Rent the Runway

Lilly Pulitzer

Beauty Within Dress

$30 rental
$250 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go for that ultra feminine look with this Lilly Pulizter lace sheath. Classic and everything you need for that special date night out. Shown here with the Rebecca Minkoff Handbags' Not So Demure Clutch, Oscar de la Renta's Halcyon Cluster Earrings, and Miriam Haskell's Secret Garden Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black synthetic lace (67.2% Cotton, 18.5% Nylon, 14.3% Rayon). Cap sleeve. V neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden center back zipper. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

190 reviews

Fit
Small 35
True to Size 143
Large 3
Photos 78
Caitlin
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 24, 2012

I hosted a Gala for the non profit I work for- and this dress was PERFECT for the event!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was great. I am a bit busty and it covered my chest which was perfect for a work event. The hem came to just above my knees and I could move around in the dress as it wasn't snug at all! Loved it.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132 lbs
Sep 25, 2012

Dress was gorgeous. Eyelash lace at the bottom was exquisite

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit very true to size for a 4. Was not too short and I am 5' 8", came mid-thigh.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 8, 2012

Great LBD

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This fit like a glove and was very classy and flattering. I was extremely pleased and would definitely wear it again.
bailey
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 12, 2012

when my boyfriend told me I looked beautiful in this dress.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was perfect for the wedding I attended. I'm usually a size 0 or smaller but recently gained some weight and the 2 fit perfectly! I was able to dance and move all night without worrying about wardrobe malfunctions!
Sadie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 24, 2012

I felt like a million bucks!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is gorgeous and fit me like a dream. I couldn't have been happier. Alas, I forgot to take a picture that night, but I felt just great in it and received lots of compliments. The cap sleeves and lace hem are so incredibly feminine. I had a somewhat formal business dinner to attend, and I paired it the dress with black strappy heels and pearls. It was fab, just fab!!
Monica
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Nov 19, 2012

LOVED this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit true to size, and even with being 5'1, the dress was not too long, it hit right above my knees. It was so slimming and flattering and VERY comfortable - I loved it so much I think I may buy the dress new for full price so it can be my perfect LBD!
Laura
Age: 28
Nov 20, 2012

Elegant dress for an evening wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The only thing I didn't like about this dress is that it was a little tight in the bust - otherwise I loved it!
Brittni
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 25, 2012

AWESOME! I wish I had full body shot to post, but everything was amazing. BEAUTIFUL.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Perfect. If anything, I wish there was a hem option because I have short legs, on me the dress hit right above the knee and on the model its mid-thigh.
Mackenzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Dec 13, 2012

Rehearsal Dinner Staple

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great option for a rehearsal dinner that I wasn't sure what to wear to! Wore it with tights, which made it work well for a Fall time event. Very true to size...I am 5'9" and wasn't too short for the event.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Dec 15, 2012

Love This Dress!!!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was my backup for my husband's company party. I wasn't happy with my original choice, so I tried this on and was sold the minute I zipped it up. It fit like a glove, but wasn't tight or binding. I have a bit larger chest than most size 2 ladies, but it fit well. I felt beautiful and sexy in this dress. My husband said it was the best looking black dress I've ever worn. I received many compliments at the party, too. I wish I had more formal events to attend to justify buying this dress. Loved every minute I was in it!
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 18, 2012

Perfect fit

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my company holiday party, it was a hit! This dress fit perfectly in 00. It flattered all the right parts and the neckline worked really well. No fashion tape needed. I dressed it up with the Elizabeth Cole Crystal Navette Bloom Ring, Kate Spade Agathe Gold Sparkle Summit Bag and Oscar de la Renta Moderne Emerald Earrings. I would definitely rent it again.
Alyse
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 27, 2012

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for my class reunion and it was perfect! This was my first purchase from RTR but I was very pleased. I got a ton of compliments and I felt very comfortable in it. I am typically a size 6 but I ended up wearing the 8. The 6 definitely fit but I was just slightly more comfortable in the next size up. I have a fuller bust and am pretty modest on the cleavage, this dress was perfect for this, showing the right amount of skin without feeling exposed. My guy friends were huge fans :) I will definitely be renting this or others by the same designer again!
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Perfect Little Black Dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for new year's and absolutely loved it! The lace makes the dress both classy and a little sexy too. I'm typically between and 2 and a 0, but the 0 fit so well that I didn't even bother trying the 2 on. Definitely one of the most flattering dresses I've rented!
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 13, 2013

Great LBD

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Cute and trendy without being to revealing. I wore it to a formal event for work.
Ann Marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 22, 2013

I received so many compliments on this dress thank you RTR!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I got the 6 and the 8 and I ended up wearing the 6, I actually never even bothered trying on the 8. I wore for a night out in Vegas and it was great, it is a very fitted dress and there is not stretch in the material all and it tight in the hips but when I put Spanx on everything worked great. I would definitely rent this dress again maybe even purchase it!
Erin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 28, 2013

It's an incredibly flattering fit, and manages to be classy with a touch of sexy all at one.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Only watch out is that if you like to dance, the sleeves might cause some chaffind on your upper arms. I had some red marks on my skin from the sleeves, but that was after a few hours on the dance floor.
Justine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Feb 10, 2013

Didn't wear but fit great!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was my backup dress so I ended up wearing another one, but this one fit great I would definitely rent again for another event! Runs true to size
Linda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 11, 2013

Great dress, just didn't fit me right.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was very tight under my arm in both sizes. Otherwise, the fit was pretty good, but I could not wear either because of the tightness under the arm. I have muscular arms so maybe this was the issue.
Joanna
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 14, 2013

Very pretty, but not quite right.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit beautifully in the waist and hip area, but was way too small in the ribcage. Gorgeous, but better for a less full bust.
Jaye
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 15, 2013

Classic LBD, lovely lace

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress as a backup and the size I ordered was just a smidge too fitted for a lot of sitting and eating. But I could tell that it was a very well made and flattering dress, and I'd certainly be interested in renting it for a different occasion.
girlygirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 3, 2013

pretty lace

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
this dress was gorgeous, and pretty much fit true to size (I rented the 2 which is my usual). However, it was really tight over my shoulders (I have a pretty athletic build, broad shoulders) and would have been uncomfortable so I had to return without wearing :(
lia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158 lbs
Mar 5, 2013

beautiful and classy

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
dress has no give, order true to size. i ordered an 8 and a 10 and went with the 10. the dress was perfect for the occasion (charity event). I thought it might be a little on the plain side but i was totally wrong. the detailing was amazing and it was very interesting and flattering.
Stacy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 12, 2013

Classy and elegant

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a formal Christmas dinner party and it was perfect! I ordered a 4 and a 6 and the 6 fit like a glove. Comfortable, classy and I received lots of compliments. Highly recommend!
Sabrina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 12, 2013

This dress fits like a glove!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a fun weekend in Atlantic City. It was sophisticated and sexy at the same time. I recieved so many compliments as I walked through the casino and the hotel. It was so comfortable, the dress felt as if it was tailored just for me. I didn't have to adjust myself once. Definetly reccommend this dress for a night out on the town or for a dinner with someone special, either way you're bound to get compliments!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 13, 2013

Perfect for a winter engagement party!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress - it was perfect for a winter engagement party! It was comfortable, flattering and I loved the detailing at the hemline.
Emily
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Mar 16, 2013

Wore this for engagement pictures and absolutely loved it- fit perfect and was gorgeous

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Perfect condition, could not have been happier. I was so happy when I opened the box and tried it on. It was exactly what I hoped it to be from the pictures. Highly recommend. I love this dress.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175 lbs
Mar 25, 2013

Dressy yet comfortable.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was perfect. I have a larger chest and this dress hugged my curves perfectly but wasn't too tight where I didn't feel comfortable or couldn't sit. Would recommend it for a fancy party or wedding. The only thing was that the sleeves kept falling down but I would have been fine if I had used the tape.
Cassie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Mar 28, 2013

Great dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm in between a 4 and a 6 in fitted dresses through the hip, and so the 4 was a smidge too tight, but I was able to make it work (read: spanx). I believe it's true to size and the fit was great!
Kiley
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 15, 2013

Many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Great dress. Very flattering. Recommend.
Melanie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103 lbs
May 3, 2013

Classy

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is flattering without being revealing--I work it to a black-tie-optional formal affair for work--and fit right in among the cocktail dresses and more traditional floor-length dresses. I felt confident and comfortable the whole night! The lace detailing is great. RTR was fabulous; ordered on a Saturday for a Tuesday delivery.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×