Draped Dream Dress

$70 to buy
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This bright style from Mark & James by Badgley Mischka brings a healthy dose of color to any cocktail party.

Also available in coral and teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - not fitted throughout
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Indigo matte jersey. One shoulder neckline. Draping detail on body. Split cap sleeve. Hidden side zip. 35" from top of shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
474 reviews
Fit
Large
(152)
True to Size
(296)
Small
(21)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
January 1, 2015
Nice dress, the draping hides any problem areas.
The dress was a gorgeous deep blue. I had on a body shaper which created some friction with the slip under the dress, so I had to pull it down several times during the evening. Otherwise, the dress was very flattering.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 6, 2015
Great dress! Received lots of compliments! Runs large...
First RTR experience. I waited until the last minute to order and still received the dress on time. Dress runs large. I usually wear a 4/6. Originally ordered a S and XS as the back up. I got nervous and changed the order to M and S. I ended up wearing the small and it was too big but oddly enough still flattering. Great dress for all figures!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Weight: 141lbs
January 30, 2015
Great for a night on the town in Vegas.
I rented the medium and large and found the medium with plenty of room. Great color, lots of compliments.
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
March 6, 2015
I wore this dress when I was 6 months pregnant. It was so comfortable for my growing belly!
It does run a bit short though, if you are trying to accommodate a belly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
March 31, 2015
I wore this dress to a friend's wedding and received a lot of compliments!
This dress fits really well, is comfortable, and looks great on all body types!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
August 1, 2014
h
n
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
June 11, 2013
The PERFECT dress for a summer beach wedding, received compliments on the gorgeous color all night!
This dress DEFINITELY runs a little on the large side. I usually wear a M-L and even the medium was a bit roomy in the bust area. I would suggest ordering a size or two down from your normal size. The wonderful thing about this dress is that it is forgiving in all the right places and drapes beautifully on all body types!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
April 25, 2015
A sexy, comfy dress perfect for an A-cup!
My initial hesitation about this dress was that it seemed to be the one favored by pregnant women.... And I wanted something classy and sexy. But it ended up being perfect! An additional pro of this dress is that if you have a very small chest like mine, you don't have to worry about the fit up top. You can easily wear a strapless bra with this dress as well, and it's super comfortable! It's a little short, so just be prepared for that. This was my "emergency rescue" dress after another one didn't work out, and it was the perfect choice - TONS of compliments.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
May 11, 2015
Worked well for hiding a 3 month bump!
Worked well for hiding a 3 month bump!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 27, 2014
NYE Backup Dress
This was my backup dress for New Years Eve. I decided to wear another dress because it fit me much better and was more comfortable. I did love the deep blue color of the dress and it was very forgiving with the flowy material. However, the medium was SUPER short (I'm just shy of 5ft 7in) and the large was VERY large. I don't know if I would rent this dress again because it wasn't the right fit for me but it is a lovely dress.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
December 9, 2015
xxxx
This dress was extremely comfortable even if you are having a bit of a bloated day. The color was fabulous. I normally wear between a 4 and a 6 and the small was too big for me. Rent the Runway was awesome and sent me an XS just in time. It was perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 6, 2012
beautiful dress, very forgiving style!
I wore this when I was 6months pregnant. It was loose enough to be comfortable, but didn't make me look like a house. I can't even tell you how many compliments I got!!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
September 12, 2011
comfy and great color
i ordered the xs and the s. i liked how the xs fit in the bust area, but it was too short. the small was a little loose but more comfortable for me to dance in because of the additional length. i loved the dress. i received many compliments and it was very flattering on. i expected it to be super loose because of the reviews i read, but was pleasantly surprised at how it hung on my body. i loved the experience of renting this fabulous dress and will certainly be renting again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 29, 2011
I loved that they provided me with hollywood tape, and other essentials. This experience was so much fun!
The color is breathtaking, and I received many compliments throughout the night. The XS fit great, but it was a bit short. I'm 5'9" so I needed the extra length. I LOVED this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 15, 2012
I felt great in this dress!
One of my favorite rentals so far! I wore this for "formal night" on a cruise. I rented the XS and S and could barely fit into the XS. It took a little finagling to keep the lining on the right side to stay hidden but otherwise the S fit perfectly! I love how the material draped and moved and how comfortable it was. My boyfriend said he saw quite a few women on the ship checking out my dress. I'd definitely consider renting this again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
April 11, 2012
Friends (and my boyfriend) kept telling me how gorgeous I looked, and how beautifully the color offset my eyes and complexion - I felt beautiful!
I rented this dress for my law school's Barrister's Ball - it was perfect. The color is a very saturated royal blue, everyone told me it made my eyes pop! The draping and cut are very flattering (especially around the problem areas) and the dress was also incredibly comfortable... It was so nice to be able to wear a beautiful dress that I could dance, and move in as well. It did run a bit large - I usually wear a size 10ish, but the medium fit perfectly. The length hit me a little bit lower than mid-thigh, not too much longer than on the model (even though I'm only 5'5"). Overall, I absolutely loved the dress! A great first rental - thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
April 16, 2012
The dress arrived in perfect shape ready to wear. I love the fact that you can get two sizes of the same dress for a better chance of having the right one!
For my first rental, I would highly recommend using RTR for your next occasion. I was a little hesitant to rent since I am pregnant, but after reading the reviews, I knew I couldn't go wrong. I was complimented on the dress all night long! Thank you and looking for my next dress right now!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Pear
August 26, 2012
Thank You RTR
I wore this to a freinds wedding and I loved it. It was so comfy and easy to wear. I am tall and usually have to worry about dresses being to short, this beauty was just perfect. I wasnt worried about my butt hanging out all evening. Every time I turned around someone was telling me how they loved the dress. I will rent agian with RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 13, 2012
This dress was excellent for a football game day and fit like a dream!
This dress was absolutely fabulous! I wore it for a football game day and was nervous the material would end up showing sweat but it was thick enough that it didn't. The dress has a lot of stretch to it so I wouldn't be too nervous about it not fitting. The draping was perfect because it hid all the problem areas.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 1, 2012
The dress looked great in photos and was fun to wear!
I was nervous about the length at first because the dress is very short. But, my husband loved it, and it was fun to wear. I got lots of compliments and the dress looked great in pictures. I would say it needs a necklace, fun shoes and self tan your legs!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 10, 2012
Gorgeous color and easy, comfortable fit!
So comfortable and easy to dance in! I never felt like the shoulder was going to go anywhere which is so nice in one-shoulder dresses. Some angles made me look a lot bigger, so no front-on pictures. The slip underneath was really short but the actual dress was completely appropriate and I never felt like it was hiking up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
December 13, 2012
What a difference a designer dress makes! You can just tell the quality when touching it, loved it!
I was 34 weeks pregnant when I wore this dress and every said they couldn't even tell I was pregnant until I turned to the side! The front did a great job at minimizing my belly. I normally wear a size XS or 2, so I ordered both the XS and Small. The small fit great and was comfortable and I got compliments all night long! The color is just gorgeous is person. I'd love to try it on when not pregnant and see how it looks!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 13, 2013
Gorgeous color, flattering, and great fit!
This dress was perfect for the bachelorette weekend! The color was perfect and so was the fit. It was a little short, but it was ok. This was actually my second choice that I rented and my first time to rent from RTR! I LOVE RTR! I am so happy with my whole RTR experience!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
May 20, 2013
6 1/2 months pregnant (26 weeks) and the dress fit great!! Definitely recommend!!
I was really hoping to find a dress that I could wear to a good friends wedding that I could still feel glamorous in despite being 6 1/2 months pregnant. This dress did the trick! I thought I would need to wear the large because at the time I was 170 lbs, and my bra size up to a 36 F, but the medium fit great. The large was not as snug in the chest as I would of liked. Also, I was afraid that because of my height and bump it would be too short but it was the perfect length. I actually plan on renting this dress (but in a different color) for a wedding I'm going to when I am 2 months postpartum. I figured I wouldn't want anything too tight then. I would highly recommend this for anyone, but especially expectant mothers.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 11, 2013
Amazing fit!
Absolutely fell in love with how comfortable this dress was and received so many compliments throughout the night. This dress comes highly recommended
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
August 13, 2013
The process was easy, the website very helpful, & loved my dress, will definitely try RTR again! :)
At first I was hesitant about RTR because I prefer trying my dresses on before acquiring any. But browsing through the website, gave helpful hints on the details of the dress, how it may fit. And I love how you have photos and other people's reviews on the dresses IN YOUR OWN SIZE to compare. Needless to say, I got tons of compliments on the dress, it was very comfy, and also loved the stylist pick for the accesories to go with it. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
November 9, 2013
Fabulous dress!
This dress was amazing! The color and fit we're perfect for an island wedding. The dress was perfectly flowy but it had a good weight so the wind was not a problem. I received so many compliments and felt fantastic all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
January 24, 2014
perfect dress for a fall wedding, great RTR service
I wore this dress to a wedding in October. I loved this dress, it was comfortable and I got several compliments on it. it does run large, a small would have fit perfect! definitely get a smaller size as your second choice. Great RTR customer service, delivery, and return as always.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
April 5, 2014
Gorgeous Dress
I wore this to a work event and it was perfect. The XS fit very well and I liked that it wasn't too form fitting but still flattering. The color is beautiful and I really liked the fabric of the dress. My friend in the photo is also wearing a RTR dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 167lbs
April 8, 2014
tons of compliments at the wedding! this facebook pic got tons of compliments of the dress!
I picked this dress because I saw other pictures of preggos wearing it. This was my third choice but I was not disappointed. I got a medium and large. The medium was to small so the large fit perfectly. I ordered it on Wed during noon and got it the next day around the same time! It was so comfortable! It didn't make me feel hot either. Pretty hot in Jacksonville Fl that day to. Thank you RTR will def be back again even after I have this baby. Oh I was 30 weeks preggo in this pic.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 141lbs
April 26, 2014
Beautiful, flattering, dress that got me many compliments all night long!
Ordered the M first but it was too loose, the Small was (surprisingly) perfect although this dress is seriously short! I'm only 5'3" so it worked for me but just barely. It perfectly conceals a less than flat tummy, is good for a full bust as it's quite the minimizer. The color is gorgeous, the dress laid beautifully over just the right places and made me feel beautiful and sexy all night! I would love to own this dress!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
October 29, 2014
Gorgeous color!
I absolutely loved the color of this dress and felt like it was so fun to dance in. It shows just enough skin to be sexy but still is very tasteful. There is also no need to worry about your belly. I am way more comfortable in A-line dresses but I really liked the dress. The inner lining does ride up a little but the outer fabric is long enough that you are not exposed.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
December 18, 2014
Love love love this dress!!
This dress made me feel like a million bucks!! It was very flattering & I felt very confident in it. I also got a ton of complements!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
February 21, 2015
The color was so pretty!
Great NYE dress when everyone else wears LBDs!! Really pops in pictures. The M cut too high underneath my armpit so I wore the large. It was a tiny bit large overall but it's such a flow-y dress that I was the only one aware. With this particular dress there was an issue with a black piece of material on the inside of the the diagonal shoulder strap. The rich blue fabric would come down and the black would show. It wasn't the end of the world but it did show up in the closeup pictures. Double stick tape might have worked of I'd caught it before I left the house. Lots of reviewers wore this when they were pregnant and that worried me but it fell nicely and was actually really flattering when walking.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
February 20, 2014
Fantastic dress for a wedding!
This dress definitely runs large. I ordered the medium with a small as my back-up size. The medium fit fine, but didn't really give any shape and was really loose. The small fit perfectly and hit right at the knees. I paired the dress with my own gold/diamond bangles and deep blue/gold earrings and no necklace. The dress was a hit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 10, 2014
Great dress.
I actually have rented this twice. Both times wore to a wedding. Once before I had babies and the second time right after my first son. Very flattering and great popping color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
May 28, 2014
amazing and comfortable
This was a gorgeous gown that got tons of attention! comfortable and sexy.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
June 16, 2014
Was gorgeous. I was at the beginning of my third trimester and it was perfect.
pros- loose fit , perfect for preggo ladies of if in the mood to wear something loose but elegant and stylish
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
June 23, 2014
I was about 5 months pregnant and this dress was a DREAM. I will probably rent it again!
Very forgiving fit. I was showing a little bit, but most people couldn't tell I was pregnant at all. I felt gorgeous! I will gladly rent it again next time I'm pregnant. I think you could pull it off well into your 2nd trimester!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
June 30, 2014
Super sexy and great quality
I was in my first trimester with my 2nd child so I was showing a lot sooner when I wore this too a wedding. The dress is super bump friendly, and I still felt sexy in it. Loved the color. I would highly recommend this.
See more reviews:
10 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×