Lilly Pulitzer

Black Jeanette Dress

$63 to buy
$298 retail
Stylist Notes

Look comfy chic in this Lilly Pulitzer black lace sheath. A great style for any bridal shower, girl's luncheon, or casual date night out.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace mesh. Bateau neckline. Scoop back. Cap sleeves. Back exposed zip. 32'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
290 reviews
Fit
Large
(56)
True to Size
(205)
Small
(21)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
January 11, 2014
Fun and flirty!
I wore this dress for a bachelorette party. It was a super cute dress, perfect for the occasion, and garnered a lot of compliments, but I don't know that I would rent it again. The length was perfect- not as short as on the model (I am 5'4)- and great for dancing. However, I am not large in the chest (32B) and with the wide neckline and scoop back the dress did not fit well in the shoulders and I felt like it was always hanging a bit lopsided. The exposed zipper in the back was super cute, but it did not lie flat and rippled down the back. I am normally a 4, sometimes a 2 in dresses, and the 2 was a tad bit big. In spite of the fit issues, it was a fun and flirty dress, and I had a great time wearing it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 20, 2014
Everyone loved this dress.
It made me look model thin
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 137lbs
February 22, 2014
Classic, elegant dress that can be dressed up or down.
I think it runs a bit big!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 19, 2014
Just the right mix of flirty and serious!
I wore this for my PhD graduation. I live in Hawaii so was worried it would be too dressy, but I wore it with black sandals and it was perfect. The dress was very comfortable and hit just the right note between fun (it was short) and serious (the conservative neckline was good for the occasion). It is very straight through the waist, so I ended up wearing one of my own belts to cinch it in. I wore the 2, but the 4 also fit, just was a bit looser and longer.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
June 28, 2014
Classy and Comfortable for a Magical Birthday Night in New York!
The dress was perfect for my birthday night in New York. I knew we were going to be walking a lot and it was going to be hot, so I wanted something I could wear sparkly flip-flops with and still look cute. This dress was perfect! I uploaded a couple pictures. You can see it runs a bit big in the one picture, so I belted the dress with a white belt and it looked so cute! Highly recommend this dress!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
June 30, 2014
Always works out !!
Loved the dress !!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 100lbs
September 28, 2014
Rent the runway dresses usually fit great, but not this one
The dress was too large and not flattering at all! I ended up sending it back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 5, 2014
It was a cute dress but not the best.
The dress was very cute and comfortable. It was not too short on me since I am short. It was baggy in the stomach so I added a belt to give myself a waistline. Overall, it was fun and cute but not my favorite dress. I would recommend it though because you can add a belt and play the dress up with jewelry.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 23, 2014
Gorgeous and perfect!
I actually wore this dress for part of a Halloween costume one year- it was fantastic! Tons of compliments, very flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 18, 2014
Great product!
This dress was the perfect match for my holiday party. It did run a bit big and I wish I had gotten a size 2 versus 6 for my alternative size. I received many compliments on the dress and will definitely rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
March 3, 2015
I ended up wearing something from my closet.
I didn't wear this dress for my occasion, instead I was forced into my own closet. It was too long on me and looked silly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 10, 2015
Nice dress, runs a bit large though
Dress runs a bit wide, so would have been more flattering in a size down. Otherwise, nice dress but nothing overly exciting about the style.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
June 29, 2015
Perfect LBD
This dress fit very well. It does run a little large, but I took that in to consideration when ordering. Definitely size down! It's a perfect LBD with just enough detail to not be boring but not too much that you are the center of attention.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 13, 2016
na
A bit short and looked a little more worn than my usual rentals but overall very fun and versatile dress. Could have worn a smaller size except for length.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Age: 37
April 20, 2016
Did not wear it to event bc it didn't fit...very disappointed bc the dress was so cute!!
This was my first time ordering and it came really fast! I received it the day before my event; however, it was too big so I sent it back the following day.....I didn't know whether or not I could actually return it for a refund or credit? Is this possible??? I do think the site is great though and will definitely try it again!!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
August 24, 2012
There were too many compliments to count or remember just one! My husband has been desperately trying to find this dress for sale - he loved it THAT much!
I rented this dress for my wedding rehearsal dinner - and it was a stunner! I rented the 6 and the 4 but ended up wearing the 4. It is definitely a bit short, but not inappropriately so. My (now) husband loved it so much he wanted to buy it for me. I felt so sexy - and I only wore it with black flip flops! I can't imagine how hot this would look with heels and a great clutch. LOVED It!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
March 7, 2013
it was beautiful
it was a little bigger than i expected. and the cotton material was not exactly what it looked like online. but i still really like it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
October 22, 2014
Super cute with subtle details!
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner for a friend. I wasn't in the wedding party so didn't want to be flashy. It has a flattering neck line but is a little boxy in the midsection. You can't tell in the picture but it has a subtle eyelet overlay fabric with some sheer areas on the cap sleeves. The subtle details elevated the dress and it was perfect for the event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 4, 2012
Cute and Comfy
The dress ran large, but was REALLY short on me. But overall really happy with a comfy, cute party dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 16, 2012
Great length for petites!
I ordered this for a friend's bachelorette party. I normally wear between a 2 and a 4, and I ordered a 2 based on the other reviews. The 2 fit easily. I still had plenty of room in the mid-section area, but I think the 0 would be too small in the chest. It was a great length -- short but not too short -- something that is very hard to find at my height (5'2")! Great dress. Would definitely wear again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
September 13, 2012
This dress is simple yet elegant.
The dress runs a little large, but it was very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 12, 2012
Great simple dress for a wedding!
This dress runs big, just like all the other Lilly dresses. I thought it was nice, yet simple. I wore it with nude pumps and a beige clutch which worked well for end of summer/early fall. Not my best pick from RTR but it worked!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
January 16, 2014
Cute
I rented this for an anniversary dinner with my boyfriend. It was cute and perfect for the summer. It's a bit more casual than I thought it would be, but it still worked. I rented both a 4 and a 6, but the 4 was a bit more flattering, so I went with that one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 28, 2014
A bit frumpy because too big.
This dress was too large so it hung loose and looked box shaped on me. I love all Lilly, and a zero is always my size so I was surprised this dress didn't work!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 16, 2016
Fits small!
I'm so glad I got a backup size bigger in this dress- anyone with a larger booty may need the extra room. Also, the size 4 I received had a tear in the extremely sheer liner. Not a bad LBD, but definitely wouldn't consider renting again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
August 7, 2016
Tight in the hips/butt
Was really excited to try this dress- but unfortunately had only the 4 available. While I'm normally a 4, this dress felt really tight in the butt/hip area. If you're a pear shaped like me, consider sizing up or picking another silhouette.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 17, 2016
Sexy LBD!!
Wore this in Vegas to dinner with my husband. I felt very sexy in this dress as it hugged everything but also hid some other things! There was absolutely no give to it and I truly could have used a 6 but there were not any available. As soon as I bent down, the dress tore exposing my hip. I was able to use black fabric to tape onto the inside of the dress to cover up my hip to get home from dinner. Quite embarrassing but it worked!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 10, 2012
loved!
Rented this dress for my sister's graduation party. it fit perfectly and was very slimming! I wanted to keep it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
July 12, 2012
AMAZING!
I absolutely loved this dress. It runs a tiny bit small, I'm usually a 6 and this was a little bit tight in the hips but otherwise, its so great. The scoop back is really pretty, and just sexy enough to wear out to a casual dinner with out feeling over dressed. I've been searching EVERYWHERE to find one that i can buy! LOVE LOVE LOVE!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
August 10, 2012
I will rent this again. Count
This was ahhhhh-mazing. I have runner legs that tend to look great, but occassionally make me feel like a 10 pound sausage in a 5 pound bag. This really showed off my legs and was completely flattering. I wore the dress as a bridesmaid to a wedding in which each of us got to pick our own casual black dress. I wore it with nude peep toes-- it was perf. As far as body types, I am a marathon runner with a chest, so I tend to be all over the place with dress cuts. I had a 10 and 12 shipped, but since I was going to a wedding, I went with a little looser fit than the 10. This was perfect. So, so perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 23, 2012
Very fun dress, albeit short!
I loved this dress, wore it to a rehearsal dinner- yes, it's short (although I'm on the tall side) but I have the legs to pull it off. Just don't bend over... Very comfortable & perfect for evenings in the summer. Does not run as large as most Lilly's.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 4, 2012
Cute
This was a cute dress, but fit weird on my hips, the 6 was WAY to tight on my hips, the 10 fit well. This was really pretty and I still got a ton of compliments but it wasnt my favorite rental
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
September 24, 2012
I liked the material and design.
I usually wear a six, but had to go up a size. The eight was still a little tight around my hips and shorter than in the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 28, 2012
Cute Dress
The dress was really cute but slightly less formal than I expected. The material is a little more "cotton-y" than it appears in the picture so keep that in mind if you're renting for a more formal occasion. Its also very slim fitting/short I ordered a 2 and a 4 and wore the 4. I was unable to wear heels due to the length so tall girls watch out!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 21, 2012
Really cute dress, but wasnt fitted for my body.
I wanted it to be a bit more "sheath," but the dress was more of a curve hugger. Cute, but wasnt what I was going for. Probably wouldnt rent it again. (Small in the hips)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
December 7, 2012
Not my style and didn't fit me well.
I usually wear a 6, but the dress was a little too tight in the hips. The 8 was too big and baggy. Even if it would have fit, it was too short for my taste. I think this dress is more appropriate for a very casual event, nothing fancy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 12, 2014
Classic black dress
Sadly wore this dress to a funeral but it was so classy with just a traditional string of pearls....really beautiful. Grandfather would have been proud.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
October 11, 2014
casual and comfortable!
wore this to a rehearsal dinner! so comfortable. runs a bit small!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
October 26, 2014
This dress was simple but elegant!
The dress looked FABULOUS on, but the bottom part of the skirt had no give. I've rented this dress twice and BOTH times the slip under the lace overlay had a huge tear in it (once in the back and once on the side). Presumably this was from someone sitting down in the dress! The 10 actually fit much better on the top, but the bottom was so tight that I went up to a 12!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 6, 2015
I added green earings with it to dress it up.
The dress can work for a lot of things casual or more dressed up. Get your extra a size up because it is short I couldn't bend over at all. It was my bad for not getting an extra size. I'm usually always the same size.
See more reviews:
2 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×