In the Limelight Dress

$40 rental
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Let the dress speak for itself! Take over the dance floor by wearing this little number by Mark & James by Badgley Mischka. Pair with a colorful cuff for a great overall look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable fit for C cup size - for fuller busted women, size up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice and most narrow at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - dress has a very narrow skirt so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra; dress has built-in structure in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Charteuse silk faille. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Front ruffle with gold sequins. Grosgrain ribbon at waist. Inner boning. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 29'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share
157 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(63)
Small
(83)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
August 27, 2012
I loved the bright color of the dress. Dressed in sequin accent is also a wonderful way to spend any day :-) I was told, "yellow is a great color on you", "what a wonderfully appropriate color for the day!" and "I love the detail of that dress. It looks beautiful on you!"
So, Rent the Runway is fabulous. One of the designers communicated via email with me about choosing the right accessories-and the total rental package arrived right on time. I ordered a 6 and 8. I normally wear between a 4-6, but since the other reviews said this particular dress ran small, I chose to order a larger back up size. Good thing, because I wore the 8! It was plenty comfortable, and I received compliments on it throughout the day. The color and style ended up being quite appropriate-as this was an Indian wedding-my bright yellow complemented the beautiful, vibrant colors of the day. Everything came packaged efficiently, complete with return instructions and bubble mailer to send the items back in. I just dropped them off at the USPS mailbox...and I'm done! Thank you RTR for a simple, luxurious experience. I'll be back- very SOON.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 29, 2012
Kentucky Formal
I adored this dress. I'm typically a 4, but ordered a 6 as a backup size to be safe. I ended up wearing the 6 because the 4 was a little snug around my hips and I knew I'd be dancing! The 6 looked and felt great. Would definitely recommend this dress. Everyone complimented me- its fun, yet conservative.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
August 29, 2012
It was my rehearsal dinner and I felt amazing in this beautiful dress!
I rented this dress for me rehearsal dinner and I received so many compliments. When I confessed to renting it from RTR, I was told never to return it (but I did). It was comfortable and very flattering on; also photographed beautifully.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
August 29, 2012
Runs Very Small
I normally wear a 6 or 8, and ordered this in both sizes. I could not even begin to zip the 6 and the 8 was so tight I could not function properly or even sit down in it. I was very uncomfortable and ended up wearing something I already had. I wish the sizing chart for each designer was posted.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 138lbs
August 29, 2012
Super Cute but runs small...
This is the cutest dress!! But it was too small allover to wear for me. I recommend ordering a size up.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 2, 2012
I was able to be the yellow in a ROYGBIV photo that was taken, it was a colorful wedding!
This dress was perfect for a summer wedding, and I received tons of compliments all night. I read through all of the reviews so I knew the dress was tight in the hips. Before making a decision, I chatted with a RTR stylist, and she suggested a size 6 and 8. I decided to go conservative with a size 8 and 10, and I'm so glad I did! The 8 would not go over my hips, but the 10 was absolutely perfect. It's a beautiful dress.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
September 3, 2012
Fun and Spunky!
Great dress....particularly for those of us who are short and small chested :) A lot of fun to wear. The comments about wrinkles are true - it needed to be ironed before wearing it out, and it did wrinkle a bit throughout the evening.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
September 4, 2012
Yellow Mark & James
I rented this dress in a 4 & got a 6 as my backup after reading all of the reviews. The 4 fit great but had a small defect - the sequins attachment was sewn on. It seemed to have been ripped off, so after calling RTR a few times trying to let someone know right away, I finally got through & the person I spoke with was very helpful & said that she would overnight two size 4s just to be sure. I told her I needed the dress by noon CST & it got here at 8 AM!!! Talk about GREAT service! The dress was AMAZING!! Fit great & I got so many looks & compliments with it BUT....toward the end of the night I was talking to some friends & a very drunk wedding guest came up & spilled red wine ALL over the dress! I panicked. Luckily the wedding planner came to the rescue with a bottle of seltzer & we tried our hardest to remove the stains. I called RTR first thing the next morning to let them know my dilemma & again, the person I spoke with was extrememly helpful & said they deal with a lot of stains & that it shouldn't be a problem getting it out but that someone would contact me once they receive it to let me know my next steps. Luckily, when i went to ship the dress back you could barely see the red wine. I guess club soda really works! I love RTR & will be back again & again, & again...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 13, 2012
Tight in the bust, color more green than yellow
Not for the busty or the pale. The dress was very tight through the chest (given I wear a 30 D, which isn't even a size option on this website...). The dress also has a strange greenish-tint, so that it's more a pale yellow-green in person than the cheerful canary yellow in the photos. Still think it's pretty, but not for this curvy, pale woman.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 19, 2012
Great dress, lots of compliments
Great color for end of summer wedding and good length too. Not too short for family friendly wedding. Dress fit overall was great, but I'm in between 4 and 6 and sometimes XS or S depending on dress maker and the 4 in this dress was just a little snug on my hips. Still zipped and fit well, but not as comfortable as 6, just seemed classier in slightly loser fit. Larger size wasn't too big on chest either.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 20, 2012
Rental process was VERY easy!!!
After months and months of looking at dresses on this website, I decided to finally give it a try. I rented this dress for a wedding and was pleasantly surprised that the entire process was so easy. I would definitely use RTR again. Now moving on to the dress. The dress was beautiful and the color was vibrant. I ordered sizes 2 and 4 (knowing that the dress runs small based on other reviews). As expected, I ended up wearing the 4. The 4 fit wonderfully. Overall, it was just a very pretty dress and can make any wearer feel beautiful. I received many compliments on the dress and the color. Now, the reason for the 2 star deduction. 1) I had issues with the zipper. It kept getting stuck around the waistband. There was no way I would've been able to zip it up myself (thank goodness for husbands ;) 2) It was an outdoor August wedding and it was a VERY hot day. Water glasses were dripping water. It's unpreventable and not always noticeable when a drip falls on you. The fabric and color combination made this dress not very forgiving with watermarks. I was hoping the marks would dry and blend with the rest of the dress, but this was not the case at all. If you decide to rent this dress (which, again is a beautiful dress), I would be very careful with dripping glasses, leaning to close to sink counters, or anything that may be wet. Also just in case you get a dress with a "sticky zipper", be prepare to have an extra set of hands to help you.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 24, 2012
Belt isn't anywhere near as thick as in photos.
Cute dress, I rented it for an outdoor beach wedding. Fits great, a little tight in the bust (and I'm a small "B"), but the belt that came with the dress was about a 1/2" thick ribbon, not the thick sash-type belt in the photos. Also, the dress smelled of b.o. - and went right back to RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
September 28, 2012
n/a
I was unable to wear b/c i didn't order a backup and the dress ran REALLY small
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 30, 2012
Love, love, love this dress!!!
Very flattering fit! The 6 (my usual size) was just a little too snug in the stomach area to be comfortable, so I went with the 8. This dress had enough room in the bust in both sizes. Definitely recommend this dress- overall, the fit and color are fab!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
October 3, 2012
This was a gorgeous dress that was great for my sorority's formal.
Normally I'm a comfortable 00, but in this dress the 0 was snug. I'd recommend ordering up a size or two.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
October 8, 2012
Looks great for pics, but no stretch.
Don't get me wrong, I loved this dress and don't regret this being my choice for the wedding, but you can see from reviewer's pics that the dress looks best when it is tighter so there are less wrinkles and extra material around the stomach. However, the fabric has no give. It wasn't super easy to sit in but the boning in the size 4 was a little weird around the chest so I went with the 2. The material of the dress also shows sweat marks - if you sweat, it will be visible when it dries. That said, the color felt like I was wearing a sunbeam and it was really a fun piece to wear at a fall wedding. I'd never buy a yellow dress, but borrowing from RTR gave me the freedom to wear one! I loved it and am really glad I went with it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 124lbs
October 11, 2012
Didn't get to wear it but want to rent again!
I didn't actually wear this dress since I ordered two dresses. However, I ordered this originally in a 4 and a 6 and the zipper didn't work and it was wayyyyyy too small. RTR was great about overnighting a new dress and I ended up asking for the 8 since the 6 fit but was really snug. I plan to rent this dress again since I didn't get to wear it. It's really pretty but make sure to order up in size. I should have read the reviews better.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
October 13, 2012
I didn't get to wear the dress.
It runs very small.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 16, 2012
I absolutely loved this dress!
The dress was super comfortable, ran true to size, elegant, gorgeous color. Not as dressy as the picture makes it seem but the color really makes you stand out!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
October 31, 2012
.
I loved this dress, however, I could not even fit into it :( I usually wear an 8L but I couldn't even get this dress over my hips. I could squeeze into the size 10 but it was far too tight and not flattering for my body type. I was very bummed because it is so cute.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 3, 2012
Perfect yellow color- amazing fit and loved the sparkle
This dress is the perfect shade of yellow and the gold sparkle puts it over the top. It fit slightly small, so I was happy that I ordered one size up. Very comfortable too- overall a big hit!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 13, 2012
Absolutely gorgeous!
I wore this to my boyfriend's homecoming and it was beautiful. I absolutely loves it. It doesn't have give in the hips so make sure to size up if you have full hips. I got so many compliments on the dress, I wish i didn't have to give it back. Definitely would rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 14, 2012
Adorable but wrinkly and zipper was broken
I wanted to wear this dress but the zipper was broken when I received it. Very flattering dress, loved the color and fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
November 19, 2012
I am a teacher & wanted to wear this to Prom, but neither dress fit! Thankfully I brought an extra!
I normally wear a size 2 or a 4, so those were the two sizes I ordered. Neither one fit at all! I was able to get the 4 on and zipped, but it was so tight in the hips that I would not have been able to sit. So basically if you do not have hips (which I do) and your bust is at least a B or a C cup, then this dress will probably work for you. Just note that the fabric does not stretch at all. It was beautiful on the hanger, but unfortunately did not work with my body at all. What a bummer!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 23, 2012
Fell in LOVE with this dress! The perfect balance of cute, classy, and glam.
I wore this to a outdoor wedding outisde San Francisco. It was the perfect dress. It was bright, fun, and comfortable for the summer, but the beautiful gold ribbion running down the side stepped it up a notch to become dressier and added an a flattering element. I had strangers complementing it all night. great, fun, dress for a summer affair. Fit true to size, snug, which you want for a strapless.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 26, 2012
Beautiful dress. Really stands in the crowd.
Runs very small. I am always a size 4 in every brand but I was definitely a 6 and that was still tight and contricting.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
December 28, 2012
Classy and Figure Flattering!I
I wore this dress to my sorority formal and I received a lot of compliments throughout the night. I would say the fit was just right although since I am petite, the dress rested a little below my knees. I just tucked the hem in a little bit and it was good to go.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 6, 2013
bold and beautiful!
snug fit and make sure you are not wearing dark underwear underneath.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
February 7, 2013
Bright and Sparkly!
This dress was super fun to wear. Being very short, I was worried that the dress would not fit, but it did! The only issue was that it was a very stiff material and had no stretch to it. I had a fun night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 13, 2013
Beautiful shade of yellow, very little give in material
Loved the dress! Was perfect for a wedding I was attending. However, even though I usually wear small, xsmall, 0-2 I couldnt zip this dress up. Fit perfectly everywhere except around my chest/rid cage. The material had no give and could no zip it past darker sash material. No time to send it back, had to eat the money and go with another dress. Thank god I packed one. Really sorry I couldn't wear it- it was gorgeous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 14, 2013
I was excited to receive the dress, but I didn't like the way it fit. I didn't end up wearing it.
I didn't think the dress was flattering on me. Thank God for the 2nd dress, as I loved that one and wore it instead.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
March 15, 2013
Beautiful color, good fit, great for a spring/summer event!
I ordered the size 2 and 4 in this dress. I debated on which one to wear because the size 2 fit great in my chest area, but was snug from the hips down. The 4 fit great from the hips down, but was too big in the chest area. I ended up wearing the 2, got several compliments, and had a great night. Towards the end of the evening, I was definitely ready to get into something more comfortable though. I would recommend the dress to a friend, it is probably better on a girl that doesn't have too many curves, though.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 20, 2013
Awesome color and feel!
I loved this dress. Very flattering, although it ran pretty small in the hips for me and I had to wear the larger size. Received a lot of compliments, and felt great in the dress all night long. I would highly recommend it for a summer wedding.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 9, 2013
Compliments are instantaneous with this dress!
As soon as I put it on, I got so many compliments! I wore this dress to emcee a formal event. It stands out and the fanned fabric on the side gives it a nice detail to make it unique. I've never seen another dress like it. It does run small, I saw the other reviews and ordered my size and next size up. Went with the larger one. It's also a little tight in the thigh area so it pulled and made the stomach area looser than it should have been. I just made sure to stand up straight and that fixed it right away. Loved it and would definitely wear it again!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 136lbs
April 19, 2013
Felt so amazing in this dress it looked great and got a ton of compliments all night!
Fit snug formfitting and the only issue I had was the lining kept peeking out! I used a little lingerie tape and that kept it in place for the most part.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
June 3, 2013
ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS DRESS!!! Everything I hoped it would be!!
I have nothing bad to say about this dress. I ordered a size 2 & 4 and I ended up wearing the 2 and it was prefect. I just recently just lost some weight so I wasnt sure what sizes to pick but I am so glad I went with the 2 and 4. I wore this dress to a wedding and I received so many complements on it. It was a little hard to seat in but once I realized that, it was easy to adjust. I matched it with nude heels and a cute nude clutch! I would definitely rent this again! Thank you RTR for another get rental!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
June 18, 2013
So many compliments!
The dress fit very well and I received so many compliments on it. I also chose the surprise accessory pick by a stylist and she picked a beautiful tear drop earring that went perfectly with the dress. Great dress to wear to a wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
August 13, 2013
So many compliments on this dress
not my usual color- and it is definitely brighter than the picture- more of a neon than a "lemon". I usually wear a 0 and had to go with the 2- it was still a little tight on the hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 26, 2013
Compliments all around!
This dress looks great on, and I got compliments from everyone! In deciding between wearing this dress and another I had ordered, this dress won hands down in a vote among my friends and family. It was very comfortable and the top felt secure even while dancing. The color was perfect for an outdoor summer wedding! I'm glad I ordered a size larger as a backup, because I definitely needed it - seems to run pretty small in the waist. Once I sized up it generally fit fine, though I had to slip on a bandeau bra to make the top fit just right.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 13, 2013
Fun, flirty!
I loved this dress! It was long enough to dance in and pretty comfortable. The only negative was the dress overlay would keep riding up and the built in slip would show at the bottom. If you have a big rump, just know it will ride up.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×