kate spade new york

Scribble Scrabble Dress

$75 rental
$398 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Attending a bridal shower? Show up looking feminine chic in this adorable kate spade new york polka dot sheath. An easy fit and perfect to sip on champagne while catching up with your girlfriends. Shown here with the Rodrigo Otazu's Narnia Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - very loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and white silk (100% Silk). Three quarter length sleeves. Crew neckline. Shift skirt. Hidden side zip. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
71 reviews
Fit
Large
(27)
True to Size
(42)
Small
(2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
February 5, 2013
Comfy and classy!
Great classic dress! Would definitely rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 24, 2013
Perfect for hosting an afternoon baby shower!
This dress is so cute and comfortable, it takes all the focus off worrying about how you look (cause you look great!) so you can focus on having a great time. It definitely runs large. I ordered a 6 (my usual size) with a 4 back up. If I'd had a 2 I probably would've worn it, so be aware when ordering. Got loads of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
March 8, 2013
Beautiful, fun dress!
I love this dress but unfortunately I didn't get to wear it. I usually wear a 4 and sometimes a 2 depending on the cut. I ordered a 6/4 because that was the smallest size offered. The 4 was way to big. I probably had 4-5 inches of fabric at the waist. It was too much fabric to even belt. Plus it was way too long. No need to try on the 6! Great dress though if you can find your size!
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
March 13, 2013
A very sweet dress!
I wore this dress to a non-profit's annual fundraiser gala (cocktail attire). I am 4+ months pregnant and in that in between regular and maternity wear phase. This dress was perfect, loved the fabric and shape. I wore it with black tights, tan ankle booties, and a long necklace - a bit funky, but I could see how one could style this dress in a couple different ways.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 14, 2013
Fun and Comfortable
This dress is awesome. I wanted to keep it. Wore it to an office Christmas party in San Francisco and it was perfect. It runs big so even if you wear a 2 or 4 in kate spade I bet you'll be able to pull off the 0. So cute and comfortable. Didn't ride up too high when I sat either. Great dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
March 14, 2013
Pretty dress
Beautiful dress. Very versatile. Great for an event but also appropriate or th office. Would recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
March 27, 2013
Adorable!
Looked great! I loved the ruffle on the sleeve. I belted it because it was long ( I am 5'1), and it made everything look better and hit me in all of the right places.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 31, 2013
Perfect fun dress
This fit perfect and was very comfortable. It was a fun, easy dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
April 1, 2013
Fun dress
Loved this dress- perfect for a more casual family wedding. Runs large- I'm usually a standard size 6, but even the 4 was a bit roomy. Looked fine once I belted it, but if I ordered it again I'd go with a size 2.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 2, 2013
great simple black dress for a family occasion
I'm 5'2 and the length was good. Definitely go down a size. I probably could have gone done two sizes to a size four in the stomach/hip region but it would have been too tight across the bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
April 29, 2013
so simple but perfect for a night out
great fit, runs a little large. Wore this for a night out with a top bun and bright red lipstick for a great date night look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
May 3, 2013
Loved this dress!
This dress fits beautifully. I am tall and long waisted so this dress looked great. I received several compliments on this Kate Spade cutie! I would order again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 6, 2013
Perfect Shower Dress
Wore this dress to host my best friend's bridal tea. Listened to the reviews and ordered down a size (6) and got my true size (8) as my backup. RTR called the day before and said my backup size was unavailable due to damage from a previous renter. I winged it, and although I probably would have been more comfortable in an 8 I received compliments all day long
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
August 13, 2013
Comfortable dress but also classy and beautiful!
Great fit! Gorgeous dress, got so many compliments. Elegant yet fun!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
August 15, 2013
Adorable!
I wore this dress to my friend's rehearsal dinner and got a ton of compliments. It's a traditional shift dress and is very flattering. The polka dots give it a feminine touch, but it can be easily dressed up or dressed down depending on the occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
April 22, 2015
The dress was flattering!
Loved how comfortable and cute this dress was!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 47
January 19, 2016
LOVED this dress! I wore it to a work-realated cocktail party, and felt great in it.
Fit true to size. No issues.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
October 10, 2012
Perfect dress for a fall wedding!
I loved this dress! It was hard for me to send it back! I ordered a 2 and a 4 and wore the 2 however it runs true to size. I purchased a belt to go with the dress to give myself a waist. The dress is loose fitting. The belt was the right choice! I added some red lipstick and I was good to go! I received so many compliments throughout the night. Just a great dress!
KimberlyOctober 21, 2012
Love the pop of color with a skinny belt.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 1, 2012
It's a LBD with a TWIST!
After reading the reviews, I requested my size and a size smaller. I am glad I did because the smaller size fit perfectly! I can see why many of the ladies want to add a belt. If I had only recieved my regular size it would have needed one, as it looked boxy and big. But, if you are going for the look on the model, then try a size smaller than you would normally wear! It was a great evening and I felt comfortable and beautiful in my little Kate Spade number! Thanks, RTR!!! I'm hooked!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 26, 2013
Loved this dress and all things Kate Spade. Very comfortable! Perfect dress for a shower.
I normally wear size 6 but the 4 fit well and even had some room to spare. Definitely runs a little large. It doesn't give you much of a shape, but I was OK with that as I wanted something more on the comfortable side. The sleeves are lots of fun! The polka dots are scribbles, not solid circles.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
September 15, 2012
This was a super cute dress for a church wedding, not too short but not grandma-ish either.
I found that it seemed too big and almost felt as though I was wearing a huge shirt. The neckline was very flattering but conservative enough for a family or church environment. Length was perfect for my height.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Body type: Apple
October 23, 2012
Couldn't wear it.
Dress was too small in the arms, across the chest.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
October 26, 2012
Beautiful, classy and comfortable!
The dress was great but did run a little big. I wore it in my regular size but wish I would have gone a size down. I ended up using a belt to help give it some shape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 2, 2012
LOVE this dress
I usually wear a size 6 but the size 4 fit perfectly, even with my somewhat full hips and smaller bust. Love the fun sleeves, the fun pattern, and the casual elegance of this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
November 6, 2012
This dress was beautiful and elegant. I loved wearing it.
This dress was comfortable and loose fitting, but still quite flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
January 29, 2013
A fun, forgiving dress- perfect for my birthday dinner! It was just another reason why I love rtr!!
I am still a little heavier than I used to be, but love finding dresses that hide my trouble areas. This is one if them. Kate Spade is my all-time favorite designer and once again, she didn't let me down. I ordered the 6, which is my current dress size and it was the perfect fit. I thought the material was going to be heavier, but it's actually silky and light. I received so many compliments on it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
February 11, 2013
Fun, whimsical dress.
I wore this for a bridal brunch. It is very cute, but definitely fits large. The sleeves are super cute!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 15, 2013
Fits a little strange--looks best on as a casual shift vs a party dress
I actually didn't rent this for myself. I used the 25 dollar second dress to get my sister something to wear. She is 5'7'', 145 pounds. I wanted to get her something loose and shifty because she had a baby a while ago. Because she's curvy, I thought this would work. It didn't sadly. It needed to be tighter around the middle to give her shape. She was very self conscious in in. I tried it on, even though it is a larger size than I wear, and it actually looked kinda cute all big and flowy. I would rock it with some leather leggings maybe, or even jeggings. It's well made, and very cute on the hanger, but it looks best on someone... I don't know how to say it nicely... "straighter", w/o woman curves :-)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
March 11, 2013
Great Dress
I didn't get to wear this dress because my true size didn't get to ship. RTR replaced it with another dress which worked out well. This dress is true to size and maybe even a bit big. I love it and would rent it again in my true size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 17, 2013
Perfect dress and comfortable for a long night!
Lots of compliments. I am 5'10" and the length was great... Not too short. I wore a fun necklace for a pop of color. I highly recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
May 28, 2013
This was perfect for my best friend's baby shower. Just what I needed for the day event.
It ran a bit large but it worked. I could have worn the 2 in this dress, however, it would have been too short
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×