Draped Dream Dress

$70 to buy
$470 retail
Stylist Notes

This bright style from Mark & James by Badgley Mischka brings a healthy dose of color to any cocktail party.

Also available in coral and teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - not fitted throughout
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - not fitted throughout
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Indigo matte jersey. One shoulder neckline. Draping detail on body. Split cap sleeve. Hidden side zip. 35" from top of shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
474 reviews
Fit
Large
(152)
True to Size
(296)
Small
(21)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
December 19, 2011
Great Bump Friendly Dress
I wore this dress to a wedding at 6.5 months pregnant. I got so many compliments on it along with the necklace shown in the picture. It was great!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
December 21, 2011
Great Color, Great Fit, 100% recommend this dress!
What a hit! This dress gets an A+ I am 5'5", 125 lbs, and the XS was a perfect fit with room to spare, so it definitely runs big...felt like I was wearing my most comfy t-shirt, but looked like a million bucks. Paired it with black tights and heels, and some chunky jewelry for a fancy holiday cocktail party--received many compliments! I would definitely recommend this dress! Yet another Rent the Runway success--love them!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
December 22, 2011
I had a dress that fit!
I was 16 weeks pregnant when I wore this dress to a wedding and it worked SO well. You can slightly see my bump and it fit perfectly around my neck. Highly recommend!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 1, 2012
Great customer service ... even received an email about how to return over the holiday!
I rented this dress for a NYE wedding, while almost 5 months pregnant and I felt amazing in it! Great color, great fit, and so comfortable! LOVED IT!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
January 5, 2012
LOVE!!!
Loved this dress! The other review were really helpful in my deciding. I felt beautiful all night (and comfortable)! Received a lot of compliments too. It ran a bit large so I got to wear the small - love a vanity size! I have a bit of a baby belly still and it hid it all perfectly. My only regret is that I didn't own this one!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
January 5, 2012
Bright Blue for New Year's!
This dress was super comfortable and I got a lot of compliments, however I ordered the large thinking that designer labels usually run small and it ended up being a little big (they didn't have the M in stock to get as a backup). Being a little too big, the fit didn't have much shape, was kind of long and I ended up looking a little "tent-ish" in photos. But at least I had room in my dress to eat a big dinner! ha! Overall though, it was a good pick....just would have been better in my size!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 9, 2012
Gorgeous color!!
I wore this dress just recently for a rehearsal dinner over New Year's Eve weekend and loved it!!! I'm so glad I read other reviews because it definitely does run really big. I ordered a S & M and normally wear medium--but wore the small and could've worn the XS comfortably. The dress was very comfortable and the color was my favorite thing about the dress. Definitely recommend!!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 10, 2012
Great dress!!
I wore this dress in Vegas and it fit great!! It was very comfortable. I would recommend renting a smaller size in the future, as it does run big Overall Amazing Dress and beautiful color!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 23, 2012
The RTR women were very helpful!
I wore this dress to my homecoming dance and absolutely loved it! Would recommend this dress for any occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 25, 2012
Everything was beautiful
I heard about rent the runway some months ago while reading the wall street journal. I had a formal family birthday party to attend, and I decided to rent because I was looking for something a little different, and I didn't want to buy another one-time- wear dress. I ordered this, and kept thinking how stupid i was, that it was going to be gross, that it was going to not fit, that i would hate it, that it would be late. Boy, was I wrong. The dress was LINED, beautiful fit, beautiful material, on-time. WOW. I am going on vacation soon and just rented two dresses for the trip, how easy to throw them in the mail on the way home. I did wear this with a gold belt, and I rented the necklace too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
January 31, 2012
This dress was the perfect balance between formal and casual!
This flowing dress was a perfect fit for my college semi-formal. I received so many compliments and I am so glad I rented the recommended necklace with it. My first rental with RTR could not have been better!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
February 1, 2012
AMAZING dress
I rented this for a cocktail party and I'm not sure I've ever received so many compliments. It's definitely the perfect dress for a night out on the town. The draping of the fabric is simultaneously forgiving and flattering, which is a pretty rare find. The dress is also a GORGEOUS shade of blue that can be worn with nearly any accent color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
February 1, 2012
Great dress for late pregnancy
I was 8 months pregnant and wore this dress to a destination wedding and it was great! Pre pregnancy I am 118 lbs and wear a 0 to a 2 so I rented the small and extra small at 8 months preggo after speaking to the staff at rtr. The extra small was def too tight in the chest and belly area but the small worked great. It was a little shorter on me than pictured but was perfect for what I wanted it for. Def a great dress for late pregnancy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
February 13, 2012
Just felt so amazing and special in this dress, you definitely had all eyes on you!
Love this dress! And my husband like it so much he considered buying it for me. The dress has great draping and the color is very vivid. The length was great for me I'm 5'3 and I wore 3 in heels but I can see if you are much taller it would start to creep up. I got a lot of compliments that night and best of all it was very comfortable. I was worried about fit when I ordered because I'm busty and also have wide hips but I had not issues. Would rent it again but maybe next time in the Coral.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
February 24, 2012
Fast, Easy & great for a one night special occasion.
Wow what a stunning and comfortable way to get all dolled up when your 24 weeks - 6 months pregnant! I ordered xs and small and went with small and have to say that I had no regrets in the dress and fun jewels! Easy return & didnt even have to steam it. Just unboxed it night before event, wore it and returned it all in less than 4 days!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
February 24, 2012
Really pretty but heavy
The dress was beautiful and the color was stunning. I had this as my backup dress and went with my first choice. Looked just like it does on the model. Only thing with it was that it was very heavy from the layers of fabric - though it did not feel too heavy one. The draping was beautiful. Would definitely get this again for another event.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
March 5, 2012
Stunning Dress
Very stunning dress and fits great. I received a lot of compliments on this dress.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
March 17, 2012
great dress for a wedding
Loved this dress! I got so many compliments all night. Couldn't have been morehappy with the service!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 6, 2012
Lots of fun
With so many wonderful options it was hard to pick just one dress to wear, but I chose this to wear to my brother's wedding in SC. The weather was unseasonably warm so the lightweight jersey was a great pick. I got many compliments and was happy to tell them of the rental experience - I think I made a few converts to the renting ways. The lining does run quite small but overall very true to size and very easy to dance in. Can't wait for the next rent-worthy occasion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
May 6, 2012
Easy to rent and return with RTR. Everyone kept telling me how stunning I looked!
I rented this dress for my husband's work event and got so many compliments telling me how stunning I looked. I ordered sizes XS and S but ended up wearing an XS because of the dress' flowy design and my petite frame. Overall the dress fit really well and was very comfortable to wear. I also ordered the matching necklace which is a fabulous pairing.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 7, 2012
Great dress!
This dress is so flattering- especially if you are not feeling terrific about your body. I am 10 wks. pregnant, have put on about 5 lbs., and have a belly that does not in any way look like a cute little baby bump yet. The draping of the fabric falls perfectly to cover the tummy and still manages to look sexy and not at all matronly the way most dresses that are designed to hide "problem areas" are. I was also really happy with the fit on top. I have a petite frame with small shoulders and a lot of the time if I don't get clothes that are specifically petite-sized they will hang too low in the front or I'll have large gaps under my arms but this fit really nicely everywhere.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
May 8, 2012
I received countless compliments!
This dress was fantastic! It runs a little big, and I wish I would have had one size smaller, but it still worked great! The color is very vibrant, and it is unbelievably comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
May 14, 2012
The dress was very comfortable, and I had a great time.
This was a very comfortable dress. It is stretchy so I ended up going with my smaller backup size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 20, 2012
Pretty ,but wayyyy to short
I rented this dress for a charity event I was going to. I was so excited to get it in the mail because this is the first dress I've rented through RTR. I ordered an XS and a S. When I tried on the small it fit perfectly ,but it was so short it didn't cover my whole butt. I am tall (5'8) but im not that tall. I wore the small ,but it still showed 3/4 of my up leg. I wore spandex shorts underneath. I thought this dress was going to be sliming but in my opinion I felt like it made me look 2 sizes bigger than I am. I am very impressed with the whole RTR company and would rent a dress again but defiantly not this one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
May 21, 2012
Stress Free and Wonderful
I wore this dress to a wedding my boss was also invited to, which heightened stress about what to wear. At the bachelorette party in vegas, my friend told me about RTR and decided to give it a try. I was also worried about this dress beause I'm a curvy and slighty bigger girl and my bra size has always hindered my dress wearing abilities. The dress arrived on time. The fit was perfect. I still felt comfortable eating and dancing at the wedding. I also rented the necklace. Leading up to the wedding I felt less stress in having to pick something to wear and it truly came out stress free and very classy. I highly recommend this dress for curvy girls looking for a dress to a classy occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 29, 2012
Great price for the look and quality!
I had been nervous to try RTR despite having heard positive feedback. I'm not only glad that I finally did but also sad that I waited so long! This dress was everything I expected and more. The fit was extremely comfortable and the dress was structured enough to avoid being too drapey or sloppy. I received several compliments throughout the night on both the dress and the necklace. I'm looking forward to my next event so that I can rent another great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
June 17, 2012
Beautiful and Comfortable
This dress is a rich cobalt blue. It is super comfortable and it looked amazing. I ordered a small and medium because other ladies said this dress ran large. I didn't feel that way. I knew I would be dancing all night and the size small, just felt a little too tight. I think if you flux between a size 8 & 10... go for a medium.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 18, 2012
I loved that I could wear a dress that I liked but didn't have to invest a ton of money in it. I think the best compliment I got was just that it was a really cute dress!
I loved this dress! It fit perfectly, it was a gorgeous color, and it was super flattering on - not to mention it was incredibly comfortable. I thought it was great for the occasion - not overly fancy, but still classy, fun and cute. I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 24, 2012
Perfect fit!
I orderd this dress for a wedding and it was perfect! It's true to size, easy to wear and fit great.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
July 1, 2012
A good back up choice
I rented this dress as my back up style and had my first choice not worked this would have. I just had a baby 4 months ago and so I wanted something this would hide my lumps and bumps as well as accommodate my chest that is much larger than normal. This dress does that. I'm 5'9 and it was not too short although the lining underneath was riding up a little when I tried it on... possible due to my larger booty. The only other issue I had was that it was a little snug under my right arm. I would say I was at the top end of the size scale and I would not recommend it if you are any larger than me, and I don't consider myself big.. just have a little baby weight left. I wish I had taken a photo to share but I totally forgot. The color is beautiful and the material has some weight to it.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
July 5, 2012
Perfect dress for baby bump
I wore this dress 24 weeks pregnant and received so many compliments. Many didn't even realize I was pregnant. I thought the fit was spot on, but of course, my mom thought it was a little on the short side. Overall, a great selection and may even consider renting it again in a different color for a wedding I have 2 weeks post due date.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 4, 2012
Gorgeous and super comfy!
I rented this dress for a toga party instead of draping a sheet over me and felt absolutely amazing in this dress. It is super comfy and very flattering for almost any body type. I rented the small and extra small and went with the smaller size since it ran large. Would definitely wear this again!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
August 9, 2012
Great Dress
I rented this for a summer wedding in Chicago and it worked out great. The dress mostly fits true to size, although it's quite roomy in the stomach area so you don't have to worry if that's a problem area. It's decently short, but not obscenely so. Great to show off long legs.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 10, 2012
Amazing!
This dress was awesome. It was extrmemly comfortable and the color was great in person. It was a tad short but if you're ok with that then don't hesitate to flaunt what you've got! I got lots of compliments and would definitely order it again, especially becasue it's on the site in a few different colors.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
August 10, 2012
My dress made me feel like I was the best dressed guest at the wedding! Everyone was very complimentary about how beautiful the dress was, and I was happy to be the hanger :)
Loved the dress and all the little goodies that come along with it. The color and cut was flawless. It was comfortable and chic, which is a winning combination as far as I'm concerned!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 10, 2012
Loved!
I rented this dress for NYE and it was a big hit! I got so many compliments and felt great in it. I originally rented the S and M, but afte reading the reviews I contacted RTR and they changed me to an XS and S. they were so helpful and the small fit great! :)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
August 15, 2012
Lots of Compliments
I was one of two ladies wearing this dress at a wedding (shows you how popular it is) and we both received lots of compliments. I have short legs so it wasn't too short on me but ladies with longer legs may want to watch out. This dress is super flattering, good for camouflaging a tummy and it's a great color. Only complaint is that is smelled a little bit like spray tan...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
August 18, 2012
Love this dress!
I rented this dress for a formal event for school and it was perfect - classy, but still fun. The flutter-esque sleeve is great and the draping is great for hiding anything! The color is just like the one shown in the picture too, a bright cobalt blue.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
August 21, 2012
Loved the dress so much, we used this pic for our holiday card!
I rented this dress for my husband's holiday party. Wanted to go with a different color than black or red. This dress was a hit! The blue is beautiful and vibrant! I received so many compliments. The best part is my mom-in-law took pics of us and we used for our holiday card!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
August 24, 2012
Lot of compliments!
I recieved a ton of compliments on this dress, the color is true to picture and is very stunning. It is extremely comfortable and lots of fun!
See more reviews:
3 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×