Crimson Catwalk Dress

$86 to buy
$285 retail
Stylist Notes

Work this one shoulder Mark & James by Badgley Mischka red dress at the event. An easy fit and style to jazz up with lots of accessories. Go accessory wild by renting the Kenneth Jay Lane's Genesha Bangle and Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - slip runs narrow; curvier women should consider sizing up extra room
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red stretch crepe(97% polyester; 3% spandex). One shoulder neckline. Back drape. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
153 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(77)
Small
(49)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
February 1, 2012
Great color and dress
I got lots of compliments on this dress, but the inner layer does run a little but small, especially around the hip and leg area. Luckily the top isn't fitted, so I could go larger and not really be able to tell. The underarm area was a little bit big, but the overlayer covered it pretty well. I would defintiely wear again! Recommend wearing with a big necklace.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 108lbs
February 7, 2012
Beautful , Classy Dress
I rented this to wear to a law school formal event. This dress was actually my back up dress but when it arrived I fell in love with it and wore this one instead of my first choice. I got complements all night!!! beautiful color red. i ordered the small because i was nervous about the chest fitting, the small fit fine but a little big on the top so i think i could have gotten away with the XS. i loved wearing this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 20, 2012
My fiance' kept complimenting how beautiful I looked.
I absolutely loved the color. It was a very deep, sophisticated red. The dress is fairly straight from the chest to knees. I'm 5'7'' about 120 pounds but I have noticeable hips. The top area fit great but around my hips/bottom is was a bit tight. I still chose the small size because the top drapery covered that area. I think the medium would have been too loose. Overall, it was a great dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 23, 2012
:-(
I tried renting this gorgeous little number for a date night and was a little disappointed. I rented the XS and S, which is my normal size range, and immediately tried on the XS when I recieved the package. Upon trying it on I realized it was a bit too big. The underlying layer was large allover, which made the draping seem even larger....it was just wrong all around. I have a narrow figure and I just couldnt fill out the fitted part of the dress appropriately. It was such a shame too because this dress is stunning.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
March 13, 2012
LOVED IT
I loved this dress as soon as I saw it! I was super excited when it arrived because it is even sexier in person! You can't really tell from the pictures but the side with no sleeve is not draped and actually reveals a fitted sillouette which is a nice contrast to the draping on the other side of the dress. I'm short but this dress wasn't too long on me (which was my biggest concern with the order). It fit perfectly and it was perfect for a wedding or fancy night out! I wore it with gold accessories.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
April 5, 2012
Perfect Dress for a Party
This dress is such a great deep red. Looked fantastic with killer heels. The inner dress is pretty tight (even for a L) but the way the outside fabric hangs keeps you from feeling self-conscious. Instead, you feel absolutely self-confident. I got compliments from a dozen strangers even before I reached the party.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
June 17, 2012
The timing was perfect. My graduation was postponed until a day after but since RTR lets us rent for four days everything was great!!
In a crowd full of white, tan, peach, and light pink dresses, I stood out with this amazing red dress! I loved wearing it and I loved all of the attention that I was getting. I wanted to wear something out of the ordinary for my graduation from High School. I ordered a size small and a medium to be safe. I am usually a medium and the dress was true to its size. The only problem was that the top is very large around the brest area,besides that I loved it! All I had to do was adjust the top and I added a gold belt to make the dress pop with my gold accessories and shoes.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 121lbs
July 25, 2012
Love it!
Wore this dress out for New Year's Eve -- what a great way to begin 2012. Loose fit, i.e., no waist, but still graceful and elegant. Got a ton of compliments. Would be happy to rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
August 11, 2012
Very long
The color was beautiful. It was a nice rich red. The problem I encountered was the "draping" in the back was much longer than it was in the front. It might have been because I am short, but it looked odd.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
August 27, 2012
Dress Runs Small
I rented this dress for a wedding. There is two layers to this dress and the under layer is visible from the side view. The under layer was super tight around the hip area. Just did not fit right and my body is slim. The color is really pretty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
September 4, 2012
Amazing Color
I chose this dress as my primary for my 33rd birthday. It has an amazing color and the fabric feels great. I was unable to wear it because my hips where too tight but I have a really wide hip compare to the rest of my body and this fabric has no stretch as compared to the Mark and James Draped Dream Dress which has a lot of give and better fit if you have wide hips . Too bad I could not wear it because its truly a beautiful dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 3, 2013
Lots of fabric
I loved the color of this dress but foun d myself very much between sizes. I rented the medium and large and just felt that the medium hugged my thighs and butt too much to be comfortable. I wore the large and received many compliments but wasn't entirely pleased myself -- it felt as though there was excess fabric in the draping that made it feel like I was wearing a tent. Also the L wasn't as snug around the chest area so I was pulling the side up all evening not to reveal my bra. If I were smaller through the hips I definitely would have worn the M and probably loved it.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
April 8, 2013
The easy process and options.
This dress is nice but runs small. If you have thighs and a butt it will be very short and tight on your hips. The ad said picture on a 5 "7" model and I'm 5"4" and the length was the same. I love the service but I learned something new for my next order..
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 16, 2013
This is really cute on, but runs about one size too big.
This is flattering, but it's was a little loose as a 6 and I have a pretty full bust. I'd order the 4 if you are a 6.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 4, 2013
a
I ended up not wearing this dress because it was too big up top. I have smaller chest area and a bigger butt so in order to get it to fit in the butt it was too big up top. I rented another dress as a back up and wore that.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
May 20, 2013
Comfortable, elegant, and sexy!
I felt this dress was elegant and sexy without being too revealing. I wore it to a wine auction at a country club on a Sunday night (so people were wearing everything). I felt very confident and not too overdressed or flashy. Got the XS and S--was very surprised that I couldn't even get the XS zipped. The small was perfect. I am very small-busted, but it fit great with a regular strapless bra. This dress was just the right length...not too short. The overlay of the fabric makes the dress "flowy" so it doesn't hug the body. Loved it...wished I could have kept it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 5, 2013
Everyone was complimenting me on this dress
form fitting yet forgiving at the same time. Tried to find this dress online to purchase I loved it so much!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 10, 2013
Pretty Dress!
I really liked this dress, not one of my favorites but ejoyed wearing it! Classy looking on. The underslip is a little tight, but otherwise fit true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
October 10, 2013
Great fall color!
Super fun dress to wear! The fabric does not give very much, so was a little stiff when I would sit down. Got lots of complements though. Great dress for hiding anything in the mid section, but wouldn't wear it if had a baby bump. Not stretchy enough. Would rent this one again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
October 14, 2013
Everyone saying how much they loved my dress and how classy it was!
After going through the reviews of a lot of dresses on RTR, I felt that this dress would have the highest success rate of fitting me! I'm short and petite, and even though this dress didn't hug my body (I knew it wouldn't by reading the reviews, but I didn't want it to be tight anyways), it looked so great on! Thanks RTR for sending me a sample of your double sided fashion tape! I wore a strapless bra and because the dress was a little big, the side of it hung down too low and showed my bra. So I tapes the dress to my bra under my armpit and it was fine! I'm never going to by a dress again! Thanks RTR for making my 1st experience wonderful!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
November 4, 2013
Gorgeous dress! Amazing color and really classy.
This dress was awesome. The color is beautiful, very rich and perfect for the holidays. Like some other reviewers said, it is a little tight in the butt, but I do have a disproportionally large rear-end for my body size. My chest is small, so it was roomy in the top, but I wore it with a strapless bra and it was perfect. When I ordered it, they did not have a large, so I ordered it as my backup dress and prayed that the medium would fit, and it did! I honestly wish that I did not have to return this dress, and may order it again in the future. I got endless compliments on it. If they have your normal size, I recommend getting the next size up as the backup size in the event that the butt is too tight. The fabric does not have a lot of stretch, so it was tight when I sat down/bent over, but it was not a problem at all. Plus, the draping in the front is very tummy-friendly, and the draping in the back covers any weird stretching.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
November 7, 2013
the color and cut!
This is a very striking dress and I wore it when I was 4 months pregnant. The loose outer layer was very flattering, but the under layer is very fitted!! It doesn't have much give in it which makes it hard to wear. I would order a size larger than you think you would need.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 10, 2013
Gorgeous color, chic and forgiving silhouette.
I didn't wear this b/c it was too shapeless. It wasn't flattering on my body, perhaps if my shoulders weren't as broad it would have been.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 54
Body type: Hourglass
November 18, 2013
Great for the occasion.
Great fit. Only complaint is much.darker than pictures...but it worked.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Body type: Full Bust
April 1, 2013
Spending time with my sisters who all wore red while all our dates wore blue!
it was a little big, wasn't as form fitting as I would have liked
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 31, 2013
Compliments all night
A little tighter in the lower section, but still comfy. The small just looked better than the medium. Thanks!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 29, 2014
SEXY .
Loved this dress for a fundraiser. It was sexy without being constricting and short without being inappropriate to see clients and coworkers. Highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
February 15, 2014
Valentine's birthday calls for a great dress!
The dress fit like a glove. Between the 35 minute car ride, and sitting at dinner - it did not wrinkle! I felt great all night. I got so many compliments and women asking more about RTR - it was a conversation starter!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
March 11, 2014
Great dress, simple yet so pretty. Many compliments from both men and women! Comfortable also!
Fit was pretty good, I'm in between sizes for everything so the medium fit the bottom half of my body well but up top super loose, but the bra held everything in place. Really a great simple dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 14, 2014
Really pretty dress
I liked this dress a lot but ended up not wearing it for the event. (I chose another RTR dress.) The color is gorgeous--it does run a tad small in the hips, so if you are a pear shape, you might want to order the larger size, just in case.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
March 18, 2014
Returning this dress was hard!
I normally wear a 4 or 6, depending on the designer. I rented both a small and medium. The small fit, but the liner was a bit snug, so I opted for the medium. Perfect deep red color. Very flattering. I was sad to give it back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
March 18, 2014
Wore this as a Miss Scarlett costume for a Halloween party!
Very comfortable! Little longer than I would have hoped but it worked out great!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
April 11, 2014
It was an incredible evening with the bride.
The inside slip of the dress is EXTREMELY slim, to the point where it was uncomfortable to sit down and I felt sick. Not at all like a large and from the side it looks relatively unflattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
April 17, 2014
This dress is stunning!
This dress was slightly tight in the hip area, but the design of the dress was very flattering. The dress covers your stomach while making you look gorgeous. I would buy this dress! I received many compliments.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
April 28, 2014
Lots of compliments on the dress!
So comfortable and plenty of tummy room for the wedding cake!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 29, 2014
I LOVED this dress! I got so many compliments on it.
True to size, like the other reviews, the inner layer was a little tight, but not bad
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
May 11, 2014
Great color
I had a little bit of trouble with the size of this dress. I rented the XS & S for my event. The XS fit perfectly on top but was very, very tight in the hips and I was unable to sit down in it. I tried the S, which fit my hips but was large on top. I opted for the S and used double sided tape to keep it from slipping. Overall the dress was great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
June 15, 2014
Great dress but hard to sit
Loved the way this dress looked. Great color and very sexy without being slutty. Perfect for a wedding and perfect for hiding the lumps and bumps after childbirth! Only problem is the under layer was a bit tight so sitting was mildly uncomfortable. Would recommend and would rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 1, 2014
Runs small, no stretch.
Beautiful dress, however it runs small. The M fit like a 4/6. There is no stretch in the fabric, so a body con fit with the inner lining will not work. Was able to zip it up, but it was too small to wear comfortably out to my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
August 4, 2014
So comfortable!
Runs a little big, but overall good fit. Nice fabric.
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×