Lilly Pulitzer

Black Jeanette Dress

$63 to buy
$298 retail
Stylist Notes

Look comfy chic in this Lilly Pulitzer black lace sheath. A great style for any bridal shower, girl's luncheon, or casual date night out.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace mesh. Bateau neckline. Scoop back. Cap sleeves. Back exposed zip. 32'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
290 reviews
Fit
Large
(56)
True to Size
(205)
Small
(21)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 1, 2013
Second time renting and still in love with the company. I want to own this dress so bad!

The dress fit perfectly! I would have preferred it to be a bit longer but thats just my personal preference because I have really long legs. Overall the fit was perfect.

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Body type: Apple
Weight: 162lbs
May 2, 2013
PERFECT!

I'm 5'2" and I was concerned about the length but it fit perfectly! I have an apple shape and it was "just right" at a size 12 (I would have picked at 14 as a back up if they'd had it but it wasn't an option). This dress is perfect for a wedding, party, funeral, etc. Black eyelet with a dramatic "lower" back . Pair it with black heels and a pop of color in the purse or jewelry and you're set for the night. As someone who is often self conscious - this dress made me feel pretty, elegant and just perfect!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 6, 2013
Bachelorette Party...good dress for turning heads in a classy way!

Dress fit great...not too tight or too fitted. Even though I am only 5'2", it was short enough to be sexy. Several other reviews stated that then lining was too long and they were right! I also had to buy fashion tape to fix them hem in the lining so that the overlay looked right. The dress was not in "new" condition and was kind of faded. Overall, the dress worked, but not sure it was worth the 50.00 rental with the issues it had.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
May 8, 2013
Perfect LBD

This dress was my backup. I really liked it and had a hard time choosing between it and my number one choice. It was extremely comfortable, flattering, and the lace aspect put it into the trendy realm. I had trouble choosing between this dress and the other one I ordered, so I asked a few of my guy friends to help me pick and the score was 2-2!! I ended up not going with this dress because I felt the other one had a little bit more personality, but this would have been a great choice too.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 14, 2013
Loved it!

The perfect LBD. The lace was gorgeous and the low back and zipper made it a little sexier. Loved it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
May 20, 2013
Classic Little Black Dress

This dress was absolutely perfect for a college graduation dinner party I attended. I received so many compliments on it! I loved the black lace overlay on the dress as it made it for a classy look. Adding my own "pink bubble necklace" really added a nice touch. The dress itself ran pretty true to size; however, it was a little shorter than I expected it to be. I am in love with all Lily Pulitzer dresses and i will definitely be renting this designer again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
June 17, 2013
Great for new years eve dinner!

dress fit great! true to size, nice fabric. Wasn't too heavy. Would rent again!

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 25, 2013
Great for a date night out.

The night of my 21 birthday was a school night so I decided to have a classy night out with a few girlfriends and this was a great dress for a GNO.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 27, 2013
I didn't want to send it back!

This was a fantastic dress. It was very comfortable and light weight. I loved the material - the detail is what made this dress stand apart from just your average LBD. It was also easy to pair with jewelry (I also rented a Kate Spade Pink Hot Chip statement necklace). Over all, the fit was spot on! I'd definitely rent this dress again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
July 8, 2013
classy and sexy

The size 6 fit like a glove but was just a tad shorter than I was comfortable with wearing to a wedding, so I ended up wearing the 8 for length- even though it was a tad loose. The only con that I have is that on the size 8, the lining was just a bit longer than the lace, which looked kind of weird. But, other than that i loved the dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
July 15, 2013
Simple but sexy

This dress is very simple, classic and sexy. I wore it for a hot date with my hubby for his birthday. He was very pleased. The lace detail is beautiful but not very noticeable if you're wearing it at night. I initially ordered a pair of earrings from RTR to wear with this dress, but because of the simplicity of the dress, I wore an amazing necklace as a statement piece instead, with simple stud earrings. Also, the dress ran true to size for me. It did not run small like some other reviewers indicated, but I guess it depends on your body style. If you're big in the bust or hip area, you may have a problem. I could have worn either the size 4 or 6, but I chose to wear the size 4 because I was going for a more fitted look. Its a beautiful dress and I would order it again.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
August 21, 2013
Great LBD for a daytime affair!

I wore this to a birthday party and loved it! I never know with Lilly due to my chest how to go w/ sizes so I got the 10 even though I'm usually a 6/8. Could have definitley gone smaller but overall the fit was fine. I'm 5'4 so the length was fine on me but taller gals might find it a bit short. Overall was a great experience and would rent it again for the right occasion!

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 23, 2013
was a very classy dress

I love rentig

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
September 9, 2013
So many compliments.

I loved the dress. I had to give four stars because the dress is starting to show its age...

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
September 25, 2013
Sexy dress, fun for a wedding!

I wore this dress to a wedding and got several compliments. My sis-in-law loved it so much she wants to try RTR too! Very comfortable to wear, and fit perfectly.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
November 15, 2013
Dress arrived on time and so easy to send back!

Flattering but comfortable. Received so many compliments all night. Runs short. Can be dressed up or down for any occasion!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 23, 2013
Dress was perfect for a fall Bar Mitzvah. Dressy enough for the services and perfect to dance in!

Dress fit great. I felt comfortable and not self conscious. Runs true to size and it was great to style with flashy costume jewelry.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
November 26, 2013
it was a great dress!

I wore this to a friends wedding that I was in. I had just had a baby and didn't want something that was tight around my tummy. This fit perfectly and I still got tons of compliments.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 14, 2013
4 weeks post-baby, an old friend said 'you do NOT look like you just had a kid.'

Fit was great! Initially, I ordered the wrong size. The dress was delivered Friday, and when I realized my mistake, I contacted RTR. I had the right size in hand the next day by noon. Amazing! I will definitely rent again. The dress itself doesn't have too much stretch, but you don't really need it. I'm 5'4" with a longer torso and the length was exactly what I wanted. Snug in the chest, loose around the mid-section and on (but I am top-heavy). I loved it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 15, 2013
Cute and classy

This was my back up dress and I wound up wearing the original one. It is super comfortable - there is some very comfortable lining. However, It was just too short for me to be comfortable wearing it, particularly to a work event. If you're a little shorter than me this would look very nice!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 15, 2013
I wore this dress to my engagement party and received lots of compliments!

It fit well and was very comfortable!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 11, 2012
Thick Material

Thick material, thought the dress would look a little more delicate.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
November 23, 2013
Classic LBD.

Wore to husband's business party. Comfortable, great fit and just right for occasion.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
December 17, 2013
First RTR experience

BEWARE this dress is made weird. The lace overlay is shorter than the sheath underneath. It looked unfinished when I put it on and I ended up having to tape the sheath to make it shorter and was worried about it the entire night. This isn't a fault on RTR's part - it's just the way the dress is made. Otherwise, good fit, classy but sexy. I wore it to a work holiday party with tights and pumps.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 18, 2013
Great dress for a professional holiday party!

I wore this dress to a company Christmas party with red suede heels, a red bib necklace and opaque tights. It has a great slim fit and classic shape that can be easily dressed up or down. I would advise that the dress was a little shorter than expected, but would definitely recommend it for a casual holiday party!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
January 7, 2014
I loved taking the pictures before homecoming in this dress, it made me feel pretty and glamourous.

I wore this dress for my homecoming and it was so comfortable. I got so many compliments on the dress. While the dress fit really well, I have really long legs so it was really short. I love Lilly Pulitzer but the dresses are always so expensive so I was glad to have found this dress. Homecoming dresses are often really expensive as well for a dress that you are probably only going to wear once. The price of the dress was very affordable for a top designer. I would recommend this dress to anyone and I would definitely wear it again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
January 17, 2014
I ended up not wearing this because it didn't fit my petite size correctly.

The waist didn't fit where it should because I am too short, so it ended up looking boxy on me.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
January 24, 2014
Perfect for graduation, good balance of daytime formal/classy.

I ordered both the 4 and 6, as I had no other backups. While both fit, the 6 was more comfortable for long periods of sitting (also good length for sitting down). I probably would have opted for a 4 if I planned on standing. I'm short, and the 6 fit well, so I'm not sure how this would fit taller girls. I would definitely recommend this dress though!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 8, 2014
Perfect fit, super classy

True to size. Very comfortable. Definitely recommend.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
February 10, 2014
This dress!

It's the perfect LBD and is so simple and classy. It matches virtually any pair of shoes or any bag. The fit was perfect and the texture was super unique.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 24, 2014
A $300 dress for $30

No surprises with this dress. Looks just like it does on the model. This dress could go anywhere.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 154lbs
February 25, 2014
This was a beautiful but simple black dress.

This was a beautiful but simple black dress. It was great for walking around but got a little tight to sit in.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 27, 2014
Perfect for a fun night out!

This dress was great! The fit is pretty true to size, but is very short, which made it difficult to transition from sitting to standing. The lining was slightly longer than the lace overlay, but it was easy enough to fix with some fashion tape. It was really easy to wear and to accessorize -- it can be dressed up or down and will look great either way.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Weight: 153lbs
March 17, 2014
The dress made me feel slim!

I wanted to wear the 10, however it was a tad tight and we were going out for my birthday! Had I dropped a pound before I wore it I would have worn the 10. This was my favorite dress so far!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
March 23, 2014
Great LBD

The liner of this dress was coming out under the lace and I had to use tape to make it work. It was a great dress, perfect for our pref night for rush, but I was disappointed with the quality of the dress. A little small in the bust, but as an LBD worked great.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
April 3, 2014
Simple and classy!

This was my first RTR, and I absolutely loved it! Wore this dress for a dinner date with tights and boots (in the winter). Definitely needs a necklace or some earrings to dress it up a bit. It fit perfectly on my short frame, but I can see how it might be too short for some taller girls. The lace was subtle and beautiful. Fit was very true to size.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 6, 2014
CUTE dress but SHORT!!

I wore this for a night out in NYC. It is a great dress, easy to dress up with jewelry/accessories. However, it is VERY SHORT! I'm only 5'1 and I had to be careful when sitting down. Great for a girl's night out but I wouldn't recommend for a wedding or a conservative event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 10, 2014
Perfect for a summer dinner party and doubled for a funeral.

I wore this dress for a dinner party for my husband's office. Then I ended up using it for a funeral as well. The lace is beautiful. It was a little shorter than I was used to but still conservative enough for the events that I wore it for. I have long legs as well. I have a small chest and it fit fine there for me. However, there's not much stretch across the bust; so you may want to size up if you have a large chest.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
May 14, 2014
Classic and comfortable!!

I really loved this dress! It was perfect, and I wish I could have kept it! The dress was pretty short, even on me. I'm only 5'2'' and would have felt uncomfortable if it was any shorter. The lining did come down below the dress in the front, but that was an easy fix with some fashion tape. Perfect for my boyfriend's graduation ceremony, but would also be appropriate for a more formal event. Thank you RTR! I'll definitely be renting again soon!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 15, 2014
Fantastic LBD for daytime!

Wore to a Mother's Day Brunch. Fit was overall pretty great but take note of the length. I'm 5'1 and the 2 was a bit short, fine for wearing with flats but a no go with heels. Lovely shift dress with nice lace detailing and a gorgeous back. Would rent again for a summertime event like a rehearsal dinner, date night, or brunch. #day-to-night #summer #LBD #petite

See more reviews:
5 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×