Chain Detail Maxi Dress

$85 rental
$380 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This Mark & James by Badgley Mischka eye-catching chain detail gown has everything you need. With an attached necklace, there's no need to accessorize - just grab your heels and go!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - low cut neck is best worn with a NuBra or no bra
WAIST: Fitted - slightly fitted at natural waist - skirt conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular, about 57" from shoulder to hem, for heights 5'4" to 5'6" and long, about 60" from shoulder to hem, for heights above 5'6".

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black silk satin. Cowl neckline with multi chain detail. Bloussant effect at waist. Column style skirt. Back vent. Model's height is 5'8.5". See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
56 reviews
Fit
Large
(17)
True to Size
(36)
Small
(3)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
March 6, 2012
I loved how fast the dresses were shipped out. Also, i received them a day earlier which helped with trying them on and matching up shoes and jewelry. And I still got to return the dress on the same day even though it came a day early.
This was my first time using renttherunway.com and I was very unsure of what to order or how to even make sure it fits. I went with 2 dresses and so glad I did! The dress that fit, and I wore, was perfect. What made it so amazing was that it wasn't a tight or curve-hugging dress. It hangs a little loose so no worries on making sure it fits perfectly. My company had a formal dinner associated with the Air Force and the dress was also professional (I didn't feel like I was showing too much). Also, what makes the dress is the chain details helps as well if you don't have any jewelry or last minute put together. All you really need is small earrings and maybe a ring. I received alot of compliments on this dress and was VERY happy with my first time experience at Rent the Runway.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 9, 2012
I loved this dress, absolutely beautiful!
It fit true to size i wore 4 inch heels and it touched the ground, if your wearing heels definitely go with the long. I wore this to my husbands marine corps ball and it was really nice because i could dance and not have to worry about my dress falling down or anything, you can even wear a bra as long as it crosses in the back. The dress is very low in the front but because the rest of the dress is so modest i thought it was fine. I would definatley recommend this dress and will for sure be using rent the runway again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
December 7, 2012
I loved this dress.
I usually wear an 8 in dresses but I read that this ran big. I wore the 6 and it fit great. It was very comfortable and no need for uncomfortable spanx! I recommend this dress highly. No need for a lot of jewelry. Rocker chic.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
December 10, 2012
Overall the dress what fun, sexy, and functional! I got many complaints all night long.
The dress fit true to size. I'm smaller on top and felt the dress was a big Baggie. I added a belt and it looked like it was meant for the dress. Forwards the end of the night, a part of the chain came off. Overall really fun to wear and dance !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 18, 2011
This dress is simple yet elegant. It is extremely comfortable and the material is very easy to wear. I wore this to a black tie event for work and got so many compliments.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 26, 2011
This dress ran a little large, but it was nothing that a few safety pins couldn't fix. It was easy to do this since the dress is drapey- it was easy to hide. Once that was done- it was fantastic! The dress was very comfortable and the regular was the perfect length for my height with heels. I got so many compliments on it. I wore it with the Cara NY Rock on Bracelet which made for an edgier look, along with dark nail polish and more dramatic makeup- this was definitely a party dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
October 26, 2011
Love this dress! Super comfortable and look very good. Plunge was a little low but I have a small bust so im sure its different when there is more to fill it up.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Apple
November 30, 2011
Formal and comfortable.
This dress runs a little big. So, order the size you normally fit in and the size down if it's available. Overall, this dress was a hit. I wore it to a black tie charity event, and I received wonderful compliments all night. The dress was comfortable and easy to move in, while still being elegant and appropriate for a black tie event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
August 12, 2012
Dress has seen better days
I rented this as my back up dress.. and It runs large. The thing is that the chains are not in the best condition and the beading at the top was damaged on both dresses. If this was fixed would be a great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 20, 2012
Great dress
Great dress but it was bigger than my normal size of 2/4. Double sided tape worked wonders. The second size in a 2 wasn't available for my rental.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 19, 2012
As usual on time
Ran big on top. End up going with another dress I rented.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
October 8, 2012
Such an easy process! Fit like a glove
incredibly comfy! worked well for a small chest, no need for a bra but I didnt feel too exposed. Got lots of compliments. Wore to a military ball.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 26, 2012
The dress made a statement, and only a few small accessories were needed (statement ring)
An 8L was the only size close to mine that was available, and even though it was a little big, the cut still fit pretty well. A 6L would have been perfect. Very comfortable for dancing...I got many compliments on it as well.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 14, 2013
I loved it!
Dress worked perfectly. I got tons of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 2, 2013
Beautiful and flattering. Also comfortable.
It was sexy without being inappropriate. I felt very confident in it.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
June 5, 2013
I loved this dress. It was very comfortable and I got lots of compliments.
I loved how the knot on the back slid up or down to adjust the amount of cleavage. The material was comfortable and not too heavy. I wore 4 inch heels and the bottom still dragged a little. I think I would have been better off with an 8R. The fit was very flattering. Overall I loved the look.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×