Chain Detail Maxi Dress

$85 rental
$380 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This Mark & James by Badgley Mischka eye-catching chain detail gown has everything you need. With an attached necklace, there's no need to accessorize - just grab your heels and go!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - low cut neck is best worn with a NuBra or no bra
WAIST: Fitted - slightly fitted at natural waist - skirt conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular, about 57" from shoulder to hem, for heights 5'4" to 5'6" and long, about 60" from shoulder to hem, for heights above 5'6".

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black silk satin. Cowl neckline with multi chain detail. Bloussant effect at waist. Column style skirt. Back vent. Model's height is 5'8.5". See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
56 reviews
Fit
Large
(17)
True to Size
(36)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
December 13, 2012
compliments galore
when you put this dress on, it feels so simple. like nothing much. but i received so many complements from people i didn't even know. it's super comfy too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 17, 2012
I really love how this dress looks.
Sadly when I ordered this dress it was my first time trying RTR, the dress had a problem and I had ordered it the day before needing it and didn't realize how easy it would have been to get a new one sent to me. I did not wear it but when I tried it on it fit amazing and I fell in love.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
December 21, 2012
Great dress!
This dress is so comfortable! Fits great and looks hot!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 11, 2013
Love getting two sizes.
I got so many compliments! This dress fits the body beautifully. The chain detail makes it look very elegant. I loved it!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
March 12, 2013
Great dress, great first RTR experience!
I am 5'7" so I ordered both the 8R and 8L. The 8R was perfect, but if you are small chested (like me!), it might need to be pinned in the middle. My dress didn't have as nearly many chains as the one in the picture and some of the beading was missing, but you couldn't tell unless you knew what to look for. I received many, many compliments. The dress is forgiving and photographs well, but it's more of a jersey type material and not overly slimming. Overall, I was really happy with my first RTR experience.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 12, 2013
Super comfy and stretchy!
Rented this for a fundraiser I was in charge of--meaning I had to move around a lot and quickly. It looked great all night and was super comfortable!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Body type: Full Bust
June 1, 2011
This dress fit me amazingly and the length was perfect as well. I was worried the fabric would cling but it flowed beautifully. It definitely has a cleopatra feel to it and I got so many compliments on it. I felt gorgeous in it.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
March 6, 2012
I loved how fast the dresses were shipped out. Also, i received them a day earlier which helped with trying them on and matching up shoes and jewelry. And I still got to return the dress on the same day even though it came a day early.
This was my first time using renttherunway.com and I was very unsure of what to order or how to even make sure it fits. I went with 2 dresses and so glad I did! The dress that fit, and I wore, was perfect. What made it so amazing was that it wasn't a tight or curve-hugging dress. It hangs a little loose so no worries on making sure it fits perfectly. My company had a formal dinner associated with the Air Force and the dress was also professional (I didn't feel like I was showing too much). Also, what makes the dress is the chain details helps as well if you don't have any jewelry or last minute put together. All you really need is small earrings and maybe a ring. I received alot of compliments on this dress and was VERY happy with my first time experience at Rent the Runway.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
December 10, 2012
Overall the dress what fun, sexy, and functional! I got many complaints all night long.
The dress fit true to size. I'm smaller on top and felt the dress was a big Baggie. I added a belt and it looked like it was meant for the dress. Forwards the end of the night, a part of the chain came off. Overall really fun to wear and dance !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 18, 2011
This dress is simple yet elegant. It is extremely comfortable and the material is very easy to wear. I wore this to a black tie event for work and got so many compliments.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
October 26, 2011
Love this dress! Super comfortable and look very good. Plunge was a little low but I have a small bust so im sure its different when there is more to fill it up.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
October 8, 2012
Such an easy process! Fit like a glove
incredibly comfy! worked well for a small chest, no need for a bra but I didnt feel too exposed. Got lots of compliments. Wore to a military ball.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 26, 2012
The dress made a statement, and only a few small accessories were needed (statement ring)
An 8L was the only size close to mine that was available, and even though it was a little big, the cut still fit pretty well. A 6L would have been perfect. Very comfortable for dancing...I got many compliments on it as well.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 14, 2013
I loved it!
Dress worked perfectly. I got tons of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 2, 2013
Beautiful and flattering. Also comfortable.
It was sexy without being inappropriate. I felt very confident in it.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
June 5, 2013
I loved this dress. It was very comfortable and I got lots of compliments.
I loved how the knot on the back slid up or down to adjust the amount of cleavage. The material was comfortable and not too heavy. I wore 4 inch heels and the bottom still dragged a little. I think I would have been better off with an 8R. The fit was very flattering. Overall I loved the look.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×