You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Carolina Chiffon Dress
Rental $40 Retail $298
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Be the talk of the party in this one shoulder Lilly Pulitzer black cocktail dress. A fun and unique style for a woman on the go. Pair with the AV Max's Gold Bangle Stack and kate spade new york accessories' Kate Chandelier Earrings.
Chat with a Stylist
Black silk chiffon. One shoulder neckline. Sheer sleeve with pleating details. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 33'' from shoulder to hem.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - dress is more of a shift style and therefore has room at hip
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos31

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Megan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
May 18, 2013
My fiance thought I looked great!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit great, but was a tad short. I a 5'7" and I had to be careful if I bent over. Overall, it was a cute dress for a company holiday party!
Alyce
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7334
May 17, 2013
Fabulous Party LBD
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was incredibly feminine, lightweight, easy to dance in, and all around gorgeous! I felt so sophisticated and comfortable, especially since the 10 (my usual size) was plenty roomy, maybe even too big. The one sleeved definitely made it more glamorous than your typical black strapless minidress. I would totally rent this again and recommend it to anyone.
Katrina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4442
Apr 18, 2013
this was a great lbd for a winter semi formal event
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
a great statement necklace or statement earrings give this dress that extra pop
Kasey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4233
Apr 1, 2013
Loved the one shoulder
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was cute! But was too large in the bust and wouldn't stay up. So I didn't get to wear this dress. But I rented it as my back up dress, so I had something to wear!
Julia
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7443
Mar 25, 2013
the dress fit great and looked great. Perfect for a bachelorette party.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was very short, especially since I'm 5'9". I wore it with tights though, so I felt more comfortable. The sleeve was short too, but I was wearing bracelets, so it actually helped show them off.
CMB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3424
Feb 13, 2013
Adorable, simple but fun
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my birthday. I ordered a size 2 and 4, ended up wearing the 2 which was more flattering. I wore the dress with black tights and mary janes.
Olivia
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5334
Feb 5, 2013
This dress is great for any occasion! Classy, but still different...I'd definitely recommend it!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually have a hard time finding dresses that are small enough in the waist and large enough in the hips, but this dress fits like a glove. It just skims over your waist and hips to show off your figure while still being classy and comfy. The detail sleeve is an interesting twist on the classic LBD, so it definitely stands out. The only issue might be that it is kinda short, so no bending over, but other than that, it's a great dress that runs true to size and is great for a wide variety of occasions!
Kimberly
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8421
Feb 4, 2013
perfect
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
perfect fit
Madeleine
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3333
Jan 29, 2013
Such an easy process. Dress was gorgeous.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear either a 2 or a 4 depending on the dress. With this dress I wore the 4 because, although the 2 fit very well throughout the body, it was too short for the occasion. The dress is amazing, extremely flattering and comfortable. Not once was I worried about keeping myself covered modestly, everything stayed where it was supposed to. This is an amazing dress and I'm considering purchasing it because I loved it that much!
Crystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5343
Jan 21, 2013
It was amazing! I wore it for the Nutcracker and it made me look so good!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I don't know if it's just because my torso is longer, but the dress was a little short. I felt like it barely covered my butt.
Kayla
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7343
Jan 16, 2013
Adorable, but too short to possibly wear!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was exactly what I wanted, except too many inches shorter than I could bear to wear. The sleeve was also a fairly awkward length. I suppose I could attribute all of this to my height, but I can't imagine the length being acceptable on anyone, especially with the flow of the dress.
Mary Allen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3324
Jan 9, 2013
NYE 2013
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Awesome dress, looked so cute with gold accessories at a new years party. It is cut straight up-and-down so if you have hips you might want to go up one size. I usually wear a 2 and the 4 was much more comfortable
Lori
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5623
Jan 3, 2013
Great for New Year's or cocktail party.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very flattering, yet comfortable.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7424
Jan 2, 2013
Was the perfect dress for New Years!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was perfect for New Years Eve! It fit perfectly, I never had to worry about it being too loose at the top. It is a bit short when you sit down but I wore it with tights and never had to worry the whole evening. This was my first experience with RTR and it was awesome. Thank you!
GeauxGirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7524
Dec 27, 2012
Fun dress!
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This was great for a night of partying in Vegas. It's size 12 that is closer to a 10 than 14.
KK
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4333
Dec 11, 2012
Great for Semi- Formal!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my sorority's semi and it was great! It fit a little bit wider- especially in the hips- than I expected. Overall it was great, stunning with a pair of super tall nude heels!
M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4424
Dec 9, 2012
The dress is not as flattering in photos as in person.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is awesome, but the pictures do not do it justice. Unfortunately RTR, did not press it properly and I was stuck with the lining sticking out all night long. Other than that, it's a fabulous dress.
Katie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6443
Nov 13, 2012
Cocktail party
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
LOVED this dress. Without tights it would have been a little short (I have a long torso) but with tights it was perfect.
Kate
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Oct 14, 2012
I wish I could have worn this because I love Lilly!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Sadly, the dress was way too short so I ended up returning it. I still love rent the runway!
megan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3333
Oct 7, 2012
Amazzinnngg <3
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
A little tight on hips, but hot!
mkp
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6431
Sep 23, 2012
This dress is awesome! Classic, slimming fit.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this dress to my birthday dinner, but feared it might be too dressy. I dressed it down with a black leather jacket with army green sleeves. It's a great dress because it still looks cute dressed down, but can also be very classy. The clean lines are extremely flattering, especially around the mid-section. The length is cute and flirty (I'm 5'4"), but might be too short for a formal event. The only reason why I gave it four stars is because the sleeve can be perceived as silty retro, but I still loved it. Highly recommended!
Jacqui
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3624
Sep 6, 2012
Great Dress
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is amazing. I felt so sexy and beautiful in it. It fits perfectly and is exceptionally well made.
Katie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3231
Aug 30, 2012
Loved this dress!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I didn't experience any problems with this dress! I wore it to homecoming and danced the whole night long!
Emily
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4331
Jan 2, 2012
Holly Ball Dress
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. It was perfect for my event! It was the ideal classic little black dress! Beware if you are tall and skinny... I ordered the 2 and 4. I am usually a 4 but I had at least 3 inches of extra fabric at the waist. The two fit perfectly but it was super short. I ended up wearing the 4 but it still looked great and I loved it! Rent The Runway is genius, this was my first time renting and I know I will be back! Thanks so much!
Desiree
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8523
Dec 20, 2011
I LOVE This Dress!
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this dress to a party this past Friday...and it looked FANTASTIC!!! It fit great and I felt REALLY glamorous in it!
Rebecca
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4534
Dec 7, 2011
Loved it
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It was a little big. I had tried it on in the store and was firmly a size 4 so knew to rent a size 4 from RTR. But their sizing seemed a little off garment to garment. So it was a little big. If I rented again my extra size would be a 2 vs a size larger. But I looked so skinny in all the pictures... so who cares. Great dress (very short though, so be aware... I am 5'7 and had to be careful sitting down, etc).
KC
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3442
Nov 23, 2011
Cute but short!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm typically a size 2 and ordered a 0 and 2 from RTR. The dresses both fit well, but they were really short on me. I'm 5'8''. And because the dress fabric is thin and the bottom inch is totally sheer, it just didn't look right on me. It's very pretty, but probably better for someone who's shorter!
Jamie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 3421
Nov 17, 2011
Strange fit
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a wedding.. it was pretty but the fit was strange. I usually wear a 2 and the 2 was large in the waist and hips.. I couldn't go down a size to the 0 because it was too tight in the chest and arm. If you have an athletic shape (broad shoulders and narrow waist) I would not recommend. I was also worried it was too short and I am only five feet tall.
MrsD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 3623
Nov 12, 2011
disappointed Lilly !
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I am a fan of Lilly Pulitzer & have more than a dozen dresses in my closet. I was thrilled to see RTR now offers Lilly dresses. This particular dress was a major disappointment. Quality not up to par w/ other Lilly styles. Dress had no shape/style. Would not recommend this dress. Glad I rented it as my back-up style.
sam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3434
Nov 8, 2011
Overall fit: Small
I was very disappointed with this dress. I typically wear a size 2 in Lilly Pulitzer, with a little room to spare. I ordered the 2 expecting it to fit and it was very fitted, not flowy as it comes across in the picture. Unfortunately, i ordered a 0 as my back up size. I would definitely get a size up as your back up. Sadly, I didn't get to try it on until late in the evening that it arrived, so i doubt i'll be getting a credit.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress