Mosaic Caftan Dress

$59 to buy
$470 retail
Stylist Notes

Feel like a stylish fashionista in this awesome kaleidoscope printed Mark & James by Badgley Mischka . Go with flashy jewels like Kendra Scott's Gwen Lilly Earrings. Belt is included.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist when worn with belt
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist when worn with belt
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple kaleidoscope printed chiffon. One shoulder neckline with flutter sleeve. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
117 reviews
Fit
Large
(25)
True to Size
(88)
Small
(4)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 23, 2012
Great for an hourglass or pear
I didn't end up wearing this dress so I only gave it 4 stars. Fabric was so soft and flowy. Unfortunately, I was between sizes. Medium was too tight across my hips and the large was too large and looked like a really pretty potato sack because the dress doesn't have much shape on it's own. I will definitely rent again after I lose ten pounds. :) As others have noted, the liner is longer than the dress which looks a little tacky, but wouldn't have stopped me from wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
May 24, 2012
Loved it!
Had a baby 6 months ago and needed something flattering for my mid section. This dress was great and I got a ton of compliments on it. I did have to use the tape because it was a tiny bit loos on the side with no strap, but it worked out perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
June 7, 2012
Fun birthday dress
This dress is unique and you're guaranteed to get compliments. I wore it for my birthday and didn't have any problems with it riding up and exposing the slip, as some other reviewers have noted (maybe I was just never sitting down?). The belt is a must, so I'm glad it was included. It wasn't the most slimming dress or the most flattering/sexy for my figure, but I thought it was pretty anyway! And definitely very comfortable--I was never self-conscious about any part of it. Sadly, I didn't get a single picture of me wearing it...guess I'll have to rent it again someday!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
July 6, 2012
Felt like a million bucks in this dress!
I rented this dress for my bridal shower and it was perfect. Light, Airy, and comfortable! I got so many compliment and didn't have to stress about going shopping for a dress.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 105lbs
July 11, 2012
This dress has a wow factor with the one shoulder style and flowing sleeve.
I wore this dress to an engagement party at the Yacht Club. I ordered the XS and the S, but the small was gigantic. Even the XS was far too baggy and came down over my knees. Thankfully the included belt helped me pull the length up a bit, although it made the waist less defined. Overall, this dress was super comfortable, the style was very flattering, and I received a lot of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 19, 2012
Night Life
I didn't realize that the dress had so many layers to it. The front had a cross body piece that if very flowy and beautiful - however it added a lot more pizazz than I needed for a daytime outdoor wedding. I loved the dress, but ended up wearing something I already had. It seemed more night life than I expected. If that's what you're going for though its a perfect fit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 13, 2012
Unique and light-weight. I got compliments all night long (and always bragged it was rented!).
My friends and I sang during the wedding ceremony, so I wanted to look especially nice. I got compliments all night long on both the singing AND the dress! The wedding was in Atlanta, and I chose this dress for the weather as much as the occasion. It's chiffon so nice and lightweight for a city that is known for getting HOT. It was a total success. The medium fit perfectly (I usually wear a 6), and I could place the belt wherever made the dress the most flattering. I would definitely recommend this dress. The pattern really makes it stand out among a sea of solids!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 13, 2012
Great dress for an outdoor wedding.
I chose this dress because I wanted something different from what I tend to wear and something that would be comfortable if it was very hot since we would be outside the entire wedding. I went back and forth between the Small and the Medium, finally settling on the Small without the belt. I tend to wear a Medium (6/8). The sleeved arm did not lay on my arm like it does in the picture. However, this dress was very comfortable and I am very happy with my choice.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 15, 2012
fabulous dress!!!
Fit amazingly, draped really nicely. I wore it without the belt and it fit in a really flattering way. Hid my minor tummy situation :) Got tons of compliments. It rode up a little when I sat, and showed the lining - but didn't look bad because the lining coordinates so well with the design on the dress. I'd rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
August 17, 2012
The dress made me feel pretty and fun on my birthday. Perfect combo!
I wore this dress on my birthday this year and absolutely loved it! The print is gorgeous and the dress fits really well. I would love to own this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
August 17, 2012
Perfect Spring/Summer Dress!
Wore this for my best friend's bridal shower at an English Tea House! Loved the overall feel and comfort! Compliments all body types for sure; the belt is a great little add-on to add a killer waistline. I would rent this again in a heartbeat!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
August 17, 2012
Cute, Colorful Summery Dress
The purple lining did show at the hem, my husband said it looked like it's supposed to be that way, so I went with it. I struggled with how to tie the belt. But after I had it set - I really liked it! Fun and interesting lines.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 18, 2012
gorgeous
This dress is very elegant, fits true to size, and looks just as good with the belt as without. Flattering and fun to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 20, 2012
Trying on the dress and seeing my boyfriends face, he loved it! great for a long night out!
This dress is beautiful! I loved the colors and so did my boyfriend, not too crazy but still colorful. The fit was definetly large as usually I would wear a small, but trying it on it was very loose and shapeless. In my opinion it looks great without the belt if you are an hourglass since it hugs in all the right places! only thing is if you have any bit of a um backside, the underslip tends to stick out, but it didnt bother me, looks like its meant to.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
August 24, 2012
Comfortable, flowy dress
Would fit well for many body types. Lots of arm action happening, in case you have any hang-ups about that, but all-in-all great dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
August 29, 2012
Very comfortable and looked go
I thought this dress looked great, although I didn't wear the belt (I was pregnant and just starting to show). It was very comfortable and I would rent it again. The colors were great. I got lots of compliments on the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 5, 2012
Perfect for a wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding. It fit great. It is very forgiving but the belt helps give it some shape. Very comfortable. Like some of the other reviews mentioned, the slip underneath does show at times but it doesn't look out of place. I highly recommend this dress.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 10, 2012
Perfect dress for a wedding!
1. The belt looks black in pictures, but it's dark purple 2. I had a tough time getting the slip to stay invisible
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 20, 2013
Very flowy and feminine, a little "boxy" though. I didn't use the tie, I lost my waist with it on!
The dress is beautiful with the very flowing way to it, and the color pattern. It wasn't one of my favorites however from a flattering standpoint. My boyfriend couldn't stop raving about it, but I think it was more because it was so different than what I normally wear. I didn't use the tie, it didn't work well and cut the dress in the wrong spot for me. Made for a nice date night dress to sushi though, it was forgiving!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 1, 2013
I loved this dress from the start. The style is unique and the colors are beautiful. Felt great!
The fit was very nice. My only negative is that my booty is round and the top help kept riding up. Good thing there was a second layer underneath. Other than that, it was perfect and I received great comments on the dress. I wish I could have kept it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
April 5, 2013
Cute dress
Nothing special, but it was cute for an outdoor late summer wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 9, 2013
So comfortable!
Wore this for one of my engagement photo sessions and I really liked how vibrant the colors are. It was comfortable and forgiving (the belt really completes it! I wore it with nude heels and it was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 5, 2013
Great party dress!
This dress was lovely. I received many compliments. I got a XS and S just in case. It seems to run a little big so I used the belt that came with it and it looked really cute. Perfect length and the colors are beautiful.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 7, 2013
high quality dress
It did not come with the belt pictured and without it it is extremely unflattering. However, if you want to hide a big mid section, it will do the trick. I had a belt that I could wear with it so I was saved. The fabric and pattern are gorgeous. It is perfect for a summery occasion. In my case, it was for dinners at the Four Seasons in Bora Bora and I was definitely the best dressed.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
May 18, 2013
Loved it!!!
Fit perfectly, would rent again
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 133lbs
July 21, 2013
I wore this dress to a summer wedding and got compliments all afternoon. Comfortable and colorful.
The dress fit very well and I decided not to wear the belt that came with it because it seemed to bunch the dress up. I thought it looked much better with out the belt. I was flowy and airy and still form flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 7, 2013
Gorgeous
The pattern was beautiful, fun and flattering. I was afraid that the asymmetry combined with the pattern and belt would make the dress too casual, but I felt dressed up and pretty. Received tons of compliments.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 27, 2013
Many many compliments!
I ordered a size Medium with a back up size small. I was told the medium was damaged, so i ordered a different dress as a back up, and still got the size small in the caftan. It fit!!! The dress was slightly snug, but it looked like thats how it was supposed to fit. No one could tell it was supposed to be a little more flowy looking. I was so impressed, I'm usually a size medium/ 8. I got so many compliments on the dress and it definitely helped make the night more special.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
September 2, 2013
Colorful, fun dress for a wedding!
I wanted something different than what I'd normally wear for a wedding, so found this gem on RTR. I absolutely loved this dress (and the other one I rented as a 'backup', too.) The dress was flattering, colorful and fun for a wedding. The belt was very cute as well and helped give the dress shape. And of course, I had several compliments on it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 10, 2013
Loved the dress and got lots of compliments
I usually wear a small (size 2) but wore the extra small in this dress. Hated the look with the belt so just wore it without and still loved the look. Everyone else did, too! The vibrant colors made the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 20, 2013
Loved this dress, tons of compliments-
I wore it without the belt, and it worked much better for me. Felt great and comfortable all night:)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113lbs
November 1, 2013
Fun dress!
Didn't wind up wearing the dress because the wedding was a little more formal. I'm sad I didn't have another occasion in the few days I rented it to wear it. I will definitely be renting this dress for another occasion sometime! I prefer the dress without the belt, btw!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
January 23, 2014
Cute if you don't have curves.
I really loved the patten on this dress. I have hips and while it could have worked, I would not have been able to sit down in the dress. The top half was perfect for me, the bottom wasnt as forgiving.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 56
Body type: Full Bust
January 28, 2014
The kindness of the staff is outstanding. They really helped make me feel special for my event.
I am full busted this just was too tight. RTR. I did get me something just perfect in time. Best place in the world to find the perfect dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
February 9, 2014
Gorgeous fabric, great shoulder.
SHORT SHORT. Couldn't wear the belt with it because it was so short. Still a bit short even without the belt.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 1, 2014
Comfortable dress.
Very comfortable and flattering dress! I wore it for an outdoor wedding on a farm so I paired it with flats and felt comfortable in it all day and night! The colors of the dress were beautiful and it fit well. I would definitely recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
May 6, 2014
PERFECT for a outdoor evening wedding
It was HOT outside for the wedding I went to, but this dress had the perfect flow. I wore it WITHOUT the belt.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 11, 2014
Great pattern and beautiful colors!
This was a backup dress that I didn't end up wearing but loved getting to try it on. The fabric is beautiful, made me look tan, and would be perfect for a more casual wedding or rehearsal dinner type of event. The 2 fit better than the 4 on my body type but as other reviewers have said, the lining was a little longer than the dress and showed in the back on the 2.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 17, 2014
Fun & Flirty
I absolutely love this dress. I have rented it twice for two separate occasions. The top is a lil loose so although I liked the length of the large, I had to wear the medium. But I was very happy with this dress.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 14, 2014
This dress was absolutely gorgeous!
I wore this dress to a wedding in June. Very comfy and the colors were so vibrant, I received many compliments. I felt amazing. The dress can be baggy. It is best to get your size and a size bigger just to make sure. I am originally a small but fit in some extra small. The extra small fit perfectly. The slip does show but it compliments the dress. I had a great time wearing it!!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×