Mosaic Caftan Dress

$59 to buy
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Feel like a stylish fashionista in this awesome kaleidoscope printed Mark & James by Badgley Mischka . Go with flashy jewels like Kendra Scott's Gwen Lilly Earrings. Belt is included.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist when worn with belt
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Purple kaleidoscope printed chiffon. One shoulder neckline with flutter sleeve. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
117 reviews
Fit
Large
(25)
True to Size
(88)
Small
(4)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
September 17, 2012
2 thumbs up!
pros cons true to size a little longer than expected on me nice colors optional belt not clingy
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 19, 2012
I wore this to my 10 year high school reunion and received multiple compliments
The dress fit very well and true to size. I decided not to wear the belt just based on how the dress fit. The lining did come out of the back of the dress but it didn't look bad. I would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
September 24, 2012
A head-turning, memorable dress!
This dress was loose fitting (so I didn't need to hold back on dessert seconds!) but maintained a very flattering silhouette. I didn't need any big accessories to make the outfit complete. The striking pattern drew in compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 26, 2012
This was way better than the standard LBD for a bachelorette party!
This dress fit fairly well - I ordered the large and medium, and ended up wearing the medium. I felt like the large just had too much extra fabric bunching when I tied on the belt, so the medium worked out better. I did have a little issue with the lining of the dress showing when I sat, but it wasn't too much of a problem.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
October 7, 2012
This dress was so comfy and perfect for an outdoor/poolside wedding!
Great fit but do order 2 just in case! I usually wear a small in dresses but this one was a bit more forgiving so I was glad I got a backup XS...perfect and really comfortable! I got tons of compliments!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
October 9, 2012
Beautiful and fun dress! Got a lot of compliments!
I rented this as my second dress (which was discounted) for the weekend, and so I only ordered one size - an XS. It was just a tiny bit too snug, so I wish I had ordered a small. I don't think anyone noticed but me, but I kept tugging it down and adjusting it. Otherwise, I loved it! The design is so cool, and the fabric is light and flowly. I loved how the belt tied it all together. I would definitely rent again in a bigger size.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 21, 2012
I felt amazing in this dress. I walked tall and with confidence knowing I looked fantastic!
I am 5'6 and 150 lbs. I ordered a medium and a large fit. The medium was a smidgen small, but I do have a large bust. The large was to big in the waist. I wore the medium comfortably, however the dress required some adjusting of the layers in the skirt part, it tended to ride up some and it is pretty short. The colors were beautiful, and I received many compliments. I really liked the fact that I could look so great and not having my cleavage spilling out. This dress was HOT!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
November 5, 2012
even prettier in person
this dress is an eye-catcher, the colors are vibrant but not loud. it looks beautiful with a nice tan. I rented it for a concert but ended up wearing it to a party & received many compliments. I usually wear a S but this ran a little big so the XS fit well. would rent it again!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 7, 2012
Beautiful summer dress!
Loved this dress! Fit was perfect. Did not wear the belt with it and loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 2, 2012
Flattering & Comfortable
Loved the colors in the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 4, 2013
Gorgeous dress but not for me.
This dress is beautiful, unfortunately the fit was off for me. The medium was snug through my hips, but the large way too big up top. If you aren't very hippy, it will work wonderfully.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 6, 2013
Great color
Fun and easy to wear. Something different than the usual LBD
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 26, 2013
A bit long for short girls!
Unfortunately, at only 5'1'', this dress was very long on me, at/below my knees. It is a gorgeous print and I was sad to not be able to wear it, I tried blousing it over the belt but that didn't help.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 25, 2011
This dress runs very big. I typically wear a size 0 or sometimes 2. I rented an XS and unfortunately could not wear it. It was falling off of me.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
May 25, 2011
The dress actually ran big around the bust and shoulders, but a bit snug around the hips. I had to wear the large and tape it at the top...but it is a beautiful dress, and my sister in Australia even loved it after only seeing it in one picture!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 13, 2011
I felt pretty!
I loved this dress. Very unique and the color was amazing. It was a little awkward to sit--the printed chiffon did not cover the liner underneath. Otherwise I would have given it at 5!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
July 5, 2011
They should show this without the belt - very glamorous and I got tons of compliments. Can't see it working on someone with no bust, I don't think it would fit well. I agree with Erica that if you have a big bust the fabric slips up and shows the purple layer underneath but it kinda looks like its supposed to do that. I'm a 6, sometimes an 8 and the medium was way too big, the small a little snug but super comfy and did not have to fidget with it all night.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 157lbs
July 9, 2011
Great dress! I', 5'7" and wear a size 10. The medium fit perfectly except it was too short, so I needed to wear the large. It was okay-- a little loose but nothing a little fashion tape couldn't fix.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
July 13, 2011
My favorite RTR dress to date. Beautiful and comfortable. Breezy and cool. Perfect for summertime. I wish I could buy it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
August 1, 2011
I wear a 0-2 and the XS was perfect. If I did it all over again, I would wear it without the belt as it looks much better, but I got tons of compliments either way. I am larger on top and had no problems getting it zipped. Great dress, wish I could buy it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 10, 2011
This dress was a little bit short on me and the slip showed every time I sat down, but otherwise I really liked this dress and would rent it again. The pattern and the colors are really beautiful. It's a great option that can go from day to night. I paired it with a belt of my own, though...I didn't feel like the belt included was very cute.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 15, 2011
Great dress, pattern is fun and overall looks very stylish. I am 5'8, wore the size 0 and felt it was a little short for me but the 2 was too large. I was somewhere in between, but it ended up fine and I received A LOT of compliments at the wedding I attended. My only gripe is the belt. I wasnt wild about it and had a hard time deciding out where to tie it on my waist to be the most flattering. It needs a belt though, so all in all, still works.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Body type: Full Bust
August 18, 2011
Such a cute dress! Sexy, comfortable and sophisticated without being "over the top." (Or spilling out the top.) The colors were more vibrant in person. I am 5'4", 138, 34DD and the medium fit great. I could get the small on, but it was very short. I also decided to wear it without the belt, since I am very short waisted, belts don't tend to flatter me. I echo the issue of the slip showing in the back, but I think for the most part it just looks like the dress is made that way, so I didn't worry about it.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
August 25, 2011
I rented this dress in both the small and the medium. Both fit, but the medium was a little more accommodating of my hips. ;-) The medium was a little large on top, so I had to pin it discreetly with a bobby pin! You have to take some care to belt this dress the right way, or else it looks like an overwhelming amount of fabric. And one reviewer talked about how sometimes the lining and the overlay don't line up, especially when you have been seated and stand up. But all in all, it is a gorgeous dress.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 31, 2011
I rented this dress for a summer wedding and it was perfect. I ordered the XS and S, and the XS fit very nicely. The color and print were gorgeous. It is true that the purple lining does show a bit, particularly in the back (and in both front and back when seated), but I didn't feel this took away from the dress. It almost looks like it is supposed to be that way. I would definitely rent this dress again.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
September 20, 2011
This dress looks great on the hanger but strange on. There is a lot more to the ruffle on the side than appears in the photo on the model. I also found that on the M and S the bottom layer/slip hung below the top layer. This dress is probably best for a straight and narrow body type.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 28, 2011
I loved this dress! It was a little big on me but the belt helped to cinch it in. I had the smallest size (S). I got so many compliments on this dress. It is true what everyone else says about the hem. It does hang below the actual dress. Honestly it didn't bother me at all. I would buy this dress in a second.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 12, 2011
Perfect colors for a fall wedding! Great boho look
I really liked the dress when I first received it. There were a few problems with it though. The shoulder was a tad tight on me which made it a little uncomfortable but nothing too bad. The slip also stuck out on mine. It didn't look obvious but I'm pretty sure its not supposed to do that. I got a lot of compliments on the dress but it definitely wasn't my favorite from rent the runway. I'm usually a 4 and ordered a small and extra small. I wore the small and might have been able to wear the medium unless it looked too baggy. I recommend this if you have skinny thighs and are on the taller side.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Body type: Athletic
October 16, 2011
Rented this dress for a reunion. I wore a medium, the large draped a lot. It was easy to wear and very comfortable. The slip did hang out a bit when I first put it on, but I was able to make it even around the dress. I loved wearing this dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
October 19, 2011
I got tons of compliments on this dress! I rented both the M and L but wore the M. I'm 5'2". I selected "large bust" body type, but really I still look post-partum. The dress did a good job of recreating my hour-glass. The M was a little snug around the bust but the L was huge. Overall, I loved it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
October 20, 2011
I rented this dress for a fall wedding at a lodge and received a ton of compliments! The layered fabric made the dress a lot of fun to dance in. I have bigger hips and a small bust so I rented both the M and L. In the end the L was just too big so I wore the M even though the fit around my hips was a little tighter than I would have liked, but it still fit well enough to dance in.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
October 26, 2011
I rented the M & L size dresses. The top was a little loose on both, but I decided to wear the L to give a little extra length and more room in the thighs. A little tape and a pin made the top fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 9, 2011
gorgeous simplicity
I rented this dress for my very first rental with RTR and was really pleased. I headed to Sonoma, CA for a wedding weekend celebration and this dress was perfect! The colors are really gorgeous. I'm 5'1 w/ an athletic build, 36" bust but still fit into the size small. I actually didn't find a huge difference b/n the S and M and could have worn either, really. With the cut & draping, the dress is forgiving...it is true that the sheer overlay really rises up when you sit down (revealing the purple sheath underneath) but it wasn't really a problem. The belt was really cute & would accommodate any size waist while enhancing shape. I would seriously consider renting this again, or even buying it! I tried to attach a pic but couldn't get the photo small enough (after several tries) to post here, sorry.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
December 1, 2011
Not impressed
I loved the pattern, but it was way too big and just didn't look good on. There was too much fabric that it was overwhelming. I ultimately did not wear the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
December 1, 2011
Wore Option 2 Instead
This was a beautiful dress. I loved the fabric, quality and style - on the hanger. I was unhappy with how it looked on my curvy body. I ended up wearing my back up option instead. I had my 6 foot tall, 140lb teenager who has no hips try it on and it was magnificent on her. . .
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Body type: Apple
June 13, 2011
Very cute.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 18, 2011
Richmond, VA
I really like this dress, I wore it with brown boots but the dress was riding up and showing the slip at times.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 12, 2012
Uneven Skirt
As other reviewers have said, the skirt is uneven, so the slip shows around the bottom of the dress. Ended up not wearing it for that reason.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
April 8, 2012
Super cute!
I really loved this dress! The chiffon kept riding up showing the slip underneath, but I was expecting that based on other reviews. I didn't really bother me. I thought it added to the look of the dress. I ordered both a S and XS and ended up wearing the XS. I have a larger bust and was actually surprised that XS fit so well. It was a tad bit tight on the lower side, but not bothersome. I danced the night away in this dress! My husband loved how I looked in it! I would definitely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
April 27, 2012
This dress made me feel phenomenal; sassy, classy and was comfortable! Thank you RTR for making my 25th birthday special!
I ordered this dress for my 25th birthday and absolutely loved it! I normally wear a 2-4 and saw other reviews said that it was a big large so I ordered an XS and it fit perfect. I am 5'1 and was a bit long but that would be my only complaint. I got tons of compliments in this dress!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×