Rent the Runway

Mark & James by Badgley Mischka

Crimson Catwalk Dress

$40 rental
$285 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Work this one shoulder Mark & James by Badgley Mischka red dress at the event. An easy fit and style to jazz up with lots of accessories. Go accessory wild by renting the Kenneth Jay Lane's Genesha Bangle and Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - slip runs narrow; curvier women should consider sizing up extra room
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - slip runs narrow; curvier women should consider sizing up extra room
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red stretch crepe(97% polyester; 3% spandex). One shoulder neckline. Back drape. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

128 reviews

Fit
Small 43
True to Size 69
Large 14
Photos 56
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 15, 2012

Sexy, Classy & Chic!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress for a Valentine's Day date because I thought it was so different and unique. A very understated style that I thought would be elegant and sexy. I usually wear an XS but it was too tight around the hips so the small worked perfectly. I wasn't crazy about how it hung on my body so I belted it to define my shape better. Got a lot of compliments and felt great wearing it!
BLH
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 20, 2012

My fiance' kept complimenting how beautiful I looked.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I absolutely loved the color. It was a very deep, sophisticated red. The dress is fairly straight from the chest to knees. I'm 5'7'' about 120 pounds but I have noticeable hips. The top area fit great but around my hips/bottom is was a bit tight. I still chose the small size because the top drapery covered that area. I think the medium would have been too loose. Overall, it was a great dress.
Nahjay
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148 lbs
Jun 17, 2012

The timing was perfect. My graduation was postponed until a day after but since RTR lets us rent for four days everything was great!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
In a crowd full of white, tan, peach, and light pink dresses, I stood out with this amazing red dress! I loved wearing it and I loved all of the attention that I was getting. I wanted to wear something out of the ordinary for my graduation from High School. I ordered a size small and a medium to be safe. I am usually a medium and the dress was true to its size. The only problem was that the top is very large around the brest area,besides that I loved it! All I had to do was adjust the top and I added a gold belt to make the dress pop with my gold accessories and shoes.
Jordan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Aug 10, 2012

GREAT dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This fit very well! It was snug around the butt, but the looser secondary fabric covered the slight strain on the area. The length hit the thigh in just the right place, and with heels it made my legs look fantastic! I ordered a small as well, and my roommate wore that dress the night before-loving it just as much as I did!!
Leah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 20, 2012

Such a great shade, made a statement in a room full of neutrals!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
the inner shell is snug, I am glad I ordered a size up than normal because I needed it!
Amy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138 lbs
Sep 27, 2012

Gorgeous dress, great fit, really stands out in a crowd.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Pros: color, flow of fabric, design Cons: ran SLIGHTLY smaller than expected - the only difficult part was sitting down gracefully in a short and tight fitting slip/skirt that didn't have much give to it.
Penelope
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 13, 2012

Chic sexy elegance!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress and had it sent to the city where the event was being held, there was some issues with shipping through an error by UPS but RTR was AMAZING and sorting everything out to get the dress there...RTR will take care of you! BUT long story short...the bride-to-be wore the dress (instead of me) for her cocktail engagement party. The XS fit perfect and the material was very nice, the way it draped was elegant but it is fitted under the main draping if that makes sense, you can kind of tell in the picture. Perfect dress for the cocktail party, I will rent it for myself next time!
Karla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 133 lbs
Nov 5, 2012

Dress was a beautiful color and very flattering silhouette.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented medium and small, small was perfect on the top and medium was perfect on the bottom but ultimately went with the small.
Tamiko
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 11, 2012

RED ALERT!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to the formal night at my wine club. It was my back up dress for another event for the same weekend so I made use of both dresses! I looked great and got lots of compliments. I wore the medium because the bottom was very fitted, although it looks like a loose drape in the front. I loved it so much I wanted to purchase it!
Anastasia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 3, 2012

Lady in Red

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
This was my second dress so I only it had it in a size medium. It was a little loose around the bust so I think a small would have been a better choice for me. Nonetheless, this is a great dress. It was comfortable to wear and it made me feel beautiful.
Gloria
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 18, 2012

RTR has a customer for life, I felt beautiful. The dress is bump friendly, sexy and classy.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit like a dream, runs true to size, it covered my problem areas and showed just enough skin to still be sexy in a classy way.
Kelly D
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Very comfortable, but super classy. Color is so rich!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress to my sister's wedding. I absolutely loved it! It runs true to size; I expected to wear a medium and I did. I wore it with a skinny black belt because the dress can be a little too drapey, and I wanted to give myself a waist. I also rented the Lee Angel Silver Etienne Necklace to wear with it; looked great!
Kellie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 4, 2013

Who doesn't love a red dress?!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. It was just what I expected it to be like, and even though it was my backup dress, I ended up wearing it and loving it. More maroon-ish than red, and the bottom of the dress was a bit tighter than the rest, but other than that, just wanted I thought it would be. I wore Spanx just to be safe, and a strapless bra. I wore it to a wedding where I didn't know a soul, and was even asked to be some guys "date" in photos...seriously? But again, who doesn't love a red dress?!
Cristina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 10, 2013

flattering+comfortable = so many compliments!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding and it did well in so many scenarios- tasteful for inside the church without being boring, fabric is heavy enough that i wasn't cold during the outdoor cocktail hour, and it was super comfortable to dance in. Both the small and medium could have worked, but I went with medium to get more of the draped look the dress is designed to have. The skirt definitely hugs the hips so size up for the back up if you aren't narrow in that area. I wore the dress with the accessories shown on the model and loved those too. The ganesha bangle in particular was so unique and has a nice weight to it so it can easily be worn on its own.
Christine
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Feb 17, 2013

Classy and beautiful dress! Color was amazing!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I got both the small and the medium and the small fit great on the top but the inner shell was just a bit snug around my hips and legs. The medium was comfortable all around and fit great. The top was just a little big but it was nothing double sided tape couldn't fix. I put a black skinny belt around the dress to show off my figure. I absolutely loved this dress!!
melinda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Feb 20, 2013

Loved the dress!! got so manycompliments on it. great color

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
typically wear a size small, but the lining in the skirt was a little tight
Lisa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 156 lbs
Mar 1, 2013

It was a fabulous dress at an amazing price and the color is so rich and classy!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a great dress and I got a ton of compliments on it but it runs very SMALL! The inside skirt does not have any give at all so thank god I got both sizes or I would not have been able to wear it. It is a fabulous dress but just know that you need to order 1-2 sizes up.I am a medium in most everything including juniors and I had to wear the large.
linda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 17, 2013

Loved the compliments!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress is made for someone bigger on top than the bottom. I am more hourglass shaped and the bottom part of the dress fit me in the hips perfectly but the top was about 2 inches too big. A safety pin under the draping did the trick. The small fit in the bust but was way to tight in the hips. I ended up with the medium. Overall, great dress, fun color!
Samantha
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 1, 2013

Spending time with my sisters who all wore red while all our dates wore blue!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
it was a little big, wasn't as form fitting as I would have liked
Angie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 29, 2013

I loved this dress! I got a ton of compliments on it! Super comfortable and a flattering fit!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I thought it ran true to size. I have an athletic/hourglass figure and the skirt was just right. The dress was super comfortable and fun to wear. I might rent it again- I loved it!
Clare
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122 lbs
May 20, 2013

Comfortable, elegant, and sexy!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I felt this dress was elegant and sexy without being too revealing. I wore it to a wine auction at a country club on a Sunday night (so people were wearing everything). I felt very confident and not too overdressed or flashy. Got the XS and S--was very surprised that I couldn't even get the XS zipped. The small was perfect. I am very small-busted, but it fit great with a regular strapless bra. This dress was just the right length...not too short. The overlay of the fabric makes the dress "flowy" so it doesn't hug the body. Loved it...wished I could have kept it!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Oct 10, 2013

Great fall color!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Super fun dress to wear! The fabric does not give very much, so was a little stiff when I would sit down. Got lots of complements though. Great dress for hiding anything in the mid section, but wouldn't wear it if had a baby bump. Not stretchy enough. Would rent this one again!
courtnie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 14, 2013

Everyone saying how much they loved my dress and how classy it was!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
After going through the reviews of a lot of dresses on RTR, I felt that this dress would have the highest success rate of fitting me! I'm short and petite, and even though this dress didn't hug my body (I knew it wouldn't by reading the reviews, but I didn't want it to be tight anyways), it looked so great on! Thanks RTR for sending me a sample of your double sided fashion tape! I wore a strapless bra and because the dress was a little big, the side of it hung down too low and showed my bra. So I tapes the dress to my bra under my armpit and it was fine! I'm never going to by a dress again! Thanks RTR for making my 1st experience wonderful!
Cassidy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 4, 2013

Gorgeous dress! Amazing color and really classy.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was awesome. The color is beautiful, very rich and perfect for the holidays. Like some other reviewers said, it is a little tight in the butt, but I do have a disproportionally large rear-end for my body size. My chest is small, so it was roomy in the top, but I wore it with a strapless bra and it was perfect. When I ordered it, they did not have a large, so I ordered it as my backup dress and prayed that the medium would fit, and it did! I honestly wish that I did not have to return this dress, and may order it again in the future. I got endless compliments on it. If they have your normal size, I recommend getting the next size up as the backup size in the event that the butt is too tight. The fabric does not have a lot of stretch, so it was tight when I sat down/bent over, but it was not a problem at all. Plus, the draping in the front is very tummy-friendly, and the draping in the back covers any weird stretching.
Sarah
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 53
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 18, 2013

Great for the occasion.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great fit. Only complaint is much.darker than pictures...but it worked.
Lauren
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 29, 2014

SEXY .

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress for a fundraiser. It was sexy without being constricting and short without being inappropriate to see clients and coworkers. Highly recommend this dress!
Kerstin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124 lbs
Feb 15, 2014

Valentine's birthday calls for a great dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit like a glove. Between the 35 minute car ride, and sitting at dinner - it did not wrinkle! I felt great all night. I got so many compliments and women asking more about RTR - it was a conversation starter!
Kat
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Mar 11, 2014

Great dress, simple yet so pretty. Many compliments from both men and women! Comfortable also!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was pretty good, I'm in between sizes for everything so the medium fit the bottom half of my body well but up top super loose, but the bra held everything in place. Really a great simple dress.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 18, 2014

Returning this dress was hard!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I normally wear a 4 or 6, depending on the designer. I rented both a small and medium. The small fit, but the liner was a bit snug, so I opted for the medium. Perfect deep red color. Very flattering. I was sad to give it back!
Melissa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

Lots of compliments on the dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
So comfortable and plenty of tummy room for the wedding cake!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 29, 2014

I LOVED this dress! I got so many compliments on it.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
True to size, like the other reviews, the inner layer was a little tight, but not bad
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
May 11, 2014

Great color

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I had a little bit of trouble with the size of this dress. I rented the XS & S for my event. The XS fit perfectly on top but was very, very tight in the hips and I was unable to sit down in it. I tried the S, which fit my hips but was large on top. I opted for the S and used double sided tape to keep it from slipping. Overall the dress was great.
Debra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 15, 2014

Great dress but hard to sit

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the way this dress looked. Great color and very sexy without being slutty. Perfect for a wedding and perfect for hiding the lumps and bumps after childbirth! Only problem is the under layer was a bit tight so sitting was mildly uncomfortable. Would recommend and would rent again.
Caroline
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 23, 2014

Thankful for backup dress size!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Ordered the medium dress but ended up wearing the large as my hips did not fit the medium. The large was a little big at the top and I had to adjust the shoulder for most of the evening. 5' 3" is probably too short for this dress as the draped portion of the dress came passed my knee and made me feel frumpy. Despite these issues, I received many compliments on the dress so they must not have been visually obvious. The color was fantastic and the dress traveled well with an hour and a half drive to the wedding.
Jackie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 20, 2014

Comfortable, flattering and stylish dress. Would rent again.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress. I am a size 6 and the medium fit perfectly. It is very flattering and just an all around great dress.
Megan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 13, 2014

This dress is beautiful!!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was a little tight around the hips but a small was still great. (Hips 37") I highly recommend this dress! It is classy, unique, and beautiful!
FPetty
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 19, 2015

Everything from my transaction, to fast shipment, and easy returning!

Size worn: XS
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fits loose enough for my body type so the dress wasn't tight fitting, which I wanted a conservative fit. Dress was long enough for my height too. After I had eaten and drank a few, the flap was covering my stomach and I was self conscious of a "pudge" showing. The color is so vibrant in person and the material was comfortable the entire night.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 30, 2015

Great dress - comfy and different

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for the wedding I attended. The color is a little muted, so not too flashy, and can be dressed up or down. I paired it with bone colored open toe shoes and mint earrings and a matching mint purse. The one thing that was not mentioned was that it actually is a little tighter around the hips. So if you have hips, go for a larger size. I thought I would have been fine in the medium (and the top part was) but the bottom just couldn't cut it.
Maggie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 1, 2015

I loved this dress and felt really pretty. I was big but not showing from pregnancy and it hid it!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fit very true to size!
angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 149 lbs
Jun 22, 2015

Feel sexy even if you aren't "feeling it"

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I have gained a few pounds due to traveling and eating etc....I still have great legs but my middle and back have a little junk in there. This dress fit and flowed well and left room to eat while still looking sexy. If you have bigger boobs, a bit of a belly but have sexy legs, this dress is for you! I'm 5'4 155 and wear a D cup and the Large fit perfect. Would def wear this dress again
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×