Draped Dream Dress

$70 to buy
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This bright style from Mark & James by Badgley Mischka brings a healthy dose of color to any cocktail party.

Also available in coral and teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - not fitted throughout
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Indigo matte jersey. One shoulder neckline. Draping detail on body. Split cap sleeve. Hidden side zip. 35" from top of shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
474 reviews
Fit
Large
(153)
True to Size
(296)
Small
(21)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
January 10, 2014
Perfect "bump friendly" cocktail dress!
I wore this to my work's end of year banquet awards dinner and it was a great choice. The only thing I noticed, as I'm 5'1" is that it was a little short (it hit almost mid-thigh), and being pregnant, I wasn't too comfortable with that much skin showing. However, people complimented the fit and color all night, and it was really comfortable to sit in. At no point did I feel it was too tight around my bump (about 4.5 months prego). I'd probably rent it again with or without the bump!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
January 28, 2014
Never got to wear it...
I absolutely LOVED this dress, but unfortunately it was entirely too short for me. I am 5'8" and the dress barely hit my upper thigh. I was so disappointed because it looked so great otherwise! I'd recommend this for the shorter ladies. :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 28, 2014
LOVED it!!!!
I wore this dress to a bahamas wedding. It was super comfortable and was so much fun to dance the night away in. Got lots of compliments. I am about 7 months post baby and it covered the the problems areas wonderfully!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
February 26, 2014
Got so many compliments!!
I read most of the reviews for this dress and opted to have it be my first RTR experience... It did NOT disappoint! I got so many compliments from people at the party and also from random bar-goers afterwards. I could have worn the medium, but the large was longer and more comfortable. I would definitely rent this dress again. I liked the way the swoop hid trouble spots. I also rented the necklace.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
March 18, 2014
Absolutely stunning dress!
This dress was absolutely gorgeous. I wore it to a graduation, and it fit like a dream. The draping is perfect if you're a little shy about your figure and the color is great for any skin tone. The one shoulder neckline shows a bit of skin but the dress wasn't too short. Would definitely suggest for anyone!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
March 26, 2014
Great dress for post-partum, but beware of too short lining!
I rented this dress to wear to a wedding 6 weeks after my daughter was born (I weighed 145 lbs at the time instead of my usual weight). I chose it due to the "bump friendly" aspect. Overall, I was pretty pleased with this dress. My one complaint is that while the outer layer of the dress was not too short, the under-layer/lining was way too short, so at certain angles you could see that it was too short underneath (like when the sun shone through the thinner outer layer). Otherwise, I thought this was a flattering dress and felt glamorous in it, despite being 6 weeks post-partum.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
April 7, 2014
Fantastic service, selection, and quality!
This dress was so comfortable. It fit great and I felt terrific wearing it. The dress has a more fitted underskirt, the extra layer gives the dress an even more substantial feel. Terrific experience. I plan to be a RTR regular.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 16, 2014
goddess feel!
Absolutely love this dress. Have rented this and another color and loved them both times. It's comfortable and dressy at the same time. I love the one shoulder and the draped fabric over the arm.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
April 19, 2014
Didn't wear it!
I really, really liked this dress; however, it was a little too formal for the beach wedding that I rented it for. I had brought another dress that I owned and ended up wearing that one instead.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 15, 2014
Ordered as a back up dress, super cute, but wore the other one.
This dress is perfect if you're feeling a little concerned about wearing something tight around the middle. It hides all the potential squish but is still short and sexy and fun. If my other dress option hadn't worked out I would've worn it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132lbs
May 15, 2014
Received many compliments!! Perfect for my friends wedding!!
This was my first dress rented from rent the runway. I was extremely happy with the service, dress,and accessories.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134lbs
May 20, 2014
Comfortable and fun
I wore this for a beach wedding and it was very comfortable - I danced all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 152lbs
May 25, 2014
Still getting compliments
I ordered the medium and the small. The medium was so short and a bit tight and faded. I tried on the small and it fit nicely. The color is eye catching and received so many compliments from both ladies and gents. Love the ease of renting and returning. I'm hooked on RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 28, 2014
Great for hiding a little bump.
I wore this dress to a wedding when my bump was just really starting to come out. I didn't want to get a maternity dress for just one event, but I knew nothing I had would fit. This dress was great. The only reason I gave it four instead of five stars was because I thought it was a little less expensive looking in person than it is in the pictures. Still pretty, just not quite as high end.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
June 9, 2014
Can be an awesome maternity dress!
I wore this for a summer evening wedding and it was perfect. It draped beautifully over my 8 mth bump and received tons of compliments. I was worried it might be on the short side, but it was okay even though it came to my mid thigh because it looked so classy. Although this isn't a maternity dress, it can be worn as one! Would definitely recommend!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
June 18, 2014
Good dress & great event!
Great dress! Flattering on any body. A little fidgety and on the short side - wouldn't recommend it for dancing. But overall a good pick - received many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
June 25, 2014
Wore this for my birthday dinner with my husband. Great, comfortable dress in a stunning blue color!
I wore this at 4 months pregnant (2nd baby, so belly is a bit larger!). The dress definitely has a lot of stretch to the underlying slip and is perfect for a small-to-medium bump, but the slip is extremely short!! This made the dress a little uncomfortable - even though the dress itself came down to almost my knees, I kept pulling at the slip all night to keep it down. I usually wear form-fitting dresses, so the bagginess of this dress was a bit of a turn off at first. However, I ultimately loved it due to its comfort (stretch) and color. Lots of compliments and I felt like a birthday queen!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 25, 2014
Felt gorgeous at 7 months pregnant!
I felt like the belle of the ball at 7 months pregnant in this lovely dress! It slid over my bump just right, and the color is really beautiful in person. I am usually a size small or size 6 when not pregnant. Size small was too small with bump on this one only because of the length! I am tall and this does run short. But the M was fine. As an alternate, I'd also selected this dress in the "passion twist" color, and this one is much better in person, in my opinion (it looks more luxe). I wore it with some Rent the Runway blingy accessories, and couldn't have been happier. I got compliments all night and my husband (pictured) gave rave reviews (of course, he's super sweet...but STILL!)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 29, 2014
Comfortable and sophisticated - if you've got great legs, this is your dress.
Ran a tad big but it's flowy so easy to get away with.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
July 11, 2014
Great for early baby bump, comfy!
Wore this 4 montths pregnant and got many compliments! Very easy, comfy and fun to wear. Def Rec!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 4"
July 13, 2014
Fit beautifully and received a bunch of compliments -- and I'm 7 months pregnant !
I am 30 weeks pregnant and the dress fit! It draped nicely and wasn't the least bit tight or uncomfortable. I received a random compliment during the break time between the ceremony and reception -- and I'm pretty sure the woman didn't even realize I was pregnant. If you want to show off your bump this probably isn't the dress. Even if I wasn't expecting, I would have loved the dress. It was both flattering and forgiving !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
July 14, 2014
Great color, flattering fit
This is a great bump friendly dress! I was only 14 weeks here, but was definitely not feeling like wearing something form-fitting. This was so cute and made me feel comfortable and sexy. I would rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 21, 2014
Great for a cool summer night
I rented this for an outdoor wedding in June, and was concerned that the fabric would be a bit heavy. It ended up being a very cool night so the thicker fabric was perfect, but this would probably be too heavy for hot weather. Also, the XS was a better fit but the lining was extremely short, so I went with the S. The color is also darker than pictured, closer to navy, which I actually preferred to the brighter blue that shows in pictures.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
October 25, 2014
Lovely
Fit nice
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 37
July 15, 2014
Quick and easy shopping.
Fit well, easy to move.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 26, 2014
Gorgeous quality
Great color!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
July 28, 2014
This dress is really comfortable and flattering. The color is beautiful. You can dress it up or down
I wore this to a Hollywood movie function. I paired it with nude wedges because I knew I would be on my feet all night. It looked great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 3, 2014
Perfect Rehearsal Dinner Dress!
I wore this dress while 7 months pregnant to a friends rehearsal dinner ( I was a bridesmaid). I was felt pretty and comfortable which is the perfect combo when you are pregnant.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 22, 2014
An elegantly simple dress, perfect for a wedding!
I ordered the dress in sizes xs and s. I was very glad I ordered the xs, because the s ended up with a little too much room around the sleeveless arm. The dress is wonderful though, no matter what size-- the draping is elegant and distracts from any potential issues near the tummy. The fabric is a little on the heavier side, but used understandably so that you can get those beautiful lines. The dress hit a little past mid thigh for me and was the perfect length for a wedding. The blue is royal and eye catching. A solid choice!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 200lbs
August 23, 2014
Great color for outdoor wedding!
True to size - it is a loose fit to hide imperfections. It IS a bit short, so be careful on the dance floor! This is the second time I have rented this dress and I haven't been disappointed!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
September 15, 2014
Great for bump!
I wore this dress at 6 months pregnant. It was comfortable and easy to wear. The lining for the dress does make it warm, but even in a church with no AC, it was okay. I would have worn the size small if the wedding was not in a church. The small was just a tad short and I felt more comfortable in the medium.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
September 18, 2014
Fabulous, comfortable dress! A great alternative to black!
This was my first RTR experience and while this was not my first choice of dresses, I'm so glad that I got this dress when my first choice wasn't available. It was super comfortable and a bit more fun than the standard LBD. That being said, I about had a heart attack when I tried on the M and it was so short that I could not have worn it. I was so bummed to see that the second dress was a S and figured I would need to call RTR to overnight a new dress, but the S was probably 4" longer than the M and it fit perfectly. While the dresses were the same, they weren't identical, so maybe they were from a different run. I actually liked the material of the M better as it was a bit thicker and the lining was the same color whereas the S had a black lining. However, I was just so relieved to have ended up with one dress that fit. I received a ton of compliments and the dress could not have been more comfortable. It is one that I would definitely order again. The RTR experience was really fun and I can't wait to order again in the future. The picture is of me and another friend who is also wearing a beautiful RTR dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 19, 2014
I was almost 4 months pregnant for this wedding and this dress was so bump friendly!
I was almost 4 months pregnant for this wedding and this dress was so bump friendly! You would never have known I was pregnant! Super comfortable and just the right length ! Perfect for an evening reception!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 25, 2014
Great dress for a post-pregnancy formal event
The dress was great for post pregnancy. I wore this to a "black tie optional" wedding 9 weeks after delivering my baby. It drapes beautifully and hides the extra tummy skin that happens after delivering a child. I wore a small when I usually would likely wear either a small or extra small. have about 15 lbs to lose, if that helps you determine what size to get. The only thing is that the dress is quite short. I ordered a medium as my backup and liked the length of that one better; however, the top was way too big. I ended up wearing the small as everything else fit well. Other than that, perfect dress! Great for dancing, too! (Wish I had a better picture for you!)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 14, 2013
fun dress!
i rented this dress for my company holiday party at 28 weeks pregnant. i rented the M and L. i thought maybe the M would still work (the size i'd wear pre-pregnancy), due to the drape of the dress. NOPE. it was SO SHORT. back to the closet to get the L! i think i had two generations of the dress, because the fabric was slightly different from the M and the L, but it's still nice, heavy jersey. the L fit fairly well. there is a liner inside that ended up barely skimming my butt... hopefully that's just a factor of my bump taking up space. a little shorter than i was anticipating, but that is also probably due to the bump. overall, i'd recommend it, especially if you're pregnant and feel comfortable showing off your legs :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
November 5, 2014
the color!
Beautiful color and great fit!!! ( rented XS and im 34D)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
November 14, 2014
great fit for a pregnant woman
GREAT GREAT!!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 21, 2014
Flattering dress for athletic body type!
Wore it to my husband's business school gala and received compliments all night. Paired it with the Ben-Anun necklace, an updo, and borrowed gold shoes from a friends. First RTR experience was a huge success!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
December 15, 2014
Perfect flattering dress!
This dress was perfect and I received a ton of compliments at the wedding I attended. The draping was extremely flattering. I ordered a small and a medium and the small fit perfectly. (I typically wear a size 6.) I would definitely recommend this dress. I wish I could have kept it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
August 23, 2014
I wore this dress at 4 months pregnant and it was perfect.
The dress is pretty loose fitting. It is great for a more drapey look or to cover a baby bump. The color is gorgeous and exactly how it looks in the pictures. It is a beautiful dress and I loved wearing it.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
10 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×