Black Jeanette Dress

$63 to buy
$298 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look comfy chic in this Lilly Pulitzer black lace sheath. A great style for any bridal shower, girl's luncheon, or casual date night out.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace mesh. Bateau neckline. Scoop back. Cap sleeves. Back exposed zip. 32'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
287 reviews
Fit
Large
(56)
True to Size
(203)
Small
(20)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 8, 2013
Cute fit but way too short
This dress definitely runs big - I'm normally between a 6 and an 8 in designer dresses and after reading the reviews, I rented sizes 4 and 6 and ended up wearing the 4. I tried on the 4 first and it fit really well at the bust and at the waist but it was very short (at least for me). I hoped the 6 would remedy this, but the only difference was that the 6 was a little boxier and not nearly as slimming and flattering as the 4... but just as short. For reference, I am 5'7.5" So if length is not an issue for you, definitely go with the smaller size. The dress was short when I was standing up, but once I sat down to dinner it was borderline inappropriate (thank god for the napkin in the lap!). I was so self-conscious that halfway thru the event I ended up going back to my room and changing into my backup dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 2, 2013
Love pairing this with green emerald earrings for a holiday party!
I ordered the zero and two as I go between. The 0 was too small around my hips but great around my waist, The 2 fit more like a natural shift dress should! Perfecto!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 28, 2012
I wore this dress in Las Vegas and I felt amazing.
It was a perfect fit, but a little short. I'm already short so I thought it wouldn't be too short but i felt a little uncomfortable sitting down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 28, 2012
Loved this dress! the scoop in the back is adorable!
fits true to size, wore it with tights, black pumps & statement necklace to a holiday party. I wish I could have kept it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Body type: Full Bust
December 27, 2012
Such a Classic! I didn't want to give it back!
I wore it to a trunk show I hosted at my sorority house for RTR and then out for dinner with friends. It was great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 22, 2012
Very cute little black dress!
I wore this dress to a christmas party and it was my back up in a size 8. I ended up wearing this dress because it was flattering and comfortable. There is no stretch to the dress and the sleeves make it hard to raise your arms (the only uncomfortable thing about it). I am 5'5 and it hit me a little longer than mid thigh. It is a very simple but pretty dress and I wore it with a necklace that i rented as well. It was great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 19, 2012
Prefect LBD!!
Rented this dress for my graduation and it was absolutely prefect. The cap shoulders and low back give it the perfect amount of detail to keep it a little sexy while still a classy, simple, black dress. heads up for the taller ladies: I am 5'3'' and this dress was short, I enjoyed the length but not all people might like it that short. The 4 fit really well, I wish I rented the 2 to try instead of the 6 because I prefer tighter dresses. Overall, loved it! I would highly recommend this dress!!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
December 18, 2012
Super cute, but VERY short.
I rented this for a work holiday party. I loved the dress and the detail was really pretty. However, it was wayyyy too short for the occasion and I couldn't wear it. Adorable for a date night or another time when you won't need to be around your bosses...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 17, 2012
Form fitting and fun
This dress is mid thigh and has a nice accent of a gold zipper up the back. The sleeve hits right at the shoulder. The lace overlay was a nice additive. I received many compliments on the dress.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
December 12, 2012
Made my first trip to the opera special
I wasn't sure what to wear to the opera so I went with this simple black dress. I was very pleased with the style and fit. Although the dress is formed somewhat straight it still provides some shape. The dress fit well, but it was pretty short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
December 7, 2012
Not my style and didn't fit me well.
I usually wear a 6, but the dress was a little too tight in the hips. The 8 was too big and baggy. Even if it would have fit, it was too short for my taste. I think this dress is more appropriate for a very casual event, nothing fancy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 7, 2012
Pretty & classic dress!
Very pretty dress! I ordered it as a second dress so I only got a size 6. I'm normally a size 4 or 6, but the 6 was too big in the waist area. I was unable to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 6, 2012
Adorable dress - sizing is a little "off"
I rented both the 4 and 6 for an October wedding. In dresses I can be anywhere from a 4 to an 8 depending on the dress and designer but based on the prior reviews of this dress, I opted for a 4 and 6. The 6 was a little boxy - the lining hung lower than the lace overlay which I took as a sign that it was too big. The 4 seemed to fit better - was definitely more fitted, less boxy and gave me some shape. It looked adorable with a funky necklace. I have to admit - it was a little on the short side (and I'm only 5'4") and I was mildly self-conscious sitting in church for the ceremony. Overall, a great dress and depending on how you are built, you may have to be a little careful.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
December 3, 2012
I wore this dress to a fraternity's formal and everyone loved it!
great fit through the torso, didn't originally realize the shoulders were slightly capped which made my shoulders look slightly broad but it was easily fixed by wearing my hair down. Appropriate length for a formal event as well. Also wore Lee Angel Tie up necklace and a thin sparkly gold belt to bring in the waist.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 2, 2012
An easy, classic choice
Was a classic, simple dress. Perfect for the occasion, but a bit big! LOVED the RTR experience, didn't LOVE the dress....
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 2, 2012
Perfect Little Black Dress!!
It was Big around the waist for me, but other than that i loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
December 2, 2012
Loved it and wore it with a pair of turquise shoes for a pop of color to an outside engagement party
Loved the detailing in the fabric and the gold zipper up the back. It was not as fitted as I would have liked it to be but it was still wearable and the length was great for me. Not to long but not to short. Since I am short, I run into problems with length but this worked!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 121lbs
November 29, 2012
Perfect Fit!
The dress is so pretty and has great lace details. I had to go to fancy gathering and it was the perfect dress for it. Everyone loved it!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
November 29, 2012
Really nice dress
So cute and versatile, but really short. Luckily it was a summer event, otherwise, wouldn't have been able to pull it off.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 28, 2012
Perfect Thanksgiving dress!
I wore this dress for Thanksgiving dinner and absolutely loved it! Both cute and classy, Lily Pulitzer's design proved to be quite the crowd pleaser. In fact, my grandma wanted to know where she could get one in her size! Pros: Classic, flattering, cute lace sleeve detail, family appropriate without being frumpy, great fit Cons: Cap sleeves may not flatter everyone
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
November 26, 2012
I wore this dress for graduation and a pinning ceremony. I got SO many compliments on my LBD.
I was only worried about it being too short, but since I am short, it turned out great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 24, 2012
Perfect LBD!
The dress was great. It ran big but it still looked nice. I would size down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 21, 2012
Really cute dress, but wasnt fitted for my body.
I wanted it to be a bit more "sheath," but the dress was more of a curve hugger. Cute, but wasnt what I was going for. Probably wouldnt rent it again. (Small in the hips)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 19, 2012
Amazing. Beautiful. Perfect for any event.
It is short. I am 5'8" and I had to watch my sitting and standing very carefully.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 18, 2012
Cute Dress
I liked this dress. It worked well for the event, but I probably would not buy it for my wardrobe.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 17, 2012
Fun and flirty
This is a great dress! I wore this twice in one weekend to two completely different events and it was appropriate for both. It is comfortable, but not too loose and short, but not too short. Would love to own this as a go-to LBD for many types of occasions.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 17, 2012
The Perfect Dress
I loved this dress. I wore it to my high school reunion and got many complements! It was perfect for a classy look but not over or under dressed! With the right accessories it can be dressed up or down. I loved the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
November 14, 2012
Perfect Party Dress!
I got this dress for me and my boyfriend's combined birthday dinner/party. This dress was SO flattering. It was slimming in all the right places and I felt comfortable and sexy in it the entire night! Note, I think what really added to it was the kate spade emerald green earrings I rented also!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 13, 2012
I wore this dress for a work event and it was perfect. Just enough sexy vs classy.
It fit perfectly and hid imperfections. I wore this only 6 months after having a baby and it made me look very slim.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 12, 2012
Great simple dress for a wedding!
This dress runs big, just like all the other Lilly dresses. I thought it was nice, yet simple. I wore it with nude pumps and a beige clutch which worked well for end of summer/early fall. Not my best pick from RTR but it worked!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
November 12, 2012
Pretty but professional
I rented this for a formal but professional party and it was perfect. Pretty but not sexy. I didn't want to send it back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 1, 2012
Classic LBD
Great dress. Classy & classic LBD. Zipper and scoop back adds a little fun. Very soft lace, not scratchy on the arms at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 28, 2012
Cute Dress
The dress was really cute but slightly less formal than I expected. The material is a little more "cotton-y" than it appears in the picture so keep that in mind if you're renting for a more formal occasion. Its also very slim fitting/short I ordered a 2 and a 4 and wore the 4. I was unable to wear heels due to the length so tall girls watch out!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 28, 2012
Couldn't have been happier!
This was the perfect LBD! The fit was great and I absolutely loved the lace and back zipper details. Definitely would recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 26, 2012
Loved it so much, I bought one too.
I actually liked this dress so much, I ended up buying it when I found it on sale on Amazon.com! The dip in the back is really sexy, but still allows you to wear a normal bra (hallelujah!!). It also works well for a range of events, from a shower to a date to a night on the town, though it is probably too casual for cocktail or semi-formal. The dress was very figure-flattering on my slim/hourglass frame, and would work well on a range of body types, though it might end up a little tent-like on someone with a full chest. I usually wear a 0-4, depending on how fitted a dress is through the hips. This is quite fitted through the hips, but runs a little big, so I wore my usual size 2, those with narrower hips may want to size down. Also, it was a bit long on me, just a few inches above my knees, and definitely not mid-thigh as on the model. I am planning to have the dress I own hemmed.
RachelJanuary 15, 2013
Hey Angie! Do you remember who the vendor was on Amazon (or what Lily named this dress style)? I have been looking everywhere for it and can't find it. Thanks!
AngieJanuary 17, 2013
Rachel -- the vendor was Amazon.com, so not much help there. The dress style is called "Jeanette" and I saw it available on RueLaLa today actually. If you look fast you might be able to grab it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 24, 2012
Classy and fun dress
I wore this dress to a college reunion. The cut is more flattering than I expected. The lace detail, particularly on the cap sleeves, adds interest beyond a boring LBD. And the low back and short length take the dress from casual into party/evening wear. I received lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 20, 2012
Really cute dress!
Fits cute. Would be perfect for a date night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
October 15, 2012
Fabulous Dress!
I love this dress because you can dress it up or down. I ended up wearing it to a rehearsal dinner on a Friday night as well as a baptism on Sunday morning, and got two totally different looks out of it. One word of caution: it is slightly shorter than I thought it would be.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 12, 2012
such a cute dress :)
i loved everything about it :)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 12, 2012
I wish I owned this dress!
This dress runs big. I could have worn a size 2. But I ordered a 6 and a 4. Ended up wearing the 4. Also a lot shorter than I anticipated. The back is pretty and I loved this dress so much I wish I could own it! I'd wear it time and time again.
See more reviews:
5 / 8
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×