Lilly Pulitzer

Black Jeanette Dress

$40 rental
$298 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look comfy chic in this Lilly Pulitzer black lace sheath. A great style for any bridal shower, girl's luncheon, or casual date night out. Go with a pop of color by renting the Gerard Yosca's Vintage Jade Crystal Studs.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace mesh. Bateau neckline. Scoop back. Cap sleeves. Back exposed zip. 32'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

273 reviews

Fit
Small 18
True to Size 196
Large 54
Photos 90
Kelsey
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
May 11, 2015

Great party dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the dress, very forgiving, not too tight anywhere. However, this dress does not provide much give, and is a little on the shorter side, so you may want to consider a different dress if you plan to dance a lot!
VRod
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
May 10, 2015

Not for tall girls.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a wedding rehearsal dinner but did not wear it because it was way too short for my fancy. The neckline and sleeves a are very cute but for someone who is 5'8" and loves wearing heels, I would not recommend it...unfortunately .
LC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
May 10, 2015

Nice dress, runs a bit large though

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Dress runs a bit wide, so would have been more flattering in a size down. Otherwise, nice dress but nothing overly exciting about the style.
Sara
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 13, 2015

Hugged in all the right places without being uncomfortable or showy.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ordered both the size 2 and 4. I tried on the 4 and it was comfortable, and dared to try the 'size down' and so glad I did! It fit perfectly and didn't look too tight. The reason for 4-star rating is that the liner was slightly longer than the lace overlay and one little part was snagged on the front.
A
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Mar 3, 2015

I ended up wearing something from my closet.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I didn't wear this dress for my occasion, instead I was forced into my own closet. It was too long on me and looked silly.
Jill
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 29, 2014

Easy and comfortable.

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
Fit great. Perfect LBD!
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 27, 2014

Nice dress for Christmas family dinner

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was super cute, but I wish I had saved it for something more... fun? I wore it to both a Christmas Eve midnight mass and Christmas dinner the next day, which was nice, but I would have loved to wear it elsewhere. Loved the dress. I would totally get it again! However, for my fellow big-busted ladies, the chest area is a little tight so don't size down too much. The 2 would have fit me if it wasn't for that area. Thanks, RTR!
Suzanne
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 18, 2014

Great product!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress was the perfect match for my holiday party. It did run a bit big and I wish I had gotten a size 2 versus 6 for my alternative size. I received many compliments on the dress and will definitely rent again!
Jill
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 9, 2014

Cute dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was sent to me by RTR because my backup size was not available, so it wasn't one that I chose myself. This dress was really cute and I liked it a lot but was too short for a work event so I did not choose it. I would definitely rent it for something else like maybe a bachelorette party or a night out!
Rachael
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
Nov 10, 2014

Rented for date night/birthday dinner

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was cute, but it's hard to wear if you have a pear shape! The 4 was a little too tight in the hips/thighs, and the 6 was too big up top. It was wearable (I went with the 4 with black tights), but I wouldn't have risked it with no tights in warmer weather. Also, this is my first RTR that's had a definite musty smell to it.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 5, 2014

I wore this dress to my birthday dinner at a nice restaurant

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I am a huge fan of eyelets so I loved this dress! The detail of the dress doesn't show up very well in pictures, but overall, I was happy with my rental. The dress fit very well, but was a little short and a little tight on my chest. Despite the fit, it was super comfortable and I loved the way it looked on me.
Libby
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 26, 2014

This dress was simple but elegant!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress looked FABULOUS on, but the bottom part of the skirt had no give. I've rented this dress twice and BOTH times the slip under the lace overlay had a huge tear in it (once in the back and once on the side). Presumably this was from someone sitting down in the dress! The 10 actually fit much better on the top, but the bottom was so tight that I went up to a 12!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Oct 16, 2014

Cute LBD!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for a wedding rehearsal dinner. Very comfortable. A little tight/short when sitting down though.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 15, 2014

Classy with a touch of sexy

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was not the dress I originally picked but I still loved it. It's a very classy dress that has a touch of sexiness to it. The 6 fit me perfectly but the skirt wound up being a teensy bit snug and since I knew I'd be sitting a lot, I figured I would be more comfortable in the 8. This is the perfect LBD and could work for almost any occasion. I would definitely rent again.
Deena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 100 lbs
Sep 28, 2014

Rent the runway dresses usually fit great, but not this one

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was too large and not flattering at all! I ended up sending it back.
grace
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Sep 8, 2014

Classic and Comfortable, great with a statement necklace!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the dress! Fit like a glove but hid my post preg belly! Great length for someone who is on the petite side! Def simple but looked ravishing with statement necklace!!!!!! Loved using this site!
Jeanine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 30, 2014

Great

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved it
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Aug 23, 2014

Cute and Classic

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect! It's a simple black shift dress with a little something extra with the zipper in the back and the lovely material. I wish I owned it!
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 12, 2014

Dress was torn to pieces!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress runs really small, even my backup size was too small. Ladies with hips beware. Also- if I even wanted to wear the backup, I couldn't because it was in such bad shape. The lining was torn to point of indecent exposure.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Aug 1, 2014

Short and cute for a casual event.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this as backup for a graduation. It was a cute fit, but short and casual for my event. The fabric is eyelet which is hard to see in some of the photos.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 1, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It was a great dress and actually more casual than I expected. I was able to wear it twice--once to work and then during the day for a bachelorette party.
Shully
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 23, 2014

Not what I expected.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I had ordered this dress for a birthday party. The lace was pretty and it was a short little black dress. Unfortunately, it was not flattering for me. I have big breast and it made it look like I was pregnant, which I'm not. It look like I was wearing a table cloth. I returned it.
Rebecca
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jul 17, 2014

Great dress for an engagement party!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to an engagement party last November, and it was just perfect. The dress is true to size, I wore a size 0, and I am 5'2 and 105 lbs. If you are on the taller side I would say this dress might not be for you! It worked perfectly for me as I am petite, but I think someone taller might have a harder time with it. I dressed it up with some accessories, but it was super cute for what I needed it for.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 15, 2014

Love it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The pockets punched out so I had to safety pin them flat.
E. A.
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 14, 2014

Beautiful Dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress for our anniversary dinner and it was really gorgeous. The lace was beautiful but just a little faded, as if it had been dry cleaned several times (as I'm sure it has been). The fit was great but it was a little short - thankfully I'm only 5'5 and I wore it with flats so it wasn't inappropriately short by any means. The only thing that was not great was on the way home, as soon as I sat down for the ride home the lining ripped on the left side from almost the top of my thigh to the bottom. I did not notice any tears in the lining when I put it on, but I think it may have been torn a little. Thankfully we were on our way home so it wasn't noticeable. Overall a beautiful dress I would rent again.
MJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 14, 2014

LOVED LOVED LOVED

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This is by far one of my favorite RTR dresses and I wish I could have it in my closet! After reading some reviews, I was worried it might be too short but the fit was great and perfect length on me. The dress was great for our date night and I would rent this again!
Jennifer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 10, 2014

Loved the fit! I felt great all night!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress. It was perfect for an evening wedding that was more on the casual side. It fit great and I was comfortable all night!
April
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 8, 2014

Easily Dress it Up or Down!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was a bit shorter than I expected but still appropriate. I am larger in the hips so I had to size up to prevent the dress from bunching up. Loved the dress tho!
Katie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Jun 30, 2014

Always works out !!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the dress !!
Robyn
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Jun 25, 2014

The dress was great!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rent the runway is awesome and I had an amazing first experience. The dress was not worn out and looked very nice. It also arrived on time. I ordered a 10 just in case to make sure it wasn't too short but the 8 ended up working perfectly.
natalie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 24, 2014

Loved it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I really loved this dress! I wore last summer for a wedding. Very comfy, fit great and could be dressed up with a chunky statement necklace. Would definitely recommend.
Krissy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

The detail on the sleeve stands out, very cute!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit! Fit perfectly, wish I could have kept it. Perfect lace little black dress;)
tarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Jun 16, 2014

This dress looked amazing on. I wanted to wear it, but I decided to wear a color.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It fit extremely well
mlynn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 15, 2014

Perfect for graduation

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was a tad short but overall perfect. I actually wore the 6 & 8 as it was really hot out and after sitting for 2 hours I was a bit sweaty. Went back to hotel and changed into a fresh dress. Couldn't really tell much of a difference in the sizes.
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 12, 2014

Classic black dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Sadly wore this dress to a funeral but it was so classy with just a traditional string of pearls....really beautiful. Grandfather would have been proud.
jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 23, 2014

Classy Little Black Dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was happy to see that this Lilly dress ran true to size. I ordered one size larger as my backup but wore the size 10 comfortably. The material did not require a slip underneath and I was able to wear a regular bra. The lace detail in the material made this LBD the perfect choice for dinner and a night on the town after. Lilly dresses always seem to fit perfectly on my shorter frame.
Meg
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 21, 2014

Something my grandma and boyfriend both loved! Timeless & sophisticated

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress! I felt classy and beautiful on my graduation day. The lacy detail sleeves were my favorite. I would say the dress runs true to size, but I had trouble deciding between the 4 and 6 because it is not a very fitted dress in the midsection. I went with the 4 so it was more flattering & less bulky looking around my stomach, even though it was a little short and somewhat tight on the neckline. I am tall & have broad shoulders though, so it might have just been me. Overall I really can't complain! It was amazing to wear a dress my modest grandmother thought was beautiful, while at the same time my boyfriend thought I looked awesome in.
Elle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 21, 2014

Great, simple little black dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this dress to my graduation, which was at night. It was the perfect mix between night time attire, and a family/graduation sort of feel. The pattern doesn't show well in pictures, but looked nice in person. It was a little shorter than I anticipated, but still fine.
Sho
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
May 19, 2014

A classic

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I was between sizes for this one and ended up going with the 0. A great staple - easily dressed up or down.
--
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
May 15, 2014

Fantastic LBD for daytime!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore to a Mother's Day Brunch. Fit was overall pretty great but take note of the length. I'm 5'1 and the 2 was a bit short, fine for wearing with flats but a no go with heels. Lovely shift dress with nice lace detailing and a gorgeous back. Would rent again for a summertime event like a rehearsal dinner, date night, or brunch. #day-to-night #summer #LBD #petite
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×