You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Marilyn Bow Dress
Rental $85 Retail $478
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Who says bow ties are just for the boys? Go for a bold, unexpected print for your next cocktail event in this adorably chic dress by kate spade new york! Finish off your party attire with a pop of color, like Gerard Yosca’s Emerald Hearts Necklace.
Chat with a Stylist
Bow printed mikado (55% Cotton , 45% silk).Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Pleated, full skirt.Open back with bow detail on back. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closures. Lined. 40” from shoulder to hem. Imported.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 00-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Pear, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Chat with a Stylist
This style is currently unavailable.
Shop all dresses
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos44

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Sally
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Feb 10, 2014
Fun and Flirty
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for my engagement photos and it was just as adorable in person as it was pictured online. They only had a size 0 available and I am typically a size 2 but figured I would give it a try. Luckily I'm not busty by any means so I was able to squeeze myself into it. It is slightly off white/light greyish and my only complaint was that the liner underneath showed at some points. Overall such a great dress and would recommend it to anyone looking for a fun and flirty look.
Jill
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Nov 13, 2013
The back makes the dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress so much I didn't want to send it back! It was perfect for my boyfriend's launch party for his new iPhone application which uses a bow tie for the logo! The bow ties are super cute and the low cut back shows just enough skin. I typically wear a size 4 but the size 6 fit perfectly.
Melissa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 6423
Nov 6, 2013
The fit and style of this dress was so unique it made me feel special!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
My typical clothes run between a 6-8 so I was a little nervous about this one. It was slightly snug, especially after dinner, but was never so tight I was uncomfortable. I did not wear a bra and felt mostly comfortable, but probably would go with cups next time.
Rachel
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3424
Oct 14, 2013
Eye catcher
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was amazing, i wore it for a date night with my hubby. Everyone complimented it i never wanted to send it back! it fit amazing, i am normal size 0-2 but with a size 34D chest, i finally was able to wear a dress with out a bra and i loved that!
Grace
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2434
Sep 23, 2013
Unforgettable dress!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this for our engagement party in mid-September. I am SO glad I went a size up for my backup size - I'd been considering going a size down. However, with the way the armpit-holes are cut, and the zip up on the side not the back, I couldn't even get the 0 to zip over my bust. So, I went up to the 2 and it fit perfectly. So if you bust is a bit disproportionate to the rest of you, maybe size up for your back up size. As a side note, it looks like it is stark white in the photo, but it's actually more of a parchment white and black. I ended up wearing it with some beige wedges and it was very cute. I am glad it was a bit off-white because it was not a formal affair, so I was able to dress it down (I felt if I'd worn black heels I would have been over dressed).
Mallory
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4424
Sep 24, 2013
So cute!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Its a silky material and a little shiny. I loved it and my bf and I looked great!
Izzy
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 16
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 111 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2232
Sep 19, 2013
Spectacular dress! Thank you RTR!!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I aboslutely LOVED this dress! I got so many compliments on it! So flattering and fun! You will not be disappointed! I was so sad to send it back.. .
kaitlyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Sep 8, 2013
The most perfect anniversary photo shoot dress! I felt like Audrey.
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I normally wear 00 in Kate Spade, but I wore the 0 in this one due to the boob area being too tight in the 00. I felt AMAZING in this dress!
Molly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3422
Aug 28, 2013
I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner and absolutely loved it.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit true to size. It's tightest in the waist.
Katie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3422
Aug 14, 2013
Great Dress for a Fun, Outdoor Wedding
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
My friends got married at Camp Wandawega, so I knew I wanted to wear a unique dress. This dress was *adorable*. It was comfortable, the perfect length, and I got a lot of compliments.
Joanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3532
Jul 28, 2013
I rented this dress for my bridal shower. This Kate Spade dress was perfectly adorable!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is perfect for a day party. The fit is on the small side around the waist and larger around the bust. Size 4 fit perfectly around my waist, but as a 34A the bust was a little loose. I would definitely recommend this dress for any summer get together.
Ariel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4442
Jul 27, 2013
AMAZING!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was so sad to have to return this dress! I wore it to my bridal shower & everyone absolutely loved it - people were stopping me on the street to compliment it! The back is amazing - I wore the NuBra without a problem. Definitely no give to the fabric but the 4 zipped up perfectly - not for someone with a larger chest! Excellent first RTR experience - I recommend to all!
KMG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4423
Jul 22, 2013
Great party dress!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my husband's 30th birthday party. I was extremely happy with the dress, although it was a bit loose in the waist and chest (I usually wear a size 2 in dresses, but it was only available in a size 4). Despite this, it was comfortable and I got TONS of compliments all night. It even has cute pockets! Will definitely use RTR again for another event!!
Genevieve
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Jul 17, 2013
Flawless and beyond fabulous!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I am so in love with this dress! I wore it for my birthday, and I never wanted to take it off. I typically teeter between a 0 and a 2, but wore a 0 in this dress. The top was very tight, but a 2 would have been unflattering for my body type. The length was perfect for me (my legs are deceptively short, and this hits just above the knee). The material was so soft and not as heavy as I thought it would be. I wore it outside in 85 degrees and felt great. The back...is to die for. Doesn't scoop down too low. Just so classy! I felt like a million bucks in this dress and already want to rent it again!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2422
Jul 9, 2013
Best Dressed!
Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a black and white themed formal party! I received so many comments on the dress, it almost became annoying, almost! The 00 was a little tight, a 0 would have been better, but it wasn't available. The back detailing was perfect, not to low, but just enough. Would rent this dress again in a heart beat!
TaylorC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 4543
Jul 1, 2013
Cute, girly dress perfect for a cocktail party or date night!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for engagement photos and it was perfect! There is a little bow in the back that is such a cute detail. The only thing I had an issue with is it was a little tight around my chest. I am a 34B and normally size 4s fit fine. It was just a little tight, but fine to wear for photos. Another great RTR experience!
AmyNG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7444
Jun 29, 2013
Perfect for best friend's bridal shower!
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Felt beautiful in this dress and got a ton of compliments, both at the party and through social media after. It runs small and went with my back up size...could've probably squeezed in to my regular size, but wanted to feel more comfortable. The back detail of the dress really makes it--It's business in the front, party on the back. But, really it's just party all around!
Eliza
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7443
Jun 24, 2013
Perfect for a wedding luncheon or graduation
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress' print got lots of compliments and has a great '60s era full skirt with a dramatic back. It's great for a daytime occasion on the formal side. The front is conservative but the back livens it up. Stick-on bra only.
Tallia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4523
Jun 23, 2013
I wore this dress to a fab gay wedding in Brooklyn and it was a hit!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit and length!
heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5424
Jun 21, 2013
Felt like a LADY & a DOLL.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is perfection. I ordered the 4 & the 6 since I have a smallish waist and bigger hips/butt. The 4 fit like a dream because the waist is really the only part that cinches in. The material has a little sheen so it's nice enough to wear to a cocktail party but casual enough for day. Pair it with a pair of retro inspired or bold colored heels (I chose fuschia retro ones). I didn't end up wearing the necklace I got with it because the bows by the neck made it seem too busy. I'd pair withe earrings/fun bracelet only. I wore this for my birthday party at a cupcake shop and it was better than I could have ever hoped. I wore it thinking it's my birthday so I can wear something fun, who cares, but it was crazy how even guys at the bars after the party ended kept saying how much they loved my dress. This is the kind of dress that's made for RTR. Really fun, stand out, and memorable to the point that if you take pics in it, you basically can't wear it again so there's no point in owning. If you have a body like mine (busty, hippy, booty with smaller waist), RENT. THIS. DRESS.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2441
May 22, 2013
So Cute and Classy
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the fit and feel of this dress. It was one of the most comfortable dresses I have ever worn. I felt formal in my bow tie print yet casual in my comfort. Its the perfect pairing of sexy and cute with an open back and subtle bow. Altogether it was a great look; especially for a graduation! My only complaint was the length, it was much shorter than I expected!
Sonia
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2432
May 15, 2013
I used this for our engagement session, and received a lot of compliments on the dress.
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress is adorable, and fits great.
Rosalyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
May 8, 2013
Perfect dress for the KY Derby!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Great fit! A bit shorter than I expected but turned out great.
Aviva
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6444
Apr 28, 2013
Couldn't have been happier.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I think the dress is very formal chic. I found it to be slightly tight on the top but that is because I have wide shoulders and a large chest. It was very comfortable even thought it was slightly tight. I got so many compliments on the dress. If you are thinking about it I say go for it!
Beck
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2431
Apr 23, 2013
This dress was perfect for my birthday party! Flashy enough, and so so fun to wear.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress fits tightly around the waste, so would not be ideal for a dinner, but great for a party and dancing. I got the 0 and 2, and ended up with the 2. It is actually a fancy silk material. I thought it was more casual and cotton when I rented it, but was pleasantly surprised by the silk. The open back is a great touch. Perfect rental as the bold pattern would be hard to repeat nowadays with instant uploading of photos for all to see.
Ariel
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7424
Apr 21, 2013
SO MANY COMPLIMENTS
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was killer! As some of the other ladies mentioned, it is an extremely comfy dress, just a tad big in the shoulders.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5533
Apr 17, 2013
Sweet and Sassy
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for my tea party themed bridal shower. It was the perfect fit and shape. I love the flattering cut as well as the fun and sassy back. Very easy to ear and great with the pockets.
Katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Apr 7, 2013
This dress is total girly perfection.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit perfectly. The back is to die for (had to wear a stick-on bra, totally worth it). Got so many compliments all night. It was comfortable and nothing like what anyone else was wearing. When you wear this dress, you can just keep recycling the same lame joke of "they said the dress code was black tie!" and everyone will laugh and tell you that you're adorable.
Sam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Apr 3, 2013
TOO cute!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This is officially my new favorite party dress. The adorable bow print is to die for and there is a bow at the back of the dress too! The fit was incredibly easy even though you have to wear without a bra or with a sticky bra - the waist is fitted so everything feels secure! Perfect length to make it a cutesy party option - would recommend for everyone!!!
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Mar 31, 2013
Gorgeous dress, perfect fit!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is super flattering and comfortable! It's not too revealing but has a fantastic open back for that little bit of daring.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3424
Mar 20, 2013
Perfect for a shower.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress has such a cute bow print! It was really comfortable to wear. Loved it. Would rent again.
britney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3444
Feb 19, 2014
such a fun night!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
this dress was maybe a tiny bit small, but for my size I do have a large chest so I just taped up and went with it! It has such a fun shape and the back is fantastic. I was a little worried about the pattern but because the dress is silk it didnt make the bowties look too silly.
Janet
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3523
Feb 9, 2014
cute!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
in one word, the dress is cute. i wore it for my wedding rehearsal and rehearsal dinner. there isnt much stretch to the fabric, so just keep that in mind when ordering. regardless, the size 2 fit well. like everyone else, i especially loved the back.
AJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3534
Nov 29, 2013
This cute little number was perfect for a polo match in Pacific Palisades!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Cute dress with fun little bow details in the back (too bad they were a little wrinkled). I received lots of compliments from total strangers! Pros: really fun pattern Cons: not really white as pictured, bows on the back of the dress arrived wrinkled, felt like the dress needed to be retired soon because of the wear, a tad short
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5424
Nov 22, 2013
Big hit!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Everyone loved this dress. I wore this to my rehearsal dinner -- everyone loved it! I got compliments all night. I felt confident, and just the right amount of sassy. I love the pockets.
Chris
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2521
Oct 14, 2013
I received so many compliments in this fantastic dress!
Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit like an absolute dream and was the perfect length.
Joey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4423
Oct 3, 2013
gorgeous dress!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
i loved this dress! wish i could have kept it. i'm on the shorter side (5'4), so most kate spade dresses look overwhelmingly long on me if i'm not wearing heels, but this one was a little shorter than most kate spade dresses. i do think it ran on the smaller side... i easily fit into a kate spade size 2, but i had a bit of trouble zipping this one up! not small enough for me to warrant sizing up, but if you're in between sizes, definitely consider ordering a size up as a back up!
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4524
Sep 30, 2013
looked worn and discolored
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Regarding the style, this is one of my favorite dresses ever. I wore it for my rehearsal dinner and party and it was so cute and everyone loved it (the back is the best). The main problem is the dress is supposed to bright white and should have a lovely silky texture...but the rented ones are not like this anymore. I tried this dress on several times in stores (when it was brand new) and it was white and crisp. However, both dresses that showed up for my rehearsal dinner (size 2 and 0) were discolored -- no longer white, more like an off-white dingy color, an even one looked more blush-like. There was no silky texture left either, it felt and looked much more casual and like it was just plain cotton instead of the cotton/silk mixture that it is made of. This is my first order from RTR when the dress looked anything other than brand new. It really showed its age and the number of times it had been cleaned.
ChaCha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3534
Sep 17, 2013
Runs very small!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress as my backup dress for my wedding anniversary. We were going to a really nice restaurant and I thought it'd look so cute as my "black tie" dress. Unfortunately, the dress runs way too small! I couldn't even zip up the size 4! I have full busts so I sometimes run into these problems, but usually have no problems fitting into a size 2 or 4 at the waist. I was bummed, such an adorable dress, cute print and it has pockets! I'm tempted to order a size 6 and 8 next time. Would look so great for a summer wedding.
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Sep 12, 2013
Adorable, flattering, formal but still fun
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is more formal than it looks- it is a shiny material. But, the fun pattern and flattering cut still keep it looking young and fun. The bow detail and the low back are the perfefct fun touch in back. I have a very small waist, and the dress wasn't as snug as it could have been. But- it fit well enough and offered such a flattering shilouette overall that it still ended up looking raelly good. I am 5'4" and the dress came to a few inches above my knees and was a prefect lenght- classy without being dowdy. I wore the dress for a formal daytime event and it was the perfect choice since it was both formal and daytime appropraite. I would rent this one again! I only took off 1 star since hte fit was not as perfect as it could have been for me.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress