Mark & James by Badgley Mischka

In the Limelight Dress

$40 rental
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Let the dress speak for itself! Take over the dance floor by wearing this little number by Mark & James by Badgley Mischka. Pair with a colorful cuff for a great overall look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable fit for C cup size - for fuller busted women, size up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice and most narrow at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - dress has a very narrow skirt so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra; dress has built-in structure in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable fit for C cup size - for fuller busted women, size up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice and most narrow at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - dress has a very narrow skirt so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra; dress has built-in structure in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Charteuse silk faille. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Front ruffle with gold sequins. Grosgrain ribbon at waist. Inner boning. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 29'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

143 reviews

Fit
Small 80
True to Size 61
Large 1
Photos 80
BWK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 22, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was amazing! The material was very flattering. I did have to go up a size because of the fit across the hips. The bust and waist run true to size, but I needed a little bit of extra room in the hips for this one. Absolutely loved it!
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 8, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress runs true to size though it's a bit tight in the hips. For an alternate size, I would go up just in case. The color of the fabric is easily effected by variant lighting- at times it can be a beautiful, vibrant yellow but it can also take on a lime green hue. At first I wasn't crazy about the dress because it seemed so ill fitted in the hips and because the fabric looked inexpensive to me. However, when I wore it for the wedding (which was during the late afternoon to evening), the dress came to life for me- I never thought I would have that much fun with looking sparkly in sequins, and it ultimately made a strong positive impression on the other guests. I received a lot of glowing compliments.
Whitney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 13, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Looks cheap in person, especially the ribbon belt -- kinda like a choir show dress. I found it loose around the hips and tight in the chest. Didn't wear it, would not recommend it.
DK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 30, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
AMAZING DRESS. I didn't want to take it off! Very fitted dress so may seem tight at first, but smaller size ended up looking better. Definitely order 2nd dress one size up, if available, just in case.
DW
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 4, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this dress for an afternoon summer wedding. It was so bright and sparkly and fun, it put me in a great mood. I found the fit to be odd, the size that fit my hips and waist was HUGE across the chest. I have a small rib cage, but am not flat, (32C) so it was strange to me that it didn't fit up there. I wound up pinning the side when cutlets in my bra still didn't do the trick. But it was worth it to get to wear this gem of a dress. I got so many compliments. I would definitely get a back-up size if you are getting this dress. Maybe go your true size and then go up a size if you are hippy. Go down a size if you are flat chested.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Jul 13, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I was looking forward to wearing this dress however, the size 6 was very tight throughout the hips. I would go up a size just in case if you have an athletic or hour glass shape. The color was beautiful with just the right amount of sparkle and shape to make it interesting. The fabric itself was in great condition. Unfortunately I was not able to wear it!
amandag
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 23, 2011

Overall fit: Small
If you have big thighs, you probably need to order 4 sizes up. I have had no problems in renting other 6s and mediums but a 6 and and 8 in this did not work. I could not get it to pull up past my thighs! The zipper didn't give much room to squeeze into either. Very disappointed. And this dress arrived all wrinkled... you will have to do a lot of ironing if you decide on this one. Beware!
Kae
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 22, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
The dress fit to size, hips were fine. The bust had a little extra room for a padded bra, which I recommend for a less than C-cup. The material's texture, color and sequins were not what I expected, but it still looked great. I received my dress two days before the event (as ordered), but its zipper had a slight rip and wouldn't zip up. I called RTR the minute I realized it and they sent a new one overnight. The customer service was AMAZING and I will be ordering at least two more dresses before the year is up! THANK YOU!
EMC
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 30, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Very cute and fun dress but (as other reviewers stated) ran small through the hips. It was too tight through the hips for me to wear it. I should have ordered a size up. Thankfully my backup dress fit like a dream!
RBF
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Aug 31, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Order up a size. Like other reviewers, I found this dress tight around the hips. Furthermore, I am very small chested and had trouble getting the dress zippered (although that could be because the zipper was "sticky"). I almost always wear a size zero - luckily I also ordered a 2 and it just fit. Otherwise the dress was different and fun - just what I was looking for! I got compliments on it all night!
Jen
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Sep 1, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I love this dress! I rented it for a June wedding, and received so many compliments on it! It fit like a glove and the dress is wonderfully made. I'm not one to dress up often, but was thrilled with the fit, color, and style. I got a 4 and a 6, and either would have worked, but I felt more comfortable in the smaller size- no fear of it falling down. My only dilemma was that RTR doesn't rent shoes too!
LCE
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 12, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I recently wore this dress to a summer wedding. It was gorgeous, fit well and I received a ton of compliments. I found the dress to be a little constricting around the legs since there wasn't any slit in the back and the fabrics isn't very stretchy. But overall it's still a great dress.
Rachel M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 12, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is super cute and fun, and I was so disappointed I wasn't able to wear it! The smaller size was too tight around the hips for me, and the bigger size was huge up top. Totally cute dress but not for the pear-shaped.
Bella
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 15, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Make sure you order 2 sizes up! That's how small these dress is. Otherwise it is gorgeous!
Carrie
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
Sep 20, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this to a wedding in June and LOVED it! I went up a size only becase it was tight in the hips...everything else was true to size. I got tons of compliments and felt like a million bucks in it! Thanks RTR!
Krystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 14, 2011

Too bad too small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I couldn't wear this lovely dress because it was too small :( It would have looked awesome on me if I had gotten a bigger size that fit. I would rent this again though... maybe in the spring! My advice would be to order 2 sizes up if you have larger hips.
Katie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Dec 1, 2011

Beautiful, but not for curvy

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Really is a fun, and beautiful dress! Just very straight through the hips... so size up or pick a different dress if you are curvy in that region!
EJS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 2, 2011

Runs Small

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved this dress but it was a strange fit. I have large hips and that seemed to be the place where it fit the tightest. Other than that the dress is gorgeous. It's probably best for those who are straight and narrow though.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Dec 11, 2011

Very nice!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is very stunning. I rented it for both my and my husband's office parties last night and received many compliments. It is a truly stunning dress that you just don't find in your average mall. The yellow is more vibrant than it appears in the picture - which I liked. The sash is not as wide as in the picture. The sequins are an awesome touch. I wore sequined pumps to match. As for size, I would typically be a 4, and I fit easily into the 6, so I would suggest you go up one size.
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 5, 2012

Great Yellow Dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress out for New Years Eve. I would say I usually wear a size 6 but I got the 8 because everyone said it ran small. It was hard to zip around the belt but may have just been from wear and tear from previous people wearing the dress. I wear a 34 C and usually go up a dress size and would suggest you do too if you have a large bust, the dress does not stretch. I'm also pretty short but the length of the dress was perfect.
Kinsley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 30, 2012

Awesome Dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! I think it runs small because I am normally an 8 or 10 in dresses and the 12 was TIGHT on me. I am glad I ordered the 10 and 12! I received SO many compliments on this - I felt great in it, too!
laurennthony1
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
May 3, 2012

not for girls with curves

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress for a wedding I had last weekend never got a chance to wear it. It was a beautiful color and fabric. I usually wear a size 4 so I ordered accordingly and a size 6 just incase.. well the 4 didnt come close to fitting and the 6 was too tight across my rear (gave pancake butt!). Im 5 ft 8, weigh anywhere from 130-135 and am a 34 D. hope this helps.. dress was very pretty just not for curvy girls!
Lacy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 7, 2012

Runs very small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a 6 but couldn't even zip up the 8. Luckily this was a back-up dress.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×