Mark & James by Badgley Mischka

Ivory Lurex Halter Dress

$99 rental
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Steal the show with this amazing Mark & James by Badgley Mischka halter dress. It's metallic print and color is perfect for any cocktail event, wedding, or birthday party. Pair with accessories like Badgley Mischka's Art Deco Bling Cuff and Badgley Mischka's Tiered Deco Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - large open keyhole in front and exposed back should be worn with no bra or a NuBra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched band, which conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy and tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types (The Model's height is 5'9'')

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - large open keyhole in front and exposed back should be worn with no bra or a NuBra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched band, which conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy and tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types (The Model's height is 5'9'')

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Ivory lurex georgette. Cross halter neckline. Open back. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

80 reviews

Fit
Small 7
True to Size 45
Large 26
Photos 38
Rylie
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Body type: Petite
May 9, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wasn't a big fan of this dress. The top was really loose and just fit akward. It could just be me but i'm pretty busty. Pretty in the picture though!
Alli
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
May 16, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I agree with the review below, this dress was extremely loose and awkward fitting in the bust. It does not cross exactly as in the picture either and there is skin that shows in the middle of your chest. I also found the straps to be very loose and did not pull the top of the dress as tight as it is shown. Very pretty in the picture but the top just doesn't fit the way it is shown.
Cem
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
May 18, 2011

Overall fit: Large
The top of this dress was huge and completely swallowed me. If you don't have a large ribcage, skip it. You really have to be quite broad around your top half to make this work--I think bust size is actually irrelevant. Very oddly constructed dress. For me, it was impossible to wear.
Rose
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 3, 2011

Overall fit: Large
DO NOT DO NOT DO NOT RENT THIS DRESS. I am a 34D and still couldn't fill out a 4 to make the dress look like it does in this picture- they had to have used pins or something because it gaps in the middle to give an unflattering key-hole and then the straps fall off the back of your shoulder so it gaps horrible towards the top of the neckline as well. ALSO, this dress looked like something I could've gotten at forever21 when i got it out of the box, the fabric looks cheap like gold glitter paint was just sprayed places with little pieces of gold streamer pasted on. i was HIGHLY disappointed with this dress- be warned, despite what the stylists say when you ask, this dress has SERIOUS problems- save yourself the hassle of having to find another dress last minute and DO NOT RENT THIS DRESS
MBC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Jun 7, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I would not recommend renting this dress if you are small in the bust. I have a wide chest (35.5"), but a small cup (A to B) and neither the 6 or the 8 fit in the chest, though both sizes were fine in the waist. I ended up returning the dress without wearing it. But, even if it had fit, I thought it looked somewhat cheap (the material, the lining).
SFShopper
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 8, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I sized up per the websites instructions and should've sized down. This dress was HUGE on me. First of all, you need a DD cup to wear this thing (don't believe how it looks on the model - the chest area is way too big on this dress). Second of all, it does not (or at least in my experience) run small! Maybe if I had sized down for my backup size it could've worked. But I wasn't able to wear it.
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Jun 30, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
you can't tell in the picture but there is a peep-hole at the bust! strapless bra shows through in the middle. great metallic and fun dress!
drcw
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Jul 1, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
As the notes say, best for someone with a long torso. This dress fit very weird and did not work for me, even when I attempted to use fashion tape. Too much fabric at the top, but not enough coverage; not sure how they got it to fit like it does in the picture.
CoCo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 30, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I agree with what others said about the dress although I do think if I had a larger bust this dress would have worked. However, apple shapes beware, the waistband is quite wide spanning from just under the breasts to almost the natural waist. I'm guessing this dress would work best for an hourglass figure. I got tons of compliments, so others must not have noticed I didn't fill out the top!
Oaks
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 31, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This dress was gorgeous and I received many great compliments for it. The main issue with this dress was that the top portion was too big. I wore a size 6 and it fit the waist perfectly. However, the top sagged a bit and was slightly baggy in the upper back. I do think that if I had a larger bust (I am a 34B) I could have filled it out better, but really the dress needed to be pulled tighter at the neck. It still looked great but was a little uncomfortable as I was adjusting all night. It really is a beautiful dress but be ready to make adjustments!
TM
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
Sep 26, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I didn't end up wearing the dress. The picture shown looks great on the model, but in reality, it fits very awkwardly (especially the bust). It also reminded me of a choir dress once I saw the material up close- it was extremely bulky in the bust leading to extra fabric under the arms. I wouldn't recommend!!
CS
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Body type: Straight & narrow
Dec 13, 2011

Ivory Lurex Halter Dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is gorgeous, but the top is a little awkward. There is definitely more material there than expected, so it's not really even a matter of if you can fill it out or not. From the waistband up, picture that section shrunk down a bit so it's not as long like on the model. That's sort of what the dress looks like (there's also that hole in the middle like someone else said). Overall I still liked the dress, but do know it doesn't exactly look as slimming as on the model.
Nhi
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 31, 2011

Awkward Fit

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was really beautiful, but the the fit of the halter was incredibly awkward. There was extra material around the chest, and I ended up not wearing the dress because it had to be pinned back in so many places. I wouldn't recommend it for extremely petite girls.
Janet
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 17, 2012

Cute dress, but......

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I traditionally wear a size 6 and since I have been working out I ordered the size 4 and 6. So low and behold I ended up wearing the size 4. I have to agree with everyone else the dress is beautiful but the bust is a bit on the large side. There was a bit more fabric in that area and I did have to make a few adjustments. I will admit that I was not expecting the peep whole which all my friends seem to love. The dress seemed a bit short to me but I guess that could be because of my backside.
Felicia
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 26, 2012

Different but still Great!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my sorority formal. I was expecting the front to be completely closed but there was a peephole running from the under the bust to halfway up my collarbone. Since I am relatively small chested, the peephole ended up looking good and not trashy since I had little cleavage. I actually ended up liking it when I put the dress on. The back is just fabulous. I ordered the dress because I loved the back and it really looked good. I got tons of compliments on the dress. I ordered a four, expecting to wear that size but I ended up wearing the two because I have a small waist and small bust.
Larissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 8, 2012

a little big, but gorgeous

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I should have gone a size down because it was glaringly open at the sides...but I wore it anyway!
lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Golden Goddess

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress online and liked it in person. It was beautiful, don't get me wrong. However the gold is much more of a bright yellow gold in person and less of a brushed gold as you see online. The zipper jammed easily on the material, but when I tried on the smaller size the zipper went up better, but not perfect. Still a beautiful dress, but different in person
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
Sep 4, 2012

Beautiful

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
If you are busty this dress will look marvelous on you! It really needs to be filled out on top to give it shape but if that is the case the rest just falls extremely flattering on your body
kathleen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 29, 2012

New Years Eve Party knock out

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It runs true to size, a little challenging to figure out how to put on correctly, but the back is stunning. I had to safety pin the front together because it was a little revealing for my taste but I received so may compliments. A must-wear!
Sam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 10, 2012

Beautiful dress. I wanted to love it, but just ended up being uncomfortable with the large fit.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
As many people in the reviews have said, there is a keyhole in the bust. I taped this shut and the dress looked really nice. The back straps, however, were much too long, causing the top to gape and show way too much side boob. If I stood or sat still, the dress looked great. As soon as I moved though, the top refused to cooperate. This dress is definitely one to try, but be sure to have some garment tape on hand.
Hanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124 lbs
Oct 28, 2012

It was very different from the other girls yet it fit the theme perfectly!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The keyhole front was rather bothersome but it was still enjoyable.
Immaculate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Nov 23, 2012

Way awkward

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I read the reviews and figured i'd give it a shot maybe because I thought i was shaped differently..No. This dress was just really awkward fitting. It runs large around the bust and even my sister who is way more endowed in that area couldn't pull it off. I'm just disappointed about this dress overall. Whoever can pull it off is thoroughly blessed
SCgirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

Beautiful dress and detail

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit and color was perfect. Very eye catching. The only problem I had was the keyhole in the front. I didn't notice the keyhole on the model, but my larger chest really pushed the limit with the peek-a-boo detail! Still a beautiful dress.
J
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 18, 2012

Good fun flirty dress. Very unique and got tons of compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I am normally a 0/2, and only the 0 was available. i was a little concerned, but after reading the reviews that said the top part was very spacious, i tried it out. The 0 worked perfectly for me because i have a small waist but large bust, so was very fitted at waist but had plenty of room at top. Didnt need a bra, but did pin it up a bit around the back of the neck since some of the fabric was slightly loose on the sides. Perfect for petite girls with large chest for sure. Order a size down and have pins ready just in case!
Paige
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Dec 19, 2012

Chanel your inner Marilyn Monroe!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
LOOVED This dress. Unfortunately I couldn't wear it, as it was too large in the chest area. If I had had more time before the event, I probably could've fixed it and tied it up or pinned it or something, but unfortunately I didn't have the chance. Gorgeous dress over all though!
melanie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 26, 2012

It was an overall cute dress and perfect for a beach wedding.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The only two bad things I can say about this dress is that you have to get one of those pasty bra things to wear this dress. If gravity has tooken over you breast, than you will have a hard time trying to getting the girls secure and in place. Also the fabric is a little itchy on the gold part of the dress. If you get through these hurdles you got yourself an awesome dress :-)
Amanda
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 28, 2012

It's an odd fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress came and although gorgeous, the two sizes I ordered didn't fit. I am in between sizes but usually wear a 6 but figured I would order the 8 just in case because I have a very wide back so it's difficult for me to wear dresses that zip in the back. You can't really wear a bra with it so it's an odd fit. The 6 was to small to for me to zip it but I still had room on the top and the 8 I could zip but it was huge in my chest area. If I could have worn a bra with the dress the 8 probably would have fit better.
Suzanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Jan 9, 2013

I couldn't wear it :( but I did order a backup dress, which I ended up loving instead.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I bought it for NYE in Key West and never ended up wearing it. It was so pretty, but the fit was too big in the chest (I am a size 12, 36 C). The key hole was really odd and with an open back, you can't wear a bra so you look saggy. I really wanted it to work out, but it didn't.
Rebecca
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 17, 2013

looked great!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
There was a much larger gap in the bust than I thought there would be. I had to tape the sides down to keep it from gapping open
Jillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 13, 2013

Very unique, cute dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a very cute dress and I liked it a lot, but the top seemed a bit stretched out, making me look a little wider on top than I am. Also, I felt it was too short for my tall frame (which was something I should have paid a little more attention to before renting it!). I ended up wearing a back-up dress because I felt more comfortable in it-- but wouldn't hesitate recommending it to others!
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 1, 2013

I could not wear the dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wish I could have worn this dress. The dress did not fit around my bust. I think the dress would look amazing for someone with a smaller bust.
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129 lbs
Mar 14, 2013

Nice dress, but would not rent again.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress for my high school homecoming and overall, this dress was alright. Wasn't the best choice for my figure, there is a lot more cleavage than is pictured, and also the material felt really cheap. However, I felt very comfortable all night and received numerous compliments! Girls without curves would look amazing in this dress!
L_Eliza
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 22, 2013

Absolutely beautiful fabric; great service!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Ran a little large; had to pin the neck. Gorgeous colors and fabric; great fit. Perfect for dancing. Great first time experience with RTR-- definitely will use them again!
Marie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 17, 2013

It was the perfect dress for my golden birthday. Great dress that was super cute.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I felt that the bust was a little to big, but I made it work,
Kat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
May 9, 2013

Rented for law school prom

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't end up wearing this one, but I'm a pretty busty girl and this dress was huge on top on me. After pinning it, it was fine and very very cute. I also had an amazing experience with RTR customer service when the 10 was damaged by the last user. They sent me an absolutely gorgeous back-up dress that fit perfectly and looked incredible free of charge and overnighted it all to me. Best customer service I've ever dealt with. Will definitely be renting again!
Princess
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 21, 2013

Dress was very cute but too tight up top

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Cute but tight around the bust
Kelley
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 26, 2013

I wore this for my engagement party. It was very pretty and I got lots of compliments

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit is right on. it's a bit difficult finding undergarments to go with the backless portion though so keep that in mind! lovely though!
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 2, 2013

Loved the dress but ....

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the dress in pictures. And it's super pretty but I'm not very busty so I ended up getting another dress overnighted. I just wasn't comfortable I wouldn't fall out. :(
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 12, 2013

Too small in the waist, too large in the bust

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress is really designed for skinnier girls with a large chest.The waist area was way too small for me and the bust was too large. did not wear this backup dress. It also had a pink stain on the bottom of the dress. will not be renting this one again.
Tavia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 22, 2013

Great looking dress, but not a great fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
The dress has so much potential, but in my case it just didnt fit! :( The bust was too large and baggy around the sides, the neck was tight and the waist was very tight. I typically wear a 4, but the 4 was so tight it wouldn't zip and the 6 zipped but was uncomfortably tight. I rented this dress for a date night with my husband, but am returning it due to size. I love RTR so this is not going to deter me from renting again!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×