Rent the Runway

Lela Rose

Retro Brocade dress

$30 rental
$1610 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! This Lela Rose dress has retro flare. With sparkling metallic brocade, you'll be sure to shine in this sensational dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust sizes
WAIST: Fitted - full skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt does not hug hips or backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust sizes
WAIST: Fitted - full skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt does not hug hips or backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Metallic brocade silk brocade. Scoop neckline. A-line pleated skirt. Black grosgrain ribbon at waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

60 reviews

Fit
Small 7
True to Size 43
Large 9
Photos 16
Lindsey
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 31, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Super cute dress! Fit true to size. I am usually between a 4 and a 6, and both fit fine, but the belt/waist fit best in a 6 for me. The dress style is flattering and modest, but still fun and exciting. Great for all shapes and sizes!
Jenn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
Oct 10, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Love this dress. I have a large (DD) bust and it showed it off beautifully and brought attention to my neck. The full skirt felt very feminine.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Oct 11, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I love this dress! I am generally either a 0 or 2, so I ordered both and the 0 fit best. The brocade fabric is stunning and looks very elegant. The dress is extremely comfortable and has that great 50s flair skirt. The belt was a little big but I used some of the enclosed double stick tape to cinch it. I also used the tape to adhere the dress directly to my bra so that nothing moved around. I loved wearing it and go so many compliments! The delivery and return was also soooo easy!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 3, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was absolutely perfect! It fit true to size, gave a great waist line, and was comfortable. I got tons of compliments and felt great in the dress all night. Thanks RTR!
Carolyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Feb 7, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress, and it looked fabulous! The fabric was great quality and the fit was perfect, except for the belt, which was too small (strange that the dress fit but the belt was too small). Fortunately I used the belt from my alternate larger size and that worked fine. Got lots of compliments on the dress at my black tie party, and I will probably rent this dress as a sure-thing backup next time!
lmk
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
May 31, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Nice dress with a good fit for those of us with some curves. The belt that came with it wasn't my size so I had to subsitute with another belt...seems to be sort of a problem with dresses with belts at RTR! Not the most exciting style but it still looked good and I still got compliments. The dress flares in a pretty adorable way in the back, I must admit.
RTRenter
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Jun 1, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Incredibly A-line which I loved, but couldn't get it sipped on the side. I think it runs a little small. Great dress though and a perfect length right above the knee!
MizzSnoopy
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Jun 10, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is SO beautiful. The fabric has a really nice sheen and sparkle to it. For women that are more pear shaped, it's incredibly flattering! I felt really great in this dress, which I used for my engagement photos (and got so many compliments on it by the way!). If you're renting this dress, I would definitely order one size down if you're thinner through the waist.
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Aug 23, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
great fit and very forgiving. i'm 5'3", 135 lbs, and a 36C. the size 6 fit wonderfully. it's very mad men-esque. the dress just about hit the top of my knees, and showed just enough cleavage for it to be sexy, but still very appropriate for a wedding rehearsal dinner for all ages. i wish i owned this dress.
Amy
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
Sep 14, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This was my first time renting and it turned out good. It was a true to size fit for me at a size 8. They suggested your second size should be a size down. I did so and got a 6, which was too small. Being tall, I felt like the dress could be too short but I felt comfortable wearing it. They only sent one belt but it ended up being ok because the fabric was stretchy. Also, the metal belt hooks were falling apart. I quickly resewed and it was fine. Overall condition of the dress was good.
M Crawford
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Oct 6, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
The fabric is beautiful. It has more of a metalic sheen than you see in the picture. the problem i had was it isnt a good length for someone tall. I'm between a 10 and 12. the 10 fit better but was too short.
anam
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 13, 2011

Overall fit: Large
Loved the dress! Wore it to a country club wedding and felt perfectly dressed. The fabric was beautiful, and it was so easy to wear. The hemline was perfect. The dress seemed to run large, I wore the smaller of the two sizes and still felt like the bodice was too large in the chest. Nothing a little padded bra couldn't fix. Will definitely rent another Lela Rose in the future!
Alyson
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Body type: Apple
Oct 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this dress for a black-tie fundraiser that I was running, and it was perfect. The colors are really rich and elegant, but it was very easy to move around it, and I never had to be worried that something might be "hanging out." It is perfect to accentuate a smaller waist, and flattering for someone with bigger hips. Loved the hidden snaps to loop in your bra so it doesn't slip down. Overall - a great rental. I am usually between an 8 and 10 and wore the 8, so I would say it runs pretty true to size.
Marissa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 31, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved this dress! Like the last reviewer, I'm also usually somewhere between a 4 and 6 and both sizes fit me well. I decided to go with the 6 since there was just a little more room in the bust. I wore this to a fall wedding and it was perfect! I lost count of how many compliments I got throughout the night! It was easy to dance in and so comfortable. The wedding/reception lasted over 7 hours and I could have happily worn the dress another 7 hours. I highly recommend this one!
N_nyc17
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 2, 2011

eh.... fit not right for waist

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Okay, caveat is that I am very small boned on top, but being that I'm 3 months pregnant I thought a 2 would work as the fit advice all said this runs true to size. I'm normally a 25" waist and even the 0 i think would have been way too big. As it was now, I'm probably about 28" and it just wasn't fitted at the top. The zero might have worked.... Also, the fabric is very stiff and the skirt of the dress sticks out a lot in the back because of this. Makes the a-line a bit too pronounced for my tastes.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 3, 2012

Too long

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It's a great dress for girls with curves, but for shorter girls, it's too long. It fell well below the knee. I ended up not wearing it because it was just too long, even with heels, and didn't look pretty enough for the party I was going to. Other than that the fit is good and flattered curves.
Athena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 26, 2012

great, simple shape, stunning

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
For an hourglass girl, this is PERFECT. I got so many compliments on the fabric and the shape is great. Also, simple enough style that you can really spruce it up with accessories. I wore a big black necklace, black tights and black Louboutins.
lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Babe in Blue

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
LOVED this dress. I received compliments all night and felt so confident wearing it. This dress is beautiful online and in person. It's such a beautiful collection of blues and the shimmer is just right. Very flattering cut and structure. One of the best dresses I've ever worn!!!
meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 9, 2012

perfect wedding dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to my friends' wedding in the city, and it was absolutely perfect. I initally tried to rent the milly "prim and proper" dress, but my size wasn't available. The stylist stayed on the phone with me for an hour and was super helpful in finding me the perfect dress. The fabric is gorgeous, and even better, it doesn't really wrinkle and held its shape wonderfully. I'm typically a 2-4, but since I am small on top, the 2 fit perfectly.
Mara
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 5, 2015

The color is great in person! Even better than picture.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Was very tight in the bust, took a team to zip it up. Wish I got it in the size up, but worked for my formal.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×