Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Black Jeanette Dress

$40 rental
$298 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look comfy chic in this Lilly Pulitzer black lace sheath. A great style for any bridal shower, girl's luncheon, or casual date night out. Go with a pop of color by renting the Gerard Yosca's Vintage Jade Crystal Studs.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace mesh. Bateau neckline. Scoop back. Cap sleeves. Back exposed zip. 32'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
281 reviews
Fit
Large55
True to Size201
Small18
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 30, 2014
Fit like a glove!
I LOVED this dress! Definitely did not want to return. The fit was perfect. So flattering!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 100lbs
September 28, 2014
Rent the runway dresses usually fit great, but not this one
The dress was too large and not flattering at all! I ended up sending it back.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
September 8, 2014
Classic and Comfortable, great with a statement necklace!
Loved the dress! Fit like a glove but hid my post preg belly! Great length for someone who is on the petite side! Def simple but looked ravishing with statement necklace!!!!!! Loved using this site!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
September 1, 2014
can be dressed up or dressed down
I rented this dress for our 2 year wedding anniversary date night... I needed a dress that was nice but not too dressy because I din't want to wear heels. I wore gold sandals with it and it worked well! (Can't see in the picture because we only had a self timer haha) I typically wear a size 4 but I know from previous rentals to get a size smaller too because a lot of these designer dresses fit much different than dresses I buy at the mall. I ended up needing to wear the size 2 which fit perfectly. I am only 5'3" and the dress is a but short as you can see... especially when sitting! Just a heads up for all you taller ladies!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 31, 2014
A fun, Lilly Pulitzer twist on the LBD!
This was a true to size, easy to wear, dress that was both classic and fun. I'm always a size 4 or 6 in dresses and I wore the 4 because the 6 was too big through the waist and shoulders. I loved the back of this dress, the exposed zipper, and the delicate sheer touches of material on the sleeves and bottom. A few other reviewers mentioned the lining being longer than the dress, which I only noticed when I sat down. To me, this wasn't a big deal given how well the dress fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 30, 2014
Great
Loved it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
August 23, 2014
Cute and Classic
This dress was perfect! It's a simple black shift dress with a little something extra with the zipper in the back and the lovely material. I wish I owned it!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 22, 2014
Perfect LBD!
I'm typically a 4 petite and I was afraid that the dress would be long on me, however it hit an inch or so above my knee which was perfect. I ordered the 2 and the 4 because I saw that reviews said that it ran big, however the 4 fit me perfectly! The dress was comfortable to wear for a long day in NYC, and my only complaint was that the slip kept riding up. Everything came neat, clean and on time. I wore this to the opening night of a Broadway show and I would say I was dressed for the occasion! I am very pleased with my purchase.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 12, 2014
Dress was torn to pieces!
This dress runs really small, even my backup size was too small. Ladies with hips beware. Also- if I even wanted to wear the backup, I couldn't because it was in such bad shape. The lining was torn to point of indecent exposure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
August 8, 2014
Great little back dress!
Wore this for a rehearsal dinner and it was perfect! It worked well as it wasn't too fancy but not too casual. It does run a bit short as I was going to wear heals with it but felt it was too much leg. Might not be for others. It was great material and fit great. I go so many compliments on it! I didn't want to return it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
August 1, 2014
Short and cute for a casual event.
I rented this as backup for a graduation. It was a cute fit, but short and casual for my event. The fabric is eyelet which is hard to see in some of the photos.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 1, 2014
Great dress!
It was a great dress and actually more casual than I expected. I was able to wear it twice--once to work and then during the day for a bachelorette party.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 23, 2014
Not what I expected.
I had ordered this dress for a birthday party. The lace was pretty and it was a short little black dress. Unfortunately, it was not flattering for me. I have big breast and it made it look like I was pregnant, which I'm not. It look like I was wearing a table cloth. I returned it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 23, 2014
Cute, comfy and versatile!
A very unique and comfortable little black dress. The only complaint I have is that it could have been a little more fitted in the waist but overall I loved it and would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
July 22, 2014
Perfect little black dress!!
I rented this dress in a 4 and 6 for a date night with my fiancé. It was perfect!! I ended up wearing the 4 because it was more form fitting and not as boxy as the 6. They were both short but I'm only 5'2 so it worked great. I wanted to keep it simple so I paired it with a small gold necklace and nude scrappy sandals. I actually ended up wearing it the next night to for a bachelorette party too... I got more than 10 compliments and didn't hesitate telling people where I got it!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
July 17, 2014
Great dress for an engagement party!
I wore this dress to an engagement party last November, and it was just perfect. The dress is true to size, I wore a size 0, and I am 5'2 and 105 lbs. If you are on the taller side I would say this dress might not be for you! It worked perfectly for me as I am petite, but I think someone taller might have a harder time with it. I dressed it up with some accessories, but it was super cute for what I needed it for.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
July 15, 2014
Love it!
The pockets punched out so I had to safety pin them flat.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
July 14, 2014
Beautiful Dress
I rented this dress for our anniversary dinner and it was really gorgeous. The lace was beautiful but just a little faded, as if it had been dry cleaned several times (as I'm sure it has been). The fit was great but it was a little short - thankfully I'm only 5'5 and I wore it with flats so it wasn't inappropriately short by any means. The only thing that was not great was on the way home, as soon as I sat down for the ride home the lining ripped on the left side from almost the top of my thigh to the bottom. I did not notice any tears in the lining when I put it on, but I think it may have been torn a little. Thankfully we were on our way home so it wasn't noticeable. Overall a beautiful dress I would rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
July 14, 2014
LOVED LOVED LOVED
This is by far one of my favorite RTR dresses and I wish I could have it in my closet! After reading some reviews, I was worried it might be too short but the fit was great and perfect length on me. The dress was great for our date night and I would rent this again!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
July 10, 2014
Loved the fit! I felt great all night!
Loved this dress. It was perfect for an evening wedding that was more on the casual side. It fit great and I was comfortable all night!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 8, 2014
Easily Dress it Up or Down!
The dress was a bit shorter than I expected but still appropriate. I am larger in the hips so I had to size up to prevent the dress from bunching up. Loved the dress tho!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 6, 2014
Classic LBD
I rented this dress to wear as an usherette in a wedding. The dress fit very well--it's a little loose fitting, but it seems that's how it's supposed to be. There is a flower pattern on the dress (hard to tell in the pictures). I think it looks much better on a person than on the hanger. Overall, I liked the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
June 30, 2014
Always works out !!
Loved the dress !!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
June 28, 2014
Classy and Comfortable for a Magical Birthday Night in New York!
The dress was perfect for my birthday night in New York. I knew we were going to be walking a lot and it was going to be hot, so I wanted something I could wear sparkly flip-flops with and still look cute. This dress was perfect! I uploaded a couple pictures. You can see it runs a bit big in the one picture, so I belted the dress with a white belt and it looked so cute! Highly recommend this dress!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
June 25, 2014
The dress was great!
Rent the runway is awesome and I had an amazing first experience. The dress was not worn out and looked very nice. It also arrived on time. I ordered a 10 just in case to make sure it wasn't too short but the 8 ended up working perfectly.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 24, 2014
Loved it!
I really loved this dress! I wore last summer for a wedding. Very comfy, fit great and could be dressed up with a chunky statement necklace. Would definitely recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 23, 2014
The detail on the sleeve stands out, very cute!
Great fit! Fit perfectly, wish I could have kept it. Perfect lace little black dress;)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 16, 2014
This dress looked amazing on. I wanted to wear it, but I decided to wear a color.
It fit extremely well
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 15, 2014
Perfect for graduation
The dress was a tad short but overall perfect. I actually wore the 6 & 8 as it was really hot out and after sitting for 2 hours I was a bit sweaty. Went back to hotel and changed into a fresh dress. Couldn't really tell much of a difference in the sizes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
June 13, 2014
Oh What a Night!
I wore this for my bachelorette party. It was an unexpected surprise, as the original dress I ordered was damaged. This was sent in its place. What a blessing in disguise. So gorgeous. Simple. Classic. I should have ordered this to begin with.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 12, 2014
Classic black dress
Sadly wore this dress to a funeral but it was so classy with just a traditional string of pearls....really beautiful. Grandfather would have been proud.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 28, 2014
I felt amazing, beautiful and classy in this dress!
The pros of this dress are that it is one of my favorite brands, affordable to rent, flattering, and beautifully constructed. The cons are only that it is short and runs one size small. I am normally a 2 and wore a 4.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 23, 2014
Classy Little Black Dress
I was happy to see that this Lilly dress ran true to size. I ordered one size larger as my backup but wore the size 10 comfortably. The material did not require a slip underneath and I was able to wear a regular bra. The lace detail in the material made this LBD the perfect choice for dinner and a night on the town after. Lilly dresses always seem to fit perfectly on my shorter frame.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 21, 2014
Something my grandma and boyfriend both loved! Timeless & sophisticated
I loved this dress! I felt classy and beautiful on my graduation day. The lacy detail sleeves were my favorite. I would say the dress runs true to size, but I had trouble deciding between the 4 and 6 because it is not a very fitted dress in the midsection. I went with the 4 so it was more flattering & less bulky looking around my stomach, even though it was a little short and somewhat tight on the neckline. I am tall & have broad shoulders though, so it might have just been me. Overall I really can't complain! It was amazing to wear a dress my modest grandmother thought was beautiful, while at the same time my boyfriend thought I looked awesome in.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 21, 2014
Great, simple little black dress
Wore this dress to my graduation, which was at night. It was the perfect mix between night time attire, and a family/graduation sort of feel. The pattern doesn't show well in pictures, but looked nice in person. It was a little shorter than I anticipated, but still fine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 19, 2014
Just the right mix of flirty and serious!
I wore this for my PhD graduation. I live in Hawaii so was worried it would be too dressy, but I wore it with black sandals and it was perfect. The dress was very comfortable and hit just the right note between fun (it was short) and serious (the conservative neckline was good for the occasion). It is very straight through the waist, so I ended up wearing one of my own belts to cinch it in. I wore the 2, but the 4 also fit, just was a bit looser and longer.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
May 19, 2014
A classic
I was between sizes for this one and ended up going with the 0. A great staple - easily dressed up or down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 15, 2014
Fantastic LBD for daytime!
Wore to a Mother's Day Brunch. Fit was overall pretty great but take note of the length. I'm 5'1 and the 2 was a bit short, fine for wearing with flats but a no go with heels. Lovely shift dress with nice lace detailing and a gorgeous back. Would rent again for a summertime event like a rehearsal dinner, date night, or brunch. #day-to-night #summer #LBD #petite
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
May 14, 2014
Classic and comfortable!!
I really loved this dress! It was perfect, and I wish I could have kept it! The dress was pretty short, even on me. I'm only 5'2'' and would have felt uncomfortable if it was any shorter. The lining did come down below the dress in the front, but that was an easy fix with some fashion tape. Perfect for my boyfriend's graduation ceremony, but would also be appropriate for a more formal event. Thank you RTR! I'll definitely be renting again soon!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 10, 2014
Classic LBD and a perfect fit!
I received several compliments on the dress! It accented all the right places and the length was perfect. Loved it!!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×