Mark & James by Badgley Mischka

Gossip Queen Dress

$45 rental
$358 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Be prepared for a night of dancing in this flirty Mark & James by Badgley Mischka dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - dress has a very deep V so fashion tape is recommended
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - dress has a very deep V so fashion tape is recommended
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Blush tulle with sequins(100% polyester). Surplice neckline. Sash at waist. Tiered pleated skirt. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

211 reviews

Fit
Small 32
True to Size 148
Large 24
Photos 138
Heidi M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 23, 2011

Wore this to a wedding and I entitled the outfit "diamonds and pearls." HUGE HIT!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress under a black blazer to a wedding. Got so many compliments! Got a size larger because it runs a little small. Super chic dress.
ecr7987
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Nov 2, 2011

Had so much in Vegas! This dress got plenty of compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this in Las Vegas to a bachelorette party and got comments the ENTIRE night! everyone loved it, but the sequins are not silver like they look in the online pick. more pinkish, but liked the dress just as much! You do need a deep plunge bra with this and maybe a racer back (regular bra straps show.
Baylee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103 lbs
Nov 27, 2011

I love love LOVE rent the runway! i loved the dress and so did every one else! i will definatly use it again!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my best friends sixteenth birthday party it looked good the only thing is that it is extremely low cut! I pinned mine up so it wasn't a big deal!Also if you're going to walk around a lot the sequins may rub your arm BUT i loved this dress and i recommend this dress to any one!
Shelby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 27, 2011

I was told the dress was red carpet-worthy and that it was beautiful.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! I wore it to an engagement party that was right around the holidays. I got a ton of compliments, and I told everyone where to find it on RTR. The dress is low cut, but not in a trashy way. You have to have confidence and not be too shy to wear this great dress. I rented a 4 and a 6 and the 4 was a little tight on my back and a little short, but the 6 worked out great, though i wished it were a bit more fitted on the bottom like the 4 was. All in all I would recommend it to fabulous and confident gals, for Vegas, a holiday party, or your birthday!!
Jaime
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114 lbs
Jan 20, 2012

I got stopped several times that night for girls (and guys!) to tell me how gorgeous my dress was.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I read the reviews before renting the dress, and most people said the dress was very sexy or too sexy so that's what I thought I was getting. Really, the dress is more cute than sexy. The color is true to the picture even though most said it wasn't, and it wasn't too low cut. The only issue I had was that you can't really cinch the waist with the belt since it goes over the sequined part of the dress, and it was kind of pulling away from my waist since I'm a little busty. I wore my hair down and didn't have any issue with it getting caught in the sequence. I also went with gold accessories but mostly because when I tried on anything nude, white, or silver with it I felt it was too matchy-matchy and looked much like what a baby doll would wear. But I got lots of compliments on the dress and will definitely use this website again!
Em
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 15, 2012

The experience could not have been easier; from the availability of hundreds of great dresses to the stylist suggestions, the whole experience is fantastic. I will definitely use Rent the Runway for special occasions in the future!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I rented this Mark and James dress for a V-day date with my husband and absolutely loved it! The fit is definitely true to size, and I didn't find it to be overly low-cut. It is short, so tall girls should be aware, but overall it was a great look.
valerie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
Mar 1, 2012

I'm definitely looking at RTR for my next formal!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a sorority formal, and it was super fun! The sequins were very eye-catching, but a little scratchy. Overall, people loved the dress, and you don't really need to accessorize too much because of the sequins.
Susan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 4, 2012

RTR was fantastic! They even sent a little packet of fashion tape with the dress :) THANK YOU!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my 25th birthday party. The dress was absolutely perfect for the occasion! The fit was true to size, but it was a tad short. The top portion of the dress ended up being more rose gold (as other reviewers have mentioned). I'm fair skinned and was worried this dress would wash me out, but with the rose gold coloring and dark accessories, this dress was extremely flattering and complimentary to my skin color. I would mention though that there is no way to cinche the waist, so if your chest is larger than your waist, there may be extra material (and be baggy) around your waist. Just FYI!
Ansley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 25, 2012

Rent the Runway helped me feel beautiful even among the 200+ gorgeous girls in my sorority!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I adore this dress, I am a full D or a small DD, and I felt like this dress was very flattering. I wore vintage inspired crystal earrings, a gold and ivory clutch, and ivory shoes. It looked very expensive and pretty. I couldn't have been happier.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Mar 30, 2012

Loved celebrating one of my friends upcoming nuptuals in style with this dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This was a fabulous dress to wear when you are trying to look glamourous! I wore it for a bachelorette party themed night that was "old hollywood glamour" and got so many compliments on it. The dress runs a little big in the bust, but my bust is very small anyway. Great dress that really gets you noticed!
Patti
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
May 11, 2012

I felt fun and fabuous!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a wedding and felt absolutely fabulous! It's got plenty of "bling," yet is comfortable and allows for dancing. Perfect for a petite, straight frame.
Mallory
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 16, 2012

The compliments! Super fun dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This was my first time using Rent the Runway. I had a bachelorette party and wanted a fun dress. I did a lot of searching on this site and finally looked at this dress again. It isn't one that I would typically buy, but liked that it was different. I received a LOT of compliments at the bar about the dress and really loved it. I have a larger chest and had to go with a bigger size. You'll love this dress too!
Michelle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Jun 22, 2012

It was a graduation party and I definitely felt great wearing the dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
So many comments from everyone! I usually wear a 4, but the 6 fit better. The sequins scratch your arm if you're dancing all night, but it was worth it.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 23, 2012

I'm so happy I used RTR to find my perfect birthday party dress! Wearing it was so much fun and I had an unforgettable night!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my birthday dinner in downtown Cincinnati and I could not have felt more glamorous! It fit perfectly and I loved all the sequins and ruffles!
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
Jul 2, 2012

I felt so amazing celebrating my birthday in this beautiful dress. I got so many compliments and felt like a million bucks!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits true to size/maybe a little big. I thought I'd wear the size 10 but en I had read reviews saying that you needed to wear a razor back low cut bra. I didn't need a razor back bra but I would definitely recommend wearing a low cut bra. It's also very easy to get the bottom part ruffles stuck in the zipper so be careful with that!
Kerri
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 24, 2012

I felt like a million dollars in this dress...it was stunning!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress out in Vegas and it was a huge hit! So flattering and a beautiful neckline. I typically wear a 6-8 but decided to go with the 8 on this dress. I could've worn the 6 easily, but the 8 was a little looser on the bottom and where I knew I'd be sitting for dinner and doing some dancing, I decided that was key.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 99 lbs
Aug 1, 2012

The dress of course, and the ease and convenience of return!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I felt glamorous all night and got so many compliments on the dress! The cleavage was a little gapey so thank goodness it came with complimentary fashion tape. It totally saved me from flashing everyone! Other than that it was a fabulous dress for a fun evening out. I highly recommend!
LNF
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Aug 1, 2012

I felt like the belle of the party, and was thrilled I didn't need to wear a bra with this dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress ran true to size and worked perfectly for my bachelorette party! I definitely felt like the belle of the party
Misslady74
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Aug 7, 2012

The compliments!! <3

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Best dress I have ever rented, went out for my 21st and everyone loved it! Random women and men complimented it all night and my boyfriend was enamored! Would rent this dress again! Be prepared for some serious clevage to the busstier ladies though! =) Red shoes were the perfect pop!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

I could take a fashion risk without spending a ton of money!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress makes you feel like a celebrity ready for a red carpet event. It's flashy, girly, fun but still classy. It's a really well made dress that is not cheap looking at all. I wore a regular bra with it. My only complaint is as a tall girl it is really short. It's not a dress that you can bend over in if you are over 5'9". It also helps if you have a larger chest to fill out the deep v! All in all, it is a great dress but not for women who are tall and lean.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 17, 2012

Everyone definitely knew who the birthday girl was in this dress! I received so many amazing compliments and I felt like a star!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my 30th birthday party dinner party and it was SPECTACULAR. I received so many compliments on how the sequins were just right, the ruffles were adorable and yet it was tell sexy and tasteful for the family (if you're busty you shouldn't wear it unless you want to look "that way"). The bow was a little hard to tie correctly (since it's a separate sash) but in the end it looked great. I paired it with some gold heels. The dress is a nice nude blush tone (more than gold).
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 19, 2012

I was overly pleased with my RTR experience, got DOZENS of compliments on my dress!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a great dress and I got so many compliments on it! The dress was in great condition and shipped wrinkle free. Definitely wear this dress on a skinny day, though, it cuts you short a little bit and can make you look short waisted and somewhat "frumpy" on the wrong body type. It's very low-cut, so it's great for someone flat chested like me, but would be a little revealing on someone larger chested. Overall I loved the dress and was extremely satisfied with my RTR experience.
angie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 6, 2012

When i got a message from the priest whom perfomed the ceremony saying to call him. Hhahahaha.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Really satisfied with RTR efficiency. first time renter and i'm madly in love already. I guess is the Latino passion that leaded me to try it (w/o even having a back up dress) i trusted with eyes closed and enormously happy i wasnt left down. This was a beautiful dress, lots of compliments, must admit most from young crowd. The elders were a little worrried about the cleavage. LOL. but everything was kept in place. ;) thank you, thank you,thank you. :))))
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Sep 9, 2012

So easy and fun to wear a new dress and not have to worry about spending a million $$ on it. Great call for my first RTR experience

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Everyone raved about the dress all night. Fit great, only issue was that the sequins got a bit scratchy under the shoulders and my hair kept getting stuck to the sequins so my hairdo had to be taken out before the end of the night. But, looked great and definitely caught the attention of my BF. Loved it.
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 15, 2012

Stunning..eye catching dress! If you want to stand out at and event rent this one! Many compliments.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I sized up for the bottom to be more comfy. Deep neck line shows a lot of cleavage. Paired it with a nude pump, stud earrings and simple diamond cross.
jackie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 18, 2012

SPARKLE BOMBSHELL!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
very pretty dress I love the color and design, you can trust about the picture cause looks exactly. the shape is a little awkard, cause the top is a little biger however the skirt runs a little small . I think this design is perfect for atletic and hourglas body shape also petites curvy ladies will love this one. I think the design and color make this dress one of my favorite rents, unique.
M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 19, 2012

Glamorous party dress I wore for my sister's rehearsal dinner in the winter.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It has a plunging neckline that's gorgeous and the mixed fabric adds a lot of interest. It's more champagne colored that the pink.
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Sep 20, 2012

loved loved loved this dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
this dress was gorgeous! fit great (a little big in the chest, but no fashion faux-pas, so all worked out!) and was definitely the hit of the charity event i wore it to!
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Sep 24, 2012

I wore this dress for my Bachelorette party! I wanted something that was sparkly but still girly.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Definitely need a low-cut v bra to wear with this dress; the tape that came with the rental was very helpful, making the dress sit correctly in the chest area.
Cecile
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 22, 2014

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
My birthday celebration was at Lips in NYC (a drag queen cabaret restaurant) and felt the dress was more appropriate for wedding guest dress. I will definitely order from Rent the Runway in the future.
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 13, 2014

Big on top, small on bottom!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Not great for curvy or petite girls. The neckline seemed extremely low on me and was quite loose. The bottom, on the other hand, was very tight and short on both the 8 and 10. I typically wear an 8 or 6, but both of these sizes were bad on me. Pretty on the hanger, just not the right dress for my bachelorette party.
Crystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 23, 2014

Back up dress, did not wear.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress as my second option for a friend's wedding. I decided to go with my first choice and didn't end up wearing this particular dress. I gave this dress 3 stars because of fit issues. I have wide hips which made this dress fit me very poorly. It was too tight across my hips which caused the dress to ride up and be inappropriately short. Going a size up wouldn't have helped because then it would have been very low and big in the bust area. I think this dress as absolutely adorable, it just doesn't fit my body type very well. Would definitely look great on the right girl!
Ingrid
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 30, 2014

Wish I could have worn it

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was super cute but too small and too short. I couldn't wear either the 4 or the 6. Luckily I rented multiple dresses. The waist was quite higher than I expected.
Amelia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 4, 2014

A great dress, minor flaws but was a hit!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit was amazing, hugged to curves and has a classy high back with a deep plunge. The belt was missing and there was a make up streak inside. It did not take away from how stunning the dress looked, everyone loved it. On me (5'9") it was the perfect cocktail short.
Sarah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 10, 2014

Beautiful Dress for 1920s party

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I love this dress. It's quite short and low cut but fitted really well. I managed to wear a bra underneath and used a little fashion tape just to make sure the bra wouldn't show. Really pleased and would recommend
Crystal
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 27, 2014

Horrible Fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Rented this for a 20's event, the top on the 6 was just right but the skirt was so short I could not move without my rear hanging out, the 8 fit a little better (but still way too short for my rear) but the top was huge. Did not wear this dress, would not recommend it.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 29, 2014

A Gatsby Birthday

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Other
This was my back up dress for my Gatsby birthday. I didn't wear this dress - but it deserves an honorable mention. First, the color is more gold/beige than pink. I actually preferred this - but if you're looking for a very pink sparkly dress - you may be disappointed. This fit snug thru the hips - but that's always kind of my problem. If you have a more athletic build or are slender you will find this sits looser. However, the empire waist and v/neckline make the silhouette flattering on all types. My 5'8, DD, leggy friend ended up wearing it instead and she killed it!
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Jan 6, 2015

Cute in pictures, but not for full hips and chest

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I liked this dress, but was unable to wear it. I'm 5'10 and the dress just covered my behind. Not flattering on a tall curvy body, which was too bad but it happens sometimes.
Dee
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 142 lbs
Jan 19, 2015

Sparkled all night

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress was perfect for a Paris theme New Years party. I sparkled all night! Con- it shows a lot of cleavage.
Panda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 11, 2015

Did not run small for me like a lot of reviews said.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The v-neck is so low! I have a D-cup and it was still to big on me. I don't see how a bra could be worn with this.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×