kate spade new york

Scribble Scrabble Dress

$75 rental
$398 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Attending a bridal shower? Show up looking feminine chic in this adorable kate spade new york polka dot sheath. An easy fit and perfect to sip on champagne while catching up with your girlfriends. Shown here with the Rodrigo Otazu's Narnia Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - very loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and white silk (100% Silk). Three quarter length sleeves. Crew neckline. Shift skirt. Hidden side zip. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
71 reviews
Fit
Large
(27)
True to Size
(42)
Small
(2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
August 23, 2012
Perfect!
Wore this dress for 2 daytime parties and then switched the jewelry & shoes out to transition to evening attire for a bachelorette. It looked fab & I had compliments all night. I absolutely loved it and thought it 'stood out' as it is very unique. Also, I received a 0 & a 2. Didn't even try the 2 on; 0 was a perfect fit. Only regret is that I don't have any pictures, but will be renting again!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
September 4, 2012
Classic Kate
This was my first RTR rental and I sadly ordered a size too big. It runs really big in length even the sleeves were long (and I'm a curvy 5'9"!) I still give it 4 stars because its an adorable dress. Its a little maternal with the flair at the sleeves and the black and white motif, but I belted it and wore it on a Sunday afternoon around the City and received so many compliments! I cant wait to rent it again, maybe a size or 2 smaller and wear it at night with a popping red lip!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 12, 2012
Cute and comfy!
This was a great option for a dinner or even a work event. It's an easy fit and very comfortable. Though it runs a little large, if you have fuller hips consider sizing up for a shift dress look!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 17, 2012
Great dress!
I loved this dress. I wore it to an afternoon baptism and it was perfect. Fits nicely and I loved the flare sleeve. I would rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 17, 2012
In a sea of little black dresses, I had this number.
The dress was short, but forgiving in the midsection. I didn't even notice it had a zipper until I had taken it on and off a couple of times. The detail at the sleeves and the back made it fun.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
Versatile, flattering, great fit.
I just had a baby and wanted something that would be flattering but fun for a bridal shower I had to attend. This dress was great...just the right length and fit (maybe a touch big). I received numerous compliments. Perfect for a work or family event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
The complimentary second size was perfect:i just had a baby and isn't sure of my interim size
Way flattering, great material, hides the belly (i was 10 weeks post-baby), and true to size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 25, 2012
Perfect dress to go from day at the office to a date or after work event
The sleeves make it extra special. Easy to dress up or down with different hair/shoes. Fit was a true 6.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 27, 2012
Pulled together for the tailgate!
This was a great dress for our schools tailgate - the theme being to black out the stadium. Easy to wear, great for running around and wearing all day without looking worn-in or tired. I felt very classy with the sleeves and slight ruffle, but not too over the top because the scribble dots made it fun and less fussy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
October 8, 2012
Very chic dress. I wanted to keep it!
I wore this to a baby shower. The fit was great. I actually ordered a 6 and a 4 (I'm a bit hippy) and the 4 fit great. Would rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
October 12, 2012
I loved loved loved this dress.
I wish this dress had been the only one I ordered, so I didn't feel like I wasted so much money. This dress was one of four and it was my favorite. Maybe because it fit so well, hid the yucky parts without even needing any Spanx or similar. Elegant, fun and classic. Those are little squiggly doodle like dots by the way, not polka dots. Looks great on a busty figure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 64
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 20, 2012
Unwearable....for all the wrong reasons
This dress is pretty, sweet and would have been fine if it didn't reek of cleaning chemicals. It was totally unwearable. After leaving it to air out for a couple of hours and no change, I packed it up and resent it to RTR. I wasn't going to try and cover it with perfume because that would just make it worse for the next person. Oh and what appear to be big dots, are actually little swirls of cream color...sort of an abstract circle on a solid color. Wish I could have worn it but there was no way.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 21, 2012
I wore this dress for a bridal shower that turned into the bachelorette party. This was the perfect
dress for both day and night. I had to add a belt to cinch the waist. Love the open hole in the back! Definitely recommend this dress for any body type as well, with a little pop of color with a skinny belt. Received tons of compliments and as always RTR does a fabulous job with shipping!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
October 24, 2012
Really comfortable, cute and easy dress!
Loved this dress. I wore it to a bridal shower, but it could probably be worn somewhere more formal also.. It runs large and is a little longer than i expected it to be. I'm usually either a 12 or 14 and this dress was definitely a bit big. Wish I would have rented a size down, but it still worked great. Loved the squiggle polka dot pattern, the pretty ruffle sleeves, and the keyhole opening in the back. Great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 29, 2012
I did not want to take this dress off! Comfortable, flattering and chic!
I am obsessed with this dress and did not want to take it off! I wore it to a tailgate party on Georgia-Florida football weekend. The dress was such an easy fit and very flattering. I considered belting it, but I actually liked it better hanging loosely. The dress hit a little below mid-thigh. I wore it with cowboy boots and a bauble necklace, but you could easily dress it up with a pair of colored heels.
KristyNovember 19, 2012
Love the bauble necklace. Nice touch. Wish could have seen w/ ur cowboy boots.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
November 4, 2012
Ran Large, no shape
I had high hopes for this dress since I wanted something fun with sleeves. It looked terrible on me, did not have any shape and the length was too long. I am a frequent renter from RTR, and this is the first dress that I have gotten that did not work out. Fortunately, the event I was attending was in NYC and I was able to return it and rent something else in time-RTR has outstanding customer service.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 5, 2012
This dress is SO cute! Really flattering and quite comfortable.
I ordered the 4 and the 6. Ended up wearing the 4 because the 6 was WAY too big. It was just a tad longer than I thought it would be. I would say it fell about 2" below mid-thigh.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
November 6, 2012
Cute, but a little boxy
Wore this dress for a recent wedding. I tried it on and thought it was too boxy, way beyond just loose. I then tried it with a skinny black belt and wound up loving it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
November 11, 2012
I felt it was the perfect dress for an engagement party. It was also comfortable all night long....
I absolutely LOVED this dress. I wore it for my best friends engagement party with black heels and a hot pink clutch and pearls. I ordered the size 4 and 6, I ended up wearing the 4. I probably could have worn a 2, it runs a little large.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
November 12, 2012
Nice dress, probably wouldn't rent again.
I like this dress and it worked well for a dinner date but it wasn't amazing. I think RTR has better options.
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 42
November 21, 2012
I wore this for our family photo/Christmas card. A bit boxy, not as flattering as I'd hoped.
It wasn't as flattering as I'd hoped, as some reviewers stated. The keyhole cut-out, at the nape of the neck, gaped a bit. While I wasn't a huge fan of the dress, I did receive compliments. It fits true to size and is comfortable. I now know, with my body shape, to go with a different style next time!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
November 25, 2012
So easy and comfortable yet looked great!
None
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
November 26, 2012
Easy and Sweet
I wore this dress for a rehearsal and rehearsal dinner. It was the perfect dress to go from the church to the dinner and the late night festivities. Since it fits loose around the bod, I felt confident all night and was not worried about grabbing for seconds. It's sweet yet sophisticated. I would absolutely recommend this dress for any girl looking for a no-fuss night out!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 30, 2012
Cute but big
I wore this to the club with my family for Thanksgiving. I received a lot of great compliments on the dress! The material is really nice but in hindsight I wish I would have had a skinny gold blet to singe the waist. I went with the smaller of the two sizes I ordered and probably could have even gone down to a zero... it's been years since I've worn a zero!! Great dress for a luncheon or family function but not sure I'd wear again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 3, 2012
Easy to where
I wore this dress for a holiday show I was working at and I thought it was comfy and easy to wear. The size does run large so wear a size smaller than your usual size. At first I couldn't understand why the price was so high for such a simple dress, but then realized it's silk.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
December 4, 2012
Rented this dress for a rehearsal dinner, it was fun and cute. I got a lot of compliments!
I rented this dress for my friends rehearsal dinner! I loved it but definitely could have gone a size smaller. I ended up belting it, which looked cute. It was a good length. I would rent it again:)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 18, 2012
Great choice for my company Christmas Party-- loved it and received SO many compliments!
I pretty consistently wear a size 6, ordered the 6 but it does run a bit large. I took the advice of some other commenters & wore it with a skinny black patent leather belt,matching shoes and ended up loving it! If you don't want to belt it, then I'd suggest ordering one size smaller. Overall great dress that I'd definitely wear it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 26, 2012
AMAZING
I loved this dress so much! I wore it to christmas eve and it was PERFECT! I got so many compliments on it and it fit perfectly! it was the perfect length aswell. I have broader shoulders so i was worried that it wouldnt work but it was perfect not tight at all! I wish i was saw it when it was available to buy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
January 2, 2013
Loved this dress! Wore it for New Years and it was so comfortable!
Great dress, loved the fit and did not want to send it back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
January 5, 2013
Perfect for Cirque du Soleil date night :)
It's big at the top, snug at the hips. This worked for my pear-shape (with Spanx, of course) because it made the top seem flowy and drew the eyes up. I felt pretty, my husband loved it, and I'm so glad I rented it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
January 7, 2013
Great Party Dress
Loved this dress. I had my fingers crossed I could wear the 4 (ego boost) but it was a little too tight up top. I paired it with a red skinny belt and red cowboy boots for a concert. Tons of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 9, 2013
Overall I really liked the dress. I paired it with a coral belt, black tights, & black shoes
It was a bit big so I wore the smaller size but overall I really liked it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 11, 2013
Cute but chic - from baby shower to dinner
Wore this for my very dear friend's baby shower in Greenwich. It was a little dressy for the party, but certainly appropriate. The pattern made it very cute - and oh my, is it comfortable! Definitely can tell its Kate Spade :) Was able to go straight from the shower to a dinner event. Wore black tights and suede heeled boots with it, but could easily have changed the boots to Louboutins for dinner for a more dressed up feel.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 59
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
January 16, 2013
I had to return this dress, I needed a petite size.
This dress would have been perfect, I ordered it as a back up. Unfortunately I needed a petite for this style. The quality of the dress was excellent.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 177lbs
January 27, 2013
This was the perfect dress for my surprise birthday party!
I chose the dress for what I thought would be worn for going out with my husband and friends for birthday drinks. Turns out it was a surprise bday party. The dress was so comfy! I kinda didn't want to take it off. I went with the bigger size just because of the length when I raised my arms. But the 12 fit we'll too. I paired it with my gold glitter peep toes from my wedding. Great experience with RTR!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
January 29, 2013
Cutest Dress Ever!
This dress is a must have - in fact after I returned it, I found it at Bloomindale's and HAD to have it. I wore it to a work conference and was perfect. Perfect silk material, perfect amount of sassy pattern and style, perfect length. The compliments were never ending and I felt so comfortable and cute wearing it. I wore with black tights and flat black boots. LOVE!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
January 30, 2013
Loved this dress!
Great dress for date night or party! Loved the way it fit and felt. Paired it with a cute belt to pull it in around the waist. Usually wear a 6 and ended up wearing the 4 as it was more flattering. Definitely recommend this dress but order down for your extra size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 11, 2013
Fun dress for a semi-formal event, super-comfortable!
I rented this as a backup style for my engagement party, and luckily the original dress fit, as I ended up wearing this to a baby shower the next day. It was absolutely perfect for a daytime party, and was so incredibly comfortable, I didn't want to take it off. I loved how the sleeves added a conservative look while still being fun and party-ready.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
February 16, 2013
Cute belted!
This was my backup dress, so I only had one size to work with. I could have probably worn a size smaller, but with a belt, it worked! I loved the fun sleeves and it was super comfortable. I am curvy, so this dress worked for me.
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 195lbs
January 2, 2013
Love this dress!
Definitely needs a belt but fits great!
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×