Lilly Pulitzer

May Flowers Dress

$57 to buy
$188 retail
Stylist Notes

Greet the warm sunny weather to that outside bridal luncheon by wearing this Lilly Pulitzer flirty floral dress. Enjoy your girlfriends company and chat about the amazing Kenneth Jay Lane's Ruby Red Drops you are wearing with your outfit.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Floral printed cotton(100% cotton). Boat neckline. Full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
238 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(166)
Small
(43)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 26, 2013
Cute dress, but it would be perfect for an event different than what I ordered it for!

I ordered the 4 and the 6 for a daytime casual wedding in the summer. I was very disappointed when I received both of the dresses the day before my event. I tried on both, but the 4 was too short and way too tight, while the 6 was still too tight in the waist. The material appeared to be more informal and not what I expected. I ended up wearing a backup dress that I owned instead. I feel as if this dress is appropriate for shorter girls with a very small waist. At least I have a credit now to use for another special occasion!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
April 27, 2014
Great print but WAY too short

Didn't end up wearing because the dress was WAY too short for me. Could have gotten away with the length if wearing tights, but it's a sun dress so it just didn't work. It looked like I was a little kid wearing an oddly-sized baby doll dress. Would only recommend for petite girls...

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
May 12, 2014
Super cute and easy to wear, but VERY short!

I got this dress for my graduation party! I loved the colors and since it was going to be an outdoor event I loved the springyness of it!! The pockets also were a huge plus. I was able to keep my phone with me without holding it in my hands the whole time. The dress doesn't look that short, but because it flares out, it feels VERY short when being worn. I had to roll my spandex shorts up so they wouldn't show. I wore nude wedges and pearls with it for simple accessories.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 115lbs
May 25, 2014
Fun dress

I wore this dress to my boyfriend's graduating ceremony/party. This was my first rental with RTR and first Lilly dress, so I was unsure of what size to get. I ended up wearing a 0. It fit perfectly however it was a little snug around the waist/torso area, as there is no stretch whatsoever. I didn't want to go up a size because the 2 was a little too loose up top. Overall I was very happy with my selection and I highly recommend this dress! I wish I had discovered RTR years ago!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
June 1, 2014
Beautiful dress!

I loved the dress!!! It was a bit tight around my ribs but the rest of the dress fit perfect.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
June 5, 2014
Loved the bright colors!

I got this dress for my brother's graduation, it's perfect for any summer event! I normally wear a 6, but had to wear the 8 because of the bust. I have a pretty big cup size and the 6 fit everywhere except there. So if you're like me and have a large bust for your size, go for one size up. You'll love the fun summer colors!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 9, 2014
Beautiful dress!

This dress was exactly what I was looking for! This was my first time with using Rent the Runway and I most certainly will be back:) I wore this dress this past weekend for an outside wedding. The dress was comfy and I got a lot of compliments with it! I rented both a 2 and 4 and ended up wearing the size 2. The dress is a little tighter around the waist but it fits beautifully everywhere else. The dress is a little on the shorter side but nothing that is really worth any concern. I would highly recommend this dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
June 18, 2014
Dress was too tight :(

I did not wear this dress. While its adorable, the top was way to tight for my 34D chest, as in I could zip it up but cannot breathe kind of tight. The tightness occurred right around the band of the bra. A size up was not available for a back up size at the time I was renting, however I believe an 8 would have been too large as the rest of the dress fit perfectly around my waist. It's a shame, the colors and print would have been perfect for a beach wedding.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
June 27, 2014
Tight on the chest area

So comfortable, wore it with green heels for Easter and I loooooooved it. Was a little tight on the chest area but not a deal breaker. Would rent it again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 27, 2014
Cute and colorful dress

Super-cute design and loved the back, but it was a little snug at the upper waist area.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
August 11, 2014
Fun and flirty

The size 10 that I originally ordered could not zip up in the back (watch out and size up, ladies with big ribcages!), but luckily the size 12 fit very well. The top was slightly tight on the bust, but the skirt was flowy and fun. The pockets were a nice addition, as was the cute cut-out at the top of the back. All in all, my first RtR experience was a very good one, and I generally really liked the dress. It wasn't an all-out perfect dress, but it did the job and looked cute for a summer wedding!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
August 31, 2014
I didn't wear it :(

It seemed like the 8 was too tight around the mid section and the fabric had no give. The waist came above my belly button and the skirt part poofed out like crazy! This dress is adorable and perfect for a garden party or shower, but it just wasn't the right fit for my body type.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
August 31, 2014
Gorgeous bright dress!

This dress is absolutely stunning the colors are even more vibrant in person. I wore this dress for open house. It was the perfect dress to meet my new students and their parents.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Body type: Full Bust
April 6, 2015
Runs extremely small

I wanted to wear this on easter. I ordered the size I normall y wear and the size up and they both still did not fit. I was unable to wear the dress at all.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 16, 2015
Cute dress!

I wear a size 2 typically but wore the size 4 back up I ordered. The dress runs very small and is quite short, but it still was very cute for the daytime bridal shower I attended. I recommend, but definitely order a size up.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
April 30, 2015
Bright, colorful dress

The dress worked well for an outdoor daytime occasion. However, I found it very short, and I'm only 5'4". I would not feel comfortable wearing it for an evening soiree.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 20, 2015
Pockets!

This dress was a little on the short side, but was fine for under my graduation gown. I loved that it had pockets, and they didn't add any extra bulk at the hips. I found the arms and the neck to be tight, but I find that with most Lilly dresses. It could be restricting for someone looking to dance in this dress. The colors were great and the dress is very feminine. Another great Lilly.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
June 19, 2012
Another flawless rental experience!

This dress was THE CUTEST! The fit was great in the 8 (I am normally a 6/8) but certainly go up in size because the waist band has no give. Other than that the back-cut out, the length, color--everything was fabulous!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
April 17, 2013
Cute, cute, cute dress

I wore this dress for my 41st birthday dinner at Trader Vic's in Atlanta, and I picked it because the bright tropical flowers would be fun against Trader Vic's Polynesian/Tiki-themed decor. I rented sizes 10 and 12, and wound up wearing the 10. "It's short," my husband said to me. Yes, it is short. I loved the dress, but it is short. I also found it somewhat on the small side. I'm pear-shaped and don't think of myself as big-busted, but the 10 was a trifle tight. I wore it and not the 12 because the pleated skirt on the 12 was just way too poofy. It's a lovely dress, able to be worn with a regular bra, which I love, and the pockets are perfect for my cell phone and tissues or whatever. I'm not sure I'd rent it again,but I did love it, despite it feeling a tiny bit tight in the bust and waist and being short. It's got beautiful colors and was absolutely perfect for the occasion.

CharmeishaApril 17, 2013
looks great.it looks knee length on your pic so confused about it being too short.i'm 5'3 so just wondering before I purchased why did you think it was too short?
TXHollyApril 17, 2013
Charmeisha, I'm 5'1". It hit me just a bit above the knee. The pleats on the skirt poof it out a little, so it really does feel shorter than it is. Hope that helps!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
May 22, 2013
Huge hit at my boyfriend's graduation!

The dress was a little hard to zip, but it fit like a glove. I'm a little bit busty, so even though the 10 fit, I wore the 12 to have a little more room up top (and to be parent appropriate). This dress was perfect: family friendly, but still cute enough to get tons of compliments, and it photographed beautifully. As always, my RTR experience was great and I look forward to renting again for my next event!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 12, 2014
I wore this to my boyfriend's undergrad graduation!

I own several Lilly dresses, but this one definitely runs way smaller. I ordered a 2 and a 4 and ended up wearing the 4, and even that was a little tight. It's also a lot shorter than it looks on the model!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 11, 2015
Bright Lily colors- perfect for Derby Day

The dress had a lot more "pouf" on the bottom than I thought from the picture but it was perfect for a Derby party. I did wear some spandex shorts underneath for extra coverage going up and down stairs! Pretty good fit, not the best neckline on me personally but the pattern worked for the "theme."

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
May 14, 2014
Not my favorite Lily dress

I wasn't able to wear this dress because neither size (4 and 6) fit and I was leaving in the morning to go out of town. Had to make an emergency trip to buy a Lily dress. I was going to the Kentucky Derby so I wanted something bright and feminine. This dress has no stretch. I have wider ribs and it just wouldn't zip in that area though it was fine over my waist and shoulders. Also wasn't a fan of the print in person. Wish it had worked out because it looks so cute in all of the reviews!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
August 22, 2012
Beautiful dress....awkward fit

I wore this dress to my friends wedding and it was absolutely beautiful. The only issue I had was how it fit. The 10 was perfect on the top but tight in the hips where the 12 was to big on top and perfect in the hips. Despite the strange fit it was perfect for the summer wedding.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 10, 2012
Love this!

I wore this dress to a backyard wedding this summer and received so many compliments! The dress fits true to size everywhere but was a bit snug in the waist. Overall, LOVED it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 25, 2012
Fun back on dress

I liked the fun open back, however it was a little bunchy and didn't lay flat. Darling dress.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 1, 2013
Beautiful dress.

This dress fits tightly around the ribcage.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
August 8, 2014
Cute dress, but looks young

This dress is really cute, but for a young woman, not me. It's shorter than it appears on the model (I'm 5 5", and it was just below mid-thigh). And with the flowered print it just wasn't right for me. But on a younger woman it would be perfect for a daytime summer event. I normally wear a 4 or a 6, and the 4 was too small. The 6 fit but the waist has no give, so consider that when ordering.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
April 21, 2015
Waaayyyy too short on me (and I'm 5'3")

Couldn't wear :-(

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
April 20, 2016
friend's wedding

I wore this dress as a bridesmaid in a wedding. The bride requested we pick whatever Lily Pulitzer dress we wanted, as long as, it was bright and spring-like. This dress definitely fit the bill. The style is very cute and young. Pros: the dress is made of sturdy material and flares at the hips, so the fit is extremely flattering; the colors are bold and bright and great for spring or summer events. Cons: dress runs about a size too small; the length wasn't too short on me, but I have shorter legs and a long torso, so I could see how being a bit on the tall side with longer legs would be a problem (as a read in other reviews.)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 8, 2016
Derby Party!

This dress is beautiful-- lightweight, bright colors. It's perfect for a garden party, bridal shower, or outdoor wedding. I ordered the size 2 and 4. The 2 was slightly tight in the bust and around the ribcage. While it fit, the 4 was more flattering and certainly more comfortable to wear all day.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 64
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
August 10, 2016
Cotton fabric comfortable to wear. Got lots of compliments!

No stretch in the fabric, so buy the size you normally wear.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
May 6, 2012
Perfect derby dress!

I rented this dress for the Denver Derby party and it was a hit. I was super comfortable in 80 degree weather and got tons of complements on that style. This dress fits true to size. My friend used my backup dress by Shoshanna and loved it as well!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
May 16, 2012
He even loved the dress!

This dress is adorable! I rented it for an anniversary dinner with my boyfriend. I felt beautiful from the second I put it on. It is the perfect fit and very flattering. I wore it again the next day as a day dress...That's how much I loved it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
June 19, 2012
Amazing!

Rented this for my wedding shower and was given tons of compliments! Loved, loved it!!!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
June 19, 2012
How can you not feel pretty in a floral dress? :)

I wore this dress for when I hosted my friends bridal shower. I LOVED it! The fit was great, and I received a lot of compliments!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 29, 2012
I was so happy to share this day with my sister and felt confident in this colorful dress!

I wore this dress to my sister's high school graduation and loved it! I felt so festive and got tons of complements. It looked great in pictures but didn't take away from my sister's special day. I usually wear either a 6 or and 8 but went with the 6 and it fit great in the lower half but slightly tight in the bust. Great dress for any daytime event.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 2, 2012
So many compliments and I felt awesome!

3 months post twin babies and I am still not back into my clothes so RTR is a lifesaver right now : ) I wore this Lilly for the Christening, it took place during Sunday Mass (we're Catholic)... I had to wear a cardigan. I am usually preppy chic so this match was made in fashion heaven. Here goes: the dress is just the right length (I' m 5'3) at about 3" above the knees, it was not a mini. It runs true to size and the waist is a bit high making it forgiving as the skirt falls over the hips. It is fresh, comfortable and super festive. I wore it with peep toe pumps and pearl earrings. It was chic in church then I got rid of the cardigan-showing off the design on the back, pinned my hair loosely, the look turned super cute for the brunch that followed!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
July 18, 2012
I received so many compliments on this dress and overall it was just awesome to wear!

The fit of this dress was great. It was true to size and perfect for this occasion. The dress is flowy and sophisticated. I wore it with pink strappy heels and the earrings that came as "mystery bling". I would recommend renting this dress to anyone.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 31, 2012
Too Short- Couldn't wear it

This dress looked adorable, until I put it on. I love Lilly and own many of her dresses but this one was awful! It was so short and barely covered my..assets. No way was I going to wear this to a bridal party brunch. I wouldn't recommend this dress to anyone, esp to someone looking for a preppy, appropriate, event dress.

See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×