In the Limelight Dress

$40 rental
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Let the dress speak for itself! Take over the dance floor by wearing this little number by Mark & James by Badgley Mischka. Pair with a colorful cuff for a great overall look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable fit for C cup size - for fuller busted women, size up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice and most narrow at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - dress has a very narrow skirt so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra; dress has built-in structure in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Charteuse silk faille. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Front ruffle with gold sequins. Grosgrain ribbon at waist. Inner boning. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 29'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share
157 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(63)
Small
(83)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 106lbs
April 23, 2012
It was very nice that the dresses arrived on time and completely laundered. I love shopping online and this process makes it so easy to do!
I rented this dress for a friend's wedding and was very satisfied! I got a ton of compliments on the dress and it was really nice to wear something "different" rather than the typical white house, black market dress for me. I will be using RTR again for my 10 year reunion this summer... it is very easy to use. Size wise: I am normally a size 0 in pants and skirts but ordered the 0,2 to be on the safe side. I wore the 2 because it was snug in the rib area and the 2 was much more comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
April 24, 2012
There was a slight tear in one of the seams when I received the dress, but I immediately called and Rent the Runway sent another dress overnight which was perfect.
I loved this dress especially the bright color. I am usually a size 0-2 and the 0 fit very well. I also rented the size 2 but it was a bit loose at the top and waist.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
April 30, 2012
Awesome Dress
I loved this dress! I think it runs small because I am normally an 8 or 10 in dresses and the 12 was TIGHT on me. I am glad I ordered the 10 and 12! I received SO many compliments on this - I felt great in it, too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
May 3, 2012
not for girls with curves
I ordered this dress for a wedding I had last weekend never got a chance to wear it. It was a beautiful color and fabric. I usually wear a size 4 so I ordered accordingly and a size 6 just incase.. well the 4 didnt come close to fitting and the 6 was too tight across my rear (gave pancake butt!). Im 5 ft 8, weigh anywhere from 130-135 and am a 34 D. hope this helps.. dress was very pretty just not for curvy girls!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 7, 2012
Runs very small
I usually wear a 6 but couldn't even zip up the 8. Luckily this was a back-up dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 21, 2012
I wore this dress to my sorority's formal and I looked great.
I ordered a 2 and a 4. The 2 was way too tight and the 4's zipper broke when I tried it on for the first time! Luckily, the RTR team was able to overnight me another 4 that they had. While the zipper on my new one was still stiff, I was satisfied with the dress and the help I got when I freaked out. The hips are tight but the top is true to size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 27, 2012
Not what I expected
I rented this dress for prom in a 10 and 12, which are the sizes I normally wear. First, the dress was the same color as the picture -- it had more of a green tint which I was not expecting. When I tried the dress on, it was very tight and wouldnt zip. Its still pretty, just not fit for curvy girls.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 26, 2012
Looks Great!
I rented this dress in a 0 and a 2. The 0 fit perfectly! I wore it at a reception and was able move, dance, and look amazing all at the same time. Yellow really isnt my color but I loved the dress and would rent it again for another formal event. Awesome dress thanks RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 155lbs
July 2, 2012
Beautiful dress!
There isn't much to be said about this dress besides it's absolutely gorgeous! It was definitely a stand-out at the wedding we attended.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 16, 2012
The compliments were amazing! Two servers at the reception actually stopped me to ask where I got the dress, and after the wedding I checked my phone to find a text from a friend who had already seen uploaded pictures and was asking the same question!
After reading previous reviews and seeing the multiple warnings for those of us with curves, I actually ordered a size up for my first size and ordered two sizes up for my second. Thank goodness! While there was plenty of room in the bust, the dress runs tight through the hips for those who are curvier, and I had to end up wearing my back up size, which was still a little snug around the hips. The dress itself was absolutely wonderful in person and perfect for summer!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
July 19, 2012
Beautiful Dress
First let me start off by saying that this dress is so so cute and that the RTR customer service team is AMAZING! The color is so flattering and it looks so pretty on. IF you have curves (bigger hips or booty) I would definately say that this dress tricky. I generally wear a size 4 but after reading that this dress fits tight in the hips, decided to order a 6 & 8. Boy was I glad I did because the 8 fit and was still a bit of a squeeze. I had zipper issues with the dress (it got stuck right around the ribbon area) and the RTR team overnighted me another one. As I was leaving to go to my friends wedding I put the new dress on and the zipper got stuck again in the same spot and wouldn't go up. I ended up wearing something in my closet and was so sad that I couldn't wear this beautfiul dress. RTR thankfully took care of me! Overall if you are a Pear or Hourglass shape be prepared to go up a few sizes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 19, 2012
3rd time renting here and I love it!
I was eyeing this dress for a long time and knew I wanted to get it for my Birthday. I ordered the 0 and the 2 but wish I got the 2 and the 4. I ended up wearing the 2 which fit fine but was bit tight in the hips. So if you're very curvy I say order up. I would recommend this dress if you are considering it, it's very pretty and fun for the summer!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
July 20, 2012
Great Fit!
I rented this dress for my high school homecoming and it was a great fit. I am 5'2 and it was a bit long on me so i pinned it to make it shorter and above the knees. I paired it with nude heels. I would highly recommend this dress, i got lots of compliments on it and it was very unique. None of my friends had it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
July 23, 2012
I looked classy and chic
This is a beautiful dress I got lots of compliments all night long at my friend's wedding : ) just the perfect color for my skin tone I lo I will rent it again
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
August 8, 2012
Worth Every Penny
I absolutely loved the dress! I'm glad I read reviews and ordered up though. I normally wear a 2 but this dress was snug in the hips so the 4 fit much better (I have a small chest but larger hips). I had so many compliments, I would recommend to anyone!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 10, 2012
Great Party Dress
This dress was a little snug but the other size I ordered had a stain on it when I received it. It stayed put so I never really had to pull it up which was great.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
Weight: 143lbs
August 14, 2012
pretty - runs so small!
I was so unhappy when I got this. First off, it looked quite worn, and secondly, it was SO tight in the hips. if you are a curvy girl...FORGET IT. If not, I am sure it will be stunning on you as it is quite pretty. Also, just FYI - the color isn't as bright yellow as it looks here, it's sort of a green-ish yellow.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 14, 2012
Stunning...but runs small
This dress is stunning and is a great summer look. I was unable to wear it because I had to go up a size to accommodate the narrow hips/no stretch through the hips, which made the top too big and the midsection had too much material and looked pouchy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 16, 2012
Great fun little dress!
I wore this dress for a fun charity cocktail hour. Loved it and got tons of compliments. The belt added a little nighttime glamour without making it too dressy.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 112lbs
August 18, 2012
Love this dress!
Wore this dress to a friends wedding. Great dress and fit. Ordered it in a size 2, but it was a little too loose around the hips, called RTR and they sent the size 0 straight out. Great experience, so easy and would definitely rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
August 21, 2012
This dress flattered my figure, I got so many compliments and I felt super hot!
I wore this dress for a date night with my fiance to celebrate our week until we get married. I felt so fabulous in this dress and received so many compliments. I am normally a size 6 in dresses, but wore the 8 in this dress because the skirt is narrow and has no give. Going up a size didn't change the fit of the top significantly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
August 23, 2012
loved the sequins!
This dress was so fun! I loved dancing in it, it wasn't as bright of a yellow as I thought it would be, but still very cute.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
August 24, 2012
Runs very small
I am 5'3" and am about 140 lbs and never in my life have I ever been anything larger than a size 8, but the size 10 hardly fit. Needless to say, I did not wear it and had to return it and go shopping right away for another dress for the wedding. Seriously, take your measurements before you order this dress and see what size you would be in this dress, because I am usually a 6/7 in dresses but not this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 26, 2012
Beautiful dress, compliments all night. I think RTR will have a few more customers from my bragging :)
I rented this for a friends wedding and got MANY compliments all night, even from strangers! It is true to size but there is no give in the fabric, so my normal size fit until I sat down...so the size I wore was a bit big on me but still looked great. The only problem I noted was the zipper is very hard to zip up. Also, when I received the dresses, the size 6 had a bit of a stain, so I called RTR and they shipped me another one that night no problem - great customer service!!
View photos (0)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
August 27, 2012
I loved the bright color of the dress. Dressed in sequin accent is also a wonderful way to spend any day :-) I was told, "yellow is a great color on you", "what a wonderfully appropriate color for the day!" and "I love the detail of that dress. It looks beautiful on you!"
So, Rent the Runway is fabulous. One of the designers communicated via email with me about choosing the right accessories-and the total rental package arrived right on time. I ordered a 6 and 8. I normally wear between a 4-6, but since the other reviews said this particular dress ran small, I chose to order a larger back up size. Good thing, because I wore the 8! It was plenty comfortable, and I received compliments on it throughout the day. The color and style ended up being quite appropriate-as this was an Indian wedding-my bright yellow complemented the beautiful, vibrant colors of the day. Everything came packaged efficiently, complete with return instructions and bubble mailer to send the items back in. I just dropped them off at the USPS mailbox...and I'm done! Thank you RTR for a simple, luxurious experience. I'll be back- very SOON.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 29, 2012
Kentucky Formal
I adored this dress. I'm typically a 4, but ordered a 6 as a backup size to be safe. I ended up wearing the 6 because the 4 was a little snug around my hips and I knew I'd be dancing! The 6 looked and felt great. Would definitely recommend this dress. Everyone complimented me- its fun, yet conservative.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
August 29, 2012
It was my rehearsal dinner and I felt amazing in this beautiful dress!
I rented this dress for me rehearsal dinner and I received so many compliments. When I confessed to renting it from RTR, I was told never to return it (but I did). It was comfortable and very flattering on; also photographed beautifully.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
August 29, 2012
Runs Very Small
I normally wear a 6 or 8, and ordered this in both sizes. I could not even begin to zip the 6 and the 8 was so tight I could not function properly or even sit down in it. I was very uncomfortable and ended up wearing something I already had. I wish the sizing chart for each designer was posted.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 138lbs
August 29, 2012
Super Cute but runs small...
This is the cutest dress!! But it was too small allover to wear for me. I recommend ordering a size up.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 2, 2012
I was able to be the yellow in a ROYGBIV photo that was taken, it was a colorful wedding!
This dress was perfect for a summer wedding, and I received tons of compliments all night. I read through all of the reviews so I knew the dress was tight in the hips. Before making a decision, I chatted with a RTR stylist, and she suggested a size 6 and 8. I decided to go conservative with a size 8 and 10, and I'm so glad I did! The 8 would not go over my hips, but the 10 was absolutely perfect. It's a beautiful dress.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
September 3, 2012
Fun and Spunky!
Great dress....particularly for those of us who are short and small chested :) A lot of fun to wear. The comments about wrinkles are true - it needed to be ironed before wearing it out, and it did wrinkle a bit throughout the evening.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
September 4, 2012
Yellow Mark & James
I rented this dress in a 4 & got a 6 as my backup after reading all of the reviews. The 4 fit great but had a small defect - the sequins attachment was sewn on. It seemed to have been ripped off, so after calling RTR a few times trying to let someone know right away, I finally got through & the person I spoke with was very helpful & said that she would overnight two size 4s just to be sure. I told her I needed the dress by noon CST & it got here at 8 AM!!! Talk about GREAT service! The dress was AMAZING!! Fit great & I got so many looks & compliments with it BUT....toward the end of the night I was talking to some friends & a very drunk wedding guest came up & spilled red wine ALL over the dress! I panicked. Luckily the wedding planner came to the rescue with a bottle of seltzer & we tried our hardest to remove the stains. I called RTR first thing the next morning to let them know my dilemma & again, the person I spoke with was extrememly helpful & said they deal with a lot of stains & that it shouldn't be a problem getting it out but that someone would contact me once they receive it to let me know my next steps. Luckily, when i went to ship the dress back you could barely see the red wine. I guess club soda really works! I love RTR & will be back again & again, & again...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 20, 2013
Awesome color and feel!
I loved this dress. Very flattering, although it ran pretty small in the hips for me and I had to wear the larger size. Received a lot of compliments, and felt great in the dress all night long. I would highly recommend it for a summer wedding.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 9, 2013
Compliments are instantaneous with this dress!
As soon as I put it on, I got so many compliments! I wore this dress to emcee a formal event. It stands out and the fanned fabric on the side gives it a nice detail to make it unique. I've never seen another dress like it. It does run small, I saw the other reviews and ordered my size and next size up. Went with the larger one. It's also a little tight in the thigh area so it pulled and made the stomach area looser than it should have been. I just made sure to stand up straight and that fixed it right away. Loved it and would definitely wear it again!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 136lbs
April 19, 2013
Felt so amazing in this dress it looked great and got a ton of compliments all night!
Fit snug formfitting and the only issue I had was the lining kept peeking out! I used a little lingerie tape and that kept it in place for the most part.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 3, 2013
ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS DRESS!!! Everything I hoped it would be!!
I have nothing bad to say about this dress. I ordered a size 2 & 4 and I ended up wearing the 2 and it was prefect. I just recently just lost some weight so I wasnt sure what sizes to pick but I am so glad I went with the 2 and 4. I wore this dress to a wedding and I received so many complements on it. It was a little hard to seat in but once I realized that, it was easy to adjust. I matched it with nude heels and a cute nude clutch! I would definitely rent this again! Thank you RTR for another get rental!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
June 18, 2013
So many compliments!
The dress fit very well and I received so many compliments on it. I also chose the surprise accessory pick by a stylist and she picked a beautiful tear drop earring that went perfectly with the dress. Great dress to wear to a wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
August 13, 2013
So many compliments on this dress
not my usual color- and it is definitely brighter than the picture- more of a neon than a "lemon". I usually wear a 0 and had to go with the 2- it was still a little tight on the hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 26, 2013
Compliments all around!
This dress looks great on, and I got compliments from everyone! In deciding between wearing this dress and another I had ordered, this dress won hands down in a vote among my friends and family. It was very comfortable and the top felt secure even while dancing. The color was perfect for an outdoor summer wedding! I'm glad I ordered a size larger as a backup, because I definitely needed it - seems to run pretty small in the waist. Once I sized up it generally fit fine, though I had to slip on a bandeau bra to make the top fit just right.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 13, 2013
Fun, flirty!
I loved this dress! It was long enough to dance in and pretty comfortable. The only negative was the dress overlay would keep riding up and the built in slip would show at the bottom. If you have a big rump, just know it will ride up.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×