Lela Rose

Retro Brocade dress

$110 to buy
$1,610 retail
Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! This Lela Rose dress has retro flare. With sparkling metallic brocade, you'll be sure to shine in this sensational dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust sizes
WAIST: Fitted - full skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt does not hug hips or backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Product Details

Metallic brocade silk brocade. Scoop neckline. A-line pleated skirt. Black grosgrain ribbon at waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
72 reviews
Fit
Large
(12)
True to Size
(50)
Small
(7)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
April 28, 2015
Wore a backup dress because it did not come with the belt but it was beautiful.
True to size, darker colors than the picture might lead you to believe.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
May 14, 2015
The pattern on the dress was simple but FUN!
The dress is perfect for when you want to feel comfortable after eating. The Cons: The zipper was very hard to use. It took me a long time to zip up and needed assistance. I have a wide ribcage, so the dress was extremely tight on my breast. I was having so much fun, I forgot to get a full length photo, sorry ladies!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
July 5, 2015
The color is great in person! Even better than picture.
Was very tight in the bust, took a team to zip it up. Wish I got it in the size up, but worked for my formal.
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
September 15, 2015
It fit me perfectly! Accidentally matched my boyfriends groomsman suit too!
This dress was not my original choice, but I decided to go with it last minute & was so happy! Modest skin exposure, fits snug on top (and I have a 34A chest), length was also perfect, not too sexy or too frumpy (perfect for meeting the boyfriends family for the first time) I decided to go with the dress the night before the given event. The dress I had originally chosen was either damaged, or a late return and customer service worked with me (the night before my delivery) to ensure I had a dress I would love.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
September 24, 2015
test
test
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 29
October 8, 2015
I wore this for my 10 year high school reunion and received many compliments!
Overall it fit well, was a little tight across the rib cage, but glad that it flared out by the hips (my "trouble" area)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Work
Age: 35
December 20, 2015
It was nice, but not super wonderful.
Fit was a bit large in the waist, small in the bust. I liked the colors, not your basic LBD, but not flashy either. I rented this for a formal work event, I was constantly adjusting the straps as they were long and kept sliding down. The smallness in the bust would have been fine for any other type of event, but I kind of felt like I was too exposed for work.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 1, 2016
Beautiful fabric, but tricky fit
Didn't wear. I was able to get the 8 (my size-up backup) zipped - with effort, but it crushed my bust and was ultimately unflattering. The dress is supposed to come with a grosgrain belt, which probably would have helped nip in the waist. Unfortunately neither of my rentals included the belt. The result was a dress that was WAY too tight up top and loose at the waist. Of course RTR was fabulous and overnighted me a new dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
March 1, 2016
Overall, great fit and perfect for semi-formal event in the winter!
Neither dress came with a black belt, which I think it was supposed to. I used a friend's black belt to tighten at the waistline because it was a bit baggy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 6, 2016
Dinner & a Movie!
I really wanted to love this dress, but it ended up not being as exciting as I thought it would be. The material is nice and it fit true to size, but it just wasn't anything special. It was fine for a regular date night.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 62
May 1, 2016
how easy it was, the dress mae two days earlier than expected and there were no problems
the dress fit perfectly! I got so many compliments, and it was an amazing first experience with RTR
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
December 22, 2013
beautiful dress
I rented this dress for a Holiday work party. I loved the fit of this dress and it really flattered my pear shape. The dress is a gorgeous shade of blue and the shimmer in the brocade was perfect for this glam party. I wasn't a huge fan of the black belt that came with it, it made the dress look more casual. If I had planned ahead better I would have bought a metallic belt to replace it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 15, 2014
I received lots of compliments on this dress.
Comfortable, easy to dance in this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
July 22, 2014
Cute Dress, Nothing Special
I thought that this dress was cute, and it fit well. I wore it to a formal birthday party. But I don't think that it had enough pizzazz to rent again.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
August 31, 2010
Super cute dress! Fit true to size. I am usually between a 4 and a 6, and both fit fine, but the belt/waist fit best in a 6 for me. The dress style is flattering and modest, but still fun and exciting. Great for all shapes and sizes!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
October 11, 2010
I love this dress! I am generally either a 0 or 2, so I ordered both and the 0 fit best. The brocade fabric is stunning and looks very elegant. The dress is extremely comfortable and has that great 50s flair skirt. The belt was a little big but I used some of the enclosed double stick tape to cinch it. I also used the tape to adhere the dress directly to my bra so that nothing moved around. I loved wearing it and go so many compliments! The delivery and return was also soooo easy!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
May 31, 2011
Nice dress with a good fit for those of us with some curves. The belt that came with it wasn't my size so I had to subsitute with another belt...seems to be sort of a problem with dresses with belts at RTR! Not the most exciting style but it still looked good and I still got compliments. The dress flares in a pretty adorable way in the back, I must admit.
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
June 1, 2011
Incredibly A-line which I loved, but couldn't get it sipped on the side. I think it runs a little small. Great dress though and a perfect length right above the knee!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 31, 2011
Loved this dress! Like the last reviewer, I'm also usually somewhere between a 4 and 6 and both sizes fit me well. I decided to go with the 6 since there was just a little more room in the bust. I wore this to a fall wedding and it was perfect! I lost count of how many compliments I got throughout the night! It was easy to dance in and so comfortable. The wedding/reception lasted over 7 hours and I could have happily worn the dress another 7 hours. I highly recommend this one!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
January 3, 2012
Too long
It's a great dress for girls with curves, but for shorter girls, it's too long. It fell well below the knee. I ended up not wearing it because it was just too long, even with heels, and didn't look pretty enough for the party I was going to. Other than that the fit is good and flattered curves.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
September 9, 2012
too big
very pretty dress/material but too large throughout
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 18, 2012
Gorgeous Material, Great Fit!
This dress is so feminine and pretty- the fabric looks so rich and expensive, and the fit is perfect. I am smaller on top but have curvy hips so the fit/flare silhouette worked great for me! I wore this to a winery wedding, and it was a great mix of daytime and cocktail without being too over the top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Apple
October 21, 2012
Dress was super pretty and unique.
The side zip was tough, and wouldn't close over my bust, but it was easily concealable with a sweater.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 25, 2012
Very pretty material. The ribbon belt was to small. Easy fix with ribbon from craft shop.
This dress was easy to wear. I wore a regular bra. Got many compliments. It was above the knee but not too short. Most imortant my daughters approved!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
December 17, 2012
I felt very comfortable and well dressed.
The bodice of this dress in both sized (4 and 6) was very tight. I felt like I was wearing a corset, but not to the point of uncomfortable. I wore the size 4 because the size 6 gapped around the arms a little. I had people I didn't even know complimenting me on my dress. One of the wives was asking about my dress because she has several wedding coming up, so I referred her to Rent the Runway to cover her needs. I'll be renting from them again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 8, 2013
Beautiful dress!
I loved this dress...the color is fun, the shape is flattering and it's overall a very classy dress! The belt is a nice touch as well. I would recommend this to anyone! Note that the color and the material do make it a bit more formal.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
August 20, 2013
Beautiful colors
Really loved this dress. The colors on it are beautiful. Both sizes I ordered fit, but I went with the smaller size since the skirt wasn't as full on that one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 14, 2013
Serena and her amazing customer service.
This dress was sent to me as a back up when my original dress was not available. Very nice dress, but not what I was looking for for a formal wedding. I loved the blue color and this it would look adorable with black tights for a holiday party. Only the 8 was available for me to try, and it was too bight (I am normally a 6). Went with another dress that was available in my size. Fun to try though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 27, 2015
Great Dress!
Fit perfectly and loved the dress!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 25
December 20, 2015
Perfect fit and looked great in the evening!
Fit perfectly. It had little clips on the sleeves to hold my bra in place, didn't wrinkle in between sitting for dinner, ceremony, or dancing!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 11, 2016
I really loved the style & material of this dress, but it's definitely meant for colder weather!
My only complaint about the fit of this dress was that it was a little tight in the chest, but it wasn't uncomfortable. I really loved the style & pattern, but I was sweating profusely for the wedding ceremony, which was outdoors. Otherwise I loved it! (Note: Did not come with the black belt shown in the photo, and I saw other reviews that said the same thing. I notified customer service and they said they'd look into it.)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
November 17, 2016
cute, flirty, safe choice for a church wedding
Dress was comfortable, fit very well.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×