You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Retro Brocade dress
Rental $60 Retail $1610
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Exclusive to Rent the Runway! This Lela Rose dress has retro flare. With sparkling metallic brocade, you'll be sure to shine in this sensational dress.
Chat with a Stylist
Metallic brocade silk brocade. Scoop neckline. A-line pleated skirt. Black grosgrain ribbon at waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust sizes
WAIST: Fitted - full skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt does not hug hips or backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos12

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Liza
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 6532
Dec 22, 2013
beautiful dress
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a Holiday work party. I loved the fit of this dress and it really flattered my pear shape. The dress is a gorgeous shade of blue and the shimmer in the brocade was perfect for this glam party. I wasn't a huge fan of the black belt that came with it, it made the dress look more casual. If I had planned ahead better I would have bought a metallic belt to replace it.
Rebekah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5543
Dec 18, 2013
Good, safe choice.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I got this dress after returning another for fit - I figured the fit-n-flare was safe choice. I was right. Well I can't say it was the most eye-catching dress I've ever rented, it was pretty, flattering, and comfortable. I would say that its a good option for a winter event - especially something like an office party where you don't want to be overly revealing. Thanks RTR for the great service!
Kristy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4524
Oct 8, 2013
Beautiful, chic dress! Super flattering
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress fit a little bit large but it wasn't so bad. I typically wear a 4 or 6 but i felt like i could have easily gone down to the 2. That said, the neckline and waist were both beautiful, and I really enjoyed wearing it at my engagement party!
ALNS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6433
Jun 15, 2013
Beautiful Material and Lots of Compliments
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for my bridal shower. The material was very pretty and well made. The pictures on the site don't really do it justice. My only issue was the fit. Through the body, I could have sized down but (as with many Lela Rose dresses) the bust was very tight. Overall a great dress. Just be aware, if you are large busted, you might want to size up. Also, I had to add my own thin black belt.
Lora
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Feb 13, 2013
The fabric is beautiful and the dress received lots of compliments but it does run large.
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Sorry I didn't get a better picture. Loved the dress but couldn't give it a 5 star rating because the waist, bust area and straps were a little too large. I am 5'2" with full B's and an athletic frame so the zero should have fit like a charm if not been a little snug. The bright side is the belt is a real, detachable dress so I could actually cinch the waist a little.
Ashley
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5534
Feb 11, 2013
Fabulous dress
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great A-line dress, perfect fit, appropriate for business event cocktail party. Just the right amount of shimmer to make the dress stand out without being overly flashy.
Molly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3432
Oct 24, 2012
Fits perfectly.
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fun dress to wear. Looks darker in person.
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 4533
Oct 19, 2012
Feeling gorgeous next to the designer herself!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I absolutely loved this dress - wore it to a dinner party at Lela Rose's house. The color is stunning and the cut super flattering. I highly recommend - this is a great dinner party dress.
Brenda
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6544
Jun 12, 2012
One photographer on the red carpet told me my picture belonged on the side of every bus in NY! These mobile phone pictures don't do the look justice...it is a beautiful dress.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Although RTR sent me a long belt to be tied in a bow instead of the belt pictured, I loved this dress. Beautiful fabric and fun to wear.
AJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Dec 20, 2011
I wish I had a photo where you could see the dress a bit more but I wore this Lela Rose to dress up as Betty Draper from Mad Men for Halloween. Totally 60s!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for Halloween to channel Betty Draper from Mad Men. This dress did just that! Easy fit and cinched waist that I really liked. Fun to play with accessories.
Gina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4633
Dec 19, 2013
This dress has retro-60's classic style and elegance.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I felt like I walked out of a scene from Breakfast at Tiffany's. I wore my hair in an up-do and accessorized with larger jewelry to keep with the theme. The fabric is fantastic. It definitely runs large, but the accompanying belt allows you to show off a smaller waist so the flair in the skirt doesn't look wide. I'm usually a 4, sometimes a 6. The 6 was very large, but the 4 fit great. If you're between sizes go down a size. The bust runs a little tight, so if you're large busted go up a size.
M
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4624
Dec 9, 2013
Pretty dress, but the fit is challenging.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The material is very pretty, but as others have described, the fit in the bust area is too small. I also did not like the flared skirt. It made my tummy look extra big because the pleats started right at the belly. Also didn't like the belt that came with it. Looked cheap. I order the size 4 and 2. I usually wear a 4, but this one was too tight in the bust - and I am not particularly large in that area. I ended up wearing my back-up dress.
amf
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 3524
Dec 2, 2013
It's stunning and comfortable.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for a black tie event in Dec. It fit nicely but was a touch long... The 0 was better in length but it was too tight in the chest. Regardless it looked great and I got a ton of compliments on it. I was able to wear a bra which made it much more comfortable. It is even prettier in person and photographs really well.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Oct 21, 2013
Beautiful dress! Extremely comfortable!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Unfortunately I completely forgot to take a picture in this one. I wore it for a date night and I was very comfortable in it all night. The picture of the model really doesn't do the colors justice. The fabric is a little different than what I'm used to but overall I really liked this dress. It's perfect for a night out on the town or even an evening wedding!
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5443
Oct 14, 2013
Serena and her amazing customer service.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was sent to me as a back up when my original dress was not available. Very nice dress, but not what I was looking for for a formal wedding. I loved the blue color and this it would look adorable with black tights for a holiday party. Only the 8 was available for me to try, and it was too bight (I am normally a 6). Went with another dress that was available in my size. Fun to try though!
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3422
Sep 23, 2013
Just too big.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Gorgeous dress. As soon as I opened it, I adored it...until I put it on. I'm tiny up top and the cut of the dress just didn't work for me on my chest. I THINK a Size 0 would have been best for me, but since it was my back-up dress, I went with the 2 to be safe.
Mare
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8643
Sep 8, 2013
Beautiful dress fit perfectly.
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very pretty material and very comfortable.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 5524
Aug 20, 2013
Beautiful colors
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Really loved this dress. The colors on it are beautiful. Both sizes I ordered fit, but I went with the smaller size since the skirt wasn't as full on that one.
Alana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5443
Aug 8, 2013
Beautiful dress!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress...the color is fun, the shape is flattering and it's overall a very classy dress! The belt is a nice touch as well. I would recommend this to anyone! Note that the color and the material do make it a bit more formal.
victoria
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3431
Jan 3, 2013
LOVE THIS DRESS!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits perfectly and true to size.
CarolJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4624
Dec 17, 2012
I felt very comfortable and well dressed.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The bodice of this dress in both sized (4 and 6) was very tight. I felt like I was wearing a corset, but not to the point of uncomfortable. I wore the size 4 because the size 6 gapped around the arms a little. I had people I didn't even know complimenting me on my dress. One of the wives was asking about my dress because she has several wedding coming up, so I referred her to Rent the Runway to cover her needs. I'll be renting from them again.
Danielle
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Dec 11, 2012
It felt great to wear such a pretty dress that I would normally not have been able to wear!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress. Unfortunately, I only had one size since my backup size was unavailable. I am usually a size 2 and thought the 0 would fit since some reviews said it ran big, but it was too tight around my bust area. Would rent again if my size was available.
Caroline
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5444
Nov 29, 2012
Beautiful color, flattering shape
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit me just right and was a great choice for a family member's wedding I attended. The royal blue color is vibrant without being too bright and the fabric was very comfortable. I wanted something flirty and fun that was still appropriate for an afternoon wedding, and this dress was perfect.
laurie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4624
Nov 25, 2012
Very pretty material. The ribbon belt was to small. Easy fix with ribbon from craft shop.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was easy to wear. I wore a regular bra. Got many compliments. It was above the knee but not too short. Most imortant my daughters approved!
Shelby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Apple
Canonical User Type: 8431
Oct 21, 2012
Dress was super pretty and unique.
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The side zip was tough, and wouldn't close over my bust, but it was easily concealable with a sweater.
Margaret
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6421
Oct 17, 2012
I wore this dress for my wedding rehearsal and I could not have felt more amazing!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is definitely true-to-fit. It was perfectly streamlined against my waist and because I have an hourglass curve to my body, the dress highlighted the best parts of my body while also distracting from the not-so-great (ie boobs good, bigger bottom not too good). The material felt luxurious and expensive and whenever I walked, it shimmered a little bit. And the attention I received wasn't too bad either!!
Tamara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3532
Sep 18, 2012
Gorgeous Material, Great Fit!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is so feminine and pretty- the fabric looks so rich and expensive, and the fit is perfect. I am smaller on top but have curvy hips so the fit/flare silhouette worked great for me! I wore this to a winery wedding, and it was a great mix of daytime and cocktail without being too over the top.
Grace
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3422
Sep 16, 2012
Pretty material
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this as a back-up for a wedding but didn't end up wearing it. They only had a size 4 available, which ended up being too big (so I would say it probably runs true to size). I really liked the material, though, and I might try this dress again in the future (although with a size 2!) for another formal-ish event.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Sep 13, 2012
Cute dress, runs big
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I ordered the 2 & 4 in this dress, although I would have preferred a 0 to the 4 as my extra size. I may have worn it if that were the case. Even the 2 made me look very thick through the middle. Also, if you have a long torso, this dress might not work as I found the "belt" area to hit me higher than my natural waist, which also contributed to the thick-waist look and feel of the dress. Otherwise dress is super cute and would be great on the right body.
Jen
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2531
Sep 9, 2012
too big
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
very pretty dress/material but too large throughout
meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 4433
Sep 9, 2012
perfect wedding dress!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to my friends' wedding in the city, and it was absolutely perfect. I initally tried to rent the milly "prim and proper" dress, but my size wasn't available. The stylist stayed on the phone with me for an hour and was super helpful in finding me the perfect dress. The fabric is gorgeous, and even better, it doesn't really wrinkle and held its shape wonderfully. I'm typically a 2-4, but since I am small on top, the 2 fit perfectly.
lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Aug 20, 2012
Babe in Blue
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
LOVED this dress. I received compliments all night and felt so confident wearing it. This dress is beautiful online and in person. It's such a beautiful collection of blues and the shimmer is just right. Very flattering cut and structure. One of the best dresses I've ever worn!!!
Athena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7434
Jan 26, 2012
great, simple shape, stunning
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
For an hourglass girl, this is PERFECT. I got so many compliments on the fabric and the shape is great. Also, simple enough style that you can really spruce it up with accessories. I wore a big black necklace, black tights and black Louboutins.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8524
Jan 3, 2012
Too long
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It's a great dress for girls with curves, but for shorter girls, it's too long. It fell well below the knee. I ended up not wearing it because it was just too long, even with heels, and didn't look pretty enough for the party I was going to. Other than that the fit is good and flattered curves.
N_nyc17
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4534
Dec 2, 2011
eh.... fit not right for waist
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Okay, caveat is that I am very small boned on top, but being that I'm 3 months pregnant I thought a 2 would work as the fit advice all said this runs true to size. I'm normally a 25" waist and even the 0 i think would have been way too big. As it was now, I'm probably about 28" and it just wasn't fitted at the top. The zero might have worked.... Also, the fabric is very stiff and the skirt of the dress sticks out a lot in the back because of this. Makes the a-line a bit too pronounced for my tastes.
Marissa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5533
Oct 31, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Loved this dress! Like the last reviewer, I'm also usually somewhere between a 4 and 6 and both sizes fit me well. I decided to go with the 6 since there was just a little more room in the bust. I wore this to a fall wedding and it was perfect! I lost count of how many compliments I got throughout the night! It was easy to dance in and so comfortable. The wedding/reception lasted over 7 hours and I could have happily worn the dress another 7 hours. I highly recommend this one!
Alyson
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Body type: Apple
Canonical User Type: 6521
Oct 28, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this dress for a black-tie fundraiser that I was running, and it was perfect. The colors are really rich and elegant, but it was very easy to move around it, and I never had to be worried that something might be "hanging out." It is perfect to accentuate a smaller waist, and flattering for someone with bigger hips. Loved the hidden snaps to loop in your bra so it doesn't slip down. Overall - a great rental. I am usually between an 8 and 10 and wore the 8, so I would say it runs pretty true to size.
anam
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 1531
Oct 13, 2011
Overall fit: Large
Loved the dress! Wore it to a country club wedding and felt perfectly dressed. The fabric was beautiful, and it was so easy to wear. The hemline was perfect. The dress seemed to run large, I wore the smaller of the two sizes and still felt like the bodice was too large in the chest. Nothing a little padded bra couldn't fix. Will definitely rent another Lela Rose in the future!
M Crawford
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 1541
Oct 6, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
The fabric is beautiful. It has more of a metalic sheen than you see in the picture. the problem i had was it isnt a good length for someone tall. I'm between a 10 and 12. the 10 fit better but was too short.
Amy
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 1541
Sep 14, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This was my first time renting and it turned out good. It was a true to size fit for me at a size 8. They suggested your second size should be a size down. I did so and got a 6, which was too small. Being tall, I felt like the dress could be too short but I felt comfortable wearing it. They only sent one belt but it ended up being ok because the fabric was stretchy. Also, the metal belt hooks were falling apart. I quickly resewed and it was fine. Overall condition of the dress was good.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress