Lilly Pulitzer

Island Breeze Shift

$54 to buy
$278 retail
Stylist Notes

Look effortlessly chic in this Lilly Pulitzer sea foam lace dress. A feminine style made for a day out on the town with your best friend! Dress up this look with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings and Whiting and Davis' Black Mesh Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 00-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Not fitted – loosely fitted through midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Teal lace (68% polyester, 32% nylon). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Shift body. Back keyhole with hook-and-eye closure. No zipper. 35” from shoulder to hem. Lined (100% polyester). Imported.

Share
257 reviews
Fit
Large
(28)
True to Size
(165)
Small
(25)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 10, 2013
Beautiful lace dress-- but needed more shape
I ordered this for a wedding in Miami, and although the dress itself was beautiful (color and lace even prettier in person than shown in the pictures), I had to send it back without wearing it. The dress runs very large and gave no shape (as it is very straight cut). I would have needed it cinched in at the waist to be able to wear it without feeling huge. RTR was great about my return and offered to overnight the 4, but bad a daytime wedding that it may not have arrived in time. I am not sure the 4 would have worked, as it was still snug in the shoulders/chest-- not the dress for me
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 28, 2013
Did not wear the dress-returned it since it did not fit.
Too large overall. TIghter around hips but too large around waist, which made it quite unflattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 16, 2013
Gorgeous color for summer!
I wore this to my college graduation, and it was the perfect lightweight material for underneath my gown. The dress up close is really 2 colors; a greenish layer underneath and a turquoise lace overlay. Like the other reviewers said, it doesn't have a ton of shape but it is very comfortable and I didn't mind that, although I wore a size 4 and am generally a 6 in more form fitting Lilly dresses.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 134lbs
July 2, 2013
Great color and I love the lace!
It's a shift so it naturally runs larger. I wore the 2 and it gave me a lot better shape than the 4. It is cute for a night out or wedding. The color looks nice on many skin tones and the lace at the bottom gives it a classy but sexy touch.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
July 15, 2013
Good, preppy, summery style
This dress was a little more preppy than my usual taste but I gave it a try because of the color. I loved the color and the lace was really pretty too... i just didnt like that you could see that the lining would ripple underneath the lace because it was loose and then the shadows were dark through the lace. I think this took away from it although my husband swore no one else could tell. LOL... I paired it with pearls and simple earrings and actually wore flat sandals because I wore it to s summer day wedding that was outside for the ceremony on the grass. It was really comfortable and easy to wear since it was so loose. If you're preppy kinda gal you'll love this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
July 27, 2013
Wanted to love, but too large...
I normally wear a 10, so I ordered both a 10 & a 12. I tried on the 10 first and it was large. It made me look matronly. So I sent both back...beautiful color, though.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
September 12, 2013
It fit great after adding a belt, way to baggy otherwise. I received multiple compliments!
Overall very pretty dress, I am very petite so this was baggy on me. I added a belt at the waist to pull it in and it looked much better! Great rental
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 8, 2014
Classically pretty dress
I ordered a 2 and 4 and decided to wear the 2 because it was slightly more form-fitting. It was fitted without being tight and not too short, even though I'm tall. My only complaint is that the back hook came undone more than once while I was wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 21, 2014
The dress was beautiful, fit well, and everyone loved it. Very classy.
The waist was not fitted at all (as I don't think it's meant to be), so I added a small belt to give me a better waistline.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 1, 2014
I wore this dress for my first "Law Prom" (Barrister's Ball).
This dress was perfect! I wanted a formal style but with some fun color to it. I wore a larger size than normal because I wanted to wear it with a belt and heels (and I'm already taller than average-- 5'9"). But overall the fit was great, a little loose; the 10 definitely fit better but I was more comfortable wearing a larger size so I had room to eat, drink and dance! People I didn't even know kept approaching me and telling me how gorgeous my dress was and how much they loved the color and style on me!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 16, 2014
Baggy
This dress was good, not great. Did not end up wearing as my other dress was great :). It was tight in the chest area and then baggy throughout the remainder. Just sorta hung on me. Not unflattering per se, but not flattering either. Could have worked, but wasn't the wow effect I'm used to from RTR dresses. Probably just the wrong cut for my body shape.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
April 30, 2014
Perfect dress for a sunny day at the horse races
This was a gorgeous dress and was easy to wear. It ran a little large, but added a cute belt to make it less frumpy. I paired it with wedges and the length was just right for an active day of cheering, sitting, standing and get in and out of tailgates. The color was beautiful and looked amazing with other shades of blue. The pattern was classy and fun and I got a lot of compliments on it. The back is also fun (I am now rocking an entertaining tan line) but the clasp was a little loose. Just be aware of this before you leave, so that you can tighten it! Other than that, it is a wonderful dress and I would definitely wear it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 23, 2014
Beautiful color!
I got so many compliments on the color of this dress. It was a little big in the mid section causing my middle to look larger than it is but over all it was a great dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
June 1, 2014
Not for bigger busts
This dress was beautiful but was just not cut for curvy women-- I have a very small waist and wear a 32DD, so always need to wear items that are cut in a way that show off my waist. This dress just hung from my bust, making me look heavy in the middle. The color was gorgeous, the lace was beautiful, but I think this shift is just cut for women with fewer curves. I will also say I usually wear a 2/4 and I was swimming in the 4, so go for the lower of two sizes if you're between.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 6, 2014
Loved the color and lace design BUT doesn't have a shape to it
LOVED the color and the design of the lace BUT it really didn't do anything for my figure. When I added a belt like some girls advised from previous reviews, it looked better but I didn't want to be fidgeting with the belt during the event. So I didn't end up wearing this dress. Great dress for spring summer and if maybe you want to hid your midsection. Little big so the size I normally ordered worked but could have gone a size down
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 7, 2014
Perfect color, stood out at the wedding!
Ok, I am not a fan of this dress. The color was beautiful but the dress itself made me look huge. I weigh 131 but have a 34d chest size and made me look 20-30 pounds heavier. If you are not tiny, I would look at other Lily options that are more form fitting. I was not pleased with the fit and wish I had selected another rental.
AngieJuly 11, 2014
If the picture you posted is you, you don't look huge. You look adorable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 9, 2014
Everyone loved the dress! I got so many compliments.
Fit great. Wore the 6 because it fit better around the middle! #standout
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 18, 2014
Perfect for a beach wedding.
Usually a size 6, I rented both the 6 and 4 as I read some reviews saying it runs a bit large. The 4 fit perfect, but was a little tight under the arms. The 6 was way too big. There are convenient snaps inside the dress to hold your bra straps in place. This was my favorite Rent the Runway dress yet! The color is perfect and the fit is forgiving and comfortable. I couldn't believe the compliments I received!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
August 28, 2014
Beautiful but runs big
Beautiful color and style! The dress runs really big though and I could not wear it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
September 27, 2014
Loved the color of this dress.
I loved the color of the dress. It was tight in the armpits. Could be more form fitting but over all I really liked the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
October 28, 2014
Gorgeous color!
I wore this dress to a "bridal tea" for my friend's wedding. The color is much more vibrant and green-toned in person, which I liked. I could have worn the 4 but went with the 2 because it was more fitted and had less fabric hanging. The 2 was a little tight in my armpits but not too tight to wear, and was otherwise a very comfortable dress. I highly recommend this one!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
November 16, 2015
Pretty cut lace, but way too big
I have worn many Lilly dresses in the past and unfortunately this one does not fit the way many other dresses do. Usually the 00 fits perfectly, not too tight but no extra loose fabric. This dress, however, fits weird. The underarms are very small and the torso area is way too wide. Beware to those who normally wear Lilly dresses and think this one is like the others. The 00 I received was still too big in the torso and the other size I ordered was a 0 so I was not able to wear either dresses. Also, it is more green in person - not as turquoise.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
June 18, 2013
Very pretty, runs big.
This was my back up dress and I didn't end up wearing it. It runs pretty big and I wanted to show off my small frame.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
June 24, 2014
Great color for blondes
It was a good length and neckline for a small family wedding where I was looking for modest but still a bright spring color. It does have a green under tone but overall it reads aqua. Think it is perfect for blondes. It was a bit snug across the chest (36DD) but worked. Loved how the bottom section of lace hung below the lining to accentuate the pretty scalloped edge. I used to make fun of my friends 15 years ago who wore Lilly but she has come along way and I take back everything I ever said! She's more than super preppy prints these days!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 28, 2014
Great color and style! I received lots of compliments!
It's a shift dress so it's not fitted through the middle. The size 4 fit better in length but the size 6 fit better under the arms. The lace overlay was well maintained. The color, especially for a summer wedding, was fresh and popped! The only con was the hook-and-eye closure at the back kept popping open. The suggested accessories really brought the look together. I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
July 19, 2016
Friend's beautiful wedding!
I was a bit nervous when the 10 was not available in this dress, but I loved it so much, I took the plunge with the 8 instead. And I'm very glad that I did! The dress could be too short for some, but with my short legs, I didn't think it was inappropriate. Looking forward to my next Lilly rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
August 19, 2016
Great Color - Comfortable Dress
The color was great, got lots of compliments, the lace is also really soft. The only complaint was that the dress was somewhat baggy in the stomach area, but that is likely because of the sheath fit (and could be a pro since it gives you room to eat!)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 3, 2013
it would have been a great derby dress
absolutely gorgeous dress! I normally wear a 2 or 4 by this designer but this dress was too tight in the chest area.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
June 10, 2013
Ease of finding the right look.
The dress was cute but fit very tight in the arms.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 30G
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 18, 2013
Cute dress, but not the best for my shape
I rented this dress to wear to my bridal shower. I loved this dress while I was wearing it, but it did not look so great in pictures. The size 8 just felt like a sack and was way too big at the bust, so I opted to wear the 6 even though it was a little snug on my hips (I'm slightly pear-shaped) because it felt better overall. Unfortunately what looked better in the mirror did not translate to film which caused me to appear dumpier than I am (i.e. not at all). This was a disappointing discovery as on the day of the shower, I did not want to take the dress off! I guess my advice is to opt for a larger size if you have hips and want a true shift dress appearance in photos.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
March 3, 2014
Shoulders were tight.
Dress fit fine expect the shoulder and arms were tight for me I don't remember what size I ended up wearing but I remember that the arms were driving me nuts. Otherwise the dress fit fine and was perfect for graduation and the dinner afterwards.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 11, 2014
Nothing.
TERRIBLE! Beautiful color but NO GOOD if you have big boobs!! I'm a 36DD and it flattened me out completely because there is no stretch to the dress. Buyer beware!!!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 23, 2014
I rented this Lily dress for a summer wedding and loved it! The color was perfect!
I received a lot of compliments all night on this dress (and thereafter through pictures)! I loved the color and quality of the dress overall but the fit around the arms was a little snug for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
May 19, 2014
Beautiful color! Tons of compliments!
After some issues with my original order, RTR really worked with me and offered to overnight a dress to me that would make it in time for my event. They only had this dress available in a 4, so I was worried it wouldn't fit. It was a little tight under the underarms, but it didn't bother me too much because the dress was so beautiful! Plus the color is very vibrant! I got plenty of compliments from women I knew and some that I didn't know. I would definitely rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 11, 2014
Favorite RTR rental so far
LOVED this rental. It was perfectly summery and so comfy. My one comment is that the arm holes were a little tight and I have pretty skinny arms. The zero fit me everywhere else, but I had to wear the 2 because the arm holes were so constricting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
July 7, 2014
Bright color, fun look.
I wore this dress to a July wedding. It was a flattering cut and a vibrant color. There were 6 other people in the exact same teal at this wedding, so it must be super trendy right now. It's shorter then I normally wear but that ended up being ok. The sleeve holes were very tight and I wish I'd gone a size up. Good value rental over all.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 190lbs
July 21, 2014
Arm holes run small - if you're athletic and not petite, beware.
I was not able to wear this dress because the arm holes and chest were very tight. Depending on the designer, I'm usually a 10 or 12 with C size chest. This dress "fit" but not properly. Unfortunately I had to return it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
October 3, 2014
Cute dress, great color
Great, vibrant color. Runs small in terms of the armit holes. Not a fitted dress which is the charm of it. You will get compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 9, 2015
This dress is simple but makes a statement
Great color for blondes, tight in the chest so it was perfect for me since I am flat chested and petite. Great dress for a party on the beach.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
March 25, 2015
Beautiful color, comfortable, great length. lots of compliments!
It's a a little small in the chest & arms so I wore a size up. the back keyhole closure kept falling open throughout the night. Otherwise absolutely loved!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×