Rent the Runway

Lilly Pulitzer

Beauty Within Dress

$30 rental
$250 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go for that ultra feminine look with this Lilly Pulizter lace sheath. Classic and everything you need for that special date night out. Shown here with the Rebecca Minkoff Handbags' Not So Demure Clutch, Oscar de la Renta's Halcyon Cluster Earrings, and Miriam Haskell's Secret Garden Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black synthetic lace (67.2% Cotton, 18.5% Nylon, 14.3% Rayon). Cap sleeve. V neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden center back zipper. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

190 reviews

Fit
Small 35
True to Size 143
Large 3
Photos 78
Lauren
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 27, 2014

Great dress for a great price! Simple and elegant!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I was very nervous as this was my first time ordering from RTR. I read previous reviews and sized up to girls that seemed my size. I ordered a 2 and a 4. Right out of the box it looked like the 2 would fit perfect. It fit perfect on the bottom half, but the top was very tight! I didn't put into consideration that I had bigger muscles from playing softball. I ended up wearing the 4 as it felt like there was more room in the arm/bust area. Although I had more room in the 4, by the end of the night, I had red marks on my arms from where the dress was too tight! The dress was also a little longer than it was on the model but that is because I am on the shorter side. So ladies, take into consideration your arms and bust area! Otherwise, it is a great dress and I was extremely happy and will be renting again!
alison
Age: 27
Mar 22, 2014

Sexy, classy, perfect

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Dress was very beautiful. I had to go a size up and a size below what I normally wear because the size 0 was unavailable. As expected, the 2 was loose around my waist and the 00 was tight on my chest. I ended up wearing the 00. The chest area loosened up very slightly throughout the night, so I could breathe a bit easier. If you lift weights and/or have a larger bust, the arm and chest area will probably be a bit snug. My arms were red where the sleeves rubbed against them. The dress went down to my knees, but I expected that since I'm only 5'0. The lace at the bottom of the dress was a beautiful touch.
Alexandria
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Mar 30, 2014

Wore this beautiful LBD for a spring wedding. Add jewelry for pops of color for different seasons.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was true to size. Wore a size 2 and had a size 4 for back-up since I have a larger breast size. Length fell above knee. A little tight at arms but never bothered me throughout the night. Perfect dress to wear and add pops of color with jewelry. Love love love it!
Lucia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 30, 2014

Love that I can return by noon on Monday since my rental ends on a Sunday. Very helpful.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The size 2 (size I usually wear) was a bit tight, so I went with the 4 and it for great. Just the right length, not too tight in the hips or arms. Loved the little snaps to hold bra straps under the sleeves and how the back dipped lower than the front. The bust was a bit loose (the 2 for better here) but overall it was great. I felt great and got tons of compliments.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 13, 2014

The Lilly Pulitzer dress was perfection!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I am naturally a size 4, but since my size was not available for the date, I went up a size and it still fit nicely. This was so perfect for the formal date, and I would suggest it for any formal occasion!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 20, 2014

Perfect, professional but sexy

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a formal event for a school organization. The dress fit perfectly in the hips and bust and was a little looser than it could have been in the waist, but it was still very flattering, comfortable to sit, eat, and dance in, and I received a lot of compliments! I loved the detail of the lace on the bottom, and that there were loops under the sleeves to hold bra straps in place. This was my first rental and I'm looking forward to using RTR again!
Sarah
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Apr 25, 2014

Perfect little black dress, great for petite women!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit true to size, and I'm so relieved! Being so small, things don't always fit the way I would like them to, but this dress was perfect! Very comfy and fit like a glove.Great first experience with RTR, and a perfect little black dress!
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

The ease and convenience of the website, plus receiving it in the mail and return!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was absolutely stunning! It is true to size with not much give. It fit my body perfectly and like a glove. The black is very complimentary! I ordered and 2 and 4 and didn't have to even try the 4 on because the 2 was perfect - and typically a my size.
Lizzi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 17, 2014

I got engaged in this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! I wore it for New Year's Eve, which also ended up being the night I got engaged! It fit a little snug, mostly in the chest area which is typical for smaller lilly sizes (for me at least). The lace detail on the dress is beautiful and the style is very flattering.
Jenny
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
May 18, 2014

I wore this dress for my college senior gala -- it was wonderful!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Love love love this dress. I'm a busty girl, and this was the first dress I didn't have to wear a bra with. The bust is a little tight, but holds the girls in place really well. The detail is lovely, and it's a great twist on the little black dress. I felt comfortable and gorgeous all night! Thanks, RTR! I didn't want to send it back!
Victoria
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 27, 2014

perfect dress for a summer wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The original dress I ordered from RTR came and was way too big so I had to scramble and kindly asked RTR to overnight me this dress, which I almost ordered first anyway. I am SO happy that the first dress didn't fit because I absolutely loved this Lilly! I am a big Lilly fan in general and this is one of my favorite pieces I've ever worn. The fit was perfect, the material was not hot at all (outdoor, early evening May wedding) and it was just the right mix of classy and fun! I kept getting complements on it and I am currently on the hunt to find it to purchase myself! Highly recommend renting this one!
Maggi
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
Jun 1, 2014

This dress is a great twist on the classic lbd!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was very true to size, however, if you are petite it runs a bit long. The lace is a nice touch. Overall, very happy with this rental.
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 10, 2014

Beautiful dress for day or night

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Unfortunately someone returned the size 0 I was supposed to get ruined so I was forced to wear back up size 00. Overall the fit was good, tight in the arms so if you have big arms size up but if not you can either go with your normal size or size down if they don't have it as the middle is loose (but comfortable and not baggy). Lace is beautiful to wear during day with bright Jewelry and sandals or at night with heels.
Danica
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 17, 2014

I got so many compliments on this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved this dress. I have really broad shoulders so I sized up to a 4 and the dress fit perfectly! It was fitted at the bust and waist and fitted but not tight down through my stomach, hips, and legs. I wore a slip under it to make sure it wasn't see-through. It was extremely comfortable and I received a lot of compliments on it!
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 7, 2014

Perfect LBD!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I typically wear a size 8, based on the other descriptions I ordered a 6 and an 8. As luck would have it the 6 was return to RTR severly damaged so I was able to choose another dress any price range and be sent 2 sizes free of charge while still being sent the 8 in this dress. I did not like the other dress I choose so thank goodness the 8 was not damaged however it was tighter than i had hoped for. I like a little more room in the belly section for comfort but I did receive many compliments all night on how it made me look skinny. All in all even though I would have preferred a bigger size I was very happy because it was comfy to wear and dance in.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117 lbs
Jul 7, 2014

The ultimate summer LBD... easy, cool, festive, pretty

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is a lovely dress provided it fits! There is very little 'give' to the fabric so if it hangs nicely, you will be all set. The top has a few extra gathers of puckered fabric which add nice detail if they fall properly, so it is not a dress for the generously-endowed! For a hot late afternoon outdoor wedding, it was perfect. I can understand why others indicated that the sleeves can be tight; there is a narrow band of fabric edging that is slightly smaller than the sleeve itself. This is a beautifully-made dress; the underslip slides on easily and the over-layer of cotton crochet lace is substantial without looking heavy. I was totally delighted (yet again) with RTR!
Dina
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Jul 14, 2014

Beautifully made dress

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is stunning and fits very well. It is a little tight in the armpit area, but I would definitely wear again.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 21, 2014

Felt absolutely stunning in this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Size 6 fit perfectly. Didn't have to wear a bra with it (and I never go without and I felt completely comfortable!). I absolutely loved the dress and wish it were mine. I am so sad I have to return it! It was the most perfect dress! Got so many compliments and felt so beautiful! Will rent this one again and again!
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 27, 2014

So easy!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was my 4th Lilly Pulitzer rental Bc I love the dresses and fit. This dress was definitely smaller then other Lilly's. I am normally a size 6 or 8 with plenty room but this one i could have worn a 10. Still worked out great though!
Ciara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127 lbs
Jul 30, 2014

Classic, elegant dress that was perfect for a wedding

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit perfectly. I'm a bit wider in the hips but it still fit really well. Normally a 2 and this fit true to size.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 1, 2014

Great Dress for a Fall Wedding

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a great dress for an October wedding. Very flattering and loved that you could wear a regular bra and hide the straps!
Amanda
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Aug 10, 2014

This was a very flattering dress and made me look slimmer

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress and the way it looked on me, I got tons of compliments. The fit felt a little snug but comfortable. The only downside was the arms felt tight, but I have an athletic build. Overall I would definitely rent this dress again!
Erika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 14, 2014

Loved this LBD!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is super classy and flattering. It runs maybe a touch small but if you can zip it up, it'll suck you in. It does ride up when it's snug though so I recommend sizing up.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Sep 22, 2014

Very flattering, classic LBD. Easy to wear and style. Good fit.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was pretty true to size. I am petite but athletic, and I found the dress to be a bit more narrow in the shoulders and chest and roomy in the stomach and hips. The black lace and neckline were very flattering. I received several compliments.
Lydia
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 94 lbs
Sep 29, 2014

Perfect dress for a fall wedding!

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am on the petite side and this dress fit perfectly! It runs true to Lilly Pulitzer size. The length was perfect and I loved the little clips on the inside for your bra straps. This dress was super comfortable and easy to move around in. This was my first RTR dress and I will definitely be renting again!!
Coleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Oct 5, 2014

Gorgeous, but tight!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress for a wedding in a 0 and 2. I am always a 0 in Lilly, but the dress was very tight in the chest and arms, so I opted for the 2 even though it was a little big in the hips (not big enough to notice a difference because the dress is black, but if it had been a different color you could have noticed) and it was still a little tight. I loved this dress, and it made me feel gorgeous, but by the end of the night I couldn't wait to get out of it, which is uncommon for me in Lilly dresses.
Dahlia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 7, 2014

The perfect LBD!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I LOVED this dress and got so many compliments on it when I wore it as a wedding guest! It's breathable and comfortable enough to dance in, while still looking formal enough in all its LBD glory. The straps were a bit loose on me, since I'm petite, but there are hidden snaps inside that you can secure around your bra straps to keep them more secure. My only complaint with the dress I actually had was that the zipper in the back didn't go quite to the top - my boyfriend's mom had to put a couple of stitches through the zipper to keep it in its proper place! Otherwise, I think this is the perfect dress for anything at all and I would love to rent it again :)
Jacqueline
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Nov 13, 2014

My first RTR experience was great and it was fun trying a new dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress. Can be dressed up or down depending on your occasion.
Andrea
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 1, 2014

So comfortable and classy!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved this dress. It was extremely flattering and perfect for this fall evening wedding.
Jackie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 7, 2014

The customer service was AMAZING. I will absolutely be renting again!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
I felt the dress fit true to size. I carry majority of my weight around my hips and thighs so I was slightly concerned when I read some of the other reviews, however it fit wonderfully and I was able to stick with the 4. Also, the size 6 in this dress was returned to RTR "damages beyond repair" a customer service rep contacted me and allowed me to pick out a second dress to fill the size void. Cannot wait to rent again.
Ana
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 144 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

Nice dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was very but small on top
Deirdre
Top Contributor
Age: 25
Jan 25, 2015

Love it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Fits tts. Loved it! Perfect for my bday dinner date night out.
Alice
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 26, 2015

loved the dress. great fit, very flattering.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
appropriate length for a wedding even though I'm on the tall side. very comfortable, easy to wear. loved it would wear it again. looks better in person than on the model pic
Lizzie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 15
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 1, 2015

LOVE THIS DRESS

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Other
Perfect dress for my schools black and white themes black and white themed Sadie Hawkins dance! The sleeves were a little constricting on my shoulders for dancing but other than that, my dress fit nicely. This was my first dress I rented from RTR and the customer service was great! Definitely will rent again!
Gina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 9, 2015

Classy and sophisticated

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to an outdoor wedding in March and it was perfect for the weather (70/80s in socal). The sleeves were a tad loose on me, I was conscious of my bra strap slipping out - but it was not a huge problem. I could have worn a size 0 for a better fit to my body but I think I would've been very limited in movement and breathing space. The dress was appropriately classy but still youthful in length and V-neck open chest. The hem hit right above my knee when standing and it would come up 4-5in higher when sitting. Very comfortable and breathable.
RTR Customer
Mar 9, 2015

Classy and elegant!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Formal Affair
I fell in love with this dress!! It was actually painful to return. I wore it with plum shoes and pearls and felt so beautiful all night! It fit true to size and the lace detail is much more defined in person than the picture. I'm fairly curvy and usually have issues with dresses being a little lose around my waist and tighter around my thighs, however this dress hugged me well without being too tight anywhere and didn't accentuate any flaws! I was able to wear a normal bra and it was a good length for the fundraiser gala I wore it to. Definitely recommend this dress!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 7, 2015

Simple and elegant LBD!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! As someone with a very long torso, many dresses tend to be extremely short, but this dress was perfect! Anyone who has broad shoulder be forewarned - the back of the dress is a little tight. I was able to wear it comfortably, but it was definitely snug. It was a great choice for an evening Spring wedding
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 15, 2015

This dress was beyond amazing.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was amazing. It fit like a glove and I felt so good about how I looked. I wore it while working for a nationally broadcast concert and was able to run around corralling children yet look amazing for the events I had to attend afterwords. I wish I could have kept this dress, I would wear it to every event.
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 19, 2015

Surprising my little brother:)

Size worn: OO
Rented for: Formal Affair
Another perfect dress by Lilly. Beautiful black lace overlay. This one is perfect for day or night because it's lace and black so it can be dressed up or down. This Lilly is TTS rather than running large but it also comes in 00 which is rare for them. The bra hook straps are always well appreciated and the neckline isn't too much in the front with a subtle V in the back as well. This is a somewhat short dress if your torso is long like mine, so be advised. Gorgeous though. A re-rent.
Emily
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
May 4, 2015

Perfect dress for a winery wedding!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
I LOVED this dress! I did not want to return it! It was the perfect little black dress for an early April wedding in Temecula. I typically wear a size 2 in Lilly but found the arms to be a bit tight so I'm glad I had the size 4 as backup. The 2 would've been hard to dance in! The lace adds a little something! Pair with a fun clutch and you're good to go :) can't wait to rent this again!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×