Rent the Runway

Lilly Pulitzer

Black Jeanette Dress

$40 rental
$298 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look comfy chic in this Lilly Pulitzer black lace sheath. A great style for any bridal shower, girl's luncheon, or casual date night out. Go with a pop of color by renting the Gerard Yosca's Vintage Jade Crystal Studs and the Kate Spade's Emerald Anastasia Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace mesh. Bateau neckline. Scoop back. Cap sleeves. Back exposed zip. 32'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

264 reviews

Fit
Small 17
True to Size 191
Large 53
Photos 89
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Nov 14, 2011

It looked just as cute with rain boots as with heels!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to an engagement party, and it was cute and fun. I loved the neckline and the shoulder detail. I was worried it would be too short, but it wasn't. I might have been more worried about the length if I had been doing a lot of dancing or sitting.
JayCee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147 lbs
Nov 30, 2011

My entire family told me how skinny I was. And I really impressed them by finding a Lilly Pulitzer dress in black. Who knew I was so fashion savvy? On a student's budget, this experience was phenomenal.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a fabulous dress. It is comfortable, forgiving, and most of all gorgeous. I have to warn you though the exposed back zipper is a yellow gold color (something I couldnt tell from the photos and was disappointed about because I do not wear yellow gold). That aside, I still loved the look, and hey, I dont have to look at my own back =). Additionally, I just lost a few pounds, so fitting into the size 6 at 5'7" and 147 lbs was quite exciting. If you check out the photo I uploaded (and cropped my sister out of), you can see it is not quite as short on me as it is on the model, so that was comforting. I very much enjoyed this delicate-looking dress and would recommend it to anyone. I usually wear an 8, so since the 6 fit, you may want to get a backup in a smaller size versus a larger one as I tend to do.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Dec 1, 2011

RTR was a greatttt experience! I chatted with Katy a stylist to talk about the delivery. One of the girls even called to make sure that I had received the delivery- talk about customer service! The employees at RTR went above & beyond to help me with the delivery. I am completely grateful that they helped to make the day of my brother's wedding a day where I can look back and remember how wonderful it was. Not only was I so happy for them, but I felt pretty & happy! Big smiles in the pictures thanks to RTR!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loveddd this dress! It fit well, wasn't as short as the picture appeared. It photographed really well- so when I look back at my brother's wedding pictures- I am sure I won't pull a "What was I wearing back then?!" reaction. Dress was demure and timeless. ("So Pippa!" says my friend.) The perfect palate for fancying up with green jewel earrings, the green jeweled bag, cocktail ring and lace tights! Classy & current! Could a girl ask for much more? :)
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Dec 3, 2011

beautiful dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Super cute, simple black dress. The lace was really pretty in person, and the zipper added a nice touch to the back. It was a tad bit short (especially while dancing), but not too revealing. This dress definitely runs big, I'd rent a size smaller for your back up size. Great dress!
Sarah
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 2, 2012

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Really cute and hides trouble spots well. The 6 fit as well but was a bit on the small side. Nothing too fancy, but you can dress it up with accessories.
Amie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 3, 2012

Pretty black dress, wore it with black ankle booties and sheer black tights.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I'm 5'10 and this dress was my pick for NYE out for dinner and dancing. The dress was short, but not inappropriate for a night out. I am pretty busty (34DD) and the 6 was slightly loose. This dress would be perfect for hiding tummy trouble zones, but if you are thinner, don't expect the dress to be fitted around your middle. Pretty lace but does not really stand out in a see a black dresses.
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 20, 2012

The dress arrived on time, looked and fit great, and I got to wear it for a very special occasion in my life.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
When I got called to interpret for the President, my first stop was to Rent the Runway. I needed a dress that would be conservative and appropriate, yet also allow me to feel beautiful and comfortable while standing next to the leader of the free world on a stage before hundreds of people. This dress delivered in every way! It felt true to fit and was very comfortable. I usually wear a 6 or an 8 in dresses; wore the 8 because while both zipped, the 6 was too snug in the hips.The dress was slightly shorter than expected considering I'm only 5'3", but still much longer than it appears on the model. It's rare I find a dress that's figure-flattering without alterations, so I highly recommend this one!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 3, 2012

I recieved so many compliments on the dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! It was beautiful and understated; I punched it up with gold open-toed heels. I usually wear between a 0 and 2, but chose the size 0 because it hugged my body better. I would definitely reccomend this dress!
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Apr 30, 2012

Great LBD that I've rented multiple times!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Absolutely loved this dress and got so many compliments on it. I wore it to an afternoon bridal shower, but it definitely was nice enough that I could have worn it to a wedding. I usually wear between a 10 and a 12, but I was happy to see that the 10 fit. Update: I ordered this dress again to wear to either a wedding the night before New Year's Eve or to a New Year's Eve party...and I loved it so much I ended up wearing it to both!
Francesca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
May 13, 2012

The overall look of the dress and its material!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for my school's father daughter dance and loved it! It is rather loose in the mid-section so don't be afraid to go a size down. My only issue with this dress was the hips. I am curvy in the hips and such, and it did ride-up slightly when I would walk. The detailing of the dress are really pretty and much more intricate than in the picture. I got so many compliments and felt really classy and pretty all night. Highly recommend it!
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 9, 2012

Tons of compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress..fit more snug than I expected but very flattering. Got compliments all night!
Margaret
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 10, 2012

loved!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Rented this dress for my sister's graduation party. it fit perfectly and was very slimming! I wanted to keep it!
Cassie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Aug 22, 2012

I have never liked a black dress as much as I liked this one. A must rent!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ordered this dress for a rehersal dinner. I absolutely loved it! The fit was great and it was just dressy enough without having me look like I was over doing it! Wish I could have kept this one in my closet :)
Jessica
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Aug 24, 2012

There were too many compliments to count or remember just one! My husband has been desperately trying to find this dress for sale - he loved it THAT much!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my wedding rehearsal dinner - and it was a stunner! I rented the 6 and the 4 but ended up wearing the 4. It is definitely a bit short, but not inappropriately so. My (now) husband loved it so much he wanted to buy it for me. I felt so sexy - and I only wore it with black flip flops! I can't imagine how hot this would look with heels and a great clutch. LOVED It!
S
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Body type: Athletic
Aug 28, 2012

Awesome and easy dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
So glad I rented this at the last minute. dressed it up easily with jewelry and heels. fits true to size.
Maria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 31, 2012

Cute and Classy

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I normally wear between and 2 and 4 but I wore a 0 in this dress. The 0 fit very well but it was a little shorter than I expected especially with heels on
erica`
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 4, 2012

Adorable

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for an engagement party that I was hosting and absolutely loved it. So adorable and received so many compliments. Really considered buying it after renting it. The dress does run big. I actually ordered sizes 10 and 12 and they were too loose. The RTR team was great and shipped out another dress the night I received the ill fitting dresses and received the size 8 the next day! So helpful. Totally recommend this dress.
christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 5, 2012

Birthday Dinner..not the best picture but give you an idea of how short it is and im only 5' 4"

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I rented the dress last minute so size 0 was only available 2 would have fit better but luckily the dress runs a little big.
Colleen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Sep 10, 2012

Graduation Star

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for my college graduation and loved it! I chose this dress over the back-up. I usually wear around a size 3, and the size 2 was a perfect fit on me. Fitted, but in a flattering way! It hit a little lower on my thigh than it appears on the model, so I can imagine it would be pretty short on a taller girl. It was a little more snug than I would have liked across my chest, which is somewhere in between a B and C, but it's because the dress doesn't have a ton of stretch. My favorite detail is the sheer and lace overlay on the sleeves. However, the sheer part at the bottom of the skirt kept rising above the black underneath, so I kept pulling it down, until I finally gave up. Even then, it didn't take away from the dress. In a sea of black dresses, this dress made me stand out!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 16, 2012

Convenience, convenience, convenience. Had a wedding in DTW but don't live there. Dress was waiting.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit. Small in the chest but worked well for me. Was unsure about the dress from the picture but the fit and simpleness of the dress was great. It was comfortable and had a scoop in the back Was the perfect length
Alison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Classic Little Black Dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was gorgeous and fit perfectly. My only complaint is that the lining on the dress was much longer than the lace overlay. I didn't have any fashion tape on me, so I had to tape the hem with bandaids. They did the trick, but were annoying and started coming off towards the middle of the night. If it weren't for this issue, I would have given 5 stars.
Carly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 20, 2012

Felt sexy and super comfortable. I wore it from the ceremony all the way into the night. Perfect!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is true to size. It is not as short as it appears on the model. The zipper in the back adds nice detail.
Jillian
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

All of the compliments I got from my sorority sisters!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
It was a little bit longer than I had imagined, and a bit more square in the fit. Otherwise it looked great and was very classy!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 30, 2012

Perfect LBD

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit perfectly! I wore this for sorority recruitment and couldn't be happier with the way this dress looked and fit. It is a little short, so be careful!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 24, 2012

Classy and fun dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a college reunion. The cut is more flattering than I expected. The lace detail, particularly on the cap sleeves, adds interest beyond a boring LBD. And the low back and short length take the dress from casual into party/evening wear. I received lots of compliments.
Angie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 26, 2012

Loved it so much, I bought one too.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I actually liked this dress so much, I ended up buying it when I found it on sale on Amazon.com! The dip in the back is really sexy, but still allows you to wear a normal bra (hallelujah!!). It also works well for a range of events, from a shower to a date to a night on the town, though it is probably too casual for cocktail or semi-formal. The dress was very figure-flattering on my slim/hourglass frame, and would work well on a range of body types, though it might end up a little tent-like on someone with a full chest. I usually wear a 0-4, depending on how fitted a dress is through the hips. This is quite fitted through the hips, but runs a little big, so I wore my usual size 2, those with narrower hips may want to size down. Also, it was a bit long on me, just a few inches above my knees, and definitely not mid-thigh as on the model. I am planning to have the dress I own hemmed.
Tory
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 28, 2012

Couldn't have been happier!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was the perfect LBD! The fit was great and I absolutely loved the lace and back zipper details. Definitely would recommend!
Brittney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Nov 14, 2012

Perfect Party Dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I got this dress for me and my boyfriend's combined birthday dinner/party. This dress was SO flattering. It was slimming in all the right places and I felt comfortable and sexy in it the entire night! Note, I think what really added to it was the kate spade emerald green earrings I rented also!!
Haley
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Nov 26, 2012

I wore this dress for graduation and a pinning ceremony. I got SO many compliments on my LBD.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I was only worried about it being too short, but since I am short, it turned out great.
erin
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Nov 28, 2012

Perfect Thanksgiving dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for Thanksgiving dinner and absolutely loved it! Both cute and classy, Lily Pulitzer's design proved to be quite the crowd pleaser. In fact, my grandma wanted to know where she could get one in her size! Pros: Classic, flattering, cute lace sleeve detail, family appropriate without being frumpy, great fit Cons: Cap sleeves may not flatter everyone
Faith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 3, 2012

I wore this dress to a fraternity's formal and everyone loved it!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
great fit through the torso, didn't originally realize the shoulders were slightly capped which made my shoulders look slightly broad but it was easily fixed by wearing my hair down. Appropriate length for a formal event as well. Also wore Lee Angel Tie up necklace and a thin sparkly gold belt to bring in the waist.
cje
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 6, 2012

Adorable dress - sizing is a little "off"

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented both the 4 and 6 for an October wedding. In dresses I can be anywhere from a 4 to an 8 depending on the dress and designer but based on the prior reviews of this dress, I opted for a 4 and 6. The 6 was a little boxy - the lining hung lower than the lace overlay which I took as a sign that it was too big. The 4 seemed to fit better - was definitely more fitted, less boxy and gave me some shape. It looked adorable with a funky necklace. I have to admit - it was a little on the short side (and I'm only 5'4") and I was mildly self-conscious sitting in church for the ceremony. Overall, a great dress and depending on how you are built, you may have to be a little careful.
Geri
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 22, 2012

Very cute little black dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a christmas party and it was my back up in a size 8. I ended up wearing this dress because it was flattering and comfortable. There is no stretch to the dress and the sleeves make it hard to raise your arms (the only uncomfortable thing about it). I am 5'5 and it hit me a little longer than mid thigh. It is a very simple but pretty dress and I wore it with a necklace that i rented as well. It was great!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 27, 2012

Such a Classic! I didn't want to give it back!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore it to a trunk show I hosted at my sorority house for RTR and then out for dinner with friends. It was great.
Hanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 21, 2013

STYLIST REVIEW

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I would suggest going down a size for the free back up if you have a smaller bust. It was fitted, and didn't have any stretch, but you could still get away with going down a size. It was also very comfortable. Throw on a pair of nude or black heels, a great statement necklace and you are good to go!
Sara
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 13, 2015

Hugged in all the right places without being uncomfortable or showy.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ordered both the size 2 and 4. I tried on the 4 and it was comfortable, and dared to try the 'size down' and so glad I did! It fit perfectly and didn't look too tight. The reason for 4-star rating is that the liner was slightly longer than the lace overlay and one little part was snagged on the front.
LC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
May 10, 2015

Nice dress, runs a bit large though

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Dress runs a bit wide, so would have been more flattering in a size down. Otherwise, nice dress but nothing overly exciting about the style.
VRod
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
May 10, 2015

Not for tall girls.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a wedding rehearsal dinner but did not wear it because it was way too short for my fancy. The neckline and sleeves a are very cute but for someone who is 5'8" and loves wearing heels, I would not recommend it...unfortunately .
Kelsey
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
May 11, 2015

Great party dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the dress, very forgiving, not too tight anywhere. However, this dress does not provide much give, and is a little on the shorter side, so you may want to consider a different dress if you plan to dance a lot!
Kerry
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
May 19, 2015

Good Lilly Dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I needed a LBD. This is more casual then I was hoping for, but it is still pretty, and I love the way Lilly dresses fit.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×