Mosaic Caftan Dress

$59 to buy
$470 retail
Stylist Notes

Feel like a stylish fashionista in this awesome kaleidoscope printed Mark & James by Badgley Mischka . Go with flashy jewels like Kendra Scott's Gwen Lilly Earrings. Belt is included.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist when worn with belt
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist when worn with belt
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple kaleidoscope printed chiffon. One shoulder neckline with flutter sleeve. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
117 reviews
Fit
Large
(25)
True to Size
(88)
Small
(4)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 56
Body type: Full Bust
January 28, 2014
The kindness of the staff is outstanding. They really helped make me feel special for my event.
I am full busted this just was too tight. RTR. I did get me something just perfect in time. Best place in the world to find the perfect dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
February 9, 2014
Gorgeous fabric, great shoulder.
SHORT SHORT. Couldn't wear the belt with it because it was so short. Still a bit short even without the belt.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 1, 2014
Comfortable dress.
Very comfortable and flattering dress! I wore it for an outdoor wedding on a farm so I paired it with flats and felt comfortable in it all day and night! The colors of the dress were beautiful and it fit well. I would definitely recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
May 6, 2014
PERFECT for a outdoor evening wedding
It was HOT outside for the wedding I went to, but this dress had the perfect flow. I wore it WITHOUT the belt.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 11, 2014
Great pattern and beautiful colors!
This was a backup dress that I didn't end up wearing but loved getting to try it on. The fabric is beautiful, made me look tan, and would be perfect for a more casual wedding or rehearsal dinner type of event. The 2 fit better than the 4 on my body type but as other reviewers have said, the lining was a little longer than the dress and showed in the back on the 2.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 17, 2014
Fun & Flirty
I absolutely love this dress. I have rented it twice for two separate occasions. The top is a lil loose so although I liked the length of the large, I had to wear the medium. But I was very happy with this dress.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 14, 2014
This dress was absolutely gorgeous!
I wore this dress to a wedding in June. Very comfy and the colors were so vibrant, I received many compliments. I felt amazing. The dress can be baggy. It is best to get your size and a size bigger just to make sure. I am originally a small but fit in some extra small. The extra small fit perfectly. The slip does show but it compliments the dress. I had a great time wearing it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
June 24, 2014
Pretty dress, but tight around the hips
To be fair, I'm a little larger in the hips so I usually have fit issues with the lower portion of dresses from RTR. That being said, everything looked fine from the front. When I turned around, however, the slip of the dress was sticking out in the back by at least 4 inches, similar to what other girls my size have said. Bummer because this dress is so cute, with or without the belt.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 27, 2011
Absolutely adorable! The belt makes the dress. I typically wear a size 4 and the XS was a perfect fit. So feminine and sophisicated!!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
August 9, 2011
Love this dress!! I wore it to a wedding and received a ton of compliments on it. The fit is super flattering and it is comfortable enough to dance in all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 11, 2015
The print is beautiful - but it's just OK.
I rented this for my birthday and dinner out with family. The colors were beautiful and the one-shoulder unique but the fit was a bit awkward. The lining and overlay hems were uneven and I ended up using fashion tape to "hem" it. It just didn't give me the confidence I was hoping but it was great for a summer dinner out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
September 14, 2011
All of the wonderful compliments I received made my RTR moment unforgettable! THANKS RTR! :)
This dress is not only flattering and adorable, but SO comfortable! I received so many compliments. I typically where a small or medium depending on dress and the small was actually a little big on me. The belt helped cinch everything. Agree with everyone else on the slip - but I actually liked it peeking out - made it fun and different. Would definitely rent again! THANKS RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 14, 2012
It was so easy!
I rented this for NYE and had it sent directly to the hotel - everything was perfect. I wore the slightly larger dress and yes the chiffon does ride up a little bit but not in a bad way. I was able to dance the night away and felt great all night long. The belt is a nice touch and tucks you in at the waist nicely. I got loads of compliments and floated beautifully. Thanks RTR - I hope you start operating in Canada soon!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
August 11, 2012
Received lots of compliments on the dress. Best compliment,,"You look amazing in this dress..where did you find it?"
Wearing this to an end of summer party tonight. Ordered the S and XS. The S was an just an ok fit with some gapping in the arms and a body skimming fit. The length is perfect for heels, hitting me at just above the knee. I am not wearing heels, because I want to be comfortable standing for several hours. This dress is not frumpy in any way if you remember this style from the 70's! The XS on me has a light, flowing look, with a slightly fitted body. If your girls are perky, a bit of tape to prevent party hats is all you need. If not, you will, like me, want to wear a strapless bra. The colors are cool and the pattern not overly taxing on the eyes, but rather gentle. Personally, I love the belt, as it gives me shape. Very excited about going to this party, wearing a dress that I wear and doesn't wear me. Thanks again RTR! Pics later :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 26, 2012
The material was light and comfortable for an outside summer wedding, it was cool and easy to move in.
The dress was beautiful and the color was so nice as well as the fabric. It was fun and sexy yet appropriate for a family wedding. I got complements all night. I did have to readjust the wrap tie throughout the night to keep it tight but I got complements on that as well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 19, 2012
Loved the uniqueness of this dress!
Great fit, loved the pattern of the dress and the belt! Great dress to wear to a wedding! Got a lot of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 133lbs
September 29, 2012
Perfectly sylish for a weekend date!
Wore this dress for a date over Labor Day and received numerous compliments on the fit and style. I have an hour glass figure and the XS fit okay, but was a little tight in my hips so I would recommend Spanx for those similar to my body type. The S was way too large so I was happy I could pull off the XS. The 'mystery bling' I ordered was also a perfect compliment to the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 18, 2012
Dress was absolutely gorgeous! The colors were true to the photo and looked beautiful in person.
I ordered a M and a L and went with the M.... The slip underneath did show a little when I sat down but overall the fit was extremely flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 14, 2013
Stayed "cool" at the wedding!
I rented this dress for an outdoor wedding on a hot, sunny Texas day. The light, flowing fabric made the outfit very comfortable to wear. The colors were also very beautiful. I liked the way the dress fit, although the "small" seemed a little baggy in all the wrong places... so I chose the XS for the event. The only con: The inside lining of the dress was lower than the top fabric layer on the back of the dress. It was this way for both sizes. I ended up using some of the fashion fabric tape sent with the dresses to fix this issue. Worked well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Body type: Pear
Weight: 163lbs
November 2, 2013
Loved the dress, ease of the process, and freebie fashion tape kit.
Perfect for all shapes. Gotta love a wrap dress. Very fashionable summer dress. Perfect for spring or summer wedding.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 9, 2011
This dress is so pretty in person! I ordered a small and it fit me really well. I'd say it runs a little big in the top. I'm a 32DD and it fit, but there was a bit of extra room where it zipped up on the side. Loved this dress and I got so many compliments on it. A great first RTR experience!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
July 5, 2011
I rented this dress for a recent wedding and it is so gorgeous and flattering! I have a hard time finding dresses that fit, since I am small-boned with a larger bust (34D) -- I typically wear a size 4 or 6 in misses-size dresses. I rented the small and medium backup, and wore the small. There is plenty of fabric on the top of the dress (which I love!), so if you are smaller-chested or have a small ribcage, you may need to use tape to hold it on. It is also a good length (mid-thigh) and not too short. Just be aware that the printed outer fabric slides up to reveal the slip underneath - nothing major, you just have to adjust the fabric every time you stand up. That's the only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5! All in all, a FABULOUS first rental from RTR! Can't wait for my next one!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 8, 2011
Grogeous and unique!
Wore this to a summer wedding and LOVED it. I'm tall and usually a 6 in dresses and the Medium worked great. Such beautiful fabric and unique design. Very comfortable as well. Definitely enjoyed my first RTR experience!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
September 14, 2011
So many compliments! I am petite with a full bust and found the extra small a little bit too big but not so big that it looked bad. It's comfortable and pretty, great dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
September 26, 2011
Great dress. Wore it to a semi-formal 50th bday. Got lots of compliments. Size small fit great, so it fits true to size. I didn't love the fact that the slip kept peaking out, but it wasn't a huge deal. I wore this dress without the belt because it made me look very hippy, due to the extra fabric bunching up on the sides. For $50 it's worth the rental.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
September 27, 2011
Not my favorite Rent the Runway purchase. Still wore it to a beach wedding, but found that the fit was off. The slip underneath was longer than the top layer (which didn't look good), and I had to safety pin under the armpit to get the look right. Despite it being very fussy, I still received compliments (mostly from men) about the interesting print.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
September 28, 2011
Rented this dress for a rehearsal dinner and it was great! I loved it and got lots of compliments. I'm usually a size 4 dress, and the small was perfect. It is a little short if you are worried about length- I like short!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 20, 2012
Fun and flattering
This dress has a lot going on with the print, drape, and belt, but I loved wearing it. I think the dress would be flattering on a lot of different body types, especially with the use of a belt - the dress has a lot of extra flowing pieces of fabric, and a belt helps define the waistline. I used a different belt than the one provided because it looked better with my shoes. I am a pear, and so the dress was a little loose up top, but with the style and print it was not noticeable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
September 7, 2012
very cute!
Definitely runs large so size down. It is super cute and very flattering! I wore this to a bachelorette party and was so sad that we were all a little too "gone" to get pictures...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 5, 2012
The dress was really beautiful, stylish, and unique.
Fit seemed to be pretty accurate for size, the only issue I had was that the lining is too long for the primary dress fabric, so it kept peeking out. Seems to be common with mini length dresses.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 9, 2012
Loved this dress! Perfect for an outdoor wedding.
This dress was perfect for the occasion I chose it for, and I recieved tons of compliments on it. I felt like the top portion ran a little big, and I have a fairly large chest. The underarm portion was loose on the side with the shoulder piece, but you couldn't tell by looking at it, so it was still wearable. I think the belt cinched the dress in enough which helped with that too. I would definitely reccomend this dress to a friend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 10, 2012
Flowy silky dress, but too much material
Like wearing a bag with a belt....sadly, no good for me
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
March 15, 2013
Another easy and cute option!
This was perfect for a couples' shower in the summer.. So easy to wear
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
August 3, 2013
Not my fave...
This was my first pick based on photos and reviews but when it came in I just felt the colors looked a bit faded and that all the excess fabric made me look heavier than I am, even when cinched with the belt. I think this may be because I'm fairly busty and all the fabric across my chest added too much extra bulk. When I noticed the slip sticking out the bottom too I decided this was definitely not going to work out. Luckily my back-up fit great, was a nice vibrant color, and was much more flattering for my shape! I think this dress would be better for girls with a straighter figure or more of a pair shape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 15, 2014
they only had a small and large available. i thought one could work, but no such luck.
cute colors and the belt works well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
July 14, 2014
great dress!
Light, comfortable, flattering. As many other reviewers mentioned, the slip showed at the bottom. I ended up taping it up with fabric tape. Perhaps a larger size up would have solved that problem, but there were no mediums when I was ordering it. Overall, I enjoyed wearing this.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
August 10, 2016
Gorgeous all around
Perfect fit and beautiful vibrant colors.
See more reviews:
3 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×