Lilly Pulitzer

Carolina Chiffon Dress

$40 rental
$298 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Be the talk of the party in this one shoulder Lilly Pulitzer black cocktail dress. A fun and unique style for a woman on the go. Pair with the AV Max's Gold Bangle Stack and kate spade new york accessories' Kate Chandelier Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - dress is more of a shift style and therefore has room at hip
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - dress is more of a shift style and therefore has room at hip
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black silk chiffon. One shoulder neckline. Sheer sleeve with pleating details. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

88 reviews

Fit
Small 9
True to Size 67
Large 10
Photos 41
Jacqui
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 6, 2012

Great Dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is amazing. I felt so sexy and beautiful in it. It fits perfectly and is exceptionally well made.
mkp
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 23, 2012

This dress is awesome! Classic, slimming fit.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this dress to my birthday dinner, but feared it might be too dressy. I dressed it down with a black leather jacket with army green sleeves. It's a great dress because it still looks cute dressed down, but can also be very classy. The clean lines are extremely flattering, especially around the mid-section. The length is cute and flirty (I'm 5'4"), but might be too short for a formal event. The only reason why I gave it four stars is because the sleeve can be perceived as silty retro, but I still loved it. Highly recommended!
megan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 7, 2012

Amazzinnngg <3

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
A little tight on hips, but hot!
Kate
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Oct 14, 2012

I wish I could have worn this because I love Lilly!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Sadly, the dress was way too short so I ended up returning it. I still love rent the runway!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 13, 2012

Cocktail party

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
LOVED this dress. Without tights it would have been a little short (I have a long torso) but with tights it was perfect.
M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 9, 2012

The dress is not as flattering in photos as in person.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is awesome, but the pictures do not do it justice. Unfortunately RTR, did not press it properly and I was stuck with the lining sticking out all night long. Other than that, it's a fabulous dress.
KK
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 11, 2012

Great for Semi- Formal!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my sorority's semi and it was great! It fit a little bit wider- especially in the hips- than I expected. Overall it was great, stunning with a pair of super tall nude heels!
GeauxGirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146 lbs
Dec 27, 2012

Fun dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This was great for a night of partying in Vegas. It's size 12 that is closer to a 10 than 14.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Was the perfect dress for New Years!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was perfect for New Years Eve! It fit perfectly, I never had to worry about it being too loose at the top. It is a bit short when you sit down but I wore it with tights and never had to worry the whole evening. This was my first experience with RTR and it was awesome. Thank you!
Lori
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 3, 2013

Great for New Year's or cocktail party.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very flattering, yet comfortable.
Mary Allen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 9, 2013

NYE 2013

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Awesome dress, looked so cute with gold accessories at a new years party. It is cut straight up-and-down so if you have hips you might want to go up one size. I usually wear a 2 and the 4 was much more comfortable
Kayla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180 lbs
Jan 16, 2013

Adorable, but too short to possibly wear!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was exactly what I wanted, except too many inches shorter than I could bear to wear. The sleeve was also a fairly awkward length. I suppose I could attribute all of this to my height, but I can't imagine the length being acceptable on anyone, especially with the flow of the dress.
Crystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 21, 2013

It was amazing! I wore it for the Nutcracker and it made me look so good!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I don't know if it's just because my torso is longer, but the dress was a little short. I felt like it barely covered my butt.
Madeleine
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
Jan 29, 2013

Such an easy process. Dress was gorgeous.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear either a 2 or a 4 depending on the dress. With this dress I wore the 4 because, although the 2 fit very well throughout the body, it was too short for the occasion. The dress is amazing, extremely flattering and comfortable. Not once was I worried about keeping myself covered modestly, everything stayed where it was supposed to. This is an amazing dress and I'm considering purchasing it because I loved it that much!
Kimberly
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168 lbs
Feb 4, 2013

perfect

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
perfect fit
Olivia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 5, 2013

This dress is great for any occasion! Classy, but still different...I'd definitely recommend it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually have a hard time finding dresses that are small enough in the waist and large enough in the hips, but this dress fits like a glove. It just skims over your waist and hips to show off your figure while still being classy and comfy. The detail sleeve is an interesting twist on the classic LBD, so it definitely stands out. The only issue might be that it is kinda short, so no bending over, but other than that, it's a great dress that runs true to size and is great for a wide variety of occasions!
CMB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Feb 13, 2013

Adorable, simple but fun

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my birthday. I ordered a size 2 and 4, ended up wearing the 2 which was more flattering. I wore the dress with black tights and mary janes.
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170 lbs
Mar 25, 2013

the dress fit great and looked great. Perfect for a bachelorette party.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was very short, especially since I'm 5'9". I wore it with tights though, so I felt more comfortable. The sleeve was short too, but I was wearing bracelets, so it actually helped show them off.
Kasey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 1, 2013

Loved the one shoulder

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was cute! But was too large in the bust and wouldn't stay up. So I didn't get to wear this dress. But I rented it as my back up dress, so I had something to wear!
Katrina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 18, 2013

this was a great lbd for a winter semi formal event

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
a great statement necklace or statement earrings give this dress that extra pop
Alyce
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
May 17, 2013

Fabulous Party LBD

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was incredibly feminine, lightweight, easy to dance in, and all around gorgeous! I felt so sophisticated and comfortable, especially since the 10 (my usual size) was plenty roomy, maybe even too big. The one sleeved definitely made it more glamorous than your typical black strapless minidress. I would totally rent this again and recommend it to anyone.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
May 18, 2013

My fiance thought I looked great!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit great, but was a tad short. I a 5'7" and I had to be careful if I bent over. Overall, it was a cute dress for a company holiday party!
Jami
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Jun 24, 2013

Loved the dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fits great-true to size. Normally wear a 4 but also got a 6 just in case- fit was similar in both but for a cocktail event out on the town opted for the 6 for comfort and it was a little bit longer. Flattering dress and its very comfortable too. Got lots of compliments.
jackie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Sep 25, 2013

Cute and comfortable

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was easy to move in- probably could have sized down, but the extra room made it all the more comfy. Got a lot of compliments on the asymmetrical silhouette. Great dress.
leigh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 8, 2013

Runs small!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Great twist on a little black dress but runs really small so would suggest sizing up!
Greta
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 27, 2013

Loved the fit! Very flattering and slimming.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress runs quite short, I could have worn a 6 or an 8, but chose the 6 for a more snug fit due to the occasion - very bust and waist were in perfect proportion.
A
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 1, 2014

Nice dress but not for me

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this for NYE '13 and was so excited to get it but when I tried it on, it was nothing like the picture. The cut of the dress is definitely a shift dress (straight and loose through the middle) and not taken in at the middle like it looks on the model. I rented a 12 and it was way too loose in the bust and shoulder. I tried to make it work with a belt and fashion but to no avail. I have an hourglass shape and while I loved the look of the dress, it gave me no shape.
Meghan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 29, 2014

LOVED this dress! Classic, comfortabl, and fun!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding in NYC. While walking to the ceremony, we were stopped on the street by a random woman who told us how great we looked and that she loved my dress. I think that says it all! I adored this dress and would totally rent it again!
Carolyn
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 4, 2014

Very chic dress, although I went with the backup dress that I ordered.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The hem wasn't pressed completely, so the top chiffon layer was crooked. It's also VERY short (I'm 5'3). I tried it on with heels and it was a way too short for the wedding that I was going to. I think it would be great for something more casual, like a night out with the girls or a date night.
Bailey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Mar 10, 2014

I received many compliments on the dress.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was much shorter than previous Lilly Pulitzer dresses I've worn.
TM
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 18, 2014

Beautiful, perfect.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved it.
Raina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 185 lbs
Apr 2, 2014

Never actually got the dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was a while ago, and I'm just now reviewing. I never actually received the dress in the mail (we think it was the delivery company's fault), but as always, RTR was really great in giving me credit that I could use towards a future occasion.
Heidi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 7, 2014

Beautiful dress and extremely comfortable.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to an evening rehearsal dinner. The dress fit beautifully. It fits like a sheath, but somehow still has shape - showing off the curves of your body. The fabric has little to no stretch, but was still very comfortable. I'm on the petite side and the sleeves/shoulders fit perfectly. I'm fairly short as well so the length was not an issue for me, but I can see how it would be short in general on other people. Overall, this dress was stunning and I wish I owned it!
Blake
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 9, 2014

This dress was perfect for a college formal event! Paired with pumps and a statement necklace.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress ran a little short for me (I'm 5'10") but with black sheer tights it was fine! I loved the simplicity which allowed me to spice up the look with jewelry and brighter shoes. A classic lbd for any occasion!
Tanvee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
May 2, 2014

Incredible dress! feels great and fits perfectly as well. Super comfy!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved the dress! No cons
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
May 20, 2014

Fun Dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This fit great and was actually easy to wear. It is comfortable and fun!
Chloe
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
May 21, 2014

Was Not able to wear.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It was very thin material and very short. Did NOT wear it.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
May 22, 2014

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am in love with this dress and wish I could buy it! I paired this with a bright turquoise statement necklace I already had and the dress went with it perfectly. I was worried that the one shoulder ending with the elastic around the wrist would look really strange, but it actually worked well. I do warn that this dress was rather short, even on me.
ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

:(

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The size I got was too big... looked like a bag on me. No shape or definition.
Sely
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 5, 2014

I felt very elegant while still looking young and fun.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit like a glove. I wore it to a rehearsal dinner. It was comfortable and not too short. Plenty of room around the waist. I did add a belt which gave me that hour glass shape. I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×