Ivory Lurex Halter Dress

$99 to buy
$470 retail
Stylist Notes

Steal the show with this amazing Mark & James by Badgley Mischka halter dress. It's metallic print and color is perfect for any cocktail event, wedding, or birthday party. Pair with accessories like Badgley Mischka's Art Deco Bling Cuff and Badgley Mischka's Tiered Deco Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - large open keyhole in front and exposed back should be worn with no bra or a NuBra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched band, which conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy and tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types (The Model's height is 5'9'')

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - large open keyhole in front and exposed back should be worn with no bra or a NuBra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched band, which conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy and tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types (The Model's height is 5'9'')

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Ivory lurex georgette. Cross halter neckline. Open back. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip.

Share
80 reviews
Fit
Large
(26)
True to Size
(45)
Small
(7)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
May 9, 2011
I wasn't a big fan of this dress. The top was really loose and just fit akward. It could just be me but i'm pretty busty. Pretty in the picture though!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
May 16, 2011
I agree with the review below, this dress was extremely loose and awkward fitting in the bust. It does not cross exactly as in the picture either and there is skin that shows in the middle of your chest. I also found the straps to be very loose and did not pull the top of the dress as tight as it is shown. Very pretty in the picture but the top just doesn't fit the way it is shown.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
May 18, 2011
The top of this dress was huge and completely swallowed me. If you don't have a large ribcage, skip it. You really have to be quite broad around your top half to make this work--I think bust size is actually irrelevant. Very oddly constructed dress. For me, it was impossible to wear.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
June 3, 2011
DO NOT DO NOT DO NOT RENT THIS DRESS. I am a 34D and still couldn't fill out a 4 to make the dress look like it does in this picture- they had to have used pins or something because it gaps in the middle to give an unflattering key-hole and then the straps fall off the back of your shoulder so it gaps horrible towards the top of the neckline as well. ALSO, this dress looked like something I could've gotten at forever21 when i got it out of the box, the fabric looks cheap like gold glitter paint was just sprayed places with little pieces of gold streamer pasted on. i was HIGHLY disappointed with this dress- be warned, despite what the stylists say when you ask, this dress has SERIOUS problems- save yourself the hassle of having to find another dress last minute and DO NOT RENT THIS DRESS
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
June 7, 2011
I would not recommend renting this dress if you are small in the bust. I have a wide chest (35.5"), but a small cup (A to B) and neither the 6 or the 8 fit in the chest, though both sizes were fine in the waist. I ended up returning the dress without wearing it. But, even if it had fit, I thought it looked somewhat cheap (the material, the lining).
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
June 8, 2011
I sized up per the websites instructions and should've sized down. This dress was HUGE on me. First of all, you need a DD cup to wear this thing (don't believe how it looks on the model - the chest area is way too big on this dress). Second of all, it does not (or at least in my experience) run small! Maybe if I had sized down for my backup size it could've worked. But I wasn't able to wear it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
July 1, 2011
As the notes say, best for someone with a long torso. This dress fit very weird and did not work for me, even when I attempted to use fashion tape. Too much fabric at the top, but not enough coverage; not sure how they got it to fit like it does in the picture.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
August 30, 2011
I agree with what others said about the dress although I do think if I had a larger bust this dress would have worked. However, apple shapes beware, the waistband is quite wide spanning from just under the breasts to almost the natural waist. I'm guessing this dress would work best for an hourglass figure. I got tons of compliments, so others must not have noticed I didn't fill out the top!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
September 26, 2011
I didn't end up wearing the dress. The picture shown looks great on the model, but in reality, it fits very awkwardly (especially the bust). It also reminded me of a choir dress once I saw the material up close- it was extremely bulky in the bust leading to extra fabric under the arms. I wouldn't recommend!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 31, 2011
Awkward Fit
The dress was really beautiful, but the the fit of the halter was incredibly awkward. There was extra material around the chest, and I ended up not wearing the dress because it had to be pinned back in so many places. I wouldn't recommend it for extremely petite girls.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 17, 2012
Cute dress, but......
I traditionally wear a size 6 and since I have been working out I ordered the size 4 and 6. So low and behold I ended up wearing the size 4. I have to agree with everyone else the dress is beautiful but the bust is a bit on the large side. There was a bit more fabric in that area and I did have to make a few adjustments. I will admit that I was not expecting the peep whole which all my friends seem to love. The dress seemed a bit short to me but I guess that could be because of my backside.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 26, 2012
Different but still Great!
I wore this dress to my sorority formal. I was expecting the front to be completely closed but there was a peephole running from the under the bust to halfway up my collarbone. Since I am relatively small chested, the peephole ended up looking good and not trashy since I had little cleavage. I actually ended up liking it when I put the dress on. The back is just fabulous. I ordered the dress because I loved the back and it really looked good. I got tons of compliments on the dress. I ordered a four, expecting to wear that size but I ended up wearing the two because I have a small waist and small bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
August 8, 2012
a little big, but gorgeous
I should have gone a size down because it was glaringly open at the sides...but I wore it anyway!
SaraSeptember 8, 2012
Did you find the peephole to be too big?
RTR CustomerSeptember 19, 2012
Hi Sara! The peephole in the front is very tiny, it is barely there!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
August 20, 2012
Golden Goddess
Loved this dress online and liked it in person. It was beautiful, don't get me wrong. However the gold is much more of a bright yellow gold in person and less of a brushed gold as you see online. The zipper jammed easily on the material, but when I tried on the smaller size the zipper went up better, but not perfect. Still a beautiful dress, but different in person
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
August 22, 2012
Perfect for the summer wedding I needed it for!
Fit like a glove and was a total hit at the wedding! I was worried about it not fitting my bust but it ran true to size and I was super Happy! I was able to dance without having to worry about anything falling out of place! I received a ton of compliments, I loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
September 4, 2012
Beautiful
If you are busty this dress will look marvelous on you! It really needs to be filled out on top to give it shape but if that is the case the rest just falls extremely flattering on your body
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 19, 2012
I wore this dress for the first home football game of the year! It was definitely memorable!
The color and pattern were gorgeous. Definitely school spirited. The fit was comfy and I didn't have to fuss with the dress all day. Looked great with heels, sandals or wedges.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
October 6, 2012
Pretty Dress
I wore this for my bachlorette party. It was fun, sparkly and easy to dance in. Everyone loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 10, 2012
Beautiful dress. I wanted to love it, but just ended up being uncomfortable with the large fit.
As many people in the reviews have said, there is a keyhole in the bust. I taped this shut and the dress looked really nice. The back straps, however, were much too long, causing the top to gape and show way too much side boob. If I stood or sat still, the dress looked great. As soon as I moved though, the top refused to cooperate. This dress is definitely one to try, but be sure to have some garment tape on hand.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
October 28, 2012
It was very different from the other girls yet it fit the theme perfectly!
The keyhole front was rather bothersome but it was still enjoyable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
November 10, 2012
Loved it! Perfect for the occasion.
The color was beautiful, off-white which was good since I wore it in fall and didn't want it to be too white. It was rather large on top, but after I pinned it up a little it was fine. It's a really beautiful dress.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
November 23, 2012
Way awkward
I read the reviews and figured i'd give it a shot maybe because I thought i was shaped differently..No. This dress was just really awkward fitting. It runs large around the bust and even my sister who is way more endowed in that area couldn't pull it off. I'm just disappointed about this dress overall. Whoever can pull it off is thoroughly blessed
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
December 18, 2012
Good fun flirty dress. Very unique and got tons of compliments!
I am normally a 0/2, and only the 0 was available. i was a little concerned, but after reading the reviews that said the top part was very spacious, i tried it out. The 0 worked perfectly for me because i have a small waist but large bust, so was very fitted at waist but had plenty of room at top. Didnt need a bra, but did pin it up a bit around the back of the neck since some of the fabric was slightly loose on the sides. Perfect for petite girls with large chest for sure. Order a size down and have pins ready just in case!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
December 19, 2012
Chanel your inner Marilyn Monroe!
LOOVED This dress. Unfortunately I couldn't wear it, as it was too large in the chest area. If I had had more time before the event, I probably could've fixed it and tied it up or pinned it or something, but unfortunately I didn't have the chance. Gorgeous dress over all though!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Full Bust
December 28, 2012
It's an odd fit
The dress came and although gorgeous, the two sizes I ordered didn't fit. I am in between sizes but usually wear a 6 but figured I would order the 8 just in case because I have a very wide back so it's difficult for me to wear dresses that zip in the back. You can't really wear a bra with it so it's an odd fit. The 6 was to small to for me to zip it but I still had room on the top and the 8 I could zip but it was huge in my chest area. If I could have worn a bra with the dress the 8 probably would have fit better.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
January 9, 2013
I couldn't wear it :( but I did order a backup dress, which I ended up loving instead.
I bought it for NYE in Key West and never ended up wearing it. It was so pretty, but the fit was too big in the chest (I am a size 12, 36 C). The key hole was really odd and with an open back, you can't wear a bra so you look saggy. I really wanted it to work out, but it didn't.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
January 12, 2013
People offered so many compliments about my whole look.
Everything was great about the dress, from fit to delivery.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 17, 2013
looked great!
There was a much larger gap in the bust than I thought there would be. I had to tape the sides down to keep it from gapping open
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 13, 2013
Very unique, cute dress
This was a very cute dress and I liked it a lot, but the top seemed a bit stretched out, making me look a little wider on top than I am. Also, I felt it was too short for my tall frame (which was something I should have paid a little more attention to before renting it!). I ended up wearing a back-up dress because I felt more comfortable in it-- but wouldn't hesitate recommending it to others!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
February 16, 2013
Wow! What a dress!
This dress is great! I wore it for my senior year cotillion, the boob area was a little tricky but with fashion tape it was fixable. I got amazing reviews and felt beautiful all night
ginaMarch 26, 2013
Hey, how high above the knee was it on you? I'm 5'4 also and I'm trying to figure out how long would be on me haha
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 28, 2013
This dress made me feel like a princess for the night!
I wore this dress to a charity ball and absolutely loved it! Not only did I feel amazing in the dress, but I also received many compliments. One of my favorite aspects about this dress was the style/cut, which not only fit my body well but was also something a bit different.This dress covered the not so perfect areas of my body and highlighted everything else perfectly. I also loved the color, the gold accents are even more stunning in person! There was a gap in fabric in the bust that was not as noticeable on the model, but that did not bother me at all. Also you could easily use double sided tape to conceal the gap as there is fabric to work with around the bust.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 1, 2013
I could not wear the dress.
I wish I could have worn this dress. The dress did not fit around my bust. I think the dress would look amazing for someone with a smaller bust.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 11, 2013
A unique dress that is just as fun to wear as it is to hear "oohs" and "aahs" from fellow partygoers
The yellow/gold accents on the dress are glittery, so expect some shimmer. Also, the keyhole in front of the dress (that you can't see in the pictures) may have to be pinned together if you have broad shoulders. For salsa dancing, the skirt of the dress proved to be the perfect length. Open back shows off one's back in a tasteful manner. Overall, this was a fun, flirty dress that, with a few pins, made for a great night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
March 14, 2013
Nice dress, but would not rent again.
I ordered this dress for my high school homecoming and overall, this dress was alright. Wasn't the best choice for my figure, there is a lot more cleavage than is pictured, and also the material felt really cheap. However, I felt very comfortable all night and received numerous compliments! Girls without curves would look amazing in this dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
March 22, 2013
Absolutely beautiful fabric; great service!
Ran a little large; had to pin the neck. Gorgeous colors and fabric; great fit. Perfect for dancing. Great first time experience with RTR-- definitely will use them again!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 10, 2013
When I walked into the room, heads turned.
Loved it! Because I have a very small chest, I didn't have to wear a bra, but this would definitely be a problem for someone who has a larger one. The back is open and flawless-I felt great. I did use dress tape in a couple spots just to be safe, but never felt conscious that I would have a slip up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 17, 2013
It was the perfect dress for my golden birthday. Great dress that was super cute.
I felt that the bust was a little to big, but I made it work,
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 21, 2013
Cute daytime fun dress....for the right body type!
Nice dress, BUT... this dress is best for a tall girl with super long legs. The high waistband placement, short skirt and twist front all conspire to shorten your torso. If you have short legs, your gonna look like a squished oompa-loopa. I'm slender with longer limbs and even I looked slightly chubby and squat. The waist band is super fitted with NO stretch so you might want to size up. Also, the back is open but the fit is unforgiving, so if you have loose back skin or back fat this dress will display it all. If you are tall or super thin or long limbed and are medium chested, this dress will look awesome. Its all about the legs, so wear your super sky-high stilettos and ROCK ON!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 147lbs
May 1, 2013
This dress was absolutely GORGEOUS! I wore it for my Rehearsal Dinner and got a ton of compliments!!
I typically wear a size 8, but when I put the 8 on, the top was way too big and there was extra space around my waist. The six fit perfectly, but the top still seemed a little large. I think it is designed that way to give the wearer a bit of room to move (the material has zero give). The zipper is a bit tough to zip as the material of the dress makes the tiny zipper challenging to zip all the way (does that make sense?). Also, there is an eye hole in the front, so the girls might peek out a little! Overall, the dress is beautiful, I was just a little self conscious because there is NO WAY you can wear a bra with this! It was worth it though! I couldn't have worn a more perfect dress!!! :) BTW, these pictures don't do the dress any justice.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
May 9, 2013
Rented for law school prom
I didn't end up wearing this one, but I'm a pretty busty girl and this dress was huge on top on me. After pinning it, it was fine and very very cute. I also had an amazing experience with RTR customer service when the 10 was damaged by the last user. They sent me an absolutely gorgeous back-up dress that fit perfectly and looked incredible free of charge and overnighted it all to me. Best customer service I've ever dealt with. Will definitely be renting again!
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×