Mark & James by Badgley Mischka

Draped Dream Dress

$70 to buy
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This bright style from Mark & James by Badgley Mischka brings a healthy dose of color to any cocktail party.

Also available in coral and teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - not fitted throughout
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - not fitted throughout
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Indigo matte jersey. One shoulder neckline. Draping detail on body. Split cap sleeve. Hidden side zip. 35" from top of shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

466 reviews

Fit
Small 21
True to Size 291
Large 151
Photos 182
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 25, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
In LOVE with this dress and you will be too. I got this dress for a grab-a-date and got so many compliments. Ordered the medium and large and wore the medium, fit perfect. May be a little longer than the picture just depending on your height. Also the arm with the shoulder, when you lift it has a black under arm ( you cannot see unless your arm is up ). Super elegant dress and easy to wear!!! You will be pleased and love the designer! :o)
Kiki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 28, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This dress was a great color and easy to wear. I wore it to a wedding and got a ton of compliments. It runs a bit large, so if you are a 12/14 you'll be fine wearing the 12. Didn't need any shape wear, just a strapless bra (which didn't show at all). Would rent this again!
Rachael
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 28, 2011

Overall fit: Small
This dress was shorter in legnth than the brand new teal colored dress I also ordered as a backup color. I ordered the medium and it was shorter than the n/w tags teal medium. I also agree with the other reviewer that stated it looked royal blue which seemed purplish to me. I went with the teal got a ton of compliments. Wore with large cuff and big earrings.
Erica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
Oct 1, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved, loved, loved this dress. The color "popped" and it's very easy to wear as far as fit. Great dress!
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180 lbs
Oct 3, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This dress runs very big. I'm a 10 with a full bust, and was worried the Large would be snug. I ended up wearing the medium very comfortably. The dress is beautiful, the color is more vibrant than the photos give it credit for. It is great for dancing (I wore it to a wedding) and is very forgiving if you're trying to conceal a midsection. it's comfortable and easy to wear.
Lizzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 3, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I got so many compliments from friends and random people in this dress! I paired it with a chunky Betsy Johnson necklace and black Michael Kors heels and everybody love it! SO comfy too...I wish I could have kept it :) Even men were telling me how great I looked in the dress -- can't get much better than that!
ekcauthen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 5, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Love love loved this dress! The shoulder/underarm was a little tight, but I actually didn't mind bc I usually have trouble keeping one-shoulder dresses up. Would def rent again! Very confortable and easy to move/dance, etc in.
Ali
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Oct 5, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this dress for a wedding and it was a hit! I received compliments from so many people all through out the night. I am a small build and usually wear size small. Since this dress is a drap dress I ordered a XS for the extra size and actually wore that. I tried the XS on first and it was a perfect fit - I didn't even try the small. I definitely recommend this dress for an event that you want to wear something fun, but classy. Loved it!
Lindsey
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 14, 2011

Overall fit: Large
Great, easy dress for a wedding. I am almost always a size 4-6, but opted for the XS because it was so forgiving, and to sex it up a bit. Also, it might be helpful to note that the color is closer to royal purple than cobalt blue.
Lizzy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 17, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
While I did get a lot of compliments on this dress I didn't love it. The fabric was really heavy (polyester?) and I thought the drapey-ness was a bit much and my arm would get lost in it.
jeanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 54
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 22, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I felt like a princess. It was fun dress to wear.
Liz
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 24, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Gorgeous dress with super flattering draping. I wore it to a wedding and received a lot of compliments, but the best part was it was SO comfortable. A couple things to note... Make sure to hike the sleeve up on your shoulder otherwise it's just too much fabric. Also, I'm 5'8" normally a size 4 and the XS was far too short to wear to the wedding, so I had to wear the S, which still fit pretty well but was longer.
lilichids
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 27, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This dress is beautiful however it didn't really look good on me. The first size I got was a M but it was too big. It went down past my knees. However, the small fit nicely. It was very comfortable just not the best choice for my body type.
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 30, 2011

Loved this dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is well made and comfortable. I wore it for my birthday party and got many, many compliments. I would also suggest ordering a size down so it provides more shape. I would definitely rent again! I also rented with necklace shown.
Tina
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 31, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I'm not usually a fan of jersey, but the color and texture of this dress were both spot-on and nice for an event on a cold Boston evening (actually pretty warm when you consider the lining and weight of the jersey). Much prefer the blue to this season's red in the same/very similar style. Dressed it down a bit with black/crystal accessories and closed-toe snake-print Jimmy Choos. Runs a little short for an XS, but at 5'4" I wear a 32 inch inseam, so unlikely to be an issue for most people.
Sinclair
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 59
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 2, 2011

Overall fit: Large
The medium size dress fit well for my 38D bra size so I would say it ran a little large. The dress was flattering and slimming.
cenl6212
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Nov 2, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this dress for a wedding; I ordered the medium and large for backup. While many of the reviews commented on the shortness of this dress I decided to take a risk since the description said that the model in the picture was 5'10". I should have listened to the reviews. The medium fit perfectly in the body but was WAY TOO SHORT (practically a shirt on me), oddly the large was almost too long...I’m not sure why there is such a big difference in length between the medium and the large but there is. I ended up making the large work, I usually wear a 6/8 and while I think the dress ended up looking ok I definitely felt like I was swimming in it. Another weird thing was the lining; the medium had blue lining to match the outside fabric while the large had black lining. This was a bit of an issue b/c the lining can be seen under the arm of the draped shoulder. While I liked the dress overall, I would not recommend to skinny tall girls.
tmcmaste
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 2, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I LOVED this dress! It was really flattering and I received a TON of compliments. It drapes beautifully and is really comfortable. It does run bigger, I wore the Small (my backup was the Medium).
Bridget
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165 lbs
Nov 2, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I usually wear a size 8 jeans and med to lg tops. I ordered med and lg in this dress and ended up wearing the med. There didn't seem to be much difference in the two except the length. My boyfriend actually said the lg looked like it fit better than the med (meaning it was tighter). The med was plenty roomy but it wasn't like a trashbag. The chest area could definately accomodate someone with a larger chest. I am a 34C and it was slighty big although you couldn't tell by looking at me. The lengthy was mid-thigh, not too short at all. I 100% agree with those that said in pictures you definately need to strike a pose. Show off the dress, if you just stand normal, it's not going to look like the most flattering dress although in person, tons of people complimented me about the dress.
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 3, 2011

Overall fit: Large
The dress is gorgeous, however it runs very large. I'm 5'1 138 lbs.. I rented the small and the medium and I was swimming in the small. RTR was of course great and issued a credit as I didn't wear it, but would have loved to if it had been a bit more snug!
Bathu
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Nov 8, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Everyone loved the dress and it was so comfortable to wear all night. Great deal and style
Jacqui
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Nov 16, 2011

Very Stylish

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding and got a ton of complements. It was so comfortable yet trendy at the same time. I wore my hair half up to accent the one sleeve.
Lalaland
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 16, 2011

Stunning and so comfortable

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a Fall wedding in OK and it was stunning. I got tons of compliments. This is perfect if you have a little belly to hide. It is a little short but I am 5'5 and it was absolutely wedding appropriate. Update: wore this dress to a Bat Mitzvah @ 4 months pregnant and I got a zillion compliments. Very flattering and cute for a baby bump.
Meagan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 21, 2011

Great dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I am 5'2" and have an athletic build. This is my first time using RTR and I used this dress for 2 weddings I had within one week. I followed the advice of the other reviewers and ordered my usual size (M) and then I ordered a Small as well. The Small fit great. It was a little shorter than I am used to, but I don't usually get dressed up anyway. I was comfortable all night and received many compliments. It was great for the Hindu/Polish wedding I went to where most of the women wore traditional clothing that drapes. It was a great color and in great condition when I got them. It is a heavier material which was nice - no cold weather issues where bras are concerned since it was a one shoulder dress. I wore a bra that had movable straps so I just used one on the one side and I was fine!
lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 14, 2011

Great

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented a dress for a party bec. I just had a baby and did not want to buy a dress in a size that I would hopefully not be in the future. I was a little nervous about it arriving on time and how it would look. It was great! I got a lot of compliments an I ordered the necklace that was in the picture and it also look great! I got so many compliments that night! Will defiantly order again and btw....so will my friends who saw me that night!
Lacey
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Dec 19, 2011

Great Bump Friendly Dress

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding at 6.5 months pregnant. I got so many compliments on it along with the necklace shown in the picture. It was great!!
Shortie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 2, 2012

GORGEOUS color.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I LOVE the color of this dress! It does run large. I am normally an 8 in dresses and the small fit wonderfully. (Great boost to my ego!!) My 5' 4", 38C, apple frame held up okay, but it was a bit lacking in the shape department for me. I have very narrow hips so it wasn't terribly flattering on me. I did not wear this dress for my event, but would have if it was slightly more fitted to my shape. If I were a super curvy girl or pear shaped I totally would have rocked this dress!
cleshopaholic
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Jan 2, 2012

Absolutely gorgeous

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I run a size 6-8, and I got this in a medium. This is a truly gorgeous dress- the color is a really beautiful blue-- looks darker in pictures than in person. Great fit- skims the body in all the right places, while hiding ones you may be less-than-pleased with. LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137 lbs
Jan 5, 2012

LOVE!!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress! The other review were really helpful in my deciding. I felt beautiful all night (and comfortable)! Received a lot of compliments too. It ran a bit large so I got to wear the small - love a vanity size! I have a bit of a baby belly still and it hid it all perfectly. My only regret is that I didn't own this one!
LC
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Jan 5, 2012

Bright Blue for New Year's!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress was super comfortable and I got a lot of compliments, however I ordered the large thinking that designer labels usually run small and it ended up being a little big (they didn't have the M in stock to get as a backup). Being a little too big, the fit didn't have much shape, was kind of long and I ended up looking a little "tent-ish" in photos. But at least I had room in my dress to eat a big dinner! ha! Overall though, it was a good pick....just would have been better in my size!
Paige
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 9, 2012

Gorgeous color!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress just recently for a rehearsal dinner over New Year's Eve weekend and loved it!!! I'm so glad I read other reviews because it definitely does run really big. I ordered a S & M and normally wear medium--but wore the small and could've worn the XS comfortably. The dress was very comfortable and the color was my favorite thing about the dress. Definitely recommend!!
Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Jan 10, 2012

Love!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was amazing! Made me feel great!
Marie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jan 10, 2012

Great dress!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
I wore this dress in Vegas and it fit great!! It was very comfortable. I would recommend renting a smaller size in the future, as it does run big Overall Amazing Dress and beautiful color!
Nisha
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Jan 23, 2012

Gorgeous dress

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was a hit! Color is a gorgeous deep blue, fit was perfect and hung elegantly
rapunzel2
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 25, 2012

Everything was beautiful

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I heard about rent the runway some months ago while reading the wall street journal. I had a formal family birthday party to attend, and I decided to rent because I was looking for something a little different, and I didn't want to buy another one-time- wear dress. I ordered this, and kept thinking how stupid i was, that it was going to be gross, that it was going to not fit, that i would hate it, that it would be late. Boy, was I wrong. The dress was LINED, beautiful fit, beautiful material, on-time. WOW. I am going on vacation soon and just rented two dresses for the trip, how easy to throw them in the mail on the way home. I did wear this with a gold belt, and I rented the necklace too.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 1, 2012

AMAZING dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this for a cocktail party and I'm not sure I've ever received so many compliments. It's definitely the perfect dress for a night out on the town. The draping of the fabric is simultaneously forgiving and flattering, which is a pretty rare find. The dress is also a GORGEOUS shade of blue that can be worn with nearly any accent color.
Lynn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122 lbs
Feb 1, 2012

Great dress for late pregnancy

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I was 8 months pregnant and wore this dress to a destination wedding and it was great! Pre pregnancy I am 118 lbs and wear a 0 to a 2 so I rented the small and extra small at 8 months preggo after speaking to the staff at rtr. The extra small was def too tight in the chest and belly area but the small worked great. It was a little shorter on me than pictured but was perfect for what I wanted it for. Def a great dress for late pregnancy!
Susan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Feb 24, 2012

Really pretty but heavy

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The dress was beautiful and the color was stunning. I had this as my backup dress and went with my first choice. Looked just like it does on the model. Only thing with it was that it was very heavy from the layers of fabric - though it did not feel too heavy one. The draping was beautiful. Would definitely get this again for another event.
Elle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Body type: Straight & narrow
Mar 3, 2012

Ah-mazing!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore it to an evening wedding paired with large gold earrings and beige heels. I usually wear a 4 and the small fit perfectly. It was comfortable, the color is true to how you see it, easy to dance in, and a good length- not too short, not too long. The entire RTR process was a breeze and I will definitely be renting again, my family couldn't believe it was rented, everyone from my 80 year old grandma to my little cousins complimented me on it. I only wish I had discovered RTR sooner!!
Leslie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Mar 5, 2012

Stunning Dress

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very stunning dress and fits great. I received a lot of compliments on this dress.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×