Mark & James by Badgley Mischka

Mosaic Caftan Dress

$59 to buy
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Feel like a stylish fashionista in this awesome kaleidoscope printed Mark & James by Badgley Mischka . Go with flashy jewels like Kendra Scott's Gwen Lilly Earrings. Belt is included.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist when worn with belt
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist when worn with belt
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple kaleidoscope printed chiffon. One shoulder neckline with flutter sleeve. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

115 reviews

Fit
Small 3
True to Size 87
Large 25
Photos 37
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 13, 2011

I felt pretty!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. Very unique and the color was amazing. It was a little awkward to sit--the printed chiffon did not cover the liner underneath. Otherwise I would have given it at 5!
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Sep 14, 2011

All of the wonderful compliments I received made my RTR moment unforgettable! THANKS RTR! :)

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
This dress is not only flattering and adorable, but SO comfortable! I received so many compliments. I typically where a small or medium depending on dress and the small was actually a little big on me. The belt helped cinch everything. Agree with everyone else on the slip - but I actually liked it peeking out - made it fun and different. Would definitely rent again! THANKS RTR!
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 12, 2011

Perfect colors for a fall wedding! Great boho look

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I really liked the dress when I first received it. There were a few problems with it though. The shoulder was a tad tight on me which made it a little uncomfortable but nothing too bad. The slip also stuck out on mine. It didn't look obvious but I'm pretty sure its not supposed to do that. I got a lot of compliments on the dress but it definitely wasn't my favorite from rent the runway. I'm usually a 4 and ordered a small and extra small. I wore the small and might have been able to wear the medium unless it looked too baggy. I recommend this if you have skinny thighs and are on the taller side.
Sarah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 14, 2012

It was so easy!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for NYE and had it sent directly to the hotel - everything was perfect. I wore the slightly larger dress and yes the chiffon does ride up a little bit but not in a bad way. I was able to dance the night away and felt great all night long. The belt is a nice touch and tucks you in at the waist nicely. I got loads of compliments and floated beautifully. Thanks RTR - I hope you start operating in Canada soon!
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Apr 27, 2012

This dress made me feel phenomenal; sassy, classy and was comfortable! Thank you RTR for making my 25th birthday special!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress for my 25th birthday and absolutely loved it! I normally wear a 2-4 and saw other reviews said that it was a big large so I ordered an XS and it fit perfect. I am 5'1 and was a bit long but that would be my only complaint. I got tons of compliments in this dress!
anna
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Jul 6, 2012

Felt like a million bucks in this dress!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my bridal shower and it was perfect. Light, Airy, and comfortable! I got so many compliment and didn't have to stress about going shopping for a dress.
Johnna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 105 lbs
Jul 11, 2012

This dress has a wow factor with the one shoulder style and flowing sleeve.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to an engagement party at the Yacht Club. I ordered the XS and the S, but the small was gigantic. Even the XS was far too baggy and came down over my knees. Thankfully the included belt helped me pull the length up a bit, although it made the waist less defined. Overall, this dress was super comfortable, the style was very flattering, and I received a lot of compliments.
Susan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 11, 2012

Received lots of compliments on the dress. Best compliment,,"You look amazing in this dress..where did you find it?"

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wearing this to an end of summer party tonight. Ordered the S and XS. The S was an just an ok fit with some gapping in the arms and a body skimming fit. The length is perfect for heels, hitting me at just above the knee. I am not wearing heels, because I want to be comfortable standing for several hours. This dress is not frumpy in any way if you remember this style from the 70's! The XS on me has a light, flowing look, with a slightly fitted body. If your girls are perky, a bit of tape to prevent party hats is all you need. If not, you will, like me, want to wear a strapless bra. The colors are cool and the pattern not overly taxing on the eyes, but rather gentle. Personally, I love the belt, as it gives me shape. Very excited about going to this party, wearing a dress that I wear and doesn't wear me. Thanks again RTR! Pics later :)
Cortney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

Unique and light-weight. I got compliments all night long (and always bragged it was rented!).

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
My friends and I sang during the wedding ceremony, so I wanted to look especially nice. I got compliments all night long on both the singing AND the dress! The wedding was in Atlanta, and I chose this dress for the weather as much as the occasion. It's chiffon so nice and lightweight for a city that is known for getting HOT. It was a total success. The medium fit perfectly (I usually wear a 6), and I could place the belt wherever made the dress the most flattering. I would definitely recommend this dress. The pattern really makes it stand out among a sea of solids!
Anne
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

Great dress for an outdoor wedding.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I chose this dress because I wanted something different from what I tend to wear and something that would be comfortable if it was very hot since we would be outside the entire wedding. I went back and forth between the Small and the Medium, finally settling on the Small without the belt. I tend to wear a Medium (6/8). The sleeved arm did not lay on my arm like it does in the picture. However, this dress was very comfortable and I am very happy with my choice.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 17, 2012

The dress made me feel pretty and fun on my birthday. Perfect combo!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress on my birthday this year and absolutely loved it! The print is gorgeous and the dress fits really well. I would love to own this dress.
Brigitte
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Trying on the dress and seeing my boyfriends face, he loved it! great for a long night out!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
This dress is beautiful! I loved the colors and so did my boyfriend, not too crazy but still colorful. The fit was definetly large as usually I would wear a small, but trying it on it was very loose and shapeless. In my opinion it looks great without the belt if you are an hourglass since it hugs in all the right places! only thing is if you have any bit of a um backside, the underslip tends to stick out, but it didnt bother me, looks like its meant to.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 26, 2012

The material was light and comfortable for an outside summer wedding, it was cool and easy to move in.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was beautiful and the color was so nice as well as the fabric. It was fun and sexy yet appropriate for a family wedding. I got complements all night. I did have to readjust the wrap tie throughout the night to keep it tight but I got complements on that as well.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 2, 2012

Flattering & Comfortable

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved the colors in the dress.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Loved the uniqueness of this dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit, loved the pattern of the dress and the belt! Great dress to wear to a wedding! Got a lot of compliments!
Sarah Beth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

I wore this to my 10 year high school reunion and received multiple compliments

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit very well and true to size. I decided not to wear the belt just based on how the dress fit. The lining did come out of the back of the dress but it didn't look bad. I would definitely recommend this dress!
Joy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 23, 2012

A head-turning, memorable dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was loose fitting (so I didn't need to hold back on dessert seconds!) but maintained a very flattering silhouette. I didn't need any big accessories to make the outfit complete. The striking pattern drew in compliments!
Cassie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 26, 2012

This was way better than the standard LBD for a bachelorette party!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fit fairly well - I ordered the large and medium, and ended up wearing the medium. I felt like the large just had too much extra fabric bunching when I tied on the belt, so the medium worked out better. I did have a little issue with the lining of the dress showing when I sat, but it wasn't too much of a problem.
GK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Sep 29, 2012

Perfectly sylish for a weekend date!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Wore this dress for a date over Labor Day and received numerous compliments on the fit and style. I have an hour glass figure and the XS fit okay, but was a little tight in my hips so I would recommend Spanx for those similar to my body type. The S was way too large so I was happy I could pull off the XS. The 'mystery bling' I ordered was also a perfect compliment to the dress!
vanessa
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 21, 2012

I felt amazing in this dress. I walked tall and with confidence knowing I looked fantastic!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am 5'6 and 150 lbs. I ordered a medium and a large fit. The medium was a smidgen small, but I do have a large bust. The large was to big in the waist. I wore the medium comfortably, however the dress required some adjusting of the layers in the skirt part, it tended to ride up some and it is pretty short. The colors were beautiful, and I received many compliments. I really liked the fact that I could look so great and not having my cleavage spilling out. This dress was HOT!
Brynne
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 7, 2012

Beautiful summer dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! Fit was perfect. Did not wear the belt with it and loved it!
RuralFashionista
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 18, 2012

Dress was absolutely gorgeous! The colors were true to the photo and looked beautiful in person.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a M and a L and went with the M.... The slip underneath did show a little when I sat down but overall the fit was extremely flattering.
Mari
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 9, 2013

So comfortable!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this for one of my engagement photo sessions and I really liked how vibrant the colors are. It was comfortable and forgiving (the belt really completes it! I wore it with nude heels and it was perfect!
mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
May 5, 2013

Great party dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress was lovely. I received many compliments. I got a XS and S just in case. It seems to run a little big so I used the belt that came with it and it looked really cute. Perfect length and the colors are beautiful.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 14, 2013

Stayed "cool" at the wedding!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for an outdoor wedding on a hot, sunny Texas day. The light, flowing fabric made the outfit very comfortable to wear. The colors were also very beautiful. I liked the way the dress fit, although the "small" seemed a little baggy in all the wrong places... so I chose the XS for the event. The only con: The inside lining of the dress was lower than the top fabric layer on the back of the dress. It was this way for both sizes. I ended up using some of the fashion fabric tape sent with the dresses to fix this issue. Worked well.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 133 lbs
Jul 21, 2013

I wore this dress to a summer wedding and got compliments all afternoon. Comfortable and colorful.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit very well and I decided not to wear the belt that came with it because it seemed to bunch the dress up. I thought it looked much better with out the belt. I was flowy and airy and still form flattering.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Sep 2, 2013

Colorful, fun dress for a wedding!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wanted something different than what I'd normally wear for a wedding, so found this gem on RTR. I absolutely loved this dress (and the other one I rented as a 'backup', too.) The dress was flattering, colorful and fun for a wedding. The belt was very cute as well and helped give the dress shape. And of course, I had several compliments on it!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 10, 2013

Loved the dress and got lots of compliments

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a small (size 2) but wore the extra small in this dress. Hated the look with the belt so just wore it without and still loved the look. Everyone else did, too! The vibrant colors made the dress.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 20, 2013

Loved this dress, tons of compliments-

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore it without the belt, and it worked much better for me. Felt great and comfortable all night:)
Jamie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
Weight: 163 lbs
Nov 2, 2013

Loved the dress, ease of the process, and freebie fashion tape kit.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Perfect for all shapes. Gotta love a wrap dress. Very fashionable summer dress. Perfect for spring or summer wedding.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
May 17, 2014

Fun & Flirty

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I absolutely love this dress. I have rented it twice for two separate occasions. The top is a lil loose so although I liked the length of the large, I had to wear the medium. But I was very happy with this dress.
Monique
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 14, 2014

This dress was absolutely gorgeous!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding in June. Very comfy and the colors were so vibrant, I received many compliments. I felt amazing. The dress can be baggy. It is best to get your size and a size bigger just to make sure. I am originally a small but fit in some extra small. The extra small fit perfectly. The slip does show but it compliments the dress. I had a great time wearing it!!
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Jun 24, 2014

Pretty dress, but tight around the hips

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
To be fair, I'm a little larger in the hips so I usually have fit issues with the lower portion of dresses from RTR. That being said, everything looked fine from the front. When I turned around, however, the slip of the dress was sticking out in the back by at least 4 inches, similar to what other girls my size have said. Bummer because this dress is so cute, with or without the belt.
Margaret
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Jun 26, 2014

Tons of compliments!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I really loved this dress. I had to iron it to make all the pleats and gathering sit properly, but once I did it was very flattering. I didn't wear the belt. The pattern is eye-catching but not overly loud.
C. Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Jul 10, 2014

Cute, boho casual summer dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Cute dress! Fits true to size. The colors are great with a tan. Rented for a boat cruise and got many compliments. I am pear shaped, and this hugged my thighs a bit, but was otherwise true to size. Nice belt to cinch the waist area. However, the print/fabric/silhouette combination made this look a bit cheaper than I was expecting.
Doreen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 14, 2014

great dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Light, comfortable, flattering. As many other reviewers mentioned, the slip showed at the bottom. I ended up taping it up with fabric tape. Perhaps a larger size up would have solved that problem, but there were no mediums when I was ordering it. Overall, I enjoyed wearing this.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Jul 29, 2014

Fun Pattern

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The pattern on the dress was quite exotic and fun. However, the outer layer of the dress kept hiking up higher than I would have preferred.
megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 11, 2014

Comfy and beautiful!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I was 8 weeks postpartum when I had to attend a wedding, and this dress looked and felt great! It also was easy to breastfeed in. I felt pretty and did not feel stuffed into the dress at all. The belt is flattering without being too tight. The print and the one-shoulder really makes this dress stand out and I got many compliments!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Sep 2, 2014

Great 1st RTR experience. Easy dress to come home from a busy Fri at work & throw this on.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Fits a little large on top. I'm average there so I wore the XS. A little tight in the hips but it has some give.
Andrea
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Jan 7, 2015

Got a phone call from one of the stylists about my backup dress, appreciated the personal attention!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Was shorter than I expected and about 2-3" of the lining underneath ended up showing at the bottom most of the night. There were a few tears that had been sewn up and they were a bit obvious. Loved the top though
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×