Mosaic Caftan Dress

$59 to buy
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Feel like a stylish fashionista in this awesome kaleidoscope printed Mark & James by Badgley Mischka . Go with flashy jewels like Kendra Scott's Gwen Lilly Earrings. Belt is included.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist when worn with belt
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Purple kaleidoscope printed chiffon. One shoulder neckline with flutter sleeve. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
117 reviews
Fit
Large
(25)
True to Size
(88)
Small
(4)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 25, 2011
This dress runs very big. I typically wear a size 0 or sometimes 2. I rented an XS and unfortunately could not wear it. It was falling off of me.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
July 5, 2011
They should show this without the belt - very glamorous and I got tons of compliments. Can't see it working on someone with no bust, I don't think it would fit well. I agree with Erica that if you have a big bust the fabric slips up and shows the purple layer underneath but it kinda looks like its supposed to do that. I'm a 6, sometimes an 8 and the medium was way too big, the small a little snug but super comfy and did not have to fidget with it all night.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
September 20, 2011
This dress looks great on the hanger but strange on. There is a lot more to the ruffle on the side than appears in the photo on the model. I also found that on the M and S the bottom layer/slip hung below the top layer. This dress is probably best for a straight and narrow body type.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 28, 2011
I loved this dress! It was a little big on me but the belt helped to cinch it in. I had the smallest size (S). I got so many compliments on this dress. It is true what everyone else says about the hem. It does hang below the actual dress. Honestly it didn't bother me at all. I would buy this dress in a second.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 9, 2011
gorgeous simplicity
I rented this dress for my very first rental with RTR and was really pleased. I headed to Sonoma, CA for a wedding weekend celebration and this dress was perfect! The colors are really gorgeous. I'm 5'1 w/ an athletic build, 36" bust but still fit into the size small. I actually didn't find a huge difference b/n the S and M and could have worn either, really. With the cut & draping, the dress is forgiving...it is true that the sheer overlay really rises up when you sit down (revealing the purple sheath underneath) but it wasn't really a problem. The belt was really cute & would accommodate any size waist while enhancing shape. I would seriously consider renting this again, or even buying it! I tried to attach a pic but couldn't get the photo small enough (after several tries) to post here, sorry.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
December 1, 2011
Not impressed
I loved the pattern, but it was way too big and just didn't look good on. There was too much fabric that it was overwhelming. I ultimately did not wear the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
December 1, 2011
Wore Option 2 Instead
This was a beautiful dress. I loved the fabric, quality and style - on the hanger. I was unhappy with how it looked on my curvy body. I ended up wearing my back up option instead. I had my 6 foot tall, 140lb teenager who has no hips try it on and it was magnificent on her. . .
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
April 27, 2012
This dress made me feel phenomenal; sassy, classy and was comfortable! Thank you RTR for making my 25th birthday special!
I ordered this dress for my 25th birthday and absolutely loved it! I normally wear a 2-4 and saw other reviews said that it was a big large so I ordered an XS and it fit perfect. I am 5'1 and was a bit long but that would be my only complaint. I got tons of compliments in this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 23, 2012
Great for an hourglass or pear
I didn't end up wearing this dress so I only gave it 4 stars. Fabric was so soft and flowy. Unfortunately, I was between sizes. Medium was too tight across my hips and the large was too large and looked like a really pretty potato sack because the dress doesn't have much shape on it's own. I will definitely rent again after I lose ten pounds. :) As others have noted, the liner is longer than the dress which looks a little tacky, but wouldn't have stopped me from wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 105lbs
July 11, 2012
This dress has a wow factor with the one shoulder style and flowing sleeve.
I wore this dress to an engagement party at the Yacht Club. I ordered the XS and the S, but the small was gigantic. Even the XS was far too baggy and came down over my knees. Thankfully the included belt helped me pull the length up a bit, although it made the waist less defined. Overall, this dress was super comfortable, the style was very flattering, and I received a lot of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 13, 2012
Great dress for an outdoor wedding.
I chose this dress because I wanted something different from what I tend to wear and something that would be comfortable if it was very hot since we would be outside the entire wedding. I went back and forth between the Small and the Medium, finally settling on the Small without the belt. I tend to wear a Medium (6/8). The sleeved arm did not lay on my arm like it does in the picture. However, this dress was very comfortable and I am very happy with my choice.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
August 17, 2012
Cute, Colorful Summery Dress
The purple lining did show at the hem, my husband said it looked like it's supposed to be that way, so I went with it. I struggled with how to tie the belt. But after I had it set - I really liked it! Fun and interesting lines.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 20, 2012
Trying on the dress and seeing my boyfriends face, he loved it! great for a long night out!
This dress is beautiful! I loved the colors and so did my boyfriend, not too crazy but still colorful. The fit was definetly large as usually I would wear a small, but trying it on it was very loose and shapeless. In my opinion it looks great without the belt if you are an hourglass since it hugs in all the right places! only thing is if you have any bit of a um backside, the underslip tends to stick out, but it didnt bother me, looks like its meant to.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 5, 2013
Great party dress!
This dress was lovely. I received many compliments. I got a XS and S just in case. It seems to run a little big so I used the belt that came with it and it looked really cute. Perfect length and the colors are beautiful.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 27, 2013
Many many compliments!
I ordered a size Medium with a back up size small. I was told the medium was damaged, so i ordered a different dress as a back up, and still got the size small in the caftan. It fit!!! The dress was slightly snug, but it looked like thats how it was supposed to fit. No one could tell it was supposed to be a little more flowy looking. I was so impressed, I'm usually a size medium/ 8. I got so many compliments on the dress and it definitely helped make the night more special.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 10, 2013
Loved the dress and got lots of compliments
I usually wear a small (size 2) but wore the extra small in this dress. Hated the look with the belt so just wore it without and still loved the look. Everyone else did, too! The vibrant colors made the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
August 11, 2014
Comfy and beautiful!
I was 8 weeks postpartum when I had to attend a wedding, and this dress looked and felt great! It also was easy to breastfeed in. I felt pretty and did not feel stuffed into the dress at all. The belt is flattering without being too tight. The print and the one-shoulder really makes this dress stand out and I got many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
September 2, 2014
Great 1st RTR experience. Easy dress to come home from a busy Fri at work & throw this on.
Fits a little large on top. I'm average there so I wore the XS. A little tight in the hips but it has some give.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 27, 2011
Absolutely adorable! The belt makes the dress. I typically wear a size 4 and the XS was a perfect fit. So feminine and sophisicated!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
September 14, 2011
All of the wonderful compliments I received made my RTR moment unforgettable! THANKS RTR! :)
This dress is not only flattering and adorable, but SO comfortable! I received so many compliments. I typically where a small or medium depending on dress and the small was actually a little big on me. The belt helped cinch everything. Agree with everyone else on the slip - but I actually liked it peeking out - made it fun and different. Would definitely rent again! THANKS RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 14, 2013
Stayed "cool" at the wedding!
I rented this dress for an outdoor wedding on a hot, sunny Texas day. The light, flowing fabric made the outfit very comfortable to wear. The colors were also very beautiful. I liked the way the dress fit, although the "small" seemed a little baggy in all the wrong places... so I chose the XS for the event. The only con: The inside lining of the dress was lower than the top fabric layer on the back of the dress. It was this way for both sizes. I ended up using some of the fashion fabric tape sent with the dresses to fix this issue. Worked well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
September 14, 2011
So many compliments! I am petite with a full bust and found the extra small a little bit too big but not so big that it looked bad. It's comfortable and pretty, great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
September 7, 2012
very cute!
Definitely runs large so size down. It is super cute and very flattering! I wore this to a bachelorette party and was so sad that we were all a little too "gone" to get pictures...
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 9, 2012
Loved this dress! Perfect for an outdoor wedding.
This dress was perfect for the occasion I chose it for, and I recieved tons of compliments on it. I felt like the top portion ran a little big, and I have a fairly large chest. The underarm portion was loose on the side with the shoulder piece, but you couldn't tell by looking at it, so it was still wearable. I think the belt cinched the dress in enough which helped with that too. I would definitely reccomend this dress to a friend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 10, 2012
Flowy silky dress, but too much material
Like wearing a bag with a belt....sadly, no good for me
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 12, 2011
Perfect colors for a fall wedding! Great boho look
I really liked the dress when I first received it. There were a few problems with it though. The shoulder was a tad tight on me which made it a little uncomfortable but nothing too bad. The slip also stuck out on mine. It didn't look obvious but I'm pretty sure its not supposed to do that. I got a lot of compliments on the dress but it definitely wasn't my favorite from rent the runway. I'm usually a 4 and ordered a small and extra small. I wore the small and might have been able to wear the medium unless it looked too baggy. I recommend this if you have skinny thighs and are on the taller side.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 56
Body type: Full Bust
January 28, 2014
The kindness of the staff is outstanding. They really helped make me feel special for my event.
I am full busted this just was too tight. RTR. I did get me something just perfect in time. Best place in the world to find the perfect dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
June 24, 2014
Pretty dress, but tight around the hips
To be fair, I'm a little larger in the hips so I usually have fit issues with the lower portion of dresses from RTR. That being said, everything looked fine from the front. When I turned around, however, the slip of the dress was sticking out in the back by at least 4 inches, similar to what other girls my size have said. Bummer because this dress is so cute, with or without the belt.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 11, 2015
The print is beautiful - but it's just OK.
I rented this for my birthday and dinner out with family. The colors were beautiful and the one-shoulder unique but the fit was a bit awkward. The lining and overlay hems were uneven and I ended up using fashion tape to "hem" it. It just didn't give me the confidence I was hoping but it was great for a summer dinner out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
May 25, 2011
The dress actually ran big around the bust and shoulders, but a bit snug around the hips. I had to wear the large and tape it at the top...but it is a beautiful dress, and my sister in Australia even loved it after only seeing it in one picture!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 13, 2011
I felt pretty!
I loved this dress. Very unique and the color was amazing. It was a little awkward to sit--the printed chiffon did not cover the liner underneath. Otherwise I would have given it at 5!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 157lbs
July 9, 2011
Great dress! I', 5'7" and wear a size 10. The medium fit perfectly except it was too short, so I needed to wear the large. It was okay-- a little loose but nothing a little fashion tape couldn't fix.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
July 13, 2011
My favorite RTR dress to date. Beautiful and comfortable. Breezy and cool. Perfect for summertime. I wish I could buy it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
August 1, 2011
I wear a 0-2 and the XS was perfect. If I did it all over again, I would wear it without the belt as it looks much better, but I got tons of compliments either way. I am larger on top and had no problems getting it zipped. Great dress, wish I could buy it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 10, 2011
This dress was a little bit short on me and the slip showed every time I sat down, but otherwise I really liked this dress and would rent it again. The pattern and the colors are really beautiful. It's a great option that can go from day to night. I paired it with a belt of my own, though...I didn't feel like the belt included was very cute.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 15, 2011
Great dress, pattern is fun and overall looks very stylish. I am 5'8, wore the size 0 and felt it was a little short for me but the 2 was too large. I was somewhere in between, but it ended up fine and I received A LOT of compliments at the wedding I attended. My only gripe is the belt. I wasnt wild about it and had a hard time deciding out where to tie it on my waist to be the most flattering. It needs a belt though, so all in all, still works.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Body type: Full Bust
August 18, 2011
Such a cute dress! Sexy, comfortable and sophisticated without being "over the top." (Or spilling out the top.) The colors were more vibrant in person. I am 5'4", 138, 34DD and the medium fit great. I could get the small on, but it was very short. I also decided to wear it without the belt, since I am very short waisted, belts don't tend to flatter me. I echo the issue of the slip showing in the back, but I think for the most part it just looks like the dress is made that way, so I didn't worry about it.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
August 25, 2011
I rented this dress in both the small and the medium. Both fit, but the medium was a little more accommodating of my hips. ;-) The medium was a little large on top, so I had to pin it discreetly with a bobby pin! You have to take some care to belt this dress the right way, or else it looks like an overwhelming amount of fabric. And one reviewer talked about how sometimes the lining and the overlay don't line up, especially when you have been seated and stand up. But all in all, it is a gorgeous dress.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 31, 2011
I rented this dress for a summer wedding and it was perfect. I ordered the XS and S, and the XS fit very nicely. The color and print were gorgeous. It is true that the purple lining does show a bit, particularly in the back (and in both front and back when seated), but I didn't feel this took away from the dress. It almost looks like it is supposed to be that way. I would definitely rent this dress again.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Body type: Athletic
October 16, 2011
Rented this dress for a reunion. I wore a medium, the large draped a lot. It was easy to wear and very comfortable. The slip did hang out a bit when I first put it on, but I was able to make it even around the dress. I loved wearing this dress!
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×