You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Black Jeanette Dress
Rental $40 Retail $298
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Look comfy chic in this Lilly Pulitzer black lace sheath. A great style for any bridal shower, girl's luncheon, or casual date night out. Go with a pop of color by renting the Gerard Yosca's Vintage Jade Crystal Studs and the Kate Spade's Emerald Anastasia Clutch.
Chat with a Stylist
Black lace mesh. Bateau neckline. Scoop back. Cap sleeves. Back exposed zip. 32'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos62

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Bri
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38D
Weight: 153 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8424
Mar 17, 2014
The dress made me feel slim!
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wanted to wear the 10, however it was a tad tight and we were going out for my birthday! Had I dropped a pound before I wore it I would have worn the 10. This was my favorite dress so far!
Julie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4333
Dec 18, 2013
Great dress for a professional holiday party!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a company Christmas party with red suede heels, a red bib necklace and opaque tights. It has a great slim fit and classic shape that can be easily dressed up or down. I would advise that the dress was a little shorter than expected, but would definitely recommend it for a casual holiday party!
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Dec 15, 2013
I wore this dress to my engagement party and received lots of compliments!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It fit well and was very comfortable!
Kaylee
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4323
Nov 18, 2013
The picture of class!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress had a great fit, and accentuated all of the right parts, but it was a little short so beware when picking something up! I received compliments all night, and felt great!
Bevin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3434
Oct 18, 2013
The dress came on time (I ordered mine very last minute!) and was perfect for the rehearsal dinner
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am a 32DD with an athletic type build, so I was most worried about the bust and waist fitting properly. It fit a bit tight on my arms, because of my bust pulling on the dress. However, if I had sized up to a 4 the dress would have been way to big (it would have looked like a potato sack!) The material was a bit of a disappointment only because it looked very used, but this was not noticeable to anyone but myself. Overall, perfect for the rehearsal dinner and I will definitely be renting from RTR again. ALSO- RTR included fashion tape just in case and it happened to be a lifesaver for the bride the next day!
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2533
Sep 25, 2013
Sexy dress, fun for a wedding!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding and got several compliments. My sis-in-law loved it so much she wants to try RTR too! Very comfortable to wear, and fit perfectly.
Maggie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 5343
Jul 6, 2013
Wore this dress for my Sorority's preference night during last falls recruitment. Very classy!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great length, material and fit, but the shape was different than I thought it would be. It was still an amazing dress, very classic; a perfect little black dress!!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4431
Jun 27, 2013
I didn't want to send it back!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This was a fantastic dress. It was very comfortable and light weight. I loved the material - the detail is what made this dress stand apart from just your average LBD. It was also easy to pair with jewelry (I also rented a Kate Spade Pink Hot Chip statement necklace). Over all, the fit was spot on! I'd definitely rent this dress again.
Denise
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5423
Jun 1, 2013
Flattering, easy dress!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress runs large, I am a 4-6 and went with the 4 which was even a little loose in spots. I wanted an easy LBD for my friend's rehearsal dinner, and this was perfect. The lace details add some interest. It was short which is perfect for me since I am short, but be careful if you are taller than 5'3".
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
May 20, 2013
Classic Little Black Dress
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was absolutely perfect for a college graduation dinner party I attended. I received so many compliments on it! I loved the black lace overlay on the dress as it made it for a classy look. Adding my own "pink bubble necklace" really added a nice touch. The dress itself ran pretty true to size; however, it was a little shorter than I expected it to be. I am in love with all Lily Pulitzer dresses and i will definitely be renting this designer again!
Kristen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5523
May 6, 2013
Bachelorette Party...good dress for turning heads in a classy way!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress fit great...not too tight or too fitted. Even though I am only 5'2", it was short enough to be sexy. Several other reviews stated that then lining was too long and they were right! I also had to buy fashion tape to fix them hem in the lining so that the overlay looked right. The dress was not in "new" condition and was kind of faded. Overall, the dress worked, but not sure it was worth the 50.00 rental with the issues it had.
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 137 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Apr 22, 2013
not only was it a great dress for the actual wedding and reception but for the after party too!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
the 4 fit me perfectly. it wasn't too loose or too snug anywhere. the only downside was that it was a little short, but lilly dresses usually are on me so i wasn't surprised.
Kelliann
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3523
Apr 1, 2013
A Classic Black Dress
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is a basic black dress. The little scoop back with zipper added a little something extra to it, but it was not a show stopping dress. It satisfies the "little black dress" desire if that is what you are looking for. It was pretty, loose in the mid section, and comfortable. I wasn't blown away by it, but I felt pretty in it at the same time.
Jacqueline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4334
Mar 25, 2013
This dress is the perfect balance of elegant yet young!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
i wore this dress to my baccalaureate. It's kind of short, but I think it keeps the black lace from being too dreary!
Sharsharbinx
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 126 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4423
Mar 13, 2013
This Dress and the mystery bling made my Valentines dinner perfect!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I thought because the dress was short on the model that it would be longer for me since I am petite, but it wasn't. That's alright though, I just wore some black tights with it and it looked great! The jewelry that was sent with it was perfect and made the outfit! There was some difficulty getting the right size in the dress i first picked out, but the customer representatives were very nice and suggested this dress instead and promptly refunded the difference. I was well taken care of. I will definitely rent again.
Susan
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2522
Mar 7, 2013
it was beautiful
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
it was a little bigger than i expected. and the cotton material was not exactly what it looked like online. but i still really like it.
Victoria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Mar 4, 2013
Perfect Little Black Dress
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to an engagement party and received tons of compliments. It runs true to size, the only thing is that it is a little short, so I wore black tights with it. Other than that it is very comfortable and easy to dance in.
Hanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4424
Jan 21, 2013
STYLIST REVIEW
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I would suggest going down a size for the free back up if you have a smaller bust. It was fitted, and didn't have any stretch, but you could still get away with going down a size. It was also very comfortable. Throw on a pair of nude or black heels, a great statement necklace and you are good to go!
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 8433
Apr 30, 2012
Great LBD that I've rented multiple times!!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Absolutely loved this dress and got so many compliments on it. I wore it to an afternoon bridal shower, but it definitely was nice enough that I could have worn it to a wedding. I usually wear between a 10 and a 12, but I was happy to see that the 10 fit. Update: I ordered this dress again to wear to either a wedding the night before New Year's Eve or to a New Year's Eve party...and I loved it so much I ended up wearing it to both!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 6331
Dec 27, 2012
Such a Classic! I didn't want to give it back!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore it to a trunk show I hosted at my sorority house for RTR and then out for dinner with friends. It was great.
Geri
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6334
Dec 22, 2012
Very cute little black dress!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a christmas party and it was my back up in a size 8. I ended up wearing this dress because it was flattering and comfortable. There is no stretch to the dress and the sleeves make it hard to raise your arms (the only uncomfortable thing about it). I am 5'5 and it hit me a little longer than mid thigh. It is a very simple but pretty dress and I wore it with a necklace that i rented as well. It was great!
cje
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Dec 6, 2012
Adorable dress - sizing is a little "off"
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented both the 4 and 6 for an October wedding. In dresses I can be anywhere from a 4 to an 8 depending on the dress and designer but based on the prior reviews of this dress, I opted for a 4 and 6. The 6 was a little boxy - the lining hung lower than the lace overlay which I took as a sign that it was too big. The 4 seemed to fit better - was definitely more fitted, less boxy and gave me some shape. It looked adorable with a funky necklace. I have to admit - it was a little on the short side (and I'm only 5'4") and I was mildly self-conscious sitting in church for the ceremony. Overall, a great dress and depending on how you are built, you may have to be a little careful.
Faith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6333
Dec 3, 2012
I wore this dress to a fraternity's formal and everyone loved it!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
great fit through the torso, didn't originally realize the shoulders were slightly capped which made my shoulders look slightly broad but it was easily fixed by wearing my hair down. Appropriate length for a formal event as well. Also wore Lee Angel Tie up necklace and a thin sparkly gold belt to bring in the waist.
erin
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2321
Nov 28, 2012
Perfect Thanksgiving dress!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for Thanksgiving dinner and absolutely loved it! Both cute and classy, Lily Pulitzer's design proved to be quite the crowd pleaser. In fact, my grandma wanted to know where she could get one in her size! Pros: Classic, flattering, cute lace sleeve detail, family appropriate without being frumpy, great fit Cons: Cap sleeves may not flatter everyone
Haley
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 4421
Nov 26, 2012
I wore this dress for graduation and a pinning ceremony. I got SO many compliments on my LBD.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I was only worried about it being too short, but since I am short, it turned out great.
Brittney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 7441
Nov 14, 2012
Perfect Party Dress!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I got this dress for me and my boyfriend's combined birthday dinner/party. This dress was SO flattering. It was slimming in all the right places and I felt comfortable and sexy in it the entire night! Note, I think what really added to it was the kate spade emerald green earrings I rented also!!
Tory
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 3443
Oct 28, 2012
Couldn't have been happier!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was the perfect LBD! The fit was great and I absolutely loved the lace and back zipper details. Definitely would recommend!
Angie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Oct 26, 2012
Loved it so much, I bought one too.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I actually liked this dress so much, I ended up buying it when I found it on sale on Amazon.com! The dip in the back is really sexy, but still allows you to wear a normal bra (hallelujah!!). It also works well for a range of events, from a shower to a date to a night on the town, though it is probably too casual for cocktail or semi-formal. The dress was very figure-flattering on my slim/hourglass frame, and would work well on a range of body types, though it might end up a little tent-like on someone with a full chest. I usually wear a 0-4, depending on how fitted a dress is through the hips. This is quite fitted through the hips, but runs a little big, so I wore my usual size 2, those with narrower hips may want to size down. Also, it was a bit long on me, just a few inches above my knees, and definitely not mid-thigh as on the model. I am planning to have the dress I own hemmed.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Oct 24, 2012
Classy and fun dress
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a college reunion. The cut is more flattering than I expected. The lace detail, particularly on the cap sleeves, adds interest beyond a boring LBD. And the low back and short length take the dress from casual into party/evening wear. I received lots of compliments.
Margaret
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5423
Jul 10, 2012
loved!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Rented this dress for my sister's graduation party. it fit perfectly and was very slimming! I wanted to keep it!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3332
Sep 30, 2012
Perfect LBD
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit perfectly! I wore this for sorority recruitment and couldn't be happier with the way this dress looked and fit. It is a little short, so be careful!
erica`
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 7434
Sep 4, 2012
Adorable
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for an engagement party that I was hosting and absolutely loved it. So adorable and received so many compliments. Really considered buying it after renting it. The dress does run big. I actually ordered sizes 10 and 12 and they were too loose. The RTR team was great and shipped out another dress the night I received the ill fitting dresses and received the size 8 the next day! So helpful. Totally recommend this dress.
Jillian
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2333
Sep 24, 2012
All of the compliments I got from my sorority sisters!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
It was a little bit longer than I had imagined, and a bit more square in the fit. Otherwise it looked great and was very classy!
S
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 5631
Aug 28, 2012
Awesome and easy dress
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
So glad I rented this at the last minute. dressed it up easily with jewelry and heels. fits true to size.
Colleen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4323
Sep 10, 2012
Graduation Star
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for my college graduation and loved it! I chose this dress over the back-up. I usually wear around a size 3, and the size 2 was a perfect fit on me. Fitted, but in a flattering way! It hit a little lower on my thigh than it appears on the model, so I can imagine it would be pretty short on a taller girl. It was a little more snug than I would have liked across my chest, which is somewhere in between a B and C, but it's because the dress doesn't have a ton of stretch. My favorite detail is the sheer and lace overlay on the sleeves. However, the sheer part at the bottom of the skirt kept rising above the black underneath, so I kept pulling it down, until I finally gave up. Even then, it didn't take away from the dress. In a sea of black dresses, this dress made me stand out!
Carly
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4532
Sep 20, 2012
Felt sexy and super comfortable. I wore it from the ceremony all the way into the night. Perfect!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is true to size. It is not as short as it appears on the model. The zipper in the back adds nice detail.
Alison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3521
Sep 19, 2012
Classic Little Black Dress
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was gorgeous and fit perfectly. My only complaint is that the lining on the dress was much longer than the lace overlay. I didn't have any fashion tape on me, so I had to tape the hem with bandaids. They did the trick, but were annoying and started coming off towards the middle of the night. If it weren't for this issue, I would have given 5 stars.
Maria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3333
Aug 31, 2012
Cute and Classy
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I normally wear between and 2 and 4 but I wore a 0 in this dress. The 0 fit very well but it was a little shorter than I expected especially with heels on
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Sep 16, 2012
Convenience, convenience, convenience. Had a wedding in DTW but don't live there. Dress was waiting.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit. Small in the chest but worked well for me. Was unsure about the dress from the picture but the fit and simpleness of the dress was great. It was comfortable and had a scoop in the back Was the perfect length
christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3534
Sep 5, 2012
Birthday Dinner..not the best picture but give you an idea of how short it is and im only 5' 4"
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I rented the dress last minute so size 0 was only available 2 would have fit better but luckily the dress runs a little big.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress