Black Jeanette Dress

$63 to buy
$298 retail
Stylist Notes

Look comfy chic in this Lilly Pulitzer black lace sheath. A great style for any bridal shower, girl's luncheon, or casual date night out.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace mesh. Bateau neckline. Scoop back. Cap sleeves. Back exposed zip. 32'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
288 reviews
Fit
Large
(56)
True to Size
(203)
Small
(21)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 29, 2011
Got great compliments
I'm very curvy (5'7"), 139lbs and 30DD and with a very narrow waist, but I also have hips... Per usual with lilly pulitzer they don't design for this body type. BUT I still had a great time in this dress... its just cut very straight so while it looks like it will define your waist on the model, there is no seaming in the front to do that. The back does have seeming so it is slimming in the back but the front is very straight. That being said, the dress still worked for me and I was so happy in it. Bloomingdales is sold out of my size nation wide and Lilly Pulitzer was out of it in the tri-state region (NYC)--- RTR to the RESCUE!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
January 9, 2012
Cute!
Wore this dress to a black tie wedding reception. It is a super cute little black dress, but I would recommend renting some accessories to 'spice' it up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32DDD/E
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
January 20, 2012
The dress arrived on time, looked and fit great, and I got to wear it for a very special occasion in my life.
When I got called to interpret for the President, my first stop was to Rent the Runway. I needed a dress that would be conservative and appropriate, yet also allow me to feel beautiful and comfortable while standing next to the leader of the free world on a stage before hundreds of people. This dress delivered in every way! It felt true to fit and was very comfortable. I usually wear a 6 or an 8 in dresses; wore the 8 because while both zipped, the 6 was too snug in the hips.The dress was slightly shorter than expected considering I'm only 5'3", but still much longer than it appears on the model. It's rare I find a dress that's figure-flattering without alterations, so I highly recommend this one!
PriyaFebruary 21, 2012
Isn't that the man who does the Alexander Hamilton rap! What a cool performance!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
February 2, 2012
Greatt!!
I'm a busty so I ordered a size up but it fit amazingly. I got compliments all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 3, 2012
I recieved so many compliments on the dress!
I loved this dress! It was beautiful and understated; I punched it up with gold open-toed heels. I usually wear between a 0 and 2, but chose the size 0 because it hugged my body better. I would definitely reccomend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
March 5, 2012
Great dress!
I loved this dress so much that I'm renting it for another wedding at the end of the month. It's a versatile dress that you can style differently depending on the accessories. I got many compliments and was very comfortable in the dress the whole night. The 2 was a bit big on my torso, but it wasn't so big that it looked bad. I actually liked that it had a bit more room since it was on the short side.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
March 24, 2012
ok dress
This dress was ok. I liked the fabric but the dress just wasn't flattering. It's not as short as it looks on the model. It's a little tight in the hips too. I wouldn't rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 15, 2012
barrister ball
pretty true to size. I have disproportional sized legs to my waist, so the six would have been better in overall fit, but the 8 fit better over my thighs. Very classic dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 169lbs
April 30, 2012
Great LBD that I've rented multiple times!!
Absolutely loved this dress and got so many compliments on it. I wore it to an afternoon bridal shower, but it definitely was nice enough that I could have worn it to a wedding. I usually wear between a 10 and a 12, but I was happy to see that the 10 fit. Update: I ordered this dress again to wear to either a wedding the night before New Year's Eve or to a New Year's Eve party...and I loved it so much I ended up wearing it to both!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
May 4, 2012
Cute!
I ordered this dress as a backup to what I planned on wearing for my birthday. The first choice worked out, so I didn't actually wear it, but it was a very cute and comfortable dress. The only thing I didn't like about it was where the sleeves hit my arms, but I'm also just self-conscious about my arms so it could've been just me :) Very cute, loved the length and the flattering cut of the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 13, 2012
The overall look of the dress and its material!
I wore this dress for my school's father daughter dance and loved it! It is rather loose in the mid-section so don't be afraid to go a size down. My only issue with this dress was the hips. I am curvy in the hips and such, and it did ride-up slightly when I would walk. The detailing of the dress are really pretty and much more intricate than in the picture. I got so many compliments and felt really classy and pretty all night. Highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 30, 2012
Perfect, more casual LBD
Absolutely loved this dress. So comfortable, can wear a regular bra, and it is really cute on. I usually alternate between a 6 and 4 depending on the dress, and the 4 fit perfectly. Wore it with the emerald pear stud earrings from RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
June 11, 2012
Love this dress!
I rented this dress for a benefit dinner. It was perfect! It was flirty but sophisticated. I will definitly rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
June 21, 2012
Beautiful!
This is a great black dress and perfect for so many occaisions. Much nicer in person. I always think Lilly Pullitzer runs a little larger than other designers. Perfect length on me so check length of dress if you are tall. Can't go wrong with this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 9, 2012
Tons of compliments!
Loved this dress..fit more snug than I expected but very flattering. Got compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 10, 2012
loved!
Rented this dress for my sister's graduation party. it fit perfectly and was very slimming! I wanted to keep it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
July 11, 2012
Love the Fit of this Dress!
This was my first Lilly experience and I Loved it! I am usually a 6 - I have small waisted with a large chest size. The size 4 dress had Plenty of room on top, but still looked great on my waist. Built perfectly for a girl with something on top. The lace is also great, not bulky, but still noticeable. Not elegant, but not causal either, the perfect in between for a summertime formal affair. Highly suggest this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
July 12, 2012
AMAZING!
I absolutely loved this dress. It runs a tiny bit small, I'm usually a 6 and this was a little bit tight in the hips but otherwise, its so great. The scoop back is really pretty, and just sexy enough to wear out to a casual dinner with out feeling over dressed. I've been searching EVERYWHERE to find one that i can buy! LOVE LOVE LOVE!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
August 8, 2012
Excellent Fit!
Loved the dress! I normally wear a 2 or 0 and the 0 fit perfectly. I'm 5'2" and I tend to like shorter dresses so I was worried about the length, but it was plenty short enough for me. I wore it to a rehearsal dinner with pumps, but I think it can definitely be dressed down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 10, 2012
I will rent this again. Count
This was ahhhhh-mazing. I have runner legs that tend to look great, but occassionally make me feel like a 10 pound sausage in a 5 pound bag. This really showed off my legs and was completely flattering. I wore the dress as a bridesmaid to a wedding in which each of us got to pick our own casual black dress. I wore it with nude peep toes-- it was perf. As far as body types, I am a marathon runner with a chest, so I tend to be all over the place with dress cuts. I had a 10 and 12 shipped, but since I was going to a wedding, I went with a little looser fit than the 10. This was perfect. So, so perfect.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 20, 2012
Perfect Dress
I received so many compliments on this dress; I wanted to keep it and not return! It was very flattering and fit well. I'm small but have a larger bottom half but the dress hid all the right spots. I definitely will be renting this dress again! Perfect dress for a party!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
August 21, 2012
True to Size
Very simple and elegant.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 23, 2012
Very fun dress, albeit short!
I loved this dress, wore it to a rehearsal dinner- yes, it's short (although I'm on the tall side) but I have the legs to pull it off. Just don't bend over... Very comfortable & perfect for evenings in the summer. Does not run as large as most Lilly's.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
February 7, 2013
Nice and comfortable fit! Loved the pattern:)
The dress ran true to size and fit comfortable. It ran a little short on me but I'm on the taller side. Very cute and simple.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 3, 2013
Love this dress
Fit well on me however, the sleeves can be a little tight so if your arms are a little big think going a size up. The dress was short enough for my occasion and I overall loved it! Definitely would recommend! love lilly, and I want to purchase this dress after my great rental!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 126lbs
March 13, 2013
This Dress and the mystery bling made my Valentines dinner perfect!
I thought because the dress was short on the model that it would be longer for me since I am petite, but it wasn't. That's alright though, I just wore some black tights with it and it looked great! The jewelry that was sent with it was perfect and made the outfit! There was some difficulty getting the right size in the dress i first picked out, but the customer representatives were very nice and suggested this dress instead and promptly refunded the difference. I was well taken care of. I will definitely rent again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
March 25, 2013
This dress is the perfect balance of elegant yet young!
i wore this dress to my baccalaureate. It's kind of short, but I think it keeps the black lace from being too dreary!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 1, 2013
A Classic Black Dress
This is a basic black dress. The little scoop back with zipper added a little something extra to it, but it was not a show stopping dress. It satisfies the "little black dress" desire if that is what you are looking for. It was pretty, loose in the mid section, and comfortable. I wasn't blown away by it, but I felt pretty in it at the same time.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
April 11, 2013
Great for a bachelorette party!
I wore this dress for a friend's bachelorette party. It was comfortable and true to size. I don't think I would rent this dress again only because RTR has soooo many cute LBDs that I would like to try! Overall, very happy with the dress!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 15, 2013
OBSESSED
I ordered this for a bachelorette party for a dinner and drinks. It was perfect. It could absolutely be dressed up or down to be a bit more casual. I love the exposed zipper. The fit was great too. I am definitely in between sizes and have anywhere from 2-6 in my closet. I ordered a 4 and a 6. The 4 fit great and was more fitted but my chest area is a bit larger and I felt a bit like I couldn't move. The 6 was still a bit fitted but it left more room for dancing. I really did not want to send this one back!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101lbs
April 18, 2013
Classy LBD!
I rented this dress for a wedding and I ordered a size 0 and 2 just in case, but the 0 fit perfectly...not tight at all but not too loose. I'm pretty short and this hit me perfectly a few inches above the knee. I love the scoop back and zipper as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
April 22, 2013
not only was it a great dress for the actual wedding and reception but for the after party too!
the 4 fit me perfectly. it wasn't too loose or too snug anywhere. the only downside was that it was a little short, but lilly dresses usually are on me so i wasn't surprised.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 29, 2013
Perfect little black dress!
This dress was perfect for a wedding and then a New Year's Eve cocktail party - so much fun to wear, very flattering and comfortable!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 1, 2013
Second time renting and still in love with the company. I want to own this dress so bad!
The dress fit perfectly! I would have preferred it to be a bit longer but thats just my personal preference because I have really long legs. Overall the fit was perfect.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Body type: Apple
Weight: 162lbs
May 2, 2013
PERFECT!
I'm 5'2" and I was concerned about the length but it fit perfectly! I have an apple shape and it was "just right" at a size 12 (I would have picked at 14 as a back up if they'd had it but it wasn't an option). This dress is perfect for a wedding, party, funeral, etc. Black eyelet with a dramatic "lower" back . Pair it with black heels and a pop of color in the purse or jewelry and you're set for the night. As someone who is often self conscious - this dress made me feel pretty, elegant and just perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 6, 2013
Bachelorette Party...good dress for turning heads in a classy way!
Dress fit great...not too tight or too fitted. Even though I am only 5'2", it was short enough to be sexy. Several other reviews stated that then lining was too long and they were right! I also had to buy fashion tape to fix them hem in the lining so that the overlay looked right. The dress was not in "new" condition and was kind of faded. Overall, the dress worked, but not sure it was worth the 50.00 rental with the issues it had.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
May 8, 2013
Perfect LBD
This dress was my backup. I really liked it and had a hard time choosing between it and my number one choice. It was extremely comfortable, flattering, and the lace aspect put it into the trendy realm. I had trouble choosing between this dress and the other one I ordered, so I asked a few of my guy friends to help me pick and the score was 2-2!! I ended up not going with this dress because I felt the other one had a little bit more personality, but this would have been a great choice too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 14, 2013
Loved it!
The perfect LBD. The lace was gorgeous and the low back and zipper made it a little sexier. Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
May 20, 2013
Classic Little Black Dress
This dress was absolutely perfect for a college graduation dinner party I attended. I received so many compliments on it! I loved the black lace overlay on the dress as it made it for a classy look. Adding my own "pink bubble necklace" really added a nice touch. The dress itself ran pretty true to size; however, it was a little shorter than I expected it to be. I am in love with all Lily Pulitzer dresses and i will definitely be renting this designer again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 1, 2013
Flattering, easy dress!
This dress runs large, I am a 4-6 and went with the 4 which was even a little loose in spots. I wanted an easy LBD for my friend's rehearsal dinner, and this was perfect. The lace details add some interest. It was short which is perfect for me since I am short, but be careful if you are taller than 5'3".
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×