In the Limelight Dress

$40 rental
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Let the dress speak for itself! Take over the dance floor by wearing this little number by Mark & James by Badgley Mischka. Pair with a colorful cuff for a great overall look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable fit for C cup size - for fuller busted women, size up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice and most narrow at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - dress has a very narrow skirt so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra; dress has built-in structure in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Charteuse silk faille. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Front ruffle with gold sequins. Grosgrain ribbon at waist. Inner boning. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 29'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share
157 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(63)
Small
(83)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 20, 2012
Rental process was VERY easy!!!

After months and months of looking at dresses on this website, I decided to finally give it a try. I rented this dress for a wedding and was pleasantly surprised that the entire process was so easy. I would definitely use RTR again. Now moving on to the dress. The dress was beautiful and the color was vibrant. I ordered sizes 2 and 4 (knowing that the dress runs small based on other reviews). As expected, I ended up wearing the 4. The 4 fit wonderfully. Overall, it was just a very pretty dress and can make any wearer feel beautiful. I received many compliments on the dress and the color. Now, the reason for the 2 star deduction. 1) I had issues with the zipper. It kept getting stuck around the waistband. There was no way I would've been able to zip it up myself (thank goodness for husbands ;) 2) It was an outdoor August wedding and it was a VERY hot day. Water glasses were dripping water. It's unpreventable and not always noticeable when a drip falls on you. The fabric and color combination made this dress not very forgiving with watermarks. I was hoping the marks would dry and blend with the rest of the dress, but this was not the case at all. If you decide to rent this dress (which, again is a beautiful dress), I would be very careful with dripping glasses, leaning to close to sink counters, or anything that may be wet. Also just in case you get a dress with a "sticky zipper", be prepare to have an extra set of hands to help you.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
September 28, 2012
n/a

I was unable to wear b/c i didn't order a backup and the dress ran REALLY small

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 30, 2012
Love, love, love this dress!!!

Very flattering fit! The 6 (my usual size) was just a little too snug in the stomach area to be comfortable, so I went with the 8. This dress had enough room in the bust in both sizes. Definitely recommend this dress- overall, the fit and color are fab!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
October 3, 2012
This was a gorgeous dress that was great for my sorority's formal.

Normally I'm a comfortable 00, but in this dress the 0 was snug. I'd recommend ordering up a size or two.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 124lbs
October 11, 2012
Didn't get to wear it but want to rent again!

I didn't actually wear this dress since I ordered two dresses. However, I ordered this originally in a 4 and a 6 and the zipper didn't work and it was wayyyyyy too small. RTR was great about overnighting a new dress and I ended up asking for the 8 since the 6 fit but was really snug. I plan to rent this dress again since I didn't get to wear it. It's really pretty but make sure to order up in size. I should have read the reviews better.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 13, 2012
I didn't get to wear the dress.

It runs very small.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
October 31, 2012
.

I loved this dress, however, I could not even fit into it :( I usually wear an 8L but I couldn't even get this dress over my hips. I could squeeze into the size 10 but it was far too tight and not flattering for my body type. I was very bummed because it is so cute.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 3, 2012
Perfect yellow color- amazing fit and loved the sparkle

This dress is the perfect shade of yellow and the gold sparkle puts it over the top. It fit slightly small, so I was happy that I ordered one size up. Very comfortable too- overall a big hit!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 13, 2012
Absolutely gorgeous!

I wore this to my boyfriend's homecoming and it was beautiful. I absolutely loves it. It doesn't have give in the hips so make sure to size up if you have full hips. I got so many compliments on the dress, I wish i didn't have to give it back. Definitely would rent again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
November 19, 2012
I am a teacher & wanted to wear this to Prom, but neither dress fit! Thankfully I brought an extra!

I normally wear a size 2 or a 4, so those were the two sizes I ordered. Neither one fit at all! I was able to get the 4 on and zipped, but it was so tight in the hips that I would not have been able to sit. So basically if you do not have hips (which I do) and your bust is at least a B or a C cup, then this dress will probably work for you. Just note that the fabric does not stretch at all. It was beautiful on the hanger, but unfortunately did not work with my body at all. What a bummer!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 26, 2012
Beautiful dress. Really stands in the crowd.

Runs very small. I am always a size 4 in every brand but I was definitely a 6 and that was still tight and contricting.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 13, 2013
Beautiful shade of yellow, very little give in material

Loved the dress! Was perfect for a wedding I was attending. However, even though I usually wear small, xsmall, 0-2 I couldnt zip this dress up. Fit perfectly everywhere except around my chest/rid cage. The material had no give and could no zip it past darker sash material. No time to send it back, had to eat the money and go with another dress. Thank god I packed one. Really sorry I couldn't wear it- it was gorgeous.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 20, 2013
Awesome color and feel!

I loved this dress. Very flattering, although it ran pretty small in the hips for me and I had to wear the larger size. Received a lot of compliments, and felt great in the dress all night long. I would highly recommend it for a summer wedding.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 9, 2013
Compliments are instantaneous with this dress!

As soon as I put it on, I got so many compliments! I wore this dress to emcee a formal event. It stands out and the fanned fabric on the side gives it a nice detail to make it unique. I've never seen another dress like it. It does run small, I saw the other reviews and ordered my size and next size up. Went with the larger one. It's also a little tight in the thigh area so it pulled and made the stomach area looser than it should have been. I just made sure to stand up straight and that fixed it right away. Loved it and would definitely wear it again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
August 13, 2013
So many compliments on this dress

not my usual color- and it is definitely brighter than the picture- more of a neon than a "lemon". I usually wear a 0 and had to go with the 2- it was still a little tight on the hips.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 26, 2013
Compliments all around!

This dress looks great on, and I got compliments from everyone! In deciding between wearing this dress and another I had ordered, this dress won hands down in a vote among my friends and family. It was very comfortable and the top felt secure even while dancing. The color was perfect for an outdoor summer wedding! I'm glad I ordered a size larger as a backup, because I definitely needed it - seems to run pretty small in the waist. Once I sized up it generally fit fine, though I had to slip on a bandeau bra to make the top fit just right.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
December 23, 2013
Pretty in photos, not perfect in life.

The dress definitely runs small. I am generally an 8 and I went up one size with the 10 and it was still tight. It did zip, but wearing a tight dress for 5 hours can be painful. I am also very busty and it was definitely small in the bust. I'm not sure even going up a size would have fixed that problem though. The material is sort of a weird texture that looks great in photo because of the way it catches light, but is kind of odd in real life. It also is very unforgiving to stains and by the end of the night I had some issues with slight underarm stains as well as stains from spilt drinks that did show very clearly in photos. I wore it with gold glitter peep toe heels, a gold cuff, pearl earrings and a simple gold chain necklace.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 10, 2014
Too tight and fabric with no stretch.

I thought this dress looked so cute on the model and in several of the people who rented it. I read a lot of reviews and was hesitant but decided the yellow was perfect for a friend's wedding in Florida. It arrived a day earlier than expected which was awesome because I ended up not being able to wear it and having to go with something I already owned. I am normally an 8, but I had to squeeze into the 10. The zipper was very hard to get over the belted area and the fabric had no stretch so made it very uncomfortable. Also, the fabric is very unforgiving in terms of the stomach and hip area. The color in the pictures are deceiving...it is more of a mustard yellow than bright. I am more curvy so do think this dress would look good on someone more straight and narrow. I still love RTR just do not think this was the right dress for my body type. Luckily, they have a great return policy!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 10, 2014
This was the perfect dress for an upscale outdoor wedding in June.

Like many others said, this definitely runs small in the bottom portion. It also has no stretch, whatsoever, so keep that in mind when ordering. That being said, it was a great dress and the gold accent gave it just a little something unusual compared to the other yellow dresses at the wedding.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 13, 2014
Unfortunately both sizes didn't fit!

Unfortunately both sizes I ordered did not fit! I always rent for RTR and have never encountered this problem at all! RTR was very nice and allowed me to return it with a full refund. I wish I could have wore it because it really is a beautiful dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 27, 2014
I rented this for my junior prom. I loved the color and I received a ton of compliments!

The last dress I ordered from Rent the Runway a few weeks before this was a size 2, and I needed a size 6 for this one, so it definitely runs much smaller. It is tighter on the bottom than it is on the top, but other than that it looked great and I definitely recommend it for a formal event.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 29, 2014
The dress looks even better in person!

It runs VERY small. I'm usually a 2-4 but I orderd a 4-6. The 6 fit great, but the zipper was worn out from the last person/people that rented it. My boyfriend tried zipping it for me, and even though there was plenty of slack, the zipper came off the track. I was so upset, because the 4 was to small. But I squeezed into it anyway. The material is thick, so it's good for spring. Or summer if its not to hot out. I loved the dress. I just wish the one that fit wasn't broken : (

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 2, 2014
Compliments all night long!

This dress was amazing. It was comfortable for the most part, but after a night for dancing the side zipper dug into my skin a bit. It does not have any stretch to it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 30, 2014
Gorgeous color! A real stand out

I couldn't be happier with this rental. I wore it to a wedding and received so many compliments. The color was gorgeous and so perfect for a summer wedding. I hated to give it back.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
July 7, 2014
Beautiful Color and Sparkle! Received many compliments!

I read many reviews on this dress knowing that it ran small and that the zipper may or may not get stuck. I ordered both the 0 and the 2. The 0 fit me better in the hips because it actually hit me in the right spot, the 2 fit a little tight in the hips because it hit me lower, but the bust in the 2 was much better. The 0 was WAY too tight in the bust. I wore the 2 and it worked great! The zipper was a little hard to move but it worked ok. The color was a beautiful yellow and I received many compliments on it. I wore it with metallic gold sandals and a yellow ostrich feather clutch.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
July 10, 2014
Beautiful dress- strange fit!!

I am a frequent RTRW user (having 9 weddings in one year will do that to a girl!) so I always know to read the reviews of plenty of women before renting any dress. I was so grateful I did. I usually wear a standard size 6 dress, but all the reviews told me that this dress ran very small and they were right, reading those, I ordered an 8 and a 10, and I wore the 10. The dress has no give to the fabric at all and is cut very narrow through the hips/rear - I think it is made for straighter bodied women, but I've got hips so even the 8 was too tight to really bend or move around in. The 10 was big in strange places (it gapped across the top which I normally never have a problem filling out) and was roomy in the stomach, but still taunt across the hips/rear. Overall I was happy with the rental and I received SO MANY compliments on this dress, it photographed nicely, but it was not my favorite rental simply because the fitting was so off and it is not sized properly. If you're looking to rent this dress definitely head the warnings of other renters and order a size up from your usual size, and make your backup size the next size up from that!!

View photos (3)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 22, 2014
Lots of compliments, the dress looked great!

Fits well, slim cut. It was tighter around the hips since the dress doesn't have any spandex or stretch to it.

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
September 9, 2014
Really pretty, runs small though

This dress is just as gorgeous in person, but it definitely runs very small around the hips. I ordered a size up from my regular size, and made my backup size yet another size up from that, and I'm glad I did...the backup size, 2 sizes bigger than I usually wear, still fit a little snug around the hips! Very pretty dress though--I got lots of compliments.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
April 30, 2014
runs small

I would normally get a size 8 or 10 this time i got a 12 and it was too small around the bust.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 3, 2014
Runs Small but really cute.

Thankfully I rented this dress in a size up based on the reviews and it was still a little snug, but I was on a Cruise and did gain weight so that could also be a factor as well. The color was flattering. A little tight in the hips so curvy girls beware.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 19, 2014
Nice color; runs small

Overall, the dress is nice and flattering! I gave it 3 stars for two reasons: 1. It runs small, especially in the bust. 2. I didn't realize that the ruffle is sequins....in the photos it looks like the same fabric as the ribbon. Still a nice dress though and a great color for blondes!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
June 30, 2015
Eyecatcher, but SMALL!

Wore this to the 2015 Daytime Emmys. Stood out in a sea of black dresses! Super fun! Only compliant....dress RUNS SMALL. I usually wear a 0 or 2 and in this dress I wore a 4. I wonder if I even should have worn a 6! The material has zero give. If you're curvy in the hips like me, don't expect to be dancing in this dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
July 10, 2015
Unflattering color, runs small

Unflattering color - looks yellow-greenish in person, rather than the pretty yellow in the photograph. This runs small and tight. I ended up returning it instead of wearing it to the event

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 15, 2015
everything! Wore to a wedding reception

I am normally a size 4 and the 6 fit like a glove. The length didn't bother me, at 5'6.5" but may be short for someone taller. i was able to wear a strapless bra but there is enough support that you wouldn't necessarily need to. I got a ton of compliments and the color was flattering.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 13, 2011

Looks cheap in person, especially the ribbon belt -- kinda like a choir show dress. I found it loose around the hips and tight in the chest. Didn't wear it, would not recommend it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 5, 2011
This dress literally stopped traffic!

This dress was a smash hit!! I wore it to an evening wedding and it was the second most talked about dress (2nd only to the bride!. Runs a bit tight (especially around the ribs) so make sure you get the extra size one larger then you think you are. It looks great on, so do your hair and makeup and then try it on! This dress made it the best wedding i have ever been too!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
August 14, 2012
Great dress! Loved my experience with RTR, just what I needed for a night out in VEGAS!

I rented this dress for a night out in Vegas and it was perfect! My husband loved it and I got many compliments on it. The color looks great once you put it on. Although I usually wear a 0, I had to go up a size to a 2 (which I probably could have even done a 4 to be a little more comfortable) due to how unforgiving the bust is. I wasn't able to wear a bra- but none was needed anyways!! I would say if you are a little bigger on top go with a size up! Great dress!!! Definitly one of a kind :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
August 2, 2013
Loved the color!!

The dress was gorgeous! I loved this dress and got so many compliments. The only problem was that it ran a little small, and the zipper gets stuck a little when zipping up by the belt part of the waist. But overall I loved it and had fun at a wedding in it!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 1, 2013
Love, love, love this dress.

The color has more depth than appears in the photo. It is an unusual yellow that would be flattering to many skin tones. I'm short, and this was a great length. I usually wear a 4, but the zipper was just a bit too tight at the ribcage for my comfort. Lots of compliments. It was a standout.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 7, 2013
I was a standout!

I got so many compliments on this dress! Yellow was definitely a standout at the entire wedding. I ordered a size 6 and 4. I ended up wearing the 4 (had to send the first one back b/c the clasp was broken) but it was slightly tight. The 6 was WAY too big on me though. I promise you'll get tons of compliments if you wear this! It was my first experience with RTR and I'll be back for more!

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×