Beauty Within Dress

$30 rental
$250 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go for that ultra feminine look with this Lilly Pulizter lace sheath. Classic and everything you need for that special date night out. Shown here with Miriam Haskell's Secret Garden Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black synthetic lace (67.2% Cotton, 18.5% Nylon, 14.3% Rayon). Cap sleeve. V neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden center back zipper. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
247 reviews
Fit
Large3
True to Size172
Small44
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
August 2, 2016
Sent a worn out damaged dress
The dress fit perfectly in size 4. Unfortunately the dress had a hole in the black lining at the waist area which was visible through the lace. The right sleeve was literally coming apart. This dress should not be rented out again without major repairs. I sent photos of the damages to rtr immediately after receiving it. I have not heard anything back. Very poor customer service.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 47
July 27, 2016
Loved it!
I wanted to keep this dress! I loved it and felt great in it all night. I was concerned at first that it would be too "plain," but the lace overlay and the scalloped edge is much prettier in person than in pictures. The 8 fit - but was tight, so I wore the 10 for comfort for dancing (and eating!!) I will keep this on a short list to rent again! I accessorized simply with a strand of pearls and a summer clutch bag and wedge sandals = done!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 23, 2016
Wore this for a wedding in brooklyn in October
The dress fit well. I had actually ordered this as my backup dress. I had ordered another dress I thought I would like better, but the other turned out to be too young for me (age 31). This dress is great because it is elegant but also fun and flirty and long enough to be respectable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
July 17, 2016
Simple snd elegant
The fit was true to size. Very comfortable. Great for a wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
July 8, 2016
Beautiful Dress
This dress was wonderful and fit like a glove! Simple and stylish- was perfect for a summer wedding. I received complements all night long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
June 5, 2016
Perfect LBD
Loved this dress. The arms fit a little snug but overall fit was good. I'm usually a size 4 but wore a 6 for more room and comfort. The length is classy but still fun and flirty.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 28, 2016
Got a ton of compliments!
I wore this to a fall wedding. It fit perfectly and I received a ton of compliments. I probably could have worn the size 4 but felt more comfortable in my hips to wear the 6.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 17, 2016
The perfect little black dress!
I wore this dress out for my friend's batchelorette in Boston! Unfortunately, I don't have a photo of me in the dress, but I can say that it fit true to size. My only compliant is that I have a broad back and it was a little tight around the armpits. Other than that, the length and style were perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 15, 2016
Perfect dress for a wedding!
I wore this to my friends wedding and received several complements! I typically wear a size 4 and had to do the 6 in this one! It ran a little small! Glad I ordered two sizes!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Weight: 135lbs
May 11, 2016
Perfect dress
This dress covered a lot more than I thought it would. I am 5'4 and it hit just above my knee. I am also a 34D and I was fully covered up top. So this dress was the perfect mix of sexy and conservative.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 4, 2016
The great service
Cute dress fits well.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 21, 2016
Classy, yet super comfortable and easy to dance in! No worries about my figure or strapless bra.
I usually wear a size 2-4 in most brands. (5'4'', 130lbs, 34B) This brand runs a little small I ordered this in 4 and 6, and am glad I got the 6 - it fit perfectly! Not too tight or loose, and I could wear a normal bra. Danced the night away, received a lot of compliments, and ate as much as I wanted. I would absolutely wear this again - I wish I owned it! Thank you, Rent the Runway!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
April 18, 2016
The dress was very comfortable to wear and easy to dance in.
The dress had a thing where you could hook in the strap of your bra at the shoulder so you didn't have to worry about your bra strap coming out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
April 13, 2016
Great dress for a formal country club wedding!
It's hard to see it in the picture but there is a nice somewhat lace overlay on the dress. I could have worn the size 4 but I felt like the size 2 fit better.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
March 1, 2016
Fit perfectly!
I wore this dress for a February wedding. I LOVED the way this dress fit. The V in the back and the front, with the cap sleeves, was gorgeous. I ordered the size 2 and 4 because I can be in between sizes, and I was very happy that the 2 fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 22, 2016
Perfect dress for a Midwestern fall indoor/outdoor wedding! Compliments all night.
This was honestly an incredible find to wear when I was asked to be a +1 for a wedding last minute. It's the right amount of classy without being prudish, and was super flattering on my (very flat) body. It does run a bit small, and is a little tight (NO STRETCH)--I usually wear a 2, and I don't think I could have worn it in a 2 without dying. The dress looks really short in the picture, which I was concerned about--turned out to be a non-problem. Totally normal length for a dress. As I already mentioned, there is *no* stretch in the fabric so don't count on that; it also gets a little tricky to dance in all night since raising your arms can be a bit trying. I would size up for your second size, but really, this dress is a knockout.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150lbs
February 21, 2016
?
I normally wear a size 10 but ordered a size 12 due to I had another Lilly dress and the 10 was tight. The 12 fit like a glove. Loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 15, 2016
Wore this dress for a Valentine's Day Chef's Table dinner at a vineyard. Love this dress so much!!!!
The dress fits perfectly. I have larger hips and thighs so I was concerned about the fit of a size 4. I am usually a 2 in a dress if it isn't fitted. It was a beautiful dress and it fit like a dream. I was very comfortable all night. I am considering purchasing this dress if I can locate it. Loved it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 9, 2016
Wonderful dress!!!
Fits- Tight (had to wear spanx), very cute though and great for dancing!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 96lbs
February 4, 2016
It was a wedding.
It was a great dress. Fit well, which i have a hard time finding so that was very exciting for me :)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
January 28, 2016
Wore it to fall wedding
Little tight around the arms
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 31
January 11, 2016
Perfect dress for company holiday party!
I wore this dress for my company holiday party and it fit so well! It was slimming and well constructed. There is very little give to the fabric so based on other reviews I ordered my normal size, 6, as well as an 8 and ended up wearing the 8 which was very fitted. This was my first RTR experience and I am HOOKED! The process was seamless and I was so pleased with the outcome- I will definitely be back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
December 22, 2015
Beautiful dress and lots of compliments.
It fit really well, i could have gone a size smaller but the 0 wasn't available to ship. I loved the lace design.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 22, 2015
Simple, flattering version of the LBD
This was a last-minute selection because my original choice was damaged. It turned out to be a great option, with beautiful details to make it different from the average little black dress (LBD). The length was appropriate for a formal holiday party, and the cut was flattering on my curvy body. The top plunged a little lower than expected, but it wasn't a problem or cause for adjustment/discomfort. I'd pick this dress again if I needed a LBD for another formal party. Worn with nude hose and black heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 28
December 20, 2015
Wore it to a work party
I wore the 00 to a work Holiday Party. Cute dress. Good quality.
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
December 20, 2015
this dress was prefect for a winter wedding and my husbands Christmas party!
fit perfectly and was super comfortable
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Weight: 150lbs
December 15, 2015
Wore this dress to my boyfriend's office holiday party...loved the fit!
I recommend sizing up for the back up size. I thought the size up was very flattering and I felt comfortable all night. This dress was very pretty and perfect for a work holiday party...I would definitely rent it again.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
December 15, 2015
It did its job
Overall, nothing went wrong with the dress or my experience with RTR. I'm the second person from the left in the picture, and I feel like the model picture is a very accurate picture of this dress. I just expected to like the dress on me a little more., but otherwise there was nothing wrong, just my personal taste.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
November 29, 2015
Amazing fit.
This dress was 100% STUNNING. Fit perfectly, not too low cut for a B cup, the length was a bit shorter than I liked (I'm 5'4 and had thigh high hose on), but it was BEAUTIFUL. Felt like a million bucks in it. Rent this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 27, 2015
Beautiful dress! Exactly what I expected.
The dress fit very well & was really comfortable. I usually wear an 8 but ended up wearing the 6.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
November 27, 2015
I ordered the size 10 and it was just a little too snug, especially in chest area. Order a size up.
Cute dress! I loved the cuff bracelet that a stylist sent me to wear with the dress (I paid $15 at checkout for mystery bling). But, dress was too tight. I had to send it back on day of my event and wear a back up dress from my closet. I usually get the free back up size, but that one was not available this time. I am disappointed. I usually wear a 10 in Lilly, but this dress is cut small.......especially in chest area.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
November 18, 2015
loved this dress
no cons
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 16
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
November 4, 2015
Chose this for Homecoming-loved the lace fabric!
Very tight in bodice/sleeves (might be best for A/B cup) but otherwise a beautiful dress!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 13, 2015
Great LBD
This dress was amazing. Unfortunately due to the person before me returning the dress late, I wasn't able to get my backup size 4, which I think would have fit a bit better; the 2 was a little tight. However, it looked amazing, the black color hid my stomach pooch and the dress hit at just the right length of mid thigh. I got compliments on it all night and can't wait to rent it again. I have never felt so confident in a dress at a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 33
October 13, 2015
Beautiful dress, great neckline, gorgeous lace
The dress fits true to size (perhaps just a shade on the smaller side), and it's gorgeous. The V-neck and V-back are flattering and give the dress a little something extra beyond a black lace dress. The length was just right (I'm 5'1 and the size 0 hit a few inches above the knee), and the scalloped lace on the bottom was beautiful. The dress felt like it had been dry cleaned a few too many times - you could feel the fabric was getting old - but otherwise it was perfect. Definitely recommend!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 12, 2015
Wearing this dress made me feel confident. I loved everything about it!
I LOVE this dress!! I wore this to a formal wedding with black pumps, and I got a ton of compliments!! It's comfortable, true to size, and makes you look super thin. The bra straps underneath the lace on the shoulders helped tremendously. The neckline is also very flattering- not too low, but just right. Sometimes I have problems wearing dresses like this because of my broad shoulders, but I didn't even have an issue with this dress. I would highly recommend this dress!!! It's a knockout!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 7, 2015
Beautiful dress, very comfortable.
This dress fit perfectly. I would have worn the 4 but there was a small tear near the left cap sleeve. The 6 fit just as well, not too big. My husband said he couldn't tell the difference. It was very comfortable to wear, the material was soft. Lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
September 14, 2015
Lots of compliments - subtle lace detail and nice length made it perfect for eve wedding!
I read almost all of the reviews for this dress and based my selection on that - it was truly ideal. I'm not big on top but I would imagine the fitted nature of the dress might present a challenge for larger cup sizes. The tightness of the straps was also noticeable but not bothersome. It was perfect for this wedding in terms of length and fit and I wore 4.5 inch heels with it too (I also paired with minimal jewelry and RTR Chrome Lattice Clutch.) The dress itself was in excellent condition and the lace detail made it stand out from just any "little black dress."
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 13, 2015
Perfect fit.
I got this dress as my backup and I am so glad that I did! I am familiar with Lilly sizes and my regular size 4 fit perfectly. I spiced it up with some hot pink peep toe pumps. My husband absolutely loved the dress on me and I felt great in it all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 8, 2015
Gorgeous dress! So fun to wear!
Great dress so flattering. Order a size up!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×