MARCOBOLOGNA

Such A Square Sheath

$35 rental
$385 retail
Stylist Notes

Go for that insanely chic look with this MARCOBOLOGNA black mini. A mod style for you to show off your fashion sense at the dinner party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Italian Sizing. Sized 38-44.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - dress is most fitted though the hips; consider sizing up for fuller hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black stretch crepe (63% Polyester, 22% Viscose, 5% Elastane). Cap Sleeves. Crew neckline. Grosgrain detail on shoulders. Shift body. Exposed center back zipper. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
152 reviews
Fit
Large
(15)
True to Size
(86)
Small
(30)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 22, 2015
Great LBD
I wore this dress with the Ella Carter Elliot Necklace to a rehearsal dinner. This dress was very comfortable and it has pockets (huge plus!) I am 5'10" and I have very long legs, the 44 fit, but was way too short on me. I opted to wear the 46 which was still a tad short, but was more comfortable than the 44.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 17, 2015
Perfect LBD
I wore this dress for an upscale bachelorette party in January in Chicago. It was really hard to find something that was season-appropriate for this party but this dress was perfect. I wore it with black opaque tights, black suede booties, a black and gold studded belt (to cinch the waist), and the Kenneth Jay Lane mod squared necklace. I felt fabulous, and most importantly, it was understated to I didn't upstage the bride!
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 48
May 14, 2015
Elegant. I wear it with silver choker necklace.
The dress fit is comfortable except it is a little bit warm for outdoor but perfect for inside reception.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 6, 2015
Simple & Classic
After a few dress misses, this one is perfect. Dress it up with heels or down with sandles. Well made and flattering. Sleeves were a bit tight but that's something I run into a lot.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
April 18, 2015
Great shift dress, was very comfortable and fun to wear.
This dress is short, which was fine for me, but I'm wider in the hips so there were some limitations. Was comfortable and fun to accessorize.
Size worn:
44
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
April 8, 2015
Super conservative, which was good for my event
The arms were a bit tight and the pockets hit directly at my hips but they could be hidden udon fashion tape or a safety pin. Overall great fit and perfect for bar mitzvah service!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
March 26, 2015
I didn't actually get to wear this dress.
I rented this for my boyfriends awards dinner for work. It was at a trendy new restaurant but had to be rescheduled due to the weather. I tried the dress on and loved it though! Perfect length for a shorter person, The sleeves were a bit tight, but nothing noticeable or uncomfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 23, 2015
Great LBD staple!
I wore this to a Hall of Fame induction ceremony and it was perfect. It can be dressed up or down very easily. I paired with with some bold jewelry and it was plenty dressy for the event. The pockets were great too! I thought it was true to size, but not fitted at all, so if anything I would size down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 10, 2015
Great basic LBD and palette for a fabulous statement necklace
Fit great, very comfortable and roomy for sitting and actively moving around the benefit at which I was volunteering. Looked great with a statement necklace to dress it up as it is a very basic cut. Wish I owned to wear casually more often.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
January 21, 2015
Loved this dress!
I wore this for a rehearsal dinner. Fit ran a little small (wore the larger of the two that I rented), but the material is heavy and felt expensive. Great simple, classy dress. Would definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
January 21, 2015
Perfect LBD for dining and dancing
Wore this for a night out of dinner and dancing. Fit was flattering but not too tight in the midsection so I could enjoy dinner and then very easy and comfortable for dancing. Some said the sleeves were tight but they fit me just fine. Also it has pockets!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 152lbs
January 3, 2015
Not your 60's shift dress.
Well, i was hoping for a nice fit but it just didn't sit right on my body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 27, 2014
Best dress ever! If I could buy it and keep it, I would!
This dress is AMAZING. I got so many compliments. I also rented a gold necklace and wore them together and it was fabulous. I am 5'3 so while the dress is quite short, it wasn't too short by any means. I also ended up wearing my back up size (sized up). Rented 40 and 42 and wore the 42 because it was more comfortable and had the nice shift look I was looking for. The dress is very sophisticated and elegant and the fabric is extremely comfortable. I am definitely going to be renting this again. This is probably my favorite dress that I have ever rented from RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 26, 2014
Will rent again!
Ended up not being able to wear this dress as I missed the event altogether-but tried it on because I love the style. I will definitely be renting this for a future event, it is so comfortable and durable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 23, 2014
Perfect for a company charity event
This dress is extremely comfortable and flattering, but will not show you off. It was perfect for a classy work event, but I wouldn't necessarily rent this for a party or wedding. I'm 5'6" and the length was just longer than mid-thigh. Fit great in arm area; I didn't think it was too tight at all, and I don't consider myself to have skinny arms. I really liked the thicker fabric -- not too heavy, but weighty enough to make it feel formal. Would rent again.
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 23, 2014
Very cute dress. Easy to dress it up!
I normally wear a 4 or 6 in dresses and I had to wear the 44. I am a crossfitter, so the arms were too tight in the 42, but everywhere else fit well. The arms were still quite tight in the 44, but if I went any larger, the rest of the dress would have been too big. All in all, probably a great fitting dress for women with normal size arms.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 96lbs
December 17, 2014
Loved this dress. Fit perfectly and was very comfortable. Also, very easy to accessorize.
Looked great with patterned tights and booties for a winter wedding.
Size worn:
42
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
December 10, 2014
Felt like great quality
I'm 5'6 and about 130 lbs and I thought this dress fit really well. Wore for my boyfriends company Christmas party with a sparkly necklace and it was both comfortable and flattering. It is thick so it was good for winter.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 6, 2014
Classic black shift dress..
Fit was a little boxy and on the bigger side. Need a statement necklace to add some color and fun to the look! Overall was happy with the dress for a date night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 21, 2014
Great LBD!
I rented this dress as a backup to a more risque dress I rented for the same event. I ended up wearing this LBD since the other dress was ridiculously short. I loved this dress! It was easy to wear and I paired it with big statement necklace.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 3, 2014
perfect LBD
I would love to own this dress. The fabric was heavier, and I was glad to not have to suffer through an evening of spanx. It was a bit warm for part of the night, but who expects it to be 80 degrees in September in seattle?! I loved having pockets and the conservative cut of the dress. The sleeves were a bit snug, but I didn't find them bothersome.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
September 1, 2014
way too big
I ordered this as a back up dress & thank goodness my original order fit! This was like wearing a pillow case but heavy, hot, material and wayyyy too big. It was saggy and came to a weird length on me - I'm 5' 3" and it made me look even shorter!
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Apple
August 16, 2014
Great for baby bump and school reunion
Had 10 year school reunion and was. 6 months pregnant. Was perfect for this paired with a gold necklace and gold bracelet. Definitely looked more put together than when I wear my usual clothes from my closet! Went with the larger size because I looked less pregnant in it, a lot of people couldn't even tell I was pregnant in it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 11, 2014
Comfortable dress, Great for any occasion.
I wore this dress for a bachelorette party in Las Vegas and really liked it. The dress is a little heavier of a fabric, which I had read about and it worked great for our dinner and night out plans - we were in a few hotels throughout the night and with their air conditioning on it did not feel too heavy at all. I think it'd be great for a fall or winter wedding or event with tights as well. It fit true to size. (I wear an 8 and usually can go to a 6 or 10 depending on the fit, however I only got this dress in an 8.) I liked the fit - it did not make me feel boxy at all, considering there wasn't much shape to it. I tried it on with a belt at the waist and thought that looked nice too. It leaves your options open for jewelry and accessories, and was just so comfortable all night. I'd rent this one again for an event
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 10, 2014
Rented for work training event
I loved this dress soooo much and did not want to send it back! I wore it for a work training and needed something professional, but this easily could have been transitioned to a night time dress. It fit very well and complimented my curvy shape without leaving me feeling self conscious. True to size, jazzed it up with a statement necklace and got many compliments.
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 6, 2014
It was classy and conservative, but had enough personality to make a statement. Plus, pockets!!
I wore a size smaller than I normally do because the larger size was just too big in a few areas such as the back and chest. The smaller dress felt snug at times around my arms, but the material had a slight stretchiness to it that saved the sleeves from feeling too tight. It never once bunched up in the midsection while I was seated and I LOVE the pockets! I wore the dress with bright orange tights (Biggby Coffee colors, the company I work for) as well. I got a bunch of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
July 29, 2014
Its a very simple black dress.
It wont make an impression on photographs but would look great for a work function.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
July 28, 2014
Great fit but pretty short!
The dress was very comfortable and fit perfectly. I knew it would be short when I ordered it but it still surprised me a little. Not inappropriate, it's just the style! But because the dress is somewhat modest otherwise, I didn't mind. Loved the sleeve detail, and the front seams are very flattering. Comfortable and easy LBD for a date night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
July 28, 2014
Classic and Simple
Wore this for our engagement photos and it was great- yes, it was simple but I wore a bright beaded necklace and it was perfection. Dress was SUPER comfortable and true to size. The only reason I gave four starts is because the material is really thick, really warm for anything outdoors in the summer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 115
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 21, 2014
Loved it
I ordered this for a rehearsal dinner in both my true size and decided to size down for my backup. I ended up wearing my true size and did not feel like it was too boxy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
July 15, 2014
LOVE IT!
No complaints the fit and dress were great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
July 14, 2014
Didn't get to wear it...
It is a very nice dress, just wasn't for me. It was so heavy, especially for a night out in the summer, and it just hung and did nothing for my body shape.
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 24, 2014
I wore this as an 'usherette' in my friends wedding.
I really enjoyed wearing this dress. It is generally true to sizes, but is bit tighter through the arms, bust, and hips. I loved the pockets, and the fun shape of the dress. Be prepared to dress it up with accessories, though. It definitely needs something. More about the dress and rental experience on my blog: http://www.jonesfordesign.com/blog/welcoming-summer
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
June 18, 2014
I did not wear this dress.
Ran a little wide. I did not end up wearing because the fabric is very heavy and a little more formal than expected. I was attending a bachelorette party dinner but it was outdoors and this was far too warm.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
June 10, 2014
Classic LBD
Loved it! It was classy & comfortable!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 6, 2014
Easy, flattering, great w/ a necklace.
Super comfortable, casual yet dressy, great with a big statement necklace.
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 29, 2014
Perfect for a graduation!
I wore this for my boyfriend's med school graduation and it was a nice balance of cute and classy. I did find that it looked a little plain withouth heels or fun jewelry. I loved that it had pockets, but the pockets did make it bulge in the middle a little. Overall a nice, casual dress — and good to wear to an event where you're not trying to show too much skin!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
May 27, 2014
Comfy chic
Loved this dress! The length was just right and it was simple, but I was able to jazz it up with some accessories. I wore it to a dinner purposefully. I received lots of compliments. Having packets was great. Some people made comments about the weight of the fabric, but I didn't find it to be too heavy and I wore it when the temperature was fairly warm. I can definitely see myself renting this dress again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 25, 2014
Great classic dress!
This dress was perfect for my Thursday night charity event. It definitely runs small through the bust, but otherwise the fit was great! The fabric would have been heavy for an outdoor event (Atlanta is scorching in May), but was perfect for an air-conditioned indoor space. Thanks for a wonderful experience as always!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 11, 2014
Fabulous dress if you want to be comfortable!
Wore this when I was 16 weeks pregnant. So comfortable and cute! Not terribly photogenic, but definitely looked better in person.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×