Rent the Runway

Lilly Pulitzer

Beauty Within Dress

$30 rental
$250 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go for that ultra feminine look with this Lilly Pulizter lace sheath. Classic and everything you need for that special date night out. Shown here with Miriam Haskell's Secret Garden Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black synthetic lace (67.2% Cotton, 18.5% Nylon, 14.3% Rayon). Cap sleeve. V neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden center back zipper. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

195 reviews

Fit
Small 36
True to Size 145
Large 3
Photos 79
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 1, 2012

Beautiful Little Black Dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is super easy and gorgeous. This dress runs very true to size, but since there is no stretch I would recommend sizing up for your backup. This hit about 2-3 inches above my knee. The lace overlay makes this a really classy, yet fun dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

Wore this to my sorority initiation.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Was so comfortable, and chic. Didn't have to wear a bra with it either.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 17, 2012

Fantastic fall wedding dress!

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress I rented for a fall wedding I attened. I ordered a size 00 knowing that Lilly can run a little big on me. It fit perfectly wasnt too short and wasnt too long and it looked awesome with a pair of heels. If you know what size you wear in Lilly thats what size I would order!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

Classy dress and perfect fit!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was absolutely wonderful for a Saturday night wedding. The lace was beautiful and I got compliments all night. I was a bit concerned because my bust is a bit larger for my small stature, but I filled out the dress perfectly. I had a bit of extra room in the stomach area, but I'd rather have more room than a tight fit : )
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 12, 2012

Loved this dress- did not want to give it back!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a young alumni event for my college in DC. I loved it. I got lots of compliments and it was perfect for the occasion. I was unsure about the gathering in the front but it was not bad. I definitely recommend this one! I wore it with a gold DVF rented clutch and rented Gerard Yosca earrings and black suede pumps.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117 lbs
Nov 13, 2012

Perfect dress for a wedding

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to my cousin's wedding and it was perfect. The dress was very flatering on and extremely comfortable to wear.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 131 lbs
Dec 10, 2012

First RTR Dress and loved it ! Wore dress to a gala it was the perfect dress for the event.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pro's - Length perfect, style was very elegant Con's - just a little tight in the bust area
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 28, 2012

Classic dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was super cute and very classic to wear to various events. It fit very well other than the straps fell down a lot after a couple hours. However, my favorite part was the clips under the straps so you didn't have to wear a strapless bra.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 9, 2013

Perfect the a NYE wedding

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm very petite at 5'0" and normally have a hard time finding clothes that fit right. The 00 not only fit perfectly, but it wasn't too long on my petite frame. The sleeves had clips on the inside to clip your bra in place, didn't have to worry about straps falling out. It was elegant and great for a night out. Would buy!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 21, 2013

This dress was perfect for my bachelorette party!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress hugs my curves in all the right places and really complimented my hour glass figure. The back of the dress and the sleeves have see through lace which ad a sexy feel to it. I love it and wanted to keep it forever. Def a timeless and classy little black dress
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Feb 12, 2013

This was a Ventines day party the dress was perfect. Not too short, just rite. Very true to size.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very nice dress, happy with everything
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 23, 2013

GREAT dress and accessories (thanks RTR) for a GREAT night out!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Pros: Loved the style. The lace is like a modern twist on traditional lace, but still very classy and elegant, yet sexy. I liked the cut of the dress on top (V-cut in front and back) in addition to the scalloped hem and little cap sleeves. You can also wear a bra w/ straps w/ this dress. Cons: Fit a bit snug in the bust area and I'm not a big-busted gal.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142 lbs
Mar 15, 2013

I felt so cute and it was super flattering! Could be great for winter formal or summer affair.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my winter formal. Although it wasn't much for cleavage, It was super flattering on the bust I thought, I didn't need to wear a bra. It was a little tight at my legs, but I have bigger thighs, it was also a little tight on the arms. I love the neck cut, and it's an extremely photogenic dress. I would definitely recommend it!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Mar 26, 2013

I wore this dress to a work event and it was a great fit!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It runs true to size but as other renters have said, if you are bigger up top, it is pretty tight. It fit me perfectly around the midsection and was a great length, just tight around my shoulders. I wore it with nude peep toe heels and a nude clutch with gold accents.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 29, 2013

Young and Classy!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the way it fit and how comfortable it was! What was great about it that even though the back was somewhat low and the shoulders were lace I was still able to wear a bra with straps and no one new! I would definitely purchase this dress if I found it on sale! I wore this to a school fundraiser and received many compliments from those my age and older...classy and elegant but still fun!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
May 8, 2013

True to size. Love the fit.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a bachelorette party. Everyone complimented me on the dress and how well it fit. It was a little snug around the breast area. The length was perfect just right above the knees. This is definiately a dress I will rent again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
May 16, 2013

the dress fit perfectly. i couldn't be happier with my choice to use rent the runway!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
the fit was true to size, there is a little clip to hold your bra strap in place...not much to complain about this dress. I recommend sizing up instead of down for the second size. I got so many compliments and will definitely rent again!!!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
May 21, 2013

Such a lovely dress. I felt great wearing it.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It's definitely true to size so I'd recommend going with a size up, since it's tightest around the waist/ribcage. Great dress, very comfortable, I felt wonderful wearing it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 28, 2013

LOVE this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for my birthday. The fit was perfect. Some reviews said the chest was pretty tight but I did not have that problem and I am a 34C. I got so many compliments throughout the night- my favorite was from a complete stranger, "I love your dress! Very italiano!" I felt beautiful all night and did not want to take it off! This was my first RTR experience and I am in love with the company!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 129 lbs
Aug 21, 2013

Had a fun time wearing this simple yet classic Lilly!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I LOVED this dress. I would definitely buy it as my go-to LBD. I wore the 4 instead of the 2 as it definitely seemed more snug than most Lilly dresses I have rented, but the fit was just great and I got many compliments. Would recommend pairing with some gold strappy heels and bold accessories.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 29, 2013

LOVED IT!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Amazing dress, great fit, got compliments all day! The lace & liner have no stretch so the 6 worked better for my shape then the 4. The length was perfect on my short 5' 3" frame. I wore spanx under to smooth everything but the lining is heavy enough I probably could have gotten away without wearing them. Loved how I felt in this dress, would definitely rent it again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 11, 2013

I loved pairing it with bright, fun shoes! Really made the dress pop!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great! Instantly slimming and really fun!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 30, 2013

Great dress for a wedding. Perfect fit.Super comfortable.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit my curves perfectly & was super comfortable for a long wedding day/evening. I got so many compliments all night! Would definitely recommend.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 12, 2013

Perfect LBD

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Awesome little black dress. Fit so well, even in the chest area. Would absolutely rent again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 6, 2013

Another easy RTR experience!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Overall, the dress fit on the smaller side - I could fit into a 2 but it was tight/hard to move in. The 4 gave me comfort and ease of dancing, wearing it all night. The quality of the dress was fantastic! Appropriate for numerous occasions - timeless, classic look!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 10, 2013

It was perfect for the occasion, so many compliments on the dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It definitely runs smaller, even if you are familiar with Lilly sizing . I normally wear a XS or S in Lilly, but I wore a 4 in this dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Nov 27, 2013

Love this dress! Classic LBD

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore it to a work function and felt like a million bucks. It can be dressed up or down. I wore it with a blazer and tights. Fits really well, wasn't too tight anywhere and definitely flattering. Would definitely rent again!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175 lbs
Dec 1, 2013

Lots of Compliments!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very comfortable and flattering! Not a lot of stretch to the fabric so if you're between sizes, choose the higher size or wear Spanx but it is true to size. I hate my arms but the cut of the straps were flattering. Nice length, too. Broke it down on the dance floor with no trouble!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 20, 2014

Interpretive Gatsby

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I absolutely loved this dress! I am seriously considering buying it if it ever comes across my path. I wore it to a Gatsby themed party and dressed it up to look inspired. There's nothing you can't do with a LBD and this one is perfect for any occasion (even costume parties) ! The dress is very true to size, especially for Lilly. I feel like Lilly dresses can either run a little small or be right on point, for me this was right on point. And the biggest plus? You can wear a bra with it. How many dresses can you say that about ?
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127 lbs
Feb 23, 2014

gorgeous and so comfortable!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
i loved this dress so much! even at a very formal wedding, this beautiful dress felt elegant yet was still so comfortable to dance in. I would reccommend especially for girls with a bigger bust who don't want to have to worry about pulling up strapless dresses.
RTR Customer
Age: 27
Mar 22, 2014

Sexy, classy, perfect

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Dress was very beautiful. I had to go a size up and a size below what I normally wear because the size 0 was unavailable. As expected, the 2 was loose around my waist and the 00 was tight on my chest. I ended up wearing the 00. The chest area loosened up very slightly throughout the night, so I could breathe a bit easier. If you lift weights and/or have a larger bust, the arm and chest area will probably be a bit snug. My arms were red where the sleeves rubbed against them. The dress went down to my knees, but I expected that since I'm only 5'0. The lace at the bottom of the dress was a beautiful touch.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 64
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 21, 2015

First cocktail party hosted by my daughter.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit perfectly! I wore it to a cocktail party that my daughter hosted so I wanted to look good next to all her young friends. I'm only 5'1" and the dress came to a little over my knees. Flattering. The bodice was a little snug, but that's what I wanted. I live alone so zipping up the back was problematic -- but since the party was my daughter's I just had her finish zipping me when I got there. I got lots of complements, many women telling me that I should buy the dress since it looked so perfect on me. It was a win!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 25, 2015

Loved this dress!! Wore to a wedding! Lots of compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit true to size
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 9, 2015

I felt great in this dress and it wasn't too short or long (since I'm short this can be tricky)

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
When I picked out the dress I was risking quite a bit since I'm in between a 2 and 4. While a bit tight the dress was great! Loved the fact that I could wear a normal bra with it. I rented this for a Valentine's Day party and due to weather I was unable to send back my dress in time. I contacted RTR and they waived the late fee, I wasn't expecting that but it was so great that I didn't have to worry about trying to get it back. I would definitely rent this again!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 20, 2015

Great dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was great except for the chest area. I am only a 32 B and it was big and the stitching made me look a little pointy! but overall I loved the fit and had many complements!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
May 17, 2015

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
It fit very well, not too tight not too loose. It looked amazing on me and I could dance in it. As usual loved the dress I rented.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 20, 2015

Little black dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
The dress itself runs really small and isn't the most flattering for hour glass figures. The lace looks a bit worn. The dress itself wasn't my favorite--it was kinda blah--but would be a safe option for cocktail parties.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 22, 2015

wedding

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit perfectly and it was super comfortable.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 10, 2015

LOVED THIS DRESS

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was beautiful and classy. I loved the lace material - felt stronger than a lot of the other overlays and was very comfortable and easy to move in. Also loved the buttons on the straps to hold the bra in place so it wouldn't peek out. I had to wear the 4 because the 2 was unavailable, and I noticed it felt a little big all over, but not overwhelmingly big that it was unwearable. The 2 would probably have fit perfectly.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 16, 2015

Order a size up. Looked beautiful, but I couldn't wear it because it didn't fit.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Runs a little small. No give or stretch in the fabric. V-neck bunching on chest looks a little strange as well.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×