Island Breeze Shift

$67 to buy
$278 retail
Stylist Notes

Look effortlessly chic in this Lilly Pulitzer sea foam lace dress. A feminine style made for a day out on the town with your best friend! Dress up this look with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings and Whiting and Davis' Black Mesh Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 00-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Not fitted – loosely fitted through midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 00-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Not fitted – loosely fitted through midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Teal lace (68% polyester, 32% nylon). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Shift body. Back keyhole with hook-and-eye closure. No zipper. 35” from shoulder to hem. Lined (100% polyester). Imported.

Share
255 reviews
Fit
Large
(28)
True to Size
(164)
Small
(25)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 11, 2012
Super cute shift!
Easy fit, runs true to size, easy and comfy!
TamaraFebruary 22, 2013
I'm similar in shape to you and was wondering if this had a bit of a cinched waist to it or if it was truly just a straight down shift. You look great! Thanks.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 18, 2013
I wore this for a beach vacation.
The color is stunning and looks great on all skin tones. This dress runs big and the fit is loose so I had to wear it with a skinny gold belt. Overall beautiful Lace and color just expect a looser fit.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
March 24, 2013
Perfect bridal shower dress!
Beautiful lace and color! The dress came to the right length for me (I'm 5'9") and fit well. This was a great experience for my first RTR!
AKMarch 30, 2013
Did you wear a regular bra with this? I can't tell if strapless/racer back
AKMarch 30, 2013
**would be best, it seems to be cut a little narrow in the top. Thanks!!
KennedyApril 8, 2013
would you say this dress has some shape to it? or is it just straight cut?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 3, 2013
I wore this dress for Easter. It was perfect and so comfortable! I got so many compliments.
The fit was exactly what I expected. I did go with the four so I would have a little more hip room.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 10, 2013
Beautiful lace dress-- but needed more shape
I ordered this for a wedding in Miami, and although the dress itself was beautiful (color and lace even prettier in person than shown in the pictures), I had to send it back without wearing it. The dress runs very large and gave no shape (as it is very straight cut). I would have needed it cinched in at the waist to be able to wear it without feeling huge. RTR was great about my return and offered to overnight the 4, but bad a daytime wedding that it may not have arrived in time. I am not sure the 4 would have worked, as it was still snug in the shoulders/chest-- not the dress for me
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 11, 2013
I LOVE this dress. The color is amazing. I wore this for Easter and it was perfect! Love it!
I got so many compliments in this dress. The fabric is so light and soft, and the design is just beautiful. I loved it.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 14, 2013
I wore this dress to my wedding party that was western themed, and it was a hit!! Cute and comfy!
I ordered a size 0 and a size 2, but ended up wearing the size 2. The 0 was really tight under my arms, and the 2 was a little big in the chest. I had to wear a different bra to make the size 2 work, but it looked fine! Also, I saw some questions about what bra to wear with this dress- the dress has snaps on the inside for your straps so you can wear a normal bra and not have to worry about it hanging out! The dress is definitely a shift, but it has some shape to it! Enough to feel comfortable eating and drinking, but also enough to be flattering. Overall, I really enjoyed this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
April 15, 2013
Great Spring Wedding Dress
I rented this dress as a back-up for an April wedding. The ceremony was outside in the evening so this dress was a great combination of fun and light but formal enough for an evening reception. I loved the color of the dress and the lace was beautiful (and in great condition!). I'm usually between a 4 and 6 but I ordered smaller for this one because it's a shift dress and I didn't want it to be too "sack-like". The 4 ended up fitting everywhere except that it was a little tight in the shoulders/bust area. Granted I have fairly broad shoulders for a girl, but it would could have fit better. I ended up adding a belt I already owned just to give it a waist, but it was definitely a great dress!
RTR CustomerMay 5, 2013
Look great! and so happy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 28, 2013
Did not wear the dress-returned it since it did not fit.
Too large overall. TIghter around hips but too large around waist, which made it quite unflattering.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 29, 2013
I absolutely LOVED this dress! I had so many compliments all night long.
The dress runs true to size. I am rather busty, but small waisted...The 0 fit, but it was tight in the arms because of my chest. It is a shift dress so it doesn't hug your curves and was extremely comfortable to dance the night away. Perfect dress for a formal, wedding or a day at the horse track. The lace detail was gorgeous and the color is much more vibrant in person.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
April 30, 2013
Loved this dress and rent the runway
I was afraid that the dress would be a little short but it was the perfect modest length. I loved the design of the back of the dress. The dress was a little more green than what appears in pictures but it was beautiful, I wanted to keep it! Can be dressed up or dressed down depending on accessories. I received compliments on the dress all night. Great rent the runway experience, will definitely do it again for the next time I need a dress for an occasion.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 3, 2013
it would have been a great derby dress
absolutely gorgeous dress! I normally wear a 2 or 4 by this designer but this dress was too tight in the chest area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 152lbs
May 12, 2013
the color is gorgeous (slightly darker to me than in the photos)
i normally wear a 10 or 12 and I got this in a 12 as my other Lilly dresses were just larges. I would probably have gone with the 10 next time, to keep it slightly fitted for more of a figure under it. The color is great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 13, 2013
pretty color for a wedding!
I rented both the 8 and the 10 for a wedding. The 8 (my usual size) fit, but it was a little tighter around the hips than I would've liked for a wedding where my parents will be there too. I ended up wearing the 10 with a belt since the chest was a little too big. The dress was a good length, the contrast of the lace was pretty and overall a good rental.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 16, 2013
Gorgeous color for summer!
I wore this to my college graduation, and it was the perfect lightweight material for underneath my gown. The dress up close is really 2 colors; a greenish layer underneath and a turquoise lace overlay. Like the other reviewers said, it doesn't have a ton of shape but it is very comfortable and I didn't mind that, although I wore a size 4 and am generally a 6 in more form fitting Lilly dresses.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
May 21, 2013
comfy and classy
This was for a business party. Second time rental - that's how great this dress is. Very flattering on an athletic build.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 154lbs
May 26, 2013
Just not my style
I loved the way this dress looked on the model and on other women, but I felt like, on me, it looked a bit like I was wearing a sack. Maybe the size wasn't the best choice for me. It was a little snug in the arms, but big everywhere else. It just didn't give me any shape at all (I realize that that's kind of Lily Pulitzer's style). The color was gorgeous, too, but I decided to go with my backup dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 29, 2013
Great fit, lovely color!
I rented this dress for my sister's wedding rehearsal dinner. I received lots of compliments and really felt that the color complimented my tan and blonde hair. My only complaint is that it was a little big in the stomach area (because of it being cut straight down). Because of the way the lace laid, I did not belt it. If I had a small belt, I certainly would have. Would love to purchase this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 9, 2013
Perfect for summer wedding!
This was my first rental from RTR and I'm in love! I rented this for a wedding and I got complimented on it all night. I ordered a size 4 and a size 6, I ended up wearing the 6 because the 4 was a little tight across the chest. It was very comfortable and the color is beautiful. It is a little greener than I thought, but still gorgeous. The rental process was so easy as well as the return process. I don't think I'll ever buy a dress again!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
June 10, 2013
Ease of finding the right look.
The dress was cute but fit very tight in the arms.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
June 16, 2013
This dress was my first RTR experience and it was great!
It is a straight fit so I used a belt to define my waist. I paired this dress with a pair of high cowboy boots for a western themed wedding and was very happy with the look. The color is wonderful and the lace detail is really pretty. Would definitely recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 18, 2013
Cute dress, but not the best for my shape
I rented this dress to wear to my bridal shower. I loved this dress while I was wearing it, but it did not look so great in pictures. The size 8 just felt like a sack and was way too big at the bust, so I opted to wear the 6 even though it was a little snug on my hips (I'm slightly pear-shaped) because it felt better overall. Unfortunately what looked better in the mirror did not translate to film which caused me to appear dumpier than I am (i.e. not at all). This was a disappointing discovery as on the day of the shower, I did not want to take the dress off! I guess my advice is to opt for a larger size if you have hips and want a true shift dress appearance in photos.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 19, 2013
Stunning!!!
I got so many compliments in this dress! It does have some green undertones which make the dress even prettier! I will definitely wear this dress again!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
June 24, 2013
Loved this dress! Received numerous compliments!
Based on other reviews, I though I would need to wear the 12, as I have a larger chest, however, the 10 fit perfect. The size 12 was quite large in the waist and hip area. This dress was super comfortable and loved that my bra straps could be snapped into the dress! Many people complimented me (both at the wedding and via photos on Facebook) and said they loved my dress. This was my first experience with Rent the Runway and I will definitely come back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 134lbs
July 2, 2013
Great color and I love the lace!
It's a shift so it naturally runs larger. I wore the 2 and it gave me a lot better shape than the 4. It is cute for a night out or wedding. The color looks nice on many skin tones and the lace at the bottom gives it a classy but sexy touch.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 14, 2013
Great dress, fabulous color, it fit really well!
The dress is great. I tried the 0 and the 2 and both fit just fine and I could have worn either, but the 2 was slightly more comfortable so went with that. I have broad shoulders so it for me was a little tight in the chest area, but fit nicely everywhere else. It was a beautiful color and great dress for the wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
July 15, 2013
Good, preppy, summery style
This dress was a little more preppy than my usual taste but I gave it a try because of the color. I loved the color and the lace was really pretty too... i just didnt like that you could see that the lining would ripple underneath the lace because it was loose and then the shadows were dark through the lace. I think this took away from it although my husband swore no one else could tell. LOL... I paired it with pearls and simple earrings and actually wore flat sandals because I wore it to s summer day wedding that was outside for the ceremony on the grass. It was really comfortable and easy to wear since it was so loose. If you're preppy kinda gal you'll love this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
July 25, 2013
Adorable, fun, bright dress for a summer wedding!
This dress ran true to size - it was a tiny bit tight under the armpits, so if you have a larger bust I would rent both your regular size and the next size up, if available. The length was perfect and I received lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
July 27, 2013
Wanted to love, but too large...
I normally wear a 10, so I ordered both a 10 & a 12. I tried on the 10 first and it was large. It made me look matronly. So I sent both back...beautiful color, though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
July 29, 2013
Great dress for the rehearsal dinner.
Overall great fit. A little snug around the arms but other than that I really liked the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
July 29, 2013
Adorable shift
I wore this dress for a Cape Cod beach wedding I had, and it was perfect. If fit exactly how I hoped it would, and it looked gorgeous with a tan. I was a little worried because I have a bigger chest, but it fit like a glove. I would definitely recommend this dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
July 31, 2013
Great dress! It was my first RTR experience, and I was very pleased!
Awesome dress for a summer or spring wedding. The fabric is pretty light, and color is beautiful. The dress is more of a blue-green than the bright turquiose that I was expecting, but it was still gorgeous. My only problem was that it was a little long on me since I am on the shorter size, but it was still a little above the knee. I just like shorter dresses! Overall, great find! I would definitely rent this dress again!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 6, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
I received a ton of compliments. It was a perfect fit. I got the sizes 8 and 6 and ended up wearing the 6. It was very comfortable to dance in too! Will definitely rent this one again :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
August 12, 2013
BEAUTIFUL DRESS!
This dress was perfect! I am always a little nervous to order clothes without trying them on but this worked out awesome. I am big busted and under the arms are definitely tight as most of the other reviews say but I was still able to move around just fine! The color and length were great and I can't believe how many people commented on the dress.I had one of the waitresses at the wedding ask if she could take a picture to show her daughter. I can't even count how many times I explained what RTR was all about.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 19, 2013
Loved the sea foam color - flattering and fun!
The dress has a green lining and a turquoise lace overlay. It was very easy to move in. Thought about wearing a belt but decided not to - wish I had. I wore the 6...runs true to size!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
September 12, 2013
It fit great after adding a belt, way to baggy otherwise. I received multiple compliments!
Overall very pretty dress, I am very petite so this was baggy on me. I added a belt at the waist to pull it in and it looked much better! Great rental
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 18, 2013
Beautiful color, pretty lace material!
This dress was very pretty, great color and high quality lace material, perfect for a daytime party! My only complaint is that the hook and eye closure at the top of the back of the dress would not stay closed, so people kept noticing and trying to rehook it for me. Also, I thought this dress was a bit tight in the bust and hips, so instead of wearing my usual size 2 I wore a 4, so I would recommend sizing up for curvier girls.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 21, 2013
great service
I love love this dress again this was my 2nd dress that I opt in to order. The weird part was I only wanted one size for this dress but I received two versus the first dress I order I requested two size but received one size. Anyways the quality of the dress and I love the color. I like the way it has double layer so you don't have to worry about others seeing thru the dress. The only thing I didn't like about this dress its tight in the upper area and I didn't like how it fit around the bust and shoulder area. This was my second choice to wear for the wedding but sadly I couldn't wear it. I had to return it. RTR was quick to respond immediately which I will still consider renting another dress for another wedding and great service. I will definitely request shipping at least two days before the event if its your first time or not sure about the dress unlike me I order it the day before thinking it'll be ok. I still gave it a 4 star for quality and lovely color.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
October 27, 2013
I stood out without being too flashy at a graduation party!
Overall, the dress ran true to size. I don't think that the picture even does the color of the dress justice! It really is a beautiful blue color and I got a ton of compliments on it at a graduation party. I would recommend this dress for any formal affair, wedding, or party. This dress was really comfortable as well :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
November 7, 2013
Gorgeous dress, wore it for my birthday celebration! Got a lot of compliments on it.
Fit was true to size, only problem was the clasp on the back kept coming undone. =(
See more reviews:
1 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×