Lilly Pulitzer

Pep in Your Step Dress

$50 rental
$228 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Lace up your tennis sneakers, grab a lemonade, and watch the tennis match wearing this flirty Lilly Pulitzer sweetheart dress. Feminine and chic for an afternoon of leisurely sports and friends! Shown here with the RJ Graziano's Watercolor Stone Statement Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust due to smocking at back of bustline
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Printed cotton poplin(100% cotton). Strapless neckline. Front pockets. Full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
81 reviews
Fit
Large
(12)
True to Size
(67)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 3, 2013
Preppy and comfy for beach vacation
This dress fit great! Really pulled off a classy but fun look. I felt awesome in it this dress. One of my favorites.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 26, 2013
simple, elegant & gorgeous
fit true to size, extremely flattering silhouette and shape. perfect summer party dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
February 27, 2013
Wore this to our Engagement Party
I was pleasantly surprised with this dress! I don't usually wear strapless, but this one stayed in place without me having to do a bunch of tugging on the top all night. I received lots of compliments, and it was light and breezy for a hot evening.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
December 5, 2012
I wore this dress to a horse race in May and loved it! I got so many compliments!
Dress fit true to size. Flattering
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 1, 2013
Great dress for casual spring/summer party
I really liked this dress, and was sad to have to send it back. I got the 4 and the 6. Either would have worked fine, but I ended up wearing the 6 because it was a little roomier in the chest. I wore it to an outdoor daytime party, and paired it with a cropped navy cardigan and some pretty high wedges. It was really a fantastic dress... casual enough for a daytime party, but dressy enough that I still felt like I looked special. I would recommend this dress with no hesitation.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121lbs
May 6, 2013
Wore this darling Lilly Pulitzer dress for the Spring Gold Cup horse race in VA. :)
Love love loved this dress! It was perfectly preppy, and classy. My only gripe is the elastic top only gives so much - the 0 fit me perfectly but it was hard to pull on/off since there isn't a zipper. The 2 was more comfortable and was easier to slip on/off, but the elastic was too loose around the top. Other than that, the lining is great, and the fit is super flattering.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 6, 2013
Fun Dress for the Derby!
I rented this dress for the Kentucky Derby. It was a really fun little dress, although a little bit on the short side (I am 5'6"). It is made of a cotton material that would have been great if it wasn't raining! Overall I was given a ton of compliments and it matched my fascinator perfectly!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 8, 2013
Beauitful dress for Gold Cup!
I ordered the 4 and the 6, but this dress has a lot of material through the body of the dress, so I really needed a 2. I loved the dress as a whole though, and everyone couldn't stop telling me how great I looked! I wish I could have bought it! Perfect for the event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 148lbs
May 8, 2013
Wearing a perfect dress for the Kentucky Derby!
I wore this dress to the Kentucky Derby and loved it! The material was very easy and durable. The only thing i wish were different were that it fit a little better on top. I wore a strapless bra because it was a little bit baggy in areas in the bust region which was surprising after reading other reviews. I was hoping it would fit well enough without a bra-but still loved it! thanks!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 21, 2013
Cute dress but very casual
It was hard to tell online, but this dress was really casual. I rented it for a daytime wedding, but ended up going with something more formal. It fit well and was really cute and comfortable, but definitely much better for a bbq or party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 22, 2013
Fun Summer Dress
Really liked this dress but wish that I would have been able to get the smaller size. This was a "second" dress option for the weekend and could only chose one size. The top was too big for me, but I still wore it anyways, The navy blue stripes were starting to fade a bit due to wear and laundering. I don't think anyone else really noticed too much. Very comfortable with Pockets. I usually wear the 10, but probably could have gone down at least one size, especially since the back is all stretchy fabric.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
May 23, 2013
Wanted to love this dress, but didn't.
I rented this dress for my sister's rehearsal dinner, but didn't end up wearing it. It was super cute, and fit well, but as a fairly small person, it made me look REALLY young. Like teenager young. I think with the right accessories it would be great, or maybe on someone with a few more curves. :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
July 10, 2013
SUPER cute dress!
Perfect for a New England summer!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 31, 2013
Stand out without begging for the attention ;)
This was perfect for a summer wedding--enough style to stand out but not be overdressed. The fun colors and casual fabric were great-I'm large-busted and felt perfectly comfortable in the 6 without a bra, the dress is well made and stays put. I'm normally not at all a Lily Pulitzer wearer but loved that this was cute without being twee overload!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 2, 2013
So Cute! but So Big!
Cute Dress, but it runs big, and the stripes are not as flattering as they look on the model
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Body type: Athletic
October 4, 2013
Loved this dress! I wore it to my 8th grade dance and everyone loved it!!!
Was just a bit large but I used the two sided tape to help hold the top in place!!!!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 11, 2013
Loved having a Lilly dress for KA Old South
Fit great! Very true to the size chart--helps to go into Lilly stores that you may have nearby if you wanna check on a size
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
November 20, 2013
I wore this dress to my college graduation- It was a fun, bright, and easy to wear dress!
This dress fit true to size- I am tall 5'7 and I did think that it was a little short, but overall I LOVED the dress! It has pockets so I was able to have my phone and keys on me while in my graduation robe, and because it is cotton I didn't get too hot sitting outside. I loved that the back is elasticized so it stayed up well for a strapless dress, and I didn't feel like I was going to fall out of it or have to keep pulling the dress up all day!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 17, 2013
Cute dress
Comfortable and easy to dance it, perfect for a summer wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
September 22, 2013
Adorable
Really sweet comfy and has pockets!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 27, 2014
Great dress. Prefect length,
Wore it to the Del Mar horse races, everyone loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 30, 2012
My husband loved this fun & flirty dress and it was perfect for our Memorial Day adventure in New York!
Adorable and versatile! I wore this dress to a wedding brunch with a navy cardigan and then wore it to a Memorial Day rooftop BBQ later in the day with sandals. It worked great for both and I received several compliments on the fun nautical stripes. I usually wear a size 6, but the 4 fit much better and didn't slip down. I recommend ordering down a size as a back up because the top doesn't have any boning. It's definitely a more casual dress, perfect for outdoor summer events!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
March 1, 2014
Great dress, just the right pop of color I was wanted for my sorority's spring formal!
Loved the fit, no problems!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 27, 2012
The delivery was a day early and returning was super simple. I also got a great hanger as a gift! This is the best idea ever!
I got this dress for my bridal shower and it was sooo beautiful (I might just buy it now). It was perfect for a shower. I got many compliments. The smocked back makes it super comfortable, and the light cotton is perfect for the summer! And let's not forget the pockets! The dress was a tiny but big in the waist, but over all I'd say stay with your true size.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
June 19, 2012
Dress for my Bridal Shower! Everyone loved it and I felt great!
I wore this dress for my Bridal Shower and got a ton of compliments! It was comfortable and a great length for me since I am petite. Might be short on taller women. Also, my bust is very large and since there was no zipper, it was hard to get over it, but once I did, the dress fit like a glove. i don't think you can go wrong with this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
July 30, 2012
Customer service is over the top!!!
I am crazy in love with this dress. I rented it for a vacation to Miami and Islamorada. Perfect summer dress for shopping, drinks and dinner. Love that the back is accommodating for those of us with ample tops. Perfect fit and didn’t even need a bra for support. Win all the way around!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 14, 2012
Rent the Runway is professional and efficient. I love the opportunity to wear designer clothes for a small price. The dresses come clean and ready to wear and the return policy is easy and fair.
Loved this dress. Easy to wear because of the stretchy back and fuller skirt. Very flattering and the colors are fantastic. I wore this to a family party before my wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126lbs
September 21, 2012
The dress was too cute, perfect for a summer wedding!
The fit was good, a little short for my 5'6" frame. The pockets were amazing. Again, it is very short, I felt uncomfortable wearing tall heels. I ended up wearing flats most of the night. The colors are so vibrant and perfect for summer. I would recommend this dress, especially for petites.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
September 23, 2012
The compliments I received made this rental worth every penny!
Perfect fit - I'm 5'2" and 109 lbs.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
April 15, 2013
Comfortable and I loved the pockets!
I am normally between a 2 and a 4 so those were the two sizes I ordered. I tried the 2 first, and it fit well with a little room to spare. Once I got the dress on, it stayed put but I did double stick tape the neckline because otherwise it wouldn't have looked right (you couldn't see that it was a sweetheart neckline). I didn't realize the dress was a lightweight cotton so it was more casual than I expected and is getting a little worn. Still, it looked great in pictures and was fun to wear. Great for a summer event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
August 1, 2012
Great party dress!
I loved this dress! The fit was great, a bit snug at the top, but not too tight. I enjoyed the pockets and colors, and received a lot of compliments. Great for summer!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 10, 2012
Sporty Chic
I wore this to a casual, backyard daytime wedding. I got so many compliments, and was completely comfortable in the dress despite temperatures in the high 90s!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
August 14, 2012
Cute dress for day event
I wore this dress to the horse races for my bachelorette party. I really liked it, but felt that it was totally flattering on my chest--kind of gave me "shelf boob". I liked it, but wouldn't have bought it at a store.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 11, 2012
Casual Wedding
This was the perfect outdoor casual wedding guest dress. Everyone commented on it. I felt comfortable doing everything from riding a bicycle to dancing up a storm.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126lbs
September 28, 2012
This dress was so cute! I felt confident in my choice at the Jack & Jill shower I attended.
The material of this dress is definitely for day time. It was nice and lightweight. I loved the pockets! The sticky top helped to keep in in place. The colors were great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
November 26, 2012
So fun and colorful!
This is a beautiful dress! Fits true to size because it has an elastic panel in the back (super stretchy!). It fell just above the knee on me so it wasn't nearly as short as it looks on the model, but that was perfect for my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 18, 2012
dress is so lightweight and crisp!
Fit perfect and was exactly right for a summer outdoor wedding- highly recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
April 6, 2013
Pretty dress
Lots of compliments
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 11, 2013
Great service!
This dress was beautiful and fit perfectly! I normally wear a size 2 and the size 2 was a perfect fit. I didn't end up wearing the dress but I will definitely rent this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
July 30, 2013
Too cold and windy to wear. Beware of the full skirt on a windy day!
I rented this dress for a wedding on the lake. It ended up being a cold and windy day. I put the dress on for about 30 minutes and realized I would spend the entire day holding it down. The skirt is really full and catches the wind. Overall the top was loose, and I had to wear a padded bra with the size zero keep it up. I had no hope of keeping the 2 up. The dresses are starting to look a bit worn, and I think the elastic across the back has been stretched out. It wasn't as flattering a fit as I had hoped.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×