Black Jeanette Dress

$63 to buy
$298 retail
Stylist Notes

Look comfy chic in this Lilly Pulitzer black lace sheath. A great style for any bridal shower, girl's luncheon, or casual date night out.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace mesh. Bateau neckline. Scoop back. Cap sleeves. Back exposed zip. 32'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
288 reviews
Fit
Large
(56)
True to Size
(203)
Small
(21)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
August 26, 2012
Paris wedding
Wore this for a Paris wedding. Usually wear a 4, but the 2 fit perfectly. Great, classy dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 28, 2012
Awesome and easy dress
So glad I rented this at the last minute. dressed it up easily with jewelry and heels. fits true to size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 31, 2012
Cute and Classy
I normally wear between and 2 and 4 but I wore a 0 in this dress. The 0 fit very well but it was a little shorter than I expected especially with heels on
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 4, 2012
Cute
This was a cute dress, but fit weird on my hips, the 6 was WAY to tight on my hips, the 10 fit well. This was really pretty and I still got a ton of compliments but it wasnt my favorite rental
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
September 4, 2012
Adorable
I rented this dress for an engagement party that I was hosting and absolutely loved it. So adorable and received so many compliments. Really considered buying it after renting it. The dress does run big. I actually ordered sizes 10 and 12 and they were too loose. The RTR team was great and shipped out another dress the night I received the ill fitting dresses and received the size 8 the next day! So helpful. Totally recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 4, 2012
So Classy!
Loved the fit and the detail was so pretty. Flattering on any figure. I felt confident and comfortable all night. I wanted to keep it forever!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
December 3, 2011
beautiful dress!
Super cute, simple black dress. The lace was really pretty in person, and the zipper added a nice touch to the back. It was a tad bit short (especially while dancing), but not too revealing. This dress definitely runs big, I'd rent a size smaller for your back up size. Great dress!
AlexandraDecember 20, 2011
hi kelly, did you wear a size 4 or a 2? I know you said it runs big, so I was wondering what to do. Is it true to "Lilly" sizes? (If you've worn things from then before). Please let me know, I'd love to get this dress!
KellyJune 3, 2012
it's probably too late now but i wore the 2.
ShannonAugust 6, 2012
Hey Kelly- It's Shannon Killeen from NDA- question: I was thinking of renting this dress for a wedding in September at St. Dennis and then reception at Overbrook CC...it's not a black tie event but do you think this is dressy enough for a wedding? do you think it's appropriate? P.S. you looked greatttttt in it!!!!
RTRAugust 7, 2012
Hi Shannon, this style is a Black lace mesh so it's cocktail appropriate and can be dressed up with accessories and a great pair of heels!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
January 2, 2012
Really cute and hides trouble spots well. The 6 fit as well but was a bit on the small side. Nothing too fancy, but you can dress it up with accessories.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
January 3, 2012
Pretty black dress, wore it with black ankle booties and sheer black tights.
I'm 5'10 and this dress was my pick for NYE out for dinner and dancing. The dress was short, but not inappropriate for a night out. I am pretty busty (34DD) and the 6 was slightly loose. This dress would be perfect for hiding tummy trouble zones, but if you are thinner, don't expect the dress to be fitted around your middle. Pretty lace but does not really stand out in a see a black dresses.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 5, 2012
Birthday Dinner..not the best picture but give you an idea of how short it is and im only 5' 4"
I rented the dress last minute so size 0 was only available 2 would have fit better but luckily the dress runs a little big.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
September 9, 2012
Classy and cute
This was perfect for my 10 year high school reunion. Classy and pretty but didn't look like I was trying too hard. I am 5'2 and was afraid it would be too long, but it fit perfectly- about two inches above the knee.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
September 10, 2012
Graduation Star
I rented this dress for my college graduation and loved it! I chose this dress over the back-up. I usually wear around a size 3, and the size 2 was a perfect fit on me. Fitted, but in a flattering way! It hit a little lower on my thigh than it appears on the model, so I can imagine it would be pretty short on a taller girl. It was a little more snug than I would have liked across my chest, which is somewhere in between a B and C, but it's because the dress doesn't have a ton of stretch. My favorite detail is the sheer and lace overlay on the sleeves. However, the sheer part at the bottom of the skirt kept rising above the black underneath, so I kept pulling it down, until I finally gave up. Even then, it didn't take away from the dress. In a sea of black dresses, this dress made me stand out!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 16, 2012
Convenience, convenience, convenience. Had a wedding in DTW but don't live there. Dress was waiting.
Great fit. Small in the chest but worked well for me. Was unsure about the dress from the picture but the fit and simpleness of the dress was great. It was comfortable and had a scoop in the back Was the perfect length
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
September 19, 2012
Classic Little Black Dress
This dress was gorgeous and fit perfectly. My only complaint is that the lining on the dress was much longer than the lace overlay. I didn't have any fashion tape on me, so I had to tape the hem with bandaids. They did the trick, but were annoying and started coming off towards the middle of the night. If it weren't for this issue, I would have given 5 stars.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
September 20, 2012
Felt sexy and super comfortable. I wore it from the ceremony all the way into the night. Perfect!
This dress is true to size. It is not as short as it appears on the model. The zipper in the back adds nice detail.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
September 24, 2012
When I walked, the fabric in the front kept bunching up to look like a stomach pouch.
Great dress besides having to keep readjusting the fabric in the front
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 24, 2012
Boyfriend loved it! Said it was "sexy but sweet"
I usually wear a 4 - 6 but I could have fit into the 2 as well. It fit bust legs arms perfectly but was loose around the mid section. Still very classy and simple for the occasion!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
September 24, 2012
All of the compliments I got from my sorority sisters!
It was a little bit longer than I had imagined, and a bit more square in the fit. Otherwise it looked great and was very classy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
September 24, 2012
I liked the material and design.
I usually wear a six, but had to go up a size. The eight was still a little tight around my hips and shorter than in the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
September 25, 2012
Dress it up, dress it down
I got this to wear to an event where I wasn't sure how dressy it would be and this was perfect. WIth flats and muted accessories this dress can go daytime casual. Add heels and accessories and it dresses up for cocktails or parties. Love the back scoop, too - playful and cute. I could have worn the 4 or 6 but went with the 4 so I'd say order down for your backup size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 30, 2012
Perfect LBD
Fit perfectly! I wore this for sorority recruitment and couldn't be happier with the way this dress looked and fit. It is a little short, so be careful!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 1, 2012
Great anytime LBD!
This dress was perfect for the wedding I attended. I could have worn a 6, but the 8 was the only size available. I chose to wear it anyway, despite it being a little large in the stomach area. The dress can be dressed up or dressed down. I chose to dress it up with statement jewelry, and wore it with nude pumps. SO cute! I wanted to keep the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
October 8, 2012
Pretty, classy and comfortable--perfect date-night dress!
I ordered this dress for a special event I was attending with my boyfriend. It's simple and classy, but also sexy in a subtle way. I think what makes this dress so flattering is that it's cut a bit lower in the back, but higher in the front--it draws attention to your back instead of your chest, which is a nice change. Also, the fabric is thick and it's shaped well--anyone who has any insecurities about their chest or belly would feel very comfortable in this dress. I did find it a little large in the chest for me (32B) but it fit well elsewhere and it wasn't really noticeable unless I was slouched forward. I would consider buying this dress because it is versatile and comfortable.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 12, 2012
I wish I owned this dress!
This dress runs big. I could have worn a size 2. But I ordered a 6 and a 4. Ended up wearing the 4. Also a lot shorter than I anticipated. The back is pretty and I loved this dress so much I wish I could own it! I'd wear it time and time again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 12, 2012
such a cute dress :)
i loved everything about it :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
October 15, 2012
Fabulous Dress!
I love this dress because you can dress it up or down. I ended up wearing it to a rehearsal dinner on a Friday night as well as a baptism on Sunday morning, and got two totally different looks out of it. One word of caution: it is slightly shorter than I thought it would be.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 24, 2012
Classy and fun dress
I wore this dress to a college reunion. The cut is more flattering than I expected. The lace detail, particularly on the cap sleeves, adds interest beyond a boring LBD. And the low back and short length take the dress from casual into party/evening wear. I received lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 26, 2012
Loved it so much, I bought one too.
I actually liked this dress so much, I ended up buying it when I found it on sale on Amazon.com! The dip in the back is really sexy, but still allows you to wear a normal bra (hallelujah!!). It also works well for a range of events, from a shower to a date to a night on the town, though it is probably too casual for cocktail or semi-formal. The dress was very figure-flattering on my slim/hourglass frame, and would work well on a range of body types, though it might end up a little tent-like on someone with a full chest. I usually wear a 0-4, depending on how fitted a dress is through the hips. This is quite fitted through the hips, but runs a little big, so I wore my usual size 2, those with narrower hips may want to size down. Also, it was a bit long on me, just a few inches above my knees, and definitely not mid-thigh as on the model. I am planning to have the dress I own hemmed.
RachelJanuary 15, 2013
Hey Angie! Do you remember who the vendor was on Amazon (or what Lily named this dress style)? I have been looking everywhere for it and can't find it. Thanks!
AngieJanuary 17, 2013
Rachel -- the vendor was Amazon.com, so not much help there. The dress style is called "Jeanette" and I saw it available on RueLaLa today actually. If you look fast you might be able to grab it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 28, 2012
Couldn't have been happier!
This was the perfect LBD! The fit was great and I absolutely loved the lace and back zipper details. Definitely would recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 28, 2012
Cute Dress
The dress was really cute but slightly less formal than I expected. The material is a little more "cotton-y" than it appears in the picture so keep that in mind if you're renting for a more formal occasion. Its also very slim fitting/short I ordered a 2 and a 4 and wore the 4. I was unable to wear heels due to the length so tall girls watch out!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 1, 2012
Classic LBD
Great dress. Classy & classic LBD. Zipper and scoop back adds a little fun. Very soft lace, not scratchy on the arms at all.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
November 12, 2012
Pretty but professional
I rented this for a formal but professional party and it was perfect. Pretty but not sexy. I didn't want to send it back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 13, 2012
I wore this dress for a work event and it was perfect. Just enough sexy vs classy.
It fit perfectly and hid imperfections. I wore this only 6 months after having a baby and it made me look very slim.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
November 14, 2012
Perfect Party Dress!
I got this dress for me and my boyfriend's combined birthday dinner/party. This dress was SO flattering. It was slimming in all the right places and I felt comfortable and sexy in it the entire night! Note, I think what really added to it was the kate spade emerald green earrings I rented also!!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 17, 2012
The Perfect Dress
I loved this dress. I wore it to my high school reunion and got many complements! It was perfect for a classy look but not over or under dressed! With the right accessories it can be dressed up or down. I loved the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 17, 2012
Fun and flirty
This is a great dress! I wore this twice in one weekend to two completely different events and it was appropriate for both. It is comfortable, but not too loose and short, but not too short. Would love to own this as a go-to LBD for many types of occasions.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 18, 2012
Cute Dress
I liked this dress. It worked well for the event, but I probably would not buy it for my wardrobe.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 19, 2012
Amazing. Beautiful. Perfect for any event.
It is short. I am 5'8" and I had to watch my sitting and standing very carefully.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 21, 2012
Really cute dress, but wasnt fitted for my body.
I wanted it to be a bit more "sheath," but the dress was more of a curve hugger. Cute, but wasnt what I was going for. Probably wouldnt rent it again. (Small in the hips)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 24, 2012
Perfect LBD!
The dress was great. It ran big but it still looked nice. I would size down.
See more reviews:
1 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×