Draped Dream Dress

$70 to buy
$470 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This bright style from Mark & James by Badgley Mischka brings a healthy dose of color to any cocktail party.

Also available in coral and teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - not fitted throughout
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - not fitted throughout
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Indigo matte jersey. One shoulder neckline. Draping detail on body. Split cap sleeve. Hidden side zip. 35" from top of shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
474 reviews
Fit
Large152
True to Size296
Small21
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
January 5, 2012
Bright Blue for New Year's!
This dress was super comfortable and I got a lot of compliments, however I ordered the large thinking that designer labels usually run small and it ended up being a little big (they didn't have the M in stock to get as a backup). Being a little too big, the fit didn't have much shape, was kind of long and I ended up looking a little "tent-ish" in photos. But at least I had room in my dress to eat a big dinner! ha! Overall though, it was a good pick....just would have been better in my size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
January 5, 2012
LOVE!!!
Loved this dress! The other review were really helpful in my deciding. I felt beautiful all night (and comfortable)! Received a lot of compliments too. It ran a bit large so I got to wear the small - love a vanity size! I have a bit of a baby belly still and it hid it all perfectly. My only regret is that I didn't own this one!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
January 2, 2012
Absolutely gorgeous
I run a size 6-8, and I got this in a medium. This is a truly gorgeous dress- the color is a really beautiful blue-- looks darker in pictures than in person. Great fit- skims the body in all the right places, while hiding ones you may be less-than-pleased with. LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
January 2, 2012
GORGEOUS color.
I LOVE the color of this dress! It does run large. I am normally an 8 in dresses and the small fit wonderfully. (Great boost to my ego!!) My 5' 4", 38C, apple frame held up okay, but it was a bit lacking in the shape department for me. I have very narrow hips so it wasn't terribly flattering on me. I did not wear this dress for my event, but would have if it was slightly more fitted to my shape. If I were a super curvy girl or pear shaped I totally would have rocked this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 1, 2012
Great customer service ... even received an email about how to return over the holiday!
I rented this dress for a NYE wedding, while almost 5 months pregnant and I felt amazing in it! Great color, great fit, and so comfortable! LOVED IT!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 22, 2011
I had a dress that fit!
I was 16 weeks pregnant when I wore this dress to a wedding and it worked SO well. You can slightly see my bump and it fit perfectly around my neck. Highly recommend!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
December 21, 2011
Great Color, Great Fit, 100% recommend this dress!
What a hit! This dress gets an A+ I am 5'5", 125 lbs, and the XS was a perfect fit with room to spare, so it definitely runs big...felt like I was wearing my most comfy t-shirt, but looked like a million bucks. Paired it with black tights and heels, and some chunky jewelry for a fancy holiday cocktail party--received many compliments! I would definitely recommend this dress! Yet another Rent the Runway success--love them!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
December 19, 2011
Great Bump Friendly Dress
I wore this dress to a wedding at 6.5 months pregnant. I got so many compliments on it along with the necklace shown in the picture. It was great!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 128lbs
December 14, 2011
Great
I rented a dress for a party bec. I just had a baby and did not want to buy a dress in a size that I would hopefully not be in the future. I was a little nervous about it arriving on time and how it would look. It was great! I got a lot of compliments an I ordered the necklace that was in the picture and it also look great! I got so many compliments that night! Will defiantly order again and btw....so will my friends who saw me that night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 11, 2011
I love the quality of RTR products. Everything always arrives looking fresh and amazing.
I rented this for a holiday party and couldn't be happier! It was fresh and comfortable, I received so many compliments!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
November 30, 2011
I still receive compliments even when people see pictures from the event. It photographs beautifully.
I rented this dress along with the necklace for a spring wedding. I received so many compliments on both! The color stands out in a crowd!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 29, 2011
I loved that they provided me with hollywood tape, and other essentials. This experience was so much fun!
The color is breathtaking, and I received many compliments throughout the night. The XS fit great, but it was a bit short. I'm 5'9" so I needed the extra length. I LOVED this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 21, 2011
Great dress!
I am 5'2" and have an athletic build. This is my first time using RTR and I used this dress for 2 weddings I had within one week. I followed the advice of the other reviewers and ordered my usual size (M) and then I ordered a Small as well. The Small fit great. It was a little shorter than I am used to, but I don't usually get dressed up anyway. I was comfortable all night and received many compliments. It was great for the Hindu/Polish wedding I went to where most of the women wore traditional clothing that drapes. It was a great color and in great condition when I got them. It is a heavier material which was nice - no cold weather issues where bras are concerned since it was a one shoulder dress. I wore a bra that had movable straps so I just used one on the one side and I was fine!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 16, 2011
Stunning and so comfortable
I wore this to a Fall wedding in OK and it was stunning. I got tons of compliments. This is perfect if you have a little belly to hide. It is a little short but I am 5'5 and it was absolutely wedding appropriate. Update: wore this dress to a Bat Mitzvah @ 4 months pregnant and I got a zillion compliments. Very flattering and cute for a baby bump.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
November 16, 2011
Very Stylish
I wore this dress to a wedding and got a ton of complements. It was so comfortable yet trendy at the same time. I wore my hair half up to accent the one sleeve.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 106lbs
November 15, 2011
The service at RTR is fantastic! I was able to have my dresses delivered to my hotel in Vegas so when I arrived they were waiting for me at check in :-) Not having to worry about traveling with them was a lifesaver!!
This dress is beyond! Not only was the color amazing but the fit was fantastic! It was extremely comfortable and made me feel like a goddess! I had to package it up as soon as I took it off for fear of keeping it, that's how much I loved it <3. Love RTR!!
TamaraJanuary 27, 2012
I love how you accessorized this dress! So cute.
AlexaAugust 3, 2012
This is the perfect dress for a fabulous night out in Vegas! Great choice, not to mention accessories pairing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
November 14, 2011
Love!! I'd buy it if I could!!
I wore this to my brother-in-law's wedding and it was pitch perfect. I had to do a reading so I wanted something fun but classy. I'm almost 5' 8" and it was short enough to be fun for the evening, but appropriate for the ceremony. I'm an A cup and I was able to wear a convertible bra with one strap attached diagonally which gave it nice shape (and I have some booty for a skinny girl). Even though it's drapey, it's not shapeless. I got to tell everyone about RTR because of how many compliments I received!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
November 8, 2011
Everyone loved the dress and it was so comfortable to wear all night. Great deal and style
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
November 3, 2011
The dress is gorgeous, however it runs very large. I'm 5'1 138 lbs.. I rented the small and the medium and I was swimming in the small. RTR was of course great and issued a credit as I didn't wear it, but would have loved to if it had been a bit more snug!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
November 2, 2011
I usually wear a size 8 jeans and med to lg tops. I ordered med and lg in this dress and ended up wearing the med. There didn't seem to be much difference in the two except the length. My boyfriend actually said the lg looked like it fit better than the med (meaning it was tighter). The med was plenty roomy but it wasn't like a trashbag. The chest area could definately accomodate someone with a larger chest. I am a 34C and it was slighty big although you couldn't tell by looking at me. The lengthy was mid-thigh, not too short at all. I 100% agree with those that said in pictures you definately need to strike a pose. Show off the dress, if you just stand normal, it's not going to look like the most flattering dress although in person, tons of people complimented me about the dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
November 2, 2011
I LOVED this dress! It was really flattering and I received a TON of compliments. It drapes beautifully and is really comfortable. It does run bigger, I wore the Small (my backup was the Medium).
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
November 2, 2011
I rented this dress for a wedding; I ordered the medium and large for backup. While many of the reviews commented on the shortness of this dress I decided to take a risk since the description said that the model in the picture was 5'10". I should have listened to the reviews. The medium fit perfectly in the body but was WAY TOO SHORT (practically a shirt on me), oddly the large was almost too long...I’m not sure why there is such a big difference in length between the medium and the large but there is. I ended up making the large work, I usually wear a 6/8 and while I think the dress ended up looking ok I definitely felt like I was swimming in it. Another weird thing was the lining; the medium had blue lining to match the outside fabric while the large had black lining. This was a bit of an issue b/c the lining can be seen under the arm of the draped shoulder. While I liked the dress overall, I would not recommend to skinny tall girls.
RTR CustomerNovember 21, 2011
We are sorry to hear this dress didn't work out for you. We are updating the fit notes to reflect the length of this dress. Thank you for sharing your experience!
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 61
Body type: Full Bust
November 2, 2011
The medium size dress fit well for my 38D bra size so I would say it ran a little large. The dress was flattering and slimming.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 31, 2011
I'm not usually a fan of jersey, but the color and texture of this dress were both spot-on and nice for an event on a cold Boston evening (actually pretty warm when you consider the lining and weight of the jersey). Much prefer the blue to this season's red in the same/very similar style. Dressed it down a bit with black/crystal accessories and closed-toe snake-print Jimmy Choos. Runs a little short for an XS, but at 5'4" I wear a 32 inch inseam, so unlikely to be an issue for most people.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 30, 2011
Loved this dress
This dress is well made and comfortable. I wore it for my birthday party and got many, many compliments. I would also suggest ordering a size down so it provides more shape. I would definitely rent again! I also rented with necklace shown.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Hourglass
October 27, 2011
This dress is beautiful however it didn't really look good on me. The first size I got was a M but it was too big. It went down past my knees. However, the small fit nicely. It was very comfortable just not the best choice for my body type.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
October 24, 2011
Gorgeous dress with super flattering draping. I wore it to a wedding and received a lot of compliments, but the best part was it was SO comfortable. A couple things to note... Make sure to hike the sleeve up on your shoulder otherwise it's just too much fabric. Also, I'm 5'8" normally a size 4 and the XS was far too short to wear to the wedding, so I had to wear the S, which still fit pretty well but was longer.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 55
Body type: Full Bust
October 22, 2011
I felt like a princess. It was fun dress to wear.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 17, 2011
While I did get a lot of compliments on this dress I didn't love it. The fabric was really heavy (polyester?) and I thought the drapey-ness was a bit much and my arm would get lost in it.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
October 14, 2011
Great, easy dress for a wedding. I am almost always a size 4-6, but opted for the XS because it was so forgiving, and to sex it up a bit. Also, it might be helpful to note that the color is closer to royal purple than cobalt blue.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
October 5, 2011
I rented this dress for a wedding and it was a hit! I received compliments from so many people all through out the night. I am a small build and usually wear size small. Since this dress is a drap dress I ordered a XS for the extra size and actually wore that. I tried the XS on first and it was a perfect fit - I didn't even try the small. I definitely recommend this dress for an event that you want to wear something fun, but classy. Loved it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 5, 2011
Love love loved this dress! The shoulder/underarm was a little tight, but I actually didn't mind bc I usually have trouble keeping one-shoulder dresses up. Would def rent again! Very confortable and easy to move/dance, etc in.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
October 3, 2011
I got so many compliments from friends and random people in this dress! I paired it with a chunky Betsy Johnson necklace and black Michael Kors heels and everybody love it! SO comfy too...I wish I could have kept it :) Even men were telling me how great I looked in the dress -- can't get much better than that!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
October 3, 2011
This dress runs very big. I'm a 10 with a full bust, and was worried the Large would be snug. I ended up wearing the medium very comfortably. The dress is beautiful, the color is more vibrant than the photos give it credit for. It is great for dancing (I wore it to a wedding) and is very forgiving if you're trying to conceal a midsection. it's comfortable and easy to wear.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
October 1, 2011
I loved, loved, loved this dress. The color "popped" and it's very easy to wear as far as fit. Great dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 28, 2011
This dress was shorter in legnth than the brand new teal colored dress I also ordered as a backup color. I ordered the medium and it was shorter than the n/w tags teal medium. I also agree with the other reviewer that stated it looked royal blue which seemed purplish to me. I went with the teal got a ton of compliments. Wore with large cuff and big earrings.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
September 28, 2011
This dress was a great color and easy to wear. I wore it to a wedding and got a ton of compliments. It runs a bit large, so if you are a 12/14 you'll be fine wearing the 12. Didn't need any shape wear, just a strapless bra (which didn't show at all). Would rent this again!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 28, 2011
Femine, Comfortable and Figure Flattering for most body types!
Loved this dress! It's stylish, is made with great quality and it's COMFORTABLE! I received so many compliments! I was sad to send it back. The dress will look lovely on all body types!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 26, 2011
I felt like a movie star!
This dress is gorgeous! I ordered the medium and large and wore the medium. It fit fine around my hips (my problem area), and was very flattering. I didn't even bother with the spanx. I got so many compliments on it. This was my first rental and I'll definitely do it again. Thanks!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 25, 2011
In LOVE with this dress and you will be too. I got this dress for a grab-a-date and got so many compliments. Ordered the medium and large and wore the medium, fit perfect. May be a little longer than the picture just depending on your height. Also the arm with the shoulder, when you lift it has a black under arm ( you cannot see unless your arm is up ). Super elegant dress and easy to wear!!! You will be pleased and love the designer! :o)
See more reviews:
10 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×