Draped Dream Dress

$70 to buy
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This bright style from Mark & James by Badgley Mischka brings a healthy dose of color to any cocktail party.

Also available in coral and teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - not fitted throughout
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Indigo matte jersey. One shoulder neckline. Draping detail on body. Split cap sleeve. Hidden side zip. 35" from top of shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
474 reviews
Fit
Large
(152)
True to Size
(296)
Small
(21)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159lbs
June 27, 2011
I wore this to my 28th birthday party... And I stole their breath. Not only did I feel special because I thought I looked glamorous, but there is nothing more appealing than stealing someone's breath and having them say "wow! you look.... wow." Love this style and dress!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
June 30, 2011
This dress is absolutely perfect except for one minor issue. It is SHORT SHORT SHORT.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
July 5, 2011
LOVED this dress. Will order it again! Runs big. Perfect for summer wedding
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
July 5, 2011
I wore this to a summer wedding and got a ton of compliments. The color is wonderful and was super flattering with my fair skin. As others have mentioned it is very comfortable and easy to move in. While this dress looked great in person, I definitely ended up with a couple of unflattering photos due to how loose it is around the middle in combination with my larger bust so definitely pose like the model in the picture to show some shape in photos! The length was perfect for my height - not too short at all. One of my fave rentals until I saw the photos...
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 1, 2011
I have never gotten so many compliments on a dress in my life. I wore this to a wedding this weekend and it felt great, flowly and loose but a solid structure. I ordered an XS and a S, ended up wearing the S because the XS felt tighter under my arm.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
August 1, 2011
LOVE THIS DRESS! I wore it to a wedding and got so many compliments! I rented the M and got the L as a back up. The M fit almost perfectly, so I would say that the dress runs true to size. Like other reviewers have said, the dress is short - and the M was just a little too short for my comfort. The L was only slightly bigger and just a little longer, so I wore it instead. Great dress - very comfortable and flattering!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
August 8, 2011
I'm bigger in the hips and have a smaller waist and chest (5'7", 130lbs, 34B). I was originally worried bc my backup size (M) wasn't in and reviews kept saying this dress is so short, but the small ended up fitting perfectly and I didn't think the length was an issue at all. I received a lot of compliments and referred quite a few girls to Rent the Runway during my friend's wedding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
August 9, 2011
The dress is a beautiful color!
It runs a little large; while I normally wear size 10 dresses, the medium sized dress here fit perfectly. It was so fun to wear, it was great to dance in, and I got a TON of compliments. It is a great dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Body type: Full Bust
August 24, 2011
Very, very sexy dress. Totally forgiving over poochy belly and other things I like to hide. Fit my DDs with no problem. Great color, very elegant and perfect for fancy wedding I attended.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 115
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
September 6, 2011
perfect dress post baby
I rented this dress for a wedding. I had a baby a few months ago and still have about 10-15 pounds to lose. Although I am usually a size 6, I am a 10 now. The medium fit well and was very flattering. It hid the belly and showed off the legs. A great recommendation.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
September 12, 2011
This dress was a total hit! I wore it to a rehearsal dinner and received compliments all night. The material is heavy which is perfect because it doesn't cling to your body. The color is bright yet appropriate for a night event. The way is the fabric drapes across is very flattering!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
September 12, 2011
This dress was perfect! I'm petite, so I was worried this dress would be too big, but it fit really well. For me, it was the best of both worlds – I felt elegant, but it was also extremely comfortable! I received many compliments on the dress and necklace (I paired it with the Badgley Mischka Crystal Cluster necklace, which looked awesome with the dress)! I wish I could have kept both…
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
September 12, 2011
I loved this dress! I got so many comments on how nice it was. The color is a bit darker than it looks on here, more of a royal blue, but was beautiful. I wore it with silver heels and it looked great.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
September 13, 2011
Great service
I wore this to a vineyard wedding and received tons of compliments. I paired it with silver/grey tones and it worked well. It's super comfortable without compromising beauty. I usually wear a L because of my chest but was able to wear a M comfortably. GET IT! :) I tried to upload a picture but it didn't work.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 13, 2011
This dress definitely runs large - which is what most of the reviews already say - but I went with it anyway. I wore this dress to a wedding and truly dont know the last time I had so many compliments in one night. It is a glamorous and comfortable dress. A little weighty due to the draping, but I did not want to put it back in the mail and send it back, that's how much I loved it.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
September 14, 2011
I absolutely loved this dress! The draping makes it appealing to multiple body types, and hides the areas most women dislike. The color definitely stood out, and I received compliments all night long.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
September 20, 2011
First, the dress is beautiful and in the end it ended up working out. Got lots of compliments and was happy with it. But, thought the sizes ran a little wonky. I'm a consistent 4/6 depending on the dress and the small in this dress fit like a garbage bag. The x-small was better - gave more shape overall - but the opening was really tight under my arm. A trip to the gym + steam room later, it fit okay, but would have been nice to feel more comfortable.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 25, 2011
In LOVE with this dress and you will be too. I got this dress for a grab-a-date and got so many compliments. Ordered the medium and large and wore the medium, fit perfect. May be a little longer than the picture just depending on your height. Also the arm with the shoulder, when you lift it has a black under arm ( you cannot see unless your arm is up ). Super elegant dress and easy to wear!!! You will be pleased and love the designer! :o)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 26, 2011
I felt like a movie star!
This dress is gorgeous! I ordered the medium and large and wore the medium. It fit fine around my hips (my problem area), and was very flattering. I didn't even bother with the spanx. I got so many compliments on it. This was my first rental and I'll definitely do it again. Thanks!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
September 28, 2011
This dress was a great color and easy to wear. I wore it to a wedding and got a ton of compliments. It runs a bit large, so if you are a 12/14 you'll be fine wearing the 12. Didn't need any shape wear, just a strapless bra (which didn't show at all). Would rent this again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
October 3, 2011
This dress runs very big. I'm a 10 with a full bust, and was worried the Large would be snug. I ended up wearing the medium very comfortably. The dress is beautiful, the color is more vibrant than the photos give it credit for. It is great for dancing (I wore it to a wedding) and is very forgiving if you're trying to conceal a midsection. it's comfortable and easy to wear.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
October 3, 2011
I got so many compliments from friends and random people in this dress! I paired it with a chunky Betsy Johnson necklace and black Michael Kors heels and everybody love it! SO comfy too...I wish I could have kept it :) Even men were telling me how great I looked in the dress -- can't get much better than that!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
October 5, 2011
I rented this dress for a wedding and it was a hit! I received compliments from so many people all through out the night. I am a small build and usually wear size small. Since this dress is a drap dress I ordered a XS for the extra size and actually wore that. I tried the XS on first and it was a perfect fit - I didn't even try the small. I definitely recommend this dress for an event that you want to wear something fun, but classy. Loved it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 17, 2011
While I did get a lot of compliments on this dress I didn't love it. The fabric was really heavy (polyester?) and I thought the drapey-ness was a bit much and my arm would get lost in it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 56
Body type: Full Bust
October 22, 2011
I felt like a princess. It was fun dress to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 30, 2011
Loved this dress
This dress is well made and comfortable. I wore it for my birthday party and got many, many compliments. I would also suggest ordering a size down so it provides more shape. I would definitely rent again! I also rented with necklace shown.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 31, 2011
I'm not usually a fan of jersey, but the color and texture of this dress were both spot-on and nice for an event on a cold Boston evening (actually pretty warm when you consider the lining and weight of the jersey). Much prefer the blue to this season's red in the same/very similar style. Dressed it down a bit with black/crystal accessories and closed-toe snake-print Jimmy Choos. Runs a little short for an XS, but at 5'4" I wear a 32 inch inseam, so unlikely to be an issue for most people.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 62
Body type: Full Bust
November 2, 2011
The medium size dress fit well for my 38D bra size so I would say it ran a little large. The dress was flattering and slimming.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
November 2, 2011
I rented this dress for a wedding; I ordered the medium and large for backup. While many of the reviews commented on the shortness of this dress I decided to take a risk since the description said that the model in the picture was 5'10". I should have listened to the reviews. The medium fit perfectly in the body but was WAY TOO SHORT (practically a shirt on me), oddly the large was almost too long...I’m not sure why there is such a big difference in length between the medium and the large but there is. I ended up making the large work, I usually wear a 6/8 and while I think the dress ended up looking ok I definitely felt like I was swimming in it. Another weird thing was the lining; the medium had blue lining to match the outside fabric while the large had black lining. This was a bit of an issue b/c the lining can be seen under the arm of the draped shoulder. While I liked the dress overall, I would not recommend to skinny tall girls.
RTR CustomerNovember 21, 2011
We are sorry to hear this dress didn't work out for you. We are updating the fit notes to reflect the length of this dress. Thank you for sharing your experience!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
November 2, 2011
I LOVED this dress! It was really flattering and I received a TON of compliments. It drapes beautifully and is really comfortable. It does run bigger, I wore the Small (my backup was the Medium).
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
November 2, 2011
I usually wear a size 8 jeans and med to lg tops. I ordered med and lg in this dress and ended up wearing the med. There didn't seem to be much difference in the two except the length. My boyfriend actually said the lg looked like it fit better than the med (meaning it was tighter). The med was plenty roomy but it wasn't like a trashbag. The chest area could definately accomodate someone with a larger chest. I am a 34C and it was slighty big although you couldn't tell by looking at me. The lengthy was mid-thigh, not too short at all. I 100% agree with those that said in pictures you definately need to strike a pose. Show off the dress, if you just stand normal, it's not going to look like the most flattering dress although in person, tons of people complimented me about the dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
November 3, 2011
The dress is gorgeous, however it runs very large. I'm 5'1 138 lbs.. I rented the small and the medium and I was swimming in the small. RTR was of course great and issued a credit as I didn't wear it, but would have loved to if it had been a bit more snug!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
November 8, 2011
Everyone loved the dress and it was so comfortable to wear all night. Great deal and style
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
November 14, 2011
Love!! I'd buy it if I could!!
I wore this to my brother-in-law's wedding and it was pitch perfect. I had to do a reading so I wanted something fun but classy. I'm almost 5' 8" and it was short enough to be fun for the evening, but appropriate for the ceremony. I'm an A cup and I was able to wear a convertible bra with one strap attached diagonally which gave it nice shape (and I have some booty for a skinny girl). Even though it's drapey, it's not shapeless. I got to tell everyone about RTR because of how many compliments I received!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 106lbs
November 15, 2011
The service at RTR is fantastic! I was able to have my dresses delivered to my hotel in Vegas so when I arrived they were waiting for me at check in :-) Not having to worry about traveling with them was a lifesaver!!
This dress is beyond! Not only was the color amazing but the fit was fantastic! It was extremely comfortable and made me feel like a goddess! I had to package it up as soon as I took it off for fear of keeping it, that's how much I loved it <3. Love RTR!!
TamaraJanuary 27, 2012
I love how you accessorized this dress! So cute.
AlexaAugust 3, 2012
This is the perfect dress for a fabulous night out in Vegas! Great choice, not to mention accessories pairing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 16, 2011
Stunning and so comfortable
I wore this to a Fall wedding in OK and it was stunning. I got tons of compliments. This is perfect if you have a little belly to hide. It is a little short but I am 5'5 and it was absolutely wedding appropriate. Update: wore this dress to a Bat Mitzvah @ 4 months pregnant and I got a zillion compliments. Very flattering and cute for a baby bump.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 21, 2011
Great dress!
I am 5'2" and have an athletic build. This is my first time using RTR and I used this dress for 2 weddings I had within one week. I followed the advice of the other reviewers and ordered my usual size (M) and then I ordered a Small as well. The Small fit great. It was a little shorter than I am used to, but I don't usually get dressed up anyway. I was comfortable all night and received many compliments. It was great for the Hindu/Polish wedding I went to where most of the women wore traditional clothing that drapes. It was a great color and in great condition when I got them. It is a heavier material which was nice - no cold weather issues where bras are concerned since it was a one shoulder dress. I wore a bra that had movable straps so I just used one on the one side and I was fine!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
November 30, 2011
I still receive compliments even when people see pictures from the event. It photographs beautifully.
I rented this dress along with the necklace for a spring wedding. I received so many compliments on both! The color stands out in a crowd!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 11, 2011
I love the quality of RTR products. Everything always arrives looking fresh and amazing.
I rented this for a holiday party and couldn't be happier! It was fresh and comfortable, I received so many compliments!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 128lbs
December 14, 2011
Great
I rented a dress for a party bec. I just had a baby and did not want to buy a dress in a size that I would hopefully not be in the future. I was a little nervous about it arriving on time and how it would look. It was great! I got a lot of compliments an I ordered the necklace that was in the picture and it also look great! I got so many compliments that night! Will defiantly order again and btw....so will my friends who saw me that night!
See more reviews:
2 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×