Rent the Runway

Mark & James by Badgley Mischka

Mosaic Caftan Dress

$59 to buy
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Feel like a stylish fashionista in this awesome kaleidoscope printed Mark & James by Badgley Mischka . Go with flashy jewels like Kendra Scott's Gwen Lilly Earrings. Belt is included.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist when worn with belt
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist when worn with belt
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple kaleidoscope printed chiffon. One shoulder neckline with flutter sleeve. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

115 reviews

Fit
Small 3
True to Size 87
Large 25
Photos 37
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 25, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This dress runs very big. I typically wear a size 0 or sometimes 2. I rented an XS and unfortunately could not wear it. It was falling off of me.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
May 25, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
The dress actually ran big around the bust and shoulders, but a bit snug around the hips. I had to wear the large and tape it at the top...but it is a beautiful dress, and my sister in Australia even loved it after only seeing it in one picture!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jun 9, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is so pretty in person! I ordered a small and it fit me really well. I'd say it runs a little big in the top. I'm a 32DD and it fit, but there was a bit of extra room where it zipped up on the side. Loved this dress and I got so many compliments on it. A great first RTR experience!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Body type: Apple
Jun 13, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Very cute.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 27, 2011

Overall fit: Large
Absolutely adorable! The belt makes the dress. I typically wear a size 4 and the XS was a perfect fit. So feminine and sophisicated!!
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 5, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this dress for a recent wedding and it is so gorgeous and flattering! I have a hard time finding dresses that fit, since I am small-boned with a larger bust (34D) -- I typically wear a size 4 or 6 in misses-size dresses. I rented the small and medium backup, and wore the small. There is plenty of fabric on the top of the dress (which I love!), so if you are smaller-chested or have a small ribcage, you may need to use tape to hold it on. It is also a good length (mid-thigh) and not too short. Just be aware that the printed outer fabric slides up to reveal the slip underneath - nothing major, you just have to adjust the fabric every time you stand up. That's the only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5! All in all, a FABULOUS first rental from RTR! Can't wait for my next one!
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 5, 2011

Overall fit: Large
They should show this without the belt - very glamorous and I got tons of compliments. Can't see it working on someone with no bust, I don't think it would fit well. I agree with Erica that if you have a big bust the fabric slips up and shows the purple layer underneath but it kinda looks like its supposed to do that. I'm a 6, sometimes an 8 and the medium was way too big, the small a little snug but super comfy and did not have to fidget with it all night.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 167 lbs
Jul 9, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Great dress! I', 5'7" and wear a size 10. The medium fit perfectly except it was too short, so I needed to wear the large. It was okay-- a little loose but nothing a little fashion tape couldn't fix.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 13, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
My favorite RTR dress to date. Beautiful and comfortable. Breezy and cool. Perfect for summertime. I wish I could buy it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Aug 1, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wear a 0-2 and the XS was perfect. If I did it all over again, I would wear it without the belt as it looks much better, but I got tons of compliments either way. I am larger on top and had no problems getting it zipped. Great dress, wish I could buy it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 8, 2011

Grogeous and unique!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a summer wedding and LOVED it. I'm tall and usually a 6 in dresses and the Medium worked great. Such beautiful fabric and unique design. Very comfortable as well. Definitely enjoyed my first RTR experience!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Aug 9, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Love this dress!! I wore it to a wedding and received a ton of compliments on it. The fit is super flattering and it is comfortable enough to dance in all night.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 10, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was a little bit short on me and the slip showed every time I sat down, but otherwise I really liked this dress and would rent it again. The pattern and the colors are really beautiful. It's a great option that can go from day to night. I paired it with a belt of my own, though...I didn't feel like the belt included was very cute.
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
Aug 15, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Great dress, pattern is fun and overall looks very stylish. I am 5'8, wore the size 0 and felt it was a little short for me but the 2 was too large. I was somewhere in between, but it ended up fine and I received A LOT of compliments at the wedding I attended. My only gripe is the belt. I wasnt wild about it and had a hard time deciding out where to tie it on my waist to be the most flattering. It needs a belt though, so all in all, still works.
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 18, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Such a cute dress! Sexy, comfortable and sophisticated without being "over the top." (Or spilling out the top.) The colors were more vibrant in person. I am 5'4", 138, 34DD and the medium fit great. I could get the small on, but it was very short. I also decided to wear it without the belt, since I am very short waisted, belts don't tend to flatter me. I echo the issue of the slip showing in the back, but I think for the most part it just looks like the dress is made that way, so I didn't worry about it.
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 25, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this dress in both the small and the medium. Both fit, but the medium was a little more accommodating of my hips. ;-) The medium was a little large on top, so I had to pin it discreetly with a bobby pin! You have to take some care to belt this dress the right way, or else it looks like an overwhelming amount of fabric. And one reviewer talked about how sometimes the lining and the overlay don't line up, especially when you have been seated and stand up. But all in all, it is a gorgeous dress.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Aug 31, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this dress for a summer wedding and it was perfect. I ordered the XS and S, and the XS fit very nicely. The color and print were gorgeous. It is true that the purple lining does show a bit, particularly in the back (and in both front and back when seated), but I didn't feel this took away from the dress. It almost looks like it is supposed to be that way. I would definitely rent this dress again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Sep 14, 2011

Overall fit: Large
So many compliments! I am petite with a full bust and found the extra small a little bit too big but not so big that it looked bad. It's comfortable and pretty, great dress!
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Sep 20, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This dress looks great on the hanger but strange on. There is a lot more to the ruffle on the side than appears in the photo on the model. I also found that on the M and S the bottom layer/slip hung below the top layer. This dress is probably best for a straight and narrow body type.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Body type: Straight & narrow
Sep 26, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Great dress. True to size. XS. I wore this dress to a wine dinner and received lots of compliments.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129 lbs
Sep 26, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Great dress. Wore it to a semi-formal 50th bday. Got lots of compliments. Size small fit great, so it fits true to size. I didn't love the fact that the slip kept peaking out, but it wasn't a huge deal. I wore this dress without the belt because it made me look very hippy, due to the extra fabric bunching up on the sides. For $50 it's worth the rental.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138 lbs
Sep 27, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Not my favorite Rent the Runway purchase. Still wore it to a beach wedding, but found that the fit was off. The slip underneath was longer than the top layer (which didn't look good), and I had to safety pin under the armpit to get the look right. Despite it being very fussy, I still received compliments (mostly from men) about the interesting print.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Sep 28, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I loved this dress! It was a little big on me but the belt helped to cinch it in. I had the smallest size (S). I got so many compliments on this dress. It is true what everyone else says about the hem. It does hang below the actual dress. Honestly it didn't bother me at all. I would buy this dress in a second.
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Sep 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented this dress for a rehearsal dinner and it was great! I loved it and got lots of compliments. I'm usually a size 4 dress, and the small was perfect. It is a little short if you are worried about length- I like short!
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Body type: Athletic
Oct 16, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented this dress for a reunion. I wore a medium, the large draped a lot. It was easy to wear and very comfortable. The slip did hang out a bit when I first put it on, but I was able to make it even around the dress. I loved wearing this dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Oct 19, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I got tons of compliments on this dress! I rented both the M and L but wore the M. I'm 5'2". I selected "large bust" body type, but really I still look post-partum. The dress did a good job of recreating my hour-glass. The M was a little snug around the bust but the L was huge. Overall, I loved it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 20, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this dress for a fall wedding at a lodge and received a ton of compliments! The layered fabric made the dress a lot of fun to dance in. I have bigger hips and a small bust so I rented both the M and L. In the end the L was just too big so I wore the M even though the fit around my hips was a little tighter than I would have liked, but it still fit well enough to dance in.
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 26, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented the M & L size dresses. The top was a little loose on both, but I decided to wear the L to give a little extra length and more room in the thighs. A little tape and a pin made the top fit perfectly.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 9, 2011

gorgeous simplicity

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for my very first rental with RTR and was really pleased. I headed to Sonoma, CA for a wedding weekend celebration and this dress was perfect! The colors are really gorgeous. I'm 5'1 w/ an athletic build, 36" bust but still fit into the size small. I actually didn't find a huge difference b/n the S and M and could have worn either, really. With the cut & draping, the dress is forgiving...it is true that the sheer overlay really rises up when you sit down (revealing the purple sheath underneath) but it wasn't really a problem. The belt was really cute & would accommodate any size waist while enhancing shape. I would seriously consider renting this again, or even buying it! I tried to attach a pic but couldn't get the photo small enough (after several tries) to post here, sorry.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118 lbs
Dec 1, 2011

Not impressed

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I loved the pattern, but it was way too big and just didn't look good on. There was too much fabric that it was overwhelming. I ultimately did not wear the dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Dec 1, 2011

Wore Option 2 Instead

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This was a beautiful dress. I loved the fabric, quality and style - on the hanger. I was unhappy with how it looked on my curvy body. I ended up wearing my back up option instead. I had my 6 foot tall, 140lb teenager who has no hips try it on and it was magnificent on her. . .
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 18, 2011

Richmond, VA

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I really like this dress, I wore it with brown boots but the dress was riding up and showing the slip at times.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 12, 2012

Uneven Skirt

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
As other reviewers have said, the skirt is uneven, so the slip shows around the bottom of the dress. Ended up not wearing it for that reason.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Apr 8, 2012

Super cute!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I really loved this dress! The chiffon kept riding up showing the slip underneath, but I was expecting that based on other reviews. I didn't really bother me. I thought it added to the look of the dress. I ordered both a S and XS and ended up wearing the XS. I have a larger bust and was actually surprised that XS fit so well. It was a tad bit tight on the lower side, but not bothersome. I danced the night away in this dress! My husband loved how I looked in it! I would definitely rent it again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
May 23, 2012

Great for an hourglass or pear

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I didn't end up wearing this dress so I only gave it 4 stars. Fabric was so soft and flowy. Unfortunately, I was between sizes. Medium was too tight across my hips and the large was too large and looked like a really pretty potato sack because the dress doesn't have much shape on it's own. I will definitely rent again after I lose ten pounds. :) As others have noted, the liner is longer than the dress which looks a little tacky, but wouldn't have stopped me from wearing it.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×