it was longer!
I loved this dress online and liked it even more when it arrived. Unfortunately when I tried it on, it was way too short. I'm 5'9", 5'10" on a good day, and there was no way I could sit down without giving a show to the other guests! I was so sad but was grateful that RTR was really good about returning and crediting my account.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
July 29, 2014
Too short! But I had a bump.
I chose this dress because it was listed as "bump friendly" (which it is) and rented for a wedding I attended when I was 16 weeks pregnant (only a tiny bump at that point but I was still feeling self-conscious about it). The dress fit me and my bump but was way too short! I wish I had the Medium as a backup but that size was unavailable at the time. It's possible that the Small would have fit lenght-wise if I wasn't preggers but unfortunately, I wasn't able to wear the dress. Very cute but just a warning that it might be shorter than you think!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
February 18, 2015
Way too short
This was unwearable. It didn't even cover my butt when I bent over. My husband asked if it was a shirt. Otherwise, I liked the fit! I don't even think a S or M would have been long enough for my frame.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
February 2, 2016
Beautiful, but short!
I thought this dress was fantastic, though it was extremely short for me. I was able to handle wearing it with opaque black tights, though! The fabric and cut are super flattering, and I got a bunch of compliments. One thing I will say is that the neck/arm hole has absolutely no give, so it can feel a little tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
June 25, 2013
Pretty but short.
I rented this for a wedding but ended up not being able to wear it due to the length being much shorter than I anticipated. It's a very pretty dress and the top is very flattering.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
January 19, 2014
Great dress, but shorter than expected
I wore this dress to a wedding when I was 8 months pregnant. The dress was great, very comfortable and a great color for a Labor Day beach wedding. I'm not super tall (5'7, with most of my height in my torso vs. legs) but my height + moderate baby bump made this dress pretty short. So, great dress but definitely a bit shorter than I was expecting
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
February 7, 2014
Sooooo short!
Soooooooo short, could not wear it... had to send it back! Great color though!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
September 20, 2015
The dress was way to short for me.
Dress was way too short. Couldn't wear.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
April 21, 2011
Fabulous dress! Wore to an evening wedding and it was perfect for the occasion. It looks kind of burnt orange in the pic, but in person it is more coral.
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×