kate spade new york

Scribble Scrabble Dress

$75 rental
$398 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Attending a bridal shower? Show up looking feminine chic in this adorable kate spade new york polka dot sheath. An easy fit and perfect to sip on champagne while catching up with your girlfriends. Shown here with the Rodrigo Otazu's Narnia Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - very loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and white silk (100% Silk). Three quarter length sleeves. Crew neckline. Shift skirt. Hidden side zip. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
71 reviews
Fit
Large
(27)
True to Size
(42)
Small
(2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 21, 2012
I wore this dress for a bridal shower that turned into the bachelorette party. This was the perfect

dress for both day and night. I had to add a belt to cinch the waist. Love the open hole in the back! Definitely recommend this dress for any body type as well, with a little pop of color with a skinny belt. Received tons of compliments and as always RTR does a fabulous job with shipping!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 29, 2012
I did not want to take this dress off! Comfortable, flattering and chic!

I am obsessed with this dress and did not want to take it off! I wore it to a tailgate party on Georgia-Florida football weekend. The dress was such an easy fit and very flattering. I considered belting it, but I actually liked it better hanging loosely. The dress hit a little below mid-thigh. I wore it with cowboy boots and a bauble necklace, but you could easily dress it up with a pair of colored heels.

KristyOctober 29, 2012
Love the bauble necklace. Nice touch. Wish could have seen w/ ur cowboy boots.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 5, 2012
This dress is SO cute! Really flattering and quite comfortable.

I ordered the 4 and the 6. Ended up wearing the 4 because the 6 was WAY too big. It was just a tad longer than I thought it would be. I would say it fell about 2" below mid-thigh.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
November 12, 2012
Nice dress, probably wouldn't rent again.

I like this dress and it worked well for a dinner date but it wasn't amazing. I think RTR has better options.

Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 42
November 21, 2012
I wore this for our family photo/Christmas card. A bit boxy, not as flattering as I'd hoped.

It wasn't as flattering as I'd hoped, as some reviewers stated. The keyhole cut-out, at the nape of the neck, gaped a bit. While I wasn't a huge fan of the dress, I did receive compliments. It fits true to size and is comfortable. I now know, with my body shape, to go with a different style next time!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
November 25, 2012
So easy and comfortable yet looked great!

None

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
November 26, 2012
Easy and Sweet

I wore this dress for a rehearsal and rehearsal dinner. It was the perfect dress to go from the church to the dinner and the late night festivities. Since it fits loose around the bod, I felt confident all night and was not worried about grabbing for seconds. It's sweet yet sophisticated. I would absolutely recommend this dress for any girl looking for a no-fuss night out!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 26, 2012
AMAZING

I loved this dress so much! I wore it to christmas eve and it was PERFECT! I got so many compliments on it and it fit perfectly! it was the perfect length aswell. I have broader shoulders so i was worried that it wouldnt work but it was perfect not tight at all! I wish i was saw it when it was available to buy!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
January 2, 2013
Loved this dress! Wore it for New Years and it was so comfortable!

Great dress, loved the fit and did not want to send it back!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
January 5, 2013
Perfect for Cirque du Soleil date night :)

It's big at the top, snug at the hips. This worked for my pear-shape (with Spanx, of course) because it made the top seem flowy and drew the eyes up. I felt pretty, my husband loved it, and I'm so glad I rented it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
January 7, 2013
Great Party Dress

Loved this dress. I had my fingers crossed I could wear the 4 (ego boost) but it was a little too tight up top. I paired it with a red skinny belt and red cowboy boots for a concert. Tons of compliments.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 11, 2013
Cute but chic - from baby shower to dinner

Wore this for my very dear friend's baby shower in Greenwich. It was a little dressy for the party, but certainly appropriate. The pattern made it very cute - and oh my, is it comfortable! Definitely can tell its Kate Spade :) Was able to go straight from the shower to a dinner event. Wore black tights and suede heeled boots with it, but could easily have changed the boots to Louboutins for dinner for a more dressed up feel.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 60
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
January 16, 2013
I had to return this dress, I needed a petite size.

This dress would have been perfect, I ordered it as a back up. Unfortunately I needed a petite for this style. The quality of the dress was excellent.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 177lbs
January 27, 2013
This was the perfect dress for my surprise birthday party!

I chose the dress for what I thought would be worn for going out with my husband and friends for birthday drinks. Turns out it was a surprise bday party. The dress was so comfy! I kinda didn't want to take it off. I went with the bigger size just because of the length when I raised my arms. But the 12 fit we'll too. I paired it with my gold glitter peep toes from my wedding. Great experience with RTR!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
January 29, 2013
Cutest Dress Ever!

This dress is a must have - in fact after I returned it, I found it at Bloomindale's and HAD to have it. I wore it to a work conference and was perfect. Perfect silk material, perfect amount of sassy pattern and style, perfect length. The compliments were never ending and I felt so comfortable and cute wearing it. I wore with black tights and flat black boots. LOVE!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 195lbs
January 2, 2013
Love this dress!

Definitely needs a belt but fits great!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
February 5, 2013
Comfy and classy!

Great classic dress! Would definitely rent again!

Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
March 13, 2013
A very sweet dress!

I wore this dress to a non-profit's annual fundraiser gala (cocktail attire). I am 4+ months pregnant and in that in between regular and maternity wear phase. This dress was perfect, loved the fabric and shape. I wore it with black tights, tan ankle booties, and a long necklace - a bit funky, but I could see how one could style this dress in a couple different ways.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
March 14, 2013
Pretty dress

Beautiful dress. Very versatile. Great for an event but also appropriate or th office. Would recommend.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 31, 2013
Perfect fun dress

This fit perfect and was very comfortable. It was a fun, easy dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
May 3, 2013
Loved this dress!

This dress fits beautifully. I am tall and long waisted so this dress looked great. I received several compliments on this Kate Spade cutie! I would order again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 6, 2013
Perfect Shower Dress

Wore this dress to host my best friend's bridal tea. Listened to the reviews and ordered down a size (6) and got my true size (8) as my backup. RTR called the day before and said my backup size was unavailable due to damage from a previous renter. I winged it, and although I probably would have been more comfortable in an 8 I received compliments all day long

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
August 13, 2013
Comfortable dress but also classy and beautiful!

Great fit! Gorgeous dress, got so many compliments. Elegant yet fun!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
August 15, 2013
Adorable!

I wore this dress to my friend's rehearsal dinner and got a ton of compliments. It's a traditional shift dress and is very flattering. The polka dots give it a feminine touch, but it can be easily dressed up or dressed down depending on the occasion.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
April 22, 2015
The dress was flattering!

Loved how comfortable and cute this dress was!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Athletic
January 19, 2016
LOVED this dress! I wore it to a work-realated cocktail party, and felt great in it.

Fit true to size. No issues.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
October 10, 2012
Perfect dress for a fall wedding!

I loved this dress! It was hard for me to send it back! I ordered a 2 and a 4 and wore the 2 however it runs true to size. I purchased a belt to go with the dress to give myself a waist. The dress is loose fitting. The belt was the right choice! I added some red lipstick and I was good to go! I received so many compliments throughout the night. Just a great dress!

KimberlyOctober 10, 2012
Love the pop of color with a skinny belt.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
November 6, 2012
This dress was beautiful and elegant. I loved wearing it.

This dress was comfortable and loose fitting, but still quite flattering.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
January 29, 2013
A fun, forgiving dress- perfect for my birthday dinner! It was just another reason why I love rtr!!

I am still a little heavier than I used to be, but love finding dresses that hide my trouble areas. This is one if them. Kate Spade is my all-time favorite designer and once again, she didn't let me down. I ordered the 6, which is my current dress size and it was the perfect fit. I thought the material was going to be heavier, but it's actually silky and light. I received so many compliments on it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
March 11, 2013
Great Dress

I didn't get to wear this dress because my true size didn't get to ship. RTR replaced it with another dress which worked out well. This dress is true to size and maybe even a bit big. I love it and would rent it again in my true size!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 17, 2013
Perfect dress and comfortable for a long night!

Lots of compliments. I am 5'10" and the length was great... Not too short. I wore a fun necklace for a pop of color. I highly recommend this dress.

See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×