Crimson Catwalk Dress

$86 to buy
$285 retail
Stylist Notes

Work this one shoulder Mark & James by Badgley Mischka red dress at the event. An easy fit and style to jazz up with lots of accessories. Go accessory wild by renting the Kenneth Jay Lane's Genesha Bangle and Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - slip runs narrow; curvier women should consider sizing up extra room
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red stretch crepe(97% polyester; 3% spandex). One shoulder neckline. Back drape. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
153 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(78)
Small
(49)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
January 10, 2013
Fun and comfortable!
Super comfortable and easy style to wear without having to suck it all in. Great length- didn't have to worry about pulling it down or around to adjust. The bottom is a little tight around lower tummy and hips but the sheath covers area so even if it is a little snug it won't show.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 14, 2013
Not for me
The dress was beautiful. The under layer is quite tight and I don't have big curves. The xs was a little too tight however the draping does hide it well. For me with a small chest, it gave me NO shape. I tried it with a belt which helped a lot but wasn't the look I was going for. I ended up not wearing it because it just didn't flatter me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
January 18, 2013
Extremely small.
I tried on this dress and the M was WAY too small. The L didn't fit very well either, the sheath under the front flap was very, very small. AND it had a stain on it. My only bad RTR experience but they overnighted another dress for me to wear and it worked perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
February 20, 2013
Loved the dress!! got so manycompliments on it. great color
typically wear a size small, but the lining in the skirt was a little tight
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 156lbs
March 1, 2013
It was a fabulous dress at an amazing price and the color is so rich and classy!
This was a great dress and I got a ton of compliments on it but it runs very SMALL! The inside skirt does not have any give at all so thank god I got both sizes or I would not have been able to wear it. It is a fabulous dress but just know that you need to order 1-2 sizes up.I am a medium in most everything including juniors and I had to wear the large.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
April 8, 2013
The easy process and options.
This dress is nice but runs small. If you have thighs and a butt it will be very short and tight on your hips. The ad said picture on a 5 "7" model and I'm 5"4" and the length was the same. I love the service but I learned something new for my next order..
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 4, 2013
a
I ended up not wearing this dress because it was too big up top. I have smaller chest area and a bigger butt so in order to get it to fit in the butt it was too big up top. I rented another dress as a back up and wore that.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
May 20, 2013
Comfortable, elegant, and sexy!
I felt this dress was elegant and sexy without being too revealing. I wore it to a wine auction at a country club on a Sunday night (so people were wearing everything). I felt very confident and not too overdressed or flashy. Got the XS and S--was very surprised that I couldn't even get the XS zipped. The small was perfect. I am very small-busted, but it fit great with a regular strapless bra. This dress was just the right length...not too short. The overlay of the fabric makes the dress "flowy" so it doesn't hug the body. Loved it...wished I could have kept it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 10, 2013
Pretty Dress!
I really liked this dress, not one of my favorites but ejoyed wearing it! Classy looking on. The underslip is a little tight, but otherwise fit true to size.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
November 7, 2013
the color and cut!
This is a very striking dress and I wore it when I was 4 months pregnant. The loose outer layer was very flattering, but the under layer is very fitted!! It doesn't have much give in it which makes it hard to wear. I would order a size larger than you think you would need.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 14, 2014
Really pretty dress
I liked this dress a lot but ended up not wearing it for the event. (I chose another RTR dress.) The color is gorgeous--it does run a tad small in the hips, so if you are a pear shape, you might want to order the larger size, just in case.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
April 11, 2014
It was an incredible evening with the bride.
The inside slip of the dress is EXTREMELY slim, to the point where it was uncomfortable to sit down and I felt sick. Not at all like a large and from the side it looks relatively unflattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
May 11, 2014
Great color
I had a little bit of trouble with the size of this dress. I rented the XS & S for my event. The XS fit perfectly on top but was very, very tight in the hips and I was unable to sit down in it. I tried the S, which fit my hips but was large on top. I opted for the S and used double sided tape to keep it from slipping. Overall the dress was great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 1, 2014
Runs small, no stretch.
Beautiful dress, however it runs small. The M fit like a 4/6. There is no stretch in the fabric, so a body con fit with the inner lining will not work. Was able to zip it up, but it was too small to wear comfortably out to my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 31, 2014
Love wearing red!
Loved the dress! Under layer of dress more fitted than would appear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 19, 2014
Gorgeous Red!
Unfortunately the dress didn't fit and u didn't order a large... Silly me! But I would rent it again!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
September 23, 2014
Thankful for backup dress size!
Ordered the medium dress but ended up wearing the large as my hips did not fit the medium. The large was a little big at the top and I had to adjust the shoulder for most of the evening. 5' 3" is probably too short for this dress as the draped portion of the dress came passed my knee and made me feel frumpy. Despite these issues, I received many compliments on the dress so they must not have been visually obvious. The color was fantastic and the dress traveled well with an hour and a half drive to the wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 18, 2015
This dress was beautiful.
The large was a little bit loose in the bust and tight in the hips area.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
April 15, 2015
Couldn't wear it - WAY too short!
Adorable dress, but "baby got back" and it was way too short! :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
July 31, 2015
very beautiful but couldn't wear it
it was such a beautiful dress but i had to change out of it because the fabric around the waist made it pretty hard to sit down / breathe. Maybe if I had absolutely no fat around my waist it would be a little bit better. Really pretty though
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
August 26, 2015
It didn't fit.
It was small. It appears to be loose and flow, but that is not the case. There is a piece underneath the material you see in the picture that is tight and had a zipper on it. I ordered the large, and a size 10 showed up. I was able to get the thing zipped up, but it was skin tight and guaranteed to ride up when I was sitting, which was difficult in this dress.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
February 25, 2016
Beautiful color and covers up any problem areas with the draping.
This dress is beautiful. However the actual dress (under the draping) runs very small and is form fitting. The good thing about it is the draping covers the front and back. The sides still expose how tight it is. I am 5'6" and 125 lbs. I have hips and a butt that are average in size. I think the Medium would have been a better fit, but it was unavailable. I don't usually wear form fitting clothes like this, so for me it was a little too tight. But I received compliments all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
March 1, 2016
meh
Pros: +color +above the knee Cons: The XS was too small for me. I rented it as a backup dress (and they didn't have a small in stock) but didn't wear it. I figured because of the flowiness of the dress, i could go one size down and get away with it, but it didn't work out. I feel like the small would have been too frumpy on me. I didn't really like the cut of it anyway. It seemed more of a maternity dress to me. So sexy prego ladies, here's your dress! :D
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 42
March 5, 2016
Wedding
I ordered both the small and x-small to wear to a wedding. Unfortunately, I could not wear either. I am usually a size 4 and depending on the style, can be a small or x-small. The small fit me everywhere except in the hips. As one other review noted, the interior liner of the dress has absolutely no "give" at all. Could I have worn this if I really wanted to? Yes. But, I didn't because it was too tight in my hips and I would have been uncomfortable in it and it would not have been flattering because you could tell the liner was too tight.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Body type: Pear
November 30, 2011
This dress fit like a glove! The showstopper earrings were the perfect accessory. I wish I owned both!!
I rented this dress for my fortieth birthday celebration. It was an all black cocktail attire party, but I wore red. I changed into this dress halfway through the celebration. It was a perfect fit and I felt like a DIVA!!!
MichelleJanuary 2, 2012
Wow!!! So beautiful!!
AJJanuary 30, 2012
absolutely stunning!!! side note you look like you're in your 20's!!! FAB-U-LOUS!!
SharmanMarch 16, 2012
Wow! I agree!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 15, 2012
Sexy, Classy & Chic!
I rented this dress for a Valentine's Day date because I thought it was so different and unique. A very understated style that I thought would be elegant and sexy. I usually wear an XS but it was too tight around the hips so the small worked perfectly. I wasn't crazy about how it hung on my body so I belted it to define my shape better. Got a lot of compliments and felt great wearing it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
September 27, 2012
Gorgeous dress, great fit, really stands out in a crowd.
Pros: color, flow of fabric, design Cons: ran SLIGHTLY smaller than expected - the only difficult part was sitting down gracefully in a short and tight fitting slip/skirt that didn't have much give to it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
December 7, 2011
Beautiful, but...
This was my first RTR rental, and I was so excited to receive such a beautiful dress! I was disappointed, however, that when I tried the dress on, it fit perfectly everywhere except my hips. Such a bummer! If you are a "hippy" girl, I'd suggest ordering your normal size and a size up for your back-up.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 29, 2012
Perfect Dress for a Wedding
I rented this dress for a February wedding. I requested both a Small and a Medium size since I typically wear a smaller size. The small fit perfectly through the top but was quite tight around my thighs, especially when I sat down. The medium was a bit loose around the bust line, but a few strips of double-stick tape held everything in place and gave me the extra room in my thighs necessary to sit down. Overall it was a great dress and I received a lot of complements.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
May 8, 2012
Vegas Wedding
I absolutely loved this dress! It was a bit tight around the hips but fit wonderfully ever where else.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
August 15, 2012
Great for a wedding
Amazing dress. I wore it to a wedding and had so many compliments! Wish I owned it. The medium fit everywhere except the hips so I used the backup size, large.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
Compliments galore!
Wore for a fundraiser event - loved the dress. Medium fit fine under arms but a little tight around waist (I have twin boys). So, I went with the Large for comfort. Loved the dress because could hide the mid section. Was a little above the knees.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 21, 2012
power color worked
the lining on the inside runs small for those with hips and buns
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 22, 2012
was great for a wedding!
I didnt feel over or undressed! Loved it! If there werent so many great dresses on RTR I would rent it again : )
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
February 15, 2013
Unfortunately didn't work, this was my back up dress and it was way to short.
Extremely too short, I'm 5'10" and it didn't cover my butt.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 44
December 1, 2016
Gorgeous color and upper draping.
Slim, narrow fit in the hips. Size up from your normal size. RTR exhibited exceptional customer service in refunding/offering to overnight exchange the unworn dress because of unapproved reinforced/altered skirt seams - I think because the seams had been stretched by previous renters. I wear normally an XS or S (4-6) in all my BCBG items, but would wear a M in this if I reordered.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
October 28, 2011
I thought this dress ran true to size. I am usually a medium but I went with the small so that the dress would fit a little tighter underneath. I agree that it was a little tight around the hip area - but I liked that it showed off my curves on the side. I received a ton of compliments with this dress on. I would definitely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 16, 2011
Beautiful and flattering dress
I rented this dress for my Christmas Party... and even though I couldn't attend last minute, my boyfriend took me out to dinner so I could have the opportunity to wear it. I got compliments from people all night long! It was absolutely stunning!!! I hope to rent it next year. I am 5'10, 135lbs with a 32DD and size 2-4 pants and I ordered a small. It fit like a glove, literally. The picture makes it look loose, but it's not. The dress is basically two layers, a tight dress with a looser fabric draped over the top like a toga, for lack of a better description. When you stand facing front, it looks as pictured. But when you turn to the side, it revels the separation in the fabric and the tight dress underneath. It's very hot! It's also a bit shorter than described. It came a little higher than mid-thigh. Because I am so skinny I avoid flowy dresses because I look like I am wearing a tent... this dress, with it's two layers, was perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 16, 2011
Beautiful and flattering dress
I rented this dress for my Christmas Party... and even though I couldn't attend last minute, my boyfriend took me out to dinner so I could have the opportunity to wear it. I got compliments from people all night long! It was absolutely stunning!!! I hope to rent it next year. I am 5'10, 135lbs with a 32DD and size 2-4 pants and I ordered a small. It fit like a glove, literally. The picture makes it look loose, but it's not. The dress is basically two layers, a tight dress with a looser fabric draped over the top like a toga, for lack of a better description. When you stand facing front, it looks as pictured. But when you turn to the side, it revels the separation in the fabric and the tight dress underneath. It's very hot! It's also a bit shorter than described. It came a little higher than mid-thigh. Because I am so skinny I avoid flowy dresses because I look like I am wearing a tent... this dress, with it's two layers, was perfect!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
December 31, 2011
Glam
I am 5'4" size 25 in pants. This dress was true to size and i got so many compliments! I'd rent this again.. <3 it! I wish i could buy it!
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×