You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Carolina Chiffon Dress
Rental $40 Retail $298
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Be the talk of the party in this one shoulder Lilly Pulitzer black cocktail dress. A fun and unique style for a woman on the go. Pair with the AV Max's Gold Bangle Stack and kate spade new york accessories' Kate Chandelier Earrings.
Chat with a Stylist
Black silk chiffon. One shoulder neckline. Sheer sleeve with pleating details. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 33'' from shoulder to hem.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - dress is more of a shift style and therefore has room at hip
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos31

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Farrah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Apr 13, 2014
Unique!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Great LBD with a twist - loved the pattern on the long sleeve, and received lots of compliments all night long! Went to dinner and dancing with friends on a cool spring night, so it was comfortable. It decided to add a belt because it was a slightly baggy in the waist area even though the dress had shape there, but if I had styled it differently, I probably could have worn it without a belt also. The dress was short enough to be sexy, but not enough so that I would have felt uncomfortable. Would rent again!
rachel
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3324
Mar 20, 2014
Perfect dress!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for my sorority formal and I couldn't be happier with how it fit! I am only 5'1 and I get nervous that dresses will fall too long on me, but after reading tons of reviews for different dresses I chose this one and it was perfect and so flattering! The dress flowed perfectly and was just fitted enough in the waist and in the bust to show some shape. The length was perfect and the dress was so stylish with the one sleeve. I would definitely rent it again I loved loved loved it!
Diana
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5333
Mar 18, 2014
I felt great all night in this dress, and got lots of compliments on it! Would absolutely rent again
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress and wish I could keep it! I wore this for a formal dance at my school. I usually wear a size 6, so I ordered this and a size 4. The 4 fit but was pretty tight, so I went with the 6 and it fit perfectly. I'm 5'4", so it was not too short but not too long either.
Bry
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2443
Mar 3, 2014
Compliment galore!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Ordered this dress for my moms annual Christmas party. Fit comfortably but a little short on me. I have long legs so lots of things can look short easily. Since it was just walking around the house and socializing it wasn't an issue but if I'd been in heels it'd have been a little too short. The dress was comfortable and big hit otherwise!
Kitty
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3523
Jan 6, 2014
Great fit and length for a petite frame
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Completed my look with the Kendra Scott green stone bib necklace (also rented from RTR) and nude pumps, and got lots of compliments for the entire ensemble. I like the fit because the dress' cut shows off your body's curves without being too snug and fitted. It allows you to move around easily, and the length was just perfect for my petite frame.
amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4333
Nov 19, 2013
It was cute and comfortable, perfect to wear all night long
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was very true to size just a little bit shorter than i expected
Mallory
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8443
Nov 10, 2013
This was the perfect dress for my friend's bachelorette party!
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is amazing!! I loved the way it showed off my curves without being clingy around areas that I didn't want to accentuate. Perfect length and loved the one shoulder look!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5534
Oct 9, 2013
LOVED this hot dress!!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this as a back up, and wasn't sure about the sleeve or the material. But when i got it and tried it on my husband was like, you have to wear that one!! It is a bit short, which makes it really sexy, and what i loved was it wasn't skin tight, but still had a great shape to it, so gave you a waist, but wasn't uncomfortable at all. Loved. I have a larger chest, so sometimes dresses that drape dont work, but this had a great shape, and got tons of compliments all night!
Natalie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5344
Sep 26, 2013
Even in a room full of black dresses, this felt like a standout.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress. It fit really well through the bodice and wasn't too short. It is a nice slate that you can dress up or down with jewelry, shoes etc. I definitely would recommend this dress! I wore it to my sorority formal.
Sophia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 2424
Aug 4, 2013
This. Dress. Was. Awesome!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely LOVED this dress! So did a lot of other people...I got a ton of compliments on it! It fit perfectly, and was so comfortable....I was dancing in it all night!
Chelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 2321
Dec 10, 2012
very comfy and great little black dress
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
is a good length for someone who is on the short side!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6334
Apr 16, 2013
Perfect LBD for my senior fashion show!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this to my college's fashion show that my senior collection was in. It was very different than my collection and the black color helped everything else stand out. Also, the black Lilly Pulitzer was a choice made I specifically on account of her death (that woman was wonderful). The fit was looser up top than expected, but I tend to have the problem since I carry my weight in my hips and thighs. It was comfortable from the waist down and did not show my stomach. I am rather short, and when sitting I had to be careful - just a warning! It didn't bother me though. I would probably go far enough to buy this dress.
Terese
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7333
Apr 7, 2013
Greatest experience and best dress!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fits true to size, great dress, and I will rent again. The dress is not as short as it looks on the model.
Meg
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4333
Apr 5, 2013
perfect for my sorority dance
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a little larger than I was hoping - but with some fashion tape, it worked perfectly. It may have just been me ordering the wrong size at the time... but it ended up working out really well. I got so many compliments on this sassy dress and I definitely intend to order it again!
Emily Anne
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 4433
Feb 18, 2013
Sexy, Classy, and completely true to size!!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was absolutely amazing. I wish I owned it! It was so incredibly comfortable, lightweight, and completely sexy! It was a tad shorter than I expected, but not too short. I usually wear a size 4 in all dresses, so I took a risk and this dress was awesome. I got so many compliments on it! Love it!
KC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7533
Feb 15, 2013
In one of NYC's prime dining spots, the maitre d' stopped me to tell me how beautiful my dress was!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I was worried the dress would be small so I got two sizes, but I found this dress true to size. Just because of my shape, it was a little tight in the bust and loose in the waist (it didn't nip in the way it does on the model, but since I don't have her figure either, I won't complain!) but I was very pleased with it, and so was my husband!
Cara
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6233
Feb 6, 2013
A fun formal dress that fit the occasion (and my body) perfectly
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pros: good color, showed off the legs, fun to pair with jewelry, true to size, fit my weirdo body Cons: I wish it was a different material that maybe fit tighter around the waist I would recommend wearing spanx!
Az
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Dec 26, 2012
This dress was perfect!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was relaxed in the waist and the perfect length!
nikki
Usually wears: 10
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 139 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7623
Dec 12, 2012
THIS DRESS WAS A HIT!!!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was a true winner. I completely stepped out of my comfort zone with this. I will rent again in a few weeks!!
Grace
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4333
Dec 10, 2012
I felt totally comfortable dancing in this dress and it made my sorority's semiformal
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Love this dress! I thought it wouldn't be as fitted around the waist, but it is which is absolutely great. It fits perfectly when you get the right size.
Christiana
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5333
Nov 19, 2012
PERFECT! extremely flattering, comfortable, and sophisticated!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I had a size bigger than I normally wear and it still looked beautiful! I wore it for dinner and drinks on my birthday and recieved TONS of compliments. I would no doubt rent this dress again, and would even go as far as to purchase it.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 6331
Aug 13, 2012
Favorite
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Such a classic
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Oct 12, 2012
A night with fabulous women in a fabulous dress.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my sorority's centennial celebration. It was very flattering and fashionable while also being appropriate for an event with women from 18 to 80. Pros: Comfortable, skims over the body, fits well without fashion tape (no wardrobe malfunctions here). Cons: Because it is not as fitted as some dresses, it can look baggy from certain angles. I ordered a 2 and a 4. The 4 was too big and the 2 fit well enough. I do wish I had erred on the smaller side and ordered the 0 and 2. Overall this is a great dress that received lots of compliments from all ages. I felt sophisticated and sexy all at once.
Tina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 7434
Oct 2, 2012
Definitely something different for a great night! Lots of compliments!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was very comfortable and the 10 was a little loose. I should note that the dress is VERY short -- I thought it was just because the model wearing the dress on the site is so tall, but I am 5'5" and it was very short! Great for our formal for a long night with lots of dancing! I got lots of compliments on the dress.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3444
Aug 12, 2012
Perfect LBD for Christmas Eve
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Love the one shoulder - it gives the dress some edge. Fits a little tight through the hips.
CW
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Jan 5, 2012
Perfect for nye!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress on New Year's Eve and it was fun and perfect! It is so light and fun to wear. The dress is a little on the short side, but still long enough to be comfortable. I loved that it was cute but still classy with the one long, sheer, sleeve. My rental experience was great and I will definitely be back!
Becky
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4524
Dec 20, 2011
This was a great dress for my best friend's rehearsal dinner!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress runs a little big. I should have ordered the size 2 but it worked for the night.
Donna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4523
Nov 30, 2011
Being able to wear a designer dress that I otherwise wouldn't have been able to afford to purchase.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had a size 2 and a size 4 sent. I am between those sizes, so depending on the item I just never know. It is always nice when the smaller size fits! I usually have trouble with the length of dresses too being too long (even petite sizes, this dress was perfect for me falling just above the knee. Soooo many compliments on the dress too! It was very comfortable with minimal adjusting even when dancing. I'm very happy with the whole RTR experience, recommended RTR and will definetely be a return customer!
Blake
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5342
Apr 9, 2014
This dress was perfect for a college formal event! Paired with pumps and a statement necklace.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress ran a little short for me (I'm 5'10") but with black sheer tights it was fine! I loved the simplicity which allowed me to spice up the look with jewelry and brighter shoes. A classic lbd for any occasion!
Heidi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8523
Apr 7, 2014
Beautiful dress and extremely comfortable.
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to an evening rehearsal dinner. The dress fit beautifully. It fits like a sheath, but somehow still has shape - showing off the curves of your body. The fabric has little to no stretch, but was still very comfortable. I'm on the petite side and the sleeves/shoulders fit perfectly. I'm fairly short as well so the length was not an issue for me, but I can see how it would be short in general on other people. Overall, this dress was stunning and I wish I owned it!
Raina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 185 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8433
Apr 2, 2014
Never actually got the dress
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was a while ago, and I'm just now reviewing. I never actually received the dress in the mail (we think it was the delivery company's fault), but as always, RTR was really great in giving me credit that I could use towards a future occasion.
TM
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6531
Mar 18, 2014
Beautiful, perfect.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved it.
Bailey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7344
Mar 10, 2014
I received many compliments on the dress.
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was much shorter than previous Lilly Pulitzer dresses I've worn.
Carolyn
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3523
Feb 4, 2014
Very chic dress, although I went with the backup dress that I ordered.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The hem wasn't pressed completely, so the top chiffon layer was crooked. It's also VERY short (I'm 5'3). I tried it on with heels and it was a way too short for the wedding that I was going to. I think it would be great for something more casual, like a night out with the girls or a date night.
Meghan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Jan 29, 2014
LOVED this dress! Classic, comfortabl, and fun!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding in NYC. While walking to the ceremony, we were stopped on the street by a random woman who told us how great we looked and that she loved my dress. I think that says it all! I adored this dress and would totally rent it again!
A
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6444
Jan 1, 2014
Nice dress but not for me
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this for NYE '13 and was so excited to get it but when I tried it on, it was nothing like the picture. The cut of the dress is definitely a shift dress (straight and loose through the middle) and not taken in at the middle like it looks on the model. I rented a 12 and it was way too loose in the bust and shoulder. I tried to make it work with a belt and fashion but to no avail. I have an hourglass shape and while I loved the look of the dress, it gave me no shape.
Greta
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5333
Dec 27, 2013
Loved the fit! Very flattering and slimming.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress runs quite short, I could have worn a 6 or an 8, but chose the 6 for a more snug fit due to the occasion - very bust and waist were in perfect proportion.
leigh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4431
Dec 8, 2013
Runs small!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Great twist on a little black dress but runs really small so would suggest sizing up!
jackie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Canonical User Type: 5534
Sep 25, 2013
Cute and comfortable
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was easy to move in- probably could have sized down, but the extra room made it all the more comfy. Got a lot of compliments on the asymmetrical silhouette. Great dress.
Jami
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 4433
Jun 24, 2013
Loved the dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fits great-true to size. Normally wear a 4 but also got a 6 just in case- fit was similar in both but for a cocktail event out on the town opted for the 6 for comfort and it was a little bit longer. Flattering dress and its very comfortable too. Got lots of compliments.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress