Rent the Runway

Lilly Pulitzer

Derby Girl Dress

$55 rental
$250 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Turn heads at the party wearing this flirty Lilly Pulizter navy, full skirt dress. Waist cinching and one style that you'll look radiant in all night long.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy faille (100% cotton). Sleeveless. Crew neckline with black soutache detail. Full skirt. Exposed back zipper. Lined. 33” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

411 reviews

Fit
Small 12
True to Size 294
Large 95
Photos 238
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 8, 2012

Perfect for a Fall Wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented the 2 and the 4 in this since I am usually one of those sizes. The 4 was pretty big on me so the 2 was the perfect. The wedding was in Buffalo so the heavier fabric on this dress was perfect! It was so pretty, looked great on and it was comfortable! The only thing I didn't like was the slip underneath, it has an elastic band to give the skirt shape. It felt weird and kept folding on me but if I had more time to get ready I could've ironed it to stay straight. Otherwise no complaints - loved it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Oct 8, 2012

Loved this dress!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It runs a little big but I got so many compliments on this dress. I was told I looked very classy and gorgeous. I love it :)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 9, 2012

Classic and comfortable

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
First time I rented from RTR and everything was so simple and easy. The dress was great and very appropriate for the Everyday Health event I attended. A pleasant surprise was the hidden pockets in the skirt! Will definitely rent again
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Oct 10, 2012

Love this dress. Very comfortable yet classy and sexy!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was a nice comfortable fabric. Easy to dance and move around in. Also, loved that is has pockets.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 10, 2012

Feeling beautiful at my bridal shower!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my bridal shower in October and it was a hit! It was the perfect mix of fun and lady-like. I say it runs large because although I got a size 2, it still fit my chest well. I tend not to wear dresses that have such a high neckline because it maximizes my chest (in a bad way!) but the way this had a nude panel at the top with detailing, that wasn't the case. The material is heavier than you might expect, which makes it better to wear to a fall or spring event. It has cute pockets and I love how the skirt flared out a bit! I am short (5'2) so it was definitely longer on me, but still hit just above the knee, and wearing nude pumps lengthened the whole look.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 13, 2012

I have never gotten so many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fabric was so comfortable
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 99 lbs
Oct 17, 2012

Exactly what I was looking for :-)

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Classy and elegant, perfect for a fall wedding in a historic inn. My only complaint would be that it ran *just a touch* too large... maybe if my chest were half an inch bigger it would've fit perfectly. But it worked out and I'd recommend this dress to friends!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 22, 2012

Super cute dress! I got so many compliments on it! Loved it!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This Lilly dress runs pretty true to size, but it was a little tight around my bust, so you may want to go up a size if you have a larger chest. But it fit great everywhere else! You can dress up or dress down this dress so it is perfect for any occasion! Blue and black are a great color combo right now! You'll definitely stand out in this dress. I loved it!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

fun & sophisticated dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! The fit was great (probably better if you have a larger bust). and although I wasn't expecting the skirt to be so full, I liked how it ended up looking. The only problem I had was that the dress wrinkled somewhat easily. The length was great for the type of function (wedding) and the neckline is really flattering. I also loved the zipper up the back & the pockets!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 24, 2012

It was one of my best friend's wedding day and I wanted to look classy & elegant. Perfect!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Order a size smaller, runs a bit large at the bottom. If you have a larger chest however, stick to your normal size. Fits wonderfully with all types of bras.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 28, 2012

Loved the dress!!! I got a ton of compliments. The dress was lined perfectly! GREAT quality!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got both a 2 and 4, ended up wearing the 2. So I agree with the advice of getting a size smaller, but I could have worn the 4 if needed. The dress arrived on time, such an easy and wonderful service. I cannot wait to use again! The dress was so comfortable and the quality obvious. A+!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 31, 2012

Classy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fits great and is flattering. The full a-line skirt helps make your waist look slim. The fabric is heavy, the lining isn't itchy, and it lays well. I liked the exposed zipper in the back, and I would suggest wearing an updo to show off the soutache detail. It did wrinkle a bit from the car ride. One thing that was surprising is that there is "nude" fabric backing behind the soutache. I thought it was the model's skin, but it is fabric. My skin tone is darker than the "nude" color, and I thought it looked a little odd that what appear to be chest and back cut outs were lighter than my skin. It would be even more noticeable on a person with darker complexion. The dress is nice and it fit well, but I don't think I would wear it to a wedding again. I could imagine wearing it to work with black pumps, and I like to wear things with a little more flair and fun to weddings.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 9, 2012

I LOVED THIS DRESS. I received so many compliments, I felt like a princess!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this to a dance and it was absolutely perfect. I usually wear a 2, but I got a 0 as a backup and ended up wearing that instead as the dress runs a little large (as many Lilly Pulitzer dresses do). It was so comfortable and very high quality. Absolutely lovely. I will definitely be renting this dress again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 162 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

Perfect dress for a formal bridal shower!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first experience with RTR and now I'm hooked! The fashion choices where I live here in FL are fairly casual, tacky, and young. This dress was the perfect combination of sexy, classy, and fun! The material feels luxurious and it fits like a glove. I'm an hourglass shaped woman and the full skirt definitely accomodated my hips! I wore an 8 and could have gone down to a 6 if I wanted it a little more snug and a little shorter. I rented the 10 just to be safe but it was way too big. Typically in dresses where the skirt is form fitting I'm around a 10/12, but with a loose skirt I'm usually an 8. I highly recommend this dress! I'm in love with it! :)
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 16, 2012

I rented this dress for my sorority semi-formal.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress fit wonderfully! I received many compliments on it-- it is so classy and perfect for every occasion. However, it was somewhat large. I would order your regular size and then a size lower.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 18, 2012

I really like the dress and it fit prefectly. I felt very pretty and recieved many compliments.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
After sitting down, the hem of the dress felt weird. I do not know how to describe it but I think the lining of the dress turned inwards. It was not noticable and It did not effect the overall look of the outfit, it just felt weird to me. But I would rent it again
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 18, 2012

Beautiful & Classy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a Fall Gala and loved it! The lace details were beautiful and it is perfect for fall (The dress is more navy in it looks it the picture). It was slightly large in the waist, but fit perfectly other than that. Highly recommend! Thanks RTR!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 19, 2012

The dress was very classy and I received a lot of compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress runs large in the waist. I love that it has pockets. I wore it with black tights and heels since it was cooler outside. It was very comfortable as well.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 2, 2012

I got SO many compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The dress was amazing! It was beautiful and perfect! I got compliments throughout the whole night from everyone!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 2, 2012

great dress-perfect!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
fits nice-I wore the smaller size. The hem underneath was a little crumpled but after I ironed it it was fine. I had a ton of compliments!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Dec 5, 2012

Beautiful lacy top, I felt so pretty!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this dress for a blind date party and absolutely loved it, and so did my date! The hem is a little weird and would shift to the side slightly. The material is also a little thick, so be sure not to wear this during summer months!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 5, 2012

Dress fit perfect!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress fit perfectly and was great for the occasion! No complaints about anything with this dress. The fit was true to my normal Lilly Pulitzer dress size. Would recommend to anyone for any dressy event!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 9, 2012

I loved all the compliments I received and how classy and pretty I felt!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit super true to size and was very comfortable to wear.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 11, 2012

Elegant, classy, and comfortable.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The fit was definitely bigger than I expected. I ordered the 2 and the 4 because I was concerned the 0 wouldn't close around the bust. In reality, the fabric is actually pretty stretchy (so I probably could have fit in the 0) and even though I felt the 2 was bigger than I expected it to be, it wound up looking fine. Friends said it looked great, very "Mad Men," but I felt it was a little too loose in the waist and definitely longer than it appears on the model pictured on the RTR site.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 13, 2012

This dress was a great find for my semiformal!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I definitely would recommend going down a size if you're sort of between two sizes, but it fit me like a glove and I absolutely loved it. The material was a bit heavier than I was expecting but I was glad for that. It's the sort of dress you don't have to worry about- it wont crinkle oddly when you sit down, you dont have to worry about how you move in it, etc. Really great rental! Thanks RTR!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Dec 16, 2012

Perfect balance of class and fun.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a work holiday party and it was exactly what I was looking for. The fabric is a beautiful navy blue color has a bit of stretch. The cut made it perfect for a professional event. I paired the dress with a wine-colored belt and wedges. I highly recommend this dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 17, 2012

Perfect for a work Christmas Party!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my firm's Christmas party. It was the perfect balance between work-appropriate and fun. The fabric is very thick and the best part is the POCKETS in the skirt! Very cute!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Dec 17, 2012

Lovely dress

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this for a baby shower and ended up not wearing it, but I loved it. I loved the pockets and it was flattering on my big hips.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

My friend and I rented these dresses for a Company Christmas party. I will absolutely rent again.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I usually wear an 8 in women's and the 8 fit like a glove. If you are larger in the bust this may not be right for you. The pockets on this dress are so much fun. The embellishments on top are skin colored material, not your skin. I didn't think I was going to like it but it was beautiful. This was a very classic dress, great quality and very comfortable. I would recommend this for pear shaped, straight and narrow or athletic.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 17, 2012

Perfect Fall/Winter Wedding Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was more fitted in the chest and loosens up around the waist. The inside band on the bottom was a little weird/crooked but ironing it makes it better. I love that it had pockets, so much easier to take pictures and dance when you have a pocket to put your camera in. Overall great dress for the occasion and I got a ton of compliments.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127 lbs
Dec 27, 2012

Being told that I had the classiest dress at the dance!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was so incredibly beautiful. All of my friends who found out I had rented it told me I had to buy it! This dress ran a little large.. I'm usually a 4ish and in this case, I wish I had gotten a 0 and 2 vs 4 and 2. This was my first RTR experience and it was so wonderful that I just ordered a dress from here for my next formal affair.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 27, 2012

Fit my body perfectly! Tons of compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I usually have a shape issue in most dresses, but this one was shaped in a way that hid everything I usually dislike about my body. Plus it was an appropriate length! The navy blue is a classic, safe color, and I was STILL getting compliments all night!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 27, 2012

Not the best picture, but the dress fit perfectly and everyone loved it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit just how I expected it to, got the 8 and 10 and wore the 8.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 28, 2012

Everyone at the Christmas party couldn't stop complimenting me and the dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was very flattering and it does come in a little more snug at the waist which I liked because showed off my hourglass figure (and the fact that I've recently lost 45 pounds! woo!). The dress is also a heavier material and comfortable to wear (wore it from 5pm to 5am with no problem). Loved the dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Classy!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress has no give, its not stretchy, so getting the 2 sizes is surely a good thing. I am really a "7" if that existed, so I rented a 6 and an 8 and the 8 was perfect. Im 5'7" and the dress came to my mid-thigh and was appropriate for both a family holiday party and a friend's birthday party. Just a note, the lacy detail on the top has a white material behind it, so it may look different on more tan people than my porcelain skin. =)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Jan 5, 2013

This New Years Eve dress was EVERYTHING.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The 10 fit well with some crafty belting. I have a very short torso so the dress was very long on me in the mid-section. However, the dress rolled perfectly under itself, which I could hide with this fab bow belt. It made the pockets useless, but I didn't care. The detailing is beautiful, I loved the exposed zipper and it looked so classy with black tights. I loved wearing the dress.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 6, 2013

Very flattering- and I have a hard body to fit for formal wear!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Good thing I ordered a size down! I have a very small waist with broad shoulders: the dress came in exactly at my waist creating a very feminine silhouette that usually is very challenging for my body type. It even covered my worst nightmare: the area under your arms that folds with a strapless bra? Maybe I'm the only one that gets paranoid about it but it flattered my arms immensely and that's a hard thing for me to say! Great length for a youthful but elegant look. Heavy fabric, love the pockets. CAUTION THOUGH: the dress tends to fold when you sit and if you're sitting for a while it WILL crease unflatteringly so. Had to steam it after a cab ride. I paired it with gold Steve Madden heels to reflect the gold zipper. Loved wearing it!!! Great first experience with RTR. Cons: my dress came with a very noticeable snag in the embroidered detail, had to cut the loose string and used clear polish to set it from opening up again. Worked and couldn't tell a thing! From the picture you also can't see well that there is a nude fabric under the detail so you're not as bare as I thought I was going to be.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Jan 8, 2013

Dress stunning to wear! Design & details more lovely than any photos capture. Many compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Fit was ideal! Comfortable. Wore size 2 (usually a 2, but had 4 for backup). Fabric -great satiny finish & held the shape of its skirt, due to lining. Garment not flimsy, heavier texture & classic style. Liked elegant impression of cut-out detail at neckline. Wore accessory cuff, earrings; etc, shoes,, that accented with black embroidery on upper bodice. Dressier than I imagined! Perfect for date at business banquet gala, (White Mts. resort). Many compliments from friends BUT also random other guests. Will rent again.Thanks RTR!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Jan 11, 2013

"Perfect dress to impress after being gone for a few years!!!"

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this to go to a cocktail Holiday party for a company I had left a couple years prior. I had not seen most of the people since I left so obviously I needed the perfect outfit. The dress fit WONDERFULLY and was perfect for the occasion. It was a little shorter than I expected but I wore black tights with it so was fine. There's a mess layer beneath the lace so might have looked weird if I was more tan but since I live in Chicago and it was December that wasn't a problem.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 18, 2013

Selected this dress for Homecoming and loved my choice. The pockets were my favorite part!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved the fit and comfort of this Lily Pulitzer dress. The ease of ordering on line, instead of shopping is something I will do again for those "wear once" occasions.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×