Lilly Pulitzer

Black Jeanette Dress

$63 to buy
$298 retail
Stylist Notes

Look comfy chic in this Lilly Pulitzer black lace sheath. A great style for any bridal shower, girl's luncheon, or casual date night out.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace mesh. Bateau neckline. Scoop back. Cap sleeves. Back exposed zip. 32'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
290 reviews
Fit
Large
(56)
True to Size
(205)
Small
(21)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 21, 2012
Really cute dress, but wasnt fitted for my body.
I wanted it to be a bit more "sheath," but the dress was more of a curve hugger. Cute, but wasnt what I was going for. Probably wouldnt rent it again. (Small in the hips)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 24, 2012
Perfect LBD!
The dress was great. It ran big but it still looked nice. I would size down.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 28, 2012
Perfect Thanksgiving dress!
I wore this dress for Thanksgiving dinner and absolutely loved it! Both cute and classy, Lily Pulitzer's design proved to be quite the crowd pleaser. In fact, my grandma wanted to know where she could get one in her size! Pros: Classic, flattering, cute lace sleeve detail, family appropriate without being frumpy, great fit Cons: Cap sleeves may not flatter everyone
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
November 29, 2012
Really nice dress
So cute and versatile, but really short. Luckily it was a summer event, otherwise, wouldn't have been able to pull it off.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
December 2, 2012
Loved it and wore it with a pair of turquise shoes for a pop of color to an outside engagement party
Loved the detailing in the fabric and the gold zipper up the back. It was not as fitted as I would have liked it to be but it was still wearable and the length was great for me. Not to long but not to short. Since I am short, I run into problems with length but this worked!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 2, 2012
Perfect Little Black Dress!!
It was Big around the waist for me, but other than that i loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 2, 2012
An easy, classic choice
Was a classic, simple dress. Perfect for the occasion, but a bit big! LOVED the RTR experience, didn't LOVE the dress....
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
December 3, 2012
I wore this dress to a fraternity's formal and everyone loved it!
great fit through the torso, didn't originally realize the shoulders were slightly capped which made my shoulders look slightly broad but it was easily fixed by wearing my hair down. Appropriate length for a formal event as well. Also wore Lee Angel Tie up necklace and a thin sparkly gold belt to bring in the waist.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 6, 2012
Adorable dress - sizing is a little "off"
I rented both the 4 and 6 for an October wedding. In dresses I can be anywhere from a 4 to an 8 depending on the dress and designer but based on the prior reviews of this dress, I opted for a 4 and 6. The 6 was a little boxy - the lining hung lower than the lace overlay which I took as a sign that it was too big. The 4 seemed to fit better - was definitely more fitted, less boxy and gave me some shape. It looked adorable with a funky necklace. I have to admit - it was a little on the short side (and I'm only 5'4") and I was mildly self-conscious sitting in church for the ceremony. Overall, a great dress and depending on how you are built, you may have to be a little careful.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 7, 2012
Pretty & classic dress!
Very pretty dress! I ordered it as a second dress so I only got a size 6. I'm normally a size 4 or 6, but the 6 was too big in the waist area. I was unable to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
December 7, 2012
Not my style and didn't fit me well.
I usually wear a 6, but the dress was a little too tight in the hips. The 8 was too big and baggy. Even if it would have fit, it was too short for my taste. I think this dress is more appropriate for a very casual event, nothing fancy.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
December 12, 2012
Made my first trip to the opera special
I wasn't sure what to wear to the opera so I went with this simple black dress. I was very pleased with the style and fit. Although the dress is formed somewhat straight it still provides some shape. The dress fit well, but it was pretty short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 17, 2012
Form fitting and fun
This dress is mid thigh and has a nice accent of a gold zipper up the back. The sleeve hits right at the shoulder. The lace overlay was a nice additive. I received many compliments on the dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
December 18, 2012
Super cute, but VERY short.
I rented this for a work holiday party. I loved the dress and the detail was really pretty. However, it was wayyyy too short for the occasion and I couldn't wear it. Adorable for a date night or another time when you won't need to be around your bosses...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 19, 2012
Prefect LBD!!
Rented this dress for my graduation and it was absolutely prefect. The cap shoulders and low back give it the perfect amount of detail to keep it a little sexy while still a classy, simple, black dress. heads up for the taller ladies: I am 5'3'' and this dress was short, I enjoyed the length but not all people might like it that short. The 4 fit really well, I wish I rented the 2 to try instead of the 6 because I prefer tighter dresses. Overall, loved it! I would highly recommend this dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 22, 2012
Very cute little black dress!
I wore this dress to a christmas party and it was my back up in a size 8. I ended up wearing this dress because it was flattering and comfortable. There is no stretch to the dress and the sleeves make it hard to raise your arms (the only uncomfortable thing about it). I am 5'5 and it hit me a little longer than mid thigh. It is a very simple but pretty dress and I wore it with a necklace that i rented as well. It was great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Full Bust
December 27, 2012
Such a Classic! I didn't want to give it back!
I wore it to a trunk show I hosted at my sorority house for RTR and then out for dinner with friends. It was great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 28, 2012
Loved this dress! the scoop in the back is adorable!
fits true to size, wore it with tights, black pumps & statement necklace to a holiday party. I wish I could have kept it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 2, 2013
Love pairing this with green emerald earrings for a holiday party!
I ordered the zero and two as I go between. The 0 was too small around my hips but great around my waist, The 2 fit more like a natural shift dress should! Perfecto!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 8, 2013
Cute fit but way too short
This dress definitely runs big - I'm normally between a 6 and an 8 in designer dresses and after reading the reviews, I rented sizes 4 and 6 and ended up wearing the 4. I tried on the 4 first and it fit really well at the bust and at the waist but it was very short (at least for me). I hoped the 6 would remedy this, but the only difference was that the 6 was a little boxier and not nearly as slimming and flattering as the 4... but just as short. For reference, I am 5'7.5" So if length is not an issue for you, definitely go with the smaller size. The dress was short when I was standing up, but once I sat down to dinner it was borderline inappropriate (thank god for the napkin in the lap!). I was so self-conscious that halfway thru the event I ended up going back to my room and changing into my backup dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 10, 2013
Beautiful Fabric, Well Crafted
This dress is well made. However, it's not for those that have a small bust and larger hips. I am tiny up top and have larger hips. The chest area fit nicely. The bottom fit over my hips well but was a bit snug. Therefore the dress looked frumpy above the hip area.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 17, 2013
This dress fits nicley in the upper and lower body, but was entirely too large in the middle.
The only real difference I noticed between the two sizes (2,4) was the length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 21, 2013
STYLIST REVIEW
I would suggest going down a size for the free back up if you have a smaller bust. It was fitted, and didn't have any stretch, but you could still get away with going down a size. It was also very comfortable. Throw on a pair of nude or black heels, a great statement necklace and you are good to go!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
February 7, 2013
Nice and comfortable fit! Loved the pattern:)
The dress ran true to size and fit comfortable. It ran a little short on me but I'm on the taller side. Very cute and simple.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 3, 2013
Love this dress
Fit well on me however, the sleeves can be a little tight so if your arms are a little big think going a size up. The dress was short enough for my occasion and I overall loved it! Definitely would recommend! love lilly, and I want to purchase this dress after my great rental!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 126lbs
March 13, 2013
This Dress and the mystery bling made my Valentines dinner perfect!
I thought because the dress was short on the model that it would be longer for me since I am petite, but it wasn't. That's alright though, I just wore some black tights with it and it looked great! The jewelry that was sent with it was perfect and made the outfit! There was some difficulty getting the right size in the dress i first picked out, but the customer representatives were very nice and suggested this dress instead and promptly refunded the difference. I was well taken care of. I will definitely rent again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
March 25, 2013
This dress is the perfect balance of elegant yet young!
i wore this dress to my baccalaureate. It's kind of short, but I think it keeps the black lace from being too dreary!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 1, 2013
A Classic Black Dress
This is a basic black dress. The little scoop back with zipper added a little something extra to it, but it was not a show stopping dress. It satisfies the "little black dress" desire if that is what you are looking for. It was pretty, loose in the mid section, and comfortable. I wasn't blown away by it, but I felt pretty in it at the same time.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
April 11, 2013
Great for a bachelorette party!
I wore this dress for a friend's bachelorette party. It was comfortable and true to size. I don't think I would rent this dress again only because RTR has soooo many cute LBDs that I would like to try! Overall, very happy with the dress!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 15, 2013
OBSESSED
I ordered this for a bachelorette party for a dinner and drinks. It was perfect. It could absolutely be dressed up or down to be a bit more casual. I love the exposed zipper. The fit was great too. I am definitely in between sizes and have anywhere from 2-6 in my closet. I ordered a 4 and a 6. The 4 fit great and was more fitted but my chest area is a bit larger and I felt a bit like I couldn't move. The 6 was still a bit fitted but it left more room for dancing. I really did not want to send this one back!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101lbs
April 18, 2013
Classy LBD!
I rented this dress for a wedding and I ordered a size 0 and 2 just in case, but the 0 fit perfectly...not tight at all but not too loose. I'm pretty short and this hit me perfectly a few inches above the knee. I love the scoop back and zipper as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
April 22, 2013
not only was it a great dress for the actual wedding and reception but for the after party too!
the 4 fit me perfectly. it wasn't too loose or too snug anywhere. the only downside was that it was a little short, but lilly dresses usually are on me so i wasn't surprised.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 29, 2013
Perfect little black dress!
This dress was perfect for a wedding and then a New Year's Eve cocktail party - so much fun to wear, very flattering and comfortable!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 1, 2013
Second time renting and still in love with the company. I want to own this dress so bad!
The dress fit perfectly! I would have preferred it to be a bit longer but thats just my personal preference because I have really long legs. Overall the fit was perfect.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Body type: Apple
Weight: 162lbs
May 2, 2013
PERFECT!
I'm 5'2" and I was concerned about the length but it fit perfectly! I have an apple shape and it was "just right" at a size 12 (I would have picked at 14 as a back up if they'd had it but it wasn't an option). This dress is perfect for a wedding, party, funeral, etc. Black eyelet with a dramatic "lower" back . Pair it with black heels and a pop of color in the purse or jewelry and you're set for the night. As someone who is often self conscious - this dress made me feel pretty, elegant and just perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 6, 2013
Bachelorette Party...good dress for turning heads in a classy way!
Dress fit great...not too tight or too fitted. Even though I am only 5'2", it was short enough to be sexy. Several other reviews stated that then lining was too long and they were right! I also had to buy fashion tape to fix them hem in the lining so that the overlay looked right. The dress was not in "new" condition and was kind of faded. Overall, the dress worked, but not sure it was worth the 50.00 rental with the issues it had.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
May 8, 2013
Perfect LBD
This dress was my backup. I really liked it and had a hard time choosing between it and my number one choice. It was extremely comfortable, flattering, and the lace aspect put it into the trendy realm. I had trouble choosing between this dress and the other one I ordered, so I asked a few of my guy friends to help me pick and the score was 2-2!! I ended up not going with this dress because I felt the other one had a little bit more personality, but this would have been a great choice too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 14, 2013
Loved it!
The perfect LBD. The lace was gorgeous and the low back and zipper made it a little sexier. Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
May 20, 2013
Classic Little Black Dress
This dress was absolutely perfect for a college graduation dinner party I attended. I received so many compliments on it! I loved the black lace overlay on the dress as it made it for a classy look. Adding my own "pink bubble necklace" really added a nice touch. The dress itself ran pretty true to size; however, it was a little shorter than I expected it to be. I am in love with all Lily Pulitzer dresses and i will definitely be renting this designer again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 1, 2013
Flattering, easy dress!
This dress runs large, I am a 4-6 and went with the 4 which was even a little loose in spots. I wanted an easy LBD for my friend's rehearsal dinner, and this was perfect. The lace details add some interest. It was short which is perfect for me since I am short, but be careful if you are taller than 5'3".
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×