Lilly Pulitzer

Carolina Chiffon Dress

$38 to buy
$298 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Be the talk of the party in this one shoulder Lilly Pulitzer black cocktail dress. A fun and unique style for a woman on the go. Pair with the AV Max's Gold Bangle Stack.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - dress is more of a shift style and therefore has room at hip
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black silk chiffon. One shoulder neckline. Sheer sleeve with pleating details. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
91 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(68)
Small
(9)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
December 26, 2012
This dress was perfect!

Fit was relaxed in the waist and the perfect length!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
December 27, 2012
Fun dress!

This was great for a night of partying in Vegas. It's size 12 that is closer to a 10 than 14.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 3, 2013
Great for New Year's or cocktail party.

Very flattering, yet comfortable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
January 16, 2013
Adorable, but too short to possibly wear!

This dress was exactly what I wanted, except too many inches shorter than I could bear to wear. The sleeve was also a fairly awkward length. I suppose I could attribute all of this to my height, but I can't imagine the length being acceptable on anyone, especially with the flow of the dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 21, 2013
It was amazing! I wore it for the Nutcracker and it made me look so good!

I don't know if it's just because my torso is longer, but the dress was a little short. I felt like it barely covered my butt.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
January 29, 2013
Such an easy process. Dress was gorgeous.

I usually wear either a 2 or a 4 depending on the dress. With this dress I wore the 4 because, although the 2 fit very well throughout the body, it was too short for the occasion. The dress is amazing, extremely flattering and comfortable. Not once was I worried about keeping myself covered modestly, everything stayed where it was supposed to. This is an amazing dress and I'm considering purchasing it because I loved it that much!

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
February 4, 2013
perfect

perfect fit

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 6, 2013
A fun formal dress that fit the occasion (and my body) perfectly

Pros: good color, showed off the legs, fun to pair with jewelry, true to size, fit my weirdo body Cons: I wish it was a different material that maybe fit tighter around the waist I would recommend wearing spanx!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
February 13, 2013
Adorable, simple but fun

I wore this dress for my birthday. I ordered a size 2 and 4, ended up wearing the 2 which was more flattering. I wore the dress with black tights and mary janes.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 15, 2013
In one of NYC's prime dining spots, the maitre d' stopped me to tell me how beautiful my dress was!

I was worried the dress would be small so I got two sizes, but I found this dress true to size. Just because of my shape, it was a little tight in the bust and loose in the waist (it didn't nip in the way it does on the model, but since I don't have her figure either, I won't complain!) but I was very pleased with it, and so was my husband!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
March 25, 2013
the dress fit great and looked great. Perfect for a bachelorette party.

The dress was very short, especially since I'm 5'9". I wore it with tights though, so I felt more comfortable. The sleeve was short too, but I was wearing bracelets, so it actually helped show them off.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 5, 2013
perfect for my sorority dance

It was a little larger than I was hoping - but with some fashion tape, it worked perfectly. It may have just been me ordering the wrong size at the time... but it ended up working out really well. I got so many compliments on this sassy dress and I definitely intend to order it again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 7, 2013
Greatest experience and best dress!

Fits true to size, great dress, and I will rent again. The dress is not as short as it looks on the model.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 16, 2013
Perfect LBD for my senior fashion show!

I wore this to my college's fashion show that my senior collection was in. It was very different than my collection and the black color helped everything else stand out. Also, the black Lilly Pulitzer was a choice made I specifically on account of her death (that woman was wonderful). The fit was looser up top than expected, but I tend to have the problem since I carry my weight in my hips and thighs. It was comfortable from the waist down and did not show my stomach. I am rather short, and when sitting I had to be careful - just a warning! It didn't bother me though. I would probably go far enough to buy this dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
May 18, 2013
My fiance thought I looked great!

The dress fit great, but was a tad short. I a 5'7" and I had to be careful if I bent over. Overall, it was a cute dress for a company holiday party!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
June 24, 2013
Loved the dress!

The dress fits great-true to size. Normally wear a 4 but also got a 6 just in case- fit was similar in both but for a cocktail event out on the town opted for the 6 for comfort and it was a little bit longer. Flattering dress and its very comfortable too. Got lots of compliments.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
September 25, 2013
Cute and comfortable

This dress was easy to move in- probably could have sized down, but the extra room made it all the more comfy. Got a lot of compliments on the asymmetrical silhouette. Great dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
September 26, 2013
Even in a room full of black dresses, this felt like a standout.

Loved this dress. It fit really well through the bodice and wasn't too short. It is a nice slate that you can dress up or down with jewelry, shoes etc. I definitely would recommend this dress! I wore it to my sorority formal.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 9, 2013
LOVED this hot dress!!

I rented this as a back up, and wasn't sure about the sleeve or the material. But when i got it and tried it on my husband was like, you have to wear that one!! It is a bit short, which makes it really sexy, and what i loved was it wasn't skin tight, but still had a great shape to it, so gave you a waist, but wasn't uncomfortable at all. Loved. I have a larger chest, so sometimes dresses that drape dont work, but this had a great shape, and got tons of compliments all night!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
November 10, 2013
This was the perfect dress for my friend's bachelorette party!

This dress is amazing!! I loved the way it showed off my curves without being clingy around areas that I didn't want to accentuate. Perfect length and loved the one shoulder look!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 19, 2013
It was cute and comfortable, perfect to wear all night long

It was very true to size just a little bit shorter than i expected

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
December 27, 2013
Loved the fit! Very flattering and slimming.

Dress runs quite short, I could have worn a 6 or an 8, but chose the 6 for a more snug fit due to the occasion - very bust and waist were in perfect proportion.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 6, 2014
Great fit and length for a petite frame

Completed my look with the Kendra Scott green stone bib necklace (also rented from RTR) and nude pumps, and got lots of compliments for the entire ensemble. I like the fit because the dress' cut shows off your body's curves without being too snug and fitted. It allows you to move around easily, and the length was just perfect for my petite frame.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
January 29, 2014
LOVED this dress! Classic, comfortabl, and fun!

I wore this dress to a wedding in NYC. While walking to the ceremony, we were stopped on the street by a random woman who told us how great we looked and that she loved my dress. I think that says it all! I adored this dress and would totally rent it again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 4, 2014
Very chic dress, although I went with the backup dress that I ordered.

The hem wasn't pressed completely, so the top chiffon layer was crooked. It's also VERY short (I'm 5'3). I tried it on with heels and it was a way too short for the wedding that I was going to. I think it would be great for something more casual, like a night out with the girls or a date night.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
March 3, 2014
Compliment galore!

Ordered this dress for my moms annual Christmas party. Fit comfortably but a little short on me. I have long legs so lots of things can look short easily. Since it was just walking around the house and socializing it wasn't an issue but if I'd been in heels it'd have been a little too short. The dress was comfortable and big hit otherwise!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 18, 2014
I felt great all night in this dress, and got lots of compliments on it! Would absolutely rent again

Loved this dress and wish I could keep it! I wore this for a formal dance at my school. I usually wear a size 6, so I ordered this and a size 4. The 4 fit but was pretty tight, so I went with the 6 and it fit perfectly. I'm 5'4", so it was not too short but not too long either.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 220lbs
April 2, 2014
Never actually got the dress

This was a while ago, and I'm just now reviewing. I never actually received the dress in the mail (we think it was the delivery company's fault), but as always, RTR was really great in giving me credit that I could use towards a future occasion.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 7, 2014
Beautiful dress and extremely comfortable.

I wore this to an evening rehearsal dinner. The dress fit beautifully. It fits like a sheath, but somehow still has shape - showing off the curves of your body. The fabric has little to no stretch, but was still very comfortable. I'm on the petite side and the sleeves/shoulders fit perfectly. I'm fairly short as well so the length was not an issue for me, but I can see how it would be short in general on other people. Overall, this dress was stunning and I wish I owned it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 20, 2014
Fun Dress!

This fit great and was actually easy to wear. It is comfortable and fun!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 22, 2014
Loved this dress!

I am in love with this dress and wish I could buy it! I paired this with a bright turquoise statement necklace I already had and the dress went with it perfectly. I was worried that the one shoulder ending with the elastic around the wrist would look really strange, but it actually worked well. I do warn that this dress was rather short, even on me.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 2, 2014
Love this dress!

Fit great! Loved that it was shorter length but not too tight. Still had some figure to it though to show off a girlish figure.. not boxy. Nice material too! Got a ton of compliments on it!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
October 5, 2014
I felt very elegant while still looking young and fun.

This dress fit like a glove. I wore it to a rehearsal dinner. It was comfortable and not too short. Plenty of room around the waist. I did add a belt which gave me that hour glass shape. I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 24, 2014
I ordered a size too big and was sent the size 6 immediately.

Great fit! I really loved the dress. It showed off an hour glass figure. Can not say enough about this dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
October 28, 2014
Comfortable dress. Easy to wear. A lot of compliments

Fit true to size. Wore strapless bra with it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
November 10, 2014
I wish I owned it!

I absolutely loved this dress. It was a bit tailored around the waist so although it was still roomy like a shift dress it wasn't overly boxy. I had plenty of room in the 2 and could likely have sized down but it was definitely on the short side. It worked for me since I am just under 5'3" but would probably had to pair it with tights had I gone with a smaller size. Really fun dress! I paired it with CARA ACCESSORIES Dress Me Up Bracelet and the WHITING & DAVIS Silver Lattice Clutch, and highly suggest those as well.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
December 8, 2014
Perfect for Holiday Cocktail Party!

I saw from the reviews that this dress may run a little big, but I ended up wearing my normal size 6. Overall it fit pretty well (maybe a little big in the mid section) but I could not have worn a smaller size due to the length. I am 5'5 and it was on the short side, but it worked fine for me -I just wore sheer black tights with it to make me feel more comfortable when sitting down. I really liked this dress! It was simple yet stylish and I received compliments all night! I also rented Kate Spade champagne earrings from RTR to go with it. Would reccommend renting, just be cautious with the length if you are tall!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
December 17, 2014
Holiday Cocktail Party

This dress was much shorter than I anticipated. I rented a 2 and 4 and ended up wearing the 2 due to the fit through the bust and waist. I had to pair with tights due to length. I have a long torso and short legs so length is not often an issue for me. Overall I loved the dress and received tons of compliments on it!

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
December 21, 2014
Loved the dress! classy, sexy, chic all at the same time.

a little shorter than I thought it was going to be on me (I'm 5 foot 3) but the material and cut is so classy, you can get away with it being a mini. Received many compliments. gave me an illusion of a waist with the sheath style. I am usually a size 2 in street clothing, can go 2 or 0 in dressy dresses depending on cut. 0 looked better on me, 2 was too big with this dress. Would like to purchase if I can find it, loved it so much! wore to a black tie Christmas party.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 15, 2015
Other than the short length, this dress is beautiful and perfect!

I wore this dress on New Years Eve in Las Vegas and it was perfect! It fit well- form fitting but not too tight and easy to move in and dance. The only drawback is that it is every bit as short as it appears on the model, so if you are tall like me, you may want to consider ordering a size larger. I was worried that just a black dress would be too plain for a New Years party in Vegas, but I received so many compliments and am really happy with my choice.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×