Diving In Deep Dress

$86 to buy
$295 retail
Stylist Notes

Take over the dance floor in this rocker chic Mark & James by Badgley Mischka deep v style. Pair with AV Max's Saber Tooth Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black matte jersey (92% polyester, 8% spandex). Full sleeves. V-neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden side zipper. Lined (100% polyester). 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
912 reviews
Fit
Large
(154)
True to Size
(545)
Small
(26)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
January 22, 2013
excellent !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I love the dress it fits like a glove, I got many compliments!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
January 22, 2013
Not crazy about it...
I didn't see in the picture that there is a part of the dress that meets in the front in a knot type tie. I didn't like this about the dress and really didn't find it very flattering. Also, the v-neck does not come down as low as what is shown on the model. It just wasn't sexy enough for the look I was going for.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
January 23, 2013
I LOVED this dress!
I wore this dress to my bridal shower (definitely not a 'bridal shower' type dress, but I had an evening shower, more of a cocktail party). I got so many compliments on this dress - it was very slimming and it was so comfortable to wear. I am VERY busty (bra size is 34G) and the v neckline was not too low to wear a standard bra, which is a huge bonus for me. I ordered a medium and a large - I am generally a medium in clothing but I usually need a larger dress in cocktail dresses bc of my bust. In this case the medium was definitely a better fit so I'd say it was true to size. The only drawback is that it was a bit longer than I would have liked (I'm 5'3" and it hit maybe 2 inches above my knee; if I didnt have a large chest it'd probably reach my knees). If I'd purchased this dress it would have gone straight to the tailor for hemming to achieve the mini-length in the picture, but that's most dresses and to be expected with a rental. All in all, I was SO happy with my purchase and cannot say enough about rent the runway!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 27, 2013
Comfortable, Fun and Flattering .
Super comfortable dress that is perfect for winter parties. The gold sequins give it enough decoration without being 'too dressy'. The V neckline wasn't too showy, I'm small chested - 32A/B so I had to wear a Victoria Secret 'Bombshell' Bra underneath and use the complemintary fashion tape. Easy dress to get off and on. It was my second choice and didn't end up wearing it, but I may rent it again if the opportunity comes up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 28, 2013
Very flattering and comfortable fit!
Was a great winter night out dress. The criss cross in the front and low cut V is very flattering for my athletic build and would look great on other body types as well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 31, 2013
LOVED this dress!!! So comfortable and very flattering!!
Waistline ruching made this dress very flattering. The material was very comfortable and I loved having long sleeves in the winter. I think this dress would look great on a variety of different body types!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
February 4, 2013
Such a beautiful dress and a real classic. Perfect for colder nights and very flattering.
It was a bit big for me as I am more on the petite side but I used double tape to shorten the length and a few pins to keep it up. I also pinned the ruche in the middle so it looked more uniform. Overall though, it fit great, flattering at the right spots. It wasn't too tight or too loose. I also loved the sleeves because I wore it on a cold night!
SummerDecember 22, 2014
looks great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
February 12, 2013
Too big, made it look a bit frumpy.
Wrap detail wasn't quite what I expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
February 12, 2013
The little black dress... REFORMED!
I wore this dress for a Bachelorette party and received a TON of compliments! The material is forgiving, comfortable, and looks great. I felt that the dress's ruching up front was extremely flattering, making my waist look teeny. The extra sequin detail up top gave the typical little black dress a MAKEOVER... the online photo does not do this little detail justice! If you want to look fabulous and feel great, then I strongly recommend this dress... lady-like and sassy, all in one!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32F
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
February 13, 2013
Very flattering
The material was thicker than I'd imagined, which somehow made it a little more casual (or as casual as something with a deep v that has sequins all over it). the sleeves made it great for colder weather.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 17, 2013
My husband thought I looked stunning for our valentine's celebration!
Beautiful fit for more curvaceous women like myself, I loved the long sleeves and the deep v - it's sexy but still more conservation than a lot of dresses (which I prefer.)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
February 21, 2013
runs very large
Rented this dress for a winter wedding but did not wear it (opted for my backup). This dress looks like a knockout on the model, but was surprisingly frumpy in real life. The dress runs very large (XS was not at all fitted) and the plunging neckline is not nearly as dramatic as the photo suggests. Furthermore, the dress has a twisted knot of black fabric in the middle of the dress that is unflattering to the waistline and gives a baby-bump-esque profile. Bottom line: RTR has much better LBD/party dress options for the petite ladies.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
February 24, 2013
I was complimented all night. It was a beautiful little black dress with a little extra!!
I ordered the M and L.. I'm usually a large because I'm a bit busty (36DD) but a size 29 waist so it can be hard to find the right fit. I felt it did run a little big, thinking I was going to go with the L, I tried on the M first and felt even that was a bit loose at the waist (as I really wanted it to be more fitted) overall it was a lovely dress very comfortable and flattering. Def. will be renting again !! great experience with RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
February 25, 2013
classy and flattering
I didn't end up wearing this dress because the overall fit was a little big and I fell in love with my back up dress that was more appropriate for the occasion. I did love this dress but they didn't have it in a small when I ordered it, which would have worked better. I would definitely consider renting this dress in the future in a small. This dress seems to be quite popular and felt a little too loved.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
February 26, 2013
Great for Vegas trip!
I rented this for a trip to Vegas for my birthday in December. The overall fit was great, with it being tight throughout the arms and body. I have very long arms, but it was long enough and I thought the length was perfect for a going-out dress with the girls. However, because of the model picture, I thought the neckline would be much lower than it actually was. I wished that it had been that low, it would have made the dress much more sexy! Also, the area that has the sequins can easily be covered up because of the way the fabric is at the top. I wished it would stay in place to show off those sequins!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 26, 2013
Pretty dress, got lots of compliments.
I got both the XS and the S. Wore the S. The XS was a little too high and tight in the bust, whereas the S fit nicely and showed off some cleavage. Otherwise, I probably would have gone with the XS as it was tighter and shorter. I had to fashion tape up the S so that it was more mini.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
March 3, 2013
Getting ready has never been so easy
When the dress arrived, I worried that it was too formal for what I wanted. Once I put it on, however, it was just the perfect amount of sexy that I'd wanted. The sequins on the top jazzed up this LBD and meant no need for accessories, too. A great perk!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
March 7, 2013
Loved having a fancy dress on for a night out on the town
Nice fit, body hugging but very comfortable and flattering. Not super low in the front, a little on the short side but easy to wear for dinner and dancing, easy to move around in and very classy.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 7, 2013
Hawt!
I loved this dress. I wish I had a pic of me in it, and am seriously contemplated renting it again just to be photographed. Perfect for curvy figures. You can wear it bare-legged, and it even looks cute with tights and ankle boots.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 135lbs
March 8, 2013
Great LBD with a lil something extra!
Great LBD, dressed up with Silver shoes and clutch, and minimal jewelry for my birthday party! Fit great, the fabric is very fitted, but perfect to dance and have fun in!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 12, 2013
Danced the night away in this comfy and glam dress!
I personally could fit in the Medium or large but I felt that it ran a little on the big size!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
March 14, 2013
Very form fitting and flattering. Love the dress!!
Got so many compliments
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 15, 2013
Comfortable, fun, beautiful!
The dress was so comfortable I didn't want to take it off. It fit true to size and was tight in all the right places. The material wasn't too thick so it didn't get too hot. I expected the plunge line to be a little lower than it was, but was still a great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Date
Age: 42
December 20, 2014
Dress fit perfectly.
Wore this for a date night and was extremely comfortable.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
April 22, 2014
Everything was fantastic!
Loved it! Fit well, was flattering and was perfect for the event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 21, 2012
Love this dress! it was fun yet conservitive. I wore this for a Halloween Party!
The long sleeves are nice in cooler weather! The deep v is deep but you can still wear a nice bra with it!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
March 17, 2013
WOW! Fantastic Dress!
Let's be honest. I'm a skeptical rent the runway shopper. I read through all the reviews for this dress and decided to commit. As a curvy woman I was unsure of the fit but the reviews said order a size down with your "normal" size. I ordered a large and a medium. The large was low in the front and exposed too much skin so I put on the medium and it was PERFECT! Definitely size down. If you're curvy this dress will love you and hug on you in all the greatest ways. Many compliments will come with this LBD. On a side note, I did become more aware of the length of the dress by the end of the night but it covered my 5'7" frame appropriately.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 17, 2013
Awesome!
Amazing and comfortable dress. Perfect for any cocktail/formal affair and is very flattering.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 22, 2013
Felt sexy and classy!
I rented the S based on other reviews, and it fit great. The material is thick and flattering, and I didn't even feel the need to wear a slip underneath it. The dress had a tendency to ride up when I was walking, which was kind of annoying. Overall though, it was extremely comfortable and I felt great for a night out in Vegas!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 25, 2013
Great LBD with a hint of pizazz!
This is a great dress when you want to wear a little black dress with an interesting detail. The neckline in a pewter/bronze sequin adds that little extra something to this dress. Very easy to wear, no need for special undergarments. The front is double lined, but the back isn't (I wish it had been for best silhoutte). The front comes together in a knot detail with some ruching on the sides which on me wasn't the most flattering because I'm thick-waisted to begin with! I didn't need extra fabric bunching up around my middle.You can pull down this knotted area to expose more of the sequin detail. I did wear this dress to a party, but it wasn't a favorite.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 29, 2013
This dress was much tighter across the bust. I
have a large bust and it made me look matronly...This is probably a better choice for girls with smaller breasts. Also while it does not have shoulder pads, the shoulders a little bulky/padded.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 10, 2013
comfortable, flattering & fun!
I wore this to a screening on a very cold Spring night. It was perfect! The overlay has lots of coverage in the middle so it's comfortable and you don't feel all exposed if you eat or drink in it. It does, indeed, run large. I am a true medium and I wore the small no problem. The long sleeves are perfectly comfortable and really flattering -- and they were warm. I wore it with opaque tights and little booties. The sparkley part was really fun and I got tons of compliments on the dress all not. It's perfect if you want something that's fun but not overly flashy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 13, 2013
Felt classy and beautiful!
Fit true to size! Wore this to my Miss Teen PA orientation and received lots of compliments! Fits well and definitely gave me the confidence to work the run way :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 15, 2013
Comfortable and flattering dress!
I chose sizes S and XS. I usually wear a S, but this dress runs a bit large, so the XS fit perfectly. It was really comfortable since the material was very stretchy, and the design can be flattering for all shapes and figures.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
April 15, 2013
Great party dress
This dress is easy to wear and very comfortable. The only draw back was the extra material around the waist - it is intended to be flattering but just added a bit of bulk.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 20, 2013
Loved this dress!
It has a deep V neck, be careful if you're large chested
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
April 21, 2013
Classy, simple, and sexy!
Loved this dress! It fit perfectly and was very flattering.
JenniferMay 21, 2013
you look great, is that photo in newport
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 26, 2013
Va-Va-Voom!
I ordered this dress for my 25th birthday, where we went out clubbing in West Palm Beach, FL. It was low cut and tight fitting and perfect. I felt comfortable since I didn't show a ton of skin, but it was still super sexy. The only con was there is a twisted knot gathering in the front mid-section that made me look really awkward and almost frumpy, but I solved it by slipping the knot to the back of the dress so it cinched my waist and added some fun detail to the back.
LauraJune 14, 2013
I completely agree with you about the knot. Slipping the knot to the back is a great idea!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
May 1, 2013
Flattering in all the right places!
I'm a 34C, have a tummy to hide, and a bum that ain't all that perky. This dress covered my arms and has a very flattering, slimming effect. The neckline drops down and is sparkly but not in an over-the-top kind of way. It's on the short side so be prepared to be leggy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 13, 2013
I wanted to love this, but the fit was not quite right
I ordered this as my 2nd dress for a bachelorette weekend in Atlantic City. I am a curvier girl, and from the reviews this sounded like a good pic for my body type. I have a pretty large bust, so went with the large. I am not sure if I should have been in a medium or if perhaps the particular dress i had was stretched from repeated wear, but the neck just did not lay right on me. It fit perfectly through the hips and I liked the length, but the sequined V was almost saggy and just looked sloppy. I decided not to wear this dress and just wore something i already owned. Disappointing, but maybe i should have ordered a medium.
See more reviews:
2 / 23

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×